Submitted by David Comissiong
The Late Austin 'Tom' Clarke
The Late Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke

In December of 2015 I produced a newspaper article that acknowledged Barbados’ good fortune of possessing no less than four “living legends” of literature– George Lamming, Paule Marshall , Kamau Brathwaite and Austin “Tom” Clarke.

Well, as we learnt on Monday of this week, Tom Clarke is no longer with us!ย  As a tribute to the late Tom Clarke, and as a “wake up call” to my fellow Barbadians, I now reproduce a slightly edited version of the said article:–

“In just a few months time Barbados will be celebrating its 50th year of Independence. I would therefore like – at this time – to urge the people, organisations, and Government of Barbados to make an effort to identify and catalogue the various “resources” that Barbados possesses, and to resolve to fully deploy and utilize these “resources” for the development of our country.

And one of the resources that I would like to identify and bring to the attention of the nation is the cultural and psychological power embedded in the collected works of Barbadosโ€™ four living legends of literature – George Lamming, Paule Marshall, Kamau Brathwaite, and Austin “Tom” Clarke.

Yes, Barbados possesses no less than four living legends of literature! Just take a moment to think about the significance of that fact. How many other countries can boast of possessing as many as four living legends of world literature? I – for one – cannot think of any! There is no other Caribbean country, no Third World country, no so-called First World nation for that matter, that can claim to possess as many as four living legends of world literature!

But being able to lay claim to these four cultural treasures is a relatively superficial thing! The real issue is – do we recognize the valuableness of the resource that lies in our hand, and are we putting it to good use?

The youngest of the four living legends is the 81 year old Toronto-based Austin “Tom” Clarke, the winner of such prestigious international awards as Canadaโ€™s W. O. Mitchell Prize, Cubaโ€™s Casa de las Americas Prize, and the Martin Luther King Junior Award for excellence in writing. Tom Clarkeโ€™s body of work consists of ten novels, six short story collections and three memoirs, most of which are based either in Toronto or in Barbados itself.

In Clarkeโ€™s Toronto-based stories, we are able to more clearly discern the elements of the true Barbadian, portrayed as they are against a foreign back-drop. And, as Barbadian literacy critic, John Wichkam, has observed – Clarke brings to this act of re-creation a faithful ear for the accent and rhythms of our Barbadian nation-language, and a powerful visual memory.

But there are also the Barbados based novels such as Growing Up Stupid Under The Union Jack, The Prime Minister, and The Polished Hoe, which help us to understand and to come to terms with the trauma of colonialism and the psychic damage that it inflicted

The most senior of our four living legends of literature is 88 year old George Lamming, who is considered to be the dean of Caribbean writers – an accolade bestowed upon him by the great literary critic, C.L.R. James, way back in the 1960’s.

George Lamming is the author of six novels – In the Castle of My Skin (1953), The Emigrants (1954), Of Age and Innocence (1958), Seasons of Adventure (1960), Water with Berries (1971), Natives of My Person (1972) – and of three books of critical essays, namely Pleasures of Exile (1960), Coming, Coming Home (1995), and Sovereignty of the Imagination (2009).

Lammingโ€™s fellow “legend”, Kamau Brathwaite, explained the ground-breaking significance of Lammingโ€™s first novel as follows –

“Then in 1953, George Lammingโ€™s In the Castle of My Skin appeared and everything was transformed. Here breathing to me from every pore of line and page was the Barbados I had lived. The words, the rhythms, the cadences, the scenes, the people, their predicament.”

In addition, C.L.R. James never spared any opportunity to bring to our attention the many profound and cutting-edge cultural/political critiques and perspectives contained in Lammingโ€™s works. A couple examples from just one novel will suffice to prove the point:-

“Free is how you is from the start. Anโ€™ when it look different you got to move, just move! Anโ€™ when you moving say that it is a natural freedom that make you move”.

(Season of Adventure, 1960)

“Until the age of ten, Powell and I had lived together, equal in the affection of two mothers…….. Powell and I were taught at the same Primary school. And then the division came. I got a public scholarship which started my migration into the world of the educated….the elite…… which now shut Powell and the whole village right out of my future….. I attached myself to that new privilege…….. I believe that the mad impulse which drove Powell to his criminal defeat was largely my doing……. I am responsible for what happened to my brothers.”

