Submitted by Heather Cole

Having read your article that was carried by the Nation Newspaper on Friday, June 24, 2016, under the caption “The ox to the stall,” it is surprising that you have categorized Mr. Mark Maloney’s business ventures as doing a lot for Barbados. I see it the other way around. The taxpayers’ money and the lucrative contracts awarded by the Government of Barbados have done a lot for Mr. Maloney.

While you did not state it, you left us to compare Mr. Maloney’s breaking the law to Rosa Parks breaking the law. When Rosa Parks broke the law by refusing to get up out of her seat, she was standing up for her civil rights. No civil rights of Mr. Maloney have been violated. In fact, since you have inferred the topic of civil rights, I must inform you that any black Barbadian can now demand those coveted contacts as part of their civil rights which are now being violated as they are clearly being discriminated against by a political group.

When I read the sentence that Mr. Maloney gets things done and that within weeks he can clean up the garbage, my mind instantly went to those green garbage trucks that are sitting in the harbour unclaimed. Were you trying to inform the people of Barbados that the Government has signed another Public Private Partnership with Mr. Maloney? Could these green garbage trucks be the reason why the Minister of the Environment who is responsible for ensuring that Barbados is clean has been negligent in his duties? Does it mean that the tax payers will again be saddled with an additional burden for garbage disposal in the form of another levy? I hope that my thoughts are not correct and the trucks have no connection to Government or the collection of public garbage because as far as the public is aware, no contracts have been tendered for any such arrangements.

There is a problem with the basis on which Government awards contracts. The rules of the tendering process must be changed to ensure that contacts are awarded fairly and transparently to the entire population, perhaps even on a proportionate basis. No Government should award public contracts exclusively to one sector of the population. I am committed to social justice; I am not against others becoming wealthy but I am on a quest for equality for all Barbadians. How could you bring a suggestion that a man who is in clear violation of the law clean up the Courts? Are you inferring that he is already above the law?

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

353 responses to “Open Letter to Richard ‘Lowdown’ Hoad”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Richard Hoad, while enjoying the company of blacks, raised among blacks, enjoy all the visual endowments of the black female, is still a wannabe redneck. Cow sued the government because the contracts were going to Rayside, then stupid black government ministers and politicians gave all the contracts to Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham and that small group of parasitic minorities going forward for 3 decades, of course Hoad would see nothing wrong wuth that…it enriches his bunch of redneck wanna people.

The problem here is Cherry and all the other contractors, as I have said in previous posts, need to sue the government for their refusal to distribute taxpayer funded contracts fairly to the majority black population. Unless they sue the government, those ministers now openly takung bribes from the minority thieves….will not stop, will not distribute one government contract to one black person on the island.

So Hoad, redneck wannabe that he is…is not the real problem. The real problem is government ministers violating the rights of the majority for their own financial gain, bribetaking etc…and the majority sitting on their asses and not the suing government….just as Cow dud

I am sure if these aggrieved black business people approach certain lawyers, they will file the lawsuit…pro bono

2. Hoad is a johnny.

3. The time has long gone when blacks assert their power and hit the likes of Hoad,Maloney,Cow,Bizzy,Tempro,Jerkman and all those welfare companies who leech on the government payroll via contracts and projects.Dont wait a day later.Challenge the government in court land bring out the kleptocrats.The chain can and must be broken….now

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yesterday was July 1, in 1863 on that date, Suriname won their freedom from all types of slavery andnoppression and to this day, no one can violate the rights of Surinamese black people, in any form.

What is wrong with black bajans that they are allowing black government ministers to violate their rights in favor of minorities and bribetaking.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Heather

There is no need to change the rules that govern the tendering process; they just need to be obeyed. Even if the rules are deficient and would need a little adjustment, who’s to say that the government would obey the rules.

The problem in Barbados is not the rules but rather those that are in place to administer them.

6. Bush Tea our man Lowndown seems bereft of logic in this week’s column. How is the comparison with Parks and Maloney sitting with you? It is like when one of his employees referred to moving Bussa statue when the enforcement order was enforced at Lears Roundabout.

7. Have no fear, Heather……….let the contrcts dry up and we will then see how much Mark Maloney’s business ventures would continue to do for Barbados.

I continue to ask….what was Mark Maloney’s claim to fame prior to 2008? Where is all this good he was doing for Barbados prior to 2008?

