joseyjose

Several days ago the Nation Newspaper published a letter from an individual. Unfortunately, we did not take note of his name, so, we will call him Mr. Letter Writer (but if any of you remember the letter and the date in which it appeared, please email us).

It seems that Mr. L. Writer was most displeased with Anderson Cherry’s display of the Barbadian flag on his skips. The reason for his displeasure being that a skip is no place to display our flag. Fair enough.

Cherry himself is no stranger to controversy (see here, here and here) and some may wonder: Is the flag on the skip a commercially oriented publicity stunt? Is he being patriotic in his own special way? Or, both?

Read full text @Suck Salt blog

199 responses to “Cherry Picking The Barbados Flag”

1. If Mr. Cherry was white like Bizzy Williams/Bjorn Bjerkhamn/Mark Maloney then this would not even be discussed much less an issue.

2. leave mr cherry alone

3. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

All you need is a pole stronger enough to fly it, Until then it just have to sit on the ground,

4. What Cherry is doing is wrong and disrespects our Flag. Why are people willing to try to excuse wrong as long as black people do it. If it is wrong it is wrong, who ever does it. Note, Swing Low, the people you mention have not shown disrespect for any of our symbols. Cherry is disrespectful of authority of any kind, just so that he can make money. Imagine creating , or wanting to create, a dump site at Lower Estate in the environs of housing, a feed and food manufacturing plant, upwind of the Turning housing area. The man has no social conscience.

5. @Alvin

Can it be as bad as burning the flag?

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Pssssst Alvi Pelvi

Please do not let anybody know, but I got to agree with you. But, Alvin, I have seen broken trident on the butts of women wearing short skimpies. Is that not disrespectful too?

7. We can’t speak of the flag being on a garbage slip when the island is treated like one garbage container by its citizens.

On the other hand can someone design a Corporate logo for Mr.Cherry? You can incorporate some Bajan cherries into the design, a maraschino cherry on a cocktail could be part of another or even a dog named Blue (Canadian residents will get that last one).

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

A few comments about Cherry and Jose & Jose one of the silent partners of the Leader of the Opposition and beneficiary of millions during the BLP administration

Anderson is a simple man without the social/intellectual graces of many of you.

He is a self made man who worked cleaning many a shite pit while we were quick to avoid the jobby as well as those cleaning the jobby.

On the front of his vehicles that say “number one in the number two business, ” there are the words “GOD BLESS FAT CHILD”

De ole man is therefore at a loss why, if the name of GOD can be invoked on his trucks why the meaningless flag can, and will, incur such wrath and national indignation for this meaningless symbol of a occasion which has no real significance to 95% of the people of Barbados.

Sweet Suzanne I hope you have a good weekend up there in ??? Be safe in the gym etc etc and keep away from large crowds with white people who of recent times seem to be a magnet to random “incidents”

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exactly Piece…the flag only means something to those who care about a piece of cloth with a print on it…meaningless.

Alvin….stop being a hypocrite. …the politicians are flying a flag of corruption and all things that are destroying the very fabric of the society…how is that not more worrisome to you than another yardfowl like yourself flying the flag on a skip, in Barbados.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Besides Alvin…Cherry’s trucks and skips look a hell of a lot cleaner than many parts of the island…even though the skips contain garbage…that is what you should be whining about…the filthy state of some parts of the island, the broken down government buildings on Bay Street and other parts of the island, which are a health hazard…can any of us see you leaving Canada to clean pits and wells or pick up garbage in Barbados…well Cherry has the stomach to do it and he should be proud to fly his piece of cloth.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins March 18, 2016 at 9:23 AM
    “The man has no social conscience”

Sounds like the scammers behind the Cahill project.

BTW, Alvin what has become of Cahill and its local backers? Now if that was a real project instead of a phantom dream of corrupt politicians there would be no need for Cherry and his flag-flying crew to clean up dirty Barbados.

Have you had a meeting with Clare Cowan recently?

12. Don’t we have garbage cans with the national colours?

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece, if you want to know where I live just ask. I live in Europe, three places to be exact. Two of these places belong to my pooch licking DLP servant of a Father. The other one belong to me. Yesterday, a 2.2kg weight fell on my toe and took the skin off. Working from home today, until next Wednesday. Thanks for asking.

