brexit1

Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that ‘my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge. Isaac Asimov

I suppose that there is much to be said for a referendum as being highly representative of the democratic process. After all, it entails a direct decision of the majority of the electorate without the overt constraint or influence of the party whip, notional or otherwise, and usually on a matter of their governance. But, as Captain Hutt’s famous dictum concerning the woman in the bikini, while that which the process reveals may be interesting, what it conceals is vital!

This comment is owed to the outcome of Thursday’s referendum on the continuation of European Union (EU) membership by Britain, a result that ended in victory for those who clamoured for Britain’s departure from the grouping under the rubric of “Brexit” –or British exit. This development has prompted the resignation of the British Prime Minister, Mr David Cameron, itself a denouement that is as logical as it is surprising.

Logical, because Mr Cameron was in the vanguard of those who championed the vote that Britain should remain as part of the EU and as he put it, “ the country requires fresh leadership to take it in its new direction…” Admittedly, in spite of the inherent chameleon-like adaptation of the political view seemingly to suit any circumstance, it does appear patently incongruous for the newly exited jurisdiction to be led by someone who had expressly staked his political future on the country taking a different path.

Surprising, nevertheless, because it was just over one year ago that Mr Cameron assumed the Prime Ministership of the UK with a handy parliamentary majority. Could an electorate be so fickle as to change its collective mind as to the direction in which the nation should go? The recent referendum might suggest a “yes” answer to that query; in other words, an assertion that while we would want you to lead the country, we do not necessarily agree with your every measure. There should be a cautionary tale or in modern-speak, a teachable moment, in this hypothesis for all political leaders.

It may also be part of a larger contemporary theme, what I have chosen to call the quirk of democracy. Sir Winston Churchill is usually credited with the dictum “Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others…” This aphorism would resonate with the populist who perceives the project of governance as a straight contest between an endowed political class and a powerless people who struggle mightily against the odds to eke out an existence.

Nevertheless, it masks the fact that too much democracy may itself mutate into tyranny and political anomie. For example, a report in yesterday’s Washington Post informs us that many British people were on Thursday evening frantically “googling” what the EU is, mere hours after voting to leave it. This caricature is symptomatic of many modern democratic choices where the popular lemming-like instinct to follow some herd rather than to undertake the essential civic discipline of seeking knowledge and thinking for oneself on an issue appears to predominate.

It is scarcely surprising therefore that Mr Donald Trump, the controversial presumptive Republican nominee for the upcoming presidential election in the US, confessed to loving the “poorly educated”. It would have been erroneous to read this simply as having to do entirely with academic ability or the lack thereof. Indeed, he was speaking of those who, like him, base their knowledge on what they have heard only- mostly on television- and whose reading is limited to tattler magazines such as the National Enquirer or the World News Daily Report, where it is boasted that all articles are “entirely fictional” and that any resemblance to the truth is “purely a miracle”.

Yet, the modern notion of democracy would accord as much value to such views as to any others. Isaac Asimov disputes this as “false” in the epigraph, but the constitutional reality states otherwise.

In a brilliant essay for the New York Times Magazine in May, Andrew Sullivan advanced the argument, borrowed from Plato’s Republic, that democracy contains the seeds of its own destruction and that democracies end when they become too democratic. According to this provocative thesis, “democracy is a political system of maximal freedom and equality, where every lifestyle is allowed and public offices are filled by a lottery. And the longer a democracy lasted, Plato argued, the more democratic it would become. Its freedoms would multiply; its equality spread. Deference to any sort of authority would wither; tolerance of any kind of inequality would come under intense threat; and multiculturalism and sexual freedom would create a city or a country like “a many-colored cloak decorated in all hues.”

It is this apocalyptic scenario, Sullivan argues, that might account for the stunning early popularity of Trumpism. He continues the nightmare; “as the authority of elites fades, as Establishment values cede to popular ones, views and identities can become so magnificently diverse as to be mutually uncomprehending. And when all the barriers to equality, formal and informal, have been removed; when everyone is equal; when elites are despised and full license is established to do “whatever one wants,” you arrive at what might be called late-stage democracy. There is no kowtowing to authority here, let alone to political experience or expertise”.

