CL Financial Bailout – Duprey’s Gambit

Afra Raymond

Last week we learned that Lawrence Duprey and his fellow CL Financial shareholders are victims of a badly-handled bailout. According to the Duprey version, the State must halt all asset disposals a…

Source: CL Financial Bailout – Duprey’s Gambit

204 thoughts on “CL Financial Bailout – Duprey’s Gambit

1. @ Alvin Cummins May 8, 2016 at 7:31 AM #
    “Prove it in court that his actions were illegal. Who did he force to buy those instruments? Greed!Greed! and the expectation of making high profits.
    When this thing started Mia had responsibility for the supervisor of insurance. What action did she take to stop it? It would be interesting to find out how many of them purchased the instruments, and if they lost any money..”

Alvin, why don’t you stop lying? The nearer you get to your god the more your moral character deteriorates.

The function of the supervisor of insurance fell under the Ministry of Finance. When was Mia ever the substantive minister of that portfolio?
    You jackass!

When the then Supervisor of Insurance, Ms. Drakes-Braithwaite, wrote to CLICO and instructed them to cease the peddling of those illegal instruments what did your innocent saintly friend in bull(y)ing Greenverbs do?

2. WW&C wrote:

Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 6:38 AM #

“Parris and other executives created the scam to approach and rob policyholders, mind you, not only the EPA investors got robbed, but all policyholders at the Clico.”

Alvin Cummins responded with the following comment:

“Alvin Cummins May 8, 2016 at 7:31 AM #: Well Well: Prove it in court that his actions were illegal. Who did he force to buy those instruments? Greed!Greed! and the expectation of making high profits….”

@ Mr. Cummins

And what do people BUYING INSTRUMENTS have to do with the $3.333M WW&C was REFERRING to?

Mr. Cummins, why do you CONTINUALLY expose your IGNORANCE, bury your head in the sand and refusal to accept vital information whenever this CLICO fiasco comes to the fore for discussion?

Even if we were to consider your comments, are you SUGGESTING that people BUYING “instruments” with the “expectation of making high profits, (which, by the way, is the MAIN reason why people invest), gives Leroy Parris (et al) the RIGHT to EMBEZZLE CIL’s money?

Do you know you sound EQUALLY as STUPID as the idiot we have for a prime minister, Freundel Stuart, when, on Sunday, August 19, 2012, he told the yard-fowls attending the DLP’s 57th Annual Conference on that “The forensic audit report prepared by Deloitte Canada about the operations of CLICO International Life Insurance in Barbados was stolen…..”

Or in March 2016, while contributing to the debate on the 2015/2016 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure in the House of Assembly, he felt smug as he spoke in WARNING TERMS about a “list of names,” in his possession, of those individuals who invested in the Executive Flexible Premium Annuity, and indicated that in due course, he would expose it.

3. @ Mr. Cummins

Allow me to refresh your memory relative to the $3.333M.

The following excerpt was taken from the EXECUTIVE SUMMARY, found on page 4 of the DELOITTE FORENSIC REPORT as of December 5, 2011. (You could also read page 2 of the DELOITTE FORENSIC REPORT of June 21, 2013.):

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for FEES or RETAINERS RELATED to VARIOUS LEGAL MATTERS involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL AUTHORIZED the INVOICE for PAYMENT.”

“We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, IT WAS IN FACT TO THE BENEFIT OF MR. PARRIS AS PARTIAL PAYMENT OF A “GRATUITY”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.”

Mr. Cummins, as the very poor “spin doctor” you are, you will obviously try to put a DLP’s yard-fowl spin on the issue. However, I will “break it down” as simple as I possibly can.

The law firm of Thompson & Associates issued an invoice to CIL for $3.333M due in respect of various legal services rendered to CIL. Leroy Parris subsequently authorized the invoice for payment.
    The forensic audit revealed that, in actuality, the invoice was prepared to pay Parris $3.333M, which he alleged CIL owed him for gratuity.

In other words, Thompson & Associates, through an invoice, made claim for payments for providing CIL with various legal services. Parris authorized the payment. Thompson & Associates deposited the cheque and paid Parris $3.333, which he said the company owed him.

If CIL indeed owed Parris gratuity, could he not have found a more transparent method of receiving such payment, rather than providing a fraudulent invoice for SERVICES THAT WERE NOT RENDERED, as a ploy to extort money from CIL?

• Alvin
      While I admire Patrick Bethel’s tenacity, I like U, decided to seek my fortune in Canada.
      Tom was certainly one of our better Bim leaders. However, like many of the leaders from Oxbridge he failed to appreciate that 70%Tax is totally ridiculous. These “booklearner typres” never ask themselves simple questions like “how will clever people react.” WHY? These genius types believe they are always correct. I never said the BLP were equally bad. My contention is never trust ANY political group 100%. This is why I am not a member of any Political Party, non blindly support any party! BTW I knew Bree fairly well, he was a good fella.

I have never said to carte blanch we must assume that Bim should be Singapore Pt2. Learn lessons and adapt. We can give Bimsters alternatives that lead to success or failure.

Let me be very clear that many Voters dont have a clue in any Nation. Proof of this is the election of Justin in Canada! Most Voters are IGNORANT and dont know what is good for the Nation! Singapore and LKY should be judged by RESULTS which are very good. Some prefer to learn from Failures like Castro’s Cuban Abortion, I prefer learning from Successful entities like LKY’s Singapore. Skulls had to be cracked in Singapore because there were Commies infiltrating so LKY, knowing that Communism is a WASTE of time removed the threat. I believe in a written Document that defines that Communism etc is NOT going to be ever pursued! Unlike Commies I am willing to let Commie believers LEAVE my Country ie Bim and go live with a hungry stomach in Cuba (or Russia in the past) Notice how Bim/ US attracts people and other places suffers from people willing to risk their lives to the Ocean/ Sharks to get to the US!

