Afra Raymond

Last week we learned that Lawrence Duprey and his fellow CL Financial shareholders are victims of a badly-handled bailout. According to the Duprey version, the State must halt all asset disposals a…

Source: CL Financial Bailout – Duprey’s Gambit

204 responses to “CL Financial Bailout – Duprey’s Gambit”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins May 7, 2016 at 10:32 AM
    “How can I mislead BU. Remember I am an idiot, and all those others have much more sense, so how can I mislead them?
    Well Well I do not try to mislead BU folk, I just like to let them know that I will not let them get away with trying to mislead others, or myself.”

If you have never tried to ‘mislead’ BU what would you call the recent classification of the Pierhead Marina project as solely a Private Sector initiative with government merely acting in a facilitating role involving the granting of TCP approvals only?

How come your DLP administration took over the same project from the previous BLP administration and used the BTII as the executing agency to divert millions of tax dollars by way of project redesign consultancy fees into the foreign pockets of politicians and their conniving thieving lackeys?

How come you have stopped being the champion on BU for the promotion and execution of the Sugar Point Cruise Ship Terminal which both the MoT & MoF have dropped like a hot potato after milking millions of tax dollars and Port revenues through finder and consultancy fees?

Isn’t the cruise ship business growing anymore now that Cuba is about to reclaim its dominance as the more attractive tourism destination for North Americans?

The tourism business in the East Caribbean including Barbados benefited from 50 years of Cuba’s isolation and travel embargo. That is about to end with consequential impact on places like Barbados, Antigua and St. Kitts/Nevis. The tourism days of sun, sea, black studs and hotel casinos are setting while vintage culture and taste for the retro (not Bajan “wukuppery”) is on the rise.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants May 7, 2016 at 8:31 PM
    “Some of them held the belief that Paris was a puppet and Dupree pulled the strings.”

And that picture is a ‘true’ reflection of what went on behind the scenes (in addition to other rearguard activities).
    Dup(e)rey was the Canadian-trained brains behind the scam.
    If we can call Parris the puppet and Dup(e)ry the puppeteer that preyed on Parris’s idiocy what should we call those duped professionals and smartass politicians? Educated ‘poppets’ of the tallest order?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel May 7, 2016 at 7:25 PM #
    “The leper’s house is of very poor design.It gives one an impression of a haphazard design.Its awful to look at.”

That monstrosity of an edifice was designed not to impress with its architectural beauty but as a constant reminder of the materialistic greed and political corruption of a so-called educated nation of hypocritical Christians.

That modern-day Lazaretto- nicknamed La Laid Palais de Parris and built from the fraudulent dirty proceeds of financial laundering- represents the pinnacle of what it truly means to be a Bajan Brass Bowl.
    One is left to suspect our own Bush Tea (BU’s Sovereign Grand Inspector General) might have had a supervisory hand in its ‘cooperative’ design and construction since it perfectly reflects brass-bowlery of the highest ‘masonic’ order. LOL!!

4. I am reminded of a cartoon I saw in the ole Daily Mirror.It was of a farmer in London for a meeting of the Association of Breeders,walking through the streets of London and saying…..”if I had my way I’d plough the whole damn lot up”.

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And to think that Leroy’s head was too hard to take in carpentry which his mother sent him to learn.

