Posted by Sargeant
tony-cozier1
Tony Cozier

I haven’t listened to cricket on the radio in decades but the passing of Tony Cozier has stirred some long dormant memories.

I can’t remember when I first heard Cozier on the radio but my first memories of listening to cricket was the WI tour of Australia in 1960-61 when as a sapling I was able to stay up late at night to listen to Johnny Moyes in a colourful Aussie accent on ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corp.)

Later during the WI tour of England in 1963 we were treated to the dulcet tones of John Arlott whose descriptive commentary of Cricket as well as the surrounding countryside provided a picture as vivid as any contemporary movie scene.

Cozier came on the scene sometime after that tour and I recall his voice on the radio as one of our own and that voice although lacking the timbre of some of the other commentators was very informative. I also remember his reports in that other media- newspapers- I believe he came from a media family as his family was involved with the Daily News (now defunct) and I seem to recall a column by his father EL Cozier which appeared under the byline ELC. The immediacy of TV has diminished the importance of the radio voice but those of the generation which came of age in the 60’s remember radio as our connection to the outside world and we relied on the eloquence of the person behind the mike to fuel our imagination and Cozier fit the bill.

An innings well played.

282 responses to “Tony Cozier, the LEGEND”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea May 16, 2016 at 6:55 AM #

Skippah….how many times do I have to say that I do not know,which is why I chuckle otherwise I would be crying at what is being discussed.

It shows me a family at war with itself over pigment,indentureship,plantations and slavery.A war that cannot be won by anybody and whilst they are bickering as to who did what to who the political class and merchant class are having a free run on the economy of the country.

Apologies&reparations for what….time to show the world our abilities……leadership with a vision is called for now.

I hope that those in Bim will make their feelings known on thursday and every week thereafter……do you know what effect shuting down the country one day a week will have on the merchant&political class?

2. MoneyBrain,

I can only say that my dad went to Lodge in the 50 s, I went to QC in the 70 s and my brother went to HC in the 80 s and we are unaware that white people were being discouraged from playing sports. I cannot however say that it didn’t happen.

3. Donna,
    The answer is simple, maybe your family were all good people that dont mess around, dont associate with certain bad actors and note I made it clear late 60s–early 70s.

The key is dont blame whites for not wanting to be abused when alternatives were available.Yes some whites just did not want to associate for racial reasons BUT others were deterred from doing so and those like myself used it as fuel to motivate themselves in the short and long run. Some black kids reacting this way should be NO surprise to anyone as it should be anticipated and expected given history. The vast majority liked me, almost all my friends were NOT White.

I cant figure out why some clever people like yourself find this so tough to accept. Then again I once heard( about 5yrs ago) a lady 4 yrs younger than I, who went to QC late 70s early 80s say she never saw , heard, experienced any racial talk at QC. She was the daughter of a prominent Executive who happens to have a goodly touch of the tar brush and one might think she may have had problems from both ends of the spectrum.

4. @ Donna
    So if you found yourself playing tennis against the likes of Murray, the Williams sisters, and Darian King ….. would you not be ‘discouraged’ from playing too….?
    How else would you explain the situation to your superiority complex…?
    Steupssss.

5. Bushie,

So if U were told flatly DONT ever come back here pun the Garrison for Junior Soccer on Saturday mornings as we will beat U up, should I not consider the possibility? This is precisely what happened to me and there was absolutely no provocation on my part.NONE.

Regarding being out classed and having to explain the situation to your superiority complex, I recommend that U Bushie should conduct in depth interviews with members of the WI Test Cricket Team of the last 20 yrs. If U really want to jump in at the deep end start with Marlon Samuels.

6. @MB

Let us be clear, you are citing a singular event to support your position.

7. David,
    I have given several reasons why white people have gravitated away from certain sports. I was so open I have stated on more than one occasion, that some whites are conducting themselves on a racial basis.

However, for some on this site it is very difficult to believe that some black youth in the late 1960s early 1970s were in some cases aggressively attempting to “run off” whites from certain sports. This leads me to conclude that either such deniers are delusional or incapable of accepting the truth. This negative action of purposely building racial barriers can NOT be blamed totally on all whites.

Why would my many examples and explanations seem so eccentric to life in Bim or elsewhere–Humans are predictable in many ways and these actions make sense in the context.

8. @MB

Why have Whites moved from squash?