As for Alvin, I agree with what he said about the flag. As much as Sherry is number 1 in the number 2 business, he is also a massive recipient of BLP contracts and other perks that made him and them rich beyond their wildest dreams. That is why Sherry could have burn down his office building and pretend like he suffered a lost. God has definitely blessed fat child, but, unfortunately, she has wait another two years before she can start blessing him again.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

oooops my mistake.. that should until he, God bless Sherry again. Darn find these days I got me some serious writing and grammar issues.

15. Alvin Cummins March 18, 2016 at 9:23 AM #

“ The man has no social conscience.”

@ Alvin Cummins

Are you SERIOUS by your comment “the man has no social conscience?”

BUSINESSMAN ANDERSON CHERRY has taken matters into his own hands, helping to clean a community affected badly by a pile-up of garbage. Cherry, chief executive officer of Jose Y Jose Liquid and Solid Waste Management Inc. and who hails from the Bush Hall community in St Michael, said his team undertook a “massive” clean-up in the area yesterday morning, ridding it of as much garbage as they could so that the place could be as he remembered it, “spotless”. [Nation News, July 27, 2015]

Young people from across Barbados turned out in their numbers this morning to participate in an island wide clean-up. Children as young as six joined their elders in the drive which began near the Hilton Barbados Resort, Needhams Point, St Michael. The clean- up drive which was sponsored by the Future Centre Trust, also attracted a team from the neighbouring island of Guadeloupe and visited such areas as the shorelines behind Drill Hall, St Lawrence, Dover Playing Field, Atlantic Shores, the Oistins’ Bus Terminal and the Barbados Cruising Club.
    Meanwhile, Managing Director of Jose Y Jose Liquid and Solid Waste Management Inc, Anderson Cherry, who participated in the clean up drive told Barbados TODAY that all of the waste collected would be taken to his company’s facility in Lower Estate. He said the recyclables would be extracted, separated and the green waste would be put to the compost heap, while the plastic bottles and cardboard would be shipped overseas. [Barbados Today, September 19, 2015]

The government of Barbados now has an option and an alternative to the shortage of trucks as it relates to garbage collection. Businessman Anderson Cherry has written to the Government, The Minister of Environment and the National Conservation Commission stating his desire to allow them to utilize five garbage trucks for garbage collection, as he tries to quell the problem being experienced. [Bajan Reporter, January 18, 2016]

THE ABOVE EXCERPTS HIGHLIGHT EXAMPLES OF CHERRY DEMONSTRATING HIS “SOCIAL CONSCIENCE.”

During Crop Over men and women are seen wearing body paint, scarves, torn shirts and very short pants depicting the Barbados flag, engaging in vulgar behavior as bands trek from the National Stadium to the Spring Garden highway. And we accept this every year.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 18, 2016 at 10:50 AM #

“Darn find these days I got me some SERIOUS WRITING and GRAMMAR ISSUES.”

@ SSS

Perhaps you should LIMIT your READING of the ACs’ contributions, since they more often than not contain “some SERIOUS WRITING and GRAMMAR ISSUES.”

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

At least Cherry has a social conscience and is giving back in the form of cleaning the surroundings…what are you, the other yardfowls and the politicians giving back to the island Alvin…what are Bizzy and Co giving back, what is Butch Stewart giving back, they are all trying to hog everything while giving back very little or nothing…I dont see you trying to tear any of them down…your drawers are showing.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

I love that one. “god bless fatchild and she will bless him again on 2018” when their turn comes to divvy up the fatted calf

Rest with that foot, I know the pain that a 2.2 lb weight can do to a toe, especially those dainty toes of yours. Take care.

@ Artaxerxes

There is an implicit challenge in our award/blame system? which we humans are forever afflicted with or victims of.

If we took a snapshot of each of our lives and made a judgement about the merits and demerits of such actions at that specific time, such action might merit entry to heaven today yet, tomorrow, it would gain us a seat in the lap of the Devil himself

It is best captured in Jesus’ renown statement “let he who is without sin cast the first straw”

I will be prolix in my comment because, as you and SSS rightfully pointed out, the same man who led the admirable island wide, much needed national cleanup, is (purportedly) the same man who like the legendary Arson Trust (as in Trust me to burn down any building I own) incredibly suffered a similar arson rather burning of his property.

The culprits for that arson are either the Party in Power, to punish him for his spat with the Town and Cuntry Planning Department, OR his competitors in the garbage business and we know who they are.

No no no any sentiments that he burnt down his own company are spurios at least for would it be that a christian, and a man whose vehicles are monikered with the words “God bless fat child” would burn down his business?

