Submitted by David Comissiong

After reading the damning revelations contained in Auditor General Leigh Trotmanโ€™s report about the outrageously preferential taxpayer-funded contracts granted to a coterie of elite white business-people by the Government Ministers of our country, I am forced to come to the conclusion that the โ€œOld Colonial Systemโ€ is still very much alive and well in supposedly independent Barbados!

Similarly, after digesting Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s defiant assertion that his Rock Hard Cement company will be (and is) forging ahead with its construction at Spring Garden highway in spite of the fact that some six months ago the Chief Town Planner had served the company with an order to cease construction, I am compelled to recognize that the same old colonial power elite continues to exist and to call the shots in our supposedly independent country!

Clearly, some 50 years after we hauled down the British โ€œunion jackโ€ flag, Barbadosโ€™ primary purpose as a society still continues to be the colonial-style facilitation of a lifestyle of opulence and comfort for a privileged few at the expense and on the backs of the masses of ordinary Barbadians !

Take, for example, the case of one Bizzy Williams, who, when asked to comment on the fact that Governmentโ€™s imposition of a โ€œtipping feeโ€ for refuse delivered to the landfill had brought about a substantial reduction in the garbage processed by his Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre Inc. (SBRC), boasted that whether his company processed the garbage or not, it still had to be paid by our Government.

Bizzy Williamsโ€™ exact words (as reported in the Nation Newspaper of 3rd May 2016) were as follows:-

Financially, though, it is not hurting us. It does not make a bit of a difference to us because we have signed on a contract with the Government that we have to provide the facility to process 1,000 tons a day minimum. So whether the material comes or it does not come, that is what we signed on to.

For those citizens and taxpayers who may not be aware, let me bringย  the following to your attention: in June 2009, the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Administration entered into a so-called โ€œTake or Pay Contractโ€ with Mr. Bizzy Williamsโ€™ Sustainable (Barbados) Recycling Centre Inc. (SBRC), and under that contract, we, the taxpayers of Barbados, are obliged to underwrite a guaranteed minimum payment of $22.6 Million per year to SBRC over a 20 year period for the processing of solid waste, whether or not the company is actually called upon to carry out work of the requisite minimum quantity!

Thus, under this contract alone, we Barbadian taxpayers are saddled with a โ€œminimumโ€ payment of some $452 Million dollars to Bizzy Willliamsโ€™ SBRC over a 20 year period!

But this is not the only such Government contract that the several companies associated with Mr. Bizzy Williams enjoy !

Under the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration of Mr. Owen Arthur, another Bizzy Williams associated company known as Ionics Freshwater Ltd was granted a contract by virtue ofย  which they were mandated by our Barbados Government to construct a desalination facility at Spring Garden, St. Michael; to operate and maintain the facility; and to be paid forย  supplyingย  the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) with a minimum of 27,000 cubic metres of desalinated water every day over a 15 year period.

When, however, several years later, the Auditor Generalโ€™s department carried out a special investigation into the workings of this outrageously preferential contract, they discovered that:-

1. The BWA had agreed to pay a price for the desalinated water that was substantially higher than was merited ;
  2. The BWA had contracted to secure more water per day than it had the capacity to receive, and therefore had to pay the company โ€“ on an ongoing basis โ€“ for work that the company did not have to do; and
  3. The BWA had entered into a contract that virtually guaranteed the company a massive 18 per cent return on its investment !

So here again, we Barbadian taxpayers ended up underwriting tremendous benefits for a private company– benefits that were contractually affixed for an extensive fifteen year period !

The sad truth is that successive BLP and DLP administrations have placed our nation in a deep financial hole by entering into unjustified, outrageously privileged contracts that oblige us โ€“ the citizens and taxpayers of Barbados โ€“ to make annual payments of hundred of millions of dollars for decades into the future.

Let us look at another example! There is the April 2013 so-called storage tank lease contract entered into by our Government with the Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham owned and/or managed company known as Storage Solutions Limited.

Under this contract, our Government-owned (and taxpayer-funded) Barbados Agricultural Management Co. Ltd (BAMC) is obligated to pay Storage Solutions Limited the sum of $2, 150,000.00 plus VAT every year for 20 years for the privilege of using three molasses storage tanks at the Bridgetown Port. Thus, under this contract, our Government (and ultimately the taxpayers of Barbados) are saddled with a payment of some $50 million over the 20 year period!

