Skipping out on the whole notion of having a “white Christmas,” Simon Cowell was spotted frolicking around the beach in Barbados yesterday (December 25).  The snide “American Idol” judge looked to be having a marvelous time in paradise, hanging out with British billionaire Philip Green as well as spending some time on a wave runner.
Skipping out on the whole notion of having a “white Christmas,” Simon Cowell was spotted frolicking around the beach in Barbados yesterday (December 25, 2008) with Sir Philip Green

Yesterday in the news there was a report that the government will start construction on a secondary school at Searles, Christ Church in early 2017. The information caught the attention of BU not because the school is earmarked to have a sixth form, rather, Minister of Education Ronald Jones explained he preferred not to divulge the reason why the construction of the school was delayed. It is difficult to imagine a minister and by extension a UK or US government being allowed to avoid disclosing the reason why a government project was delayed.

To support the point, across the pond in recent days there has been a full parliamentary enquiry into the collapse in April this year of British Home Stores (BHS) which, until its sale last year, was the ‘jewel in the crown’ of frequent visitor to Barbados Sir Philip Green. Sir Philip is not scheduled to be in the parliamentary hot seat until next week but BU anticipates his testimony will follow the same course as BHS’s new owner, Dominic Chappell and its CEO and CFO have yesterday [08/06/2016]. In other words, the loss of over 11,000 jobs and the disappearance of its employees’ pension fund is everyone else’s fault, not his.

The noticeable difference between a major collapse of a large company in the UK and a similar collapse in Barbados lies in the robust application of transparency laws. Whereas in Barbados successive governments have given lip service to governance issues, in the UK, an enquiry is not only held to investigate suspected or reported malfeasance, it is publicly televised and information made available for a legitimate fourth estate to report on. It also goes without saying that the UK DPP will be following events with the threat of prosecution unlike our DPP Charlie Leacock.

Yesterday’s hearing was fascinating in that Darrin Topp, the CEO (or former CEO) of BHS and the CFO, Michael Hitchcock, blamed everything on the new owner Dominic Chappell and went so far as to accuse Mr Chappell of threatening to kill him (Mr Topp) and Mr Hitchcock called him a “premier league liar and Sunday pub retailer”. In his turn Mr Chappell denied that he had threatened to kill Mr Topp and stated, in effect, that Mr Topp was completely incompetent and blamed the collapse of BHS, which he purchased for £1 from Sir Philip Green, on…..Sir Philip Green. Mr Chappell however was forced to admit that he had made a profit.

We wait to hear from Sir Philip Green who may find himself in the law courts alongside Mr Chappell.

The key issues are:

The pension scheme: There is a pension deficit of £571 million (BBD$ 1,661,717,332). In 2013 BHS agreed to put £9.5m (BBD$ 27,642,867) into the pension yearly for 23 years to make up the deficit. Companies have a legal obligation to do this under the Pensions Act 2004. This amount does not compute and seems far too low a refund to the raided pension fund.

Property: Sir Philip bought BHS in 2000. In 2001 BHS sold 12 stores to Carmen Properties Limited for £105.9million (BBD$ 305,687,376) and then rented them back from the Carmen (which is off-shore and based in Jersey) for £12million (BBD$ 34,935,907) a year. Carmen Properties was owned by Sir Philip Green. Over the next 11 years BHS paid £141million (BBD$ 410,558,695) in rent to Carmen. These rents are generally considered to be high in comparison to the prevailing market rate.

Dividends: BHS paid £414 million (BBD$ 1,205,504,283) over 4 years (£220 million (BBD$ 640,581,016) in 2004 alone, more than £118 million (BBD$ 343,626,037) more than its pre-tax profits). More than $400 million (BBD$ 1,164,834,024) of that went to Sir Philip Green. This eradicated the £147.7million (BBD$ 430,121,852) reserves of BHS at a time when the pension fund had gone into substantial deficit. £60million (BBD$ 174,737,898) of these reserves went on dividends, instead of into the pension fund. The payment of dividends reduced shareholder funds from £335.2 million (BBD$ 976,268,985) to £86 million (BBD$ 250,556,126) between 2000 and 2004.