9. I have not lived in Bim for 35 years so I am not in a position to answer that.

10. David,
    Humans will act similarly regardless of race. This is my point and always will be my point.
    One of the coaches on my son’s Baseball team was black and on several occasions he would give advice to the 2 black kids on the team which was not broadly shared. I was always in attendance for practice and games as the team was quite far from our home. It was not that my son was a troublemaker or in any way disrespectful. Indeed, he was very quiet always willing to listen. This is Human nature, taking care of who you consider your own.

11. @ Money B
    Do you listen to yourself?
    Shiite man you are letting the side down….

You mean that some big-mouth ‘larmer’ was able to eject you from football with a simple threat that was a daily occurrence to everyone else around the game?
    ….and a fellow tell you bout “wanting to see a white boy bleed” …and chase you from cricket? ….and Tom put on some shiite tax …and chase you from Barbados….?
    Wuh you recall that we could not pass through Belleville after dark? …could not piss in wunna toilets? ….or work in wunna banks?

Boss, you like you a lot softer that bushie thought yuh!!!
    Men that used to tell Bushie that kinda shiite at school came back bowing and scraping afterwards…. looking and offering to polish the bushman’s shoes…..
    …and Tom and his tax dead and gone ….and Bushie still here living sweet as shiite….

steupsss… and here was Bushie thinking that you was a bad boy!!!!! 🙂 ha ha ha

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Haydn Gill and his brother Dwayne came to Bim in 80 with their father, who was a cricket fanatic. They both represented Combermere and Dwayne was headed to play for Barbados. After his mom died, his cricket fell away. I remember when Dwayne started at the Nation all those years ago, and am glad to see that he has stuck to his task.

I am happy to see his success.

13. BT

Thanks for the compliments, you are too kind …. but you must have missed something … I identified myself officially since 2008, …. perhaps more officially than you can even imagine!!

14. @GP

Yes, his brother is heavily involved in cricket in Grenada and was the manager of the successful unde-19 50 over team.

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Haydn is the nation journalist and in the picture with Tony Cozier; Dwayne lives in Grenada.

16. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle……the more I read,the more I understand the calypsonian who spoke of two Bims except that having lived in Bim off and on for 40 odd years I posit that it is more like dozens of Bims with one unresolved theme that both sides love to perpetuate……I wonder what would happen if an agreement was ever reached……possibly death as there would be no reason to continue.

17. Bushie,
    I was merely reporting one side of the story, trusting that U would perceive an opening and stupidly enter the spiders web. Suffice to say that when I was 16, a very large chap by the name of Timothy Gumbs of the vaunted Empire broke the hand of the batsman before me and when I went out to bat the Empire bros were upset that their had been no blood. Timmy rushed in and placed the first delivery on my pads for which he was tickled to the boundary, then he managed to strike my person just above the pads, which I IGNORED totally, they begged me to rub it but with my mindset that was never going to happen. Type of MAN dat yah MUST kill! HARD red boy dis! He then proceeded to bounce one outside off stump and naturally I executed a slap through Point that Gordon Greenidge would have been very proud off–not a man moved nor a grass growed as Bajans used to say in the 1970s.

I never stated that I was fearful of the Bullys, just Big Bullers!

Tom is the only man dat chase me cause 70% Tax is Noveau Slavery and there was lil i could do to defend myself while working for a Multi-National organisation, keen to stay clean in Govt’s books.

I have no more time to continue exposing your weak arguments. lol (for now, somebody has to body slam U occasionally.lol)

18. LOL @ Money B
    THAT sounds more like the real BU money B… 🙂

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YesDwayne returned home circa 2ooo. Manager of Grenada team in Sanford Competition. Manager of WI under 19 team
    Whole family were my patients from the time they came to Bim in 1980

Father was my cricket buddy
    We predicted that Lara would eclipse Sobers’ record in 94 from the Saturday- two days before. I argued to him LARA IS PLAYING STRAIGHT. HE IS NOT PLAYING ACROSS THE LINE THEY WONT GET HIM OUT.
    We predicted that Lambert & Philo would open in the Bdos test vs England in 98.

20. I remember in the nets at University in the late 70’s, a West Indian came to see what sort of competition his would face in an upcoming match his team would face in an upcoming fixture.

I seem to remember the word Cavaliers in the name but can’t be sure.

He had a lot of swagger at the time and figured just because he was West Indian and black his team would easily beat the University side which routinely played County sides.

In fact, County players used to come and coach.

I remember for example Basarat Hassan, bowling to me in the nets.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basher_Hassan

For the life of me I could not pick him and he wasn’t even a bowler according to Wiki.