6. Wel Well,
    No one has to believe me. The facts are there for them to peruse themselves. (See above graphs). I know nothing about the Parries case you are talking about so I cannot comment.
    If the man chooses to build an ugly house, it is his and he is living in it. Is that the only ugly house in Barbados or other places that people have built and are living in? Bunch of stupidity by you all.
    Money brain; Arthur Bethel is still in BIM, still trying. You fled… Under the BLP administration, for you speak about Tom, and the only Tom I knew about that led this country was Tom Adams. So the BLP were, in your eyes equally bad.
    When Lee KwaN Yew took over Singapore, the country was in turmoil, he ruled with an iron fist, and brought everyone to heel, especially the immigrants. Barbadians would never be able to adhere; without serious disturbances, to the type of restrictions, type of discipline, and the type of government he ran.Many “skulls were cracked, many people were shot and/or imprisoned, many homes and hovels were destroyed, and much blood ran in the streets. The results are much admired, but do you remember the price Sanford had to pay for imposing severe economic restrictions? He paid a heavy political price. Your proposals would never be accepted or acceptable to the Bajan population. You say that the 78,000 people in 2013 were misled, but in 2008 70,000 (53.2%) voted for the DLP while 61,000 (46.5%) voted for the BLP. In 2013 78,566 (51.2%) voted for the DLP, while 74,027 (48.3%) voted for the BLP.
    Who misled who and by how much?Only a two percent difference in percentage DLP votes occurred between the 2008 election and the 2013 election. BLP % between 2008 and 2013 increased by a mere 1.8%. Hardly a situation where a large percent of the population was mislead. Not so? Show me where I am wrong and where there was such a large number or percent of the population who were mislead by lies. Check the figures. (Not mine for I am not credible.)

Miller, did government buy out BS&T? Is that land owned by government? Consultancies regarding the feasibility of building a Marina at the pierced were done many years ago; even before Port St. Charles was built. An Australian company was engaged to seek out places in Barbados where Marinas could be built; Batts Rock, The Pierhead, and a number of other places, were looked at and a report was made. I had a copy of it. so these consultancies you speak of were not done between 2008 and now. The proposed BOLT agreement for the building of the pierhead was a concept of BS&T directorate. If it fell through it was before the DLP won in 2008.
    And if you, and many others think the Cubans will allow themselves to be treated like the whorehouse of the Caribbean like it was before, the young Cubans have too much pride, they are too educated, and they have learned to be self sufficient and not dependent on the U.S any more, for anything. They have sacrificed too much and paid too heavy a price to let the Americans just waltz in and take over again.So as the young people here are won’t to say”Wheel and come again”.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am still waiting for Alvin to explain to me why there is a judgement against Leroy Parris to return the money he and David Thompson stole from Clico policyholders in the form of a 3 million dollar check..

yardfowls enragés comme vous qui collaborent avec les politiciens corrompus et les gens d’affaires contre la population de l’île , dont la plupart sont pauvres et en difficulté, doivent être envoyés en prison , vous êtes un collaborateur de la pire espèce .

A judge ruled that the 3 million dollars belonged to Clico policyholders and should be returned. People like myself would know that it’s the only check that was highlighted because all the other stolen millions in chevks prior to that one was laundered in bank accounts and properties by both Thompsonand Parris…they are both thieves.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Alvin….before you try to lie to me, just remember you were on here before the judgement, not even a year ago, telling me how innocent Leroy Parris is, you the yardfowl and Fruendel Stuart the Prime Minister collaborate with criminals, against the people.

Parris and othe executives created the scam to approach and rob policyholders, mind you, not only the EPA investors got robbed, but all policyholders at the Clico.

9. Well Well
    Prove it in court that his actions were illegal. Who did he force to buy those instruments? Greed!Greed! and the expectation of making high profits.
    When this thing started Mia had responsibility for the supervisor of insurance. What action did she take to stop it? It would be interesting to find out how many of them purchased the instruments, and if they lost any money..

10. Alvin
    It’s no wonder you didn’t make it into lower V1 at Combermere School.Lies,damn lies and statistics.If you were honest you would have stated that percentage of the voting citizenry which voted with their feet.You must know that those who voted for the BLP and those who chose to stay away from the poll must be reckoned to have voted against the DLP too.I haven’t got the figure for ’08 off the top of my head but I can tell you nigh 40% voted with their feet in ’13.So wheel and come again.
    I recall reading at primary school about…….the house that Jack built.We can now add to that …..the house that Leroy built and maybe the Bernie the Sun man can include it on the itinerary of Safari tours…..I can hear the Bajan driver announcing to the tourisses….”and this is the house that leeroy built with teefin money from de policy holders of de insurance company……he and he legal adviser teef millions ‘o dollars and some stash way in de central bank overseen by the governor himself and some in st Lucia next door to we island”

11. Money;,
    Mc Hale quoted from the CIBC Financial statements. Are you saying those statements were not accurate? Where do you disagree with his figures or statement?