When we consider that one of the major casualties of this “end-time” is the establishment politician, the ascendancy of Trumpism in the US and the success of the Brexit campaign in the UK are scarcely cause for surprise. They may in fact be the obverse and inverse of the same coin.

Are there any lessons in this context for Barbados and the rest of the region? Certainly, we are not currently contemplating a Bar-exit from CARICOM, although I do not sense that in such an event there would be much difference in a local result from that on Thursday in Britain.

In any case, CARICOM’s relative weakness as a regulatory entity may be its greatest strength. One of the “Brexiters” beefs was that the European Parliament and Court were seen as intrusively over-regulating local practices. Here, contrastingly, CARICOM is not legislatively competent and the jurisdiction of the regional court, at least in its appellate division, has been ignored so far by more than half of the member states.

134 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Quirk of Democracy”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

pACHA
    yoU WOULD BE SURPRISED TO SEE WHAT TEENS IN GOOD BIBLE TEACHING CHURCHES CAN UNDERSTAND AND EXPLAIN
    BOGGLES THE MIND OF THE IGNORANCE ON BU

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Only this morning I referenced one of his books as it relates to Alvin..this dude was more appreciated in Canada, but never forgot to promote Barbados.

“ONE OF CANADA’S and Barbados’ literary giants, Austin “Tom” Clarke, an award-winning Canadian and Commonwealth novelist died this morning in a Toronto hospice.

Clarke was 81.

He has written dozens of books and short-stories, as well as hundreds of newspaper columns, many of them about life in Barbados and Canada spanning a period of more than half a century.
    He was at one time a regular columnist for THE NATION newspaper and was an expert in the use of Bajan dialect.

His death was confirmed by his daughter Darcy Ballantine
    She told THE NATION her father “passed away quietly” after a prolonged illness.
    “It was a peaceful death,” she added.

Dr Reynaldo Walcott, a University of Toronto professor, described Clarke as a “brilliant mind who cared deeply about Barbados, Bajans and people from across the Caribbean and Canada”.
    Among Clarke’s works were The Polished Hoe and Growing Up Stupid Under the Union Jack. “(TB)
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82617/tom-clarke-passes#sthash.Y9JC1jaM.dpuf

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PACHA
    RE At that time a biblical dictator had argued that nobody, including you, were to respond.

We are yet to understand what spiritual force gives right to enforce one’s interpretation of belief, unquestioningly.

THERE IS METHOD IN ONE’S MADNESS
    WHAT IS THE POINT OF SOLICITING STUPID RESPONSES OR ENGAGING IN SUCH

I GAVE WHAT IS CONSIDERED TO BE THE VERY BEST OUTLINE TO PHILLIPIANS
    THIS OUTLINE WILL BE FOUND CITED IN THE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ALL SERIOUS COMMENTARIES ON THIS BOOK (IT IS NOT MY OUTLINE)

ANYONE WHO HAS READ THE BOOK AND UNDERSTANDS THE KEY VERSES OF EACH CHAPTER [ WHICH THEY LEARNED IN SUNDAY SCHOOL AS CHILDREN] CAN UNDERSTAND THE ARGUEMENT PRESENTED BY THE OUTLINE

ANY SERIOUS STUDENT OF THE PAULINE EPISTLES WILL TELL YOU THAT IN EVERY CHAPTER, THAT HIS ARGUMENTS GENERALLY GRADUALLY RISE TO A CRESCENDO AT THE KEY VERSES WHICH ARE THE PUNCH LINE

THE PUNCH LINE OF THE CHAPTER WAS THEN GIVEN IN OUTLINE FORM IN THREE TENSES
    WHAT HE DID IN THE PAST
    WHAT HE WAS DOING CURRENTLY
    WHAT WERE HIS HOPES FOR THE FUTURE

THIS IS SOLID BIBLE TEACHING
    IT IS FOR THIS REASON I ASK FOR NO RESPONSE BECAUSE IT IS POINTLESS ON BU

YET ONE GETS THE ———————————-@ Pachamama June 26, 2016 at 2:36 PM #

I HAVE TAUGHT BIBLE ALL AROUND THE ISLANDS AND IN THE US
    ONLY ON BU DO YOU GET THE STUPID COMMENTS YOU SEE HERE

I WILL DESCEND TO THE LEVEL OF THE RUM SHOP CROWD ON OTHER MATTERS BUT WHEN IT COMES TO BIBLE AND MEDICINE——-IT IS BEST FOR ME TO SAY NOTHING. iN THE SAME WAY YOU ALL MALIGN ZOE. HILARIOUS!

