Submitted by Dr. George C. Brathwaite
 Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

Since the announcement by Barbados Labour Party (BLP) through the Leader of the Opposition to embark upon a strategy of bringing a ‘no-confidence’ motion against the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP), several cynics have questioned the decision and decried the move. One gathers from the critical statements made, and with the BLP holding a parliamentary minority, that Mia Mottley is heading for another ‘embarrassment’.

However, Mottley and the BLP members are resolute; and rightly so. They suggest that the motion of no-confidence is not simply about winning a vote. Rather, it is to ensure that the current and mounting issues which have been managing to burden Barbados and occupy much public apprehension (if the popular discourse is to be accepted), need to be highlighted and addressed.

Mottley asserted that: “This motion of no-confidence is not about having the parliamentary majority … but it is about bringing the facts to the people of the country because Barbadians deserve the right to be able to determine their future and their destiny on the basis of the facts available to them.” Is this not a fact?

Let us be clear. Since the DLP won the 2008 general election and having surprisingly repeated the feat in 2013 after being labelled by many to be the worst performing administration in the history of Barbados, two no-confidence motions brought by Mottley and the BLP had failed, being less impactful than the BLP would have desired. Mottley brought motions in 2009 over the CLICO collapse, and then again in 2013 over the DLP’s austere and tax-driven economic strategy that pushed thousands out of work.

Notwithstanding, the double defeats, nothing happened to strengthen the executive/legislative grip of the DLP, nor lessen the fortunes of the BLP – beyond the voluntary and forced departure of two members. The former BLP members whose alleged lack of commitment to rally around the present leader, became apparently irreversible given the self-protracted priorities of both over more conventional party rallying.

For Mia Mottley, the outcome of the previous two no-confidence motions helped to feed the bogus claim that she was in a ‘rush’ to become Prime Minister. Reflectively, the frenzied twist against Mottley – intensified by internal struggle – has caused some anxieties and dissent among those within the BLP’s membership and support.

The current doubt and scepticism on this latest move of no-confidence, perhaps shows that several BLPites do not fully understand that there are solid grounds for exposing a paltry government. Again, much political mileage is on offer for the BLP, including the opportunity to snatch political buoyancy and momentum in the public domain.

Mottley is contending that with the insidious silence of the DLP on so many matters of national concern, the Stuart-led DLP has become in all practicality a ‘government by stealth’. Mottley explained that “we cannot have a government by stealth, a government by rumour, and a government by anonymity. That all equates to no government at all … bred by a culture of silence which is unacceptable given the dire state of affairs in the country today.”

Surely, this is apt description of the DLP’s occupancy in government. The DLP charade puts Barbados realistically and reputedly in a perilous position. Mottley’s sentiments coincide with many things being said about the country’s executive at home and abroad.

Clearly, even the best leaders can be undermined by factors beyond their control, and this was likely the case for Mia Mottley on the two previous occasions when ‘no-confidence motions were carried (hardly a debate in the latter).

To the extent that all leaders, regardless of ability, fear suffering a future demise, will suggest that the strategy being employed by the BLP and Mottley for the third time, stands a far better chance of gaining widespread national backing, provided that the most crucial and damaging issues are effectively presented and debated.

Despite not achieving numerical success in the Lower House, the negative exposure will likely awaken Stuart to desperate remedial action. Also, the BLP’s trigger could draw demands from the public for general elections sooner rather than later.

Added to this tactical opening, has to be the assumption that ‘it is [incumbent] leaders who fear the future, not those who expect their fortunes to improve’. Mottley and the BLP have nothing to lose, but will have everything to gain.

In fact, this third no-confidence motion by the BLP will have the effect of solidifying in the minds of the electorate, that too often in the recent past, the DLP has been contemptuous in its dealings with the public. The DLP’s nonchalance towards public engagement, its abandonment of accountability and transparency, and its worsening penchant for consecutive bouts of economic failure are discomforting for most Barbadians, although tolerable for a die-hard minority of DLP surrogates.

The DLP has managed to prevail – aided by the perils and pathways to mutiny against Mottley – and by the political spectacle of distractions. Side-stream issues happen to greet the public on each occasion that Barbados appears to sink lower in both economy and society. Distractions, therefore, are the DLP’s most potent weapon. Do not be surprised if the propagandists in that party spin another diversion, once the no-confidence motion gains steam.