He could make the ball spin either way prodigiously and I was always at sea.

He must have enjoyed the spectacle … and toying with a West Indian!!

He played for Nottinghamshire, same time as Sobers so he knew what real skill was.

Well, on the appointed day, I went up on the hill by the Tennis Courts to watch the match.

The West Indian got the surprise of his life.

After being repeatedly beaten he tried one almighty swipe only to end up flat on his back.

I got up and walked away, cracking up with laughter.

I had never seen anything so ludicrous.

I realize now why West Indies Cricket went the way it did.

Idiots thought it was because of colour and not skill that we were successful.

There could only be one outcome …. which we have watched and grieved over for a couple of decades now!!

… and still we don’t get it.

The other world teams simply developed and we stood still, like the perfect idiots we are!!

That’s why I nearly fell off my chair watching the interview with Carlos Braithwaite, …. and then that nitwit Marlon Samuels spoiled my hope for the future.

My University was known for Athletics/sports and Engineering, a weird combination but none the less a fact.

The West Indian had simply underestimated its skill and over estimated his team.

I would not expect an HC boy to play for West Indies although some did.

I would expect an HC boy to look more at the long term.

I certainly had no such aspirations although Captain Farmer tried to encourage me to take up cricket seriously.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

I am absolutely surprised that this TC page brought out what it has. The BU folks have always been excellent story tellers or to be explicit they have always be excellent raconteurs of Bajan life but some have absolutely outdone themselves. LOLL.

@MB you are again providing your humorous tales. Not for one moment does anyone dispute the ‘racism’ you encountered. Rather they marvel – at least I do – that you found it so….how to say…so acutely distressing.

That happened repeatedly during my era (I was a few years after your time) and it was essentially ‘I gine shown you who is boss’ thing more so (as the Bush Man indicates). Of course there was ‘racism’ involved but only because you were white and that was an easy ‘play’ on your psych.

The pervasive and insidious on-going racism that for example a Sam Headley ( as we were reminded so well by Dr GP) or anyone of thousands of other Black folks (men particularly) encountered can never be compared to your distress.

But back to your play ground stuff. I remember Ronald Graham from Ellerslie running bout fellows at under-15. He was like greased lighting to us boys. Black or white he used to be in your kitchen with attitude. Oh lawd.

I remember Taylor (of restaurant and night club fame) used to be very aggressive on the hockey field. He would ‘whet’ school boys for spite. So too many others however. Now Taylor is an interesting character because as I became an adult I realized that he had a rather deep racial enmity. It was his nightclub that his namesake Ralph Taylor- at the time a successful black businessman- was denied because he was BLACk.

This in lil Bim in our lifetime…..So when you go on your rants I smile and then fall over in laughter. (incidentally Taylor was also good enough to play a few games for Barbados as a cricketer. You think he get dropped because he was white. LOLLL)

22. @Dee Word

Wasn’t Ronald Graeme a pelter?

23. I was wondering when someone would say this. Brilliant.

Michael Comissiong

11 hrs ·

What Tony Cozier Meant To Us

CLEMENT PAYNE MOVEMENT

RELEASE

See More

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John, you said in one of your posts that you aced exams cause you were always on top of your work so clearly your remarks above re WI cricket ability is coming from a place of provocation and fun because no Bajan could be so ridiculously off the mark about CRICKET.

This is abjectly wrong: “I realize now why West Indies Cricket went the way it did. Idiots thought it was because of colour and not skill that we were successful.”

Nonsense, Clive Lloyd’s team was the fittest and most mentally keen of any of their competitors.

” The other world teams simply developed and we stood still, like the perfect idiots we are!!”

Actually, and FACTUALLY as a result of the genius that was called Brian Lara WI cricket regressed. The others replicated what the WI had been doing well for several years (fitness, mental focus etc) whereas we not only stopped doing those things as earnestly as before but we reverted to the cavalier, free-wheeling days of Sobers’ time.

Sir Garry could do that because the times were totally different. Lara’s (and Richie’s too) boys did not have that luxury. Much more hectic and a huge media spotlight. WI effectively destroyed themselves. It had NOTHING to do with underestimating white folks on the field.

The remark, “I would not expect an HC boy to play for West Indies although some did” speaks to a rather …searching for word… revealing perspective of your views on Barbados, class and snobbishness.

So I will leave all that alone. As it completely befuddles the mind why you would even make such a statement.