4. Now that THE PEOPLE have ‘exorcised’ their state given democratic rights to tell the controllers in Brussels that they no longer wish to be controlled by them due to the fact that what was concealed by their dubious process has now been revealed, they are being chided by shouts with anti-intellectulism. Would the so-called intellectuals stop this verbal abuse of the people, a people who would rather run their own affairs.

Its not anti-intellectualism that has been the constant thread winding its way thru our political and cultural life, its LIES, DECEIT and INCOMPETENCE. Now ‘the people’ have reached the fork in the road and because some DESPISE the fact that some people can think for themselves, democracy has NOW become ‘quirky’ which might even result in ‘too much’ democracy. Talk about intellectual folly!

The origins of the EU is NOT about the welfare of the peoples, its about total CONTROL of all aspects of peoples’ lives by a tiny minority and its happening globally.

Donald Trump has risen to the fore because that’s what the people in the US wants. Not what the people in Barbados wants (since they don’t even know their heads from their arses). The fact that the whole establishment and GOP members are switching parties because they don’t want Trump is a very good sign of the filth that rife in the establishment. They’re sick and tired of political correctness, establishment con-men and women and establishment lip-service just like the Brits.

How can anyone with a ‘brain asleep’ conclude that the LEAVE voters and not the STAY voters or the non-voters were the ones googling up on ‘what is the EU’ and furthermore believe that they were mainly exercising a lemmimg-like instinct. Why aren’t the STAY voters acting lemming-like as well? If you are personally pissed at the fact that people can think for themselves and no longer need to have some form of bullshit qualification to make simple choices, maybe you should check your bullshale radar.

SInce democracy is no longer working for us, the upper-crust we will soon have to pull another rabbit out of the bag……Forget it. The days of sitting around and taking orders from the establishment are coming to a nice swift end and good riddance Intellectual Idiots.

“We are the Ones we’ve been waiting for.”

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Actually i like Hopi’s post, but we shall see how it plays out. The so called titled, intellectual, over educated asses are only interested in controlling all yhe money worldwide, all people on the planet and their minds, has been like that for all of 1200 years, 800 of it under magna carta, let’s see how the Leavers handle things going forward…there will be a fight.

6. @ Jeff, I wish that you had expounded more with regards to what was said in the last paragraph. The people of GB have spoken on a critical matter. Whether the outcome was right or wrong, good or bad it was done by the people via referendum. It would be telling if the people of Barbados get the same opportunity to vote on CARICOM. I do believe that it should be scrapped in its present form and a redefined regional body put in its place that has a regional court system and not just an appellate court. It would resolve half of the problems of Barbados. That would certainly put us in a postion of strength as the majority of the territories are grounded in English common law. There should not be too many needs to over regulate local practices.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Heather

I feel it should be scrapped too but for different reasons lololol

When you put up the petition let me know and I will log on and vote about a thousand times.

How many votes are required to get Barbados to withdraw?

8. @ Piece. You may be on to something. Perhaps the only way to get changes in the current system or Total change to a new regional body is to ask for the current one to be scrapped. My focus is for an across the board regional court system not just an appellate court. It would be an astronomical undertaking requiring the support of all persons in all member states. How will you help other than voting 1000 times?

9. Heather,
    We had what you propose in a West Indies Federation that was “exited” through a referendum that was held in Jamaica. When Jamaica “exited,” One from ten left naught, and Eric Williams, without a referendum completed the breakup. When Barrow decided to go for INDEPENDENCE FROM ENGLAND VIA NEGOTIATIONS, THE BLP COUNTERED AND BARROW ASKED FOR A MANDATE FROM THE people of Barbados by holding an election which he won. Even then the BLP sent a delegation to England to lobby against it.
    Referenda can be dangerous things, and sometimes not the best way to solve a problem, although many people think so. The aftermath can be a severe headache, when the truth settles in..