Traditionally, “governments care about performance since it affects their popularity and hence their ability to win the next election.” The BLP has to become more vocal and more synergised as it goes about exposing the incompetence of the DLP.

The BLP must in simple and clear terms show the impacts of the DLP’s economic failures, the non-existent economic growth, the depletion of foreign exchange, the rising debt by government to the NIS, the increased hardships that have brought the poor to their knees, and the growing incidence of disputes in industrial relations.

The BLP cannot afford to shield the DLP from public censure regarding the several claims of shady deals and possible corrupt practices likely to implicate more than one DLP Minister of Government.

Political theorists contend that: “Opposition parties can use their legislative forum to raise embarrassing questions in anticipation of the next election and may occasionally find procedural levers of influence.” For the sake of Barbados, one must hope that the BLP gets its strategy right, and take the people’s fight to a badly stumbling and fumbling DLP.

Hence, the BLP-Mottley risk is marginal when compared with the fact that the DLP and Barbados can continue to drift for another 22 months, operating as a government by stealth.

To that end, everyone should realise that “the actual legislative defeat and subsequent fall of a government on a no-confidence vote is, in practice, very rare in parliamentary democracies; just as an actual checkmate is very rare in a chess game played between grandmasters.”

Fortune favours the brave, Miss Mottley. Proceed with courage. At this juncture, most Barbadians will firmly support the BLP’s efforts. Answers have not been forthcoming from the dilly-dallying DLP.

136 responses to “The Risk is Marginal: Go for it Mia!”

1. So piece cuss your a.ss out. Then you turn around and kiss his .What so remarkable about that.?

2. It is remarkabke that after seven years in opposition the Blp is still bogged down with mubdane issue and struggling to find coherent ways to connect with the public.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I jussst flipping like this dribble. The way all that just roll of your tongue, hahahaha too sweet. But, ease up of ma girl WWC. She is very much aware of the goings on, and like me, just simply frustrated that it continues and has become even bolder over the years.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

You know that it is not often that agree with anything you have to say, in fact, I do not think I ever agree with anything you had to say because you are not the intelligent AC. But, galoss, me got to admit that you right. Mottley, if this woman can just get off that pedestal that makes her so corrupt, she would really be a leader the people can look up to and expect to be served with some degree of practicality. Unfortunately, she has too many skeletons in her closet that is clouding her ability to execute sound judgement. This silly woman, if she was really moving forward and clear in her thinking would never allow herself to go back to a big lump of waste like William Duguid? But, she is looking for persons who will suck up to her and feed into her hungry power grid. She has to be the first woman I know that have an inflated over zealous big ego. I do not know if in her present frame of mind if she would not act and behave in a similar fashion as the arrogant bombastic and disrespectful person we have for a Prime Minister. Time will tell, since Granville Solutions Party is off to a slow and poor start, no viable alternative means bajans will switch back to a past parasitible.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Suzanne,

Dribbler right. I does cuss everybody when I ready, real bad too but even AC will tell you this that if she/he/they made a good point, albeit rarely, I will be the first to say it is a good point.

The problem that we face as humans, in general, but as Bajans moreso, is that we have not learnt the way to argue, our thin skins do not take kindly to being told, “you are talking shyte”

and since my Mother was not Mary, and my name is not Jesus, I too am guilty of this, for most people, being told that what you are saying/supporting, is unadulterated jobby, is hard.

If you are told that as a youngster growing up, frequently, and the culture of your home is one where you are encouraged to debate your perspective, without resorting to big rocks, a cutlass (or a 9mm Glock as if you are some sort of PittBull), over the years, you are able to accept dissenting views WITHOUT “going home for your Bushwacker and returning to equalize the argument.” Road Gage, going postal, etc.

Add this to being shown that you are a liar, or worse, an idiot, on national tv, or everyday here on BU, and each one of us who so displays their idiocy, is targeted by the DLP dufuses and the BLP troika.

Sole sin, dissent, and/or having an alternative opinion to theirs, AND VOICING IT,!!

I am of the belief that there is a faction of Bajans, Chinese, Syrians Indians whites and Black men and women residing in Barbados who, at 2016, are tired of this six and half dozen game.

So we come here and eloquently, or not so eloquently, sound off about what we see is wrong and some give suggestions for improving that.