(Season of Adventure, 1960)

The second living legend in order of seniority is 86 year old Paule Marshall, who was born in Brooklyn, New York City to Barbadian parents, and who not only grew up in a tightly knit Barbadian immigrant community, but also visited and lived in Barbados for varying periods of time.

The highly acclaimed Paule Marshall has produced five novels, four of which explore the history, culture, vernacular, predicament and spirit of the Barbadian people “at home and abroad” – Brown Girl, Brownstones (1959), The Chosen Place, The Timeless People (1969), Praisesong for the Widow (1983), Daughters (1991), and The Fisher King ( 1998) – and a Barbados-steeped memoir entitled Triangular Road (2009).

Ms. Marshallโ€™s novels are filled with Barbadian female characters who would resonate with and speak in a profound way to the current generation of Barbadian girls and women, if only these novels were made widely available in our country! I refer to such characters as middle-aged Silla Boyce and her Brooklyn born daughter, Selina, whose coming of age is explored in Brown Girl, Brownstones; racially conscious Merle Kinbona ,who defends the cultural integrity of the island in The Chosen Place, The Timeless People; and the sophisticated 1980’s young professional – Ursa Mackenzie – who, out of a sense of love for her country and her politican-father, sabotages the latterโ€™s election campaign and his Cahill-type plan to sell out the country, in Daughters.

Marshallโ€™s novels also express what Kamau Brathwaite has described as the “literature of re-connection” with Africa. Thus, in describing a number of the quintessentially Barbadian characters in Chosen Place, Timeless People, Ms Marshall reaches back to Africa:-

“A…… strikingly tall, lean old man….. His face, his neck, his clean-shaven skull, had the elongated intentionally distorted look to them of a Benin mask or a sculpted thirteenth century Ife head”….. Whereas, Delbert, the shopkeeper “was huge with massive limbs….. He was the chief presiding over the palavering …. the colourful shirt he had on was his robe of office; the battered Panama hat….. his Chieftanโ€™s umbrella, and the bottle of white rum he held, the palm wine with which he kept the palaver and made libation to the ancestral gods.”

Our fourth living legend is the 85 year old Kamau Brathwaite, whose works of poetry, drama, history, literacy criticism, and cultural analysis are far too numerous to list!

I will therefore satisfy myself with stating that Kamau Brathwaite is easily one of the worldโ€™s most outstanding intellectuals and scholars, and that he should have won the Nobel prize for literature many times over!

I will also recommend that our educational authorities should deem at least three of Brathwaiteโ€™s works essential and mandatory texts for our secondary and tertiary curriculum:- The Arrivants (Kamauโ€™s first, Pan-African based, trilogy of poetical works); Ancestors (Kamauโ€™s second, and Barbados-centred, trilogy); and Barbabajan Poems (Kamauโ€™s encyclopaedic exploration of Barbadian poetry, history, landscapes and culture).

Fellow Barbadians: we will not have the living legends with us forever! Let us, therefore, show them our appreciation, love and respect – now! And let us have the good sense to do ourselves a big favour by embracing, reading, and making full use of their invaluable works!”

109 responses to “Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke: Let’s Honour Our Legends Before It’s Too Late”

1. @Bush Tea

BU’s point is separate by 180 degrees from balance ‘s. A fight by its definition is what it is. It has to be won!

2. @balance June 28, 2016 at 4:47 AM “but why then after a lifetime are we clamouring for their works to be included in our educational curriculum? I seem to be missing something somewhere.”

I don’t mean to be mean balance, but I think that yes you are missing something, in that empty space between your ears.

Why do you think that Christian’s read the Bible? I mean presumably Christians can throw away the Bible and start fresh every generation.

You know balance, there is something called culture, that is, all those things which define a people. (of which literature is but a part) Culture is intrinsic to all human beings. Human beings cannot exist except within a culture. Our principal job as a people is to transmit our culture to the next generation. That is fact is why we have schools too, and churches, and music, and art, and ays of child rearing, of methods of cooking etc. etc.

