Sandals Butch Stewart

It has been brought to the attention of BU that Sandals Barbados has been training prospective employees for 10 weeks, 8 hours per day, 5 days a week WITHOUT paying them a stipend to pay bus fare or buy a sweet drink. BU understand they do get a free lunch! To rub salt in the wound there is no guarantee the prospective employees will be recruited when the training is completed.

The big question for the BU intelligentsia is whether this is legal under the laws of Barbados.

Sandals management personnel have been featured in the media this week preaching the successes of Sandals Barbados since the launch. Why must Barbadians always be made to lay prostrate before foreigners and taken advantage of.

177 responses to “Sandals Barbados Withhold Stipend”

1. I am sure everyone has hired someone to do a job that they haven’t been satisfied with, whether it is to fix your car, cut your grass, cut your hair etc. we have all thought if not vocalized this person is in the wrong line of work, well it is no different for employers. We train them up and some just don’t get it, some cant do it, some find it is not what they want. There are costs involved in training someone whether it is breakage, liability,costs time of other employees future good will etc to train a firefighter it costs tens of thousands before they set foot on the floor. The old joke was we have too much money invested in you to let you go. It is much easier to hire a seasoned employee than go to the trouble of teaching someone. However just like it is hard to teach a dog new tricks, starting a new employee in your system with no past baggage has its benefits. So here is a case of dammed if you do and dammed if you don’t which is often the case on the island.

2. @lawson

What you just posted is hogwash. Companies, good ones, constantly evaluate employees and if they don’t cut it they are let go. Training people is part of what companies do, a good HR department will hire/recruit people where the probability is reasonable there will be stickability. Bear in mind the last Sandals job fair attracted hundreds of job seekers for a handful of jobs.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…..all that training expense can be claimed by the employer as a tax write off, the employers in Barbados are just being frigging greedy, and besides the employer in question already got 40 years in concessions from the stupid government, concessions that will outlive him……all at the expense of the Bajan taxpayer……what the helll is he giving back.

4. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

I repeat David’s quote-” its exploitation”

Do you also know that some of these hotels are NOT providing transport for their staff that work the night shift 11:00 pm and 1:00 am – theses are facts. People are crying out at most of these hotels.

Lawson, the women with the extra weight are some of the ones sending Barbados to its grave with their BAD management practices.

5. Well Well you may as well bring everything and the kitchen sink in , I am sure he has beaten some employees you better get that in there .So many red herrings. Look they are going to school with maybe a job at the end of it.. What tax write off, taxes are not dollar for dollar it is still an expense.
    David what is the law in Barbados for buying a pig in a poke.

6. Exploitation would be if they recruit a new batch of people every 10 weeks and nobody is ever hired. This is what I see as a chance…a chance to get a job..Is it not worth gambling a little time for a career? Retribution behind everyone of those over weight ladies is a beautiful woman.. seriously Well Well your in the way Lol

7. Well Well / Lawson

What tax write-off?

Income tax waived for 40 years?

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Due…you are right, I believe Stuart, Butch has his taxes waived longer than he can live, 40 years, among other concessions at taxpayers expense, why does DBLP government have to give away everything. Butch should be happy to train young people on the island, preparing them for future work

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…not only is Butch enjoying no taxes, but when he dies, his children will enjoy what the idiots gave away….what about the children of the taxpayers who still have to pay taxes to make up for the shortfall, for the 40 years that Butch and his children enjoy concessions.

10. Well Well your mixing apples and oranges, an incompetent negotiator is not the fault of Sandals, remember if a person owns a number of stores if one is doing well it compensates for another that is losing and hopefully across the board you make money. Maybe in other deals sandals have made or will make in the future can be offset by the overly great terms they got in Barbados. Who knows what expenses have been incurred to get those terms Lol. So I guess you are asking is it morally right to pay these possible employees or is he obligated. Where is roy Trotman when you need him.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….who gives a shit about what raw deal Sandals got somewhere or what raw deals he may get in the future and making it up by jukking out both of the people in Barbados eyes because they got dumb assssssses for leaders……that dude Butch looks to you like he would cut a bad deal for himself now or in the future, maybe you need to clean your glassses and look at him again.

