PRESSย  RELEASE Issued by the PEOPLESย  EMPOWERMENTย  PARTY, DAVIDย  COMISSIONG, President, Peoples Empowerment Party
David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

If Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has his way, Barbadians will be virtuallyย  the only people on the face of the earth who are obligated to be fingerprinted by their own Government every time they attempt to leave their own country or to return to their own country!

No American citizen is fingerprinted by the US Government when he or she attempts to leave or return to the USA! No British citizen is fingerprinted! No Canadian citizen! No Trinidadian, Jamaican, Cuban, Venezuelan, Chinese or Indian citizen is fingerprinted by their Government when they attempt to leave or to return to Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba, Venezuela, China or India!

So why does Mr. Freundel Stuart and his Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Administration wish to fingerprint Barbadians every time they travel, and who do they propose to give those collected fingerprints to?

If it hasnโ€™t been said before, let me be the first to declare it:- Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s so-called โ€œImmigration (Biometrics) Regulations, 2015โ€ are a national disgrace!

Every conceivable thing that could be wrong with and about these Regulations that Mr. Stuart has purported to make is wrong!

To begin with, the โ€œpoliticsโ€ of the so-called โ€œRegulationsโ€ are wrong! In a supposedly free and democratic society, Stuart chose to foist these โ€œRegulationsโ€ on an unsuspecting populace without any advance notice or public discussion! Just imagine โ€“ โ€œRegulationsโ€ that purport to denude the citizenship rights of Barbadians and to substantially infringe Barbadiansโ€™ constitutionally guaranteed right of โ€œfreedom of movementโ€ are made in secret and without any reference to the Barbadian public!

Secondly, Mr. Stuart and his legal advisors are so inept that the โ€œRegulationsโ€ are also procedurally wrong! Apparently, Stuart and company were so intent on shrouding these โ€œRegulationsโ€ in secrecy that they failed to follow the clearly stipulated legal procedure for making such Regulations!

The โ€œRegulationsโ€ are also in breach of both the Constitution of Barbados and of fundamental principles of International Law that frown upon any measure that has the effect of prohibiting a person from being able to return to his or her native country.

It should be noted that the long established โ€œrightsโ€ of the Barbadian people in relation to this matter of their freedom to leave and return to their native country are as follows:-

ยทย ย ย ย ย  “Section 4 of the Immigration Act

1. A citizen has the right to enter Barbados.

2. A Permanent resident shall, so long as he continues to be a permanent resident, be permitted to enter Barbados.

3. The Minister (responsible for Immigration) may prohibit the entry into Barbados of any person other than a citizen or a permanent resident.”

ยทย ย ย ย ย  “Section 22 of the Constitution of Barbados

1. No person shall be deprived of his freedom of movement, that is to sayโ€ฆthe right to enter Barbados, the right to leave Barbadosโ€ฆ

3.ย ย ย  Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held toย ย ย ย ย  be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section to the extent that the law in question makes provision โ€“

a) for the imposition of restrictions on โ€ฆ any personโ€™s right to leave Barbados that are reasonably required in the interests of defence, public safety or public order;”

(Note:- It should be noted from the foregoing that the Constitutional right of citizens of Barbados to enter Barbados is absolute and unfettered, while the right of citizens to leave Barbados may be restricted in the interest of defence, public safety or public order.)

Now, let us consider the details of and the circumstances surrounding the so-called Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015. The facts pertaining to these Regulations are as follows:-

1) On the 17th of April 2015 Prime Minister Stuart โ€“ in his capacity as Minister Responsible for Immigration โ€“ formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ the so-called โ€œImmigration (Biometrics) Regulations, 2015โ€. (Please note that formulating or โ€œmakingโ€ regulations is just the initial step in the process of โ€œenactingโ€ regulations โ€“ they also have to be laid in Parliament and published in the Official Gazette.)

2) According to the text of the said Regulations, Stuart claimed to be acting under the power granted to him by Section 31 (g) and (h) of the Immigration Act to make regulations for โ€œprescribing the means to be taken for identifying persons suspected of being in Barbados contrary to the (Immigration) Actโ€ and for โ€œprescribing anything that is by this (Immigration) Act authorized or required to be prescribedโ€

(How fingerprinting Barbadian citizens can be a measure for โ€œidentifying persons suspected of being in Barbados contrary to the Immigration Actโ€ is anybodyโ€™s guess! Furthermore, none of the things that the Immigration Act authorizes or requires the Minister responsible for Immigration to prescribe appertain to fingerprinting Barbadians citizens whenever they attempt to leave or return to Barbados!)

