There is the saying, ‘if yuh start wrong, yuh gine end wrongโ€™.

A lot has been written and said about MAM (Mark Maloney) and his latest Town Planning Department (TPD) breach (controversy) Hard Rock Cement. His name was mentioned by Governor Delisle Worrell when he delivered one of his closed door Economic Reviews. In the recent No Confidence Motion brought against the government by MAM (Mia Mottley) Maloneyโ€™s name was again mentioned several times. In the same way she catapulted the Cahill Energy Scam to wide national attention, she has apparently done the same to Mark Maloney and his company Hard Rock Cement.

The BU household has joined many who have become enthralled by the reported exploits of Maloney. The current debate over his refusal to respond to an enforcement order issued by the Town Planning department (TPD),ย  who then flipped it to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Charles Leacock, who has since requested additional information from Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins to clarify the order is the stuff Hollywood is built.

Photo credit: Barbados Today

Although Barbadians have been labelled creatures who have a short attention span, surely we have not forgotten it was in January of last year Mark Maloney announced that a top of the line cement plant would be constructed next to the flour mill on Barbados Port Authority lands. The verbal indiscretion and insight into how decisions are made in Barbados have now come into the light. His announcement then forced a hurried response by Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins to the effect no building construction application had been made. The Business Development and Operations Consultant Dwight Sutherland was given the job to explain away Maloneyโ€™s โ€˜faux pasโ€™ of sorts which he attributed to overexcitement.

During the No Confidence debate Mia Mottley was relentless in her prosecution of Maloney and the authorities who have not been able to respond to what she labelled TPD breaches. While on her feet government member using sotto voce were quick to ask about Dwight Sutherlandโ€™s role in the Hard Rock Rock Hard affair. She responded that it would be INVIDIOUS of her to deal with the Sutherland involvement during the motion.The meaning of the word – likely to arouse or incur resentment or anger in others. Members of the BU household immediately discussed what she meant and concluded she did not want to upset her junior colleague.

BU is of the view given the aggressive public position the leader of the Opposition and Barbados Labour Party Mia Mottley has taken – and rightly so – makes it easy for Sutherland to resign his job as a Consultant with Maloneyโ€™s Hard Rock Cement company. Given Sutherlandโ€™s role and his public mouthings as a representative of Hard Rock Cement, it is obvious that he was involved in TPD discussions. It is obvious he was privy to the direction the company was about to take last year. Even if he was not aware the time has come to select one master. There is another saying โ€“ you canโ€™t serve two masters.

It is a matter of principle Mr. Dwight Sutherland M.P. and Business Development Manager and Consultant. All are watching you as you construct a career in public service.

238 responses to “Dwight Sutherland Serving Two MAMs, Mottley and Maloney”

1. Agree 100%! Can’t be serious about good governance and transparency, yet support , even if indirectly, flagrant disregard of the laws of Barbados.
    Hope we see, perhaps, why there are so many lawyers in parliament.

2. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I do not see a conflict of interest. Mr. Sutherland is not Hard Rock company, nor Mr Maloney.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That relationship between Sutherland (consultant/employee) and Maloney (employer)…could quickly become incestous if BLP is elected to the government…how easy it would be for Maloney to use Sutherland, what would he need Mia for…it’s called conflict of interest, that is the repetitive destructive force that has been playing out on the island for decades, that has literally destroyed the social fabric…it’s called corruption.

And with the likes of Maloney, Harris…ad nauseum…each and everyone of them believing they are above the law and untouchable…it can only get worse.

4. WW&C
    I think you are on the right path.Mahoney is looking down the line.He must consider himself a lucky man to have Sutherland the professional, available for his prostituted designs,hedging his options in the likely event MAM pulls off a victory next time around.This is the ruse of the albino class,running with the hares like Staurt and Co and hunting with the hounds like Sutherland,the likely messenger boy.
    In the no confidence debate,did you notice how uncomfortable Sutherland looked in his 3 piece suit.The man was overdressed and overbearing in his contribution to the debate.Why can’t these fools learn to dress for the tropics.Commissiong is always suitably attired.Prescod,Hammy-La and Todd all look so clumsy with a so called Nehru collar meant too be closed but which they all leave undone with an untidy looking shirt beneath,defeating the style of the jacket.All JA’s.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…what Maloney has on the politicians and was more than likely taught by his masters, and which you do need need a degree to know or do…is to think years ahead into the future and always stay 3 steps ahead of black people…which in this case requires no effort at all, at all.