Others like deer in the headlights of a car stand transfixed by the lights of unwavering allegiance or idiocy of the nth degree, and mutter incoherent gibberish

You don’t think that Donville Inniss does not know that what his party is doing is destroying our country, or Estwick does not know the same?

Do not let us assess Patrick Todd and some of the others, we know where they lie on the cro magnon scale representatives of what the other Linneas spoke of I.e. sloping skulls, I seek not to be unkind, I am stating fact.

I know Dribbler before he left for Canada and have encountered him in the north some years ago, he is an “empiricist” with his reasoning and, like all who have “been there, and done that” uses this style to filter out the good from the bad, wise people from pretenders.

There are men and women here who speak one speak, all of the time, and do not change. But like you have doubtlessly realized over the years of interacting with us males, Suzanne, “come see me and come live with me” are two completely different things

For years I could be protesting that I have been running away from sister Headley but it could be all smoke and mirrors and I might have a little love cabin where the sister and I make a real joyful noise, if you get my drift.

Jesus had twelve disciples, Gideon had 300, King Leonidas was part of 300 Spartans yet, each group routed their respective enemies, and the first group has vanquished the greatest enemy of all.

Here we are faced with 30 MPs who, collectively, have been the successive enemy of our people, for 5 year bouts for the last 50 years, maybe subtracting 10 for Errol Barrow.

They now are aided and abetted by a layer of what Errol Barrow called “an army of occupation” which has brought Barbados here to our knees

Priests, pastors, imans, apostles of their respective God are silent, there is no mosque or church which speaks any word of condemnation

Teachers and their respective Union heads are mute and union leaders battle for dues having lost purpose to fight for what is right (barring Caswell to the degree he has said no to politics)

Lawyers and judges and others who are supposed to represent the law of the land are silent or speak flatteringly of despots, particularly when it is politically useful to do so

How much longer do you expect our spirits to have the energy to contend with this dross?

I am reminded of the words of a philosopher who spoke of that “tilting point” in a fight and likened it to that moment when a woman remembers when those perfect points lose their battle with gravity, and we males lose that “inclination” forever.

So this is not just about Mottley putting up a no confidence motion (which might only sell a few newspapers) in fact that is not the real issue here, but about more of us taking a stand and doing what is necessary and critical, instead of hiding behind the Leader of the Opposition ‘s back

6. Two comments
    PURDYR is ‘almost’ in a class by himself. He is always on the ball.

@SSS. Your comment about how Barbadians are now looked at was painful. We have to make a genuine effort to regain the high esteem that others held us in. We have not become sillier; it is simply as Bush Tea would put it, we are putting Brass Bowls in leadership positions.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….as soon as you massage Pedanti’s swollen head, he spouts shit. We all agreed Barbados has corrupt politicians, because the people have for years either misled each other through the yardfowl brigades or believe blindly in politicians and have been misled by unscrupulous politicians post slavery, there has become a very difficult to reverse pool of bullshit and ignorance of the pedantic variety prevading the island.

The pedantic jackass would like us to believe that it aint nothing wrong with that, it’s just for sportm that’s why I now sometimes read 2 lines of his crap and then skip. So Piece, let his head reduce itself a bit.

Pedantic…I am not on here to prove how well I can write and I only needed to read 2 lines of your shit to know its not impressive.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…Pedantic cant take me on, I would make him cry, more than once he was on her pouting because he was sent to his corner. Everytime there is a serious discussion, he veers off into the bullshit to try to impress or compete, which has nothing to do with the subject matter at hand.

If he wants to live in his make believe world that Barbados has no problem, that is his delusion, but dont try to drag everyone down to his minute way of thinking, there is a reason why ya can scrool pass what you dont like to read or what sounds like pedantic, useless crap…,, just like I do.

9. Have I missed something,

It has been a week since BGIS published the following; and I do not recall reading anything in the traditional media, or BU.

No bragging from Government, no critical comment from Opposition.

Are these numbers good or bad?

Where are the comparatives – to Q3 2015 or to Q4 2014?

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=9&p2_articleid=15738

Unemployment Stats – October To December 2015

Published on April 6, 2016 by Economic Affairs Division

The rate of unemployment for October to December of 2015 stood at 10.2 per cent, with unemployment among males at 11.7 per cent and 8.6 per cent among females.

These statistics are based on data produced by the Barbados Statistical Service and derived from the Continuous Household Labour Force Survey. In the review period, the number of persons employed totalled 130,300; of whom 64,800 were males and 65,500 were females.