3) The effect of Stuartโ€™s โ€œRegulationsโ€ as they pertain to citizens of Barbados traveling to and from Barbados is as follows:-

a) Where any person seeks to enter or depart from a port in Barbados, that person shall provide an immigration officer with biometric data (fingerprints, facial photographs, scan of the retina of the eye etc.) through the use of a biometric system.

b) The Chief Immigration Officer shall specify the type of biometric data that a person shall provide. (Note: The Chief Immigration Officer has already specified that Citizens of Barbados will be fingerprinted from 1st April 2016)

c) A citizen of Barbados who refuses to provide an immigration Officer with the specified biometric data (fingerprints) may be restrained from leaving the island.

d) A citizen of Barbados who complies with the request to provide the specified biometric data (fingerprints) when he leaves Barbados, but who refuses to comply with the request to provide the specified biometric data when he seeks to return to Barbados, shall be refused re-entry into Barbados.

e) A citizen of Barbados who, having refused to comply with the request to provide the specified biometric data (fingerprint) when he attempts to leave Barbados,ย  is still permitted by an Immigration Officer to leave the island, shall not be refused re-entry into Barbados.

(It is clear therefore that these Regulations BREACH the Constitutional right of Barbadian citizens to ENTER Barbados, and severely restrict our right to LEAVE Barbados!)

4) But that is not all there is to note about the Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015! These Regulations, that Stuart formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ on 17th April 2015 , contain a total of 18 sections. No less than 12 of these 18 sections deal with storing the biometric data of Barbadian citizens (and non-Citizens), and with the conditions for making such data available to foreign and domestic state agencies and / or private agencies!

(This can only lead the citizens of Barbados to have serious doubts and reservations about the purpose of collecting their fingerprints whenever they leave and return to their country, and also about whose agenda the Stuart Administration is carrying out.)

5) So far as the procedural irregularities of the Regulations are concerned, it should be noted that the โ€œRegulationsโ€ that Stuart formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ on the 17th of April 2015 were โ€œmadeโ€ under the Immigration Act Chapter 190 of the laws of Barbados, and that Section 31 (3) of the said Immigration Act stipulates that all regulations made by the Minister responsible for Immigration โ€œshall be subject to negative resolution.โ€

The legal procedure for enacting โ€œregulationsโ€ that are โ€œsubject to negative resolutionโ€ is outlined in Section 41 of the Interpretation Act Chapter 1 of the Laws of Barbados as follows:-

โ€œ(2) โ€ฆthe expression โ€œstatutory periodโ€โ€ฆ shall mean a period of forty daysโ€ฆโ€

โ€œ(7) The expression โ€œsubject to negative resolutionโ€ when used in relation to any statutory instruments (such as regulations made under a Statute or Act of Parliament) shall mean that such instruments shall, as soon as may be after they are made, be laid before each House (of Parliament), and if either House, within the statutory period (of 40 days) next after such instrument has been so laid, resolves that the instrument shall be annulled, the instrument shall be VOID as from the date of the resolution โ€ฆโ€

And Section 16 (1) โ€“ โ€œEvery enactment (such as Regulations made under an Act of Parliament) shall be published in the Gazette and, unless the enactment otherwise provides, shall take effect and come into operation on the date of such publication,โ€

Thus, having “made” the Regulations on 17th April 2015, Mr Stuart was — BYย  LAW — obligated to lay them before the House of Assembly and the Senate, and to give the members of those two Houses of Parliament a period of forty (40) days to consider whether they wanted to bring and pass a Resolution to annul the said Regulations ! Mr Stuart was obligated to go through this procedure BEFORE he could publish the Regulations in the Official Gazette as the law of the land!

What Mr Stuart, in fact, did was to publish the Regulations in the Official Gazette of the 23rd of April 2015— a mere six (6) days after he “made” the Regulations! He thus breached the law by failing to lay the Regulations in Parliament and giving Parliament 40 days to consider whether to annul them! Indeed, he was only entitled to publish them in the Gazette as the law of the land IF they had been before Parliament for 40 days ANDย  Parliament had not passed a resolution annulling them!

Mr Stuart did not, in fact, “lay” the Regulations until the 15th of June 2015— some 53 days after he had already wrongfully published them in the Official Gazette as the law of the land. Once again, this was totally wrong, and in breach of the legal procedure outlined in the Interpretation Act !

On a procedural basis alone, therefore, the Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015 are null and void and of no legal effect !

It should also be noted that the Regulations were laid so quietly and unobtrusively in Parliament on the 15th of June 2015 that not one of the several Opposition Parliamentarians that I have spoken to about this matter were aware that the Regulations had been laid in Parliament!

This entire matter is a total disgrace, and confirms that standards of governance and respect for the rights of the citizens of Barbados have plummeted significantly under the current DLP Administration.

In light of the fore-going, I now hereby call upon Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to — within the next seven (7) days — publicly affirm that the so-called Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015 are a nullity and are of no legal effect !

Failure to do so will result in the instituting ofย  legal proceeding in the Supreme Court against the Government of Barbados in respect of this matter.

(A copy of the first page of the Gazette and of a number of the relevant sections of the Regulations is attached hereto โ€“ Click HERE)

139 responses to “The IMMIGRATION (BIOMETRICS) REGULATIONS 2015 are NULL, VOID and Un-Constitutional”

1. @Dompey March 15, 2016 at 7:37 PM “Dompey, is back on underground because Facebook has proven to be to toxic for me.”

Welcome back Dompey my brother.