3. @Simple Simon

#preachit

4. @ Simple Simon 7:01 AM
    Steupsss…
    You may need to take a crap too…

5. @ balance
    WAIT Boss!!!
    Bushie come here to provide you with some covering fire …and you duck into a foxhole and curl up…?

Steupsss…
    Man Bushie turning around and advancing to the rear…

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Balance

Bush Tea made me rush back to the online dictionary for the definition and it was in that moment I realized how we have “carbon dated ourselves” with this word.

Legend – an extremely famous or notorious person, especially in a particular field.
    “the man was a living legend”
    synonyms: celebrity, star, superstar, icon, famous person, great, genius, phenomenon, luminary, giant, big name; More

I see what you mean perfectly because the author of this piece (not to be confused with your humble servant) has, in a word, dumbed down what was the older context of extremely famous in a Churchillian sense or Lee Kwan Yew context while we, quasi young vandagers like to use the word anywhere we like and ascribe the legendary definition of ole to simple excellence.

We have really dumbed dow so much that we have graduation events for simple 11 plus exams.

Your point is noted insofar as Tom Austin Clarke, may he rest in piece, was a notable writer who, among several other literary achievements was one of the few older writers who captured the experience of post and pre independence in Barbados in exemplary detail

One day, in the same way legendary has been watered down, words like bogolord and shotta may be be part of the vernacular signifying superlative accomplishment

You have dated yourself by making the sterling observation

All seems to be vanity and vexation and our yearning that we too may be remembered and not be 9 day wonders like Trevor Job Clarke and Tony Cozier

7. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 28, 2016 at 6:27 AM “Syllogism for active consideration to whom it may concern. For one to be of any worth one must save lives. I am a carpenter. I donโ€™t save lives therefore I am not worth anything.”

Taking you literally here. Lol!!!

Yes you do save lives, because when a hurricane comes you have built me a nice sturdy house and it does not fall down on the heads of me and my grans.

And tobesides great carpentry is beautiful.

One of my exes (special to Bush Tea) is a carpenter, does beautiful work which is a joy to behold and which will last generations.

Or like my mother’s dressing table, a wedding present from her mother, hand carved by a boy in the village from a Bajan mahogany tree grown in the village, more than 75 years old, the pulls have never fallen off, the mirror hinges are perfect, 75 years of everyday use and yet unblemished. I suppose that I could sell it for $5,000 or $10,000 but class is class, and class is not for sale. This piece is for one of the grans.

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

No wonder there is no revolutionary FERVOUR among our young people.
    No wonder personal sacrifice is a bad word in Barbadosโ€ฆ

The revolutionary fervour and personal sacrifice generated by anonymity perhaps?

9. “The youngest of the four living legends is the 81 year old Toronto-based Austin โ€œTomโ€ Clarke, ” …How many Bajan writers of international, regional or even local acclaim are under 60, 50 or 40 years old?

Do we have bring back the Union Jack so that we can produce writers again?

10. Simple Simon

check this out from the country of Honda, Suzuki, Sony and so many more high technology firms…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Living_National_Treasures_of_Japan_(crafts)

See what a really developed country is about!

11. Simple Simon
    you ain’t so simple after all…LOL

12. “chad99999 June 27, 2016 at 8:55 PM #

I met George Lamming once at a restaurant near the Austin campus of the University of Texas. Even though I was the only West Indian in the group, he completely ignored me and focused all his attention for more than an hour on a (white) secretary who worked at the University.
    They left together.”

Not surprised those icons we revere are usually like that do not practice what they preach

13. “You know balance, there is something called culture, that is, all those things which define a people. (of which literature is but a part) Culture is intrinsic to all human beings. Human beings cannot exist except within a culture. Our principal job as a people is to transmit our culture to the next generation. That is fact is why we have schools too, and churches, and music, and art, and ays of child rearing, of methods of cooking etc. etc.”

and what culture has the literary giants been able to pass on to the people out of which the majority has benefitted?

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces the wonderful thing about language and experience (and education) is that two people can read the dame data and come away with equally substantive positions.

There is nothing in what you reviewed in the definition of legend that does not equate the word to any of the authors and certainly to Tony Cozier.

There is the pejorative that a person is a ‘legend in their own mind’ and its a very helpful pathway also. The phrase is self explanatory as there can be no legend of ONE.

