caswellTHE SATURDAY SUN of March 12, 2016 informed readers that the Minister of Labour, Senator Dr Esther Byer Suckoo, had ruled in favour of the Grantley Adams International Airport Inc. (GAIA Inc.) in its dispute with the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), over the 3.5 per cent wage increase for workers dated back to 2010.

As an industrial relations practitioner, that news came as a complete shock since that ruling has overturned everything that I was taught and practised over the years. At this stage, without going into the merits of the case for either side, I would like to review the comedy of errors that culminated with the Minister acting as a conciliator and giving a ruling.

The disputing parties met, negotiations broke down; and the employer, in an attempt to forestall threatened industrial action, referred the matter to the Chief Labour Officer. In industrial relations, conciliation is a process where the parties to a dispute utilise the services of a neutral third party to assist them in coming to an amicable settlement. That basic definition by itself should have ruled out the minister as a conciliator.

The statement by GAIA Inc. published in the SUNDAY SUN of February 14, 2016 revealed that the matter of an increase of wages and salaries for GAIA Inc’s workers was referred to Cabinet for final approval, and that they instructed the company in December 2010 that there should be no increase in wages and salaries. Dr Byer-Suckoo was then and continues to be a member of the Cabinet.

Even if she had given the most profound ruling, there would always be those among us would be suspicious of her actions. The oft-quoted maxim by Lord Chief Justice Hewart could not be more apt in these circumstances: “Justice should not only be done, but should manifestly and undoubtedly be seen to be done”.

The Minister cannot be seen as an independent third party. First, she is bound by the constitutional convention of collective responsibility to publicly support all decisions made in Cabinet. Additionally, she is an unelected parliamentarian who serves in the Senate at the pleasure of the Prime Minister and she would not be expected to overrule the alleged agreement made when the PM chaired a meeting with the disputing parties on December 28, 2010.

I contend that there is no role for the Minister of Labour or the Prime Minister to be a conciliator in labour disputes. That practice crept into our local industrial relations when a union found itself out on a limb and needed someone to help it climb down. In order to save face, the union could and did say that it changed its position out of respect for the Prime Minister. That worked so well that it has continually been used to thwart the demands and legitimate expectations of workers.

That aside, in this case, how did the Minister start out as a conciliator and end up giving a ruling as though she was an arbitrator? A conciliator does not make a ruling. A person in that capacity is only required to assist the parties in reaching an amicable settlement. (If we are to judge by the reaction of the president of the NUPW, the settlement was anything but amicable). On the other hand, an arbitrator listens to the evidence and comes to a conclusion in much the same way as a judge.

If the parties were interested in binding arbitration, there is a piece of little known legislation, the Trade Disputes (Arbitration and Enquiry) Act, that would not involve the Minister. That act at section 3 requires either of the parties to a dispute to report the matter to the Governor General, who would appoint an arbitrator to decide the matter, if the other side agrees.

The other troubling aspect of this sorry spectacle is that the union’s delegation seems to have been led by the president, who is not required to know anything about industrial relations. The rules of that union assign a very limited role to its president. According to Rule 11, the president shall ordinarily preside at meetings, sign cheques and other negotiable instruments in conjunction with the treasurer and as part of the Executive Committee superintend the general affairs of the union in conjunction with the general secretary.

It seems in this dispute that everyone is doing his/her own thing and only the workers suffer. Students of industrial relations must carefully review the actions taken in this dispute, and when they have done so; they would know how not to prosecute a grievance on behalf of workers.

Caswell Franklyn is the general secretary of Unity Workers Union and a social commentator. Email: caswellf@hotmail.com

105 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – No Role for Minister in GAIA War”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You mean that everywhere you turn, Cahill, immigration and this fingerprint thing Labour and GAIA, the Estimates, these people have no competencies?

2. When I read the caption in Friday’s nation titled ” Victory for GAIA” in apparent reference to the ruling by the Minister in the dispute between the NUPW and the board of the GAIA,; what immediately came to my mind was not the purported victory hollow though it might be but rather the disadvantageous process which authorised the Minister of Labour to be judge and jury in a matter against an agency of which by extension she is a part.adjudicated the matter and found in her favour. Now pray tell me where in such settlement can the defeated workers construe that justice would have appeared to have been done. A real comedy of errors in spirit and deceit.

3. The issue not mentioned and one Caswell did not touch because he does not want to bite the hand paying for the column is the passive response by local media.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Does Esthrr Byer look like she likes work..easier for her to just get rid of the problem and pretend she actually did something, the ongoing problems with modern day politicians are, they do not like work, do not like problem solving, do not have any problem solving skills and only know how to count in the millions to bank money, in their own accounts.

We see this clearly with every undertaking and every arising issue, all their actions are failures…..they are incompetent. ..horribly so.