Sale and purchase: BHS was purchased from Sir Philip Green by Retail Acquisitions for £1 on 12 March 2015. Dominic Chappell, the new owner, is a TWICE declared bankrupt and was millions of pounds in debt as a result of a failed business building, a marina on the Isle of Wight. Mr Chappell has no experience in retail whatever.

Prospects of success: Arcadia Group/BHS’s 2014 results show like-for-like sales were up 3.6% at BHS. Yet it is generally held that BHS had fallen behind its competitors and were steadily falling.

In Barbados, Little England, we accord a high level of preferential treatment to these dubious foreign operators like Claire Cowan, David Ames, Eugene Melnyk (the father of our Charlie Leacock’s godchild) et al. Commentary on an article posted recently by Jeff Cumberbatch exposed our lack of appreciation of how dots are connected in the temporal space humankind exist. Freedom to exercise the intellect and nurture a healthy curiosity about all things in the ecosystem is a prerequisite to achieve actualisation and happiness.

If we want our system of government to work, we have to ensure checks and balances are legislated and practiced. There is a reason bipartisan Committees of parliament exist such as the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), The Committee of Privileges to name two. Note these important committees of parliament have not functioned in the interest of the public under a BLP or DLP government. Instead the system has given rise to a political class whose interest is to serve themselves. Barbadians although rumoured to be an educated lot have ceded our right to advocacy under our Westminster system of government to an ineffective few.

Several lessons can be learned from the on-going BHS public parliamentary enquiry in Great Britain. No system is perfect, however, we must continually work to make it better.

Related Link: BHS: Death threats, ‘crazy’ rants and a scuppered Sports Direct rescue bid

152 responses to “Barbadians Must Demand Better Governance”

1. Okay, David, I will stay away from the personal. Perhaps I went a bit too far. But at times these AC clowns bring out the worst in people.

Every single article posted to BU for discussion always develops into a BLP versus DLP or some shiite about Mottley by the AC yard-fowls.

Take the Sagicor relocation article for example. Rather than bring rational reasoning to the “discussion,” the yard-fowls posted the following:

“ac June 8, 2016 at 5:36 PM #: And did not the BLp govt encourage these mendicants. but for some of them once the gravy train stopped flowing it was time to close shop and go else where to find greener pastures..”

It irritates me that people can be so stupid. I was reading VOB’s chat this afternoon just before Brass Tack finished and some of the chatters were “talking” about Barbados Underground. Some mentioned they liked posters such as Miller, while one said he liked Lt. Caine’s style.

But guess who they say is the worse blogger? I know BU knows the answer.

The ACs devalue BU by posting too much DLP rhetoric. Their contributions should be limited to the DLP’s web-site.

@ AC

I’m not a member or supporter of the BLP, so I don’t care about the “ugliness that permeates within the blp party.” That for you to do and worry about, and in doing so, you are successfully making yourself an idiot.

Shiite, even the other DLP yard-fowls take a break, but you find it necessary to expose your immaturity by responding to everything.

I bet your response to my contribution will no doubt include something about the BLP and Mia Mottley. You can’t help.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yardfowls have nothing to offer the country and people…their roles are strictly to enable politicians in corruption, bribery and suck evetthing positive out of society and leaving only negatives.

3. shite man who are to determine how and when any one respond or how many times ..the blog is littered with blp yardfowls and says whatever the hell they like WW&Copany sits here twenty four seven never hear any one telling her to stfup but whatever WW&C says fits in with you and yours agenda sorry bro it is not your blog and i could not give a flying sh..t what you think

4. See wuh I tell yuh?

5. I am so sorry that these morons mashed up BHS.

I loved to shop at BHS on Oxford Street whenever I was in London. Just think of the thousands who have lost their jobs but also their pensions. Greedy bastards!

6. @ Artaxerxes.

“You mudda scvunt”

If i were to start a conversation with these words to you, every time I commence a “discussion” here on the blog, pretty soon, after cussing our my mudda scvunt, and telling me tuh come and meet you by Nelson statue on Friday at 12, after a while, you would get tired of cussing me and, knowing that i will always be here on BU, because that is what i have been paid to do, you will disengage.

Do you know the increasing number of hits of people coming to BU on a daily basis?

Do you know who is coming to view the articles on BU?