Are Bajans happy with the DLP results and approach? NO! The BLP failed to impress with their internal troubles! Why did U not quote Econ numbers? Not flattering are they?

4. @Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 7:58 AM # re “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”———-

You are either very ‘ignorant’ of what actually happens in Bim or are just being provocative!

Unless Alvin’s made a reference that he directly won a Barbados National Scholarship awarded based on GCE results then there is absolutely no disconnect with him saying he won a ‘scholarship’.

Other types and forms of scholarships were in vogue as far as I know…back then not many but still a few!

To make a modern comparison. There are at least two current parliamentarians who can say they won scholarships. But they too would not be misleading anyone that they won Barbados Nat Scholarships. Toppin and Hinkson were boldly acclaimed in the papers as winners of UWI scholarship at different times.

Well probably three as I believe Bostic at some point attended military school on scholarship as well…so too @Franklyn here on the blog if I a not mistaken.

What’s in a word unless one thinks carefully!

5. @Artax May 8, 2016 at 10:13 AM # Your post also highlights what any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering.

Personally I am still dumb struck that not a fella, not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction. But one assumes that with Thompson’s death so died any case.

• Miller,
      Cuba gin lash we on touristses. Saw dat coming long time. Between dat and teeeffing Lawyers why would anyone buy property in Bim?

6. LOL the betzpaenic dribbler admits “Personally I am still dumb” THAT IS VERY CLEAR. VERY ACCURATE!and THE TRUTH

hear de betzpaenic de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 1:35 PM # AGAIN!

@Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 7:58 AM # re “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”———-

You are either very ‘ignorant’ of what actually happens in Bim or are just being provocative!

FACTS ARE THAT NO COMBERMERIAN GOT A BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP BEFORE TREVOR SHEPHERD (in Spanish)

In those days besides Barbados Scolarship there were Bovell and Aubrey Collymore Scholarships, and these were not really open scholarships

National Scholarships came later

Here the idiotis twit again “What’s in a word unless one thinks carefully!”

WORDS ARE VERY IMPORTANT
    WORDS ARE THERE TO BE USED BY CAREFUL THINKERS NOT BY THE BETZPAENIC
    WORD PLACEMENT IS ALSO MOST IMPORTANT

example

THE LORD HIMSELF WILL PROVIDE A SACRIFICE IS FAR DIFFERENT

TO
    THE LORD WILL PROVIDE A SACRIFICE HIMSELF

Well Well & Consequences, YOUR QUESTION IS REASONABLE AND ACCURATE “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”

7. Pedantic….I am very well acquainted with how scholarships are obtained in Barbados, even back in the 70s, more importantly and personally in the 80s, 90s and 2000s….let Alvin answer the question.

Have you ever won a Barbados Scholarship Pedantic…certain things I do not comment on unless they are very close to home.

8. Dribbler
    I don’t know what words Alvin’Boots’Cummins used however if he said he won a BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP then he has egg all over his face.You may find reason to put another spin on those 2 powerful words which carry a single interpretation for Bajans.

9. Before you answer Pedantic, wont want you hurting yourself….in the 70s, ya would get one or maybe 2 candidates for scholarship, as the years rolled by and government finances improved ya got more, by 2010 there were over 30-50 scholarship winners and every year since they have been increasing, so they are not an anomaly anymore, the youth on the island have academic potential, they only need that push.

10. RE Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 2:42 PM #
    Pedantic….
    Have you ever won a Barbados Scholarship Pedantic…certain things I do not comment on unless they are very close to home.

COME ON WELL WELL
    YOU CANT BUY THEM. THEY DONT GIVE THEM WAY
    YOU DONT GET THEM FOR WRITING LOTS AND LOTS OF SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHITE

11. And I am speaking about Barbados Scholarships/Exhibitions…but I will let Alvin explain…lol

12. Miller
    When Clico and Parris refused to cease and desist from selling the EFPA’s, the Supervisor of Insurance whom you named and the Commissioner of Police Dottin took the company to court.The response by the Democratic Labour Party government led by froon ably assisted by his financial wizards,sent both plaintiffs on leave.They seem to be still on leave and the court matter is probably in the queue.

13. Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 2:47 PM #
    RE .in the 70s, ya would get one or maybe 2 candidates for scholarship,
    IN FACT IN 1972 THERE WERE NO BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIPS OFFERED—ONLY BARBADOS EXHIBITION SCHOLARSHIPS

14. @ Well well your sparring partner reminded me a few days ago of third form at school. Those days when 12-14 year olds did some absolutely inane stuff… one such was ‘beak brek’, said when someone made a statement that so absolutely out of place that it showed their head was lost in space.

You just admitted that you are familiar with scholarships etc in Alvin’s time yet you are still asking de man wha scholarship he received vis a vis your query of not entering sixth form….

We would have had great fun at your expense back den.

—– Pieces put up a screed of a book as ‘wewantchange’ poster… and you went looking to buy the damn thing! Inane 12 year olds say…beek brek off!

—- I mentioned Dottin of Naked Departure and clearly ‘compared ‘ de Boys in de Band author Angela Cole as a reference. Yet, you come on de blog to let me know that the two are different people…More inane 12 year old uproar…hole face brek off!

—- Here now you asking me if I won a scholarship…I assume to be able to make a comment about it…OK!

So you must excuse me for not always following your logically progressions.