No no no.

Emblazoning the Flag on a Dumpster with the words “This is Your Island and mine, keep It Clean” is of a more positive value than the flip side where we menses, even in the presence of portable toilets (nearly said potable like Clare) piss up the alley in front of the Taxi Stand on Broad Street like the dogs that we are.

I think this is a moot topic based on the fact what Anderson is doing is way better that the inanimate meaningless Trident

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And to think neither groups of politicians or their insipid yardfowls or business partners or esteemed friends have any goddamn respect for the broken trident since they ALL condone corruption which runs contrary to any postive direction for the country….Alvin, you need a hobby.

20. We have to decide what we want as a people. If as part of nation building do we want to treat with our national colours in particular way? Do we support the right of citizens to fully expressed themselves? What do we want.

21. Why are we giving Cherry such a hard time and others like Paul Bynoe? Yet …

22. Why is this topic up for discussion??? One man’s garbage is another man’s treasure! Garbage is BIG BUSINESS ! So is the author against BIG BUSINESS???

23. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Cherry is a self-made businessman busting his ass every day to do work that bureaucrats only dream of frustrating while coming up with new ideas to differentiate himself from the sheeple. Including painted skips.

There are only two ways to get ahead in BDS’ current corrupt, civil-service-stifled environment; pay bribes or take the civil service to court.

If you want to know which successful business people aren’t corrupt, all you have to do is check court logs. The ones constantly fighting for their rights are the ones not paying bribes.

24. Mr. Cherry does not always do things the right or best way but at least you can’t accuse him of sitting idly by and being lazy. I am just amazed at the speed at which a black Barbadian is attacked by fellow black Barbadians but when ugly Bizzy open he mouth the other day to whine like a insipid and sickly little child about “the freest black country in the world” nobody ain’t open the mouths.

A loud STUPSE!!

25. @All,
    I am a proud and patriotic Bajan and object strongly to ANY desecration of our symbols. There are legal penalties for such desecration and there are protocols determining what each of the symbols stand for and what can and cannot be done with them. Placing the “flag” on a garbage skip is NOT ACCEPTABLE. Surely the leader of the opposition could and should have advised Mr. Cherry that it is not acceptable. Unless of course she does not care about the same country she aspires to lead. Would she accept this without question if she were Prime Minister?
    If she does not care, I do. There was a time when we did not have a flag of our own. Now we have one why can’t we show it the respect it deserves?
    And David, that is why the United States treats Flag Burning with such seriousness. The Flag is a symbol of the country itself.
    What am I going to do with BAJANS? After fifty years you still don’t have PRIDE in yourselves?

26. @Artax.
    Re Don Cherry. BULL SHITE!!!
    This has nothing to do with Cherry the “businessman, or where he comes from, or how hard he works, or any of that.. We know his position from the time with the Truckers strike over the Tipping Fee. That is and was BUSINESS.
    OUR INDEPENDENCE IS ANOTHER MATTER. CERTAIN SYMBOLS ARE INDICATIVE OF OUR INDEPENDENCE. SOME OF YOU WOULD STILL LIKE TO BE PART OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE; FRUSTRATED BUSINESS MAN, YOU CAN MOVE TO ANOTHER PART OF THAT EMPIRE IF YOU WANT, BUT YOU LIVE (i think) in Barbados. Barbados is independent and we, and you, MUST respect that independence, like it or lump it. I stood in the rain at the Garrison when the British Flag was hauled down and the Broken Trident; symbolic of our break with the BRITISH TRIDENT, held in Britannia’s hand when “she ruled the waves,was broken and we were named an INDEPENDENT Country.
    My navel string bury in Wellington st., but I would never desecrate the Canadian flag or any of that country’s symbols. Throughout history a country’s flag would be held aloft even though the flag bearer was dying from wounds, and someone else would rush to hold it aloft before it touched the ground. I took part in the musical/ play produced by the Festival choir,; as part of that Independence celebration, in which i wrested the Trident from the God of the Seas to rescue Miss Bimshire, held captive. The Trident was broken but I was able to assure her that that was alright, because I had the top, and that is where the power was. It is the Trident in our flag that symbolizes the strength of our country.
    WE SEEM TO CARE NOTHING ABOUT OUR COUNTRY, THAT IS WHY CHERRY SEES IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE A WASHPAN OF MONEY. HOW IT IS THAT ONLY NOW IN 2016 HE SEES THAT THERE IS MONEY IN GARBAGE. ALL LAST YEAR WHEN I WAS INVOLVED IN ARGUMENTS WITH YOU PEOPLE CHERRY NEVER SAW THE NEED OR OPPORTUNITY. WHEN PAUL BYNOE STARTED HIS BUSINESS HE WAS LAUGHED AT, UNTIL PEOPLE SAW THAT HE COULD MAKE MONEY, THEN ALL THE SHARKS AND DETRACTORS MOVED IN.