De Lied party knows and they have given AC a task to dissuade the audience with her incessant prattle.

I know how you feel for sometimes I too have had to use some not too nice words on one of them, but after a few genuflections I am able to redeem my sinful soul.

Sometimes when people come and read AC’s dribble and see the ongoing entertaining that you and my Sister WW&C extend to her, it can detract from the seriousness of the dialogue.

Yes, yes, yes, sometimes we have to pause and observe “Be Kind to Animal Week” but if we entertain her too long she diminishes from the thrust and the ubiquitous desire to get rid of Fumbles’ Navy and get a breed of politicians who will do something for the people of this country, be they white, black or pink.

That is a hard call to find someone of that calibre but we have to do so cause this other mix ent wukking.

Cutting off the tail, rather the part below the tail of the 30 heads of the Hydra is wasteful effor Artaxerxes

Go for the head(s)

http://imgur.com/sXe4iVB

7. i have two words for you ole man….. fart hole ///////////

BTW Mia asked for this message to be extended to you and yours

“[Blogs] will marginalise our existence as parliaments and will cause disrespect, not just for the rule of law, but for the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,”

8. AC

You and Mia can read the second line of the submission above

Ineptitude on one side and Troika pun de other

But I gine deal wid wunna ineptitude first.

“Not one effing seat”

http://imgur.com/Ouz84An

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82058/pm-stuart-meets-baroness-scotland

I am sure these 2…. Freundel and Scotland had a lot to talk about with both having negative publicity..

This auditor general’s report should not be allowed to be forgotten, the whole government seems to be ignoring the very troubling mismanagement and blatant disappearance of taxpayer’s money along with the bad contracts disadvantaging the taxpayers that were made between the government ministers and the business people…..this is banana republic style leadership…no accountability.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/10/heads-should-roll/

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…that blatant lie from Mia about blogs is what will beat her day and night…after she is elected in 2018…just like all the lies Fruendel & Co told the electorate in 2013….is beating them out of the people’s parliament now and going forward into the next elections….the poisonous venomous lies told by 2 bit lying small island politicians.

11. @PUDRYR

If we take the responses to this blog about the need for greater governance as a reflection of how the wider society thinks we are in duck’s guts. The only issues to provoke voluminous diatribe is politics and religious dogma.

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dear Mr Prime Minister, another young man was shot to death on the City outskirts last night/this morning………………… Just in case that the Attorney -General, the Chief Justice or your new found supporters in the media did not inform you.

13. @ the Blogmaster

And therein lies our dilemma.

THis is why I call men like Senator David Durant so called men of god (purposely lower cased because the deities that they serve are Mamon) Sons of the Devil.

Not one of them has the backbone to come out and say, “I draw my line here because I answer to The Higher Power of GOD The Father, GOD The Son and GOD The HOLY SPIRIT.

Be they priest, parson, or iman none of them come to the fore of public encounter and say “this shit is wrong”

Yet he can go to Nigeria and find a next nudder priest to come and declare an empty blessing of national bounty on Barbados, tek the ingrunt swine bountiful blessings, and depart to go to another west indian cuntry to rape and pillage another denomination while on their way to America to buy a nex plane.

14. @ Colonel Buggy.

I do honestly believe that Fumbles is convinced that what he is saying is the truth.

You must understand megalomania be it of the deluded variety of our Prime Minister or of the arrogant variety of Mia Mottley.

One that of the PM, is in such a comatose state that they simply cannot hear what anyone is saying while the other, that of Mia, is Hell bent to ensure that NOT ONE MAN WOMAN OR BEAST WILL SAY ANYTHING ABOUT HER

And when she comes to power our ingrunt donkeys will see how much she will do to take away those basic rights and privileges

Dale Smiley Teets Done draft up all them laws that will deny cyberspace dissent and will call it Sedition and Treason!!

Mark My Words.

THe effing institutions that Mia should be talking about keeping the society safe is the effing Commissioner of Police that she as Attorney General was in charge of dring the time that that office of the Commissioner of Police was Tapping the Office of the Prime Minister et al.!

The effing instutitions that she should be commenting about is the fact that Remington 30.07s can be imported to Barbados and that the Actual End Recipient of Said Weapon can be of such concern that the Embassy of the United States can seek to ascertain, unsuccessfully, who the effing guns going to.