But when the bright child steps out from the village and goes to top school, fulfills an excellent life at school, graduates from same with excellent academics, moves on to a career which affords him great success and renown and in that career wins numerous awards for ‘ best in class’ achievement how can he or she not be a legend.

How is she or he not be ‘ an extremely famous or notorious person, especially in a particular field’…”synonyms: celebrity, star, superstar, icon, famous person, great, genius, phenomenon, luminary, giant, big name”.

It is absolutely wrong to dissemble the term legend given in the clear context of these folks achievement vis a vis their BAJAN contemporaries and from where they came.

And it is absolutely ridiculous to dismiss that legend status because they have not initiated a revolutionary political fervor .

Are we being serious or simply arguing for the sake of pontificating!!!

15. “Simple Simon June 28, 2016 at 6:38 AM #

@โ€I will therefore satisfy myself with stating that Kamau Brathwaite is easily one of the worldโ€™s most outstanding intellectuals and scholars, and that he should have won the Nobel prize for literature many times over!โ€

I second this.”
    Fortunately or unfortunately you do not have the power to bestow such- seems those who can do not share your view
    ๏ˆ

16. “Read Clarke, or Lamming, or Brathwaite, or Marshall and then read Nobel Prize Winner Isaac Bashevis Singer and you will see what we mean that writers of this caliber can quintessentially define a people.”

that is why despite our achievements as a black race we continue to be second class because we are still waiting to be defined

we have to define ourselves by shaking off the shackles of inferiority

17. “@ balance
    WAIT Boss!!!
    Bushie come here to provide you with some covering fire โ€ฆand you duck into a foxhole and curl upโ€ฆ?

Steupsssโ€ฆ
    Man Bushie turning around and advancing to the rearโ€ฆ”

went for my morning seabath- nothing can keep me from my daily seabath not even the works of the literary masters

18. โ€œBalanceโ€ has been generally off kilter when it comes to his political stance mainly about US politics, now the same affliction has spread to his opinions on the importance of some cultural icons. He should be reminded that you shouldnโ€™t try to build up some by tearing down others, these individuals will rise or fall on their own merits.

To paraphrase the Good Book, โ€œ A prophet is not without honour, save in his own countryโ€

19. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Austin Tom Clarke and the other native sons (and daughter) utilized their god-given talents to the fullest extent possible for the utilization of their specific suite of talents. I suspect that they would be heroes in the parable of the talents. But there are several persons out there who are or were endowed with other talents that could have moved the national narrative further and and whose talents have been wasted by being placed under a figurative bushel. The important work of utilizing the fruits of their talents to move Barbados nearer to point omega must be recognized as being the province of other talents, such as the talents of the gifted politicians, etc.

Bushtea should not excoriate Caswell for not appearing to be fully utilizing his talents but should do some self-examination also. Has Bushtea fully utilized his immense talents for quickly gaining divine inspiration to understand and explain some convoluted happenings in the clearest and simplest terms? I think his talents are gargantuan and I think he realises this but has he gone the extra mile to make that talent impact on the nation’s direction? .. or does he recognize that the battle is not for himself alone but for other people with other relevant talents to progress the development of the country by utilizing their talents to the fullest.

I wonder how many literary or musical geniuses Bushtea knows of from any nationality or ethnic division who have been sufficiently multi-talented to translate their accomplishments into significant changes in their national psyche outside of the narrow area of their expertise or talent?

Calling for them and Caswell to go an extra mile is, imho, a failure to recognize that ordinary talents are shared out on a fairly random and very narrow basis and that only very few people get talents that can lead to the developments that Bushtea and Balance desire to see and situations where their possesors become recognized as Legends.

Austin Tom Clarke and Paule Marshall and Rihanna and Lamming are examples of persons endowed with significant specific talents and they are persons who have utilized those talents well. But similarly endowed are/were Mohammed Nassar and Tom Adams and OSA and Dipper Barrow and perhaps Mia Mottley and Garfield Sobers and a host of others who have contributed to various aspects of Bajan life and development.

I seem to discern an attempt by Bushtea to establish a hierarchy of “LEGEND” as contrasted with “talent”. In my view there is no hierachy but only a continuum with national and international acclaim over many years defining if a talent becomes a legend.