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Heather you need to take head of the many news reports which scream: “Leave’ leaders are walking back some of their biggest promises”.

The best help I believe any one can offer would be to help you streamline and add a dose of reality to some of the more elaborate plans you propose.

Breexit Leave leaders are an excellent example of political hyperbole. So folks like Donald Trump will spin it as a positive because a careful analysis of Brexit would actually get him a resounding NO vote from sensible people as he has too has offered great plans that have no viable substance like some of the Leave positions…beyond ‘keep out the immigrants’.

Voters should ask now that he identify those promises which he WILL walk back.

And so too you should avoid over reach pain. Fix the issues yes, but trying to tear down everything to rebuild afresh brings with it major upheaval and myriad other problems.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Alvin, every damn thing is dangerous in the wrong hands.

Your statement above that “Referenda can be dangerous things, and sometimes not the best way to solve a problem” is remarkably CONTRADICTORY coming as it is immediately after ” When Barrow decided to go for INDEPENDENCE FROM ENGLAND VIA NEGOTIATIONS, THE BLP COUNTERED AND BARROW ASKED FOR A MANDATE FROM THE people of Barbados by holding an election which he won..”

The election was a referendum senor.

Dangerous as it was for the BLP’s intentions surely even as it was a wonderfully good and effective way to solve that Independence problem.

You can’t have it both ways!!!

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…who cares what your slave mind keeps conjuring up from 50 years ago, a black man, Barrow, for good reasons and self-serving reasons saw a way to gain political independence from UK, the leaders of UK saw a way to rid themselves partially of a no longer financially viable people, leaving room for future use…other black politicians in true contradicting style that’s practiced by both political parties to this day, tried to block the same political freedom, though all now dead, the current politicians of that party now enjoy. ..I can easily see if BLP had got to UK with the request first…DLP would try to block…it was still house nigga against house nigga in parliament and even before….as it still is now in 2016.

What should bother you is that 50 years later, the only thing a black leader, prime minister and politician has to offer the people on the island re the ramifications of Brexit on the island is” he is waiting to see what UK does”….cause it’s quite obvious that 50 years and 10 rotations of both political parties later, these taxpayer funded educated politicians are politically undependent on paper only…..no independent thought, no plans to become financially independent or ideas to financially enrich the people as a collective….50 years later and they are still waiting to see what the UK does, like true slaves. ….and you a Ph.D holder can only offer a yardfowl explanation…not an original idea in your head, just like your leader Fruendel.

Fruendel is too blind to see that UK will do what is best for UK and leave wiggle room to see if the islands still have any financial use without having to give out all the grants and financial aids. To be politically corrupt be prepared to here some diplomatic explanation which when translated…will mean the same thing…lol

I am sure they are asking the same thing in UK I keep wondering…..how many more half centuries of aid and grants will Caribbean leaders need to upgrade from developing countries to fully developed and self sustainable countries.

The slave mind is a horrible and I presume a very painful mind….for sure it is a corrupt mind.

MoneyB is uncharacteristically silent, those reinforcements MoneyB was counting on for when majority blacks in Barbados decide to take back financial control of their country, dont look like they plan to get involved….they might be just too busy trying to save their own asses…lol

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes

That poster is absolutely one of the best posters I have seen regarding the issue and state we find ourselves with and in.

It is like the bank loans given to black businesses in Barbados just enough to say that we have given the small black business man a loan, but not only is it not enough for him to be successful it actually has been actuarially calculated to ensure that the business fails.

Ii am not an economist mr Haynes but I make it a hobby to study people and it is my belief that a group of people sat down somewhere and calculated the exact amount for wages per hour to ensure that the massive pool of workers WILL NEVER LEAVE THAT POOL since they exist to pay food and utility bills every 30 days

So too my belief is that education systems are not there to truly enfranchise but to seduce persons in believing that they have achieved and have the tools to self enfranchise but do realize that this comes from a conspiracy theorist and one who is more likely to believe that a barbell was dropped on John Ashe s neck, the former UN President being tried for corruption, than believing that it was an unfortunate barbell accident

14. @PUDRYR

How do we juxtapose your summation of a wages and salary strategy by Barbados with the rest of the region? It is not a secret that our average is above the region.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch

Where I live every house has a water relief valve on their house because of the high water pressure.

