Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

This is an important question and, yes, he is correct to assert it cannot solely be about who is managing an entity; attention has to be also directed on โ€œwho is payingโ€. This revelation is not new, nor should it be a roadblock for the Government to make the best decisions while maintaining an optimality for providing public goods
and services.

Yearly, the Auditor Generalโ€™s Report speaks to such things as undetected financial transactions and wastage which cannot be accounted for, or traced. These have been identified as factors raising the levels
of Government expenditure and debt.

Coupled with the age-old problem of an oversized Public Service, and gross inefficiencies, we know the current administration sent home more than 3,000 workers immediately after the last general election. One wonders why similar efforts cannot be made to create incentives for the private sector to thrive without over-reliance on the Government.

Nevertheless, having used the School Meals Department and the collection of garbage in Barbados as examples, Minister Sinckler is stating in 2016 that this economy โ€œhas not yet reached the stage of development where Government can ask people to pay for such services at the point of delivery as they have not the capacity to do soโ€. This claim is remarkably telling.

It must be considered in the context of a self-confession wherein the Minister of Finance would have failed to implement necessary reforms of โ€œrestructuringโ€ the Barbados economy. In fact, the Governmentโ€™s master plan in 2013 was described by Minister Sinckler as โ€œa revised fiscal adjustment programme and a growth and development strategy for Barbadosโ€.

Therefore, Mr Sinckler would have failed to grow the national economy sufficiently that people would have disposable income and other investment funds available to them. The Minister of Finance would definitely have failed Barbados by not having necessary discussions with all stakeholders, and this is a governance issue. Governance is the process of policymaking through active and cohesive discussion among policymakers who are interconnected through a broad range of networks.

The Minister of Finance, therefore, after forthright and wholesome discussions, needs to set about devising a comprehensive plan of action which would ensure effective regulations governing the provision of services, and, importantly, finding the ways that funding or any subventions could be instituted without having the traditional burden on the public purse.

Earlier this year, Minister Sinckler was adamant that โ€œa large part of our private sector, both in their structure and function, are really just a reflection of Government. That is just simply a fact. Many of them are really Government departments in disguise, operating as private entities, living off of the very public purse that the same statutory corporations are drawing on, as they say, โ€˜like vultures on the body politic
of Barbadosโ€™. That is just simply a factโ€.

How long ago was this feature recognized by the Minister of Finance? And, apart from pelting big rocks at the private sector, what has he done in terms of incentives or other policy initiatives to chart the paths for a budding private sector in Barbados? โ€œSometimes I hate who I have to be. But I live in a world of flip-flopping loyalties . . . . Trust is a luxury I canโ€™t afford.โ€

Clearly, Mr Sincklerโ€™s pronouncement in January, 2014, that โ€œit is crucial that we now undertake a long overdue reform of the public sector in Barbadosโ€ appears to be more wishful thinking than any practical statement regarding the work he and the Freundel Stuart administration have been taking to redress the โ€œrealโ€ issues.

It was Mr Sinckler who said: โ€œThe growth strategy has to be led by private investment and entrepreneurship. Governmentโ€™s role is to provide incentives, infrastructure and an enabling environment in support of private initiative and investment.โ€

Surely, this writer would agree with the minister that private sector growth is essential and that the Government has a sure role to play.

However, I am concerned that Barbadians are witnessing another cop-out by the Minister of Finance; another statement of fluff without the necessary glue to bind him to action. You may recall the Minister of Finance also stating in 2014 that โ€œthe Government is implementing a clear and credible plan to reduce the fiscal deficit, and the diversification and restructuring of the Barbados economy is well under wayโ€. Really? Where is the evidence?

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in its 2013 manifesto stated that it would โ€œimplement strategies that will expand real growth in the economy, increase Government revenues, reduce the tax share of gross domestic product, and reduce the level of the countryโ€™s indebtedness to an acceptable levelโ€. While accepting there are some positive signs in the Barbados economy, as alluded to by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), in which the Barbados economy โ€œappears to have turned the corner with activity picking upโ€, the prolonged uncertainty and the slow process of getting information to the public remains a huge setback, contributing to speculation of malfeasance, corruption and wastage.

As the IMF recommends, focus has to be put to โ€œsupport the nascent recoveryโ€, with specific โ€œmeasures to raise the efficiency of public services, which impedes private sector operations, pursue reforms to increase labour market flexibility without unduly reducing worker protection, increase training opportunities in a cost-effective manner to address the skill mismatch, and move forward with a viable and affordable agricultural strategy to strengthen its links with the tourism sectorโ€.