2. Dompey March 15, 2016 at 7:37 PM #
    The government is known for overreaching on the pretext of national security, but you would have to be a fool to trade what little freedom you have,for what little security youโ€™re made to believe you have.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Welcome back Bro. But were we not part of the system which empowered us to enforce the trading off of freedom, under the “pretext of national ,and international, security?”

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…I bet you anything, even if the US have their fingerprints all over this, they never once told the ministers to keep the information secret from the people. Fruendel and Co have no right keeping explanations from the public….they are just being their usual big head dumb self, feeling like they special and know something the taxpayets dont…jackasses.

4. Negroman March 15, 2016 at 4:01 PM #
    Miller you fโ€“cking idiot this proud Negroman visited musty England with the musty,awful smelling white stinks to attend a gathering of progressive young Black leaders conference.I did no go there for any other reason you fuc cun.
    That was the first and last time England or any other European country will ever be graced with the royalty of this Negroman.
    I told the immigration,customs & security officers in England that England has nothing to offer me.I let them know in no uncertain terms that I I am not interested in their musty,unshaped,half make smelly women.Neither am I a political or economic refugee seeking asylum. I am only there to attend a conference
    England & Europe have nothing to offer this proud Black Negroman.I am financially stable with a decent income that adequately support me and my family.
    Down with stinking England and the musty stinks

You got one baaad case of inferiority complex there!

And BTW, I can put you in touch with some stinky black folk here in Bim,

5. @ Simple Simon
    Dompey, is back on underground because Facebook has proven to be to toxic for me.โ€
    Dompey is back because ND turned up the heat in his tail …and he is here looking for friends.. and some ice water to cool his behind…. LOL

6. EXTRACT FROM THE PEP PRESS RELEASE on the Immigration Biometric Regulations , a Press Release that was written last Saturday but that to date has not been published by any of the Media houses :-

“It should also be noted that the Regulations were laid so quietly and unobtrusively in Parliament on the 15th of June 2015 that not one of the several Opposition Parliamentarians that I (Comissiong)have spoken to about this matter were aware that the Regulations had been laid in Parliament!”

So how did Comissiong become aware of the procedural irregularities? Who informed them?

7. @ David
    Anyone who bothered to check the Law and who can subtract dates can see that the requirements of the law were not adhered to….

If Come-and-sing-along was a different person, Bushie would seriously support a legal /political / principled movement to force the ‘Froon goons’ to retract these regulations….. if only to make the point of how incompetent they really are…
    But alas, this is yet another member of the political class who have seen an opportunity to make some noise in an area of popular dissent….

Once he have gained enough attention and raised his name recognition levels, one of his Lodge buddies or political classmates will conveniently convince him to back off and to quietly enjoy his newly raised status…

…another one who wants noticing…

Bushie’s position? …. let the dead bury their dead….

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins March 15, 2016 at 8:37 PM
    “Are you calling the U.S.A. a BananaRepublic? Canโ€™t you people understand that they make the rules for the whole world?”

Alvin, since you know so much about America and its immigration rules why not tell us if Barbadians holding diplomatic passports are required to be fingerprinted before entering the grand old US of A and its territories.
    Give us an answer to the query and we would really know how security tight those rules are.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ bookworm March 15, 2016 at 10:39 PM
    โ€œEngland & Europe have nothing to offer this proud Black Negroman.I am financially stable with a decent income that adequately support me and my family.โ€

Not only is Negroman stricken with a massively bad case of inferiority complex but has also ingested a triple dose of stupidity.
    How does he think his financial stability has been achieved and is being maintained? Without the same smelly white tourists Barbados would just be another third world basket case. Most tourists to Bim are the same white โ€˜musty stinksโ€™ that currently provide his beloved country bread and butter and so much boasted about in the corridors of his much admired DLP government.

Why doesnโ€™t he call on his beloved DLP administration to stop the same smelly whites from coming to Bim to be served, pampered and pandered to by proud blacks like himself? Why not get his black government to full up the same white-owned hotels with West Africans especially ‘rich’ Nigerians?

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The SSS is all for fingerprinting. I just want to know why when my prints are taken leaving the island why must they be taken again upon return. Also, I have not followed this too much to understand its purpose so I would like to know how many times must one be fingerprinted?

I also would like to know why this administration is pushing so hard for this while the matter of anticorruption laws was given the thumbs down by Adriel Brathwaite (speaking on behalf of the PISS POORS). He, Brathwaite, contends that it was not a priority of his piss poor administration due to no real issue of corruption. This alone tells you that even though the auditor general’s reports say otherwise and two of his ministerial colleagues of great integrity have no problem taking gifts from awarding a mechanical contract to a mutual friend, the fact that that friend is willing to charge 40 thousand bajan dollars for a 2 thousand US dollar part, and other infelicities committed by departmental heads too numerous accounting improprieties by ministries and departments, Adriel Brathwaite and the PISS POOR Brigade says there is no issue of corruption in Barbados.

What you people should be here cussing about is that the piss poor DLP reneging on every DLP promise proves that the liars are not about democracy but tyranny, about victimization and the protection of corruption. The proof of this is The PISS POOR Prime Minister protection of the speaker of the chair and the olive branch he extended to his friend Leroy Parris in helping him keep his millions in the Central Bank of the Dees.

