Submitted by Heather Cole

Having read your article that was carried by the Nation Newspaper on Friday, June 24, 2016, under the caption “The ox to the stall,” it is surprising that you have categorized Mr. Mark Maloney’s business ventures as doing a lot for Barbados. I see it the other way around. The taxpayers’ money and the lucrative contracts awarded by the Government of Barbados have done a lot for Mr. Maloney.

While you did not state it, you left us to compare Mr. Maloney’s breaking the law to Rosa Parks breaking the law. When Rosa Parks broke the law by refusing to get up out of her seat, she was standing up for her civil rights. No civil rights of Mr. Maloney have been violated. In fact, since you have inferred the topic of civil rights, I must inform you that any black Barbadian can now demand those coveted contacts as part of their civil rights which are now being violated as they are clearly being discriminated against by a political group.

When I read the sentence that Mr. Maloney gets things done and that within weeks he can clean up the garbage, my mind instantly went to those green garbage trucks that are sitting in the harbour unclaimed. Were you trying to inform the people of Barbados that the Government has signed another Public Private Partnership with Mr. Maloney? Could these green garbage trucks be the reason why the Minister of the Environment who is responsible for ensuring that Barbados is clean has been negligent in his duties? Does it mean that the tax payers will again be saddled with an additional burden for garbage disposal in the form of another levy? I hope that my thoughts are not correct and the trucks have no connection to Government or the collection of public garbage because as far as the public is aware, no contracts have been tendered for any such arrangements.

There is a problem with the basis on which Government awards contracts. The rules of the tendering process must be changed to ensure that contacts are awarded fairly and transparently to the entire population, perhaps even on a proportionate basis. No Government should award public contracts exclusively to one sector of the population. I am committed to social justice; I am not against others becoming wealthy but I am on a quest for equality for all Barbadians. How could you bring a suggestion that a man who is in clear violation of the law clean up the Courts? Are you inferring that he is already above the law?

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

353 responses to “Open Letter to Richard ‘Lowdown’ Hoad”

1. @ Paradox to me my voice is like the call of the wild on the wind. It will go wherever the wind will take it. Some here the message like it and share it. Some will be fearful of it and others will reject it.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“How can I bid on a contract that requires a D7 caterpillar to do the work if I have none?”

To the dumbass yardfowls and pimps Alvin and ACs…

Ya do it the same way every business person would, ya take the taxpayer funded contract to the bank and borrow to buy the equipment, the same way Cow, Bizxy, Bjerkham, Maloney…still does all the time, the payments are guaranteed…you idiots.

Or ya do like Bjerkham, despite not being a marine engineer, he still took the contract, subcontracted to a firm in Trinidad, so now the taxpayers are paying him, who knows not one crap about marine engineering, as well as a firm in Trinidad…Although I am sure ya can find one or 2 local marine engineers…

Alvin, you continue to be a shameful, retarded jackass…go join ya idiot friend Hoad and take the AC pimps with ya…shameful joke for an excuse of an educated human.

3. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

William Sknner

You summed up the dispicable black white piece of thrash that is the Richard Hoad bigot. His articles are packed with supramacist views though he has written several good pieces. Be that is it may, he is one of the pretensive whites who wants you to believe that he supports unity. He is all for white power rule.

4. @ 9
    BUT Bush tea how is it that you can still be a fan or admirer of a person who articulates a Hoad lotta racist shite .
    Easy….
    Bushie likes to talk a lotta shiite too…. AND is a damn racist … 🙂

You can’t see that Bushie LOVES Black?
    You ain’t work out yet that:
    ..Bushie KNOWS that God made the original man as black as dirt…
    ..Bushie KNOWS that anything else is a result of gene defects…
    ..Bushie KNOWS the potential of the black man…

How could Bushie be vex with a wannabe striving to defend the indefensible…?
    …It is almost as funny as those who think that accumulating a lotta money is some kinda life accomplishment…. an albino-centric characteristic which Lowdown seems to have overcome, ..to his credit.

5. How do some of you expect a man socialized in the 50’s to think? The very behaviour we as Black people rail against we freely indulge in now. We should learn from MLK and Mandela. Then again those were mighty big shoes to fill And we call ourselves intelligent!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…Hoad cannot be another Maloney or Bizzy et al, not because he he dont not want to but in reality he does not haventhat type of ambition, he much prefers farming…animals cant talk back, people can….and writing shite, another wannabe writer sees himself as a Robert Ludlum.