Yet another such contract is the so-called housing construction contract entered into between this current DLP administration and the corporate entity known as Housing Concepts SRL โ€“ also owned and/or managed by the said Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham.

Under this contract, Housing Concepts SRL was leased a massive parcel of Government land at Coverley, Christ Church at a pepper-corn rent for the purpose of constructing houses for sale to the Barbadian people at prices ranging between $289,000.00 and $396,000.00!

But what makes this contract truly remarkable is that our taxpayer-funded Government has entered into a legally binding contractual obligation to purchase from Housing Concepts SRL any house that the company is unable to sell to members of the public! Thus, once again, we taxpayers are left holding the bag!

There is also the outrageously privileged contract that the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) entered into with Innotech Services Ltd for the design, financing and construction of the new BWA headquarters, and the lease of the premises to the BWA for 13 years. Our Auditor General, Mr. Leigh Trotman, recently detailed so many deficiencies with this outrageously preferential contract that we would require a separate article to list and discuss them!

And โ€“ truth be told โ€“ I could go on and on listing many other similarly outrageously preferential contracts that our compliant political directorate has conferred on a small group of elite white Barbadian business-people. It is no wonder therefore that our country now possesses a national debt that is as large as our entire Gross National Product!

Face the truth Bajans : the โ€œOld Colonial Systemโ€ is alive and well in our country, and will continue to remain alive and well so long as you continue to elect hollow, pride-less, self serving men and women to the House of Assembly and ultimately to ministerial and prime ministerial office!

And so our first order of business must be to vote out the self-serving charlatans ! But that alone will not be enough. We will also have to go onย  to reform the Constitutionย  of our nation in order to establish structures andย  mechanisms that we โ€“ the people โ€“ can use to hold our MPโ€™s and Ministers accountable in the future.

Are you prepared to take on this crucial battle, or are you content to continue to be used and exploited for the benefit of a privileged few?

237 responses to “What Fifty years of “Independence” is Barbados Really Celebrating?”

1. But David, honestly… the solution to improving the transparency of the awarding of government contracts in Barbados surely cannot be Mia Mottley and Gline “wuk fa wuk” Clarke, Rommel Marshall , Maloney’s right hand man Sutherland and company.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Austin loves me MoneyB, he is following me around the blog, when he is not on his meds..lol

Why are police officers complaining about not be paid, this should not happen.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/31/cops-wants-overdue-pay/

3. Austin H you are correct about stopping slavery early on, BUT of course that did NOT involve White people!

Your use of “we” when apparently speaking of yourself explains much—U are Schtzophrenic, how many personalities do you have???

4. Austin, U had me “cornfuse” by quoting Baffy, because the Baffster actually wrote in glowing terms regarding the Nth Korean criminal leader a few years back. So that is enough to drive me to a swift reply, especially during the course of a busy day.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal…that is what is needed, all the nasty dealings to come out.

The names Bajanfuhlife called Rommel Marshall who at one time was minister of transport, with the dude Jean Marie as GM at Transport Board, next thing I am hearing and this is years ago, Peter Harris has the contract and CGI as insurer for Transport Board, racking up all types of liabilities for years and refusing to settle or pay valid claims, this must be more that 12 to 15 years and the government still cannot get rid of the parasite Harris or the liabilities….so Harris believes the Transport Board is his to do as he plaeses, shades of Maloney believing he can build as he pleases.

Weak politicians.

Re Gline Clarke, so many nasty things about him and his practices make the riunds and they are all nauseating. The politicians have no respect for the population.

6. How can u pay claims if de $$$$$ never made it to the Insco?????

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….these people are taking everything for a joke, you never withold money from the police who you depend on for security and protection….particularly when the police recently found out that 1.5 billion is missing from the treasury, unaccounted for, and the prime minister is not saying a word..lol.

MoneyB. .should we start the countdown.

8. Some of you should discern by now that Austin is a spammer whose sole purpose is to disrupt, so why respond?

@Bajanfuhlife

What options do we have besides ducks guts?