AS I SAID MY BEEF IS WITH THOSE WHO PERSIST IN TRYING TO ALWAYS DENIGRATE MY COUNTRY IN WHATEVER WAY THEY CAN.
    I PURPOSELY WRITE THIS IN CAPITALS BECAUSE I MAD AS SHITE!!!!!!!!!
    ERROL BARROW KNEW HIS PEOPLE WHEN HE ASKED THE QUESTION “WHAT MIRROR IMAGE DO YOU HAVE OF YOURSELF?”
    I ASK TODAY; 17TH MARCH 2016, IN THE FIFTIETH YEAR OF OUR INDEPENDENCE:
    WHAT MIRROR IMAGE DO WE HAVE OF OURSELVES?

27. @Well Well,
    You are hopeless and you will NEVER understand me or where I come from. So I am not getting into any discussion on this particular matter.
    You referred to My Flag as What?….No laughing matter.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Woo Alvi Pelvi

You really mad fuhtrute yeah yeah. The SSS is with you on the flag thing Alvi. But you still ain’t answer my question. You think the flag is appropriate when displayed in this manner: Hmmm god this is a sexy bod. Don’t mean you Alvin, seeing you naked might frighten me more than the Curse of Emily Rose.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-6iQnKR5lwi0/UEdwIaB477I/AAAAAAAAAx0/br1Nf7LAwxI/s1600/flag.jpg

29. Cherry is likely trying to be “nationalistic” for the 50th year celebrations.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Alvin is right. The flag should not be brought to the level of garbage even if the island is currently filled with it and being run by it. The flag is a depiction of our nation’s sovereignty and must be appropriately depicted and not demean in any way. So Sherry’s business is waste hauling, a car racer might have the flag plastered on his car. During the race, dirt, mud, dust and whatever splashes all over it covering and smudging the symbol. No one complaints because that is appropriate and acceptable. Sherry places the symbol of our flag on his skips as an exhibition of pride for his country. Alvi Pelvi vex is shite because the flag has been brought down to the level of garbage. Alvi, it is all in how we interpret it and look at it. I am sure if a fella produces some Garbage cans for householders and place a symbol of the flag to depict made in BIM on it, would you too jump up and get mad as a hatter as well? Alvi, there are doormats with the Barbados flag on it. Is that inappropriate as well love? All in the interpretation ma bau, All in the interpretation.

31. The colour is gold not yellow but de song sweet.

32. Perhaps we need to see ‘garbage; as waste, a valuable resource.

33. The History of the Barbados flag

The spirit of patriotism

Last-minute entry won prize for flag

IN WINNING THE flag design prize, Grantley Prescod not only felt a distinctive personal pride in seeing his creation hoisted on November 30, 1966, but also exhibited a typical characteristic for which Barbadians are known – perseveranceOn the closing date of August 10, 1966, Prescod had completed seven designs, but his sketch of what became Barbados’ National Flag was only done on the morning of the last day of submission
    Prescod’s design comprised three equal vertical strips, the middle one of gold with a broken trident in its centre, bordered by ultra marine
    Cabinet chose the winning entry from four submitted to them by a screening panel of judges. The panel was Bruce St John, chairman, Major Leonard Banfield, Maurice Cave, Neville Connell, Mrs Enid Lynch and Mrs BB Ward.
    Altogether, 1 029 flag designs were submitted by 520 competitors, but it was quite appropriate that the $500 design prize was won by art teacher Prescod.
    With others who played special roles in the Independence exercise, Prescod, now an Education Officer, represented the spirit of Barbados in his determination to do better.
    Also an organist, Prescod’s love for art showed at an early age, while he was a student at St Barnabas Boys’ School, and later taught the subject at the nearby Parkinson Comprehensive School, as it was then
    Mr Prescod said that his design was partly inspired by the Barbados badge which existed before Independence, which depicted sea god Neptune pulling the reins of two horses, riding in a sea shell and carrying the mythical trident.
    The broken trident in the National Flag symbolizes our break with the colonial past in 1966.
    Waved with pride at all national events and flown daily, whatever his own conception, has come to symbolize in many minds the sea and sun of Barbados – the natural beauty of the island – and the bright outlook and outgoing nature of Barbadians
    As in other countries, there has been no move to change its design for whatever reason and it remains our most important symbol of Independence and all that we stand for.

