Submitted by William Skinner
Pauline Benjamin - Principal, Springer Memorial Secondary School
Pauline Benjamin – Principal, Springer Memorial Secondary School

The public debate, in Barbados, surrounding the refusal of a student to pick up paper, on the instruction of a teacher, is instructive of the changing norms the society is having in several areas. The days of the teacher being always right are no longer with us. We must come to terms with the simple fact that children do have rights and these rights include asking why they are being punished or being asked to do any particular task. We should be careful not to come down too hard on the teacher but bear in mind that in this case the child probably saw the request as punishment for something that she was not a party to. It is a fine line, in this case, between request and punishment.

Of course there are those who will present many cases of teachers punishing children back in the โ€œgood old daysโ€. They are suffering from severe nostalgia, hoping in vain for a Barbados that no longer exists. Hence, well intentioned citizens , such as Mr. Carl Moore, does not stand a chance of convincing others, such as retired principal Mr. Matthew Farley, that corporal punishment, sends a message to impressionable young minds that violence is the only antidote to conflict.

In this case, the teacher probably over reached by actually denying the child the rights to class room instruction by making her just wait outside the counsellor’s door, if press reports are accurate. This matter should have been more delicately handled once the child had refused to execute the order. Since the child had not created the infraction by littering the premises, she responded as many young adults do these days; defending what they now understand as their rights. Rights to which the Barbados government is a signatory. We must learn to accept that modern children will be โ€œseen and heardโ€ and are not like those from the good old days, who were sometimes brutalized for acts they did not commit. It was so bad that they were afraid to even discuss the beatings with their parents for fear of being beaten again. In todayโ€™s world such acts are known as violence against children and in more developed societies, will land the teacher and parent in prison!

I can recall quite vividly being beaten with the โ€œwhole classโ€ for acts I did not commit. Like Carl Moore, I am convinced that beating children and using corporal punishment is barbaric. This nonsense about โ€œPeter paying for Paul and Paul paying for allโ€ has no place in a democratic society.

I am therefore in sympathy with both the child and the teacher. Teachers are usually unfairly castigated for all that is wrong with society and young people are also being unfairly blame for the falling values. Both groups must therefore work harder to resolve conflict. In this case, the child did nothing wrong by refusing to accept what she perhaps interpreted as an unjust punishment. It could have been the result of the approach used or circumstances of which the public is totally unaware.

186 responses to “Student Punished by Springer School Principal for not Picking up a Wrapper”

1. @Erskine Miller February 1, 2016 at 10:20 AM “We have examples of to politicians with post in the government that broke the law and they are still holding their position in cabinet. You have a man who was the chairman of a company who almost brought Barbados to its knees and is driving around Barbados in a range rover

But Erskine.

Those of us who are sensible are trying hard NOT to raise another of narcissists, you know the kind, the big businessmen who always something more from the taxpayers, becausin’ life is all about them, the politicians who believe that they are some kind of special political class who are entitled to look after each other using the taxpayers money….

2. Here’s one for you.

Today during P.E a boy threw a bottle at my son. No-one else was around so my son threw the bottle back at the boy. The boy then threw a stone at my son. My son beat him up. The teacher sends my son to the principal because he won the fight (martial arts wukkin’). He never even listened to a WORD my son said. He ASSUMED the beaten boy had done nothing to provoke my son. My son (and NOT the boy) dutifully proceeded to the principal’s office for the very first time. As I said before, the principal, lucky for those teachers, has more sense than they do. The boy was suspended and my son was sent back to his class. The teacher asked my son what he was doing back there. This crap is a daily occurrence at these schools. That is why some teachers are not respected. Too damn stupid. Thank God for that principal! Or you would be reading about ME in the papers next. Hell, depending on what happens next P.E. class you still might!

3. The truth is that none of us know whether the teacher ORDERED the girl or made a polite request to the girl.

But according to the girl’s mother the girl was rude in her response.

4. If my son had received some mild punishment for retaliating while the boy received suspension I would have had no problem with that.