The total number of unemployed persons stood at 14,800; some 8,600 males and 6,200 females. In total, the number of persons in the labour force stood at 145,100. The number of persons not actively looking for work, hence excluded from the labour force, was 76,900 persons. The Labour Force participation rate stood at 65.3 per cent, with participation among males at 69.2 per cent and 61.8 per cent among females.

In the fourth quarter of 2015, the Wholesale & Retail Trade Sector generated jobs for the largest number of persons, employing 20,600 persons, while the Accommodation & Food Services Sector employed 15,400 persons.

The Construction, Mining & Quarrying Sector generated employment for 12,800 persons and the Manufacturing Sector generated employment for 9,500 persons. Employment in the Public Administration & Defence Sector reached 9,100 persons, while the Administrative & Support Service Sector reached 8,400 persons.

The Other Groups Sector (which includes the Information and Communications, Activities of Extraterritorial Organisations & Bodies, Real Estate & Arts, Entertainment and Recreation industries) and the Education Sector employed 7,800 persons and 7,500 persons, respectively.

The Transportation and Storage Sector employed 7,000 persons, while the Human Health & Social Work Sector and the Activities of Households as Employers Sector generated employment for 6,500 persons and 5,300 persons, respectively.

Employment in the Finance & Insurance Sector stood at 5,000 persons, while employment in the Professional, Scientific & Technical Services Sector stood at 4,500 persons. The employment generated in the Agriculture, Forestry & Fishing Sector was 3,700 persons.

During the review period, employment levels in the Other Services Sector stood at 3,300 persons. The Electric, Gas, Steam, Water & Air Conditioning Supply Sector generated jobs for 3,100 persons, while 700 persons were employed in the Not Stated Sector during the fourth quarter of 2015

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

By the way…Pedantic is a goddam pretender, he needs to start filtering out himself…get real and face reality., but dont do so just because I said it, just continue giving me the opportunity to out you.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

As stated before, my political skills are slim to non-existent.

If Bajans truly wish a solution

RUN THE BANKS and Credit Unions

In parliament anybody can ask.
    They can ask about the NIS, and the fact they haven’t provided the citizens and stakeholders with audited financial statements in eons.
    They can ask about BNOC, and like the NIS, the section of their website for Annual Reports is EMPTY. Not a one. BNOC owns BNTCL so we know nothing about that entity either.
    The GAIA website is fancy, but again, another entity owned by the GoB without a single financial report.
    Can you imagine GEL, or Sagicor or BHL etc not providing their owners with an annual report?
    We have no idea if property owned by any of these entities has been mortgaged, no idea if their cash has been swapped for bonds/T-bills.

You wish answers?

RUN THE BANKS and Credit Unions

12. Have any one notice that ac disregard what others think of her
    Have any one noticed that ac comments are not dependant on what others think about them
    Have any one noticed that in so lol many years on BU ac has never being discouraged by anyone negatives comments
    Reason being ac has balls and big ones too.

13. ‘Have any one notice that ac disregard what others think of her?”
    “Reason being ac has balls and big ones too.”
    “Her” and “balls”?

ac….. not a good image

14. a vote of CONFIDENCE OR A NO VOTE OF CONFIDENCE YOU DECIDE

15. @ Due Diligence April 13, 2016 at 3:33 PM #

Have I missed something,

It has been a week since BGIS published the following; and I do not recall reading anything in the traditional media, or BU.

No bragging from Government, no critical comment from Opposition.

Are these numbers good or bad?

Where are the comparatives – to Q3 2015 or to Q4 2014?

………………………………………………………….

No comments, DD because no one believes the government.

Things are much worse today than during the Sandi demolition era, then the unemployment rate was 28% and the government expects any one to believe that the unemployment rate is at 10%?

No one that I know that lost their job has been able to find another job……….how many of the 6500 that the government sent home have found jobs anywhere?

The NCC workers have not found jobs nor have they gotten their severance ………..one of the former employees called in to Brasstacks recently to say that they are at their wits end. In the meanwhile the ERT chairman is busy trying to help a friend take away his brother’s fortune………….things brown here.

Recently the IMF raised concerns about the statistics and figures produced by the government, they were skeptical. Just remember thatthe CBB governor does his own stats.

The unemployment rate here has to be 25% or more!