In the context of the Caribbean moreso than in the civilized? World I tend to think of Referenda as the WRVs of the local government and gendarmerie as they pick an unimportant yet sufficiently emotive topic the incite the natives enough so that they fell that they are part of the process.

You have to choose your topic properly, something just enough to get people involved and make them feel empowered but not enough for it to be an indictment on your governance skills you know something like “should our roads be concrete or asphalt”

Cameron and his people gambled with a topic that went over the line and he lost.

It would take a party with big balls to speak about leaving CARICOM in the wake of the history of the Federation and the stain that that xenophobic? issue has left on us these 50? years hence

16. Yes Cameron et al gambled and lost but the vote tells a story also.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The formula for economic subgujation is computed for each jurisdiction so for Barbados it is just enough to pay water, light, and barely clear food.

If we leave here and go to Jamaica it is precisely the same metric and de ole man will add that it inherently incorporates the “socially accepted prostitution” metric whic creates the situation that makes women (and to be politically correct men as well) HAVE TO SLEEP WITH TWO MEN, TO OFFSET THE MINIMUM SUBSISTENCE LEVELS THAT MANY ARE SUBJECTED TO.

That make me feel that it is men who have structured this system because it is us who benefit from this friends with benefits structure most.

This is not a chance thing but one calculated to perpetuate this cycle while aided and abetted by the inane cry of “a university Degree in every household” or a cuntry with educated scvunts.

18. @PUDRYR

Understand the point you are making.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Yes the vote tells a true story which is a reflection of the very “socially acceptable prostitution” that I posited earlier.

It is the basis of riots and social unrest and Revolution.

The ignominy of barely eeking out a living, it is why we have the upsurge in crime here in Barbados, why we have the summer of discontents across the world, it it the water relief valve, box populi, full of hot air and signifying nothing.

They have voted to leave, so what?

Nothing has changed in their barely making it situations in fact many pundits make the point that it promises to be worse and this is why many referenda are not worth what paddy shot at and missed, the sound of silence.

All across the world there is this frustration it is almost palpable as we hurtle towards on conclusion, WAR

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Vox populi *

21. @PUDRYR

In any system it seems that the disenfranchised will always be with us. The skill of the political directorate is to ensure policies are not too severe to stoke revolutions.

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

pieceuhderockyeahright June 27, 2016 at 6:20 AM #

I agree with your views in the above post.

The question is who ordered the barbell to be dropped and why?

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And this is precisely the point

It is the basis of rather answer for “am I my brother’s keeper ?” as voiced by Cain after he had killed Abel in the Book which some of us use as our anchor and guide, and which Pachamama, through a glass darkly, speaks of when he erroneously? Proposes that the ultimate state desired is devolution of power to the people but, as is evidenced by this random social entropy, man will destroy man.

However, in the absence of the One Lord and Master, at today, those to whom much is given have a responsibility to the rest of us.

This is why China executes corrupt officials as we might do with our Downlowes and Speakers of the House wwhen China takes over the island in years to come

Fo lo the poor will be with us always but such does not absolve those in authority of their duty

Having said that we cannot appoint the inept to office since it results in what we have -chaos and economic downfall

The referendum clearly showed people worldwide what forked tongued, two faced frauds politicians are and how useless and self-serving they really are.

Of course it clearly showed that Sambo….known as Fruendel…..is still alive and well living only to wait and see what his master..UK….does next, because 50 years after political independence, he is still a slave, in waiting, as leader of the island…, unable to think for himself and as chair of Caricom, clueless as to what to do next, he would sit and wait for UK for another 50 years….if he could live that long.

So in essence, the referendum turned out to be a good thing…opening people’s eyes, those who could see, those who are conscious to the realities of their existence.

25. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 27, 2016 at 7:10 AM #

Correct……it is not in the interest of any politician to enfranchise us,as they would have nothing to do and be seen to be redundant.