Mia can talk she shyte to Kerrie and Eddie and Maria Agard and Jerome and all them botsie suckers, but I ent frighten uh one grey hair in Mottley ass.

Wunna got to understand that respect is earned, it is not an entitlement cause you name Mottley.

If we got CJs who are unqualified for the job and DPPs who are not doing their duties, and instructing that certain big people illegal building get lick down, then it is stupid for us, as ingrunt sheeple, while observing what Mottley calling “the rule of law, and the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,” to calmly bend over and let them screw us, with either real doggies or with dildoes, depending on the sex? of the perpetrator, while they walk bout in white talking a berriffle uh shyte

http://imgur.com/S8KWEvE

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“the rule of law, and the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,”

Lol… Piece…that shit arose out of Mia’s mouth when she, Owen, Bizzy and Cow were all collectively trying to protect the decades old corruption and bribery practiced by both political parties…but since then problems arose…Maloney got tired of the old politicians. ..so he has better plans and then her “advisor” Peter Harris decided…why pay for the milk when ya can get the cow for free, have his buddy start a political party and he can own a whole government, complete with treasury and people/taxpayers who do not fight for their rights….could not want it better.

They should all be grateful for the blogs and be very thankful….or none of these old ass and middle aged politicians in parliament would know when the Harris’ and Maloneys would overthrow their greedy, dishonest asses…….. until well after the event.

Just note how defiant and disrespectful Maloney is to Barbados’ authority….just note how defiant and disrespectful Peter Harris is to the judges and judiciary.

They all deserve what is transpiring.

16. Piece When you a.ss get peppered and sandpaper by the despot all them shitty cartoons you wasted time posting not gonna mean sh.it.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82075/maloney-structure-destroyed

Maloney sounds just like Peter Harris in this article, both do things that they know are illegal and when confronted by authorities….say what the authorities are doing is illegal…that is what happens when you do not rein in business people who believe they own the island, the people and think they are abive the laws of the land.

It does not matter to Maloney that his illegal actions and obstruction caused the death of a child some time ago.

Maybe the politicians will learn a lesson from this, it only happens when you allow corruption to flourish…right AC.

18. Salt & Pepper?

Salt and Pepper?

I get drawn and quartered by wunna scum and you concerned bout Salt and Peppered?

When dat Despot come All Uh We gine be Salted & Peppered.

So doan worry bout a ting, every little ting gonna be alright…

http://imgur.com/dttie5Y

19. Every day one realises that it is virtually impossible to run out of ideas about what indiscretions, what ineptitude to “pepper” wunna ingrunt selves wid

Every day there are a plethora of topics water shortages, bad roads, garbage woes, teachers embattled with the Minister, Unions fighting with Ministers, the prime Minister Mekking some ingrunt statement, ministers talking pup, a new tax, an exposure of some teifing with a minister involved, croneyism, pimps, Me Clare Who You

Sometimes de grandson doan know where to start.

I do not take any delight in writing the book covers and doing the other things coming soon to a theatre near you really.

It saddens me as a Bajan that there is such a lackadaisical attitude and general state of turpitude that abounds.

And incredibly, anyone who asks for more, for better, for positive change, is singles our and led to the chopping block, FOR DARING TO BE DIFFERENT.

If you dare to expose wunna vagabonds you have people like verla depeiza calling a fella traitors and that you are guilty of treason.

You stage a march and the next thing you hear is that you gotta crack a few skulls and kill a few people.

You speak to someone’s autocratic style and her dislike of dissent and you are accused of undermining the institution that maintain the laws of the land, mind you no one ent talking bout people not maintaining the laws of the land when dem was getting kick backs from syrup at School meals or Edutech benefits, or Dodds benefits or highway benefits.

And of course we got the conscience of the island, the church, out there doing whu it is appointed to do, get senatorships and tek tithes.

Who wants to be known as PUDYDR? Or Bush Tea or Colonel Buggy?

But good men and women got to hide behind nom de plumes while criminals walking bout getting knock fuh six cause them ent know bout bail being giver to murder accused while a next set dressed up in all white to depict the purity of their despotic soul.

We are screwed

20. ”Screw Wunna’ boardgame… Lol.