5. We have a growing number of feeble minded middle class people in Barbados who think that school is a democracy, “All uh we is one,” that the teacher is a “friend” of the students, and that children have “rights”.
    It does not matter how many times you tell these village idiots that this is a recipe for chaos. They get their ideas from books and articles written by third-rate professional women and homosexuals in the UK, Canada and the United States. These are the people who have taken over the teaching profession in the Western world, and the results are there for everyone to see: educational standards have fallen steadily. Singapore, Japan, Korea and Finland are making schools in the US and Canada look backward.
    Bajans are imitators. Monkey see, monkey do. Stop imitating the wrong crowd.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon February 1, 2016 at 3:29 PM #
    โ€œWe are assuming that the teacher ORDERED the child. Yet have NO EVIDENCE that the teacher, or the principal ORDERED the child to do anything.
    What if both the teacher and the principal made a police request and the girl (by her own motherโ€™s admission) made a rude response?โ€

What are you on about, S S? So why did the teacher specifically identified that student as the one to pick the piece of ‘litter’?
    The teacher would be on solid moral, and to some extent legal grounds, to โ€˜orderโ€™ the student to pick up the ‘litter’ if the teacher had actually witnessed the child littering.

Why not randomly pick a student’s name from a hat or ask the entire class to work on a project which promotes good environmental habits among the young?
    Why this particular student? Why couldnโ€™t the teacher set an example and pick up the piece of litter demonstrating clearly that littering is socially unacceptable and it is every oneโ€™s business to play a part; even the innocent and just like tourism. That would have been the best lesson of the day.

And what is a rude response? Was it not too long ago it was considered โ€˜rudeโ€™ for a black person to look a white person in the face, or worse yet, to disobey orders from a white person of whatever shade of morality?

By punishing and humiliating the student, thereby violating the charter of human rights of the child, it would be interesting to hear what the UN appointed Child Ambassador to Barbados, Faith Marshall-Harris, has to say about this Dickensian type disciplining of children.

7. Note that I did not say that the girl was rude.

I do not know whether or not she was rude.

I was not there.

But I heard the mother say on VOB that her daughter was rude.

8. The children are following the leaders. Anything goes in this country now. What do we expect when we have men sitting in our august House of Parliament who have
    (a) used the term ” mother’s c***” in parliament.
    (b) another one accused of pulling a gun on another MP within the precincts of parliament.
    (c) and yet another who set out to rob a wheel chair bound client.
    (d) a top member of parliament , claiming to be a pal of Barbados’s own Robert Allen Stanford.
    (e) talked about ‘cracking skulls’.
    Discipline in this country, like the sugar cane and yams, is on the decline.

9. @Colonel Buggy

It is referred to as the chickens coming home to roost.

10. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Who is being charged for raping the boys and girls at the government school? Sex with teachers , need to call out the bullers and others doing wrong to the children in the Barbados school system.
    What about the Land crooks and the DPP and Ministers laundering money and land,
    All need to go to Hell very fast or faster,

11. Dear miller etc: You know that I am only a Simple SImon, so I refer you to the 2 sources below:

Rude
    Unruly. Given to answering back
    Dictionary of Caribbean English Usage, page 479

Rudeness
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudeness
    is a display of disrespect by not complying with the social norms or etiquette of a group or culture.
    Wikipedia

12. @ ac February 1, 2016 at 2:08 PM #

Why is this child being given a โ€œpassโ€by adults who should know better. How is it the child can say to the teacher in a rude and disrespectful manner โ€œThat her mother did not send her to school to pick up garbageโ€ and her language is somewhat dismiss or ignore as disrespect……………………………………………………

You have a nerve to ask this question?

Why do you give a pass to everything the DLP does?

Why is the speaker who withheld his clients’ monies being given a โ€œpassโ€by DLP adults who should know better?….like the PM who told him to get a lawyer. You maintained on this blog that the speaker did nothing wrong.

Why is the man who misapproriated millions of CLICO poliyholders’ monies being given a โ€œpassโ€by adults who should know better being deemed not a leper by an adult who should know better, the PM? You dems still keep in the bosom of the DLP.

Why is the man who pulled a gun in Parliament on another MP being given a โ€œpassโ€by adults who should know better?

ac, do you have to comment on every topic on BU especially this one that speaks about respecting authority when every rule in the book you dems have broken since 2008?

Who can forget the rant….now is we time, we gine do things we way. Maybe the 14 year old heard Donville and Stinkliar when they said this!

13. @prodigal yes…yes…yes and what are you going to di about it

14. @ Donna who wrote “Today during P.E a boy threw a bottle at my son. No-one else was around so my son threw the bottle back at the boy”

Your son has to learn to walk away from that level of violence.