Much more can be done in Barbados to ease the public sector while enhancing the private sector. Sustained economic growth should be the platform for setting things right in this country.

One would hate to think that Minister of Finance Sinckler represents the ideal example of a โ€œskill mismatchโ€.

105 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – To switch or to just flip-flop?”

1. Any leader who can willfully oust a member of the party without giving the minister a freedom to defend themselves lies under a microscope of suspicion and is capable of indulging in mischeivous actions which are entrenched with selfserving agendas and motives .Mottley history best reflects those serving. Will be hardpressed to
    say different.Btw here is a woman who was well served by a privileged of advantage but has the mitigated gall to knock others who have done so What nerve

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Any leader who made a legal career out of stealing old ladies and their beneficiaries estates ….should be what, pimp.

It’s glad to know none of the politicians have clean hands and it’s public knowledge, going into an election.

3. Well Well,
    “…if they go wellโ€ฆ” Professor Hadley Clarke, is one of Barbados’ best Neurosurgeons with world wide fame. He practices here in Barbados and other Caribbean islands. Has this lady or her family ever consulted professor Clarke? HIS OFFICE IS IN THE AREA NEXT TO THE YACHT CLUB.Has she tried CaNADA, OR THE US. WHY MUST IT BE BRITAIN?
    YOU SAY:…”the lawyer says, she will need 400 thousand dollars 33, 000 for surgery, …”. HOWEVER YOU PUT IT, IT IS A “SCAM” TO GET MONEY FROM THE GOVERNMENT… COST OF SURGERY 33,000. AMOUNT WANTED 400,000 ;(FOUR HUNDRED THOUSAND) AMOUNT LEFT BACK AFTER SURGERY 377 THOUSAND. TELL ME THAT IS NOT A SCAM. YOU KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT SCAMS.
    I KEEP ASKING, WHY DID THE BLP AND THE “GOING WITH OWEN” BRIGADE NOT PUSH THIS MATTER TO THE LIMIT DURING THEIR 14 YEARS IN OFFICE?
    Why must the DLP always BE the oneS to have to clean up the shite the BLP shite. THAT SAME THING HAPPENED WITH BARRACK.
    The people know this that is why YOU have not won the last two elections. The PEOPLE; not the yaRD DUCKS, HAVE MORE SENSE THAN YOU YARD DUCKS GIVE THEM CREDIT FOR.THEY CAN SEE THROUGH YOU. YOU WON’T WIN The NEXT ELECTION EITHER.

4. All the tell tale signs of a desperate BLP party are showing the most prevalent are those issues meant to divide . Maloney ! The Nurse ! what is even worse is that all these issues need to be adjudicated by court process does any body remember Clico and the lambasting of govt and corruption by the blp yes now more of the same /// Oh by the way i noticed Hal Gallop got a win in court on the Clico vs parris law suit and not a word said here on BU would be surprised if eventually the whole saga be rubbished and dismiss by the law courts as having insufficient evidence to move forward

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…Professor Hadley Clarke no longer performs neurosurgery, he only consults….call him yourself, why is your information always outdated and downright erroneous.

The scam would be if the claimant was not really injured and the government had not already accepted liability , but she is and they did, you badminded, jealous minded black man.

Who they hell do you think you are to tell someone where they should have surgery, the people who accepted liability have to pay for it, regardless where she decides to have it…you stupid man.

Yall wanted tge givernment at all cost, told lies to get, illegally bought votes to get it, be careful for what you ask…ya got it….deal with it.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 23, 2016 at 5:12 PM

Why do you keep going back to the BLP 14 years? What about the period 1986 to 1994 or 2008 to 2016?
    Didn’t the AG only a few months ago promised to resolve the matter ‘shortly” just like Stinkliar promised on a million occasions to restart the Four Season project โ€œshortly”?

The BLP was not elected in 2013 on any promise to take care of the differently able community.
    Kerry Ann ought to be totally ashamed of what took place this week in the precincts of Parliament. Isnโ€™t that equivalent to her walking down Broad Street with piles of Lowe-life garbage on the sidewalks which she cannot see but only smell?

Donโ€™t you realize that since your deceitful lying party was elected to form the government nothing has redounded to the betterment of the country you profess to โ€œloveโ€ so dearly?

Just like from pillar to post of torture, you have gone into an endless cycle of incompetence lunging from one crisis to another self-inflicted crisis of corruption and scandal.

From your broken 100 days manifesto promises to the CLICO fiasco and the forensically located Thompson money laundering machine to a permanent world recession which you recently turned the corner for electoral convenience after axing thousands of lowly workers to whom you gave your solemn pledge to the missing foreign reserves to junk bond status to printing more mickey-mouse money to the Cahill Scam to turning the entire country into one stinging smelly dump as a sign of 50 years of independence buried in just 8 years of political thuggery and the apex of low(e)-class behaviour.