9. For ALL Barbadians who still do not understand the way capitalism works:

From the Jamaica Gleaner:

A high court judge has ordered that a subpoena be issued for Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller in relation to the long-running Trafigura matter. Subpoenas are also to be issued for Peopleโ€™s National Party (PNP) members Robert Pickersgill, Phillip Paulwell, Colin Campbell and Norton Hinds.
    Justice Lennox Campbell ordered the subpoenas issued this morning following a request from Director of Public Prosecutions, Paula Llewellyn, whose office is the designated authority in mutual legal assistance matters.The subpoenas are expected to be issued by Thursday and all five will be required to be in court on Monday.
    Dutch Authorities want to question officials of the People’s National Party about a $31-million donation by Dutch company Trafigura Beheer to the party in 2006. It is illegal for Dutch companies to donate to political parties.
    At the time of the donation, Trafigura had an oil-lifting contract with the then PNP administration.

From the Independent, December 3, 2015

When their investigation into graft and kickbacks at Petrobras led them to the top floors of the state- run oil company, Brazilian authorities knew they were on to something big. Just how far the trail of corruption would extend past Petrobras, no one could guess – until now.
    Last week, federal agents investigating the scheme arrested Senator Delcidio do Amaral, a key ally of President Dilma Rousseff, along with Andre Esteves, the billionaire financial maverick who ran BTG Pactual, Latin America’s largest private investment bank. Offering bribes, trying to interfere with testimony, and conspiring to help a convicted felon flee the country: The crimes they are accused of would not be out of place in a prime-time telenovela.
    Brazilians know the script. The head of the country’s largest construction firm is already behind bars for alleged contract fraud and corruption related to the Petrobras scandal. His fellow inmates include a handful of corporate big shots and lobbyists who have been convicted or are answering charges of forming a cartel – a “VIP club,” one executive called it – to rig government contracts and control public policy.
    Brazilian economist Sergio Lazzarini called attention to such promiscuity in his 2010 book on how business executives and their political sponsors had become codependents in a long- running scheme to lock up power and privileges by dominating public institutions and cornering the market in subsidized credit. What’s new is how far the cabal of crony capitalism apparently is willing to go to stay on top.
    As prosecutors have widened their dragnet in the so-called Operation Carwash probe into corruption at Petrobras, jailed executives and lobbyists have begun to spill the goods on other officials. One of those talking was Nestor Cervero, a former Petrobras director sentenced to 12 years for money laundering and corruption, whom prosecutors were leaning on to finger bigger culprits in exchange for a reduced sentence.
    Cervero was a prosecutor’s dream witness. Police suspected he had helped Amaral finance his political campaign with dirty money from the oil giant. And Cervero himself had told investigators that Esteves allegedly paid a bribe to win a concession for a chain of gas stations.
    To preempt further damage, the cornered banker and lawmaker apparently had a plan: In return for Cervero’s silence, Amaral promised Cervero’s son and lawyer that he would talk the supreme court into releasing the jailed former oil executive. Amaral would then help him flee to Paraguay and then Spain, where Cervero holds dual citizenship. Enter Esteves, who reportedly offered to foot the bill for the caper: about$1 million in hush money and a monthly stipend of around $13,000 to Cervero’s family.
    Cervero’s son agreed, but he recorded the plan on a concealed mobile phone; later, when the deal went awry, he turned the whole hour-and-a-half conversation over to the police. Supreme court justice Teori Zavascki immediately ordered both the lawmaker and the banker to jail.
    What startled government loyalists was that neither Amaral nor Esteves had previously appeared on the attorney-general’s extensive list of Operation Carwash suspects. Their arrests suggest not only that the probe is far from done, but also that the damage could be far more serious.
    For the last 13 years, Amaral has served as a trusted adviser to the ruling Workers’ Party, putting out fires for both former president Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva and, more recently, Rousseff. His arrest throws the government’s legislative agenda into disarray, including a languishing fiscal adjustment that is vital to restoring the government’s – and Rousseff’s – credibility and sparing recession-plagued Brazil another ruinous downgrade by credit agencies.
    Esteves, for his part, was revered not just as a financial wunderkind, but also as a generous campaign donor: BTG Pactual gave around $2.5 million toward Rousseff’s re-election bid. So intertwined are Esteves’s image and the bank’s brand that his arrest sent BTG Pactual’s shares tumbling — they were down 35 percent by Monday — and fueled fears of an eventual collapse, with its effects rippling through the financial sector. Esteves resigned his post as bank chief Monday, while bank executives debated selling off assets to stanch losses. Such are the hazards of Brazilian-style capitalism: When cronies fall, the system shakes.