Throwing bottle an stone at school used to ( 50 years ago ) result in expulsion or Dodds.

15. Hants,

The bottle was plastic but the boy followed it up with a stone which hit him on his neck and was busy preparing to throw another. Do you suggest he should have presented the boy with the back of his head as he walked away? Walking away is not always an option.

16. Chad 99999,

And we should perhaps imitate YOU instead with your rude, crude, woman hating self?

17. Fair enough Donna. Your son had no choice but to defend himself after the rock was thrown at him.

18. Who says cave men are dead?

19. Hants,

He knows when to walk away. Fighting is a last resort.

20. I like Donna style.One slap in the teacher and not a line to write.One of the grands in a private school in Canada was confronted by 3 fellow students one of whom took away his wallet.What those fellas didn’t know was that he was a back belt.Long and short he was sent to the principal who let him off with a verbal warning.Those 3 guys never came near him again and they spread the word.Moral of the story.Have your children taught self defence at primary school.It might come in handy.

21. Gabriel,

Did you happen to hear the minister of education today? Oh my gosh…..it was real ghetto behaviour.

The man was actually supposed to be addressing children when in the worst disgraceful display I have seen of him today he told the principal…………” dont let them come in here with their pants under their behinds….mek them pull them up around der waist…..if dem is boss at home not when they come in here…..not when taxpayers money paying for thrm……..they have to bade and put on something to mek de smell sweet and scrub wunnah teeth before wunnah come here”……………

This from an Education Minister…………the tone was absolutely disgraceful. We have sunk into the gutter.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son February 1, 2016 at 11:54 PM

The current administration comprises some of the most lower-class rude obnoxious people ever to manage the affairs of the country; starting from the very top.

Now Simple Simon who is being rude here? The school girl who stood up for her rights or the stink mouth idiot of a MOE? But you should be aware of the saying: You cannot make a silk purse out of a sowโ€™ ear. Your granny would have told you that.

How can the ministers drive around Barbados and feel proud of their country when compared to say 20 years ago?
    Does the Minister of Culture ever travel around Bridgetown and still have the gall to talk about it being an outstanding World Heritage site to be proud of?
    He will soon be in for rude awakening when UNESCO delist the rat infested garbage hellhole of a garden laced with the perfumery of raw sewage and human piss.
    How can a World Heritage site have not even one public convenience even if on a paid basis to accommodate the many visitors from the cruise ships?

23. Richard Sealy suppose to have breeding and his response to GAIA workers and the union was inflammatory as well. Why not put the facts in the public domain without the rhetoric?

24. @Prodigal Son February 1, 2016 at 11:54 PM

There is nothing at all wrong with a Minister advising parents to wear their pants at the waist, with advising parents that the principal is the principal person in charge at a school, nothing wrong with advising parents to bathe, brush their teeth and use deodorant.

Some parents (not most) have become too slack. And it is not only in Barbados. Just recently a headmistress in England has had to advice parents to get up out of their beds and to ensure that their children are fed and washed and dressed in clean clothes before going off to school. And to advise other parents NOT TO WEAR THEIR PAJAMAS TO THE SCHOOL.

The only pity is that a Minister should have to give this advice. All parents should have been taught these things by their own parents long before they became parents.

Should a Minister of Education always speak standard English?

Ideally yes.

But we must remember that most language acquisition occurs before formal schooling starts, and that a child who has not heard standard English spoken at home may never acquire the ability to speak standard English with fluency and grace.

In a democracy should a person who does not speak the standard language be excluded from Cabinet?

I don’t think so.

Sincerely

Simple Simon
    Neither “B” nor “D”

25. I feel strongly that “wunna” should be added to standard English. As it is standard English is deficient as it has no plural form of “you”

And the lack of a plural “you” can cause misunderstandings.

26. Not very long after the day all of us were born, we became aware of a Barbadian economy and a Barbadian society.

Naively, we thought that our policymakers and politicians were trying to develop both. However, a few incidents have surfaced recently to ruthlessly and brutally remove the scales of naivete from our eyes:

One, Sir Frank Alleyne, with “his belly full, and his tail drunk” informed Barbadians that, all along, the economists (including himself) had been constantly and consistently shooting the Barbadian economy in the foot.