You and your lot have brought only shame, scandal and condemnation on that once proud and well loved DLP family.
    What have you done lately for the people of Barbados, you deceitfully destructive party of acs?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As those with intelligence can clearly see, the only scam here is the government trying not to pay money in compensation to this injured woman, money to which she is entitled.

The government has a bad track record for not wanting to pay the citizens money owed to them…..they are only interested in paying the Maloneys and Bizzys who bribe them….useless beasts.

8. @ AC

In your post of ac June 23, 2016 at 1:05 PM # you say

“….Any leader who can willfully oust a member of the party without giving the minister a freedom to defend themselves lies under a microscope of suspicion and is capable of indulging in mischeivous actions which are entrenched with selfserving agendas and motives…”

De ole man was jes wondering if dat ting you talking bout apply to dese traitorous, treasonous fellers?

http://imgur.com/xjHmuH2

9. amm from where i sit in the gallery not so far removed from the said action i believe !no i know it was a conspiracy laced with untruths of biblical proportions told by the lying and mischievous tongues of the Blp whoin just time and orderly fashion felt the wrath of the electorate in 2013 if i were you PDYR i would not venture into such a territory of untruths and mud slinging

10. Miller,
    You said (truthfully) …”The BLP was not elected in 2013 on any promise to take care of the differently able.” And you did not take care of them before either. This case shows your insensitivity. Imagine almost 20 years under your watch and the lady was not taken care of. What were you waiting for? Until the DLP won aGAIN? WELL THE DID AND HAVE MADE ATTEMPTS TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. MORE SHITE TO TAKE CARE OF (BLP SHITE. NEVER YOU MIND, IT WILL BE TAKEN CARE OF. AND YOU BETTER NOT MENTION IT ON THE PLATFORM BECAUSE SIGNS WITH A BIG 19 WILL BE HELD UP FOR All to see. Talk about callousness!!
    But my dear Miller, this lady got her injury in 1981.?When did the government (your government) accept liability? You were in power 1981-1986 (5 years) The Matter was not settled then. Which Insurance company carried the liability insurance for the QEH at that time? I want to know why the insurance company has not agreed to compensate the Lady? How has it fallen on Government to accept the liability?Why is liability insurance being paid for? The Dlp won in 1986, and they should have handled the matter, but the were so busy cleaning the shite the BLP left,; the 8% cut and rebuilding the economy that they did not do it. However your party won, subsequently, and regained the government and then kept power for 14 years. Thus your party had a total of 19 years with responsibility for this case. WHAT Happened? And this was a time when you people boasted of how well the economy was performing and how much money you had, including “high levels of foreign exchange. WHAT HAPPEN? And you want to lay this at the feet of the DLP? Never happen. Bubble up in your own trough.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…all yall are too nasty. Insurance would have been deducted from this former nurse’s salary in case she was injured on the job, liability was accepted and even if it was not could be established……the bottom line is…government….and I don’t really care which one because the treasury belings to the people, not those halfassed bribetaking jackasses for ministers….is responsible for paying this female all the money to which she is entitled.

Now ya can continue your yardfowl, pimping crap, undisturbed.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82530/gbp60-plea-save-dad

Let’s hear what the emptyheaded have to say about this. I think it’s the UK and no one else responsible for airlifting him off the island.

For those who only read what they want to see, dude was crossing the road, one car allowed him to cross, he did not wait to see if the other car stopped but continued to cross anyway, this is the result.

I have seen tourist, believing they own the island because of a few measley bucks just walk out in front of cars daring them to hit a tourist, they cannot do that in their own countries.

13. Well Well,
    INSURANCE. INSURANCE.. WHERE IS THE INSURANCE COMPANY IN THIS CASE?
    If the hospital has liability insurance, the insurance company has to make the payment for the liability. NOT THE GOVERNMENT. Why are you not seeking to make the insurance company pay? The money to be paid by government means that the TAXPAYERS would be paying for this woman’s compensation. WHY? INSURANCE!!!
    Even if the government accepts vicarious liability, because the Hospital is an entity of government, the Insurance company is the one that has to make the payment. What is the Insurance company to whom the government pays liability insurance? Could it have been CLICO? or Barbados Mutual? Reveal the name of the company.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 24, 2016 at 8:25 AM
    โ€œINSURANCE. INSURANCE.. WHERE IS THE INSURANCE COMPANY IN THIS CASE?
    If the hospital has liability insurance, the insurance company has to make the payment for the liability. NOT THE GOVERNMENT. Why are you not seeking to make the insurance company pay?โ€

Why don’t you do yourself a massive favour and drop this matter to stop exposing yourself as a blasted fool with your ass where your mouth should be?