In a democracy, the citizens are informed of any major developments or undertakings of its government; in a dictatorship, you do not have to tell the citizens one shite, you just do as you like. Just look at the delay tactics and reasons given why anticorruption legislation cannot be enacted compare to all the other things they have done to put pressure on Barbadians.

Anyone who believes that these stinking bitches really care or like bajans are of the same material that made the DLP a practicing dictatorship?

Where is the democracy in the DLP’s style of leadership?

11. @SSS

It must be a matter of national security!

@Bush Tea

Cheese has been fighting onbhalf of the people from long time ago. We should give him some credit.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I have visited many countries, and where those countries have a finger printing policy, I was only asked to be fingerprinted upon entry. If you take my fingerprints when I am leaving you already have it the database. Why then must you take it upon my return? I understand the security, I just do not understand the need for fingerprinting me twice. Could the second time be one for verification? If it is, then it is understandable. If it is not then it is absolute nonsense.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Could the second time be one for verification…” In the overall scheme of security, capturing the unique ridges and valleys on our finger is all and only about verification. After we get past the conspiracy theories of a government misusing a citizen’s fingerprint minutae to incriminate an innocent person then it’s all about verifying that Errol is indeed Errol.

The debate re fingerprints has raged for years. One can surmise that the Bdos government is using it as the biometric verification of choice because of 1) cost and – despite @Pieces examples of fooling the system- that 2) f’printing is still very reliable and already used across most jurisdictions.

Verification out-bound is principally for the country to which you are travelling. Can we confirm it is Said and not Mousaffa on that plane coming over! Verification in-bound is principally about the B’dos govt. Is it actually Said who returned! More to it than that of course but principally…

At day’s end it’s all about identifying and trapping people intent on doing bad things. There are no psychometric test invented that can do that simply from scanning a f’print…so the f’prints captured are purely another set of data points in our database that seeks to identify our movements and actions to build the picture of how dangerous we may be.

We can correct the government’s unlawful process to pass the legislation and bring legal challenges to test it’s constitutionality but this privacy fight is unfortunately a lost cause…there are cameras capturing our movements every where we go; we have graciously embraced satellites tracking every car trip we take and every call we make. We tell the world when we were born, where, how many brothers and sisters we have. Our favorites hang-outs who are our close friends and our favorite foods are all broadcasted to many. What we do on our PCs is inadvertently or otherwise revealed.

Are we really appreciative of the absolute upside-down nature of life today…is the capture of fprint minutiae more a threat to our personal and country’s security than all the crap we already do or expose ourselves to…

I suspect we will find out the hard way one day!

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ My Sexy Svelte Suzanne

How are you my dear? I see that you are very much alive and thinking.

When I used to wuk years ago, I got a job as a handyman putting down tiles. Not the pre glued tiles that sell in stores today, dem old ones dat you had to use Contact cement with. You ever used contact cement on those soft sexy surfaces that you call hands which I am reliably informed that you have?

No matter how much thinner (or nail polish remover) you use SSS that contact cement is like Nandori panties on a Quaker girl in Nantucket, it does not come off, regardless of how hard you beg, sorry rub.

So imagine dat I get round to doing the tiles in de kitchen dat I get told to do fuh de longest while and jes cyan get to do it, and go dat 2 day stuck to my fingers till de skin drop off, pun my fingers. Whu gine happen when I get to de airport? Is dem going debar me from leaving cause dem cyan read me fingerprints?

Sexy Suzanne suppose you was to axe me to come cross by you and do the tiles in your kitchen, and afterwards, (note how de ole man already acquiesce) you hold me down and tek some 3grade sand paper and gently sand down my fingertips to remove the errant contact cement, suppose in de process dat you temporarily sand off my finger prints, you mean dem going hold me and not let me pass immigration?

Dey may even come an hold you as an accomplice to the finger printing “crime” and lock us up in a holding cell for the two days that it takes for fingerprints to grow back. I jes get goose bumps thinking bout dat, you bettah send de picture heah!!

But you see how ludicrous this can get?

All joking aside, certain informatio, when not shared, falls squarely into the draconian spectrum of the Pending Troika, Mia and he group who does expell you from de party for being a possible competitor.

Eddie Hinkson better had be careful cause you might not know this but Donville Inniss singled him out during the estimates as “having pretensions of aspiring to be the Leader of the Party rather Prime Minister in years to come” so you dun know he pun a “night of Long Knives” list too like Maria

15. @ SSS
    Computers are unbelievable resources.
    Those who understand them can do almost anything. Fingerprinting is only the latest fad that will allow big brother to track your movements across the globe.

They already know everything else about you…

If you use a ‘discount card’ then they know every item that you have purchased since you had it…
    …what you like to eat
    …where you shop
    …how much you spend
    …when you do NOT spend
    …where you buy gas – and how much
    …what fast foods you eat
    …and how often your debit card declined..