On one of my trips to the island, I read one of his articles, found that particular one locally questionable…asked a Bajan white about the dude and got his story, was told Hoad likes to fabricate shit, do not take him seriously, this was back in 2005.

Another time I was on the island and saw him mention in one of his nonstories, that he was at this party filled with nuisances and present was none other than Nancy Binks, former principal of St. Winifreds, who was looking to him that night like a 16 year old among other nonsense, knowing the female in question and her nasty racist attitudes practiced on black people on the island until she got too old, I knew that this dude Hoad had serious psychological damage.

Some of us spoke about it for months cause we knew under no circumstances, not even drunk, could anyone mistake that trool for a 16 year old….and had the nerve to write that shit in a newspaper column.

From then on I knew what one of his own people told me to be true, take everything he writes with a pinch of salt, he is not credible and lies, and lies.

7. look over the years i have spoken about mistrust of whites and by all accounts having a privilege right over blacks
    however i am concerned that in the past weeks and months there is a reason to believe that there is a hole of racism indifference deplete of putting country interest above all else swirling out of control which can divide the country
    what is needed in my opinion is for all to take a deep breath and let the wheels of justice on certain legal matters take its full course before all fall into that deep dark hole that gives no way out

mandate

personally i am not an admire of extremism and heather articles are radicle extremes sending messages of disruption but absence of long term solutions for the future eg her effect of ridding barbados of the WTE for some it was good ad govt listened // but has yet to pen an article for any alternative solutions ..meaning she might be good at burning down the house but not good at rebuilding , For me a good enough reason not to buy into her extreme points of views because when all is said and done she has nothing to offer but chaos .
    Looking at the message is a good thing but choosing who best states the message is even better

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Calvin..an if any of you wannabes want to take me on about Nancy Annie Binks, just try, cause blood relation or not I will throw down like ya never seen before.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps, yall are traitors to your people and country and should be hung for treason, go think on that one…ya always on here complaining about the nastiness of bajan whites, ya only lick foreign white ass, now ya here bolfacedly talking out both sides of your mouth.

Ya see why Hoad prefers dumb animals on 4 legs that lack the ability to be forked tongue and 2 faced….you are a disgrace.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ David July 3, 2016 at 9:39 AM re”How do some of you expect a man socialized in the 50’s to think?” — Very provocative rhetorical query you posed there.

And then you proceed to ANSWER your own provocation viz ” We should learn from MLK and Mandela.”

This weekend also marked the death of another person who the world acclaims in the MLK Mandela type pantheon, Eli Wiesel, the concentration camp survivor who achieved Nobel Laureate status. I cite him simply to paraphrase one of his quotes.

“The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference.. the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference… [And surely the opposite of racism is not acceptance, it’s indifference, too]”

Or as you said: “The very behaviour we as Black people rail [against] we freely indulge in now.”

It seems we are all racist ‘to de bone’ because we can’t fill “those … mighty big shoes”!!!

11. Well, the American civil rights movement has been used to justify anything unjustifiable.

It was used to empowers White, American women. Indeed, they have benefited much more than ‘Blacks’ from an ostensibly Black movement. What a paradox!

It has been used in a racist project to confront what modern day racists see as ‘reverse racism’. What a contradiction in terms.

It has been used by “Black’ politicians to justify their existence and maintain largesse from government.

Currently, the Civil Rights Movement is the main arrow in the quiver of a genocidal discourse intent on, using all means necessary, and under the rubric of civil rights law to install bulling as a natural interaction amongst humans.

It argues that society should be based on the potential destruction of itself.

Hoad has always been a Bajan crypto-racist but is merely following the lead of others.

And to so do, one would need a certain inbreed disposition as a necessary but insufficient pre-condition.

In this, Hoad is preeminently qualified.

12. and did not Mia eared a special privileged by extension of not having to pass the LEC examination to be admitted to the barbados legal bar a requirement for admission.Amm before all cuss that is a fact ad a truth this is also another glaring example of laws for the have and laws for the have nots which rubs against a grain of corruption which heather and others speak about //hell yes it is the same horse albeit a different colour or race
    so what makes Mia privilege so righteous and all other privilege wrong against the same moral fiber of deceit and corruption
    If the BLP is going to dredge they need to start at the head while dragging the tail

13. @Pacha

Wheel and come again. There is a reason why MLK and Mandela have achieved elevated status. It certainly was NOT because of individuals spitting vitriol.

14. It appears to me that Martin Luther King’s and Mandela’s achievements are highly overrated. What has really changed in their respective countries? Laws may have been changed but, as is the case with Barbados, they are not being equally applied. What they have achieved is a half of a revolution which has stalled because of our peacefulness.