Without these ignorant black morons who had nothing much prior to 2008 and who we now know are greedy brutes…….Mark Maloney would still be scrunting just like the majority of Barbadians that they have impoverished because of their inability to govern.

I agree with you Heather, without these contracts, he would be what was he was prior to 2008 because these incompetent dems have this country so screwed up that nothing is happening to turn the country around!

Violating his civil rights, my eye……..we see it differently……..he has been allowed to take advantage of the taxpayers by the hugh no contest contracts where he charges what the hell he wants……………..like:

getting a government to declare a dividend on a fund so that he could be paid milions
    $600 a square foot for poor income housing
    the 25 million dollar molasses tanks
    land grab at Coverley
    the Bushy Park fiasco
    the Port fiasco
    the highway project

………and these are the few that I can recall now…………

8. Black man.Get up and take back your country now….now.It will be a bit of hardship in the beginning with all the stumbling blocks the local albinos who are accustomed to hearing ‘yes sir,no sir,3 bags full sir’.Who teach you to sing ‘The rich man in his castle,the poor man at his gate,god made them high or lowly,and ordered their estate’.And the problem with Bajans is that their own black people seek to reinforce that gobbledegook,at the same time robbing the old ladies of their homes and land.It is no secret that the church of rome is among the wealthiest institutions on the planet.They keep people in ignorance whilst encouraging them to leave their real and personal property not to their relatives….but to the church.
    These albinos/creoles perpetrate a system of control by aloofness and it is what makes them think they are separate and super human,that is,a cut above the blacks in so far as Barbados is concerned.Tell all of them,the time is now that blacks will first demand and then command a 95% share of every government contract available to Barbados.No begging,no cajoling,but demanding it now.Later command it.Start today.It is your birthright.Take it.You won’t get it under any other pretext.Start calling all the shots.You are entitled and you will be respected,now today nor tomorrow,but in a few years time.This baloney that black people cant run businesses and where they do only one generation can do it,is bollocks to the highest degree.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This maybe a different topic but that statue at Haggatt Hall never was, and was never intended to be Bussa. It is a bunch of dishonest twistorians who renamed that statue “Bussa”.

When it was commissioned and subsequently sculpted by Karl Broodhagen, it was called the “Emancipation Statue”.

10. @Caswell

Bussa or Emancipation statue it does not change the point. For a Maloney employee to compare the incident at Preconco roundabout to Emancipation stature was not very sensible. Like Hoad throwing in Rosa Parks and making the Maloney a civil rights issue.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Whenever there is a problem or perceived problem in any black business the media jumps on it with both feet to put a nail in the business’s coffin, thereby perpetuating the myth that black people can’t run business.

Chief offender is the Nation. Yesterday, the Nation carried a story that was damaging to the City of Bridgetown Credit Union. I happen to be a member of the Supervisor Committee of COB. I investigated that matter, and while I am forbidden from disclosing a member’s confidential information, doing such could attract a jail sentence, I can assure you that the story is completely false. It is the product of a mind that has been under pressure for too long.

The truth did not bother the Nation just as long as it had the chance to damage another black business.

12. @Caswell

We are sure COB’s legal people will sort this out.

BTW you remember this is the newspaper you write for?

13. This DLP Government in the last 8 years returned this Barbados to the Redneck, pay then for taking it back. and gladly received the kickback money, the top civil servants backup the actions of corrupt Ministers.

14. low down analogy might have been wrong , he could have simply said the law is an ass and there are times when it needs to be hit over the head with a 2×4 for clarity

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was not dealing with the Uncle Tom comparison, I was merely trying to set the record straight on the statue

16. @watchman since you are so keen on letting Barbadians in on who the govt has surrender the country since 2008 so as to be fair minded and objective can you please tell all who the previous govt had surrender the country (to) with all kinds of financial sell outs, land grabbing and foreign contracts

17. @Gabriel

Please make your call for action to the Black Man / Woman of Barbados

18. Mankind,meaning the human species.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t understand the point. Yes, I write for them but that does not mean that I must condone their nastiness.

20. @ 9

9, welcome to Bu, I am 8, you the older should tell what the previous government surrender, btw, my mind Is very good , thank you

21. Because Hoad writes a few comical lines in the papers about goats and sheep and periodically makes us laugh does not a historian make him.

That is like seeking to make me Pope because I copy and paste the Word of God from the Internet regularly

He is a witty writer whose innuendo and funny stories have sustained articles for mannnnnny years in the Nation but, we must admit, his ability to recall, then understand, then apply the Rosa Oarks experience to a suitable scenario leaves a lot to be desired

Hoad dimly recalls that Rosa Parks stood for something and the poor man heard that Bark stood in the sun recently and since the verb was the same, ergo the comparison.