They know when you travel overseas, where you go, for how long…

Their problem is that the terrorists have become just as adept at using the computer for their evil, and have found ways around being tracked by bank cards, cell phones, discount cards and such basic methods that work so well for brass bowls…
    ..The terrorists bounce IP addresses around
    ..They don’t use cards…
    ..They steal and swop passports..
    ..They recruit overseas to avoid the need for strangers to travel

The fingerprinting (set to commence in the most stupid country available) is intended to tighten the weaknesses. Every time you travel you will need to swipe those fingers (like the discount card) so that all your movements can be traced more accurately….

Of course the terrorists will (like our resident ‘Pieceuh’ terrorist have indicated) find ways around this – not by sanding them off (…which will just attract more attention), but by adding false acrylic prints to their fingers or some such high tech ploy…

Then the next move in the chess game will be surgically implanted chips in all foreheads which can be scanned to read each person’s individual recognition number…

…but this was all predicted long ago…..

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

If only you were a younger man whooooooah hm hm hm. You need to stop writing so horny though I know you duz cum hard. I am alive with a bit of free time before life starts between planes. Some of us have to work hard for the money while others sit on their backs for it. Others, just write shite hoping that their effort can feed into their delusions of grandeur. You, on the other hand, ain’t no mek man. I like ya bad my sweet piece. Gotta meet you when I come home.

17. “Immigration reform protesters bring multiple services, including garbage collection, to a grinding halt.
    Ferry and bus service, garbage collection and dock services in Bermuda came to a grinding halt on Friday, as protestors took to the streets demanding to be part of immigration reform talks.

The island-wide work stoppage was called by the Peopleโ€™s Campaign. In a statement issued on Thursday, the group said it was standing in solidarity with โ€˜the Immigration Reform Action Group, our Union Brothers and Sisters and all people of goodwill in calling for an island-wide withdrawal of labor on Friday, March 11, 2016 as a show of people-power and island-wide solidarity.โ€

The group wants the Government of Bermuda to reconsider “its intent to move forward with the Bermuda Immigration and Protection Act of 2016,” and instead undertake comprehensive immigration reform.

The Michael Dunkley-led government on Thursday soundly dismissed the Peopleโ€™s Campaignโ€™s call for protest as “both irresponsible and misconceived.” Premier Dunkly urged Bermudians to proceed to work as usual and “keep helping Bermuda move forward.”

While schools remained open, public transportation via bus and ferry was grounded. The countryโ€™s Tourism Authority and the Bermuda Hotels Association, in a joint statement, said the action was a “call to shut down the country” and said it was not good for Bermudaโ€™s fragile economy.

Dunkley said on Friday that he would not withdraw the legislation. The governmentโ€™s proposed immigration legislation makes people who have been residents of Bermuda for 15 years eligible to apply for permanent residency and any permanent resident who has resided in Bermuda for 20 years eligible to apply for Bermudian status.

The protestors have vowed to resume the work-stoppage on Monday.

This content was originally published by teleSUR at the following address:
    “http://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/Bermudian-Protest-Halts-Key-Public-Services-20160311-0050.html”. If you intend to use it, please cite the source and provide a link to the original article. http://www.teleSURtv.net/english

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

What are you saying? You are telling me that each time I travel to Barbados and out of Barbados no, matter if that is three times in one week for six weeks, I must have my fingerprints taken? Please clarify because I think you made a typo.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, that is an interesting remark to wit, “Eddie Hinkson better had be careful cause you might not know this but Donville Inniss singled him out during the estimates as โ€œhaving pretensions of aspiring to be the Leader of the Party rather Prime Minister in years to comeโ€.

Some years ago the word making the rounds was that people were looking to Hinkson to step forward – based on his integrity and intelligence- as a leader in the party but he was adamant that he was not interested.

Thus one looked on with interest when he aligned himself so completely with Mia against Payne…he certainly was clearing a path for himself it seemed. You certainly know his history with Payne in particular and all the others.

So this remark by Inniss looks like a two-edged sword: sow some wild seeds of internal discontent, as you suggest, among those interested in the leadership but also to signal to all and sundry of the political class that Hinkson may want to be a player and thus to get a focus on him that hopefully marginalizes him (pound for pound he would be a formidable fighter).

This Inniss fellow like he trying to be real smart, yes! According to your assessment.

20. @David,
    Kindly tell me how one “QUIETLY” n lays something (legislation) in parliament? As far as I know up to last few days ago debates in Parliament are broadcast on 100.7.
    The people of the island can listen to everything that is said. Each piece is “read” three times, debated three times by committees (when the speaker is not in the chair, and debated in the Senate, before going to the Gov. General for signature and then Gazetted. If persons did not observe this because they did not pay attention then they have no case. As usual people don
    As Bushie said;and I agree with him, the relevant authorities already know everything about you.:Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, etc etc. already have the information you are so anxious to give, and if you think Governments, all, don not have access to this information then all of you who think so are naive. By the way they are genetically provided and are there permanently, they can’t be sandpapered away, burned off or anything , and all those who think fingerprints can be removed, by any means, think again they are there forever, and unique. The biometric machines cannot be fooler either.You night as well accept the inevitable; like dying, it cannot be avoided.

21. @Alvin

Why was this matter brought as a negative resolution?