I have not spitted any vitriol. I have simply told the truth. You want to feel the spit of vitriol? Listen to the white people when they figure we have forgotten our collective place.

Pull up the Hoad article on Trayvon Martin! Feel the spit on your face! Then tell me how much you admire Hoad!

Alas, Bushie is right again. He has at least risen above his peers and kicked the acquisition of ALL habit. That is why I read him for as long as I did.

But NO MORE!

15. @Donna

You are entitled to your view that MLK and Mandela’s contribution and what the symbolize to the civil rights movement is overrated. Thankfully yours is in the minority.

16. @ David

We are not the ones to whom the popular perceptions of MLK and those of Mandela are to be aimed at.

We are minded that the MLK of whom you speak is not the one we have come to know, to love. For us the real MLK is 180% different to the general and popular narratives which are now allowed to pollute the airwaves.

In the case of Mandela, we’ve always had doubts and preferred others in leadership. More concerning should be the legacy this real and dangerous Mandela left us – South Africa today. In some ways worse than under Apartheid.

When your own COW Williams could have something good to say about a man, Mandela, on his release from prison, who was denied Farley Hill being re-named after him, but COW at that time called him a ‘terrorist’ but made public and favorable statements in his support, years after.

This tells us COW was as highly mis-informed as those seeking to re-name Farley Hill in his honour – Mandela.

Our truth is that Nelson Mandela ended up being an instrument of imperialism. And those of us who exerted efforts to avoid his death, in prison, remain eternally condemned.

South Africa would have been no worse had he been removed from the political theatre. But this narrative is not popular now. The popular narrative is the one you espouse, despite existential realities.

It is precisely the ‘vitriol’ of MLK, all known to the government, which shifted power. And you have to understand that The Poor Peoples’ Campaign, the anti-war agenda he started to pursue, attempts to unite working class people and the internationalization of the struggle of the people of the USA were all seen as ‘vitriolic’ by the American establishment.

He was so ‘vitriolic’ that that government had him killed. We are still assessing the moral basis on which a man could be killed and then raised as JC to say your world, dominion.

You must ask yourself who are the people who ever got power to concede an inch without a ‘vitriolic’ demand.

In the case of Mandela, the ‘vitriol’ had come from the youths and he agreed to be used to quell uncontrollable ‘vitriol’ in the street.

It is a ‘vitriol’ which has long since returned!

17. PS

Vitriol only means cruel or bitter criticism.

18. @ David,
    Why is it that you can try to deflect justifiable criticism of Hoad by saying that “lazy black people ” can learn a whole lot from him. Why is it that any attack on any white person in our country finds such apologists for them. Whatever our country is was built on the backs of black people. All the plantations exploited and continue to exploit black labor in this year of 2016 and after 50 years of independence. Are you telling me that all those black men and women out there in the hot boiling sun carrying home wages that are more fit to the 1920″ lazy? Explain to me what it is that Richard Hoad can teach “lazy black people”. I would hope that my reading/comprehension skills have deteriorated or that you were just being tongue in cheek, if not ,May god(whomever) he or she is help Barbados.

19. The actions of MLK were no less than the seeking of a revolution by non-violent means, as a departure point..

The USA government were in doubt about that, and neither was MLK

We refer you to the FBI files and the recent monograph by William Pepper.

20. no doubt

21. Pacha,

I said that their achievements were highly overrated. In MLK’s case his achievements may indeed have been cut short by death.

So often I find that the popular opinion is one which adheres to media hype and hasn’t been fully thought through. So I don’t give two wukups about popular opinion! At three o’ clock this morning I was up thinking. While at my computer I was listening to the wukup music from the Cropover function up the road. This is the POPULAR thought at this time. “Bashment soca is the best!”

22. Hoad has been gradually becoming racist over the years. I think he’s been watching too much Fox News.

23. Also, I think Hoad is nostalgic for “The Good Old Days” but that is racist by definition.

24. @Donna
    I think MLK and Mandela were exceptional men; probably underrated.

They advanced their causes much further than most other men; but they were standing on the shoulders of past heroes. It remains a constant and enduring struggle and like a war there will be ebbs and flows. It is time for new heroes to emerge and it is up to the foot soldiers to take up the flag and press onward.

These two heroes fought a good fight and are gone; If we drop the flag or fail to move it forward, we should only blame ourselves.