Bush Tea said that being able to put a face to the moniker he knows you are a very nice man or words to the effect so I presume as I said earlier that you are being deliberately provocative for its sake.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well yes David but that they said the same about Charlie Griffith too. It didn’t stop him from leaving bruises LOLL.

But yes he left the game a few years after Ronald Tree (as I recall) as a result of being called as ‘a pelter’.

But as you know lighting is come ‘forked’! LOLL. Speed fah days.

26. Dribs,
    Where did i say that racial talk was distressing? Where did I compare anything in my experience with that of poor Mr Headley? I was merely reporting for general consumption the reality of what pertained. I am fully aware that even when fielders were begging for blood many did not mean that and it was just a psychological ploy. Some meant it though!

Skippa, U did NOT compare Ron G to Gumbs (or Wayne “Waco” Daniel in full flight), pleeez? Interestingly, when I was a tad more mature, Ron G in has last year at Ellerslie cut an “almost white” fella over the eye. I rode Ron to they changed his name to Ronnie, had to soften him up.
    Gumbs was at least a few inches taller and 75 pounds of pure muscle more than RonnIE.

It was also a white guy that employed Ralph in the Hotel business and saw his potential, even brought him to play Cricket for one of the white clubs that were opening up to all. So there is always magnetic interaction—positive and negative poles.

Which Taylor u talking bout playing for Bim? lol

Interesting that on this blog years back, Ralphie came in for plenty lashes from ac et al and I had to run to his defence, some of those people call the man all kinda N word in a most demeaning and hateful way.

The stories I relate are there to illustrate that there were racists that were dark too, it is not a one way street—ALL Races are Humans and capable of the same behaviour.

Your laughter is not surprising, I have always had the ability to make people laugh! But the last laugh may well be pun U!

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@MB, I laugh because your stories are funny. And I used the word distressing to describe your predicament…you can described in how it suits you. Distressing worked for me…remember I was searching for a word.So maybe not the ideal one was found.

I believe we long ago agreed that all of us are racist or prejudiced rather, because John says that word racist does not exist.

And finally of course Ralph Taylor had to know lots of white folks and surely had one or two as his mentor. Geez the brother was working in a white owned industry for the most part. And then as a result of his hotel business became an executive at one of the companies with a co-chairman who was reputed to be a real racist SOB…not Lynch!

So he surely had to have some white cover. No dispute. And a bunch of white and other haters too. I missed those lashes back then.

But life can be misconstrued for those who don’t know what a person has actually experienced.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

VERY GOOD ESSAY BY DAVID COMMISIONG!

29. I believe we long ago agreed that all of us are racist or prejudiced rather, because John says that word racist does not exist.

I never said the word racist does not exist just that you can only be one if you believe the impossible, that there are two or more races.

Of course colour prejudice exists …. and age prejudice and size prejudice and all sorts of other prejudices.

Looks like the penny is beginning to drop.

Phew, man that was hard work!!!!!

30. Well said David C.I agree with your tribute in its entirety.I have always considered TC up there with our greats,they on field,he off field but both holding the light of admiration for Bim and for the West Indies,the Caribbean nation that eludes us.

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

John there was no penny to drop! Yours, as this blogmaster would say, was a pedantic point of impact in one of you academic presentations but of no substance here.

We all know there is one race. Yet we all know that there are myriad laws and UN declarations related to the matter of racism and our one race. The issue is the substance of what is being challenged not the semantics of an accurate word usage.

I grew up using the words ‘bring’ and ‘carry’. They had two distinct purposes as I understood the word usage. ‘Bring’ connotes the item is in my possession as I come home. ‘Carry’ on the other hand indicates the item is in my possession as I go to your home.

Nowadays the youth consider that they mean the same thing – movement of item – and use ‘bring’ in both instances…’can you bring that to John’s house for me’ and never ‘can you carry/take that to John for me’.

In short, you can quibble that those of the same race can’t be racist to each other and we all say hooray, but at the end of the day the prejudice finds it’s way home, not so???

No pennies to drop, bring or carry, senor. No academicians here!

We understand the use of the term racism clearly.

32. de pedantic Dribbler May 16, 2016 at 7:00 PM #

“But yes he left the game a few years after Ronald Tree (as I recall) as a result of being called as ‘a pelter’. But as you know lighting is come ‘forked’! LOLL. Speed fah days.”

@ de pedantic Dribbler

Ronald “Ou Ou” Graham bowled (or pelted) out Lodge for 10 ten runs when he played for Ellerslie.