In 1981 when the incident occurred The Crown took responsibility (liability) for risks arising from the activities of its public sector workers in its various ministries and departments. The QEH then was not a statutory body but a department under the Ministry of Health. In those days, there was no outsourcing of these risks to players in the developing non-life insurance market.

Why are you in true Don Quixote style tilting at imaginary windmills that are mere illusions of a deluded person?

15. @Miller,
    ” …..In 1981 when the incident occurred …The QEH then was not a statutory body but a department under the Ministry of Health. In those days, there was no outsourcing of these risks to players in the developing non-life insurance market.”

So, there was no liability insurance; with any company, for ANY Government Departments? Is this what you are telling me? Are you telling me that with an institution; like a hospital, where mistakes can occur and doctors have to take out Malpractice Insurance,, that NO GOVERNMENT MINISTER, OF WHICHEVER GOVERNMENT OR Party forming the government, had the foresight to see the need for insurance, and therefore government would accept liability for any and every department? Transport Board, Polyclinics, Sanitation ‘Services, etc. etc.?So if death occurred, to anyone, and it was determined that the relevant department had to accept liability, that the government could be held liable for millions of dollars,in compensation and this was acceptable? AND YOU, AS PART OF THAT GOVERNMENT, AT THE TIME, OR EVEN LATER, DID NOT RAISE A RED FLAG (I LIKE THIS) AND POINT OUT THE NEED AND MAKE THE NECESSARY LEGISLATION FOR INSURANCE? THEN I HAVE TO ACCEPT WELL WELLS ASSERTION THAT ALL OF YOU ARE A BUNCH OF DODOS. AND SINCE DODOS ARE EXTINCT, YOU SHOULD REMAIN EXTINCT.
    WHAT A LOAD OF EXCREMENT. 1981…. AND NO INSURANCE, BUT THE ACCEPTANCE OF RISK AND LIABILITY FOR THOUSANDS OF WORKERS?
    I Cannot accept such stupidity.
    What imaginary windmills am I tilting at?
    You are trying to pillory this government over something that should have been righted long ago. Is the situation with the lady imaginary? Maybe I am imagining this whole scenario.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dumb ass Alvin….you should ask Adriel Dimwit, Nitwit Brathwaite that, since he is the one says she will be paid…..since last year.

If an NCC worker gets injured, it’s the solicitor general’s office cuts the check…is QEH not a government entity, was she not a nurse at QEH….the solicitor general’s office and the insurance company are the ones to negotiate. …is the solicitor general’s office not part of government.

Ya see whay I told yall….any idiot can get a Ph.D….look at Alvin…lol

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…dont care how you try to spin it, liability was accepted, why dont you stick to what you are good at…which seems to be very little…are you legally trained…no.

Does anything you say make sense…no

Are you credible…no

So why do you bother…it does not matter which government was in power when, all government entities have some type of insurance, employees have to be insured, there were insurance companies in Barbados in 1981…so who the hell accepted liabilty…there is a claimant and a defendant…or no lawyer in their right mind would take the case….so far 6 of them took the case…so what’s your non point.

Both governments deserve to be pilloried, they are both careless wuth their citizens lives and this lady could have been compensated by either government decades ago…imagine the interest in 2016…none of these beast governments wanted to pay Barrack until forced…both ignored this woman’s plight for decades, now look.

Alvin, you and the AC pimps act like the money in the treasury belong personally to you both, ya must remember that when government ministers allow Bizzy, Maloney and Bjerkham to steal it by the millions.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I remember Santia Bradshaw’s father Delisle running around the island selling insyrance when I was a child, back in the early 70s…the government had some type of insurance back then in 81’…I will live on your bones with this Alvin..I will retrieve every memory, to show what an idiot you are.