22. @PUDRYR
    Eddie Hinkson better had be careful cause you might not know this but Donville Inniss singled him out during the estimates as โ€œhaving pretensions of aspiring to be the Leader of the Party rather Prime Minister in years to comeโ€
    ++++++
    Perhaps when Donville looks over the other side he sees a kindred soul in Hinkson, someone yearning to be Leader of a Party and PM in the future. He might also be sending a veiled message to Mia to look over her shoulder as Donville and Mia seem to be fast friends giving how they were yukking up in that Crop Over photo.

23. Shame on me for missing the obvious intent of Innissโ€™ words al a Hinkson and Leadership. He was giving his spin on โ€œBeware the Ides of Marchโ€

24. Donville is the proverbial Opportunist.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sargeant
    @ David [BU]

Donville is no fool, while he does have a touch of the “dropsy” and will sleep as long as he is not talking off his mouth, he understands what the grapes of divisiveness can do especially when dealing with a megalomaniac.

And as to their guffawing in that picture, “every skin teet is not a laugh”

@ Alvin

Unlike you and others here I read, and I watch, and assimilate, and learn, sometimes.

My reference to sanding off fingerprints when I was speaking to my girlfriend earlier (that is Sexy Sultry Suzanne in case you did not know – we are going to be meeting up at Berts Bar when she comes here this year)

Anyways my use of the sanding concept was to present a scenario for the immigration authorities where, in the event that my fingers were not able to give prints for whatever valid reason, such a scenario was to present a legitimate reason to Immigration yet, given those idjits Rules and Regulations, they could enforce it, since i would technically be unable to give them my prints.

This is becoming somewhat difficult to do Alvin, try and keep up OK?

[@ SSS

De ole man grand daughter laughing at me. She hear me talking bout de young girls and church showing off dem Nandoris and she would have me know dem ent nadoris but Nantori(s)!!

Well I tell her dat I got a girlfriend dat does wear them (more laughs “grandas you what? got a girl friend?” Granny know?) and I tell her dat when me girlfriend come here I going axe she to tell me de correct spelling uh de tings dem.

I put all of this in square brackets cause dem got a fellow here call Hants dat going got sumting to say bout my bizness but when you come in de island jes tell de blogmaster and he wud leh de ole feller know confidential like.

You got a car? cause Virgil at Licensing ent renew me license cause uh me eyesight and ting and even doah me chilrun got a car, i ent want dem to be reporting dat dem tek me to Bert’s Bar especially when I doan drink…]

26. To whom it may concern,
    Copied and posted:
    A US court sided with Bob Marleyโ€˜s family who sued A.V.E.L.A. for using his face on shirts that went on sale at Walmart, Target and other major US retailers, according to MSN.

A Nevada jury award his children $2 million in legal fees and damages back in 2011 after they lost an order to sell T-shirts at Wal-mart since they had a similar item.

A survey of 509 customers at a shopping mall said that the T-shirts sold created the impression Marley is endorsing the product, but heโ€™s not.

โ€œThis case presents a question that is familiar in our circuit: when does the use of a celebrityโ€™s likeness or persona in connection with a product constitute false endorsement that is actionable under the Lanham Act?โ€ asked Judge N. Randy Smith of the US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in San Francisco.

โ€œWe conclude that the evidence presented at trial was sufficient for a jury to find defendants violated the Lanham Act by using Marleyโ€™s likeness.โ€

Read more at MSN.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

My favourite spot is Surfers Bar in Silver Sands next to Atlantic Shores. It’s small, cosy and have great food. You get a bit of live band music at times, but the atmosphere is just great. Berks is ok too, good food, but I tend to get hustle a bit too much when my girls and I hang out there. You have to understand, we are eight girls that keep ourselves in shape. Next month, they are hoping to come too Europe, and I will be in Barbados to meet them for foreday and crop over. Would you like to come foreday morning jam with me? You are not too old to wuk up I hope.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Donville is a fool. He can only fool idiots with his devices. He is as phony and transparent as the Prime Minister who hides behind pretense and several different masks. The only person Donville Inniss is going to fool is himself when his ass gets jilt at the poles.

29. The Prime Minister has spoken on this matter, what say you David Comissiong?

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

First of all I am listening to PM talking about this issue.

If the agencies of which he spoke used to talk BEFORE then this shennigan could not have happened and this guise of “national security” that you speak of, was also used as a blanket by the BLP

Fumbles went on to say that “he only heard this a few weeks ago. from the Head of the Electoral Department and the Head of Immigration and therein comes the confirmation.

Appointed in 2008 as the government of the cuntry, and, at March of 2016, he is now speaking about how “we now are engaged in a theological preoccupation” and public discussion.

Eight years to get to what he glibly refers to as a theological preoccupation.

Note that this sharing is only after people have made this matter public that they come, AFTER THE FACT, TO APPRISE US of the nature of the imposition.

Please do not tell us of the blasts of war, while you pontificate on these things ecclesiastical with such innocence in your voice, you know the true nature of these matters YET YOU REMAIN SILENT, even in the face of your knowledge!!