I remember Ronald receiving a 10 speed racer in lieu of being selected for a Barbados team. He continued to play cricket when he was a law clerk and subsequently played for RBPF when he joined the force, until he resigned and went to England.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Artax, I was trying to remember if Graham had ever made the Barbados youth team… as I recall he certainly was in the mix along with people like Clyde Mascoll who I believe went to youth trials.

I know that after the chucking rumours started (rightly or not) Graham’s chances for top flight selection waned considerably.

But yes he was a frightening school boy cricketer.

34. If U gents believe Graham was scary U should have faced Waco Daniel in R Tree!

He was bouncing so fast the ball was reaching the HC Tuck Shop on the full! Making a horrendous noise that God’s Thiunder would have been proud of.

Mothers were complaining bout laundering de skid marks in the fellas underwear, I was told!

35. Cozier’s body set for viewing on Wednesday
    Bridgetown, Barbados, May 16 – (www.bcacricket.org) – Arrangements have been set in train for members of the public to pay final respect to the internationally acclaimed cricket writer, commentator and journalist Tony Cozier, on Wednesday, May 18 from 12 – 6 p.m. in an area behind the 3Ws Stand at Kensington Oval.

Cozier’s body will be on display (in closed casket) and individuals will be able to sign ‘remembrance books’ in his honour. These books will be kept at the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) for posterity.

The BCA extends a special invitation to all members of the cricket and local sports family.

Cozier, a Barbadian, died in hospital here on May 11 following an illness. He was 75.

His funeral service and cremation will take place on Friday, May 20 at Coral Ridge Memorial Gardens, The Ridge, in the southern parish of Christ Church at 3 p.m.

36. @ de pedantic Dribbler

Ronald is a few years older than I am and I’m not sure if he was ever selected for a Barbados youth team. But I doubt it since he was accused of “pelting” just as his career was about ascend.

I knew he played cricket with Henderson Roach and a then fierce fast bowler, Mark Redman who also attended Ellerslie, but I can’t remember Clyde Mascoll.

As youngsters we used to go on Ellerslie’s pasture to watch cricket, since, at that time, it was the most popular sport played at the school. During the summer, school teams from Trinidad, Guyana and other Caribbean islands, used to camp at Ellerslie and played cricket against other school teams.

Unfortunately, “that was a thing of the past.”

37. When cricket first begun to show on CBC I used to turn down the volume and turn on the radio.

It was awful listening to those local TV commentators.

I was trying to remember when CBC started carrying live test cricket.

I suspect it was early 70’s because I seem to remember Uton Dowe demonstrating to all the Caribbean that there was actually an 11th commandment …. Dowe shall not bowl.

Gavaskar eviscerated him an evening, fast or not

Skill is skill!!

Any body remember when CBC first started covering Test Cricket in the Caribbean?

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Maybe 68, but in those days you got the last half hour and highlights.

in the 74 test the whole Saturdays play was broadcast as the gates had to be closed very early. This was because the word had spread like wildfire about the elegance of Lawrence Rowe’s 50 not out just before close of play on the Friday evening

39. I saw the 50 by Rowe the evening.

I got an invite the night to Kensington as all Barbados was agog!!

Again, it was adults involved in the bringing up of their children that got me the invite, and a couple of other boys mad about cricket.

One of the few times I sat still and actually watched cricket was the following day at Kensington.

I saw the innings up close.

That’s why I liked the radio, you cold carry it around with you and do your chores, sit and talk with others around the yard or in the field and talk cricket.

That’s why Tony Cozier meant a lot to me … it was nearly always his voice I heard.

I love cricket but I have only been to a days play in three matches …. I watched Sobers and Davis at Kensington against New Zealand after Taylor had skittled us out for 133 in the first innings, then Rowe’s 302 and I got to Lords in 76 and saw Holding bowling to Steele and Close from square leg.

I wanted Holding to run through England but I have to admit I appreciated the courage shown by those two even if they may not have made a lot of dazzling runs.

I find as I have got older I appreciate skill more and more and it doesn’t matter which team shows it. I have come to understand that West Indies cricket in the hands of our politicians will die sooner or later but I realize they cannot stop me from enjoying cricket.

It is all in the mind!!

40. @GP

Do not forget the one camera position from the pavilion end. Boundaries at point/longon were missed!