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….it’s on record that your prime minister Friendel claimed he lost money in Clico too, so if that’s not a lie, he is greedy too. So he is either a liar, in case he got the money back and greedy, because he too invested in crookery…ya know for a senior citizen ya lie too much right.

So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.

13. @Gabriel

Less than 5,000 votes separated the DLP and the BLP in our first pass system.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And ya got the nerve to want ME to prove in court that what Parris and Thompson did to the policyholders money was not illegal and was not stealing.

ce que vous dites à votre god..you sera en bonne compagnie quand vous rencontrez Thompson à nouveau.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 7:58 AM #
    re
    So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.

up until the 70’s the first and ONLY Barbados Scholar from Combermere was/is TREVOR R SHEPHERD Mr/Dr SHEPHERD
    sO IF ALVIN SAY HE IS A Barbados Scholar HE IS A BIG STINKING LIAR

16. “You must know that those who voted for the BLP and those who chose to stay away from the poll must be reckoned to have voted against the DLP too.”

It is not my intention to carry water for anyone, but two other interpretations are possible to explain non-voters:

(1) If they wanted change they would have gone to the polls and marked the biggest and boldest X there was. Therefore by not voting, they have indicated their desire not to change things and that ‘they like it so’. It was a vote for the DLP.

(2) So frustrated are they with both parties that they refuse to take sides in selecting one of the twins. Thinking that regardless of how they vote, they will select a group of inept and ineffective representatives. They voted for neither.

I could have rested there, but I wish to go farther and state that I believe that a non-vote is a vote for the party in power.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Let’s see if he will tell us the truth GP, it will be soothing for his soul….lol

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins May 8, 2016 at 7:31 AM #
    “Prove it in court that his actions were illegal. Who did he force to buy those instruments? Greed!Greed! and the expectation of making high profits.
    When this thing started Mia had responsibility for the supervisor of insurance. What action did she take to stop it? It would be interesting to find out how many of them purchased the instruments, and if they lost any money..”

Alvin, why don’t you stop lying? The nearer you get to your god the more your moral character deteriorates.

The function of the supervisor of insurance fell under the Ministry of Finance. When was Mia ever the substantive minister of that portfolio?
    You jackass!

When the then Supervisor of Insurance, Ms. Drakes-Braithwaite, wrote to CLICO and instructed them to cease the peddling of those illegal instruments what did your innocent saintly friend in bull(y)ing Greenverbs do?

19. WW&C wrote:

Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 6:38 AM #

“Parris and other executives created the scam to approach and rob policyholders, mind you, not only the EPA investors got robbed, but all policyholders at the Clico.”

Alvin Cummins responded with the following comment:

“Alvin Cummins May 8, 2016 at 7:31 AM #: Well Well: Prove it in court that his actions were illegal. Who did he force to buy those instruments? Greed!Greed! and the expectation of making high profits….”

@ Mr. Cummins

And what do people BUYING INSTRUMENTS have to do with the $3.333M WW&C was REFERRING to?

Mr. Cummins, why do you CONTINUALLY expose your IGNORANCE, bury your head in the sand and refusal to accept vital information whenever this CLICO fiasco comes to the fore for discussion?

Even if we were to consider your comments, are you SUGGESTING that people BUYING “instruments” with the “expectation of making high profits, (which, by the way, is the MAIN reason why people invest), gives Leroy Parris (et al) the RIGHT to EMBEZZLE CIL’s money?