Nation news

foot note if your hate for your country is measured with the long arm of politicians then your hatred for the flag would be measured like wise
    At least a debt of gratitude to Grantley Prescod should be allotted to the flag as a symbol of undivided respect

Society have become a nation of rag -me- tail drag down political nincoompoops no matter what !even if we make giant a.ss holes of ourselves

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins

“What is form without substance?”

To what does that statement refer?

Errol Barrow inasmuch as he make that statement was a decorated RAF pilot, a professional man, who did not need the favours of any man, white or black!!

The reason that I state quite confidently that the symbol and flag and trident of Barbados is empty and is representative of an ideal that has gone to the dogs lies in the fact that with all the fanciful stories that you would wish to speak of pertaining to that play you participated in eons ago, the fact remains that it speak to utopian constructs.

No one cares about the Pledge or the Anthem or any of those antiquated things no more.

Our GOD is money and wukking up pun somebody botsie at Kadooment and YOUR GOVERNMENT IS THE CHIEF ARCHITECT OF THAT ANARCHY!!

You are stuck in a time tunnel of experience, “the good old days” when people died from peritonitis because wunna ingrunt selves diagnosed that it was gas “dat a good hot cuppa tea would burst the air”

In between the relinquishing of the Union Jack and replacing it with the Broken Trident we sought to fool ourselves that dropping one flag and raising another was all that was necessary to bring “INDEPENDENCE” yet at 2016, here your sacred DLP is, begging at the footstool of the same British Monarchs for Reparations.

At a personal level, from the time they cut my umbilical chord I became independent at the personal level and that manifests itself in making decisions, hopefully right ones .

But at the national level where the litmus test is “am I my brother’s keeper” and where all of your blarney hits the road, what you are speaking of idyllically is where we collectively become responsible for our actions and the things that we wo to enable the well being of our community, society and nation.

So for example I am responsible for teifing a ream Gestetner paper and bringing it home to my chilrun because “I ent care bout de guvment, de paper fuh de chilrun are i reading well.

I often use that illiterate sentence that the Minister of Education Ronald Jones and his ingrunt self is accredited to have said at a speech day to make the point that the so called national pride which you fancifully refer to, this bastion of independence manifests itself NOT IN EXCELLENCE OR PRIDE but in the IDIOCY WHERE IN A NATION OF 270,000 Bjans and 40,000 guyanese we have a dufus as our Minister of Education.

So all that vacuous stuff bout flag on a dumpster that you are tied up with, I call that superficial meaningless things because at 2016 we are still beggars with our Head of Government and respective ministers flying to said metropolises, like an annual pilgrimage to Mecca, to beg for handouts

But then you do love these acts of ostentation dont you?

35. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Children should be taught to respect the flag and the relevant “protocol”.

Cherry can turn this into a teaching moment for the children by repainting the skips.

36. The good ole days also represented community spirit.a treasure that most would like to have dupicated in this modern world now defined by decadence and selfishness. Not surprise that so few would not find the act of associating garbage with the flag as a symbolic measure deplorable !distasteful and poor taste.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Do you understand what Independence is dufus?

What Grantley Prescod did is duty to country!

It is what you HAVE TO DO, not what you feel like doing, or what will earn you $250 and “undivided respect”

People like you get tied up in the “skin and dermal layer” and do not have a modicum of understanding what “Independence” and “national pride” is

It is measured not in your personal freedoms dufus BUT IN YOUR FREEDOM TO CONTRIBUTE TO NATION THAT IS WHERE WE MUST BE “SPENT”

That is why Joan of Arc and Mother Theresa, Ghandi, Martin Luther King and malcolm X and others become citizens with a national dimension BECAUSE THEY SPEND THEMSELVES ON A NATIONAL ALTAR.

When you look at that sense of willingness to contribute to cuntry and flag, ACROSS THE FACE OF THE NATION, call 100 names of men or women WHO FALL INTO THAT BALL PARK,

PERADVENTURE THOU CANST NOT FIND !00, call the names of 50, PERADVENTURE THOU CANST NOT FIND 50, CALL THE NAMES OF 20 AND AS IN THAT BIBLICAL TOME, let us come down to the final unit of measure, call me the name of one?