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

yes indeed David
    John the 3 times you went to cricket were 3 memorable occasions

42. I was at The Mecca for countless memorable situations

1 Jeff Jones, ENG leftie pacer, being spanked for 4x 4s in on over by The Gar.

2 Gavaskar wanting to lash Dowe and hooking flat but right at backward square late in the day.

3 Dowe being crucified by a 40 yr old Seymour who “buckle popped” him with some wicked straight drives and Geoff Greenidge who played him off his hip right into the Kensington stand for 6, a rare 6 for Mr Stonewall.

4 Saw Lawrence of JA, the Yagga, score with ease and fluency, pity he had eye probs as he was destined to be great. Interestingly, people do not know there was another chap who was destined for greatness in Australia who was considered better than Bradman but died of “Consumption” at like 23-24 yrs.

Many other instances.

Had to leave at 4.45pm the day of the WC 07 when WI could not defend 300 runs, just could not stomach the nonsense, especially after the incident with Samuels and Lara, which I actually missed because I went to secure my Flyin Fish lunch before the horde. I ddoesnt like nobuddy between me and my FF lunch!

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

“buckle popped”
    Have not heard that term since I was a teen!
    re Jeff Jones, ENG leftie pacer, being spanked for 4x 4s in on over in 68 by The Gar.
    In this over Garry actually left the ground and swatted him -tennis like shot

My first two visits to the Oval were with my father and brother in 62. We sat on the grass next to the sight screen. In the first ,Grifith bowled Kanhai with a no ball. The Kanhai and Solomon shared some licks. On the scond occasion Rusi Surti ran out either Sobers or Kanhai in the test match. Interestingly Lance Gibbs took 8 wickets in the second innings of both these matches, if my memory serves me right.

In 67 I can remember Tom Graveney hooking Hall off his cap week on to the Kensington Stand real hard.

44. I was talking to my old cane cutter friend and asked him about cricket fields in Christ Church. He told me about one at Searles Factory and one below Spencer’s Factory by the old Airport which has been obliterated.

He told me about Spongers which became Hamilton and also Lancashire in Parish Land. I suspect they arose to compete against the established teams, I believe from the factories.

He remembered two white teams in St. Philip, one near Groves and the other by Beulah … Windward I guess.

So I asked him who the white teams played.

That is the only time I have seen him at a loss for words, we both figured it must have been the black teams and each other!!

We then got talking about the numerous playing fields the Government has provided complete with pavilion and all sorts of amenities.

Both of us asked each other the same question …. you see any cricket playing there?

That’s why I reckon West Indies cricket will die sooner or later ….. the sense of belonging to an economic activity created the need to express that belonging through excellence at sport and that sense no longer exists.

I suspect it was the same in all territories and of course, the economic activity was the same … sugar!!

Colonel Buggy expressed the sentiment when he remarked that Mount Wilton produced the finest sugar in Barbados.

I understand his sentiments.

I feel the factory was a source of pride for people in the area, quite apart from the fact that it provided jobs.

45. The pasture at Serles produced Sylvester Clarke and his brother Roddy Estwick.

46. John wrote “That’s why I reckon West Indies cricket will die sooner or later ”

Test cricket may die but T20 will continue because of the excitement and its short time frame for a match like Soccer and Baseball.

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

iNTERESTING SUBMISSIONS BY JOHN AND DAVID

UNFORTUNATELY A LOT MORE SUCH GROUNDS HERE AND THERE HAVE BEEN LONG LOST

i THINK OF MY BELOVED ALLEYNE’S PASTURE IN AMITY LODGE WHICH PRODUCED DARNLEY BOXHILL AND RICARDO RICHARDS CRAIGG

THIS PLOT OF LAND HAS LONG BEEN COVERED WITH WALLED HOUSES SINCE THE EARLY 70’S

48. The pasture near the Sth Pt Lighthouse produced Joel “Big Bird” Garner, he also would pass by and play on the pasture to the East of Pegwell, long since built up.

One late afternoon in Atlantic shores Bird at 17 yrs says he was aiming to play U-19 for Bim and some of the fellas laugh at him. When he first played at that level he was described as being “somewhat of a trundler.” I knew he had ability but no one thought he would be one of the greatest, especially at ODI. Wayne Waco Daniel was always on a very high glide path BUT as a good lesson to the youth it is interesting how their paths diverged.

Did u guys notice how the BCL are not fielding a team this year?????
    I remember the BCL Teams from Victoria, Sam Lords, Oistins, Maxwell, Seawell, Bathsheba, St Augistine—– Timothy Callender used to write short stories about area rivalries like St Jude’s.

Those were the best days of my life in the 1960s-70s. Why would any Bajan want to be born and raised anywhere else?