Do you know you sound EQUALLY as STUPID as the idiot we have for a prime minister, Freundel Stuart, when, on Sunday, August 19, 2012, he told the yard-fowls attending the DLP’s 57th Annual Conference on that “The forensic audit report prepared by Deloitte Canada about the operations of CLICO International Life Insurance in Barbados was stolen…..”

Or in March 2016, while contributing to the debate on the 2015/2016 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure in the House of Assembly, he felt smug as he spoke in WARNING TERMS about a “list of names,” in his possession, of those individuals who invested in the Executive Flexible Premium Annuity, and indicated that in due course, he would expose it.

20. @ Mr. Cummins

Allow me to refresh your memory relative to the $3.333M.

The following excerpt was taken from the EXECUTIVE SUMMARY, found on page 4 of the DELOITTE FORENSIC REPORT as of December 5, 2011. (You could also read page 2 of the DELOITTE FORENSIC REPORT of June 21, 2013.):

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for FEES or RETAINERS RELATED to VARIOUS LEGAL MATTERS involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL AUTHORIZED the INVOICE for PAYMENT.”

“We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, IT WAS IN FACT TO THE BENEFIT OF MR. PARRIS AS PARTIAL PAYMENT OF A “GRATUITY”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.”

Mr. Cummins, as the very poor “spin doctor” you are, you will obviously try to put a DLP’s yard-fowl spin on the issue. However, I will “break it down” as simple as I possibly can.

The law firm of Thompson & Associates issued an invoice to CIL for $3.333M due in respect of various legal services rendered to CIL. Leroy Parris subsequently authorized the invoice for payment.
    The forensic audit revealed that, in actuality, the invoice was prepared to pay Parris $3.333M, which he alleged CIL owed him for gratuity.

In other words, Thompson & Associates, through an invoice, made claim for payments for providing CIL with various legal services. Parris authorized the payment. Thompson & Associates deposited the cheque and paid Parris $3.333, which he said the company owed him.

If CIL indeed owed Parris gratuity, could he not have found a more transparent method of receiving such payment, rather than providing a fraudulent invoice for SERVICES THAT WERE NOT RENDERED, as a ploy to extort money from CIL?

21. Alvin
    While I admire Patrick Bethel’s tenacity, I like U, decided to seek my fortune in Canada.
    Tom was certainly one of our better Bim leaders. However, like many of the leaders from Oxbridge he failed to appreciate that 70%Tax is totally ridiculous. These “booklearner typres” never ask themselves simple questions like “how will clever people react.” WHY? These genius types believe they are always correct. I never said the BLP were equally bad. My contention is never trust ANY political group 100%. This is why I am not a member of any Political Party, non blindly support any party! BTW I knew Bree fairly well, he was a good fella.

I have never said to carte blanch we must assume that Bim should be Singapore Pt2. Learn lessons and adapt. We can give Bimsters alternatives that lead to success or failure.

Let me be very clear that many Voters dont have a clue in any Nation. Proof of this is the election of Justin in Canada! Most Voters are IGNORANT and dont know what is good for the Nation! Singapore and LKY should be judged by RESULTS which are very good. Some prefer to learn from Failures like Castro’s Cuban Abortion, I prefer learning from Successful entities like LKY’s Singapore. Skulls had to be cracked in Singapore because there were Commies infiltrating so LKY, knowing that Communism is a WASTE of time removed the threat. I believe in a written Document that defines that Communism etc is NOT going to be ever pursued! Unlike Commies I am willing to let Commie believers LEAVE my Country ie Bim and go live with a hungry stomach in Cuba (or Russia in the past) Notice how Bim/ US attracts people and other places suffers from people willing to risk their lives to the Ocean/ Sharks to get to the US!

Are Bajans happy with the DLP results and approach? NO! The BLP failed to impress with their internal troubles! Why did U not quote Econ numbers? Not flattering are they?