You really got something there. Aim to make a fistful of money at any cost.

I can imagine the cards now.

‘Donate $20,000 to the politicians’ pack, advance to Park Lane, acquire the ownership from the bank or any other player for a third of the price and built a hotel for half price’.

Or, ‘You have won the rights for the utilities, pay the politicians pack $10,000 and advance to a utility of your choice and acquire for half price. You may double the rent henceforth’.

Great game idea, really.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Weepll lookee here, ya would think the government would tell the taxpaying public about this….hello night court.

I say go for it, as long as none of these 7 potential judges collude with and involve themselves with the local businessmen who have managed to destroy the integrity of the judiciary with corruption and bribes over the last 40 years, particularly in the last 20 years, as long as they know they are being watched very closely.

“FIVE MEN AND two women are said to be the main candidates for the three new judgeships soon to be established.

Four are Queen’s Counsels – one with a long-standing reputation for educating the public about legal matters as well as working with credit unions and a trade union. Another is a former educator whose claim to fame has been securing top jobs; the third has an enduring relationship with an educational institution and has a successful legal practice with his sibling; and the other is an established prosecutor.

One of the male candidates is the top legal man at a leading public sector organisation which plays a central role in the financial sector here.
    It is expected that one of the seats must go to a woman, and the two said to be in the running were recently promoted and have solid reputations as magistrates.

Though most of the candidates are well qualified, if politics does not play any part of the decision, the three going forward should be pretty obvious.
    The eyes of the legal profession are watching the Government on this one, and Cou Cou has been told that if attorneys believe the usual yardfowlism that afflicts most decisions occurs with these, a lot of noise is going to be heard.

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82083/cou-cou-flying-fish-comes-judge#sthash.TWoxDDbQ.dpuf

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82088/lears-hut-gone

This arrogant, remorseless Mark Maloney now sees himself as a victim…hello, hello, the victim is the little boy who died because of the illegal obstruction you built in Coverley Maloney…..so get your head out of your rectum and come up for fresh air.

Titillating and nauseating is the article in Cou Cou about those who are now looking forward to be the latest pimphood title holders on the island…how many increments of 10 thousand dollars here and there had to be paid out by the expectant recipients to get on that list, trying to buy pretentious, false respect…..clowns and frauds.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…ya just got even more material for your posters..lol

Re the judgeships, it dont look as though the government was crazy enough to include the name of the former Clico director, being sued for negligence, now top lawyer for CGI insurance…that would have been a blatant slap in the taxpayer’s face…for sure.

24. I am looking at this Maloney Story and seeing actions unbecoming of a democracy.A democracy which is meant to thrive and flourish on the wheels of fair justice, Yesterday actions of the demolition of a citizens structure has fallen miserably short of fair and equal rights where a citizen has a right by law to seek remedy through the law court first before a judgement can be brought to extradite actions deemed necessary or a judgement to restore a legal right to an individual negated on fairness and preservation of law.
    What happened yesterday can be potentially damaging to a country integrity and sends a hostile message

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…it is really too early in the morning to be a dumb black hypocrite…where were you when the chief town planner tore down structures in Eden Lodge and Haynesville and all those depressed areas….did those people get the benefit of the court or were thry just served a notice and the structures torn down.

You want to contradict something….contradict when Maloney and his ilk will make sure that stupid people like you cannot own anything in Barbados.

Dont you have wares to wash.

26. i Hope Maloney challenges this law No govt has a right to exercise free reign of law without first given its citizen the right to pursue all avenues of justice equitable to fair and just,,,Yesterday event was jawdropping and scary to say the least

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont you think it’s too early in the morning to kiss ass and sell out your own people AC…people from around the world read this blog and know, unlike a dummy like you…that Maloney cannot go anywhere else in the world….save for another banana republic…and build illegal structures without planning permission or ignore town planning cease and desist orders. They know that anywhere else in the world that Maloney built an illegal obstruction that caused the death of a child….he would have a criminal charge.

The only sell out of your own people who don’t seem to know this is you…have you no shame.