Two, being confronted with a strangulated Barbadian economy, a hapless, callow group of pseudo philosophers attempted to fool Barbadians into believing that we could afford to disregard the economy because we still have a society left. “Barbados is more than an economy. It is a society” proclaimed the worthless destructive propaganda.

Three, instead of being able to discern at least a one-eyed Barbados (i.e. a Barbados with no vibrant economy, but still an island with commendable social norms, mores, and values) we are witnessing the collapse of our social structure as a result of graft, corruption, lax and discriminatory enforcement of our laws, and what Rev. Wes Hall describes as “spiritual wickedness in high places”. A country, once led to believe that it was punching above its wight class, is now fighting blind in a merciless world. At this rate, a knockout is the predictable result.

A compromised economy, plus rapidly declining social values, equal a veritable powder keg. We have reached the stage where we have to pray daily that the Devil does not provide the match, spark, or “friction” to light this ready-packaged barrel of social dynamite.

Given the amount of tension simmering below the surface of Barbadian society, it will not take a major incident to trigger a great social upheaval and backlash. Something as trivial as a student refusing to pick up a piece of “sweetie” wrapping paper at school when ordered to do so, a police officer being fired for wearing dreadlocks, an individual being charged and convicted for calling a senator a dog, or a woman urinating in public might be enough to start the ball rolling.

A word to the wise is enough.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The child was not trained in the rudiments of good manners and proper discourse. Why then does the SSS, therefore, agrees with the child’s stance? Because no one cannot convince me that the teacher did not speak to this child concerning the wrapper in tones indicative of a Hitler order. Why does the SSS agree with the punishment meted to the child? Because if the child had seized the opportunity to ask permission to speak freely and apologize before hand for any disrespect the teacher may perceive to be meted to her by the statement the child was about to utter, the teacher would have been placed in a catch 22 and probably stumped towards rethinking her position. Instead the child’s response to an authoritative figure was rude, since her mother did not send her to pick up wrappers, the rebut could have easily been your mother did not send you to school either to contribute to the litter situation or to be rude, either. I am sure she cannot deny ever throwing a piece of paper or otherwise on the school’s grounds. Then there is the crazy ass mother who instead of diffusing the situation before it escalated decide to stand by her child’ rudeness and contact the papers to cast a negative light on the school’s principal and the teacher at the centre of this nonsense. Look, there are some wutless and indifferent brutes for teachers out there, but they are nothing compared to the nonsense a lot of these children provide in the schoo environment. How can teach and retrained a reinforced bad behave person. The mother and child should be subjected to an exchange learning programme for troubled mothers and rude children.

28. Simple Simon February 2, 2016 at 10:29 AM #
    “I feel strongly that โ€œwunnaโ€ should be added to standard English. As it is standard English is deficient as it has no plural form of โ€œyouโ€

And the lack of a plural โ€œyouโ€ can cause misunderstandings.”

Simple Simon,
    Are you (singular) serious?

Well, let me tell wunna, not being able to use deers and sheeps can cause misunderstandings also.

29. Dear Walter:

Yes.

Simple

30. You must admit Walter that a plural you would be handy.

Other languages do have a plural you.

Words are added to the English language all the time. Pajamas, rendezvous, barbeque, selfie (lol!!!)

Why not wunna?

There is noting wrong or defective about wunna.

But a language with no plural you IS defective.

Here ends the linguistics (not economics) lesson.

31. Oxford English Dictionary: New words list June 2015
    http://public.oed.com/the-oed-today/recent-updates-to-the-oed/june-2015-update/new-words-list-june-2015/#new_senses

Dear Walter:

Take a browse through this list and tell me why wunna is less deserving of being added to standard English than for example twitterati.

Wunna don’t really know wha’ going on.

32. Prodigal Son February 1, 2016 at 11:54 PM #
    Regretfully, often times its the only language that some people understand.

33. When an episode broke that Springer Memorial was the school with rats running all over the place and the environs were unhealthy most people threw insults at students everyone at the institution.” The rats coming”
    The teachers do not make the classroom untidy, some try to help the students take pride in their surroundings. If this is now a national offense this is why we have the householders littering, trucks dumping. We have no more pride. Parents seem more interested in making money to keep up the fasHion parade than teaching children to respect them selves and others.
    When their children fall ill at school they expect kindness and compassion, especially when they send the children to school knowing they are ill.
    Some people who jump in the debate need to visit and see what the teacher does.
    How many of these parents attend PTA to get some feedback on the child’s progress or to solve an issue

34. Pauline, why U don’t teach my children and stop all the brassbowl-ry gine on bout hay doah?
    Ya mean Alexandra’s all ova again?