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 7:58 AM # re “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”———-

You are either very ‘ignorant’ of what actually happens in Bim or are just being provocative!

Unless Alvin’s made a reference that he directly won a Barbados National Scholarship awarded based on GCE results then there is absolutely no disconnect with him saying he won a ‘scholarship’.

Other types and forms of scholarships were in vogue as far as I know…back then not many but still a few!

To make a modern comparison. There are at least two current parliamentarians who can say they won scholarships. But they too would not be misleading anyone that they won Barbados Nat Scholarships. Toppin and Hinkson were boldly acclaimed in the papers as winners of UWI scholarship at different times.

Well probably three as I believe Bostic at some point attended military school on scholarship as well…so too @Franklyn here on the blog if I a not mistaken.

What’s in a word unless one thinks carefully!

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax May 8, 2016 at 10:13 AM # Your post also highlights what any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering.

Personally I am still dumb struck that not a fella, not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction. But one assumes that with Thompson’s death so died any case.

24. Miller,
    Cuba gin lash we on touristses. Saw dat coming long time. Between dat and teeeffing Lawyers why would anyone buy property in Bim?

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

LOL the betzpaenic dribbler admits “Personally I am still dumb” THAT IS VERY CLEAR. VERY ACCURATE!and THE TRUTH

hear de betzpaenic de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 1:35 PM # AGAIN!

@Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 7:58 AM # re “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”———-

You are either very ‘ignorant’ of what actually happens in Bim or are just being provocative!

FACTS ARE THAT NO COMBERMERIAN GOT A BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP BEFORE TREVOR SHEPHERD (in Spanish)

In those days besides Barbados Scolarship there were Bovell and Aubrey Collymore Scholarships, and these were not really open scholarships

National Scholarships came later

Here the idiotis twit again “What’s in a word unless one thinks carefully!”

WORDS ARE VERY IMPORTANT
    WORDS ARE THERE TO BE USED BY CAREFUL THINKERS NOT BY THE BETZPAENIC
    WORD PLACEMENT IS ALSO MOST IMPORTANT

example

THE LORD HIMSELF WILL PROVIDE A SACRIFICE IS FAR DIFFERENT

TO
    THE LORD WILL PROVIDE A SACRIFICE HIMSELF

Well Well & Consequences, YOUR QUESTION IS REASONABLE AND ACCURATE “So Alvin…if you did not make it into lower 6 at Combermere, how did you get a Barbados scholarship.”

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedantic….I am very well acquainted with how scholarships are obtained in Barbados, even back in the 70s, more importantly and personally in the 80s, 90s and 2000s….let Alvin answer the question.

Have you ever won a Barbados Scholarship Pedantic…certain things I do not comment on unless they are very close to home.

27. Dribbler
    I don’t know what words Alvin’Boots’Cummins used however if he said he won a BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP then he has egg all over his face.You may find reason to put another spin on those 2 powerful words which carry a single interpretation for Bajans.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Before you answer Pedantic, wont want you hurting yourself….in the 70s, ya would get one or maybe 2 candidates for scholarship, as the years rolled by and government finances improved ya got more, by 2010 there were over 30-50 scholarship winners and every year since they have been increasing, so they are not an anomaly anymore, the youth on the island have academic potential, they only need that push.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 2:42 PM #
    Pedantic….
    Have you ever won a Barbados Scholarship Pedantic…certain things I do not comment on unless they are very close to home.