@yardfowlshavenoshame.com.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel should fire you from your yardfowl post….AC@yardfowlshavenoshame.com

29. @ AC

You might not have seen this “stupid poster” so I am reposting it for your viewing pleasure

A picture paints a thousand words

http://imgur.com/9qzM1aw

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maloney is now acting as though bajans cannot survive without him and his big scam plans which nets him alone, hundreds of millions of dollars…a word to the wise to those ministers of government who took bribe money from Maloney…..give him back his money.

Barbados was around long before the appearances of the crooks like the Maloneys, Harris’ and Parris et al and will be around for centuries after their bones have turned to dust, it will still be a nation of majority blacks and they will still be surviving as long as they do not allow parasies from either group.minority etc, to take control…..stop treating as though the majority cannot live without their scams and illegal activities…they have helped to destroy the economy under the guise of creating jobs. Take a look at their bank accounts, including those offshore.

AC…a present for you.

Well Well & Consequences June 11, 2016 at 6:54 AM #
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/11/out-of-control/

This is what happens when both governments allowed corruption and bribery to flourish rage out of control for decades…this is what happens when taxpayer contracts are not distributed fairly and evenly amoong contractors, garbage haulers and others….this is what happens when governments have allowed one group of people to enrich themselves off the backs of the majority. This is what happens when governments have no confidence in their own people who elected them, but put confidence in a minority who are self-serving like themselves.

Maloney believes the Chief Town Planner should be removed, in another few years, he would have had the power to do so…Maloney believes if he says the word, Barbados will get no new investors…in another few years, Maloney, Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham, Tempro can succeed at this, if they are nit removed from controlling the finances on the island now.

Both corrupt governments BLP & DLP caused this, both corrupt governments have to put an end to these crooks and clean up their mess. Mia started by outing Maloney, the current government can finish it by getting rid of all the parasites who continue to suck the island and bank their money offshore.

All of them can say them same thing, they can go and live anywhere they have fleeced and bilked the island out of billions of dollars with the help of corrupt politicians of DBLP over the last 40 years….let them go live somewhere else.

If these parasitic business people are not removed, it’s just a matter of time before they install their own prime ministers, own politicians, own judges…just as it is Peter Harris’ intent….then yall will really see….time to stop playing the role of dumb black people.

31. Justice trumps law under a democracy that why it is highly indicative that govt does not upsurge the law by resorting to a law unto itself with a perception of vegenance in a rushed and a hurried desire for appeasement.

32. When an issue reaches a level of discourse towards disagreement and dominated by political discourse.
    The first and only right of govt is to pursue all avenues of justice principled and applied to good goverance and not to be caught in a dragnet of a changing wind of emotional rants and rave far removed from law

33. Here is some more emotional rants, and changing wind for you AC.

http://imgur.com/BS5IpJL

34. We do not believe any demands for ‘good governance’ should be made, we are long past that period. Anachronistic pleadings will get us nowhere, even when grudgingly accepted by the power structure.

Bajans must seek to govern ourselves, on a daily, minute by minutes, 24/7, basis.

It was always a nonsense to give away power and then be at the mercy of merciless political elites. Political elite who can ignore us, with our permission, for 5 years at a time. What Bajans must demand is to be able to vote everyday, like the economic elite can. And with 20 co-signers remove a government at little or no notice.

When other amass your power in their own right, eg. the PM, you are no more than a serf. Certainly, not a citizen!

That system has not worked in the past, why would it work any better in the future. A failure to learn for the past must mean we are destined to repeat all the errors which got us here in the first place.

35. Piece until you are next in line governed by set precedants and Gestapo actions
    The fact being that in civil aggreviances the rights of citizens cannot be arbitrarily discounted setting a precedant for cause abd concern even if state law acknoweldges a wrong but the state must be cognizant of a legal arm which gives way towardsphp jurispurdence to activate and initiate corrective measures

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Some people on here do not read important comments to learn anything, they just run off at the mouth so that it can be substantiated what dummies they are….lookie AC…look below.

Should the same yardfowl run off the road and hit the illegal ģuard hut and live….she would want to sue, particularly if family members got injured or died….but Maloney would tell the idiot to go scratch…it ain’t his fault….dummy.

But nevertheless. ..the dummy is on BU defending Maloney’s illegal actions.

“David June 11, 2016 at 7:36 AM #
    Why would anyone believe this contraption is legal (only yardfowls of course)? The law about obscuring the view across a roundabout is clear.”