Legend is not a good term for the article above or for Bushtea or indeed for Balance’s specific point as misrepresented by Bushtea.

20. ” He should be reminded that you shouldnโ€™t try to build up some by tearing down others, these individuals will rise or fall on their own merits.”

we all will

21. “To paraphrase the Good Book, โ€œ A prophet is not without honour, save in his own countryโ€”

and who is this prophet of whom you speak?

22. and by the way Sarge if informing those who believe otherwise that the Democratic party is the party of slavery and Jim Crow laws is off kilter then I can live with the definition.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

look.

We all get old along this timeline and we can and will fall victim to our foibles, our weaknesses, our sins and disease, the ultimate one being death.

Growing up Stupid under the Union Jack was “required reading” in our home but here is the thing.

When I last saw Tom Clrke in the flesh it was 10 years ago and Mr Clarke “was not, at least at no time during that UWI sponsored literary festival, as radical as I remembered him to have been in younger times”

Some will say that he mellowed and I, the Duracell powered radical, forever in warrior mode, was disappointed

Tom used the entire night to sell his newest book and me, Che Guevera wannabe, was angry since he did not live up to my remembrance.

Is this a Chadlike petulance, I am inclined to think so, since he was not in his larger than life Tom Clarke, the rebel and while he did not leave with a white woman, actually he did leave with the Dean of the department, a white man, but he, like Sir Hilary, whom I revered, seemed to have lost the teeth of him I made a “living legend”

“A Bridge Too Far”

An undercurrent of what might be being said here, or not, is the import and impact of four of our own on the psyche of our youth and the seeming inability to pass Timothy Callender onto Our youth who do not read books like we did.

So while I can attest to the fact that I sat spellbound next to our Rediffusion while Alfred brought life to stick licking sagas and laughed til I cried over a particular story about a fight in St Victoria’s, what I will now say might offend many.

We are the custodians at the bridge’s edge who are killing our griots and culture, and “legends” we are the memory killers who are refusing to transfer/hand down our rich past to our youth.

Imagine if we were to challenge some of our young talented animators to take the memories of these gifted writers and convert it to an ebook with animations?

Imagine if we were to get Pinelands Creative Workshop to dress up like one of Timothy Callenders characters and or added the melodious voice of the inept minister Stephen Blackett (when he looses his seat) and created indigenous books that speak to our times?

Imagine if we were to do that instead of “honoring our legends” in the usual antiquated style that David, bless his soul, is always quick to advocate, and then, once having sprouted this pup on us, leaves us to define and decline nouns, like the serpent in the Caduceus, perpetually eating our tails?

24. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I forgot to mention above that, IMHO , the most important lesson from the Christian bible is the lesson implicit in the parable of the Talents. It defines mankind and the Cosmos and underscores the importance of each one of us utilizing our God given talents to the fullest.

I think the duality of a heavenly spirit in a physical body and the seeking of perfection through the successive optimal utilization of our talents is the raison d’etre of our Being.

25. @Balance
    The word โ€œProphetโ€ should not be taken literally but figuratively, but it never ceases to amaze me how we belittle genuine homegrown talent that people from other countries would readily embrace and claim as their own because they donโ€™t fit our narrow perspective of what they have done to โ€œupliftโ€ the country.

In any other Caribbean country they would be โ€œNational Heroesโ€, Clarke has received many literary awards as well as Canadaโ€™s highest civilian award โ€œOrder of Canadaโ€. During the observance of Jamaicaโ€™s 50th anniversary of Independence I saw a full page spread in a Canadian newspaper of native born as well as those with Jamaican heritage who had contributed to that island which included people like Malcolm Gladwell whose mother was born in Jamaica, the Jamaicans are proud of people with Jamaican roots but some Bajans not so.

26. Edward Kamau Brathwaite as Poet Laureate for life.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces there is everything credible with your ” Imagine if we were to challenge some of our young talented animators..Imagine if we were to get Pinelands Creative Workshop to dress up […]”.

And we have done that (Pragnell with Callender’s works as you noted. Similar Marva Manning theatrical audios. The “Laff It Off” crew for years). So yes that next step ‘locally’ is for animators to move the timeline forward. We do need to move to those next levels.