Now we all know that none of the politicians have vision, are incapable of seeing past today and do not know how to stay a half step ahead of anyone they perceive as being white, so they all take their places 2 steps behind and wait to see what they can get…a national disgrace….a waste of oxygen.

It was easy to figure out, with Maloney reportedly insulting Mia, means he already has a backup plan in the event DLP loses the election, another black man as government minister he can compromise and use to his advantage….call up and shout at to get what he wants, when he wants it, just as they all do with the shithead DLP ministers….the government ministers are the weakest link.

How will Sutherland be able to tell Maloney to get lost.

They did the same thing when Owen et al were in the government, upon a change of government, they too switch their operations to fit their future plans for growth. ..that’s the modus operandi of the business people.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Mia Mottley needs to take the high road; Persuade Sutherland to expeditiously extract himself from Hard Rock consultancy or face the personal political consequences of not doing so.

7. I agree with both Gabriel and are we there yet.

Mia did try to do something by changing around the shadow cabinet and this was seemingly the cause of some of her problems last year. Dwight is a consultant and it is his right to find work in this difficult economic climate but he has got to choose wisely.

I agree that the man seem to be lining up his ducks as he sees the writing on the wall for his current puppets. I will support the BLP in the next election but by George if they win and continue to deal with Mark Maloney , I will be on their tails morning, noon and night. I am sick and tired of politicians saying one thing and doing another after they are elected.

8. Mr. Sutherland is playing the part of a double agent. Way back when this matter started he should have been asked to resign from the BLP. This is nowhere near the hodge podge involving Maria Agard. She was never fraternizing with the enemy. He was not even given a slap on the wrist as far as I know. I smell a rat and for all we know he is already in Maloney’s back pocket. Mia needs another clean cut. That guy aint loyal.

9. Gabriel you killing us as a fashion police you nail Sutherland in his three piece flannel suit in ninety degree temperature. Think of a Bajan visiting London in February in a terylene shirt and short khaki pants. Sutherland is a jackass his candle burns at both ends. Lean and hungry Maloney and overfed MAM lit his candle from opposite ends. MAM maybe forced to bitch slap Sutherland who resembles Kellman same way she did Maria. Thing is Sutherland doesn’t have Maria’s intestinal fortitude . More internal warfare for the war weary Bees. Froon gets to put his feet up and punish the tragi-comedy with laughter. Political scientists (not CIA plant Wickham) cant figure how Sutherland an idiot if there’s one beat a popular incumbent with a medical doctorate.

The Chief Town Planner with his stressed features plays a cameo in this tragi- comedy. The movie is so bad it wont qualify for incentives under the cultural industries bill. Grab your popcorn the Grade B flick already started.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t recall hearing any calls for anyone to put any distance between themselves and Four Seasons.

11. @Caswell

Mia felt a a lot f heat when it became known she was bilking dollars from the Paradise deal, however she appears to have survived it. Does Sutherland have the political stock to survive?

Government and Property Owners Chart Way Forward In Paradise Beach Development (Four Seasons Project)

by David on January 8, 2012 in Blogging Edit

Today the NATION has reported that law suits have been filed by UK billionaires Lucian Grainge and Aidan Heavy. Those who have followed the Four Seasons Project know that this is an OLD matter which has resurfaced. The NATION article quotes denials by Mia Mottley and Professor Avinash Persaud, principals for the project, that any [โ€ฆ]

17 Comments โ€ข Continue Reading โ†’

Mia Mottley Leading Barbados Labour Party Into A Cul-de-sac

by David on September 2, 2010 in Blogging Edit

I donโ€™t profess to be the brightest or the best at what I do, nor do I have powers of observation, discernment or discovery that are greater than any others in my field. I am merely a political adviser and strategist who has a little common sense, can read people reasonably well and who has [โ€ฆ]

67 Comments โ€ข Continue Reading โ†’

12. Smut Lamp Salesman Avatar
    Smut Lamp Salesman

WTF I duz be hearing doh?