Ronald jones do a real jonseing yesterday nuh. LOL TOO MANY BOSSES dah wuh !

35. The way this story has gone viral is an indictment on the adults in society. This is a simple matter the parent and the school should have been able to resolve in one face to face meeting.

36. @David,
    This whole teacher/student conflict has very deep roots. Going back to the mid-seventies, the political class kept blaming teachers for every possible ill in the society. I find it strange , that reading some of the posts in this debate, educated citizens, who are ranting against the declining norms of society, find no difficulty, in expressing themselves in the most vulgar terms, when criticizing other citizens. It is quite interesting that while they are spouting about a break down in values, their language and expressions, leave a lot to be desired. Apparently the declining standards, have nothing to do with how we express ourselves. A clear case of hypocrisy !
    As we say: They spit in the air and the it drops right back down in their face. The first rule of civilized society is how we communicate. If we cannot even do that how can we set proper examples for our young people.

37. @Erskine Miller February 1, 2016 at 10:20 AM
    I agree 100% with every word you have written. Unfortunately, Barbadians in authority has the inbred mentality that children have no rights, and by portraying such they continue to demonsrate their ignorance to the world. How stupid do they make themselves appear in other parts of the world. Some adults fail to realize that a child is due respect just as much as the adult deserves to be respected.

The person who determined to placed the student on suspension should have been placed on suspension as well to send a warning that you can’t exercise authority (in this situation unnecessary, imo) because you have the power to do so. It’s hard for me to phantom suspension was the only recourse which I don’t think was warranted by any stretch of the imagination.

Barbados is and has become a turnoff when it comes to disciplinary methods meted out to youths especially those in the school system. Sad, it will get worse

38. Does a principal have the right to suspend a student for this length of time?

Where is the board in all of this? Never mind, they are all dlp lackies.

I am not condoning the child speaking to the teacher in what she told her but how much punishment is enough.

What would have been the principal’s reaction had the same treatment been meted out to her daughters when they were at QC?

Yes the child should have been given a detention or something but to be suspended for so long and being the target of teachers tauntings? They would not have tried that with my child. I am so glad that my children never had any disclpinary problems at any of the schools they attended.

I would have had to be a “Donna”.

39. @Befuddled February 2, 2016 at 3:10 PM “Itโ€™s hard for me to phantom suspension was the only recourse”

Dear Befuddled: If you had listened to your teachers just a little bit more you would have learned the difference between “fathom” and “phantom”

Since you are obviously semi-literate why do you feel that you can run a school, or offer advice on running a school?

40. Ms. Benjamin is an excellent principal who knows NOT to take advice from semi-literate people, half foolish parents, and unruly children.

41. @Befuddled
    Unfortunately, Barbadians in authority has [sic] the inbred mentality that children have no rights, and by portraying [sic] such they continue to demonsrate [sic] their ignorance to the world. How stupid do they make themselves appear in other parts of the world. Some adults fail to realize that a child is due respect just as much as the adult deserves to be respected”

The only ignorance is yours. With people like you, we are doomed. That is why democracy is a bad idea. You have the same vote I have.

42. Prodigal
    The Nation is today quoting the Honourable Minister of Education,Science,Technology and Innovation,Ronald Jones,”It is when you make these UNSENSIBLE comments,’these comments that really don’t understand or appreciate the dynamics of learning’that you would get this kind of foolishness.”Two examples of a dunce for a MoESTI.

43. Walter Blackman February 2, 2016 at 10:38 AM #

โ€œThree, instead of being able to discern at least a one-eyed Barbados (i.e. a Barbados with no vibrant economy, but still an island with commendable social norms, mores, and values) we are witnessing the collapse of our social structure as a result of graft, corruption, lax and discriminatory enforcement of our lawsโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€

Mr. Blackman, as I mentioned in a previous post, you are an academic I admire. But sometimes I get the impression because of your high level of education, you seem to think itโ€™s okay for you to visit BU periodically to write half truths and we should accept it. I know you can do better than that.