19. Well Well,
    I will live omg YOUR bones, Miller’s too. It does not matter who accepted LIABILITY. It is the responsibility of the INSURANCE COMPANY to make the PAYMENT. THE MONEY HAS T9 COME OUT OF THE INSURANCE COMPANY NOT THE GOVERNMENT. THEREFORE WHY DOES THE GOVERNMENT HAVE TO PAY OUT OF THE TREASURY? If Sagicor is the insurance company, when I have a crash, and liability is established, the cheque for PAYMENT has to be from Sagicor’s account. Similarly if the QEH, or the Ministry of health have insurance with Sagicor,and liability is established, SAGICOR WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE CHEQUE. WHY HAS IT NOT BEEN DONE IN THIS INSTANCE? WHY SHOULD THE MONEY HAVE TO COME OUT OF THE GOVERNMENT COFFERS? WHAT IS SO DIFFICULT FOR YOU TO UNDERSTAND? IT IS JUST THAT ALL OF YOU WANT TO SHIFT RESPONSIBILITY FROM A COMPANY IN THE PRIVATE SECTOR TO GOVERNMENT.
    I AM NOT SPINNING ANYTHING, Insurance company is the entity to pay out the money NOT the government.
    Unfortunately the AG has agreed to pay a sum of money to the lady. Did she think, when she went to the Parliament buildings, even if she had spoken to the PM, he would have pulled the money out of his pocket right then and there? Foolishness!.She had already spoken to him, He had promised that action would be taken, What was she doing in the Public Buildings? At least the Police sent her home by Taxi, and handled her very kindly. In the U.S or U.K she would not have been able to get in the House of Congress or the Parliament in the first lace, far less speak with the leaders.
    Well Well,
    You said…”, itโ€™s the solicitor generalโ€™s office cuts the checkโ€ฆ” No its the Accountant General. All government cheques come out through the Accountant General, with instructions from the relevant department.
    You said further: “the bottom line isโ€ฆgovernmentโ€ฆ.and I donโ€™t really care which one because the treasury belings to the people”
    Therefore it must be protected, against everyone. Government should not be asked to pay something that is the responsibility of the INSURANCE COMPANY will find out who you are protecting in this case.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…I will tell you for the last time…I am not the one said it…Adriel Nitwit Brathwaite said it, take up the matter with him…there is obviously an arrangement where the checks come out of the solicitor general’s office and/or approved for distribution from there, it’s not the first time I have known of this happening…why is your head so hard…if you dont like the arrangement…tell the attorney general…he said it, the lawyers are dealing with the legal counsel in that office…it is public knowledge as reported by the newspapers and the attorney general..

I did not make those rules…but they exist.

And ya should tell the minister’s that taxpayer’s money shoukd be protected from everyone, including them, their bribers, their pimps and yardfowls

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…I will tell you for the last time…I am not the one said it…Adriel Nitwit Brathwaite said it, take up the matter with him…there is obviously an arrangement where the checks come out of the solicitor general’s office and/or approved for distribution from there, it’s not the first time I have known of this happening…why is your head so hard…if you dont like the arrangement…tell the attorney general…he said it, the lawyers are dealing with the legal counsel in that office…it is public knowledge as reported by the newspapers and the attorney general..

I did not make those rules…but they exist.

And ya should tell the minister’s that taxpayer’s money should be protected from everyone, including them, their bribers, their pimps and yardfowls.

It’s going to hurt your heart when that woman get’s her money, regardless of whose office it comes of…don’t let it kill ya.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Blogmaster..can you remove one of the 2 above posts, it went duplicate..thanks.

Alvin…this is what should concern you most…the backward step your ministers are causing your brothers to take by not speaking out against the business class who bribe them, even Antigua’s prime minister Gaston Browne has the testicular fortitude to speak out against and stop Butch Stewart from robbing Antiguans and disenfranchising them…what is the weak government ministers in Barbados doing about the wannabe slavemaster Bjerkham….look..

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/24/bwu-to-step-up-pressure-on-jada/

Instead of speaking out against Bjerkham trying to ensalve the males in Barbados…it’s killing you that a black woman is getting compensation to which she is entitled, for her injuries…but on your own people being disadvantaged, you say nothing.

Take a look in the mirror.

Look at the difference. .

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/22/antigua-pm-sue-me/

23. Well Well,
    It won’t hurt my head because contrary to what you believe, I am hopeful for speedy settlement, Ahe deserves the payment but…. I however still hold to the view that the money should come out of the Insurance company’s coffers. The cheque might be issued out of the Solicitor General’s office, but it would have been approved by the Accountant General. All funds disbursed by Government have to pass through the office of the Accountant General, with his approval. this is what confuses people. Cheques do not come out of each department without first passing through the accountant general. Subventions, grants, payment for bills, and all financial business has to pass through that office. So when you talk about tiefing within departments or individuals, It has to be by a different method. You try to speak with such authority, but you are not knowledgeable.

Alvin…so just say that, you were claiming it was some BLPDLP conspiracy, she deserves to be paid. Has it occured to you that the money might be forwarded to an account the counselat the solicitor general’s office has access to and they cut the check..simple as that.