5. The captioned shows that the Nation journalist lack investigative skills and are too lazy to research.

6. The media the media the media … There can be no real change for better, without the help of the media.

7. From the moment Suckoo or is it Byer was embraced (welcomed) by GAIA and the NUPW the journalists and talk show hosts should have probing like a 1″ drill bit.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Nation Newspaper needs to stop their small minded biases and tell the whole truth in their articles and not half truth and outright lies that mislesds the public…..what kind of journalism is that, it can only be called…….banana republic journalism…..

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I did not touch that issue simply because it did not come to mind when I was writing, and in any event, I have an upper limit of 650 words. If you check, you would realise that I was way over that limit. That is why I only dealt with the role of the NUPW president in one condensed paragraph.

10. @Caswell

It was a jab pointed at you but not about you.

11. this GAIA issue is not even worth time of day fatherless the Suckoo input Caswell you are absolutely right given the issue was put to rest many moons ago agreed and signed by both parties involved ..This unnecessary disruption of the govt which is costly to the taxpayers should subject the NUPW and its leaders to charge/s in what amounts to govt time and fees in this useless time consuming overreach of rehashing a closed matter

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

You have to come back here and apologize to Ester Byer Suckoo

You impute that Suckoo is a bastard chile!!

“Fatherless the Suckoo…”

How can you say this of the clueless dugula?

That is unkind and unfair to the woman AC, and to call her thus on a Sunday in clear sight of the more than 45,000 readers of Barbados Underground

Everyone has a father and even though some are only biological donors, you cannot be saying things like this, “furthermore” she is a woman, as one of you are, and that diminishes all women to speak of them this way.

Shame on you, (please let the other bright fellow, the one who can speaks intelligently, vet your items, BEFORE YOU POST)

13. The REAL issue here is the balls-less union.

Shiite man…we already KNOW of the underhandedness and incompetence of the Government… But ya mean the damn UNION is equally incompetent…?

Why were they not ranting and raving about this from the very beginning…?
    Who in their right mind would accept a ‘mediator’ who was a member of the very cabinet against whom you are fighting…?

Steupsss
    Last time this Akanni fella had this government by the balls with the ‘age 60 forced retirement’ issue, he ended up in the newspapers skinning his teeth with Stinkliar ….and dumping the retirees at the alter of a tax-free car….

It seems that there is no hope for us from ANY avenue…

…The Government is comprised of lying, thieving, bribe-taking lawyers… (redundant indeed -could have just said ‘lawyers…’)
    …The opposition is IDENTICAL in potentialities – even taking bribes from the same damn people…
    …The Unions settle for a little skin-teeth, an ambassadorship and a tax-free benz

…..and Caswell, Walter and Jeff continues to play the ass….

We dead!!!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright March 20, 2016 at 10:27 AM

“Fatherless the Suckoo…”

OMG!!
    Only you Piece can bring tears of laughter to my eyes to act as a balm of joy to my intellectual soul.
    Maybe ac meant to say “far less” she is a political orphan adopted by Father Froon to replace his neutered and now ‘bark-less’ lapdog Estwick.

15. @ PUDRYR and Miller

This particular AC from the consortium of yard-fowls continues to “slaughter” the English language. Perhaps this one is dyslexic.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…good one Piece…I thought that “fatherless” talk went out with the dinosaurs. …but AC would not know that in the context she was looking for is correctly spelt…..fartherless…..dont let her try to tell you its a typo later when someone points it out to her.

Clueless yardfowl…..lol

17. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@David, To be fair, the Barbados Advocate editorialized on this issue, and not in the Minister’s favour, on Friday last…

In our view, there is much that is regrettable about this state of affairs. First, there is the issue of the process. Understandably, in an environment that encourages the voluntary resolution of disputes through social dialogue, it may, and does, fall to appointed officials; the Chief Labour Officer, the Minister with responsibility for Labour issues and, ultimately, the Prime Minister, to act as mediators or conciliators to assist the parties in finding a solution to their problem. However, neither of these alternative modes of dispute resolution should involve an official “descending into the arena” and providing a ruling as to the merits of the case for either disputant.

18. @Jeff

Thanks, when will the advocate comeback online?

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

David, I have not the slightest idea. But I understand that it is being worked on.

20. Thanks Jeff if they don’t get it up an running it makes it very difficult to be aware of their content.

21. @ac March 20, 2016 at 9:47 AM #

“This unnecessary disruption of the govt which is costly to the taxpayers should subject the NUPW and its leaders to charge/s in what amounts to govt time and fees in this useless time consuming overreach of rehashing a closed matter………………………………..

Since when you morons care anything about cost to taxpayers?