On one hand you wrote: โ€œโ€ฆโ€œBarbados is more than an economy. It is a society (as) proclaimed (by) the worthless destructive propaganda.โ€ Then follow up that statement with: โ€œโ€ฆ..still an island with commendable social norms, mores, and values.โ€

Sir, your comments do not have any value because you refused (deliberately so?) to acknowledge the government has within its bosom the services of Senator Apostle Prophet Dr. David Durant to make sure that those โ€œcommendable norms, mores and valuesโ€ remain paramount in this society.

Yes, I know he said God told him David Thompson would survive (unfortunately he did not, and I think Durant dropped the โ€œprophetโ€ title after); and as a man of God and preaching about morals, I have not heard him speak against issues such as CAHILL; Richard Byer initially charging the Caves $766,000 for a $17,000 job; Leroy Parris allegedly depositing $5M on the Central Bank; the CLICO $3.333M scam; manipulating economic data; or Michael Carrington with-holding John Griffiths funds.

Okay, he agreed that the retrenchment of over 6,000 former public sector employees was a โ€œnecessary evilโ€ to save the economy, yet the National Assistance Board, of which he is deputy chairman, is significantly over staffed. But the NAB has been used by both BLP and DLP to solicit votes. It may seem to us he is supportive โ€œof graft, corruption, lax and discriminatory enforcement of our laws.โ€ And his involvement in many different areas within the Barbadian society may be seen as โ€œpolitical canvassingโ€ or a way of securing โ€œreligious supportโ€ for the DLP.

As a Christian society we should let his โ€œindiscretionsโ€ remain in the past and recognize Dr. Durant is at the forefront organizing โ€œdays of national prayers,โ€ making sure those morals you alluded to remain intact.

44. I don’t understand what is meant by the student was rude to the teacher. What was the student supposed to say? If the student say no isn’t that not being rude also this is so stupid that it’s not even funny. I still don’t understand why the teacher cound not have picked the wrapper up herself. I believe the day is going to come when people in Barbados get fed up and say enough is enough and start to do something about it. All of these so called politicians and supposed respected people are breaking the law and they are still in the position earning hundreds of thousand dollars a year and they are not held to account for their actions.

Are you telling me that Carrington and Estwick should still be in parliament earning a living off of the taxpayers of Barbados, they should be in jail. Are you telling me that Leroy Parris should not be where Bernie Madoff is right now. But a child is out of the classroom because she refuse to pick up garbage. As the saying goes only in Barbados where the literacy rate is supposed to be the highest in the western hemisphere and educated people are acting like fools.

45. Amen, Erskine!

46. I wonder how many of you actually have meaningful relationships with children other than your own. I do and have done for many years. Children are so comfortable around me. They speak their minds on whatever the topic is. This is because they know I care about them, want the best for them, respect them and their opinions and value and enjoy their company. They also know that I remember what it was like to be a child. I have not forgotten what it was like to be treated as though I had no rights, unfairly handled by many adults. Three people stand out in my mind as being different. Elsie Payne, my father and my “foster mother” for my first six years of life. These three people were not dictatorial but gained my respect by first respecting me. They never bellowed, they listened, they were fair and as such had very little difficulty in steering me in the right direction. Conversely those who were dictatorial got my hackles up and all they taught me was how NOT to be with children. Children are not as stupid as many of you seem to think. I hear them discussing their parents and teachers. They respect those who are firm but FAIR. They actually LIKE firmness and boast about their parents and teachers who insist on what is right whilst setting the example. They are willing to forgive the occasional mistake once the relationship has been established.

Some of you seem to think that the only way to guide children is with an iron fist. My son’s form teacher is making progress with a difficult class by caring, listening, encouraging, being fair but firm and setting the example. She is LOVED AND RESPECTED and can do NO WRONG in my son’s eyes and judging from the response of a student to an e-mail she sent last week her hard work and faithfulness to her class in the face of blanket condemnation from other teachers is inspiring her beloved students. Now THAT is a teacher!

On another matter, my former classmate today told me that the teacher I slapped now has her own Barbados stamp.

Daphne Joseph Hackett! I enjoyed most of my time with her up until I had to slap her. Everyone is entitled to a mistake. I don’t know why people have such a hard time admitting theirs. It’s called being human.

47. Artaxerxes,

For the first time ever I am baffled by your post. Can’t understand what you are getting at?