COME ON WELL WELL
    YOU CANT BUY THEM. THEY DONT GIVE THEM WAY
    YOU DONT GET THEM FOR WRITING LOTS AND LOTS OF SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHITE

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And I am speaking about Barbados Scholarships/Exhibitions…but I will let Alvin explain…lol

31. Miller
    When Clico and Parris refused to cease and desist from selling the EFPA’s, the Supervisor of Insurance whom you named and the Commissioner of Police Dottin took the company to court.The response by the Democratic Labour Party government led by froon ably assisted by his financial wizards,sent both plaintiffs on leave.They seem to be still on leave and the court matter is probably in the queue.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences May 8, 2016 at 2:47 PM #
    RE .in the 70s, ya would get one or maybe 2 candidates for scholarship,
    IN FACT IN 1972 THERE WERE NO BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIPS OFFERED—ONLY BARBADOS EXHIBITION SCHOLARSHIPS

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Well well your sparring partner reminded me a few days ago of third form at school. Those days when 12-14 year olds did some absolutely inane stuff… one such was ‘beak brek’, said when someone made a statement that so absolutely out of place that it showed their head was lost in space.

You just admitted that you are familiar with scholarships etc in Alvin’s time yet you are still asking de man wha scholarship he received vis a vis your query of not entering sixth form….

We would have had great fun at your expense back den.

—– Pieces put up a screed of a book as ‘wewantchange’ poster… and you went looking to buy the damn thing! Inane 12 year olds say…beek brek off!

—- I mentioned Dottin of Naked Departure and clearly ‘compared ‘ de Boys in de Band author Angela Cole as a reference. Yet, you come on de blog to let me know that the two are different people…More inane 12 year old uproar…hole face brek off!

—- Here now you asking me if I won a scholarship…I assume to be able to make a comment about it…OK!

So you must excuse me for not always following your logically progressions.

Alvin is fully capable of defending himself. I only opined that saying if he won a scholarship it did NOT have to mean that he won what we now call our Barbados National…

@Dr GP you really and strangely enough I actually like you despite your so horrible curmudgeon manner. So let me respond to your remark on the other blog this way as mildly as possible…

If you had baited me in third form wid that remark about ‘you must be a short man’ I would have responded in kind as: Last night when I was with you dear sister she certainly didn’t think I was that small!

You want to be puerile. Why I have no idea. So I hope that works for you.

Back then I went on to be a Prefect and Set Officer and all that good stuff. I matured I presume… but we can lapse back to boyhood stupidity, surely. You do daily!

Anyhow dat is one and I dun wid that. I am big enough to handle you on de blog otherwise. Oh lawd!!!

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE DRIBBLER If you had baited me in third form wid that remark about ‘you must be a short man’ I would have responded in kind as: Last night when I was with you dear sister she certainly didn’t think I was that small!

and I WOULD HAVE RESPONDED QUITE TRUTHFULLY “JACKASS…I HAVE NO SISTERS!’

AND AGAIN YOU ARE WRONG ABOUT THE SCHOLARSHIPS
    YOU MEAN ALL YOU ACHIEVED AT SCHOOL WAS BEING A Prefect and Set Officer ? LOL

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dRIBBLER USED TO JERK OFF IN HE BED AT NIGHT WHILE IMAGINING HE WAS WID DE SISTERS OF HIS CLASSMATES …….murdah I got it now

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

GP come on man you know how the game progressed…not having sisters simply opens the tableau to what today’s youth have given their own pithy acronym….with which I will not defile de blogmasters blog….or further incite your puerile excitement.

You are truly an amazing man…You write your scriptures with such learned depth and in the same breath can be so crass and uncouth…but that is what God intended I suppose when he took fisher-folk as his disciples: men who are the rough and tumble of the world who can mix it up with the best and worst.

Yes that all I came away with…remember some wise person once said that he learned to be a man at his institution of learning.

You good sir came away with a scholarship…clearly being a man was never a consideration at any time despite your being steeped in the church according to you.

One can only surmise why you think its necessary to pompassette as you do here. The imagination runs wild with visions of deep-seated pain and trauma that needs to be lanced so that the poison can ebb and flow away…..LOLL. Too much Hollywood!