25. Artax ….White people like blacks if the blacks can do something for them preferably for free .

26. Gazer,

True that the struggle should have been taken up by others but especially in Mandela’s case he demanded too little of the former oppressors. That set the tone for the future. MLK, if he had lived may have done differently. I have great admiration for the man but where was his succession planning? Was there no clearly articulated way forward for his followers?

27. @Pacha

In the case of Mandela, we’ve always had doubts and preferred others in > leadership. More concerning should be the legacy this real and dangerous > Mandela left us – South Africa today. In some ways worse than under > Apartheid. >

Please explain how South Africa is worse of today than in the Apartheid years.

On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 4:09 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ David at 10:56 AM re:”You are entitled to your view that MLK and Mandela’s contribution and what the symbolize to the civil rights movement is overrated. Thankfully yours is in the minority.”

To be frank I wonder if it is really in the minority. It is certainly a view that does not resonate with a purposeful analysis of history but it is also the type of view that is adopted by persons who develop a certain ‘posture’ on race and class issues. Fifty years on from the black civil right days many younger and of a certain age -like us here – are firm in that mindset. Misguided but firm.

Realistically, once we (myself included) have established our ‘intellectual positioning’ after years of soaking in info it becomes difficult to disavow that position and embrace a different reality.

I would agree with Pacha that Dr King was “seeking of a revolution by non-violent means”. The real ‘change perspective’ divide at the end, in my simple view, between him and Malcolm X for example was not as great as history may have us believe.

I disagree with him and Donna re Mandela. He too in the end was “seeking of a revolution by non-violent means”. My intellectual positioning puts me in a place which sated that if not for Mandela ‘allowing himself’ to be an ‘instrument’ to power that SA would have devolved into civil war and led to a totally different state of affairs to what we know know.

The situation was not as volatile in the US but also could have devolved into more bloodshed and major civil strife.

Thus in that simple snapshot to suggest that both of their legacies is highly overrated is not a position that I could ever get to. It just dismisses so much reality.

29. @ ac, just because very little was said about social injustices in Barbados prior to a few months ago does not mean that the acts did not exist or went unnoticed.
    With reference to the course of the law, the mere existence of the black man in the western world has been criminalized. The laws have been pro white and against black. How can you explain a white man shooting his son and a case never being heard in court? How can you explain Abijah Holder’s death and there being no recourse by the law to date? I believe that you can find an explanation for a black man being sent to jail or stealing food or being fined because he was hungry or a young black man being sent to jail for a spift. On the other hand, the people who bring drugs into the island are just a well know rumor.
    Only people who do not want the truth to be known would label what I write as radical or extreme. The truth causes people to think and not let the goverment use them and that is what you are afraid of.
    For the record I do not hate white people or any people. I am not a racist. I am however for EQUALITY for all.
    Having never yet been elected to serve the people of Barbados, how do you know what I am capable of doing or not doing?
    The PM did not respond to any of the letters that I wrote to him. How can you say that I caused him to listen?

30. William et al

Have any of you ever sat at the same table as Lowdown? Have any of you broke bread with him? Have any of you visited his farm to observe the ingenuity of the man? Are any of you aware of how he helps people (note people has no colour description). BU will disagree/criticize Hoad like any any other but to shout racism is jackassery.

31. @Dee Word

You mentioned about S.Africa and possibly the USA devolving into civil war/bloodshed. Let us not trivialize the moral encroachment of personal civil liberties.

32. When De Dribbler thinks I am misguided I feel even more that I am on the right track.

33. @ Donna

De dribbler is not known to have too much sense.

Please be advised that your time could be better used than trying to reform a completely unintelligent organism.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re” trivialize the moral encroachment of personal civil liberties” I don’t get your point there bro. I made the mention in terms of the legacies of the two men. Civil war and bloodshed are inextricably wedded to their time. It is their temperament that helped build the memories that we now take for granted.

I certainly can understand anyone who is conflicted/confused after even a few readings about Nelson Mandela’s time after Robbins Island as they try to understand how he embraced peace the way he did. In some eyes like mine that made him the man of the century. In the eyes of others the sell-out coon of two millennia.

Current civil liberty issues is a different discourse. So to return to Hoad. His comparison of Maloney and a civil rights icon is a piss poor comparison to highlight rights and justification. But then again that is the man’s style (as I remember it) very earthy with a clear intent to be explosive.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna at 12:42 PM re “When De Dribbler thinks I am misguided I feel even more that I am on the right track.”

That would definitely be one way to look at it. Clear disagreement must be from an unspecified organism indicating that you must be right. Oh lawd.