Alvin is fully capable of defending himself. I only opined that saying if he won a scholarship it did NOT have to mean that he won what we now call our Barbados National…

@Dr GP you really and strangely enough I actually like you despite your so horrible curmudgeon manner. So let me respond to your remark on the other blog this way as mildly as possible…

If you had baited me in third form wid that remark about ‘you must be a short man’ I would have responded in kind as: Last night when I was with you dear sister she certainly didn’t think I was that small!

You want to be puerile. Why I have no idea. So I hope that works for you.

Back then I went on to be a Prefect and Set Officer and all that good stuff. I matured I presume… but we can lapse back to boyhood stupidity, surely. You do daily!

Anyhow dat is one and I dun wid that. I am big enough to handle you on de blog otherwise. Oh lawd!!!

15. RE DRIBBLER If you had baited me in third form wid that remark about ‘you must be a short man’ I would have responded in kind as: Last night when I was with you dear sister she certainly didn’t think I was that small!

and I WOULD HAVE RESPONDED QUITE TRUTHFULLY “JACKASS…I HAVE NO SISTERS!’

AND AGAIN YOU ARE WRONG ABOUT THE SCHOLARSHIPS
    YOU MEAN ALL YOU ACHIEVED AT SCHOOL WAS BEING A Prefect and Set Officer ? LOL

16. dRIBBLER USED TO JERK OFF IN HE BED AT NIGHT WHILE IMAGINING HE WAS WID DE SISTERS OF HIS CLASSMATES …….murdah I got it now

17. GP come on man you know how the game progressed…not having sisters simply opens the tableau to what today’s youth have given their own pithy acronym….with which I will not defile de blogmasters blog….or further incite your puerile excitement.

You are truly an amazing man…You write your scriptures with such learned depth and in the same breath can be so crass and uncouth…but that is what God intended I suppose when he took fisher-folk as his disciples: men who are the rough and tumble of the world who can mix it up with the best and worst.

Yes that all I came away with…remember some wise person once said that he learned to be a man at his institution of learning.

You good sir came away with a scholarship…clearly being a man was never a consideration at any time despite your being steeped in the church according to you.

One can only surmise why you think its necessary to pompassette as you do here. The imagination runs wild with visions of deep-seated pain and trauma that needs to be lanced so that the poison can ebb and flow away…..LOLL. Too much Hollywood!

Carry on smartly Mr Smart Fellow.

18. de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 4:35 PM #
    GP come on man you know how the game progressed

YOU SEE WE DIDNT PLAY SILLY GAMES AS YOU DID AT YOUR SCHOOL OK? AT LEAST I DIDNT. So I dont know how the game progressed
    WE PAID REAL GAMES…like cricket and table tennis at which I was quite good

Yes I am amazing
    And yes I know the Scriptures
    And yes I came away with a scholarship
    And NO your pithy ignorant attempts at psychological analysis is extremely poor.
    To do this properly, you have to get adequate training

There are no deep-seated pain and trauma that needs to be lanced so that the poison can ebb and flow away. I had a most enjoyable boyhood and was quite successful in life

WHEN YOU COME ON BU…..TRY TO BE ACCURATE
    KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT BEFORE YOU COME
    LEARN FROM YOUR INTELLECTUAL SUPERIORS

19. de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 1:45 PM #

“@Artax May 8, 2016 at 10:13 AM # Your post also highlights what any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering.”

“Personally I am still dumb struck that not a fella, not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction. But one assumes that with Thompson’s death so died any case.”

@ de pedantic Dribbler

I am “dumb struck that” CLICO’s accountants, Price Waterhouse Coopers, were not called to account for seemingly ignoring questionable accounting transactions and giving the company, through annual reports, a “clean bill of health.”

Crime is basically interpreted to be committed not only against the victim, but the society and resulting in a police investigation. A criminal case is brought by the appropriate government institution in response to a suspected violation of law, and a fine, jail sentence, or both are sought. Civil cases are generally brought by private individuals or corporations seeking to collect money owed or monetary damages.

As it relates to “any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering” and “not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction,” based on what has transpired so far, apparently rather than pursuing a criminal suit, the Judicial Manager seemed to have chosen to pursue civil action to recover the $3.333M from Parris, his associated businesses and the estate of the late Thompson.

Perhaps if the police were invited to investigate, there may have been a different result, whereby the High Court would have frozen Parris in a jail cell, rather than the $4.5M of his assets and that of Branlee Consulting Services Inc.

I may be wrong, but I believe the end result is based on type of court proceedings pursued in this case.

20. Arising it of all this Clico/Duprey/Parris/Thompson duplicity and con games with the people’s health and welfare and given the obvious support given these citizens so called,by an elected official whose source of power and authority appear boundless,namely the Prime Minister of Barbados,our system of governance cries out for immediate change if violence by mob rule is to be avoided at all costs.Government in these small island states can only be enhanced by a Federal form of governance and the sooner the better.Schumacher’s Small is Beautiful did not consider the crop of corrupt politicians and their cohorts in the private sector,barefaced,inefficient and ineffective as obtained today in little Barbados,once the Gem of the Caribbean.

21. Just an observation or a random thought thrown into the blogosphere.

DPD handling himself like a boss and showing some real class… Can he maintain it?

Just gazing

22. Pedantic…is Barbados National a new scholarship I must have missed that one…. and I see you are keeping score, whether accurately or inaccurately, just like a 12 year old.

23. GP…Both Exhibition and Scholarship, which are both scholarships in my estimation, are sources of great academic achievement, great focus, they do not come easily…and are also a springboard to whatever you aspire to achieve, a whole new world opens..