Since when did people get elected to serve a political leader or party? Wunna people is something else fuh trute!

This post ain’t worth wuh Paddy shot at, but keep trying fanboy, Mia needs all the help she can get in convincing sensible people that she is the real deal. You and Peter cud hold hands.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I do not see what all the hoopla is about over Sutherland’s involvement with Mark Maloney in whatever form. Politicians and wealthy white business persons have always been the mix, the twist, the development, the arrangement, the way that many in active politics derived their few comforts in life.

Hurling insult at the whites who do business with the government and its elected officials has never been the problem. The problem is the politicians who do business with the whites and their businesses for personal gains no matter how it affects the unfortunate masses. For example, Bizzy Williams SBRC deal could not be that sweet if politicians did not fall for the buttered bread. If you are one, who is open to taking free money in the form of a few thousand I see no reason why a business person with a lot of money and some influence, should not benefit from the money weakness of those looking to get something for themselves in life.

The Mark Maloneys, Leroy Parrises and the Williams two are businesspeople who know that you can earn a lot of money in government by passing a lot of money to those doing the governing. It’s the way the wheels have been greased for three scores ten years.

Black politicians have shown themselves to be open to the highest bidder, and coming from hardly anything to a position where you can gain something, the white business class just provides the temptation and those in need give in to commit the sin.

That is why it is important that those doing the governing be subjected to governing legislation that will hold them accountable and subject to charges. It is the only way to stop the political-private sector business arrangement that has allowed many a politician to become rich and the rich business person, who provides the monetary rewards, from becoming richer through ill-conceived business contracts and crazy ass projects.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sutherland does look like he is easy to push around, a regular retard, just like all the other politicians, Maloney and his masters will make a meal of him.

Caswell is right, Mia was/is working a conflict of interest being attorney for 4 seasons and opposition leader and potential prime minister….and I will say again, if the 4 seasons scam artists owed all the vendors in Barbados, could not pay, had to be bailed out using NIS pension fund to guarantee a loan to pay their vendors, it’s obvious they could not pay their attorney Mia either and she would have benefitted financially from the NIS money…..a clear conflict of interest.

With the lawyers of DLP being well aware that what Mia was doing conflicted with her position….and none said a word or seeked to remind her that as an attorney, she should know much better…that’s because they all put themselves in these compromising positions with the private sector, which puts the public at a clear disadvantage…for the sake of becoming wealthy.

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Heather, your language @9:37 last night suggests you would prefer a Barbados strictly divided along partisan lines. How does Mr Maloney become “the enemy” with whom Mr Sutherland should not fraternize? And Prodigal Son, I doubt that any administration will lose sleep merely because you are”on their tails morning, noon and night”.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans have extremely short memories as it pertains to their wellbeing and futures of their children and future generations. Multiple degrees have done nothing to help raise the intellect of those who are charged with the responsibility of securing the society…and their own people.

Of course none have yet figured out that slave masters needed no degrees, titles or status, all of that came after they achieved wealth off the misery, blood, sweat and tears of these degreed idiot’s ancestors.

Well Well & Consequences May 29, 2016 at 6:47 AM #
    The goal that the little nuisance Pemberton and all his business partners, Cow, Bizzy et al had in mind was to rape the national insurance pension fund, with the help of their local black lawyers, to complete the 4 seasons project, but the money they got was not enough, the Cows and Bizzys took the money that was owed to them, as vendors, and pulled out, leaving the project with lawsuits.

Miaโ€™s school pal and working buddy for 4 seasons Persaud was searching high and low for billionaire investors and introducing them all to the NIS pension fund.

Around that same time the same Bizzy brought in the Redjet Irish dude with his 40 million and planes to experience a myriad of problems, again the goal was to introduce the redjet dude to the NIS pension, which did not work out well or as planned.and redjet crashed and burned…dude died from heart attack, the rest is history.

They all make you feel physically ill.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maybe..and this is a big maybe, that they would have to prove to me….DLP should be given recognition for not allowing all of the pension fund to be stolen, but I am still pissed at them for following Thompson’s crap, since he was long dead, and allowing the 120 million dollars to be used for 4 seasons as collateral to begin with…… and when will the money be repaid.