16. Seems to me, ac, that the no confidence motion is really getting to you dems.

If the DLP is so confident and so assured that Barbadians so love the way you dems are running the country into the ground, why do you have to bring up OSA every time you feel threatened?

Poor soul………dont you know that the BLP has moved on from OSA and Maria Agard?

Be fair and post a clip of the time the dead king snatched the leadership from Clyde Mascoll!

Post the clip of the bitter leadership struggle for the presidency of the DLP between Stuart and the dead king………as a matter of fact, I will dig up the 23 point indictment Stuart did on the dead king!

You live in a glass house, stop throwing stones.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All of this chaos started with lies and deceptions, no accountability and hiding information from the public, who only recently started demanding information, demanding the truth…from both parasitic political parties.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

Your suggestion of a run while noteworthy would have disastrous effects on the island of BIM

Beyond the obvious financial consequences as it related to investor confidence and our ratings we would bottom out in one day.

There would be panic in all the merchandising sectors and in the ensuing unrest we would have the DLP invoke the Emergency Powers Act which they are dying to invoke at any rate.

THe only way that these gents are going to go under the constitutional provisions of our country either by (a) Buying out 3 government ministers by an irrevocable letter of credit/escrow arrangement using funds of the mercantile sector that is losing hundreds of millions of dollars or (b) THROUGH THE MERCY OF THE ALMIGHTY FATHER through whom “the sun also shines” on the just and the unjust.

But the action of which you speak reminds me of playing dominoes with the village drunk who, being that he was always in the rum shop where the dominoes convened, was, by the rules of Village Rum Shops across the island, “entitled to be there because he was at the board first”

As the night progressed he became progressively cantankerous and of course more drunk, but even in his state of drunkeness, was able to so antagonize all that were at the table that you all went home.

To get him up, everyone had to agree that they were “done” like you are suggesting with this “run” OR, give him so much rum that he passed out.

That bribery by Rum, by the way was an expensive proposition, because (i) he lived one street away from the rumshop (ii) could hear a rum bottle cap “crack” at 500 feet (iii) had “rumiel smellers” like a fox terrier trained to detect crack and (iv) he lived “only to kill Alleyne Arthur and Mini Whites”

What other choices do we have but to grin and bear it?

The thing about a run is that it spills over into many things, people hoard their money, they don’t spend, merchants don’t make money, they lay of employees, more people out of work, more social discontent, food prices go up, it becomes a mess.

If you walk all over Barbados and talk to people, the way that people feel is that even a cruise ship were to bring 100K long stay visitors to the island and the government of the DLP were to miraculously balance the budget so that the lies that they are fabricating about the state of employment could be true, BAJANS WILL STILL VOTE THEM OUT!!

The merchants have to band together and “give a fellah a berry” pay them out and let them go home.

19. @ AC

Yes , you DLP people don’t have any acumen, Male / Female have lots of guts,balls, no BRAIN

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

Big ball AC, and here all the time I thought you were a woman, my apologies for mistaken identity. Anyhow, I am not here to rage no wars with you anymore, but I just wrote what I did to simply say you are write or right. Can a girl not agree with her number one pimp at least one time throughout the pain she has caused ahh, him-her-it-ahhhh at a lost to what you really are perhaps morphodite. Not trying phase you pimpy, you know the SSS intimidates the shit out of you. But, don’t worry, I only address you from time to time while you avoid me like plague. You still wright, write or right bout Mottley though.

21. “Have any one noticed that in so lol many years on BU ac has never being discouraged by anyone negatives comments. Reason being ac has balls and big ones too.”

NUHBODY in duh RIGHT SENSES ent gine blindly support a political party and write de shiite you does write fuh FREE.

Hence, the REAL “reason being ac” does get PAY by the DLP tuh come pun BU to contribute a lot ah rhetorical party political diatribe and generalized shiite statements dat doan mek nuh sense.

AC is the epitome of a true, true jackass yard-fowl par excellence. Duh ignorance en know nuh bounds.

De funny t’ing ‘bout it is, If yuh put the ACs, Patrick Todd, Reggie Hunte, Maxine McClean, Irene, Esther, Blackett, Kellman, Lowe, Michael Lashley, Stuart, Sinckler, Paul, George Pilgrim, Carrington, Mara Thompson or my sporty friend Jester Ince in a hat and pull out any one uh DEM, yuh gine pull out a AC. All uh DEM is one family.