24. WW
    NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT SCHOLARSHIPS WERE OFFERED IN THE 70’S TO PERSONS SEEKING TO STUDY AREAS THOUGHT TO BENEFIT THE COUNTRY ,,,,,,,,,,,,,OTHER THAN THE TRADITIONAL LAW OR MEDICINE

MY BROTHER GOT ONE IN 77 OR 78

25. WW
    RE GP…Both Exhibition and Scholarship, which are both scholarships in my estimation, are sources of great academic achievement, great focus, they do not come easily…and are also a springboard to whatever you aspire to achieve, a whole new world opens..

I AGREE WITH YOU BUT SOME HOW THE TWO ARE DISTINGUISHABLE IN THE WAY THEY ARE THOUGHT OF
    E.G IF YOU CHECK THE MAHOGANY BOARDS IN THE HALL AT HC, THE NAMES FOR EXHIBITIONS ARE ON DIFFERENT BOARDS THAN THOSE FOR THE SCHOLARSHIPS

THE EXHIBITIONS STARTED TO BE OFFERED MAY BE 60 OR 70 YEARS AFTER THE SCHOLARSHIPS

26. GP……I heard about them, are those the ones usually for those with undergraduate or graduate degrees pursuing further studies, if so, that certainly applies to national development.

I suppose that is one Alvin would have gotten, but he never wants to say the truth….even to tell me I am wrong.

27. GP…..Of course the most ignorant are supposed to be the most educated in the society, never miss an opportunity to denigrate anything, even a scholarship as useful as the Exhibition, is it any wonder that it’s distaseful to these brilliant young people to return, only to be seen as not good enough….think about it, it’s the people who never got either scholarship are the ones to turn up their noses…lol

I know a young person got one some years ago and to be honest, the powers that be dont deserve to know how well that person has done, they took care of their commitments and that should be enough.

28. But whether Alvin got a national scholarship or one paid for by the US government, he still reduced himself to the level of yardfowl to condone theft from policyholders by Parris et al, just because he is a party member, I find that despicable.

Nous allons voir le calcul des conséquences pour l’avenir.

29. @Gazer, you need to be careful with comments like that @ 7:05 PM…your fellow HC alum does not take kindly to anyone beneath his exalted status challenging anything he says…or in your case providing some relief to one who challenges him. LOLL. I appreciate the remarks.

I have absolutely no idea why there is seaming angry chatter about Bdos Scholarship. Clearly we are all basically recalling from memory and just as clearly some are almost totally clueless. Now for blogging common-sense sake can we stop this folly of who has the biggest hands crap…or in your case Ms WW&C who has the most illogical process!

For as long as I was at school and as my memory serves leading up to the 1990s there was a Barbados Scholarship/Exhibition for GCE A level success.

In the early days of Alvin I have no idea exactly how many and what was offered. But Errol Barrow was a recipient f National Scholarship as we were always advised.

From oral history (never researched it) they were supposedly ‘bursaries’ or other awards offered either privately or by gov’t. but these could not be labelled a National scholarship in the sense of the principal national award.

Surely any person who lived it or has the data can advise.

Rolling on through the 90s the Scholarship was expanded. Due to 1) more students getting excellent results 2) leading to a call for more students to be awarded to have the opportunity to expand their knowledge for the country and 3) as the BCC was growing there was a call to offer an award outside the standard disciplines on which the scholarship was based.

I do not recall if that was the genesis of the Nat Development Scholarship.

However its common knowledge that an Exhibition was a scholarship where the grades were not the three AAA and A in Gen Paper. The top results varied some years as I recall.

When parents started to clamour for recognition for their kids who worked their butts off but got AAA and C in the Gen Paper or AAC and A and got no award in years where results were superior things eventually were modified.

Thus we then had Scholarship and Exhibition Scholarship.

Anyhow any teacher or Min of Ed person in the ambit of this blog can easily clarify all of this.

Further the other issue was that students doing literature and languages had a more difficult study path towards a scholarship than those doing sciences…

Then there was the inability to equate the non GCE standard course work to the scholarship award standards. And that led to another push for recognition at the National Scholar level for those students who excelled.

All that was in the scholarship mix…more or less. And surely there are folks here who can provide precise chapter and verse. Why all this chatter as if its a secret! Oh my lawd!

30. ww
    RE GP……I heard about them, are those the ones usually for those with undergraduate

yes the ones for undergraduate study

31. clarification: “Then there was the inability to equate the non GCE standard course work …”

That being the Assoc Degree course work at BCC

32. What I have always found as a much more compelling discussion re Barbados scholars is why there is no national registry of those so awarded and in some regards an accounting of where they are.

Obviously – as Jeff noted on another blogs – students evolve and develop at different paces so its not that we are putting a spotlight on these academics to the detriment of others or to put any undue pressure of those awardees. Rather for a small island we should be spotlighting their successes and encouraging others of that ability to strive to be like them.

And as importantly we should be pushing our scholars into areas that will provide greatest future upside to them and to the country.