10. Chad9999, this is Corruption, Capitalism is NOT Corruption!

Capitalism is an economic system based on private ownership of the means of production and their operation for profit. Characteristics central to capitalism include private property, capital accumulation, wage labor, voluntary exchange, a price system, and competitive markets.

Nothing on Corruption at all!

Indeed Corruption surfaces in ALL systems as it has everything to do with Greedy Humans! Do U really think that the Communists leadership in China, Russia and Cuba live the lifestyle of the Poor??????????

Interestingly, the Cubans are permitting people to run “for profit’ agricultural land and have found that each acre produces much more than under the Government. Not bad for the poor who dont get to eat enough due to low production from Commie sources!

11. Wunna have got we bawlin, Welly. Ya got Baffy bawlin an dat Negroman he be jus bawlin.

Fly n fish. Mac and Roni pie.

Ya got ma bawlin, Welly. You is obvyasly so WELL READ

De kolij, like me on facebook, stupse, monkey clime, smiley face

12. @Money Brain

Every capitalist system I have ever experienced is thoroughly corrupt in practice. Want to take a close look at Antigua? St. Kitts? St. Lucia? Dominica? Grenada? Or perhaps you prefer Trinidad? The Bahamas? Canada?
    Tell me which capitalist system is not corrupt and I will send you more information.

13. Well said @David. I have been following this blog and “red herring” Austin certainly appears to be a plant. No real contribution to the discussion besides provocative engagement. Total waste of time responding to him and his ilk.

14. @Fearplay

Austin aka Jack Bowman has been spamming BU from inception. He has gone as far to create a clone blog.

JA

15. @David and Wel,
    Is Maloney a Bajan? Is C.O.W a Bajan? Is Fat Child a Bajan? Is David Commission a Bajan? Is Bizzy a Bajan? Don’t all these, and others linked to them in some way, have a right to make a living in the country of their birth? Are they not entitle to br innocent until proven guilty in c court of Law? When is this atmosphere of suspicion, guilt, by innuendo and rumour, and accusations of malfeasance going to end? When Barbados has been ruined, and it is discovered that almost all of the accusations are without foundation? Or when it results in a couple of lawsuits that results in multimillion dollar judgements for defamation, slander and such things. If people operate within the letter of the law why should they be pilloried either because of their positions or colour?
    I am sick and tired of the diatribe from BU contributors who have been anti-government, anti-white, anti civil service, anti everything that has enabled us to reach fifty years of Independence without serious disturbance. Seems like some people are chomping at the bit trying to foment strife and violence. I have been warning for a couple of years now, don’t cry wolf, too often. We have a beautiful country with an enviable reputation for stability and efficiency. Don’t spoil it.

16. Money brain,
    You do the Cubans a grave injustice.

17. Colonel Buggy Avatar

In light of the recent Auditor-General’s report, and the accusations leveled by both the Leader of the Opposition,as well as ex Prime Minister Arthur, that the Central Bank is printing money to pay its bills, we Barbadians who are contemplating moving our savings from the commercials banks who are paying a measly 0.25% interest,and falling,to purchasing Government Saving Bonds, would like the assurance that our monies will not be treated in the same ad-hoc manner as the taxpayers monies.Furthermore we will want to know what investments is the Government engage in , to ensure the hight interests promised,and the viability of the bonds in general.

18. @Alvin

You are tired as you were with Cahill?

Cudhere!

Is the debate about nationality or lack of transparency and not following financial rules read the Auditor General ‘s report.

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Prime Minister of Jamaica is advocating the placement of suitable members of the Jamaica Defence Force to sit on Boards,not as a matter of security, but for their expertise and obviously, their resistance to bribery.
    A fellow on the block told me , we in Barbados do not need an Auditor-General, a Governor-General nor an Election-General, but more of a Major General.

20. Don’t be short-sighted. This is not a black nor white black thing, but rather the fruit of corruption manifesting itself.