Another view would be to suggest that you are actually interested in what others actually think of your positions ad more importantly how those positions resonate with the actual facts.

Afterall we either post for that reason or because we KNOW that we are right!!!!

Noting wrong with disagreement. At the end of the day it’s all about being respectful as far as I believe.

But its great to be like you and be right if I diagree! LOLL.

36. One does not have to meet someone to know him. One has only to read his writings. There are various degrees of racist thought. He does not want us all brutally oppressed. But heck, I love and am kind to dogs that does not mean I hail them as equals. I heard a story from a black man of how Cow gave him a cow. Yet we believe that Cow is racist. Heck, Bizzy married a black woman! But, I have heard of many interracial marriages that eventually showed up that the white party still had some lingering vestiges of racist thought yet to be excised. Sometimes one has no intention of being a bigot. But still one is because of upbringing. It requires much time and effort to completely rewire one’s brain.That was Bushie’s point. Nauseatingly right!

37. @Donna

What about all the BLACK people who support Maloney in the press, talk shows etc, are they racist too?

Why would Lowdown be visibly racist in a predominantly Black country by venting in his weekly column?

We can disagree with some of his coloured positions, it does not mean he is racist.

38. @ David

Hoad can be a good man and an unwitting racist at the same time. Racism does not always equal hatred. Racisism (or more precisely, racial prejudice) is all around us deeply embedded in our language and culture. It would be remarkable if a man of Hoad’s age did not display some of these tendencies.

39. Donna, dribbler, pacha and all the people who are only one indeed. How do you do it, write and then reply and come in again as a third and fourth and fifth. It’s only fun in the beginning, until you find yourself in restraints and on the wrong side of criticism, careful as you go shorty

40. @Old Baje

Not sure your comment computes.

A person who is deliberately racist cannot by definition be a good person.

We can agree to disagree, BU’s position is that Hoad is not racist. He may share off colour views concerning matters of race but as Bushie stated think about how he was socialized.

41. @ Dribbler
    “The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference.. the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference… [And surely the opposite of racism is not acceptance, it’s indifference, too]”
    Great quote.
    You know that another term for indifference is “lukewarmness” don’t you…?

@ WW&C
    Why don’t you ease up a bit off the accelerator nuh….? Are you ‘hyper’ or wuh!?
    There is no need to hate every one who is different to your image of what is right… Bushie already told you to leave out that broomstick travel business… Lowdown does NOT claim to be perfect…. nor does Bushie. If YOU are, then kudos to you, but meanwhile… just cool it….

Mandela and MLK are of the ilk that cannot be measured by contemporary criteria. The ultimate gift is love, and true love CANNOT be measured by what you are able to do for a person …or a people, but by HOW MUCH of yourself you are willing to give for that person …or those people.
    The ultimate love therefore is that one would give their VERY LIFE for the loved…. which is what the very CREATOR of the our world did….(but that is another story)

MLK and Mandela were able to FORGIVE those who had wronged them grievously; To show UNDESERVED mercy, compassion and empathy to haters….TO LOVE THEM, even …even when they could have LEGITIMATELY APPLIED HARSH JUSTICE.
    That such men enjoy universal respect is indicative of the POWER and overriding predominance of God’s SPIRITUAL laws over the frivolous brass bowlery that we look to for guidance.

What manner of man is able to do such? ..to demonstrate such LOVE….?
    If you understand the REAL point of life, the greatness of these (and some others,) will become VERY clear.

42. LOL @ Donna
    That was Bushie’s point. Nauseatingly right!
    Shiite woman!! … “Nauseatingly right!” …. You ain’t easy!!! LOL…

…and what exactly is this lotta shiite about ‘racist’? You must not mind stupid John? …or the ingrunt dictionary with their warped definitions?

Bushie’s defn…
    A ‘racist’ is REALLY someone who, having the power or authority to do so, configures the Law; or uses available force or other means, to discriminate against a class, or classes, of people based on their race.

If a racist is just someone who ‘believes’ that ” a particular race is superior to another.”, then every damn person who watches the sprints at Olympics must be outright racists. …and Jamaicans MUST be among the worse of all…

According to that shiite definition, Bushie is DEFINITELY a racist, but according to Bushie’s COMMON SENSE definition, Hoad could NEVER be a racist….unless we hear from the few persons that he employ or who may come under his control.