Name one man or one woman on this 2×3 PieceuhEffingRockYeahRight that exemplifies national sacrifice and presents that spirit of Independence

Jes one, give me one who can hold that flag up high?

Then after you find that one, find 9 others

We can identify the King and Queen of the Cane Crop dufus but I put this to you that you cannot find 10 men and women who practice that sacrifice or can hold that empty flag of independence above their head and wave it.

You and alvin going go down memory lane with what was, all the histrionics of a dead history lesson, I am only interested in the here and now who are we now, how do we contribute to the whole, and how does our national foster the environment where ALL OF US CAN CONTRIBUTE AND BE REWARDED, NOT ONLY THE PRIVILEGED FEW.

So doan get tied up in all the pup talk.

What does Independence mean for me? Nothing!! it is jes annuder empty day

38. Well knowing that you might have reached the age where dementia could be your only source of retrieving information i do forgive you for not appreciating those symbols that connects the spirit of nationalism and pride.
    Maybe instead of presenting a teachable moment about independence you can draw upon Mr. Prescod Spirit of love dedication and devotion for his country by not asking or seeking much
    A palsy five hundred dollars was all he setlled for.

39. Swing Low March 18, 2016 at 8:09 AM #
    If Mr. Cherry was white like Bizzy Williams/Bjorn Bjerkhamn/Mark Maloney then this would not even be discussed much less an issue
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    There was not any commotion when CO Williams painted their trucks and other accessories in our National Colours?
    But honestly, the removal of garbage in Barbados, especially at this time is a heroic and patriotic action, unlike the actions of the Ministry of the Environment who is responsible for the mismanagement of the SSA. I suppose that individuals would also be horrified , if employees of the SSA were to wear a Barbados flag or the National colours as part of their uniform.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You weep? You weep?

You weep solely because of the fact that you are the author of the “Royal Palms are dying” that sounds picturesque ant the thing to say”

But I am a poor black Ingrunt man Alvin bereft of your privilege of education and one who, in examining an annual expenditure of 15% 0f GDP, weeps because with all the money spent on primary, secondary and tertiary education just to take any example, we still have nothing to show for this expenditure baring an annual report on literacy ratings.

I weep because unlike you who are caught up in the empty fanfare of a Barrow centric celebration I do not see any strides in independent thought translated into action by the production of just one Bajan product of world renown from any student from said schools, domiciled in Bim.

Don’t tell me mount gay or banks because dem is massa one

You see wunna like tuh stroll through memory lane and beat wunna chest bout Barrow and Adams but I live in de present where dem names ent mean a pang and o not impact the national psyche.

So wunna cud fool wunna selves wid all dem tears and ting but I keeping it real…

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss Colonel Buggy whuloss…

Jes suppose me son in Murica sen in a pair uh converse shoes with the pattern uh de Barbados flag pun um AND I WAS TO PUT DEM ON AND ACCIDENTALLY STEP IN DOGSHYTE!!!

MAN YOU DUN KNOW THAT ALVIN AND AC WAS GINE MEK SURE DAT FUMBLES BURN ME AT DE STAKE,!!

42. @David
    Having read the contributions of those above; who I suspect are post Independence babies, I realize that it is time for me to exit, stage left or right. There is no need for me to want to live for the next twenty five or even ten years. The younger generation can never understand why we oldsters are the way we are. All those who have lived and enjoyed cricket as we played it, enjoyed it and are so devastated by the West Indies’ team’s “fall from glory”, especially those living in the diaspora, must feel the same way too.
    Nationalism means nothing to the young people. Yet in the United States that so many of them admire and desire to visit, permanently or on vacation, nationalism is the rationale for its citizens. One of the most famous statues placed in Battles between the United States and Japan, is the placing by five American Marines of the American Flag on a hill on the island of Iwo Jima.
    In the battle against racism and prejudice, in the United States, was the fight for the removal of the Confederate flag; Symbolic of the fight between the Union Army and the Confederates Armies, from the State Capitol, where a young black woman had the courage to climb to the top of the Capitol building and remove it.
    A country’s flag is the major symbol of its existence.as a country.
    As ac pointed out, the competition for the design of the National Flag,this was an open competition, there were over one thousand entries,(I even entered) and it was with a feeling of pride that people entered the competition; all the competitions, for there were competitions for the Pledge,and the National Anthem lyrics and Music.