………….Fumbles just declare that he aint care how much we grumble about blowing $7million on fetes for the 50th.

……Stinkliar just took up 55 MILLION dollars and gave CLICO for that building on Collymore Rock that looks like it is ready to collapse unto People’s Cathedral,

……You waste money weekly and monthly on receptions for your yardfowls and a few tourists at Ilaro Court .

…… You waste thousands of dollars on catering in Parliament

…….You waste millions on David Thompson football and constituency councils

You really feel we are listening to you all?

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s time for them to leave the people’s parliament, it’s not theirs.

23. Caswell

Is there any chance of you aligning your union with the NUPW?

As it stands right now, these incompetent morons seem to be out foxing them using bullying tactics.

Your experienced voice is really needed there.

24. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

@ Well, well – it’s about time we (the people) make them leave!

@ PS, Caswell won’t stand a chance.

25. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

prodigal the only incompetent morons i see are those heading the NUPW,the current president is the biggest JA that has been appointed to that post for years what you need to suggest is that Caswell give them some lessons in the basics of unionism. As they seem to not know what they are about.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

I would support NUPW or any other union if I think that their cause is just. Unfortunately, their goal and that of the Government is the destruction of Unity Workers Union because we are not politically aligned and not controlled by either party.

27. Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke destroyed the NUPW, they sold out the workers for a mere morsel.

The present leadership has a job on its hands.

Isn’t it funny that Byer Suckoo could tell the that they are not entitled to a mere 3% but could agree

to a 200% increase in fees for the directors of the NIS board. Mind you these are people from the upper class with top jobs who don’t need any more money. She authorized their increase for a few hours work per month but lowly paid workers at the bottom of the totem pole dont deserve a raise.

28. Thanks Caswell, you do what you have to do and forget the haters.

29. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

The issue is in the manner in which the decision was made and the magnitude of the increase. Management of the pension scheme of all workers in Barbados requires persons with the requisite skills. These skills do not come cheap.

30. “Bernard Codrington. March 21, 2016 at 1:32 AM #

The issue is in the manner in which the decision was made and the magnitude of the increase. Management of the pension scheme of all workers in Barbados requires persons with the requisite skills. These skills do not come cheap.”

No problem with your scholarly appraisal of the decision. The question is whether the members of the current board are endowed with such skills and whether the skills are utilised effectively in the management of the national Insurance Fund. Lest you forget, the board of directors of clico were all highly certified individuals in their own right but probably not skilled in the art of money manipulation.

31. Hopefully, Bernard Codrington (BC) is no relation to AC ….
    …just saying. 🙂

32. Bush shit why u calling my name so early. Btw yuh brass bowl entertainment would make millions as a comedy road show. Stop wasting yuh talent ole boar

33. A lady called Brass Tacks this afternoon to say that after waiting two years and their retrenchment issue being referred to the ERT, she and other former NCC employees are yet to receive their severance payments.

She also mentioned that while those individuals working at the NCC, living in Christ Church communities such as Parish Land and Silver Sands were fortunate enough not to be retrenched, she and many other former co-workers have been experiencing much difficulty in finding employment.

The amazing thing about this entire scenario is Hal Gollop, Ed Bushell and the other members of the ERT have probably received their stipends for the days the tribunal actually held hearings.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

The solution to that issue of Bushell and Gollop and all being paid prior to the resolution of the ERT matter is very simple.

The Contract under which the ERT is established should have been established on a results basis – ONCE THE SPECIFIC NEXUS OF ENGAGEMENT IS RESOLVED THEN AND ONLY THEN DO THE ENABLERS GET PAID!!

So suppose that you are building my house, this contract would be a variation of that contract, you get paid once my house is built.

That succubus policy that the DBLP are famous for HAS TO STOP!

Imagine that the parties to the matter are still sucking salt and these swine are eating the fatted calf!!

IT IS WRONG!!

Results based contracts – they are convened based on the specific NEC matter and it that is not solved then they will not be paid

ADDITIONALLY, the value of such compensation cannot exceed a particular amount and the deliberants or whatever you want to call then Gollop possee must sing a contract prior to commencing agreeing to such

35. Artax

That whole tribunal thing was a waste of time. The stupid union leaders accepted to go before a non existent entity thus selling out the workers…………and they have the nerve to criticise the present leadership.

I think I heard during the estimates debate that Hal Gollop has said that the government has no money so the workers are not going to get back their jobs.

So is that an indication that he will most likely rule against the workers?

If the decision is that there will be no re-instatement, can they give the poor workers their dues? After all, the government has found 7 million to lick out for Independence celebrations and 55 million to buy a CLICO building, why cant they just pay the poor workers whom they always claim to be their champions?

Did the low man not cried at Sherbourne when they had the meeting and promised that he would give up his salary or something to that effect?