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…the politicians are at fault and have been for decades…they continue to indulge the Maloneys, Bizzys, Harris’ Parris’ et al in unsavory conduct and illegal activities…to the detriment of country and people. ..it could never have gotten this bad if the politicians had not lowered their standards to mere bribetakers and yes men and women for the minority few….they are the ones to fix this….Mia outed Maloney out of necessity…her campaign will go nowhere if she does not turn back the tide she helped create….Fruendel’s campaign will go nowhere if he does not rein in the Maloney et al monsters they helped create.

The electorate is needed by both political parties to win an election, can’t win without the majority… who are all fed up and sick of the politicians and their nasty dealings that are of no benefit to them as a people.

When ya got Parris who used to boast, Harris who used to boast, but only does it on the downlow these days, Bizzy who still boasts, Maloney who is indignant that anyone would dare stop his illegal actives…especially the authorities, Cow who has shut up temporarily, but still believes that he saved slaves on the island and should treat them as such. Bjerkham, whose sole intent is to own everything and destroy what he cant take…Tempro whose contempt for black people is legendary, just like Maloney’s…these are only a few of the beasts whom the politicians gave free rein to do whatever they please on the island forvtoo many decades…..the politicians are the weakest link.

The people have to apply pressure on the weakest link.

38. @Pacha

Any system implemented will not perfect. There is no perfect system. Tell us where you have seen/experienced the perfect system.The politicians we hogtie and drag across the blogosphere all come from our communities.

“Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others.” Winston Churchill

39. Well Well

It is too easy to continue blaming politicians, all the time. That too will get us no where.
    The oligarchs must love the fact that the system gives fall guys, useful idiots, to hold blame.

Bajans must come to know that nobody ’bout here can do one shite unless we give some kind of permission, implicitly or otherwise.

He must retain our power, as a divine right! And anybody who pretends to have our collective power should be dealt with in final ways.

Even if it’s an old woman in a palace in London!

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes Pacha…that’s why the people have to apply pressure on their representatives…the politicians, the weakest link.

No corrupt businessmen would want to see a politician unless he or she not only represents the people, but have access to the treasury and taxpayer funded contracts or have access to contacts within every area of government…they, the politicians, are useless without such and can only be given that access by the people.

Politicians from larger countries create foundations…to get their list of dinors to whom they will owe favors later, when elected….read Clinton…let’s hope she gets a prison sentence, as Trump is hoping, for all her efforts eventually. ..and let’s hope Trump get’s a prison sentence, eventually, for his Trump university scam, there are checks and balances in place in the various branches of government to monitor them and give them some quality jail time eventually for these or future violations of the law…..they both have legal troubles.

But the Caribbean politicians have freer rein to enable corruption even when it’s exposed and when there is still no legislation in place or enforcement of the available legislation to bring them to book….it’s the people left to apply pressure to the weakest link.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pieceuhderockyeahright June 11, 2016 at 10:18 AM

Piece, what about the already-proven death trap on the ABC highway acting as an egress to the Coverley boot-camp looking houses or accommodation for military personnel?

What has become of that case in which a child lost his life in a car that ran off the road?
    If that structure was constructed without TCP permission then it represents an illegal act leading to the creation of a hazard that contributed to the death of a child and the person(s) responsible for such should be held criminally negligent in the death of the child and liable for any damages arising from any civil litigation.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh lawd Mr Blogmaster: “There is no perfect system. Tell us where you have seen/experienced the perfect system.The politicians we hogtie and drag across the blogosphere all come from our communities”.

Now that is debate moot. But how do you get a left-wing ideologue, a verbal anarchist/nihilist and others with their own entrenched positions to actually discuss that with meaningful intent towards a solution.

A fellow like Cumberbatch could write purposefully about that but he would get so much cuss as being an enabler and lackey.

“Real activists” throw out the baby, bathwater, tub and plumbing too…because everything wrong. In fact they bull-dozing the whole house.

As said, debate …what debate! Everyone is a sage these days and have the absolute answers to build a fabulous new house. Amazing!

43. @ David

It is right under our eyes, but we choose not to see.