The BBC has spent the entire morning showing how politicians cannot be trusted as one by one leave MPs are backtracking on the immigration intent,money for NHS,no fall out and how easy it is to negotiate new deals………note the pound presently is at an all time low for 30 odd years at 1.32 vs USD.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Haynes

As with all my submissions this is purely speculation

To kill the president of the United Nations takes resolve which is 10 times bigger than balls

It is like Princess Diana, done in clear light of day, so to speak, and cannot implicate those who do not want the half brother to the British Throne to be an Arab.

So, in these circumstances one must see the why.

He sends out a letter to the world asking for money for his defence in a matter that implicates a billionaire.

Several persons who are implicated in the same scandal plead guilty and he is next to be tried and convicted, given the unassailable amount of evidence.

He broadcasts his predicament which is like a veiled threat, I need money to the ears of the possible source of the infelicities and for that he gets a dumbbell

Pure speculation solely predicated by a Hollywood indoctrination like the gas leak on the Singapore airlines flight earlier today and the excluded engine which 222 passengers survived fortunately

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well and Consequences

Many of my detractors here (by many I mean legion) have said that my “not one effing seat” meme is pure BLP propaganda

Now you dun know that de ole man ent no BLP ite but I does still get lump together with them cause I am saying that it will be a clean slate.

This quirk of Democracy and the astounding results of the Brexit should inform many what real or imagined discontent does even in the face of reason far less an inept government.

Barring Mia M biting out, or reputed to bite out, or promoting the biting out of another female part, she will be PM.

Oh I forgot death or The Rapture

Look both sides are known to be corrupt but, you see inept, Fumbling & Corrupt? bajans ent going fuh dat.

This is not going to be no quirk or oddity, Fumbles and he crew going home and no sort of iPad giveaways underwritten by Cost u More or housing bribes to poor people going save dem scvunt

People going tek de iPad and de NHC house and vote dem out

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..Piece…Bajans better watch whats playing out in the UK woth the deceitful politicians and break fah deself…lol

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-what-is-eu-referendum-petition-david-cameron-a7105596.html

Here is the newly resigned Cameron saying one thing.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-boris-johnson-banks-economy-rbs-barclays-consequences-project-fear-latest-news-a7105311.html

And the prime minister in waiting, the dumb blonde saying another..both are quite adept at speaking out of both sudes of their mouth….at the same time.

Bajans better focus on growing their own food, saving their money and keeping the money wuthin their population, buy food, poultry, vegetable, fruits, eggs…as much as they can, from each otherm curculate the money between each other and build an empire…ignore the jealous minded few, ya cant get rid of them…but brek fuh yaself.

Leave Fruendel. ..chair of Caricom….to wait on UK while EU and UK make their back room deals which has nothing to do with the idiot Fruendel since he will never be invited and never know the content…neither will it have anything to do with the Caribbean, unless it can be unknowingly used.

29. @PUDRYR

Donville will win his seat if elections were called tomorrow along with a few others Let us be realistic.

Do forget that politicians dance to the beat of those who gather in smoke filled rooms. To condemn politicians alone is myopic.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/barclays-rbs-halts-trading-eu-referendum-brexit-ftse-100-stock-market-a7105196.html

For all those who are hiding their money stolen from taxpayers, gun running and drug running money…laundered money…all secreted away in the UK…ha-ha.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And the british bloggers are doing dixie…..lol

Dumbville only won his seat last time because he called for reinforcements when he saw he was losing,..read the bribe money to buy votes that Fruendel and Adriel told the world they saw…and did nothing.

“Hang on a minute. The referendum result is not legally binding whichever way it went. As far as I am aware it is supposed to be an ‘advisory’ and as such needs debate in parliament before a final decision is made – even if the outcome is a foregone conclusion.

Sorry – I forgot – our constitution doesn’t matter does it.

So Cameron has come out of hiding now has he? Where are the rest of the chimps? We already know where chimp Boris is of course – but the rest?
    ReplyShare+1

5 minutes ago
    pavlovs canine

Now Mervin king has insisted the treasury wind back their wild false predictions pre referendum, and Wall St. is usurping Obamas back of the Queue statement and insisting they advance trading negotiations.
    Now, the petition lovers on this forum were reasoning that they were lied to, as reason to request a revote.