33. DE PEDANTIC BETZPAENIC MORON ALWAYS TRIES TO PROVE HE IS RIGHT WHEN HE IS WRONG WRONG WRONG

GRANTLEY ADAMS TOM ADAMS HENRY FORDE SANDIFORD WERE BARBADOS SCHOLARS BUT NOT BARROW

YOU ARE TOTALLY CLUELESS, AS USUAL AS, IS VERY CLEAR BUT OTHERS HERE KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT

RE I have absolutely no idea why there is seaming angry chatter about Bdos Scholarship.
    NO ONE IS ANGRY
    WW WANTS TO TALK ABOUT IT, SO THATS A GOOD REASON TO TALK ABOUT IT

EXHIBITIONS WERE OFFERED AS EARLY AS THE EARLY 70’S ON THE BASIS OF THE UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP EXAMS WHICH WERE WRITTEN IN FEBRUARY- MARCH

RE Further the other issue was that students doing literature and languages had a more difficult study path towards a scholarship than those doing sciences…
    BOVINE EXCREMENT

students doing literature and languages WERE GETTING SCHOLARSHIPS FROM THE INCEPTION AND ALL ALONG

MANY OF THOSE WHO EVENTUALLY BECAME DRS GOT THEIRS IN CLASSICS. EG DR JORDAN

HOW CAN A MAN WHO IS SO IGNORANT ABOUT WHAT HE IS TALKING, TALK SO MUCH WAFFLE AS HE SEEKS TO CONTRADICT THOSE WHO KNOW

EXCEPT FOR THE LATE DR THOMAS A STUDENT OF BFS WHO GOT A SCHOLARSHIP IN THE 50’S AND DR TR SHEPHERD OF COMBERMERE, BDOS SCHOLARS TENDED TO BE LODGE BOYS OR KOLIJ BOYS, UNTIL THEY DESTROYED THE LODGE SCHOOL

SOME TIME CERCA THE 70’S OR LATER ONE OF THE FIVE SCHOLARSHIPS AS THY WERE THEN WAS RESERVED FOR A FEMALE

THERE WERE NO SCHOLARSHIPS IN 72… ONE FEMALE AND FOUR LADS GOT EXHIBITIONS

THOSE OF US WHO SANG PRAISES IN THE HALL AT KOLIJ HAD THE PRIVILIGE OF MEETING THE PERSONS ATTACHED TO THE NAMES ON THOSE MAHOGANY BOARDS IN THE KOLIJ HALL

34. WHAT IS VERY CLEAR DE IGNORANT BETZPAENIC DRIBBLER DID NOT GET A SCHOLARSHIP OR AN EXHIBITION

35. Sir you have a grave ego problem. Or just a problem. I hope its not too late for you you to get some help.

I am not trying to prove my being right about anything. I have provided my recollection around this subject that has arisen related to the evolution of the Bdos Scholarship.

I am extremely pleased to know that you have it covered.

That such a person of your accomplishments would consistently devolve to this level of discourse on such a fundamental subject is beyond understanding.

Is this what you offer as a Barbados intelligentsia? Can we be so shocked of the status of our leaders with you as a sterling example. Ridiculous.

36. De Pandetic….as long as the scholars have paid back their loans or met their commitments, what do you want to know where they are for, they owe you something….none of your business, that is what it is, slavery is over…ils doivent ensuite aller chercher pour vous….some I know personally, some are related to me, prefer to live very private lives.

Stephen Alleyne could tell you what it’s like, if he was not dead at too young and age from stress.

37. Suffice it to say….Leroy Parris did not possess scholarship, exhibition or some say a high school education, they say he only reached elementary level, but he made all the ‘scholars’ and “geniuses” who remained on the island look real bad, by robbing the policyholders and the same “genuises”…..the real geniuses and scholars who left the island and stayed away, are the true geniuses.

Which scholar you know would want to attach their names to what the island has become……led by “geniuses”….lol

38. GP,
    Why you people like to call Alvin name so much? Alvin went to Cawmere. I went in the days when ONLT students of, Lodge, Harsun, and Queens had the opportunity to sit the B’dos Scholarship exam. In those days; the days of Grantley, Tom, Springer etc, won scholarships, only ONE scholarship was awarded and it was a competitive single exam.. There were no science classes or labs at the other secondary schools until the sixties.Students of my time had to pay to go to secondary school, and my mother could not afford to pay for me to go to Harsun. (more expensive than Cawmere. So Alvin had to do all his science studies at university level, when he was able to study in the U.S. via a tuition waiver.. He was good at some of the other subjects though.

39. And may I add, those scholars who stay well away, contribute significantly to the island’s economy, they are very private and do not need publicity or cameras or politicians and politics…to give back to the people whose taxes made it possible for them to see a new and positive way to progress.

40. Dribbler
    You must now be clear that GP is not to be trifled with.He is the one who seeks to put BU readers right whenever the occasion demands.I myself am a tad surprised at some of the stuff you present for the esteemed BU readership.You should have known that EWB’s higher education was as a result of his contribution to the effort of WW2.GP mentioned Dr Oscar Jordan in classics.So also was Dr Richie Haynes and we are told that JMGM could have won the scholarship in sciences also.We definitely benefitted from the great scholarship of Barrow,Adams and Haynes.When these gents spoke,no damn dog barked.

41. betzpaenic drivling brimbling dribbler

de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 11:21 PM #
    RE Sir you have a grave ego problem. Or just a problem.

YES I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MORONS WHO DO NOT KNOW BUT SEEK TO SHOW THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW

YES I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH FOLK WHO DONT KNOW WHEN TO SHUT UP WHEN THEY HAVE BEEN PROVED WRONG AND TO BE THE IDIOTS THEY ARE

I hope its not too late for you you to get some help.

YES SOON THE RAPTURE WILL OCCUR, AND I WILL BE IN A PLACE WHERE MORONS WILL KNOW THEIR PLACE . CAN YOU IMAGINE THE BLISS?

RE
    I am not trying to prove my being right about anything. I have provided my recollection around this subject that has arisen related to the evolution of the Bdos Scholarship. AND YOUR RECOLLECTION IS VERY VERY POOR. AND I HAVE CORRECTED YOUR SHORT COMINGS WITH STRONG CORRECT ANSWERS

I am extremely pleased to know that you have it covered. I NEVER POST ON A BLOG ANYTHING THAT I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT

That such a person of your accomplishments would consistently devolve to this level of discourse on such a fundamental subject is beyond understanding. I HAVE TO SET THE FACTS STRAIGHT consistently!