You are a wicked man, as are all of you, pretending to be what you are not

But you see that GOD from whose words you speak so easily, HE DOES NOT SLEEP.

So gu long…First among equals, I like Jeremiah tell you this day, as you well know that we are capable of, MY GOD HAS TOLD ME THAT IRRESPECTIVE OF ALL THE BALLOT BUYIN THAT THE $55 Million from BTII and all the other agencies that are being respectively raped, no matter how much vote buying which you and that Dimwit Adriel Brathwit say, and anticipate, and will directly or indirectly support, NOT ONE EFFING SEAT!

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…did Fruendel explain to the people who pay his salary why they must be fingerprinted entering and leaving the island.

32. I am surprised that the PM and the AG -both of whom are Lawyers – could make such elementary legal mistakes but then again …………………

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WW&C

Fumbles did explain in an oblique way the reason for the fingerprinting UNDER DURRESS, but that process of info sharing is symptomatic of the problem with this DLP administration.

Let us be frank here.

As Public Relations goes, this was the very best Estimate delivery that the DLP has ever presented and that Sinckliar has ever responded to.

It was campaigning, tempered with the Rules of the House of Parliament albeit 8 years too late.

Fumbles is still in his “I am lord of all that I see, so saith the lord” mode (note the common letter) but interestingly enough what is noticeably different is that Donville Inniss and Chris Sinckliar were unmuzzled and spoke freely and at times gently chastized their own colleagues.

I must admit that I only got the chance to see/hear roughly 4 of them on the DLP side and 2 1/2 on the BLP side, but whereas when in previous years they were reigned in, one notes the studied responses of “enforced full disclosure” which as you listened to Stinkliar, what he said begrudgingly made sense.

It might not be true BUT IT MADE SENSE. And the fact that Owen was not there to rise on a point of order since it is an anomaly makes me wonder, remember you must watch the anomalies they are indicative of the truth.

They, the DLP, are finally starting to do what they should have started doing which was to have a conversation with the people and not AT THE PEOPLE. The BLP, being muzzled by Stalin, sorry Mia, have already started on the footing of “what they have been allowed to say” by Mottley.

Of late have you noted that Alvin Cummins is talking sense? Reasoned commentary and while it is decidedly favouring his favourite party, he is talking sense bout these sovereing procedures.

No one should query, or has said anything about the technology/procedures – the use of the biometrics, it makes sense, barring knowing what I am thinking, it is based on who knows what about you and who are your friends etc.

If I click on Aljazeera ‘s website and, in addition to which I do that every day, AND in addition to that I post on the site, AND in addition to that it is in fluent Arabic, irrespective of what I post, I logically become a person of interest to the powers that be.

That type of electronic, and information about where i go, who i talk to, who is on my Facebook page, and the six degrees of separation, marks me. Technically I am not as great a threat if i live in the Middle East however my threat level increases if i blog/recruit and certainly if i travel, then I am a higher echelon person of interest.

That is where this administration should have begun with GIS messages, sensitively written so as not to frighten way de tourisses.

But the fact is that the criminals already know about the biometrics net, but what I dont and cant understand is why would a government seek to hide the obvious reasons from the Bajan people.

That is insulting to the intellect of ALL Bajans and what they did today, in the House of parliament, under pressure from the court of electronic public opinion, THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE AT THE BEGINNING.

ARROGANCE AND CRASS STUPIDITY (AT THE LEVEL OF TOP INEXPERIENCED GOVERNMENT) SUPPORTED BY BELLIGERENCE, IDIOCY AND MEDIOCRITY at the level of retiring anachronisms at PS level and that ilk who not only are afraid to loose their gratuity but are honestly unable to make any world shattering suggestions that will drive cutting edge innovation.

Why does the Belgium government have an ability to find the terrorist who have run to ground in their capital?

Because they have included their citizens in the process, “keep wunna eyes open, look fuh dis man” while our Prime Minister and the now retired Chief Immigration Officer is stuck in Time Tunnel as he spouts ignorance about “National Security” and leffing Bajans out of the process.

CIA, a la Hollywood that they see on TV. They fail to understand that Bajans are naturally malicious and officious and telling us to be on the lookout for strange things, excessive bags of fertillizer at Achmed house in Belleville or some other non appropriate dwelling, is a signs of homemade IEDs.

De guvment ent being asked to disclose the fact that the yacht club catamarangs dat wunna got pun surveillance through the US satellite at geoposition ******* fuh drugs and arms, but at least the stupidity of wanting changes to the passport procedures as a logical way to offset the rampant abuse of barbadian passports that Humpty Dumpty and he friends have been selling for years MUST stop and that this is your way of dealing wid HD who got the entire cuntry now pun a blacklist with the US State Department. Canada, de UK etc

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Leh me jes add dis.

If Fumbles had come to de peeple of Barbados and said “peeples, we have acted a little too hastily with this process of fingerprinting BUT, I want wunna tuh trust my (lied, silent) donkey to say that we are aware of certain information that suggests an urgency to what we ar doing”

Please work with me on this one, I know that I have not been the most garulous person in the past BUT please work with us here”

Which Bajan would say no to that plea?