The only correct things you said were, the government officials who made the deal with Stuart are incompetent and it’s more than likely it cost him bribe money to get such a deal, given the governments track record….nothing about what he got helps the people, they been robbed, again.

Besides, none of the money Sandals earn will go to Barbados, except for expenses and overheads.

12. @lawson
    Went to the dictionary to see if the definition of exploitation was changed to what you stated. It wasn’t.
    Employers should not take advantage of the fact that people are desperate for jobs. Gon’t dangle a carrot just out of their reach.

(1) The fact that not all of the trainees will get a job could be an indication that there are training more people than available positions (exploitation).
    (2) How long would it take a good manager to identify ‘suitable candidates” for these positions and (a) let the excess workers go and look fora position elsewhere and (b) pay the suitable candidates some type of ‘minimum wage’ for the work they are doing.
    (3)If this is an apprenticeship, shouldn’t apprentices be paid?

Are we going backward as we going backward as a nation? I was fortunate enough to get a summer job in Barbados in the late 70’s and I was paid. Actually, I couldn’t afford to work if I was not paid.

13. @ac
    (a) The training is for the benefit of the trainees or students;
    Wouldn’t the above be always be true. Who would go for training if it was to their detriment?
    (b) The trainees or students do not displace regular employees, but work under close supervision;
    This could allow an unscrupulous employer to rotate employees nine times for 10 weeks and not break Lawson’s rule on exploitation.
    (c)The employer that provides the training receives no immediate advantage from the activities of the trainees or students and, on occasion, his operations may even be impeded;
    A good joke. Show me the employer that would harm his business by using trainees

14. Cut the bs.

Sandals could have paid the trainees minimum wage for the 400 hours they worked.

If true it was poor judgement on the part of Sandals management.

15. Look say what u like Gazer in the long and short of the story the trainees had an alternative option of not taking advantage of the opportunity. It is not as if the knoweldge garner would not be of benefit to them. What knoweldge they would have achieved can prepare them with a better advantage and a brighter future in the area of tourism. If these trainees had to go to a school of hospitality they would have to pay thousands of dollars and yet no guarantee of getting a job. People of your mentality suffer from the dog and the bone syndrome one which have you grabbing at every thing and a high risk of achieving nothing.
    Let these trainees understand through experience that on lifes journey nothing is easy or free.
    In the end these trainees would have acomplished more in knoweldge and experiencethan they would have lose in wages

16. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

We are assuming that the word “trainee” means “teenager/young adult” no – most of these employees are women with children and men – being tricked under the guise that a job opportunity will surface – EXPLOITATION

Lawson, I know you are a Man; only a man would bring up beauty when employees are being victimized, stigmatize, discriminate and persecuted in these work places under power hungry women #PCH, Caribbean Export!

17. @ac
    I have serious issues with you.
    It seems as if your moral compass is not calibrated to differentiate between right and wrong, but rather to detect us and them.

18. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Ac, read my above contributions!

All would be well if employers are upfront and honest in the hiring process, but they are NOT, hence the issues.

it’s FREE LABOUR!! Nonsense!

19. @Gazer ..Having serious issue based on the fact that there is no law against bartering. In essence one has heard the commment one hand washes the other for good. So what is wrong with an individual giving something if self and getting much in return where in that context is the moral compass broken

20. So when did sandals become the welfare office, its a business go a little further in that dictionary Gazer and you will find that sympathy is between syphilis and shit. It is easy to get on a high horse if you are sitting in a comfortable position. Let these people try and better themselves and see how it all plays out.

21. @ Retribution.. these are not employees but trainees who if by chance had to use out of pocket expense in the training of hospitality would have paid an astronomical fee. But (as it is )they are paying nothing and getting plenty knowledge in return .They would be fools to give up such an opportunity especially when a job is awaiting them after training.
    Who in their right mind would quibble over stipends when the benefits would be for a brighter future in earnings and world of opportunity in the tourism industry with a well known international brand..such an indivudual would have to be mad..

22. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@ ac, Lawson too stupid for words! Are you part of the DLP Administration?