Carry on smartly Mr Smart Fellow.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 4:35 PM #
    GP come on man you know how the game progressed

YOU SEE WE DIDNT PLAY SILLY GAMES AS YOU DID AT YOUR SCHOOL OK? AT LEAST I DIDNT. So I dont know how the game progressed
    WE PAID REAL GAMES…like cricket and table tennis at which I was quite good

Yes I am amazing
    And yes I know the Scriptures
    And yes I came away with a scholarship
    And NO your pithy ignorant attempts at psychological analysis is extremely poor.
    To do this properly, you have to get adequate training

There are no deep-seated pain and trauma that needs to be lanced so that the poison can ebb and flow away. I had a most enjoyable boyhood and was quite successful in life

WHEN YOU COME ON BU…..TRY TO BE ACCURATE
    KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT BEFORE YOU COME
    LEARN FROM YOUR INTELLECTUAL SUPERIORS

38. de pedantic Dribbler May 8, 2016 at 1:45 PM #

“@Artax May 8, 2016 at 10:13 AM # Your post also highlights what any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering.”

“Personally I am still dumb struck that not a fella, not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction. But one assumes that with Thompson’s death so died any case.”

@ de pedantic Dribbler

I am “dumb struck that” CLICO’s accountants, Price Waterhouse Coopers, were not called to account for seemingly ignoring questionable accounting transactions and giving the company, through annual reports, a “clean bill of health.”

Crime is basically interpreted to be committed not only against the victim, but the society and resulting in a police investigation. A criminal case is brought by the appropriate government institution in response to a suspected violation of law, and a fine, jail sentence, or both are sought. Civil cases are generally brought by private individuals or corporations seeking to collect money owed or monetary damages.

As it relates to “any competent prosecutor would also be able to find evidence to bring a case of money laundering” and “not one of the partners/directors of that firm were called to account for that transaction,” based on what has transpired so far, apparently rather than pursuing a criminal suit, the Judicial Manager seemed to have chosen to pursue civil action to recover the $3.333M from Parris, his associated businesses and the estate of the late Thompson.

Perhaps if the police were invited to investigate, there may have been a different result, whereby the High Court would have frozen Parris in a jail cell, rather than the $4.5M of his assets and that of Branlee Consulting Services Inc.

I may be wrong, but I believe the end result is based on type of court proceedings pursued in this case.

39. Arising it of all this Clico/Duprey/Parris/Thompson duplicity and con games with the people’s health and welfare and given the obvious support given these citizens so called,by an elected official whose source of power and authority appear boundless,namely the Prime Minister of Barbados,our system of governance cries out for immediate change if violence by mob rule is to be avoided at all costs.Government in these small island states can only be enhanced by a Federal form of governance and the sooner the better.Schumacher’s Small is Beautiful did not consider the crop of corrupt politicians and their cohorts in the private sector,barefaced,inefficient and ineffective as obtained today in little Barbados,once the Gem of the Caribbean.

40. Just an observation or a random thought thrown into the blogosphere.

DPD handling himself like a boss and showing some real class… Can he maintain it?

Just gazing

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedantic…is Barbados National a new scholarship I must have missed that one…. and I see you are keeping score, whether accurately or inaccurately, just like a 12 year old.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…Both Exhibition and Scholarship, which are both scholarships in my estimation, are sources of great academic achievement, great focus, they do not come easily…and are also a springboard to whatever you aspire to achieve, a whole new world opens..

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WW
    NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT SCHOLARSHIPS WERE OFFERED IN THE 70’S TO PERSONS SEEKING TO STUDY AREAS THOUGHT TO BENEFIT THE COUNTRY ,,,,,,,,,,,,,OTHER THAN THE TRADITIONAL LAW OR MEDICINE

MY BROTHER GOT ONE IN 77 OR 78

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WW
    RE GP…Both Exhibition and Scholarship, which are both scholarships in my estimation, are sources of great academic achievement, great focus, they do not come easily…and are also a springboard to whatever you aspire to achieve, a whole new world opens..