21. @ David

You ask, “What options do we have?” How about starting a chapter of Transparency International in Barbados? Call a meeting. Obviously, most of us for good reason prefer to keep our anonymity but turning up for a meeting cannot link one to one’s nom de plume.

@Caswell

Would you be willing to arrange the first meeting?

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

I wonder if at the recent Passing Out Parade at Regional Police Training Centre, where Bizzy was the reviewing officer, if the newly installed police persons were required to salute Bizzy as they marched past. I hope NOT.Its bad enough that they have to salute certain politicians.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin..we are sick and tired of your diatribe and enabling of politician’s corruption, disenfranchisement and theft of taxpayerโ€™s money in collusion with the same people you just named named.

Hope that answers you.

Yeah Alvin…where is the taxpayer’s missing money, the auditor generalโ€™s report does not have slander, just facts. The taxpayers have a right to get a check list and account for the money.

As the head sick and tired yardfowl, you should know what happened to the money..eh..

25. @ Bajangetuhlife

I agree Bajangetuhlife, โ€œthe solution to improving the transparency of the awarding of government contracts in Barbados surely cannot be Mia Mottley and Gline โ€œwuk fa wukโ€ Clarke, Rommel Marshall , Maloneyโ€™s right hand man Sutherland and company.โ€

On the other hand, if we were to examine Coverley and Maloney, it cannot be Michael โ€œwuk fa wukโ€ Lashley (Iโ€™m sure you already know he is also known as โ€œwuk fa wukโ€). Also, remember Lashley revoked the appointment of Marilyn Rice-Bowen as chairperson of NHC when she queried why CLICO was building houses for the NHC without a FORMAL CONTRACT.

Iโ€™m sure after reading the Auditor Generalโ€™s 2015 report on the BWA headquarters fiasco and Innotech, youโ€™ll agree it surely cannot be David Estwick.

How could the word โ€œtransparencyโ€ be applicable to Denis Lowe and Michael โ€œwuk fa wukโ€ Lashley driving SUVs owned by the company that receives 90% of the repairs to SSA vehicles and Transport Board buses?

We must also rule out Denis Kellman if we take his involvement with Maloney and the high rise units at the Grotto into consideration.

And then thereโ€™s the CAHILL contracts that were signed by Stuart (who only admitted he signed during the last no confidence motion) Denis Lowe, Denis Kellman, Sinckler and Boyce involvement in the WTE project.

Then we have Chris Sinckler who, while in Parliament, categorically denied that there was an increase in the fees of NIS board members, only to call โ€œBrass Tacksโ€ a few days after to admit.

So we could add Freundel Stuart, Denis Lowe, Denis Kellman, David Estwick, Michael โ€œwuk fa wukโ€ Lashley, Chris Sinckler and Darcy Boyce to your list.

26. This blog has gone viral on FB.

27. Well Well

After Harold Blackman resigned from the DLP when he spoke in Parliament…………he said :if I had served my God as I served the DLP, my seat in heaven would be secured.” He died a broken man, full of regrets at how badly the DLP treated him.

AC serves the DLP and will end up the same way….at least Harold Blackman saw the light, I dont think that this yardfowl would ever see anything wrong with this DLP.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal…I heard about the Blackman dude…, that is what happens when they put political party and pimping for wealth, pimping for outside masters and other politicians before the people they swore to represent, before self, they pay the ultimate price.

AC will just dry up and disappear, never to be heard of again.

29. There was a baseball scandal when a young lad approached his fallen hero and said “say, it ain’t so Joe”.

These Uncle Tom’s are selling out the country. You can bet they are getting theirs as they award these horrible contracts.

30. Surprised that Alvin Cummins surfaced. Thought the AC/ac consortium would have ignored this blog.

It is painful what we have passing as government in Barbados. Going to Do a Bushie and tell Jeff they need to teach ‘contract law’ and negotiations at Cave Hill… ๐Ÿ™‚
    And whilst they are at it… a course in Ethics

31. This for You BLP yardfowls taken from the AG report 2007

Ministry of Energy and the Environment

Contracts

There were a number of payments made which were in excess of $100,000.00 and would have necessitated that the tendering process being entered into and contracts issued according to the Financial Rules, 1971. It was however noted that there was no tendering process, and no contracts entered into for these services.