If while Hoad was writing his wife had stood on the toilet for a period of time, this story twould have featured Hoad’s wife and the subject matter would have been equally about faeces

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Caswell Franklyn July 2, 2016 at 6:19 PM #
    I do hope that the Credit Union do not sit on this one like the BWA and the Ministry of Health over the water rumour. With Commercial Banks now paying a pittance on deposits accounts , and the Barbados Government Saving Bonds, now being Clicoed by many, Barbadians were hoping,and need the assurance that the Credit Unions in Barbados are safer alternatives.

23. Hoad’s articles are tinged with a belief that black Barbadians were better off when they were to quote him:”plantation peoples”. Several of his articles are very subtle in seeing black women as sex objects. He has been allowed to use his skill to constantly undermine progressive blacks. He has mastered the art of fooling the unsuspecting public that he is a comedian. He is not. He writes very serious anti-government, anti-black articles. His comparison of Mark Maloney to Rosa Parks is his latest attempt to belittle the struggle of blacks for equality. He is angry because the same laws that he pretends to defend have now been applied to one of his own. All blacks should let Hoad know that it is a great sin to try to bring Rosa Parks down to the level of Mark Maloney. It was a well intended insult and put down of the entire civil rights movement and has finally exposed him for what he really is.

Yep…a small minded redneck wannabe…it’s alright for a minority of semi literate parasites to own everything on the island in Hoad’s book, while acting like they are owners of the 95% black people, that pleases Hoad to no end.

It’s the 95% black have to put an end to that and put an end to the black politicians continuously aiding and abetting the destruction of black buinesses by both nasty forces…on the sland.

25. Wonder how many blacks would boycott the nation newspaper because of Hoad anti black racist expressions which he has often used as satire in his article

26. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Hoad, do make us/me laugh – I give him that, but to paint Maloney as a Saviour for Barbados…… But I get it!! We are not the ones that buys goat milk.

27. @pieceofderock

Either you are simple or desperate. Hoad writes what he believes…..yours now are not your own

28. They say that the truth is stranger than fiction…

In an alternate reality, the USA would be an island with a black government that favors and enriches a white minority. The Statue of Liberty would be just a roundabout and Rosa Park would be a rich white man fighting to keep control of the bus.

Richard Hoad would be a historian.

29. @ Calvin or should I say Hoad

You have caught me out and doubly so.

I an both simple and desperate.

@ William Skinner

Most soldiers Will tell you, post war, that they do not know colour Mr Skinner but, as Colonel Buggy and Sargeant may attest, they can see racists from a mile off.

It clogs like the smell of an unwashed po**y. Forgive my raw imagery but I try at times to convey what I feel.

His writing carries “longing for” and it evidenced one who has gone black and can’t go back, at least not openly, no he ent no Bizzy.

I am glad another put theses words down so economically yet with such precision.

Mr Skinner some things we see even if you’re not looking for them. Hoad is just a product of our society

Are you related to Johnny? The gentle giant? He passed some years ago. He was a peaceful man. Loved to laugh.

30. @pieceofderock

Thanks, see your teachers comments are still true…. Your stories suffer without plot and direction. It’s been a while, hoped you’d catch up by now. So sad ! How many monikers are you anyway

31. The article should be titled A HOAD LOTTA SHIT

32. Ms. Cole, I have read most or perhaps all your postings on BU, which I do admire. This last posting has led me to write the following:

All right thinking Barbadians should focus on (1) Voters; each other (2) Government from 1966 to present.

Those TWO above are what I would describe as the “ENABLERS”.

What can we do to affect change?

(1) Review the way we select/elect our representatives. (a) select those with community service credentials, (b) elect those with proven records (c) promises made must be kept, (d) the laws of the land must be applied evenly.

We all have perhaps differing views on how we all can take steps to improve ourselves. The ‘minorities have perfected a way, but this can only work if it is ENABLED by the majority.
    We need change NOW. One voice crying out in the forest will be muffled by the wind through the trees. All hands on deck is needed.

50 years on, are we better off? I think NOT. Our ‘FAMILY SILVER has been tossed away, leaving us in a ‘Land of Great DELUSION’.

A brave man/woman please step forward.

There is long way to travel and a long long way to go: by the great Jamaican singer.