I AGREE WITH YOU BUT SOME HOW THE TWO ARE DISTINGUISHABLE IN THE WAY THEY ARE THOUGHT OF
    E.G IF YOU CHECK THE MAHOGANY BOARDS IN THE HALL AT HC, THE NAMES FOR EXHIBITIONS ARE ON DIFFERENT BOARDS THAN THOSE FOR THE SCHOLARSHIPS

THE EXHIBITIONS STARTED TO BE OFFERED MAY BE 60 OR 70 YEARS AFTER THE SCHOLARSHIPS

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP……I heard about them, are those the ones usually for those with undergraduate or graduate degrees pursuing further studies, if so, that certainly applies to national development.

I suppose that is one Alvin would have gotten, but he never wants to say the truth….even to tell me I am wrong.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…..Of course the most ignorant are supposed to be the most educated in the society, never miss an opportunity to denigrate anything, even a scholarship as useful as the Exhibition, is it any wonder that it’s distaseful to these brilliant young people to return, only to be seen as not good enough….think about it, it’s the people who never got either scholarship are the ones to turn up their noses…lol

I know a young person got one some years ago and to be honest, the powers that be dont deserve to know how well that person has done, they took care of their commitments and that should be enough.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

But whether Alvin got a national scholarship or one paid for by the US government, he still reduced himself to the level of yardfowl to condone theft from policyholders by Parris et al, just because he is a party member, I find that despicable.

Nous allons voir le calcul des conséquences pour l’avenir.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Gazer, you need to be careful with comments like that @ 7:05 PM…your fellow HC alum does not take kindly to anyone beneath his exalted status challenging anything he says…or in your case providing some relief to one who challenges him. LOLL. I appreciate the remarks.

I have absolutely no idea why there is seaming angry chatter about Bdos Scholarship. Clearly we are all basically recalling from memory and just as clearly some are almost totally clueless. Now for blogging common-sense sake can we stop this folly of who has the biggest hands crap…or in your case Ms WW&C who has the most illogical process!

For as long as I was at school and as my memory serves leading up to the 1990s there was a Barbados Scholarship/Exhibition for GCE A level success.

In the early days of Alvin I have no idea exactly how many and what was offered. But Errol Barrow was a recipient f National Scholarship as we were always advised.

From oral history (never researched it) they were supposedly ‘bursaries’ or other awards offered either privately or by gov’t. but these could not be labelled a National scholarship in the sense of the principal national award.

Surely any person who lived it or has the data can advise.

Rolling on through the 90s the Scholarship was expanded. Due to 1) more students getting excellent results 2) leading to a call for more students to be awarded to have the opportunity to expand their knowledge for the country and 3) as the BCC was growing there was a call to offer an award outside the standard disciplines on which the scholarship was based.

I do not recall if that was the genesis of the Nat Development Scholarship.

However its common knowledge that an Exhibition was a scholarship where the grades were not the three AAA and A in Gen Paper. The top results varied some years as I recall.

When parents started to clamour for recognition for their kids who worked their butts off but got AAA and C in the Gen Paper or AAC and A and got no award in years where results were superior things eventually were modified.

Thus we then had Scholarship and Exhibition Scholarship.

Anyhow any teacher or Min of Ed person in the ambit of this blog can easily clarify all of this.

Further the other issue was that students doing literature and languages had a more difficult study path towards a scholarship than those doing sciences…

Then there was the inability to equate the non GCE standard course work to the scholarship award standards. And that led to another push for recognition at the National Scholar level for those students who excelled.

All that was in the scholarship mix…more or less. And surely there are folks here who can provide precise chapter and verse. Why all this chatter as if its a secret! Oh my lawd!

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ww
    RE GP……I heard about them, are those the ones usually for those with undergraduate

yes the ones for undergraduate study

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

clarification: “Then there was the inability to equate the non GCE standard course work …”

That being the Assoc Degree course work at BCC