Alvin…anyone who knows how the system works, as you know, the stealing is done through bribery, cost overruns etc…there are ways to steal…but stealing is stealing…and there is always stealing, dont care how you try to dress it up…cause thry are greedy , covetous and weak.

If there was no bribery and stealing, the minorities would not dare do what they are doing on the island, but they know the ministers are dirty, they know they have them by the balls…they know that they having been doing illegal things…you are one of the few people pretending that it’s not so…ya can’t even run that past my 4 year old grandson…lol

25. “The people know this that is why YOU have not won the last two elections. The PEOPLE; not the yaRD DUCKS, HAVE MORE SENSE THAN YOU YARD DUCKS GIVE THEM CREDIT FOR.THEY CAN SEE THROUGH YOU. YOU WONโ€™T WIN The NEXT ELECTION EITHER.”
    ………………………………………………………

The people of Barbados would have siad the same thing about the DLP in 1994, 1999 and 2003.

The people of Barbados woke up in shock that the dlp was able to pull off an incredible win in 2013…..and we done know how they won! Mark Maloney had to ensure that the dlp won!

26. *said

27. @ pieceuhderock June 23, 2016 at 7:40 PM #

“De ole man was jes wondering if dat ting you talking bout apply to dese traitorous, treasonous fellers?”
    ……………………………………………..

Excellent poster as always, piece!

The ac’s would like us to forget that eleven of the Fumble cabinet (with exception of the ice queen) sat down with him weekly in cabinet and parliamentary meetings and rose up to overthrow him.

What hypocrites!

28. WW&C u know what y u should nit cuss. U sound so dumb when u cuss look at dat the word dumb also describes yuh dumb a.ss

29. I must confess to being a bit puzzled on the issue of Nurse Wilkinson’s injury claim. Didn’t the hospital have insurance which, if liability has been accepted, would then be paying the claim? If treatment is available to correct her injury wouldn’t an insurance company wish this to occur to reduce the amount of damages? Something isn’t right here. Why is the PM taking about judgments? Has this already been through the courts? If it has why hasn’t she appealed the amount of the judgment after all this time? Did it take all this time to get it through the first level of our court system? Why does it seem as though this is coming out of the Treasury and not through an insurance company? This is all a bit muddled to me. There are missing pieces to this puzzle.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…the ministers, their pimps and yardfowls are missing puzzles themselves of both governments…right AC pimps.

I never heard anything like that in my life. It appears not much these governments have done over the last 50 years makes sense,

Everything is politics and political for them…can you believe 50 years of political independence and all they have to show for it are political idiots, educated at taxpayer’s expense and all they can talk about is being yardfowls or pimps and nothing they say ever makes any sense….lol

Check out the AC pimps, they never understand anything that’s said, but will jump to defend the indefenseable….then when they are reduced to BUs laughing stock, they get mad…lol

Right now Bjerkham got all the ministers quiet as lambs, none of them or their yardfowls can say anything to or about him, while he tries to reduce grown men on the island to his personal slaves.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC.., ya just mad cause the programming of Alvin got penetrated…he came around to the understanding that a female got injured decades ag6, your attorney general confirmed it, the female should be compensated as your attorney general said…and ya jealous, so suck it up,

32. @ Donna

You have confirmed what I said earlier on another blog insofar as you do not read anything in the blog that came before.

I refer you to that entry now by Miller the Annunaki.

“millertheanunnaki June 24, 2016 at 8:47 AM #

@ Alvin Cummins June 24, 2016 at 8:25 AM
    โ€œINSURANCE. INSURANCE.. WHERE IS THE INSURANCE COMPANY IN THIS CASE?
    If the hospital has liability insurance, the insurance company has to make the payment for the liability. NOT THE GOVERNMENT. Why are you not seeking to make the insurance company pay?โ€

Why donโ€™t you do yourself a massive favour and drop this matter to stop exposing yourself as a blasted fool with your ass where your mouth should be?

In 1981 when the incident occurred The Crown took responsibility (liability) for risks arising from the activities of its public sector workers in its various ministries and departments. The QEH then was not a statutory body but a department under the Ministry of Health. In those days, there was no outsourcing of these risks to players in the developing non-life insurance market.

Why are you in true Don Quixote style tilting at imaginary windmills that are mere illusions of a deluded person?”

Look,

Sometimes we read an article here and, because of its content, don’t have a clue about what is going on.

At times, if you read the submissions, both those for and against, you can get an better? idea of the intricacies of a matter when you wade through the fluff, like my submissions, and look at the meat on Bush Tea, GP, Annunaki, Due Diligence, Prodigal, Amused, Jeff, Caswell, Colonel Buggy, Sargeant and others who are disposed to giving facts and do not dwell in or on the emotive

Read the item (advice which de ole man, cause I ent as young as you, do not see as well)

You see?