You are a man of the world so you know that there is a Broadway play of recent awesome peer acclaim with 11 Tony awards called ‘Hamilton’ which does exactly as you just directed.

It’s Tim Callender’s type vernacular bringing to life a time long past and awakening and awareness of people long considered dead… And will go on to other formats and genres no doubt: digital, cartoon series, movie…

But what about the context of ‘legendary’. The creator of that show will likely go on to become a ‘legend’ for his achievements.

No need to go into all that he has caused with his rap rhythms (anyone can Google that) but suffice to say that before his play Treasury Sec Hamilton was being considered to be removed from the US $10 note. No longer. Did he a make a major impact on how generations view US human icons? Was his a ‘revolutionary’ voice.

Was the fact that most of the artists for this play were African-American, revolutionary for US/NY theater?

And all this because this talented artiste READ a book that inspired him to create a play of a long forgotten but very important man. And do it in a modern engaging way.

Let’s agree to disagree on the word legend as it relates to writers and artists in their sphere…or let’s agree that you guys are totally wrong. LOLL.

How can one dispute the word when the fundamental and substantive definition per your note says: “Legend โ€“ an extremely famous or notorious person, especially in a PARTICULAR field.

28. Look.
    No one is attempting to take ANYTHING away from the genius of these native writers. The discussion here is about this business of classifying ‘legends’.

AWTY you are wrong on many levels….

First, what Bushie has is not any damn talent. It is a whacker for crying out loud…. It was on loan because some wild bush needed to be whacked on BU, …and Bushie was selected and sent for the job…probably cause the bushman like that kinda shiite…
    LOL …it seems that just as Bushie was getting to enjoy the wuk …the thing get tek way… ๐Ÿ™

There are many ways to analysis the use of talent.
    ….It can be buried – hidden and ignored by the holder.
    ….it can be under-utilised – probably best characterised by Carl Hooper
    ….it can be fully (and impressively) exploited as we have seen with Brathwaite/ Clarke/ Lamming/ Marshall
    …and then a few unique individuals have been able to perform WAY ABOVE the natural talents with which they were born….

There is nothing ‘legendary’ about any of the first three scenarios. The first is shiite; the second is low self-esteem; and the third is what is expected.

The term ‘LEGENDARY’ comes up when individuals rise ABOVE their natural talents and perform at a level that is BEYOND their expected capabilities …to accomplish significant advancement in the human experience.

Since AWTY wants to use biblical analogies, the story of the widow’s mite tells us a lot… In contributing her very small offering, that represented ALL that she had, she out-did even a ‘Bizzy’ – even if he donated MILLIONS to the RBPF…

To whom great talent is given, MUCH is expected. ….E X P E C T E D!!! …as in duh!!!!

‘Legendary’ would be (for example) like if Alvin’s Book ’bout the ‘dying mile trees’ became a best-seller – or even if it turns out to be coherent…. ๐Ÿ™‚ ha ha ha

29. @Sargeant

The simple explanation is that our societies are insular because of our smallness. It is why we can always find some BS to share about Sobers, Lara etc.

#stuepe

30. !”!!, but it is not just about our age groups. It is about our children, and our childrenโ€™s children and their grand children. If these writers had not written how would our great grandchildren know who we were,”

The average child is not exposed to the works of the literary masters appartently as someone pointed out not even in our schools. It is the stories of the foreparents that make the most impact certainly in my case.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

Let’s agree to disagree on this one.

BTW. I bought a hard copy of Alvin’s book “YESHUA a.k.a. Jesus the Nazarene” a few weeks ago. I’ve just scanned through it so far as I have’nt had the time to read it but my impressions are that it is an interesting allegorical look at transcendental themes that might be relevant to the discussion on Quantum consciousness. So far, It betrays an innovativeness that is diametrically opposite to Alvin’s yardfowlish traits that are so often exhibited here on BU.

32. LOL @ AWTY
    …sounds like the makings of a legend…..
    But then again the view may be different from someone who knows the subject personally… ๐Ÿ™‚

33. Awty
    A ghost writer then?

34. Aren’t teachers who mold young minds influenced by the works of our literary masters and therefore the children will be vicariously?