18. Heather, Dwight Sutherland is just like any ordinary Black Bajan with a wife and children to feed looking for a job. His experience at Arawak possibly served him well and yes it might have been strategic by the shadows behind Hard Rock to recruit Sutherland. He should have been better advised by the man of many hats. Sutherland comes from good stock, his father didn’t play.

19. MIA is asking for transparency from everyone but her self Meanwhile the people of barbados is still awaiting to see her LEC certificate. As a servant of the people she too must be guided by the light of transparency not good enough for Mia to be talking and spouting words that effect peoples lives negatively when she has avoided or steer clear of truthfulness on those aspect that are reflectors on her life
    The truth being people are sick and tired of hypocrisy

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So…to the degreed idiots who still do not understand how the game is played…..Maloney is the front man to change the dynamics…the older politicians who have been used for the last 30+ years to achieve the business people’s goal of plenty personal wealth, some are already dead…and the middle aged ones are, well…too old…time to use the young degreed idiots, politicians, who do not know their asses from their elbows and are greedily looking for, titles status and instant wealth….everything else but the intention to raise the stock, knowledge and personal wealth of their own people.

21. this story has all the makings of a Agard tragedy Mia continues to create a tidal wave of dissent and division within her party all driven by yard fowl politics for whatever purpose it serves than herself the people are not unaware

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC….tell Adriel Brathwaite to do his job re Mia and LEC of lack thereof, or is he waiting for Mia to approve it.

One needs to be more cognisant of what Maloney and his masters are capable of……….

Harris is known to use CCTV to blackmail politicians or anyone he can use….does Maloney look like he has any scruples to you….at a child’s death, because of his negligence, he laughed and said he is not responsible.

He refuses to comply with the island’s laws, just like Harris, Parris and all the others, do you think coming from “good stock” will stop him from getting what he wants, unless he is stopped now.

23. It would be interesting to see how bold and decisive she would be in using the measuring sticks of morals and ethics to remove the member which can be politically problematic drawing blood across political lines in side and outside her party
    MIa the people are watching You and reading from the Covenant of HOPE

24. The following question is directed to Minister Dennis Lowe and the Prime Minister, Mr. Integroty himself:

Barbados needs to know if there is any truth to the rumor the SSA hired a D9 tractor from Brathwaite Construction for $96,000 monthly for nearly a year when the one broken down only cost $30,000 to fix?

Kammie Holder
    Advocacy Director
    Future Centre Trust

25. The question being how many times the one broken down has cost the taxpayers thirty thousand to fix?

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 7:13 AM …”Heather, Dwight Sutherland is just like any ordinary Black Bajan with a wife and children to feed looking for a job. ..”

I believe every right thinking Bajan seconds that comment.

I do not know Sunderland nor his family and surely anyone who ascends to our House of Assembly clearly knows how the ‘money games’ are played in politics. Thus he absolutely knows as you said that “it might have been strategic by the shadows behind Hard Rock to recruit Sutherland.” We can take that as par-for-course.

However, I did not see how his employment there so inappropriately affected his political situation. I did not follow any of his remarks related to Maloney related matters but unless he spoke to those issues without clearly noting his business ties to the man I cannot see where the MP has been at fault based on the article above.

As an aside, you surely can’t be suggesting (unless facetiously) that transparency advice can emanate from the balding attorney ‘ of many hats’. That too is another morning laugh!

27. @Dee Word

Dont get tie up this morn to use your turn of expression.

Do you think being employed by Maloney permits him the freedom to contribute to debates in and out of the House on the related issues of the day.

Stop with the copout counters this is not a secondary school debate where debate points are on offer.

28. @Dee Word

We have to hold our public AND private officials to a high standard. The yardfowls like ac et al will not do it, the independents who don’t give a rat’s ass about B or D will have to do it.

#bajanswantchange

29. The fact being that Mia Mottley has no moral authority to reign in on any one person public or political life in this country OSA told the whole nation what he knows of her selfish approach of entitlement solely recognized on the Mottley brand and her less than enthusiastic approach for building the BLP party on principles and ideologies that would serve the entire party and members
    This Damascian new appeal of picking on low hanging fruit is another ploy to disturb and disrupt all rooted with aura of political stench

30. @Dee Word

A you again!