Is this what you offer as a Barbados intelligentsia? Can we be so shocked of the status of our leaders with you as a sterling example. Ridiculous.

PLEASE KINDLY NOT THAT WHILE BEING Barbados intelligentsia I HAVE NEVER SOUGHT LEADERSHIP, nor have I been a leader IN ANYTHING except Church Choirs, known to sing more difficult music than was expected .
    if I was the leader on this blog you would not be here! You are not up to standard.

WHAT YOU NEED TO BE SHOCKED AT IS WHY /HOW MANY LIKE ME of the Barbados intelligentsia WITH GREAT IDEAS WERE NEVER ALLOWED TO FLOURISH IN BARBADOS
    BECAUSE OF ENVY,
    BECAUSE WE WERE THOUGHT TO BE A THREAT TO OUR SUPERIORS,
    BECAUSE WE WERE NOT IN THE PARTY IN POWER,
    BECAUSE WE CHOSE NOT TO BE ASS LICKERS

DO YOU THINK THE IDEA TO RUN THE NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE FROM POLYCLINICS INSTEAD OF DOCTORS OFFICES WAS IN KEEPING OF A GOOD OFFERING BY a Barbados intelligentsia?
    DO YOU KNOW THAT THE MORONS IN POWER HAVE FAILED TO ACCEPT IDEAS FOR ITS FURTHER DEVELOPMENT?

42. Alvin Cummins May 9, 2016 at 7:28 AM #
    Sir I respect the fact that you know about what you speak, and that what you have said above is ACCURATE. I also respect your accomplishments abroad. It can not have been easy.

43. LOLL # Gabriel, so you are saying that when GP speaks not a dog must bark! Strangle enough that is NOT what the hard labour of our education system was built to facilitate.

Pray tell what so makes you ” tad surprised at some of the stuff you present for the esteemed BU readerships”. Surely you are not confabulating my remark about literature and languages vis a vis a scholarship in Classics.

Regardless, this was never a fight or argument (at least not on my part). I was certainly not attempting to offer a definitive commentary on the matter…I clearly noted it was remarks based on memory.

Generally speaking as bloggers we amend to the discourse and build….

Dr GP apparent need to eviscerate anyone who says ‘biff’ different to him is childish and pathetic!

It was an interesting palaver as usual….BTW, I always was of the view that EWB had achieved a Scholarship from BIM so I am now suitably corrected.

@WW&C…there is nothing sinister about my comment of basically ‘where are they now’. No one wants to hound or harass. It’s a simple construct of life to look towards your best and brightest.

The names of the scholars are proudly listed on ‘Boards’ at the various schools. There is absolutely no comprehensive list available however. Nothing sinister. And certainly not a damn thing about paying back loans.

You have a tendency to proceed along the most unnecessary paths! And make some absolutely strange remarks. Whether Stephen died (blessed be to the man’s memory) as a result of stress or not what in heavens name does that have to do with anything here.

44. Alvin,

I was one of the thousands that voted for this administration as being the lesser of the two evils. Not as angels sent down from heaven. I accepted that they could never be perfect. That means they have to be wrong sometimes. How many times have you admitted to any wrongdoing? This is what makes me dismiss your opinions not always the opinions in themselves. You have NO CREDIBILITY!

45. Alvin,
    Let me say that I respect your tenacity in attaining an excellent education. If memory serves U have stated U accomplished a very high position an organised the Labs at Mt Sinai here in TOR. Please reconsider your positions on political topics where U seem to be a lackey. Surely U are positioning yourself at a very low level in this respect.

46. Pedantic. ..trust you to miss the whole point…but I will not walk that road again and I know all the scholars will agree with me.

Just be content that ya can go to any school with a 6th form and view the names of your local scholars, that should be more than enough because the scholars are right and well within their rights to stay the hell away and stay private, as long as corrupt politicians and their bribers continue to consume the island.

47. Alvin keeps insulting his own standard and level of education, it’s insulting to the institutions that schooled him, to the taxpayers of Barbados and to the memory of his parents who am sure smelled hell to scrape a few bucks to send him to school only to see him supporting fly by night crooks who were not born yet and who benefited from “free”;education he had to scratch to get….yet, look what they have done with the taxpayer funded education they received.

I bet not one of the politicians gave a hoot about what Alvin had to endure to succeed in NY or Toronto….they just know it was not as easy as taking bribes and selling out country and people.

48. re LOLL # Gabriel, so you are saying that when GP speaks not a dog must bark!
    betzpaenic This is not what Gabriel said ya idiot. Did not the prefects at your school learn English COMPREHENSION?

Gabriel clearly said “We definitely benefitted from the great scholarship of Barrow,Adams and Haynes.When these gents spoke,no damn dog barked.” Had nothing to do with me.

re I always was of the view that EWB had achieved a Scholarship from BIM so I am now suitably corrected.
    GOOD That is what Gabriel was telling you. Namely, if you talk shite on BU you call it confabulation THAT GP WILL CORRECT YOU!

GP is not a surgeon or murderer and has never eviscerated anyone
    GP also knows that virtually slapping you across your head is pointless because you are BETZPAENIC!

re The names of the scholars are proudly listed on ‘Boards’ at the various schools. There is absolutely no comprehensive list available however. HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT? When I wanted a statement about mine to support some application I got info on mine from the MOE.