Well its all very revealing now just how much rubbish was spouted from the the other side.
    Not only did the leavers have enough nouse to consider it all , they did deeper research as to the real issue with the EU and its fiddling and anti democratic stance.

Juncker won’t last much longer …… they are all starting to circle.
    Things are looking pretty stable with this vote now so you remainers, either send yourself crazy with the continuing vitriol, bigotry and small mindedness that you accused all the leavers of , or get the hell on board.

I remain very impressed that even though the scare tactics still carry the leavers hold fast.
    Freedom is not free …. no one ever said that.
    I think the realisation that if another referendum takes place it will have the very polarised dynamic of a clear vote for democracy being rolled over in to tyranny or the clear route to democracy ….. ”
    Be careful what you wish for remainers.
    One thing we all have to do is keep Blair out of this .
    Maybe that task will bond us all again.
    Cameron knows there would be riots if he tried it on and that would be his legacy Its already a bad one.
    ReplyShare+1

7 minutes ago
    sgszeta
    How dare you Mr Cameron lead us into this disastrous situation and then desert the ship you have run aground (to use your sad analogy), while your ‘passengers’ are in danger of ‘drowning’…

Man-up for gods sake!

Stop hiding and feeling sorry for yourself.

Initiate a parliamentary bill to debate whether or not to implement the (doubtful) preferences indicated by the referendum….. this is a decision for parliament to take, they are the law makers, not the general population.”

32. PDYR. You have made two predictions both of which would not see the light of day. Trump has out trumped himself the past events in Britain does not show a britain on a fast track of helping the disenfranchise or poor but a britain on a fast track of dislocation and the poor either having to pull themselves up by the boot straps or fleeing the country seeking greener pastures as social,and economical as well as political upheaveal raise its ugly head .The transition would be difficult with the poor getting the brunt.This is not good news for Trump and the american people have already taken their que fromvthe fallout and not from Trump
    Beliving that Mia would benefit from the brixit is folly as Mia has a blp baggage with would haunt and dogg her political future which she is accountable to the voters .furthermore just like many of those that Mia had crticised and judge for eating off the trough of privilege so has also done same and will be rightfully remided as voters make their ongoing decisions on matters pertaining to character and leadership
    Barbados and britains politics are two different ball games last time i checked i never noticed an influx of unfethered immigrants awash on our shores PDYR time to get off your seat. Do not get all that has happened across the globe all twisted in your feeble mind as gainsake for Mia or Trump.Never gonna happen

33. And David Cameron to the world: Assad has to go, the Syrian dictator has to go! Vraiment? When his masters called his arse to the Floor and chastised him for his incompetence in not being able to deliver, he just remembered that “when you did one hole for me did one for yaself too” Assad must be laughing at the Cartel’s little Errand Boy. Jokers!

34. ‘DIG’

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps…is Fruendel still waiting for UK to invite him over to tell him what to do….let him wait, i hope it’s you and him and you lot of useless politicians, political pimps, yardfowls and parasites end up in shackles and chains…lol

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Good morning to you all.

Trump? I did not speak about trump and Brexit

Nor did I speak of Mia and Brekit purposely misspelled.

The substantive top is referendum which I extrapolated against vote/general election.

You and I often get tied up in Mia’s baggage and sexual exploits but what the referendum should inform on is how a people who are saying “enough is enough” will shift radically irrespective of what is logical or reasonable.

I call Mottly Prime Minister by Default since it is not because she will win it is because the incumbents will loose.

Have you or anyone else seen or heard any exploits of the LoE ? She has become like Billie, squeaky clean and keeping that aspect of things out of the public eye considering how we bajans are quick to castigate a feller for biting out a ting.

It is in the absence of having good governance the default position will be the shoe in of the opposition.

Sweet Boy Leroy Sisnett was one BLP Minister who got people in his constituency nuff jobs yet Brathwaite, an incompetent replacement swept him out like the backdraft of a riptide

Donville going have to have the Lord as his campaign manager cause he dun gone

37. @PUDRYR

Have you observed the work Donville has been doing in his constituency? He has been working very hard.