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants.

It is people like you that a faction of “Lets go Along to get along” would Kill.

Fellahs like you have remembrance, and this was the Tom Clarke that I remembered.

So it is for this reason that I stumbled when I read rather interpreted the word legend in the title, because mine was a remembrance of another man in another time indifferent vestments.

All men will stumble and fall at some time in their lives, that is the nature of man.

I guess that I was raised on a staple of civil rebellion that, in the earlier days, did not involve claymores and M-16s and suppressors and garrotes

Thank you Hants for such sweet remembrance of Austin Tom Clarke who brings to mind this statement “this was a man”

“He only in a general honest thought, And common good to all, made one of them. His life was gentle, and the elements So mixed in him that Nature might stand up And say to all the world, This was a man.โ€

Dear Blogmaster

If you would be so kind and put up this fond remembrance of the younger soldier whom Father Time seemed to have touched, first to be more politically correct, and then as wisdom set in, a characteristic that is forever lost on me, to move through the minefield of life and commerce to financial stability (a thing that dis ole man cant learn) finally to this veil (one which we all must cross)

THis was the Man Tom Clarke of auld and proxy acquaintance.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

BTW this is an excerpt from that site

THis is the Austin Clarke “I grew up on”

“During the discussion, Clarke calls out the kind of discrimination prevalent in Canada, where “nobody’s gonna tell you you can’t go anywhere; nobody’s gonna tell you can’t apply for the job.” He compares it with the more overt prejudice of Birmingham, Al. where an African-American “knows where he is,” and as a result, “has less of a psychological war within himself.”

“This is the whole problem with race, you see. You could say that perhaps I might be too sensitive. But the fact is that I am black, and I have to live in a condition of pseudo-acceptance.” For Clarke, that meant always “looking behind the action to see what the man is thinking.”

Of interest is the entry by the Canadian Broadcasting Corportation Canada website.

“To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada’s online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.”

And further down

“0 Comments
    Commenting is now closed for this story.

There are no comments yet.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Timmy Callendar, anothrr national treasure and literary genius.

Barbados does not celebrate, respect or appreciate national treasure, they however are more than happy to celebrate their crooked business people.

38. In any other Caribbean country they would be โ€œNational Heroesโ€, Clarke has received many literary awards as well as Canadaโ€™s highest civilian award โ€œOrder of Canadaโ€.

I wouldn’t be surprised given the fact that any and everybody are bestowed titles and accolades these days and poor Canada has been trying to redress the imbalance for some time. Even Ms Sally Cools of McGill University infamy has life Senatorship in Canada.

39. “David June 28, 2016 at 2:27 PM #

Arenโ€™t teachers who mold young minds influenced by the works of our literary masters and therefore the children will be vicariously?”

Not sure about the use of the word ‘vicariously’ in this sense but I still say no, no ,no.not at all.

40. “Well Well & Consequences June 28, 2016 at 7:53 PM #

Timmy Callendar, anothrr national treasure and literary genius.

Barbados does not celebrate, respect or appreciate national treasure, they however are more than happy to celebrate their crooked business people.”

Mouths are fed out of the dealings of the crooked business people

41. Rest in peace Cawmere Tom my most vivid memory of you will be of your service to the nation during your controversial but spectacular stint at CBC. Rest in peace.

42. September 1970 McGill students organized a Black Studentsโ€™ Association for the University, in response to lack of accessibility and administrative indifference. The organizationโ€™s chair, Sally Cools, summed up the feelings shared by many black students: โ€œWeโ€™re being effed around left, right, and centre at McGill.โ€

43. I had this dream that Prime Minister Stuart was honoured by Buck House in the recent Queen’s Birthday Honours, for his dedication to, and his personal cosy chats and afternoon tea, with smiles a mile wide , with the frequent visitors from England, while unselfishly dissing his own people.

http://i.imgur.com/EhuD6jJ.jpg?1

44. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Col Buggy;

Good poster!

Which one represents our Freundel? Cant’ be the one on the Queen’s left side as we can see his teeth.