Politicians should live in fear of the people they are supposed to serve. Do you know any politician, in any so-called democracy, who is afraid of the people?

They fear the corporate elites, not ordinary people! They may fear loosing power but generally if the oligarchs are on their side they tend to prevail.

There are few places where the people can remove elected officials, even when egregious acts are known to be committed, in our names.

We have previously stated that there is no need for political parties. We have argued that these parties have outlived they usefulness and can take us no further. In Barbados, there are few acts against the people the presence government has committed which have not been equaled or surpassed previously, as they will be in the future.

We have posited a cooperative form of government as modeled on the movement by the same name. We have seen relatively good progress by credit unions. We know that as members we have the power to bring all organs of that movement to heel, at short or little notice. It is not perfect but, at least, it does not separate members/citizens from their power, and could be improved.

Your Churchill quote is dated. It might have been meaningful when spoken by him 70 years ago, but the world has changed dramatically since then. Progress now means a re-assertion of popular power. Churchill could not have seen that his so beloved ‘democracy’ would degenerate into a neo-feudalism or neo-fascism or an inverted totalitarianism, as we have now.

If democracy, demos, is about the people you would then have to tell us how come the so-called people can’t get the rid of the wicked regime in Bridgetown.

It is a mistake to call any of these governments democracies. They may have some trimmings of democracy but as a practical matter they are the extreme opposite.

For one thing democracy is not necessarily a political system. At its heart it’s about economy. About the equitable distribution of resources. Has Barbados every been about such?

44. Is today’s Saturday Sun hinting at Sirbornjurkman?

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And that is where the politicians failed in Barbados Pacha…to them it was never about the equitable distribution of resources to their people, but to whom their slave minds told them are more successful than their own peoplem, whom their slave minds had more cinfidence in than their own people….all which over many decades morphed into who in the minority population could pay them the biggest bribes for taxpayer funded contracts.

The politicians reduced themselves to bribetakers and are now stuck in that cycle…the only way they can break away from it is not to issue any new government contracts to the minority business people exclusively anymore but share them evenly across the population of small business people, devoid of party affiliations and yardfowlis. They may however be even too small minded to see that is their only salvation.

46. @Gabriel

No bring ish!

@Pachaman

You have adroitly sidestepped the question, where is the perfect system? Please share.

What are the antecedents to allow simple minds to unpack and apply different mechanics driven by our reality?

It is easy to bray ish.

47. @ Dribbler

We unrepentantly plead guilty to what you believe to be epithets, and more.

However, we are also willing to change, today, if you can show us how the systems you so slavishly serve have made the world a better place, on balance.

You and your beliefs have guided us to a cul-de-sac, on all measures, you yourself are shamelessly ignorant about the most recent developments in your own field. But yet you have the temerity to spew ignorance.

Your ilk should find a place to hide for sooner or later a posse will come ah calling. It will be seeking to exact revenge for the cultural genocide you have supported.

Regardless of the epoch, technicians like you will forever find ways to justify the unjustifiable. Whether during slavery, feudalism, capitalism, communism it doesn’t matter.

48. @David

Sorry!

There is no perfect system. We thought that was implicit in our response. But I would prefer to have a system where the people are central, all the time. Rather than one where people power is accumulated in a few individuals or institutions.

The antecedents are us being human. Being human we need to find new ways to make things better. There are seldom the kinds of models you seek but creativity and mass involvement can be helpful.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel June 11, 2016 at 12:25 PM

Gabriel, the man is competing with Sir COW for the top dog business tycoon of Bim. All the others have knighthoods, so why can’t he?
    Fumble the Muttley medal dog has no compunction when it comes to buying friends and returning favours.

The de facto Sir Hal would soon be demanding you put some formal title to his handle of Gollop.

Don’t be surprised if Greenverbs Parris gets totally pissed off because he has not been included in this 50th year of celebration round of goodies for the sycophants.

We would see if OSA would prostitute himself to be used once again and outsmarted by Stuart.
    He OSA, should never forget the numerous ‘dressing-downs’ Fumble inflicted on him ending with the Brittons Hill humiliation of the sorry-looking little man.

50. @Pacha

So we know where you stand even if it is idealistic and esoteric at the same time…lol.

Please appreciate you have to move from 0 to 60 before you get to 100.