Leave WW&C… for me twit.
    She makes more sense than you on this blog, and does it in shorter compass!

re It’s a simple construct of life to look towards your best and brightest.
    YOU DONT CARE ABOUT OUR BEST AND BRIGHTEST BECAUSE THEY CUT YOUR LIKKLE SHORT TAIL WHEN YOU STEP OUT OF LINE WITH YOUR PETTY PITHY “CONFABULATIONS”
    Do you even know what the word means or its etymology?

49. Donna…it’s about the dishonesty of thiefing Leroy Parris and the politicians who enabled him, it’s about the credibilty of yardfowls who would condone theft of millions of dollars from Clico policyholders.

All involved or who are condoning the theft were educated thanks to the same taxpayers they condone the thefts from….that’s the topic.

50. Well Well,

That Parris Castle looks like a monstrosity to me. No style whatsoever. He’s welcome to it. LOL.

51. Lol…..I am sure he has quite a few monstrosities around the island, in St. Lucia and/or Dominca in his name which the policyholders really own.

52. David
    The latest headline on Barbados Today is New ambulances for QEH.
    When will they ever learn?
    Why are ambulances still stationed in Bridgetown? Or assigned to QEH?
    Why are ambulances NOT stationed at Polyclinics or regionally to facilitate movement towards the polyclinics or QEH?
    Why is QEH still the hub of Healthcare in Bim?
    Why can not the folk paid to implement Healtcare see that QEH ought now only be for accidents and emergencies not treatable at the Polyclinics and GP offices?
    Why is there talk about abandoning the QEH and building another hospital, instead of building other specialists hospitals?
    Why do we have to have people with doctorates in Healthcare management to mess up the QEH, when at its very best, neither Neville Millington or Mr Williams had no such qualifications, but did a wonderful job?

• @GP

There was a plan stated somewhere don’t recall to establish a rapid response system. Will have to research to see what progress has been made. Suspect we do not have enough ambulances to make the plan work.

53. GP…why do you bother to stress yourself, they dont care, everything is falling down all around them. Even Fruendel made it a point to let them know he is ready to throw them all under the bus so he alone would not look corrupt…although I will believe that when he gets rid of the current DPP Leacock..

They do not care and they do not listen to their scholars. You know that first hand.

54. I am stressing myself. I just noting that solutions are often simpler than idiots think
    You know that today there is little work for the postmen to do?
    Would you believe that 25 years ago I told the the Medical officer of Health for Clinicsetc- one “GRAVY” KNIGHT that we should train the post men suitably so that they could interact with the elder, whose homes they then tended to visit daily, with a view to reporting any changes in their health status.
    He laughed me to scorn and took my idea up to Taitt who was then the Minister of Health.
    That man GRAVY did his best until thy got rid of me. I was replaced by a younger woman known to have had a nervous breakdown. Bear in mind that I had designed the system
    But the Lord has looked after me

55. @ GP
    When will they ever learn?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL … boss, you are talking about Honourable Minister John Boyce…. what learn what??!!
    Remember he is the brilliant engineer that built the pedestrian crossing to facilitate Jeff Broomes walking across from Parkinson to CBC to do interviews…

No body else uses the damn thing…

Meanwhile, just a few meters to the South, HUNDREDS of Polytechnic students block up the damn highway traffic…. while crossing too and fro multiple times a day….
    Even Dompey would have got THAT one right….

These people will NEVER learn…
    A fool is a fool is a fool…. until death relieves them of the curse.

56. This little country must use the services of stalwarts much better. Obvious as that is yet it remains so difficult to be done.

Everyone is concerned about their image and asserting their petty civil service power. That has achieved nothing for the nation.

57. GP…the postal service has been reduced to some mail personnel stealing the pensioners checks and finding a way to cash them….they did not care in your time and they care less now.

Any time you introduce anything that is progress oriented ya marked for dismal, it’s like they got a disease, that’s why I took a turn in Pedant for even suggesting that they should know where scholars are, they do not deserve not even the addresses of scholars.

58. And as sure as night follows day, the announcement by the MOH that two more ambulances will soon be added to the fleet, will shotly be followed by the public outcry of a shortage of ambulances to respond to their emergency calls. When I pass down Colymore Rock and see the number of dead and dying ambulances at the Workshop mortuary , I shake my head.
    http://i.imgur.com/tAXKl3t.jpg

59. COLONEL BUGGY,
    WHAT YOU SEE AT THE POLYCLINIC ARE NOT THE ACTUAL WORKING AMBULANCES. THE AMBULANCES ARE LOCATED AT THE OLD GENERA HOSPITAL, ENTRANCE ON ;JEMMOTTS LANE. THE PRIVATE AMBULANCE SERVICE IS RUN OUT OF A PLACE ON SPRING GARDEN IN THE VICINITY OF THE SOL OFFICE THERE..
    Money B. I am entitled to my own opinion good or bad, right or wrong. I do not need to follow other people. When I vote I place only one x.

• Alvin,
      U are indeed entitled to to your opinion.
      I am at a lost to understand the why of some of your positions which are not as logical as a scientific mind would normally be.

60. Alvin Cummins May 9, 2016 at 10:29 PM #
    COLONEL BUGGY,
    WHAT YOU SEE AT THE POLYCLINIC ARE NOT THE ACTUAL WORKING AMBULANCE
    ……………………………………………………………….
    That is exactly my point. Like most government fleets , they are either dumped , abandoned. or under prolonged repairs.
    The build up of ambulances at the Enmore Workshop, translates into a deficiency of ambulances at the Old General Hospital location,and to the general public.
    http://i.imgur.com/rxqXmWI.jpg?1

61. Besides..there are only ever one or 2 working, we hope, ambulances parked by that little house in Spring Garden anyway.