45. Of interest:

Former Chilean military official found liable for killing of Victor Jara

Florida jury awards $28m in verdict that could lead to Pedro Pablo Barrientos Nuรฑezโ€™s extradition to face criminal charges over 1973 killing of folk singer

Victor Jara was killed in 1973 in the opening days of the dictatorship of Gen Augusto Pinochet.

Victor Jara was killed in 1973 in the opening days of the dictatorship of Gen Augusto Pinochet. Photograph: Fundacion Victor Jara, Antonio L/AP

Richard Luscombe in Orlando

@richlusc

Monday 27 June 2016 21.05 BST Last modified on Tuesday 28 June 2016 22.00 BST

Save for later

A Florida jury on Monday found a former Chilean army officer liable for the 1973 torture and murder of the folk singer and political activist Victor Jara, awarding $28m in damages to his widow and daughters in one of the biggest and most significant legal human rights victories against a foreign war criminal in a US courtroom.

The verdict against Pedro Pablo Barrientos Nuรฑez after a two-week civil trial in Orlandoโ€™s federal court could now also pave the way for his extradition to face criminal murder charges in Chile related to his conduct during a CIA-backed coup that led to Augusto Pinochetโ€™s 17-year military dictatorship and the deaths of almost 3,100 people.

Accusers said Barrientos, 67, who now lives in Deltona, Florida, shot dead Jara, 40, in September 1973 after three days of beatings while the socialist-leaning theatre director and university lecturer was among thousands of suspected communists and subversives detained in Santiagoโ€™s soccer stadium.

Barrientos, who fled Chile in 1989 and became a US citizen through marriage, was one of nine retired army officers indicted for murder in his homeland four years ago but the US Department of Justice has not responded to a request by the Chilean government for his return.

Kathy Roberts, legal director of the Center for Justice and Accountability, the California-based human rights group that brought the civil action on behalf of Jaraโ€™s British-born widow, Joan Turner Jara, and daughters Amanda Turner Jara and Manuela Bunster, believes the Florida juryโ€™s ruling could now increase the pressure on the DoJ.

โ€œItโ€™s a step on the path towards justice for our clients and for Victor but also for the many other families who lost someone at Chile Stadium so many years ago,โ€ she said after the verdict.

โ€œWe presented evidence that started to shed light on what happened there, and we hope that process will continue in Chile and we hope that the United States will extradite Mr Barrientos to face justice in the country where he committed these crimes.โ€

Joan Jara Turner, 88, testified during the trial that her husbandโ€™s death in a stadium locker room had โ€œcut my life in twoโ€, and has previously spoken of the horror of having to identify his tortured and mutilated body in a morgue after he was dumped outside the stadium with 44 bullet wounds.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/jun/27/victor-jara-pedro-pablo-barrientos-nunez-killing-chile

46. Balance
    I don’t think you intended the pun but I too enjoyed Tom Clarke’s weekly column in the Nation newspaper.He wrote of his favorite school Combermere and his glorious memories of that institution and which I enjoyed to the max as I too recalled my own.He wrote of a one o’clock wind blowing across Weymouth pasture and of Ben Brown eating a ham cutter faster than you can say muff holder.Such wit,such humour,such turn of phrase,making his stories come alive,placing you there in the moment,in the form room with Bull Williams or Colly or Laddies Goddard,de Bing and Blinks.We learned….life.

47. I was reading Austin Clarke once and a family member came into the room and asked Why are you smiling?” I did not realize that I had been smiling.

So “Thanks Tom” for making me and so many other people happy.

I know, I know. We can’t take smiles to the shop. We can’t take happiness to the shop. We can’t take kindness to the shop. We can’t take love to the shop.

But how poor a life it would be if there were no smiles, no happiness, no kindness, no love.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

i USED TO FEEL THE SAME WAY READING BIGGLES BOOKS, WILLIAM, AND JENNINGS AND DERBYSHIRE AS A LAD
    MY FATHER USED TO MOCK ME FOR READING AND NJOYING IT

49. Dr. GP: As a doctor AND as a spiritual man you understand that we are not just flesh and blood. You understand that the material is not all. You understand that there is spirit. That there is culture. That we are multi dimensional. You understand that smiles, happiness, kindness and love canotn be dissected in the lab. And yet we all know that they are real, real.