And, Piece….,, every day, including today, hundreds of people contribute out of love for this country without reward or expectation of reward. What about all the young people who help others, what about the young man who contributes to the feeding of the homeless and vagrants?
    I leave you to find your own heroes.
    Seek and ye shall find.
    Hopefully you are not too far gone.
    Do, and contribute, without expecting reward. Contribute without expecting returns. Volunteer in the knowledge that the bread you cast on the water today will return many days hence. Pick sense out of nothing.
    Oh, by the way, you wrote: “What Grantley Prescod did is duty to country!”
    Grantley felt a sense of Pride, he did not HAVE to enter the competition. He did it out of a love for his country.
    You also wrote:”What does Independence mean for me? Nothing!!”
    Contrast the two sentiments. See if you can reconcile them.
    You also ask;rhetorically or otherwise, “how do we contribute to the whole….”
    How do YOU contribute? How do you plan to contribute? Or do you not plan to contribute?

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvi

As per usual you ain’t get what my sweet piece trying to tell you

44. @Piece…
    Nuhbody eat talking bout no colours. We talking bout a FLAG. The minute you put the SYMBOL of the BROKEN TRIDENT BEtWEEn THE TWO COLOURS: BLUE AND GOLD, IT BECOMES A REPRESENTATION OF THE FLAG. That is a hell of a big difference.
    I said I weep because I truly weep for you and your peers, if this is how all of you truly feel, and this is a reflection of your inner feelings.
    You wrote: ” I do not see any strides in independent thought translated into action by the production of just one Bajan product of world renown from any student from said schools, domiciled in Bim.”

I will give you three examples An older person; Dr. Cardinal Warde, who went to school at St. Christopher’s Boys’ School (Just above Silver, Sands). Dr. Warde, who is a retired professor of Physics from M.I.T. is the Inventor of the MicroChannel Spatial light Modulator. In case you don’t know what it is and its uses, whenever you open your cell phone this is what enables the light (sometimes blue) to show up the symbols on the cell phone. He has many patents on his inventions in the area of Physics.
    Dr. June Daniel grew up in Culloden Road,AND I THINK, WENT TO ST. PAUL’S SCHOOL.SHE IS A Molecular Microbiologist, Discoverer of the Calypso Gene, Implicated in A DISEASE OF BLACKBELLY SHEEP.
    Mr. Troy Weeks, even younger than you, who is an inventor, and among other things pilot, who designed a flight simulator, and the method A teaching called EZ learner.
    And there are many others.
    Check the PhDs graduating from Cave Hill and read their topics, see what work they do or did.

And further, Piece, you wrote:”But I am a poor black Ingrunt man Alvin bereft of your privilege of education and one who, in examining an annual expenditure of 15% 0f GDP, weeps because with all the money spent on primary, secondary and tertiary education just to take any example, we still have nothing to show for this expenditure baring an annual report on literacy ratings.
    I never had any privilege of education more than anybody, and less than many many others. My mother had to pAY FOR ME TO GO TO SECONDARY SCHOOL. ALL SECONDARY SCHOOLS COST MONEY (BEFORE 1966). GO READ OUR HISTORY, OR TALK TO OLDER PEOPLE.
    If you did not have some modicum of education you could not be writing on this blog, but you are full of shite, and want to perpetuate that stupidity. All people like you got to do is go school and learn. Yuh don’t have to pay school fees, yuh don’t have to buy text books, yuh don’t have to pay bus fares, yuh don’t have to buy uniforms, yuh don’t have to buy school meals; even if you have to buy yuh get it cheap. If yuh don’t learn for the four or five years yuh go, it is cause yuh wutless.

I invite you to look at yourself in the mirror with this attitude toward your country, and look at the attitude of Jamaicans toward their own country flag, music, and everything Jamaican. They take every opportunity to show their flag, colours and identity with Jamaicans. All you should be shame of yourselves. Go to a Jamaican fete and try to play Bajan tunes. We take every opportunity to denigrate our own SUPERSTAR Rihanna, just awarded another accolade by BET, and who now has more number 1 songs than Michael Jackson, who takes every opportunity to show the Bajan flag.
    That is why I weep.You AT home have no PRIDE IN YOURSELVES.