Regarding the volatility in the financial markets this will correct with time. It is expected markets in the circumstances will be in the state it is in.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A very entertaining take on Brexit.

http://ow.ly/7p8Z301G9c2

39. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Chuckle…..read all about the unravelling.

European diplomats have dismissed claims from Boris Johnson that the UK could negotiate access to the EU single market without obeying any of the rules.

“You cannot have your cake and eat it,” said an EU diplomat, echoing a phrase the former mayor of London used during the campaign and which looks set to come back to haunt him.

In a further blow to the leave camp’s credibility, Germany’s leading business group distanced itself from Johnson’s suggestion that German business expected Britain’s free trade with Europe to continue seamlessly………..

http://gu.com/p/4mmet/fb

40. @Vincent

What do think will happen when the UK leverage the strength it has in the military sector?

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“A third EU diplomat said the Brexit side had “no clue” what was going on and did not have a plan.

The Brexit camp’s claims of support from German industry also began unravelling when the country’s leading industry group distanced itself from Johnson’s rose-tinted scenario.”

Lol…

42. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David June 27, 2016 at 11:24 AM #

The military sector is not in good shape……the harsh reality is that UK is a bankrupt country which will go further into debt now……it is a paper tiger,which is why the EU membership was a must.

43. @Vincent

It is in better shape than the others no?

Have you listed to Governor Carney and also what Exchequer Osborne have had to say?

44. Pdyr check your older comments on the subject of Brexit on another blog you made an anology to the Brexit outcome being in similarty to Trump political mouthings in America as one of making Trump president

WW&C dont you get tired of repeating the same constipated shit .u are in dire need of wash out.

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 27, 2016 at 12:37 PM #

As you are aware the UK has a spiralling debt a bit like Bim,they were hoping prior to brexits win to have RBS&Lloyds banks looking healthy to sell of their shares.

After Osbornes pep talk today those banks fell by around 30% in value and the pound dropped to 1.32………..you tell me what in better shape means to you.

46. @Vincent

Are you aware that unlike Barbados England reduce the deficit from 11% to 3%?

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 27, 2016 at 2:05 PM #

……..the facts are that Moodys on friday and S&P today have downgraded them,their debt levels are riseing presently and the pound is dropping,this will continue when Ireland&Scotland start to pull out,moreso when the EU members refuse to give them a seat at the single market table a la the meeting today with Italy,France&Germany,etc,etc……..it is looking bleak.

48. Pieces is correct. That’s exactly what I meant when I said last week that it will be difficult to get Barbadians off their backsides to protest because most of them can now afford comfortable chairs. We have been given enough to make us wonder if it is worth our while to fight for more.

It is also quite true that we have been educated just enough to believe what we have learnt but not enough to question it. Those free-spirited enough to question have to be prepared for the backlash of “madman” labeling which will occur both from the teacher and the other students. Most people parrot the saying that “Fifty million Frenchmen cannot be wrong.” But if we really thought about it we would realize that they can be and have quite often been. Progress has always come out of the minds of madmen who could see beyond what they had been taught.

I myself agree with Churchill that democracy with all its weaknesses is still the best system we have. Perfect government is beyond man in his current state. So while I believe Plato is correct in his prediction of democracy’s end path I believe when such chaos arises true leaders will emerge who will again with the peoples’ consent (because they eventually discover they don’t like chaos) restore order for a while until the cycle starts again.

We cannot cede all power to make decisions to any group, intelligentsia or otherwise because history has shown that man’s intelligence is often overpowered by his selfishness and therefore decisions will be made in the interests of those who decide. Even limited democracy such as we have in Barbados where after elections all decisions are made by the elected end up where we are now with the masses oppressed and the minority enjoying the fruits of the majority labour. At this stage the masses become disenchanted with authority and if they become disenchanted enough they arise and there is the inevitable chaos for a while. This is the cycle we will be trapped in until there is an intervention from outside. (My belief)

And so the cycle continues until… But in the meantime-

“Give me [ real democracy] or give me death!”

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC..pimps, yall going the way of Brexit….lol

I know ya cant take it.