I dun know de yard-fowls gine cahn resist de temptation to respond.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PUDRYR
    I appreciate your concerns, and admit they are valid. To some extent.

While frequently opposed, I believe sometimes you have to make decisions, rather than waiting for them to be made for you. The option of waiting has predictable results, which we have seen elsewhere. The path out, or rather the medicines prescribed, are known. Cause after tekking nuff medicine, you have nations who still haven’t recovered yet.

Waiting until a public election, to be followed by a new gov’t telling us things are worse than led to believe, and the following long drawn out procedures, in the end, Bim will get plenty publicity, and 5 years down the road be no better. Can you just hear ac? The dems was handling things good, and now these idiots run the place in the ground.

It isn’t like there is a good option? When you get this deep in debt, the road out is never pretty. And the IMF doesn’t run a lottery where 1 in every 10 applicants get their debt retired for free?

To answer your other question, you carry a board/table under a nearby street light and play. And hide de rum, cause the local drunk only coming if he thinks you got rum?

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dribbler

There are always underlying factors responsible for any demise in any operation that appears to be running on a full steam of normal. We have a colossal example in the CLICO affair to prove that what you see at the service was not the same underneath it. And, that in order to make it appear as some would like it to be seen, you simply just doctor the facts and present information that is not a true representation of the company’s true state. So take Barbados plunge towards the dark abyss; we are presented with information that is supposed to be factual whereas the reality paints a whole complete different picture. It’s similar to the two political parties, they paint pictures that are supposed to represent the facts but their actions tell a different story that sheds light on their true motives. We are placed in the awful predicament of not knowing which of these two parties to believe. We do not even know who really to give credit too for our successes because what counts most is if those successes are represented as a major part of what affects us in the present. At the moment, there is nothing really successful about Barbados to talk about only that we are still retaining our peaceful composure. As you can see, the current situation of Barbados paints a different picture and when all is said and done, we are here because of all that was done in the past, the decisions that are affecting our present and the leaders who took us, and are taking us, through each phase, right into a future that looks dismal.

24. Has the date of the no confidence motion been announced?

25. a very interesting article in the Nation by Grenville Phillips where he places the blamed on the blp for our national debt

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That idiocy will ensure that no one will take Grenville seriously, the rot in the economy was a collective effort of BLP refusing to listen to the rating agencies in 2005 who told them to roll back heavy spending and debt accumulation, while telling the DBLP in 2008 to roll back spending and debt accumulation, which they both refused to listen to and DBLPs bad decisioning making re accumulating debt and bad spending since 2008-present.

Obviously Grenville is not mature enough to back off the blame game and deal with the reality at hand or just assign the blame evenly and balanced as it should be, but what do you expect from people who are socialized to assign blame for everything……it’s always…. the other guy did it….steupss, not impressed.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Are we not beyond the point finger lay the blame stage? The nonsense that the BLP did and the nonsense that DLP is doing is what brought us to this point. This is known. Grenville has to play back the recording responsible for where we at if he is to appeal favourably with Barbadians to give them his vote. What Granville needs to do more than anything else is to come with an approach different to the customary approaches of the Ds and Bs. Truth and honesty to start with coupled with a management strategy that stops the corruption. So far he has a few ideas that make sense and others that I am not so sure will set well with the public. For instance, his solution to guilty persons being heavily fine as oppose to jail time. WWC we need to move past this point.

28. Anyone who read Grenville’s submission to the Nation newspaper with even a modicum of sense would have concluded he blames BOTH BLP and DLP for the state of the economy. In fact the submission is titled ‘BLP no better than DLP’ to support the point.

JA

29. There would be no blame game if the loans were used in restructing and diversifying the economy.what we have here is a nation in a vice grip of a global down turn financial agreements which were previously signed have to be paid to become current.Ratings agencies working on behalf of these financial institutions becomjng aggressively strident and practicular in issuing downgrades with a hope that debted nations would be pursue measure to repay the debt at a faster pace.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is that not the customary practice of elective politics with a few pounds of insult and a quarter kilo of bedroom business to present the known bullies, bullers and those with a preference for fetish? After Granville provides the evidence to blame and castigate he has to present himself as better than all the rest. I hope he achieves this.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Sunshine,

You said ” Truth and honesty to start with coupled with a management strategy that stops the corruption..” and I will add serious proactive programs to generate employment and jumpstart the economy in vibrant sustainable forex generating sectors.