43. Heather Social advocacy does not necessarily mean by any means necessary Speaking for myself and above ground i find your articles having to do with social injustices are coded message tinged with racist banter which attracts those with agendas of division and political one up-manship.. Many here are correct to point that MLK fought for social injustice however his advocacy was a stepping stone to help heal a nation and not coded words of racist banter to divide an already divided nation
    Truthfully i must say that your corrective measures for injustices would not heal but would divide barbados a nation which is still in its youthful years of independence and is still growing and having to meet the demands of all kinds of challenges economical as well as social
    The ideas which you hold fast to for corrective measures are those far from creating equality but at there roots is a quasi intelligence that can be self serving and destructive sending wrong ad confusing messages so much that when all the smoke is cleared would leave a Barbados isolated and out of touch with the rest of the world
    Maybe for you! taking a page or two out of MKL pages would create the right recipe and dialogue necessary for change and social Justice for the barbadian people

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bushie, you know what could also be substituted for ‘indifference;…FAITH.

I essence the opposite of any belief is your perspective in your deity. That has sustained mankind throughout time.

David, said “A person who is deliberately racist cannot by definition be a good person.”

Yet, there were/are avowed KKK members or Afrikaners who worshiped their faith strongly and raised their children to do the right ‘moral’ things.

They were/are Black Panthers and ANC devotees who were similar acolytes to their faith and tried their utmost to be god people.

So without continuing to what surely you would concede as blaspheming your faith I revert to the Christian dismissal of what seemed to be a legitimate Christian ethos by two men which you describe so perfectly as “What manner of man is able to do such? ..to demonstrate such LOVE” – so akin to Jesus – because of an ‘overrated persona’ and a sad legacy for Blacks.

So tell me sir, can we not also substitute indifference for ‘faith’: If you accept and trust that all will be well in the end, then you can be in opposition to anything on account of your abiding faith not so!

As they say above I am not too bright so educate me.

45. Dribbler
    If you think that ‘Faith’ is”accepting and trusting that all will be well in the end”, then no wonder you are lukewarm. You just defined idiocy.
    Faith is KNOWING that something is in place because your experience tells you that it has ALWAYS been in place ….and you KNOW you can depend on its reliability in the future …BECAUSE of past experiences.
    This is why PURYR has faith in his glock….

NOTHING could be further from lukewarmness or indifference.

46. @ ac in paragraph 2 and 3 of your 2:30 pm, you perfectly described you goverment….

47. Sorry 2:11 pm post.

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David and Bushtea;

I think that, as a black bajan, who has experienced white racism in Canada and the US and one whose early childhood was spent in a plantation tenantry in a Barbados where a somewhat more nuanced white racism was practiced at the time that Richard Hoad was growing up and which he must have been somewhat acculturated to but essentially rejected as a guide to how he should fashion his own life, I cannot avoid adding my voice to this debate.

I have known Richard Hoad for over fifty years as a musician, friend and co worker, I have broken bread with him many times and I can confirm that Richard Hoad is not a racist and that your descriptions of the man accord fully with my experiences with him and my knowledge of the man.

Richard is an atypical product of the bajan white experience of the 40’s and 50’s. Indeed, from early he broke the mould of the typical redneck white man in Barbados by choosing to have a rainbow hued circle of friends with very very few members of that circle being bajan whites.

Of course there are vestiges of the early white bajan acculturation which break out in his writings from time to time. He’s human. But I think he has demonstrated several times over that he is not racist.

49. ok fair enough heather, if that is the way you see/want it but that does not excuse you erratic extreme behavior of burning down the barn and having nothing of substance to rebuild
    My argument being that for all that which is bad there must be sometime good by which one can contribute and so far that which you have not been able to provide while appealing to the masses and officialdom for change ,reason why i brought your attention to WTE yes you accomplished a political win but then what after the fact what have you contribute as a remedy absolutely nothing
    From what i see you have purposed to go on to another challenge one which this time can create hate and division
    If as you say you want to make social change by all means do so but with a guided hand purposed to exempt eruptions and social chaos and dislocation in the country
    Think on those things and one day you might be walking in the shoes of a MLK

50. i have never read Hoads articles but there are many here who have been reading and never said anything about his racist banter as a matter of fact many have swooned all over his articulation as satire
    See what i mean Heather but now you go ahead and writes an article with surgical interception to point out what you say is racism and all hell breaks loose
    Again my point being that there are those who will piggy back on utterances of such wording after only being directed or drawn having only political intent and i suspect you are one of many such person
    Social justice should and can be accomplished by attacking the laws and not peppering or piling on of coded racist messages for self gain NOT good