Do you recall what happened when the people pushed back against Cahill Energy?

Do you recall what happened when the people pushed back against the solid waste tax?

Do you recall when the people pushed back against the fingerprinting?

Do you recall when the people pushed back against the Antiquities Bill?

Feel free to add others.

A democracy requires the citizens to participate on a daily basis. To weight the options based on adequate disclosure make informed decision based on what is presented on merit NOT political affiliation. For too long we have ceded our rights under the Constitution to the political class. It must stop!

31. @ Jeff, not you are wrong. I was not referring to any divisions along party lines. The line drawn in the sand is clearly between Maloney and the people of Barbados. Maloney et al and all of their get rich quick scams that rape the island of its people pooled money is what I am referring to. Anyone who steals that money is an enemy of the people of Barbados.

What are the origins of the money that is used to pay Mr. Sutherland?

32. @Heather

No you are wrong, the line is between the political class and Bajans.

33. The Name is Clint Avatar
    The Name is Clint

Did Hoyos the reporter ever pay back the Bank the money he owed them when he bought the Boarded Hall plantation house, a house he could not afford? Or was he financially bailed out by his transvestite family member??

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It would be very interesting to know what the shite Jeff Cumberbatch really wants? Whose fight he would be willing to take up in the best interest of whom he deems worthy. Stuuupse.

35. @David, Mr. Sutherland is a grown man. Why give him a free pass? He set himself up for scrutiny when he accepted that postion. It is a clear conflict of interest.

The laws need to changed to prevent those who have been elected to serve the people from accepting certainly jobs or involvment with certain projects. Like anything that Mr. Maloney has contaminated, like four Seasons and the lot.

If I were an elected MP, I would not consider being employed by Mr. Maloney. He is public enemy number one. Flaunts the laws of Barbados and rapes its Treasury as though it is his personal piggy bank. Let us not forget that he is responsible for the death of a child. The police is finally prosecuting poor people for Jahan’s death but what about Maloney for the death of a Rasta woman’s? As somone stated he laughed. Would I work for him? He is the slave master.

36. Trust Dribbler to see nothing wrong with Maloney ‘owing’ the politician in the BLP (an engineer) most likely to hold the portfolio of ‘Transport and Works’ in a coming BLP Government.
    When you live in ‘albino-centric-city’, drinking the shiite water, such things are normal business practice…..and Dribbles have been taken i- hook, line, and sinker.
    Recall that Bizzy had no qualms about coming on TV and bragging about his ‘business investment’ of illegally bribing BOTH political parties…
    Not a charge was brought against him for this admission…..
    One wonders if he already owns the AG,CJ,DPP and senior police officials….

RIGHTEOUSNESS EXALTS A NATION….BUT SHIITE CONDEMNS BRASS BOWLS.

@ Caswell
    Well said in one sentence.
    Unless a leader is a person of high integrity, that leader CANNOT insist on high standards from their followers.
    BLP NEEDS to find a leader of high moral statue and integrity…or Barbados remains doomed. We will simply move from an idiot to a scamp.

37. Catholic Priest Who Hears Confessions Avatar
    Catholic Priest Who Hears Confessions

The woman was on the damn phone. Malonely may be a jerk but the woman was on de phone and will confess before it sends her mad some day.

38. @ David you made me stop and think back to my last post. My conclusion is that there is more than one line. Perhaps Colonel Buggy can draw us a diagram. The Maloneys et al use the politicians to use the people. It is just a game.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I read your three posts but ya got me completely kerfuffled and indeed ‘tie up’

First up I agreed with a point you made so if you accuse me of offering a ‘cop-out counter’ (I presume to that main point) then you are contradicting your own argument. But be that as it may. I may have completely misinterpreted what you are critiquing in my post.

So substantively. This ALL about real life. Nothing school debate here. And no continued ceding to the political class either.

Sunderland, like every Bajan does some form of work for a living. At the moment he earns income from the ‘business delinquent’ of the period Mr. Maloney. It is pellucid that he is earning said income because of his background experience and because Maloney expects that he can translate that knowledge and his POLITICAL position to Hard Rock’s benefit. That’s as real life as it comes. Daily in Bdos and across the world.