When Gline Clarke said that Sinckliar had made a threat against the Trinidadian economist woman imagine if, instead of the bulldog henchman of the DLP, the Speaker of the house tekking 15 minutes uh recess, imagine if Stinkliar had stood on a point of order and said.

“Look, if I said something that seemed to threaten the bald pooch woman from RBC, I wish to publicly state that this was not my intent. to those persons who might interpret this as me saying that I am going to ban the woman from Barbados as the Arthur Administration banned David Thompson’s Political friend, I sincerely apologise ”

And sit down,

He deflates the inference and regains currency in the eyes of people who see him as arrogant and as a male chauvanist pig, and who wonder how he treats his wife.

But as Jeff C says “no matter how much lipstick you put on a pig, it is still a pig!!”

Too little too late..

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…they need to break out of their slave like socialization of keeping secrets from the people, I bet when Fruendel went up to NY the other day for “a sip” he belched and vomited out all the information re fingerprinting citizens, I bet in his weekly bowing, scraping and kowtowing to tourists, he also belched and vomited all the information re fingerprinting, but to tell the taxpayers who pay his monthly salary and those of the jackasses he carries as ministers…he dont think the people are important enough to know.

If they told everyone including the tourists that they need to monitor for people in North America and Canada, as well as local and Caribbean people who use false passports and false identities, also the tourists who slither into Barbados with card readers to rob the banks….EVERYONE will understand and accommodate the delays at the airport they all know will be inevitable, but being done for a good cause.

But noooo….the idiots prefer to keep nasty secrets and have people on the blogs cuss them out….lol

They do need psychological intervention.

36. No one is opposing the fingerprinting of persons who are not citizens or legal residents.
    Barbados passport ranks 21st and there are 48 countries ranked higher than us. How many of those countries fingerprint their citizens at ports of entry and what processes do they use to issue, if they do, ID cards and birth certificates?

37. @enuff

It seems from the PM’s response there is a lack of confidence in our internal systems. It seems the sensible thing to do would be for the government to flag requests for change of name if this is the way some have a use the system.

38. It seems from the PMโ€™s response there is a lack of confidence in our internal systems.
    Obviously.

…so since we are too stupid, backward and incompetent to fix our systems, we will take draconian measures …and use a sledge hammer to make a pin prick…?

Typical brass bowlian response…

Like …”our bank is not properly managed” … let us sell it to foreigners who spend less on education than we do …. but somehow can manage a bank better…

Let us sell our utilities to foreigners – they know better how to use OUR resources to make profits for THEIR shareholders…

…..and you have problems with Naked Departure….?
    How else do you expect to deal with such levels of IDIOCY?

39. @Bush Tea

To be clear, again. BU will always have a problem with those who sit at a computer and fabricate stories. Too many cases we are aware of that are completely false. How difficult is it if a counter is made that it be considered or shared for all to consider.

40. Exactly! And that’s why I think the PM is clutching at straws in trying to justify the fingerprinting of citizens and permanent residents. The problem appears to be in the quality of the process for issuing passports, ID cards and birth certificates and the quality of the documents. Go ahead and fingerprint non-nationals to stop them from returning under false papers if deported; but I don’t see how trying to prevent the re-entry of them justifies fingerprinting me.

41. There must be more to this enuff. Perhaps a matter of national security ?

42. Enuff March 17, 2016 at 11:15 AM #
    In recent times I’ve been through Ben Gurion ,as well as a port behind the former Iron Curtain. There was no fingerprinting ,and these two ports were easier to traverse than any US point of entry.

43. So only Barbadians that travel are threats to national security? What about their under-16 accomplices? #justasking

44. Has Comissiong and friends gone ahead and file the matter with the courts as promised?

45. Didn’t the Prime Minister in this week’s Estimates Debate assure the nation the government will be implementing the fingerprints system at ports of entry? Now we hear about delay.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/18/fingerprinting-delayed/.

46. Could it be that the cries from BU did not fall on deaf ears, Perhaps some credit is due.

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re your 5:57 post above.

Just another example of a government that does not seriously think through the ramifications of important actions it intends to take, before full implementation.

Just a couple weeks ago we had the imposition of the flawed BWA drought prohibitions which the Government had to surreptitiously scale down leaving chaos re. the legal interpretations and exceptions to the prohibitions that are now in place.

Now this week we have the Fingerprinting issue. Perhaps no one told the PM about his ministry’s plan to revisit the fingerprinting issue before he defended it so stoutly in the estimates debate to now have a Public servant pull the rug out from under him.

I wonder which MInister or Ministers authorized the Public servants to recall and restudy the plans which the PM championed.

48. @are-we-there-yet

I wonder which MInister or Ministers authorized the Public servants to recall and restudy the plans which the PM championed.

What are you saying my good man!

49. ah weak!!

50. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Its a Parable of sorts!

Who is the Minister responsible for Immigration?

When did the PM declare, in the house, his support for fingerprinting Bajans entering and leaving Barbados?

When did the CIO indicate that the Immigration Department was having a further look at the implementation of the regulations and that they will not be implemented on April 1st?

Does something appear to be a bit unusual here?