62. I shake my head, because in a previous life I had to oversee the maintenance of 30 high profile,high maintenance ambulances plus 30 general service vehicles and 15 mothballed ambulances which were used occasionally.

63. Well Weell,
    When I passes Spring Garden this afternoon there were six ambulances parked at the house. These are working ambulances. So apart from the ones at the QEH, plus the two new ones received today the ambulance service has been considerably enhance.

64. Alvin Cummins May 11, 2016 at 12:08 AM #
    When I passed Spring Garden this afternoon there were six ambulances parked at the house. These are working ambulances. So apart from the ones at the QEH, plus the two new ones received today the ambulance service has been considerably enhance.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Lets review the status of this statement in 8-12 weeks time .

• Col,
      I thought one of the major problems with the QEH was keeping equipment maintained and parts in stock. Heard that even parts that could be sent down from Miami in a week take 6-8 wks to be ordered.

65. When too much red tape prevails, it could result in even longer delays in getting parts out of Miami. Plus there may not be that level of trust between the supplier and QEH.
    If you are trusted by the supplier,there are short cuts around, that could see the items in Barbados in 24-48 hours.
    The trend these days is not to tie up too much money in having Non-Fast Moving items lying in stock, when they could be obtained in 24 to 48 hours. Maybe a Catch -22 situation for the QEH.
    The bottom is that there is a lack of good fleet management in Barbados.

66. Colonel Buggy,
    Is this only in government? I see minibuses, ZR vans and other vehicles from many fleets undergoing repairs all the time. Criticism about everything all the time. What a bunch of whiners. Even the TTC busses break down. Trains need repairs, airplanes need maintenance.Anything to make a negative comment about.

By the way let me remind you that over fifty percent of the people supported the DLP in 2008 and 2013. So everyone does not support you. Not even a majority.

67. Alvin Cummins May 11, 2016 at 12:08 AM #

“When I passes Spring Garden this afternoon there were six ambulances parked at the house. These are working ambulances. So apart from the ones at the QEH, plus the two new ones received today the ambulance service has been considerably enhanced.”

@ Mr. Cummins

I’m putting it to you that you could not have seen 6 WORKING ambulances parked at that house. You would have seen 4 ambulances, 2 are out of commission and 2 are in service.

Additionally, it was erroneous for you to state that “THE PRIVATE AMBULANCE SERVICE IS RUN OUT OF A PLACE ON SPRING GARDEN IN THE VICINITY OF THE SOL OFFICE THERE..”

For your information, there are approximately 5 businesses in Barbados that provide ambulance services, namely, The Barbados Red Cross, Island Care Ambulance, Islandwide Ambulance, Medic Response and the Sparman Clinic.

68. Alvin Cummins May 11, 2016 at 11:05 PM
    Sir , there is a great big difference between Preventative Maintenance and Breakdown Maintenance.

• The very lazyiest of bastards “work” for Govt or such entities in Bim and globally.
      It is due to pisspoor Damagement as workers who refuse to perform, once they have been properly trained, should be FIRED at some point.

My own daughter works with the Govt and makes 25% more $$$ than she would in the private sector, why?

Governments are far wusser than an Army of occupation because they usually become home sick and leave!

69. Is God Laughing? Many Bajans cannot/

MAN GIVEN 12 MONTH PRISON SENTENCE.

On January 19th this year, Layne stole one suitcase, two wheel earrings, two rack ends, a pair of brake pads and three duffel bags that total $390 . All belonging to Leroy Parris , owner of Parris Insurance Agency on Roebuck Street, the City. Parris also imports car parts from Trinidad and Tobago for retailing. (Barbados Today)

70. Would be interesting if there were numbers for the final cost of a year in jail. A year seems excessive for the sum and items mentioned in the article.

Should have been ordered to return or pay the cost of the items and given a short time in jail.

Are we seeing a return of debtor’s prison???

71. Wondering how the sentencing guideline go. There must be some. Wondering if it matters who you stole from or who is the thief????????

72. Last comment on the above item..
    Given the national penchant for flogging, the judge missed a chance to show how tough he was on thieves by giving jail time and a flogging.

73. Annual Report 1st January to 31st December 2012 – The Barbados …
    http://www.barbadosparliament.com/…/Prison%20Servi...
    Parliament of Barbados
    Jan 1, 2012 – 8.1 Cost of incarcerating offenders…………………………………………………………………………….. – 10 ….. 16.1 Barbados Prison Service Annual Awards Ceremony. …. offender in custody, which translates to Bds $74.37 per day. This figure …

74. Colonel Buggy,
    The ambulances on the Spring Garden do not belong to any of the services mentioned by Artax. The service is run by another individual. and are private. The ambulances of the Red Cross, the Sparman Clinic are housed at these other places.
    Artax has given you the necessary information.

75. Well Well,
    I should mention that my Parents” did not smell hell. My mother; my father died in Bermuda when I was about seven years old, so my mother alone raised us. She smelled more than hell, as a single parent, in those days. We had no welfRE AYATEM A THAT TIME SO ONE HAD TO MAKE DO WITH WHAT ONE HAD, AND DO WITHOUT WHEN IT WAS NOT POSSIBLE TO GET what one wanted. Education was, and always is, the key that unlocks doors

76. Thanks for the number. So the island would spend $27,000 to punish a man for stealing $360. worth of goods.

• 2-4 good tamarind/ birch lashes and some training/ education would work for most of these miscreants, globally, instead of wasting $$$$$ by imprisoning where he might learn from the other Cons

Leave a comment, join the discussion.