So sir if Mr Sunderland stands before his parliamentary colleagues and does not have the fortitude and integrity to recuse himself from decisions being made on any Maloney related matters or supports matters where clearly there is conflict, then shame on him and absolute, complete double shame on us.

There is adequate public info for locals to be informed it seems to me.

As I said I do not know the man nor his character. I have listened to him a few times and was impressed. Others here with objective voices have spoken of him in generally good terms. So by his actions we will judge the man….

All that said I remain kerfuffled how a simple analysis of him and his actions dismisses or diminishes any of the other issues you raised. If you are suggesting that he is as duplicitous as all the others and we will find that he too is a snake in the grass then so be it.

You should know this local scene much better than I.

40. @Heather

Au contraire, Sutherland will be positioned squarely under the BU spotlight from here BUT there is the bigger battle to be fought. Let us not be contended with scraps.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, I would ask a small favor. Can you point me to that blog which had the healthy debate re Bizzy’s statement on monies to the political parties and ideally his exact quote.

Because for the love of the reality of life I cannot understand what the man said that causes this level of regular riposte.

The only practical take-away that made sense to me came from @Caswell when he said in effect that Bizzy had essentially admitted to contributing funds which were over the allowed campaign limits. At least that was my take away. That made sense in terms of sanction or further action but otherwise the other palaver has been an absolute nonsense (I like your phrase of yesterday, lolll).

When does it NOT make sense for businessmen, interest groups or whomever to support the political groups of their choice? Is it not constitutionally allowed to give politicians donations?

I fully understand the transparency issue and obviously corruption is wrong.

But I am really trying to understand exactly what some are against: is it any body giving monetary support because they constitute it as bribes? What exactly???

On that basic point I can get Heather’s cry for constitutional change but unless and without the long sought transparency legislation such a change will mean absolutely nothing.

How can politicians get elected without feeding the required money machine (advertising, posters, analytics etc )???

Where will the money come from if not contributions???

Is it only rich people like a Trump who will be able to run for politics???

What makes Bizzy’s remarks (other than Caswell’s point) so meaningful???

And yes, stepping off the rock does create a certain reality, strange as that may seem for every consummately sharp Bajan who lives on the rock …LOLLL!!!

42. @Dee Word

Here is Caswellโ€™s comment to an earlier blog:

No one is saying that parties should not get contributions to help finance their campaigns. My position is simple: there are laws to regulate campaign financing that both parties ignore with impunity. The law requires both the candidate and the person making the contribution to file returns declaring the amounts spent and contributed. From what has been disclosed in the last campaign, no one gave the DLP a single cent to help finance their campaign. According to what is disclosed, the candidates finance their campaigns from personal resources.

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/vote-buying-and-campaign-financing/comment-page-1/#comment-354212

43. I accept that certain job opportunities, including being an engineering consultant to a cement operation, are limited. I also recognise that Dwight must eat. Given these realities, though I thought it would be an uncomfortable position for Sutherland, I had no problem initially with him working for Maloney once he stuck to his area of expertise. However, the issue now is not just about working for Maloney, but being involved in a company/project that is acting in defiance of the law. #decisionmakingskills#judgement

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Catholic Priest Who Hears Confessions May 29, 2016 at 8:45 AM #
    The woman was on the damn phone. Malonely may be a jerk but the woman was on de phone and will confess before it sends her mad some day.”

Trust Maloney to put one of his nasty scamps, of whom he has a variety to chose from, to make that comment…or did it his lousy self…..BUT…..had the obstruction been removed as ordered by Town Planning prior, whether she was on the phone or not, there would be no obstruction to hit…basic logic…..so when you coming with misinfirmation, make sure it’s logical.

Maloney should be charged and he will be if Town Planning, DPP and police are not corrupt.

The minorities always use plantation logic to explain away crimes.

45. Clarification of the ShakeDown / Extortion Racket.

In the 1980s my brother was the MD of a B’town firm. It had become a serious problem getting Goods through The Port in reasonable time without paying extra “Fees” for that to Customs Officers. My brother being a very proper, honest gent refused to play the game BUT his Board of Directors told him to pay up as others were paying and there was no way to get around the problem.