23. the Antigua and Barbuda hospitaly and training institute cost 3600 dollars per annum, what is going on at the hotel pom marine in barbados

24. Retribution-things that make you go yum….my dick

25. @Retribution..why would an indivudual have to be part of any organization or group to express their views even if the views are somewhat similar in content

26. I see now that one of my comments is a repetition of Sargeant’s statement.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tut tut tut….Lawson, ya getting out of control…lol

The concessions Sandals got from the dummies are tantamount to Corporate welfare, if you really want to start talking about a welfare office, which it seems the governments are turning Barbados into for foreign investors, they just about gave away the whole island to the Canadian woman from the Cahill fraud, now Stuart and Sandals, exactly what are the taxpayers getting in return.

Lawson, with all your talk, no one can go to Canada and get away with that and that is despite the economy now travelling a rocky road with an unstable dollar…not going to happen and you know it, Butch and that crowd can only exploit dummies.

28. Please explain pom marine, that is not true we are exploited all the time. For example the senate, Ontario hydro ,orange helicopters, Quebec, even Barbados gets the best of us we send you fat horny chicks and what do you send us ..apple pickers

29. Attaching a label to demoralize those individual who is in earnest seeking a brighter future through job training without a stipend is stupid they are not “dummies”
    They are many professionals who can attest to the fact that they gave of their time and ability for free in order to get a foot in the door of a specialized field and the knoweldge acquired has been of significant benefit wherby they were able to start their own business over the years.
    I belive that Adrian loveridge in one of his articles made mention of such or something to such effect

30. If I wanted to learn a trade or learn how to do a job and can’t afford to pay to learn, I would ask a company or person if I can come and learn it from them in exchange for my labour for a specific time. I would work so hard and so good that after my time is up that they will see that I will be an asset to them if they hire me. If they want to pay me a stipend during my training I will accept it, but if they didn’t it will not bother me at all. I intend to learn everything I can so that when I leave, I will be better trained than when I started and have an advantage on those who will only seek training unless they are guaranteed a stipend.

31. Island gal what got into to you to make that comment i am bowled over to know that you are so generous with your time..
    or maybe it is because you have had the distinct pleasure of availing free service or help from one of your dutiful helpers

32. …or maybe she is just gullible ..and easy prey for unscrupulous businesspeople who would gladly exploit such childish enthusiasm.
    Modern Labour Departments usually take steps to protect such innocents from being exploited, but in many countries, simpleminded innocents with that attitude, fuel many a billion-dollar industry via their free labour, as they are rotated through labour mills on false promises of future benefits….

…and you complain about christians making sacrifices in hope of heaven Islandgal….? 🙂

33. In is only in the Caribbean and banana republics these greedy buggers are allowed to shaft people.

34. Why de rass yuh don’t read what I wrote yuh IDIOT Bushtea? I said for a specific time not forever! Wunna don’t understand at all. A smart person will take a low salary or offer their time in exchange for knowledge. Bushman yuh is a real Johnny Brass bowl!

AC et al it isn’t always about the money. Knowledge is power and to seek it, is wisdom.

35. As someone stated above these are not students, mature people. Added to the fact Sandals had an overwhelming response to its job fair. They have taken advantage of a situation where they know people want work.

36. Be reminded the hours Sandals exploited these people. This was no ordinary training, this was WORK. Butch Stewart should be ashamed calling his establishment a world class institution and operating like a sweat shop while he jets around the world on a private plane.

37. Bushie is an idiot?
    …Idiots are those who are ready and willing to be exploited…
    How difficult is it for a business to rotate a bunch of idiots ‘for limited periods’ – instead of paying a worker a fair day’s pay to do their work? ….which improves their bottom line?

It is often the willingness of the gullible to be exploited – more so than the unwillingness of the authorities that facilitates such practices.

If you want to learn, there are schools set up to do that properly…

38. “If I wanted to learn a trade or learn how to do a job and can’t afford to pay to learn,”

Put on yuh effing glasses old man or GO TO BED YUH OLD GEYSER!

39. All Barbados should be sympathetic to this category of worker, these are the ones at the bottom of the scale and are always exploited by the greedy.