I’ll be yah Huckleberry can also be a gentle thing too Donna

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah Piece…you too see where this is going….but liability is liability, so who gives a shit where the check comes from. I am so sorry it cant come from Alvin’s pension. That would shut him up. I dont think he understands what he said.

I will leave Miller to interpret.

34. I want some Flip Flop Cou Cou and Flying fish.

Whu bout wunna?

http://imgur.com/aUSyUY3

35. @David,

I read Roy Morrisโ€™s Column and I disagreed with him. If the treatment that is now being meted out to Mark Maloney was given to someone who was not at the receiving end of numerous government contracts, I could agree that the problem was business facilitation. However, I do believe what we are witnessing is just another symptom of the deficiencies in the Constitution of Barbados.

Let us examine a few of symptoms. There was the matter of the Speaker of the House, who stole from a pensioner yet remained as Speaker of the House. When the matter became public, if I remember correctly the Prime Minister said that the Speaker had broken no law. Under normal circumstances funds belonging to the public are not kept at the Central Bank. Although I believe this to be wrong, I am not aware that any law of Barbados was broken by the Governor in keeping the money for Leroy Parris. There was no law to prevent Mara Thompson from remaining as the Representative for St. John in the House of Assembly even though she was involved in the missing funds of the Clico scandal. Even with the Cahill scandal, there was no law to make those Ministers who signed the Agreements resign. Like wise with the Coverley and other contracts given to Maloney et al, there are no laws to prevent Government from exclusively giving contracts to a select few citizens.

There is even a problem of enforcing the laws with this archaic legal system which is compounded by the fact that the rich and the poor are treated differently. The poor are persecuted and prosecuted by the law while the rich are allowed to get off scotch free if their case make it to the courts. The system was built to be prejudiced against the poor.

Essentially, they are no laws to reign in those who believe that they are above the law. If the poor must abide by the regulation of the TCP so too must the rich. Mr. Maloney has operating above the law all along until he fell out of favor with the government.

36. Donna,
    You are voicing the same questions I have been asking, and expressing the same concerns I have.
    Where is the insurance company in all this. As I said, any payments to the woman should come out of the coffers of the Insurance company that must have underwritten the Malpractice or liability insurance the Hospital must ( or should have had) against eventualities such as this. Something smells to high heaven. Why now?

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…ya just looking for an alli(ance).

The stupidity of a culture that tells it’s people that taking time aint laziness…particularly in legal matters…… the slowness of a court system that is not plaintiff friendly…the arrogance of both DBLP governments that believe they can get away with not paying their own people a dime to which they are entitled, the uselessness of most attorneys who are self-serving and never look out for the best interests of their clients. And an injured woman who for 35 years believed that any of them cared.

Just pray you are never injured in Barbados Alvin, or no one will look at you.

You are so blind with yardfowlism that you cannot see that it reflects negatively on both governments equally, past and present attorneys , past and present prime ministers.

And going into an election it makes the present lot of politicians seem unfeeling, uncaring and full of themselves, that includes Mia Mottley who at one time was attorney general and acting pm.

It makes Fruendel and Adriel look even worse because they are the present and are still useless to the situation..but you are too stupid to see it.

38. Well Well,
    And you are too stupid not to realize when your lack of any objectivity, leads you to assume that EVERYBODY is a crook, uncaring, lazy, stupid, unwilling or unable to help their fellow man, crooked, bribe taking, etc etc, ad infinitum. As I said you are one nasty piece of work. Just as you refer to me, admit when you are wrong. This woman has allowed herself to be manipulated; by whoever, and you demand that the government take up taxpayers money, to pay a settlement that the life insurance company should be accepting and paying out. WHY?
    You and your cohorts want to create an atmosphere of poison gas Lehrer it does not exist and which is not needed.
    However the DLP will settle the whole affair equitably.

39. Pieces,

How the hell do you know what I do? I read the post when I was distracted and forgot it. Just leave me be! I tire of you and your badgering.

40. Well Well,
    Typo…”poison gas where it does not…

By the way didn’t you grow up in the same society that you stay…”The stupidity of a culture that tells itโ€™s people that taking time aint lazinessโ€ฆparticularly in legal mattersโ€ฆโ€ฆ .

Didn’t you say you are qualified in legal matters? Why don’t you open a free clinic (Legal) and offer your service to people like this lady and do your duty; to your fellow man” and help her and others.
    That would be a service to your people. Expose those you accuse of all these infelicities. Don’t do it on BU only! Be a woman and come out in the open. Join a group, form a group, advocate, and be an advocate for those who need advocates and have no recourse. There I have thrown out the challenge.