Audit investigations revealed the following:

(i) Payments totaling $2,616,245.96 were made to a construction company during the financial years 2005/2006 and 2006/2007 in respect of the Welches Beach Improvement Project which was completed during the financial year 2006/2007; but a formal contract in compliance with Rules 126 and 127 of the Financial Rules, 1971 was not made available for audit examination.

(ii) A contract with a firm ended on 31st August 2005. Payments totaling $1,432,692.77 were made during 2006/2007 to this firm, and contract extension was cited as the authority for payment.
    However, no contract existed at the Coastal Zone Management Unit in respect of these additional payments.

(iii) Payments totaling $222,637.47 and $191,594.39 were made to two suppliers respectively for the supply of plants for the Beautify Barbados Project. It was however observed that no formal agreements were entered into as required by Rules 126 and 127 of the Financial Rules, 1971.
    Of particular concern is the issuing of contracts without any competitive bidding. The purpose of obtaining competitive bids is to allow for comparison of prices
    amongst service providers. In the absence of this competition, it is not clear that the service obtained was for the best price available.

Estimates

No provision was made in the 2006/2007 Estimates for civil works under this Project. However, payment was made to a construction company in the sum of $315,645.93 for construction work in respect of this project. This payment was not authorized by Parliament.

How can ayone trust a blp govt again which ran a mocked with the taxpayers money ust because money was flowing like an open spicket

32. We should remind all that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart has responsibility for Urban. Is there an opportunity to lead by example?

Urban Development Commission

4.80 The principal activities of the Urban Development Commission (UDC) are to undertake slum clearance and improve social amenities in urban areas. The UDC also provides loans to individuals with small enterprises, and for assistance in house acquisition, repairs and improvements. It was previously reported that the audit of the accounts for the financial years 2008 to 2014 were outstanding. No information was received from the Commission indicating a change in the status of the audits. This situation needs to be urgently addressed by the Commission.

33. Chad9999
    ALL groups involving Politics and anything else is going to be Corrupt because Humans love Corruption. Please send me proof of Communist/ Socialist and any other groups involving Humans that are not corrupt. china????? Putin and de boys??????????
    Chado it is time to face reality there are stinking ass people in ALL spheres.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Seriously Gazer…contract law is a part of any law course, it’s elementary, yet ya have lawyers for the government, many government ministers are lawyers, sitting with the likes of Bizxy and his local lawyers, Maloney and his local lawyers and signing away all benefits that should be going to the taxpayers, to these parasites….every contract they have entered into with the local minority business people has managed to disadvantage the people…BUT…enriched the business people and the politicians and the lawyers…but wait. .

Did you read the Cahill contract, I was so shocked…it literally gave away the island to Clare Cohen for her use as a money laundering facility, there were no boundaries set for her, but the taxpayers were contracted through the ministers to pay 30 years into the future for that gas chamber, with a provision for contract renewal for another 30 years…they gave her the land for 6 cents an acre…all of this was signed by no less then Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister…and a lawyer.

I have never seen such badly worded, one sided contracting by lawyers and government ministers before, it was a travesty that should have culminated with all the parties, including Bjorn Bjerkham, one of the parasites, who made sure he was embedded deeply within the contract…in prison.

They all had one goal in mind.., disenfranchise the taxpayers, make them pay for decades…make sure the taxpayers saw or earned no benefits…it was a criminal act in contracting.

35. david now you are getting nervous ha ha ha

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin Cummins is an enabler, he was upfront pushing the Cahill scam, trying his best to disenfranchise his own people for a crooked and mentally disturbed Canadian woman.

If I am ever walking the streets in Canada or Barbados and I see Alvin walking toward me I would run in the next direction.

He is dangerous to the future generations of bajans and the health and wellbeing of the present population. As long as his political masters have an agenda of destruction, he jumps on the blog to start selling that agenda….and he got the nerve to call himself a patriot, but he wont try none of that crap in Canada on Canadians.

37. Alvin

The Cuban admin could not produce enough food or import enough to feed their people over a 56 yr period and yet Castro had 7 homes to live in because he might be murdered. Been to Cuba 4 times met with the people. Grandad told me he made a massive mistake returning home to Cuba in the early 60s after Castro took control and that his grand child could not have enough milk when he had been a maitre d at a top NY restaurant in the 1950s.