@COLONEL BUGGY,
    BULL SHITE FROM YOU TOO. THE TRANSPORT BUS COLOUR IS BLUE AND YELLOW, C.O.WILLIAMS COLOURS ARE BLUE AND YELLOW. AND MANY MINIBUSES ARE IN YELLOW AND BLUE. THE NATIONAL COLOURS. PROTOCOL DETERMINES WHAT AND WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH THE NATIONAL SYMBOLS. I WISH THE GIS WOULD PUT ON PROGRAMMES SHOWING PEOPLE THE PROTOCOLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE NATIONAL SYMBOLS.

45. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Some people do what they like regardless,especially when they believe that they have powerful connections,sadly it happens all over the world.They however come to their senses when they go too far and the same so called powerful connections have no choice but to hand them over.

46. CHERRY SHOULD BE CHARGED. THE PENALTIES ARE THERE.

47. I wish to God that we were as patriotic over the entire landscape of our once beautiful island of Barbados covered in stinking garbage, breeding rats as big as cats, and our Unesco World Heritage Site of Bridgetown and the Garrison reduced to a shameful collection of decaying buildings, as we are about the National Flag and Colours. The Broken Trident is a symbol of the island of Barbados and its people. How do we measure up to it?
    http://i.imgur.com/VhJG8wa.jpg?1

48. Not long before see our very own , Made in China.
    http://i.imgur.com/JHGujxY.jpg?1

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Alvin,

You are more stupid than SSS hints.

Do you understand what national psyche is? Do you understand what national hero is? Do you understand what independence means? Do you understand what national product is?

Let me explain it to you in Lego bloc stages since you seem slow.

I will pay your ticket back to Barbados if you were to walk into Marl Hole or Haynesville and ask 50 people who Professor Cardinal Ward is, or any of the others are and have them answer Dufus.

Rihanna is a Bajan who while a successful Bajan IS NOT A NATIONAL PRODUCT, SHE IS A BAJAN WHO PUTS A FLAG ON HER VIDEOS, BERT, THAT IS NOT A NATIONAL PRODUCT. A national product is one that is cultured and driven by one’s nation. What Rihanna is she is IN SPITE OF THE INADEQUACIES OF HER NATION, DO YOU UNDERSTAND DUFUS

RIHANNA IS NOT WHAT BOB MARLEY WAS, NOTE THAT I SAID WAS BECAUSE since he is dead, he ceased to hold that proactive currency and with time as his currency diminishes, we SEEM unable to find inheritors, Shaggy and Shabba AND THE FELLOW WHO USES BLEACH do not compare.

INTERESTINGLY enough you actually in answering and speaking of Jamaica, got a slight glimpse of national psyche and while you did not mention their national product Bolt you spoke of reggae a national product.

Reggae is an inanimate and therefore CANNOT qualify to have rather be nationally conscious, nor have a national psyche , nor understand what independence is

Animus.

What is the quantum of this national collective and does it register as a tile like reggae does to the rest of the world? and more importantly do these persons of who you speak resonate as names at the national level like Marley, Che, Fidel, Sadam? And the scream comes back no, yet these other men are denizens of this century!!

Let me speak to Cardinal Warde of MIT.

Where have Cardinal’s patents parlayed into the national grid? Are you with me yet? US patents prosecuted for the Massachusetts Institute of Technology!!

Do you understand what I am saying yet?

I am not interested in his personal achievements, and while I do not belittle his achievements they DO NOT AUGMENT THE WHOLE AND THEREFORE HAVE NO PLACE OR CURRENCY WITHIN THE NATIONAL PSYCHE.

He like Rihanna is an exceptional Bajan but there is nothing nationalistic about their individual endeavor they are just occupants in the train, they are not its drivers can your slow self understand that?

When Bolt won the 100 m did you realize that he would have disgraced the national flag, not by putting it on BUT BY LETTING IT TOUCH THE EARTH.?

I forgive you though because you talk cause you got a mouth.

I have gone off topic though and have not even gotten to the topic of What Independence means to Me or have I?

A reader who is wiser than you are would understand what I am positing clearly which is singular achievement IS NOT NATIONAL PSYCHE which is a critical ingredient before one to even speak to the concept of independence

Neither does there have to be personal achievement for there to be a national psyche but there must be a national psyche for there to be “independence” and for there to be true independence the must be such a cohort of persons with personal achievements that have migrated into the realm of national product(s) to first drive and then sustain independence WHICH WE DO NOT HAVE

HOPE YO UNDERSTAND THE SIMPLE BLOCKS