33. I gave up reading Hoad after an article he wrote following the Trayvon Martin killing. In those comments he exposed himself beyond any shadow of a doubt. The thrust of the article was about a man’s right to defend himself. What I found baffling was that he seemed to be identifying with Zimmerman rather than Martin. Never mind that the boy was walking to a friend’s house (not skulking around looking to rape or rob) armed only with Skittles and soda and that Zimmerman wasn’t standing his ground at all but chasing a boy who had a right to be on the premises. Never mind that it was Trayvon’s right to defend himself that were violated since Zimmerman was the real aggressor and Trayvon was the one initially who feared for his life. Consequently his act of hitting Zimmerman’s head into the pavement was one of self-defence. How could a Barbados scholar miss the point that a man who follows somebody in the middle of the night has no moral authority to shoot that person if the tables are turned and he now fears for his life? The answer I came up with was not complimentary to Hoad.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…Martin was not walking to a friend’s house, he was walking to his father’s house…he was going home.

I believe it’s the same article where I had to put the wannabe redneck Hoad in his place….he pretends he’s sociable to black people while making sure he makes them feel inferior in a black majority country…that’s the nasty mentality of the wannbe rednecks on the island.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Hosd is not a Barbados Scholar, he’s again a wannabe and a liar, his wife is the one had a taxpayer funded Barbados scholarsip….he lies a lot, a goddamn mediocre farmer, instead of putting his skills to use by teaching the skills of farming to those interested, he spends his time writing a bunch of shit articles to keep majority blacks in the 19th century.

36. The BU household has been an admirer of Lowndown for many years. His willingness to engage in a humble lifestyle sustain by his farming operation, his inventiveness to support a self contained operation, share his views via his column and mix with Barbaians whether Blacks, White, Indians alike are all admirable qualities. We can disagree with his views without being insulting about it. Many lazy Black Barbadians can learn a thing or two from Hoad and family.

37. Hoad has sung his swan song.Firstly,the Nation must review his contract and stop printing his articles.Secondly,black Bajans must boycott Hoad goat milk.Hit the sucker in his pocket.
    I stop reading Hoad so long ago.It was unenlightening crap.The effusiveness of a warped sick, obsessed, one- tracked mind.

38. Wait is one freedom of expression to be curtailed about Hoad? Indeed i smell a rat here. Suddenly calling a spade a spade is limited to all but a few.mix messages or what?

39. @Gabriel, WW&C, Paradox & Donna (all the same person)

You hide here on this blog through the cover of different names to contaminate opinions. If you measure so high in righteousness then expose yourself. But that will not happen, their are certain traits which you possess that I can see bears a consistent thread of a damaged mind…..a sense of under achievement even….why don’t you think of moving……for good

40. There are a number of Bajans, some whom pretend to be intelligent, who have, over time, complimented Hoad on his writings. These include people like Elombe Mottley.

A greater multitude have seen some sort of literary genius in his words. See him as an important mind, worthy to be at the centre of discourses. His is given pride of place in a weekend newspaper.

We have always considered that Hoad’s writings were tinged with a sophisticated racism. Underlying what passes for ‘Barbadianness’ he has cleverly used popular media to sustain White privilege in Barbados in 2016 and beyond.

41. Same again, “shaping opinions”…… Let me guess you are short, shorter than most. Slightly unsocial to people. Struggles to connect, struggle to express yourself. Acting as different people and now that be the most alarming. At first it’s fun….

42. Bush Tea is an admirer of Hoad .amm can wait to see him put his whacker in full gear to cut the weeds

43. @Calvin or Alvin C (whoever you may be).
    In the same way that you feel Gabriel, WW&C, Paradox & Donna are all the same person, I deduced that you are Alvin C or one of the acs.

I will not ask you to expose yourself, for some on the pages of BU, some will frown on my request for ‘indecent exposure’ but shouldn’t you supply proof (name, age, email, and phone number) for us to see if your name is Calvin (note that we will not attempt to measure your degree of righteousness).

I will doo a psychoanalysis after you exposed yourself, fo I would expect to be paid for that bit of work…

Aint I silly…

44. Instead of engaging in constructive exchanges we can expect the usual black white insults. BU is on record in an earlier comment questioning Lowdown’s comparison to a civil rights matter regarding Maloney and Parks. Some of you see White and because you are robotic in thinking translate it to red.