My brother refused to play and was eventually pushed out of the organisation. How many Bajans being and MD with the benefits that provides, would have taken such a stand knowing that his wealth and significant family money was on the line?

Very, very few!!!

The penalties are too high for NOT partnering with the Corrupt Cabal. What would happen if U had to lay off 500 workers in order to to retain your full integrity? What would happen if U were not paid $MN for major work completed?

Strict Integrity Legislation NOW!

Will never happen as politics in Bim is ALL about Feathering the Nest or Net Worth Enhancement Planning!

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Again…for those who still dont get how the game devolves into conflict of interest and corruption…Sutherlands character and business practices has only been spotlighted because as a taxpayer paid MP, he is consulting for Maloney’s companies with Maloney on recording as ignoring the laws of the land 3 times to date, because he believes he is above that law.

Sutherland’s character, ethics and morals could only come into further questioning if when he becomes a minister of parliament, still insists on consulting for Maloney’s companies and granting favors for Maloney, after accepting undeclared campaign funding…the excuse that all the older politicians have done it before him will not wash….

Maloney did not hire Sutherland because he liked him, it was a tactical and calculating.move, which has become a cycle leading to corruption… and which could very well end up continuing the disenfranchisement of bajans as has been done for well over 30 years.

But some of us cant see further than a challenge or contradiction.

47. From Doom and gloom to ethics and morality ! Really ! but look who is carrying the banner ! Would the real leader of the BLP Party please stand up . The party is in a disorganized state of frenzy and disarry The leader takes a bold move of asking for morals and ethics to be the vanguard of HOPE Who is she trying to fool?. very interesting times ahead

48. I thought kite season was over but it seems that I was mistaken. Anyhow good luck with this one. The South is not like the West.

Off topic… kinda
    There is something peculiar about this list of persons in attendance at a recent memorial ceremony that got me ben up.

If you can still see, have a look and see if you can see what I did see, when I saw what I was supposed to see.

“Some of the prominent Barbadians who attended… Independent Member of Parliament for Christ Church West Dr Maria Agard; Opposition Barbados Labour Party MPs Dale Marshall, George Payne, Kerrie Symmonds, Ronald Toppin, Dwight Sutherland, Jeffrey Bostic and BLP candidates Colin Jordan and Reverend Joseph Atherley.”

We’re not friends anymore

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

I agree totally with the principles addressed in your article that informs this blog.

Dwight Sutherland is a young politician who was mistakenly allowed by his BLP colleagues to get away with taking a stance that takes away from their ability to properly prosecute a matter that seriously affects basic matters of governance and the effectiveness of legal sanctions as well as hints of blatant corruption.

When Dwight Sutherland was hired by Mark Maloney’s company as a consultant the apparent principal of that company had already been seen by the public as being directly responsible for an accident resulting in a death at Coverly because of his company’s refusal to accede to a TPD directive relating to the design and implementation of the main entrance-exit to that property from the ABC highway.

That such refusal to accept TPD directives in that matter was now a habit that was absolutely inimical to future orders of the TPD and indeed good governance in Barbados was clear also from a similar refusal re. the Gas Station at Coverly. The Rock Hard situation was therefore a clear confirmation that such behaviour was an entrenched one and that there would have to be a big fight sometime in the future to control the company and excise that aspect of corruption and providing a palpable example to the public that the TPD directives must be obeyed by all defaulters, Big and Small, Rich and Poor .

That fight to restore good governance re. the TPD could only have been carried out by the Opposition, given that the Government appeared to be fully enabling of this behaviour.

Dwight Sutherland must have known full well that his position as a young BLP MP could and would be used as propaganda to convince the public that everything was A-OK with Rock Hard as well as any such future endeavours in that area in addition to possibly damping down on the vigour of any Opposition action.

The optics of the situation were wrong and good governance demanded that they should be righted! Dwight Sutherland and the BLP showed extremely poor judgement in this matter. Dwight Sutherland by accepting a position that could only spell future entanglement in an untenable situation and the BLP, by shortsightedly allowing it to happen by turning a blind eye to it.

The attempt to equate Mia Mottley’s acting as a Lawyer for the Four Seasons project cannot stand up to serious scrutiny.

50. @Raw Bake

Are you intimating no MAM, no Santia, no Cynthy, no Hinkson?