Granville is weak on pragmatic things which are a continuous stream of demerits to his initiative irrespective of the fact that his heart is in the right place .

Sunshine. I once test drove a Lamborghini and it lived up to its reputation of 0-60 in less than 4 seconds. The force of acceleration is so great, it pins you to the seat (I test drove it, I did not buy it lol delusions of grandeure)

The type of representatives and party that we need to engage at this deleterious point of our country’s economic woes HAS TO BE ABLE to accelerate from 0-60 rapidly insofar as putting programs in place that permit our people to move rapidly to a place where we are back up to speed

The experience of The DLP and that of Mia Mottley when looked at dispassionately does not reflect what is needed and frankly as we look at Solutions Barbados what we are seeing is that same DNA.

Let me give you an example of another “donkey cart” in the economic race of Formula One racing that is our world.

The Barbados Entrepreneurs Foundation brain child of Dr Basil Springer aided by that Boos guy from the prestigious Ernst and Young. Recipient of $1million dollars from David Thompson in 2008, $$$ from which Jeremy Stephen, Economist Extraordinaire, the one who is belabouring the DLP now, benefited from.

It has been around for years, has benefited from the largesse of the dead king, and now has reattached itself like a remora to Caribbean Export like a vampire, but only this time, in clear light of day.

You understand what I am saying Sunshine? here we have “alpine goat parts” seeking and successfully attaching themselves to the lifeblood of organs that are themselves in the spotlight of national and regional issues as underperformers

“Plus ca change, plus ca reste la meme…”

But my darling, forgive that familial, but I am talking to a kindred spirit, what I most amazing is that we, a population of which we boast 98% literacy, accept this faeces wholeheartedly, WITH PEPPERSAUCE, probably imported cause we won’t use Windmill since that would mean supporting our own, we gobble it up as we swallow it with the cool aid or the Syrup that was ordered for the Schoolmeals department while the subject of this blog was the Hon. Minister of Education

Sometimes, like Bush Tea, I believe that with the abundance of brass bowls, we bajans are truly screwed because you take a bankrupt man or woman, pay them $20,000 a month and they then turn around and put $5 million or 20 years salary in their mothers account and expect us brass bowls to vote for them again

I sent my email to you via ***

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the intelligent AC

What then were the loans used for? The rating agencies are not responsible for the problem of our national debt crisis when the former and current administration chose to ignore the warnings of the ever increasing debt when their borrow to spend excursions was more attractive than restructuring. However, an opportunity presented is an opportunity gain. The rating agencies are just following the script, and Barbados just fell nicely into it.

33. yes he did blame both govts but one would have to be a top of the class Ja not to draw from his analysis that the root cause of our debt was amplified by po
    a poor system of goverance holding fast to a fiscal belief of uncontrolled borrowing relying on low interest rates to fast track and build an economy without being prudent and putting emphasis on diversifying the economy.
    Now the chickens have come home to roost and what is being shown is a nation trying to find ways to pay down debt create growth and in avoidance of having to impose further painful measures on the populace.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet piece

True to every word, and the thing is if we do not highlight these little indiscrepancies that have worked so well for those who operate in cloak but present themselves in goat, then the silly electorate will simply continue the cycle of changing one type of excrement for the next.

I have several email addresses my sweets. Let me which one of them you sent it too. Maybe my fathers probably. Like you, he warn me to be careful.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…you dont get tired of telling lies, even serial killers take a break.

SSS…that is all we can hope for re Grenville and his new party.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yo Piece….all the right word are neing said here.

Well Well & Consequences April 14, 2016 at 6:39 AM #
    Download might be a problem, had to copy.

From Wine Resorts to Medical Tourism: Exploring Niche Tourism Opportunities in the Caribbean
    The attraction to the Caribbean for most is the beautiful scenery, endless sunshine and resplendent white beaches. Visitors cannot seem to get enough of this tourism mecca. Last year saw the second year in a row that the Caribbean excelled ahead of the rest of the world in tourism arrivals, and the sixth consecutive year of growth for the Caribbean. Read more

The Caribbean Creative Industries Management Unit (CCIMU)
    The creative economy is not only one of the most rapidly growing sectors of the world economy, but also a highly transformative one in terms of income generation, job creation and export earnings. The presence of a creative and cultural sector within an economy has been seen to significantly contribute to wealth creation, employment generation, and poverty reduction in the region. Read more