45. @ David
    Bush Tea our man Lowdown seems bereft of logic in this week’s column.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie has not had the time for the Nation of late, but got the drift of the article from BU and remains a Hoad admirer….still.

No one is perfect, and everyone is allowed to do a shiitee from time to time – in fact, it is healthy to do so at least once daily.
    Given Hoad’s background, the fact that he himself is not another Maloney, COW, or Bizzy in itself says a lot….
    Expecting him to have the same attitude to race as Bushie does …is unrealistic…so it is not altogether surprising that something like this slips out..

Wunna bloggers must understand the pressure currently being applied to the ‘albino-ish’ among us…The veneer of ‘superiority’ with which they were raised has been shattered by BU, by science, by sport, by logic and by their own observations.
    How wunna going kill a fellow for grabbing onto a straw of baloney that offers the chance of a way back to the safe shores of power and control?

It is alright to complain, but wunna don’t feel that Lowdown looking for a little invite to some of the albino parties too…? …and all roads seem to be leading to Maloney.

Bushie NEVER thought that Lowdown was perfect ….just MUCH more enlightened that the average of his ilk, and given his nostalgic writings about his plantation-based upbringings, it has ALWAYS been obvious that he longed for the ‘good old days’ when blacks knew their place and his kin ran things….

His is usually a good read…but surely it all must be seen in its rightful context.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Calvin…why dont you expose yourself, you think if and when I, not you, decide to let my identity be known, it would be any different for yiu and your nasty ilk, it will only get worse ya think ya can do something to me by knowing who I am, think again, if you are Hoad…I know where you live.

47. @The Gazer,
    Alvin Cummins is only Alvin Cummins. I have no other pen name, and do not write under any pseudonym.
    I read these contributions and conclude that we have a lot of hateful people writing to BU. We have a lot of people, describing themselves as Black representatives who are more racist than the “whites”, and we have a lot of people who would like to destroy their own in an attempt to ” obtain” for blacks what they regard is rightfully theirs. Who knows what is “rightfully” theirs? Just because you have more melanin than someone else, gives you no
    greater “right” than anyone else. Just becAuse you are black, gives you no greater privilege than someone else, and vice versa.
    Our passage through life is short, and the length is unknown. As a consequence it should be a life lived to help, not hinder, and a life without strife. We can live harmoniously, without letting envy blind us to what life should be all about. How can I bid on a contract that requires a D7 caterpillar to do the work if I have none?
    Pacha,
    what do you mean by “white privilege”? How have “whites” prevented you from becoming anything you wanted to be? Where have you been disadvantaged?You have free education, free health services, you have the freedom to walk anywhere without hindrance or harassment, You have protection against wrong, and you have no hindrance to your progress, as a person. Where is “white” privilege hindering you as a person?

48. Donna July 3, 2016 at 2:55 AM #

“I gave up reading Hoad after an article he wrote following the Trayvon Martin killing. In those comments he exposed himself beyond any shadow of a doubt.”

Similarly to you, I also gave up reading Hoad after the Martin killing and because many of his articles have subtle underlying “traces” of racism.

Here we have Richard Hoad, who week after week, writes articles in the Nation in which he includes, in innuendo, some form of white supremacy.

I also have to agree with Bushie’s comments re: “…..and given his nostalgic writings about his plantation-based upbringings, it has ALWAYS been obvious that he longed for the ‘good old days’ when BLACKS KNEW THEIR PLACE AND HIS KIN RAN THINGS….”

A few years ago Bizzy was experiencing some problems trying to dock his yacht at Port St. Charles. Men of his ilk were also present, but refused to lend a helping hand. They made it known that they will not help him because he married Shelly (ask Armstrong from Aqua Tech).

And many of you will want to convince me that white people like us.

A lotta shiite, boss.

49. BUT Bush tea how is it that you can still be a fan or admirer of a person who articulates a Hoad lotta racist shite .

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Calvin…ya not going to change the tone of the truth no matter what you say, lies can be bent and changed at will, the truth when told is a constant and survives through eternity, ya wannabe everything, ya wannabe a redneck, ya wannabe a halfassed psychologist, ya wannabe a Barbados scholar, ya wannabe a writer, ya wannabe someone who can tell the height if anither without seeing tham, ya wannabe, ya wannabe, why not try being yaself for a change, it will change your present appearance to that of an peace old man instead of now looking like a confused old woman.

And if ya think that’s bad, let me reveal my identity to you and see how I throw down.

Ya now think ya have the right to say who shoukd leave stay or go in Barbados, think again.