When I went to Cuba I took used kids clothes, aspirin, tylenol, pens, pencils, paper etc and it was very well received, why? Things were soooo good they left Cuba on an inner tube to travel 120 miles. How many people ever left Bim so????????

38. @ac
    You have three arguments which will spell the death of Barbados.
    1) This is not new as it happened in a past administration… which makes it OK
    2) It happens in The USA also, and…. which makes it OK
    3) These issues are identified by BLP yardfowls… which makes it OK

Seems as if all is fine; nothing is improper

39. Ten reasons to vote Democrat – by David Letterman

#10. I vote Democrat because I love the fact that I can now marry whatever I want. I’ve decided to marry my German Shepherd.

#9. I vote Democrat because I believe oil companies’ profits of 4% on a gallon of gas are obscene, but the government taxing the same gallon at 15% isn’t.

#8. I vote Democrat because I believe the government will do a better job of spending the money I earn than I would.

#7. I vote Democrat because Freedom of Speech is fine as long as nobody is offended by it.

#6. I vote Democrat because I’m way too irresponsible to own a gun, and I know that my local police are all I need to protect me from murderers and thieves. I am also thankful that we have a 911 service that gets police to your home in order to identify your body after a home invasion.

#5. I vote Democrat because I’m not concerned about millions of babies being aborted so long as we keep all death row inmates alive and comfy.

#4. I vote Democrat because I think illegal aliens have a right to free health care, education, and Social Security benefits, and we should takeaway Social Security from those who paid into it.

#3. I vote Democrat because I believe that businesses should not be allowed to make profits for themselves. They need to break even and give the rest away to the government for redistribution as the Democrat Party sees fit.

#2. I vote Democrat because I believe liberal judges need to rewrite the Constitution every few days to suit fringe kooks who would never get their agendas past the voters.

โ€ฆ And, the #1 reason I vote Democrat is because I think it’s better to pay $billions for oil to people who hate us, but not drill our own because it might upset some endangered beetle, gopher, or fish here in America. We don’t care about the beetles, gophers, or fish in those other countries.

“The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits”
    โ€ฆ Albert Einstein

The best description of Obamacare so far:

Remember when Nancy Pelosi said: โ€œWe have to pass it, to find out what’s in it.”
    A physician called into a radio show and said: “That’s the definition of a stool sample.”

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

โ€œThe difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limitsโ€
    โ€ฆ Albert Einstein

Yeah MoneyB. ..we see stupidity being repeated decade after decade, after decade, by government ministers in Barbados….no limits and definitely no end to stupidity.

41. WW
    What we must have is a written document that commits us to sensible courses of action along with Strict Integrity Legislation.

42. Well, well! No pun intended, my friend. LOL

A government like this is begging to be overthrown. We don’t mean the DLP government. We mean the whole regime which immorally occupies Bridgetown.

They should be so uprooted that no part of them is left.

Of course, this must include the local oligarchs mentioned, and more.

We have a particular preference for the guillotine. For only that kind of critical intervention could root out this elitist culture.

Independence what? Independence for the people who routinely buy senior civil servants and politicians.

43. Gazer if you what to interpret my comment as to what are your beliefs so be it who am i to argue

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…am for the guillotine, every trace of them removed.

MoneyB. ..they told you, both Fruendel Stuart, PM and Adriel Brathwaite, attorney general made it very clear, they do not want anti-corruption or integrity legislation…they all want to continue their corruption in peace and uninterrupted…all of them should be in prison…all.

45. If we do not an end to this madness so Maloney will own every square inch of Barbados. That is so ironic because Violet Beckles who has the title deeds as proof of ownership is not a land owner in Barbados

46. @ David now that we have the people’s attention we must ride this wave.

47. Lawdy… At one time we could run to the Queen for help with these monsters. But now we have to live with these guys dreams of enrichment; our worst nightmare. Waiting every four or five years to swap batteries will not really help us.

48. What is really hypocritical is that the Pols pretend they hat Whitey. (But dem loves de blendser!)

49. Hypocrites fuh true. Will be amusing when some of them politicians start a ‘black power’ mantra and start talking about brothers and sisters whilst selling them out. A farce.