41. You have an annoying habit of putting people into categories and elevating some to “meat ” positions and some to “fluff.” You have NO IDEA what my freezer contains!

42. Alvin,

I asked some pertinent questions. I got a really annoying answer. That has put at least one of those questions to bed. There is no insurance because of some issues with the changeover from central government to statutory entity.

43. Sorry Alvin,

No issues with the changeover, just normal procedure in 1981. Pieces got me pissed off.;

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin..you ass, the government accepted liability…that is what I have to repeatedly beat you over your stupid head with…..try and change that one.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…no I did not grow up in Barbados, like my grands and children before them, I lived off and on periodically on the island so ya bust luck.

Ya cant challenge me you idiot, certain disabilities prevent me from doing many things I would normally do, did you not read the comment where I told GP, I have become semi-reclusive.

Why dont you gather a few of BUs orother attorneys you know who are retired and get them to do what you are advising…it would be more fulfilling than being a yardfowl.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 25, 2016 at 10:03 AM #
    This woman has allowed herself to be manipulated; by whoever, and you demand that the government take up taxpayers money, to pay a settlement that the life insurance company should be accepting and paying out. WHY?โ€

Jackass Alvin, why don’t you stop braying and return to your enclosure of stupidity and ignorance about insurance?

How does life insurance get into this?
    It’s either a matter of accident or personal injury, medical or employer’s liability insurance; not life insurance unless specifically taken out for or by the individual employee with such indemnity included as a special clause.

It’s true than most life insurance companies do indeed offer these other work-related risk indemnities as part of their sales of portfolio but a claim can only be made if the person involved in the accident is so insured or the employer indemnified by way of employer’s liability in respect of its workers or third parties like clients and contractors and visitors to the place of business.

We are talking 1981 here Alvin, not 2011 when the QEH as a Statutory body would have had to make its own insurance arrangements to cover such risks as a duty of care to its employees as required under the Health & Safety Act.

In 1981 Nurse Wilkinson was an employee of Central Government at the time just as you were before that time when you were a junior lab technician at the same QEH while performing back street abortions on poor ignorant vulnerable women for illegally charged fees undercutting the regular abortionist at the time.

What would you have to say if, at the time of your attachment to the Lab, you were climbing the stairs to receive or deliver, as a matter of urgency, some lab test results to a ward on the second floor and you slipped and fell because another person had spilled some slippery substance on the stairs?
    Just imagine you accidentally damaging your back or in your case smashed your contorted face into the stairs resulting in your permanently scarred ugly countenance?

What insurance would you be able to claim against, Alvin the nincompoop?

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….

48. Miller,

Point already noted about 1981 and conditions at that time. I still wonder about whether or not the case was ever taken to court or was supposedly settled out of court. How come they are still quibbling about the amount after so long? If the amount offered was unacceptable why did it not go to court? If this was a judgment made by the courts shouldn’t an appeal have been lodged to contest the amount? Is there a case still pending in the court. Was the case mishandled? Did some statute of limitations run out? It makes no sense that a women in this allegedly poor condition should be in the position of begging unless a court case has been stalled in the system. These questions make me wonder whether there is something to what Froonie said after all. What went wrong in this case?

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Donna June 25, 2016 at 12:55 PM

What you have queried is exactly what the AG should be telling us instead of promising the poor woman the matter will soon be resolved and that was over 6 months ago.

But what the heck, isn’t he still busy looking into the matter of Mia and her LEC certification and her right to practise law in Barbados?
    Wait for the report and then he will turn his attention to Nurse Wilkinsonโ€™s case.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They got this scam going in Barbados where insurance companies and as we can see in this case government, will accept liabilty for a claimant’s injury…we all know what that means, send the claimants to a million doctors, pay for all types of body scans and this that and the next, except for goid trestment ir surgery, remember, they accepted liability, so they are paying for it, promise to settle, get a quantum of damages from the claimant’s attorneys…..and then when it’s time to settle on a fair amount of compensation….refuse to pay, in most cases, the attorneys, if it’s a good attorney, takes the matter before a judge, to cut through the bullshit.

Then there is the flipside to that scam where the jnsurance companies refuses to accept liability dont care how much proof is brought that they are liable, they would play nasty tricks and games for years…particularly if the claimant’s attorney is a sellout and the claimant is not legally savvy, but if both attorney and claimant are on the same page, the doctors are good doctors and not the liars and sell outs ya find being exposed in some instsnces on the island….again, a good judge can cut threw the bullshit.