I hope that these same poor people remember how badly this government has treated them come election day.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. March 21, 2016 at 1:32 AM
    “Management of the pension scheme of all workers in Barbados requires persons with the requisite skills. These skills do not come cheap.”

What skills my donkey! The only skill required is the lack of personal pride and professional integrity in licking the backside of some politician.

On what basis are these skilled persons making decisions if the financials are way out of date and massively incomplete? Are they utilizing the skills of David Copperfield or Harry Houdini?
    Where does the muted Dr. JR fit into that ‘expensive’ skills set?

37. “Isn’t it funny that Byer Suckoo could tell the that they are not entitled to a mere 3% but could agree

to a 200% increase in fees for the directors of the NIS board.”

The two issues are separate and distinct. After all Dr Suckoo would have been part of the 2010 Cabinet decision which decided that the GAIA workers would not receive increases. To rule otherwise in the travesty of justice would mean a reversal of her position at Cabinet.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Balance

I think that you missed the point. Suckoo should not have been ruling on the matter in the first place. In our system of justice, there is something called the rule against bias. It is expressed in Latin as memo Judex in parte sua, no person can be a judge in his own case.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Somewhat like the lawyer who represents him/herself is a fool…lol

40. @ Caswell
    This matter was not within our ‘system of justice’ (whatever the hell THAT is)…. it was a labour dispute…and Suckoo (Byer) could only play the role she did if the Union agreed to it…
    ..besides, was she expected to ‘rule’? … or to conciliate?

The Union people were idiots to accept a Cabinet member as mediator…. but the NUPW has a habit of doing such ..and then seeking to play political games to get favourable rulings…

Obviously, in true DLP style, the minister was instructed to “make a ‘ruling’ and let the foolish people go long ’bout their stupid business…” (or words of similar effect… 🙂 )

Wait!
    Were you not big in NUPW?
    Since you don’t plan to BUP, why not go back and lend your experience to an already established body rather than try to reinvent the damn wheel?

..Can’t believe you let Goddard and Maloney run you in the first place…!!!

41. “Caswell Franklyn March 22, 2016 at 7:00 AM #

Balance

I think that you missed the point. Suckoo should not have been ruling on the matter in the first place. In our system of justice, there is something called the rule against bias. It is expressed in Latin as memo Judex in parte sua, no person can be a judge in his own case.”

I agree with you entirely Caswell as my post March 20 at 5.49 would indicate.

42. The question is what recourse is there for the workers now. Should they continue to be disadvantaged because of this tainted ruling?

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Balance

The problem with tainted rulings generally is that the major unions have been completely taken over by the DLP. In NUPW’s case, the DLP is fighting to hold on but some of the members of the executive have aligned themselves to the BLP. The struggle inside NUPW is now not so much dealing with the workers’ concerns but with BLP/DLP politics. Are you aware that the recent industrial action at the airport was choreographed in the Opposition office at Parliament.

NUPW is not alone, even though the BWU’s fight with the Barbados Water Authority is just the steps were also choreographed at the same location. BWU is just a bystander in this fight. It had no choice, and that was to follow the workers or they would leave and join another union, not Unity by the way.

BWU cannot afford to lose any more members since it is collecting dues from just about 9,000 members per month. That is down from 30,000 in the 1980s.

44. Roslyn Smith does not think Privatization is a good idea as it can create major job losses for Union members
    Unwittlingly she might have created a light bulb moment for myself given me sufficient reasons to give a nod towards Privzation of govt assests as this back and forth between govt and Unions cannot go on forever
    Selling govt assets aligned to Union and govt disputes might be the only solution for getting these monkeys off govt back giving way for the closure of many of these long drawn out legal battles between govt and Union that are very costly to govt and taxpayers
    Let these big Union bosses fight the hierarchy in the Corporate world and see how far they get
    Thanks Roslyn never thought I would agree with OSA on Privatization

45. It is inevitable that sooner rather than later that no matter which govt is in power that certain govt entities that have plagued the barbados economy with strike action would have to be privatised

46. Is it fathomable that the powers that be could have summoned the vision to understand why a strike at the seaport and airport is not a good idea at this time?

47. Truthfully i would hate to see Barbados sold off to a group of Corporate elitist but the alternative one of govt having to be bullied and coreced at a drop of a hat may in effect forced the govt hand to seeking a remedy not necessarily a quick fix for the nations economic woes..However a remdy that removes real fears of an economy crippled by strike action
    A fear driven by social and economic instabilty that can be down right threatening and leading to further downgrades foistering heightened negative investor confidence

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The workers have taken the lead against the Government and compromised unions. Toni is following in order to save the union from mass defections.

49. @Caswell

Are saying the workers do not have a case?