Lire cet article dans l’édition française des Caribbean Export OUTLOOK

St. Kitts and Nevis: The Greenest Place on Planet Earth?
    Picture this: A tiny tropical island, breathtakingly beautiful, steeped in history, an exclusive haunt of the rich and famous, blessed with an abundant source of affordable, squeaky-clean, never-ending energy that generates so much electrical power it can export what it doesn’t need and no longer have to import expensive, environmentally unfriendly diesel fuel. When the 10 Megawatt (MW) geothermal power plant comes online in 2018, Nevis will become the greenest place on planet earth with fully 100 per cent of its electrical power supplied by renewables.
    Read more

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS: CONSULTANCY FOR THE DEVELOPMENT AND IMPLEMENTATION OF A STRATEGY TO IMPROVE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Deadline April 20, 2016. Find out more

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS: VALUE CHAIN MAPPING CONSULTANCY. Deadline April 22, 2016. Find out more

CARIBBEAN EXPORTER OF THE YEAR AWARDS: NOMINATIONS ARE INVITED FOR THIS YEARS’ AWARDS. Deadline April 30, 2016. Find out more

EXPRESSION OF INTEREST: PARTICIPATE IN A REGIONAL MARKET ACCESS CAPACITY BUILDING PROGRAMME. Deadline May 1, 2016. Find out more

Download your FREE copy

Our mailing address is:
    Caribbean Export Development Agency
    1st Floor
    Baobab Tower
    Warrens BB20226
    Barbados

Add us to your address book

unsubscribe from this list update subscription preferences

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp

37. @WW&C
    Prove ac a liar and point me in the direction as to where or when the economy was restructed and diversified under the past administration
    As of present Barbados is still trying to catch up with technology which were designed to achieve a better and faster servicing methods of communication globally
    Furthermore renewable and sustainable energy programs not fully implemented while other nations have made satisfactory gains and efforts
    A water system old and outdated now being repaired
    after many years of decay and neglect
    Educational system not fully equipped with models or standards that is competitive with a globally enviroment wherby those who graduate have the full skills and knoweldge that can be geared and beneficial to building an economy
    So point me in that direction where all of which i stated has happened in the past

38. Now most are clamouring to go back to those dsys of decadence and self interest.forgetting that where we are at present is because of an unbridled culture who refused to prepare and plan for a rainy day

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prove you a liar, why should I, you prove it everyday….and which rainy day is DBLP preparing for…..

40. The truth is u cant blasted answer u hypocrite as there is no evidence that bears proof that the barbados economy was well diversified and fully structured to withstand the negative forces of the global meltdown under the blp.
    Your question now being asked of me to show proof that is govt is embarking on restructing and diversifying the economy is one that begins with the actions that the opposition has taken to opposing tge govt projects that in long term would enhance and sustain the economy like WTE

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Why do I need to answer you AC, do I owe you something, once you post a lie on here, it’s on here forever and can easily be retrieved, do you remember your trip to St. Lucia when you never left Barbados and that was just one lie, but not even an important lie…

What I want you and PM Stuart to tell the people who pay his and your yardfowl salary is, what rainy days is the government preparing for, the people deserve that answer.

42. Those with the brain with the size of pin head should read the following link. It should be clear what Grenville is saying, except to the yardfowl.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80076/blp-dlp

43. Hold your horses very persumptouos of you or any one to know my daily whereabouts as you have bodly illustrated your ignorance of in your above comment
    The second half of your comment is equally as preposterous as the first
    Have a nice day

44. Whats it with you David you can interpret the article any way you want and so are others entitled to do the same.in any case Grenville made relevant points verifiable by what is factual that the blp made obsessive loans with little regard of negative factors that can affect the economy

45. Here is an excerpt from the article:

“By the measure of risk to repaying our loan obligations, crossing the safety of the 40 per cent GDP debt limit to over 90 per cent, and more than doubling the national debt from $4.3 billion to $9.2 billion, must rank the previous administration as our worst. The current administration is behaving as if that is an enviable position to pursue – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80076/blp-dlp#sthash.xbvsV9A0.dpuf

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It would be funny if not so disastrous, trying to outspend and out borrow the BLP, useless bunch of politicians.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

……….And yardfowls.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

and you get vex with me when I stir her pot LOL