40. How is that different from someone who wants to eat …or to send their children to school …and can’t afford to pay….?
    What do THEY offer in exchange for money to get these vital things…?

Some people may well be forced to sell themselves short in difficult circumstances, but even so, those taking ADVANTAGE of such unfortunate persons are WRONG….

What exactly are you trying to say above the insults? ….that this is all OK?

41. Bushman in order to be able to learn something you got to give something. Training to improve your chances for employment comes at a price for employers and prospective employees. That is why an agreement must be made up front about the conditions. Breaching the agreement on both sides will result in withholding of monies and labour.

42. You are correct about the critical importance of education to improve one’s chances of employment (success in life) …and that it comes at a price for both the student and the teacher.This is why the process of national education is so critical.
    Unfortunately, there is a narrow line between education and exploitation ..which can easily be crossed by unscrupulous ‘educators’, and which results in a world of ‘have-alls’ and ‘have-nots’. It is why 1% of the world’s population own 80% of its resources.

Our national education system is total shit…. this is why people like Sandals are able to come here and do this… led by clueless idiots and visionless morons.
    Can you imagine Bushie looking for a girl by inviting all the available young prospects to come and ‘try out’ for the position – while ‘learning on the job’?
    We have a polytechnic, Community College hospitality department and a damn university-

What Sandals ‘training’ what??!!
    If they have vacancies let them advertise, hire suitable candidates and PAY them to do the damn work….. and if Sandals want to assist with training – let them JOIN forces with the BCC and coordinate programs under the TRAINED teachers and staff we have in place…like some other responsible employers do…

Wunna women make wunna selves too open to exploitation by selfish, unscrupulous, greedy vultures…. It is a matter of self-respect and Barrow’s self-image.

43. @ islan gal i do agree with your premise as i stated previously they are many in society who still suffer from the dog and the bone syndrome that is holding something in hand and rather throw it away trying to grab hold of nothing / ac also learned that a bird in the hand is worth a thousand in the bush
    For those who would prefer to forego a once in a life time opportunity for a stipend that is their prerogative if it would profit them a short term gain rather than pursuing an incentive that provide long term benefits

44. Agreed Bush Tea, Sandals looks an exemplary corporate citizen if they work with BCC and other educational entities to improve training level and the quality of the HR. You may recall PRT worked with the UWI to achieve the same before they exited.

45. In what way is an individual being exploited if a person is being given first hand knowledge for free in a learning environment .These trainees are regarded as students
    Another false and misleading assumptions being tabled is that these trainees are adults but granted there can also be classified as students and that being the case students can be graded in many categories from young to adult hood
    The fact being their is a big difference and many (again) are trying to infuse labor laws which are guaranteed for employees and not for trainees who are being trained an recognized as students in a learning environment
    Are we now to expect that students in Craft class in school be paid for their training as they make themselves available an apply what knowledge to create art works in their or the home education students be paid because she /he made a pie .
    I meaning some of the asinine comments are so outrageous on this issue it makes one wonder how clueless some of these intellectual proponents of knowledge can be dictated and blinded by their biases shown by their statements so much so that they are unable to differentiate between a learning environment where a trainee or student is being taught for a short period of time and a working environment where an employer /employee relationships are meted by law and demands

46. If a summer student or two visits an HR manager and negotiate a position to exchange Labour for experience that fits the position island gal has brought. In this case based on the info BU has received it is a different scenario. Some of us who are familiar with how the Stewarts operated during the construction phase have a better appreciation for the willingness of these people to squeeze what they can. The BU household is very passionate about this matter, we know first hand how these people operate.

47. @ AC
    In what way is an individual being exploited if a person is being given first hand knowledge for free in a learning environment
    Bushie is looking for a suitable candidate to do some whacking…. free training, and lunch…
    Send Irene…and yuh new friend Islandgal…
    You need not apply…. too hugly 🙂

48. @ac
    If you cannot see the difference between “craft class in school” and “Sandals” then I have been giving you too much credit.

49. If this same scenario was being discussed having occurred in Bangladesh or Taiwan by White owned companies guess what.