Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

It would appear as if the aspirations of those seemingly very few of us who harbour “high hopes” of our nation assuming formal constitutional republican status in our fiftieth year of independent statehood have been dashed by the recent prime ministerial announcement that there is the likelihood of a Royal visit in November this year. Of course, there may well be those constant “republicans” who will hopefully view this as indicative confirmation of a break with the British monarchy, and liken the proposed visit to that of the royal couple who attended our first Independence ceremony in 1966.

There may be some force in this reasoning. After all, the visit of British [I assume] royalty to our fiftieth anniversary celebration of a break from Britain does seem particularly incongruous, but I prefer to err with the view that this may simply be good old Barbadian hospitality and, since the royal family is the bloodline in which our executive authority formally resides currently, it would be bad manners not to invite its representation at our jubilee celebrations.

In other words, the announcement was, if nothing else, decidedly cryptic, and more so given the occasion and audience. So I shall continue my musings today on the likelihood of our becoming a constitutional republic, much, maybe, like the ant in the song… that thought that he could move a rubber tree plant. Fortunately, my sentiment for the change does not depend on mere political whimsy.

As I noted in this space last week, a significant amount of the opposition to “Republicanism” –I use the capital R advisedly, as will become apparent later- is owed to partisan political sentiment, and I refer to both of the occasions on which the respective parties touted the notion. This apart, there may be a few who are still wedded to the phenomenon of monarchy, although not a localized version of the concept that would, in any event, contravene our constitutional ethos of egalitarianism.

However, there are also those who simply have no idea of what republicanism means, and do not care to find out. Simply put, it is a form of governance where supreme power resides in the people and is exercised through their elected representatives in accordance with law. Thus republicanism is clearly our current practical reality; all that is needed –what I call the irreducible minimum- to achieve the formal Constitutional process of “Republicanism” is the express location of formal executive authority under the Constitution in a native head of state.

Nonetheless, the amalgamation of these various dissenting groups does present formidable numerical, if scarcely rational, opposition to the process. When their counter is not premised on the minutiae of appointing the local executive authority –will he or she be elected or selected? By whom or what? For how long? -; there is the issue of timing and prioritization –not now in our current economic state; not with this Government; not before everyone has a guaranteed reliable supply of running water in his or her household; not yet; the financial costs –of altering the names of places and institutions; of creating new letterheads; and of changing legislative documents and contracts, [one wag even suggested we would have to renegotiate ratified treaties]. In respect of this last, one recalls Oscar Wilde’s definition of a cynic – “a man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing”.

One argument that merits some consideration, however, is that of subjecting the entire process to a referendum. While this proposition may be, at first blush, irrefutable in the interest of direct democracy, there are, nevertheless, some factors that may substantially relegate this to a head count of opposition rather than it becoming the reasoned sophisticated conclusion that should attend our public affairs.

For instance, the question should be precisely put so as to avoid misunderstanding but, as some of us are aware, a question is not asked in a vacuum, but exists, rather, in a cloud of assumptions and (mis)understandings. In this regard, an apparently simple referendum such as “Should Barbados become a republic? Yes or No” could easily be converted into one of those questions in Latin that suggests the answer by the first word used. Presumably, most of those in favour of the change to formal status will vote “Yes”, although there may be some who would consider the question nonsensical since we are already a republic by convention.

However, the question appears predisposed to dissent, whether this is based on personal opposition to the idea, politically partisan sentiment because of the identity and propaganda of the proponents or opponents; sheer ignorance of the concept proposed; or merely the way in which the reference is formulated.

It may be argued that the general election process is not much different, but that, at least, is demanded by constitutional fiat. The referendum is not now part of our constitutional architecture and, always, the question begs asking, which political measures should be rendered subject to this process?

In the context of government, for examples, Independence was not, at least formally; accession to the Caribbean Court of Justice was not; and the existence and configuration of the Senate were not. Should we include then all taxation proposals; ambassadorial appointments; what should be taught at UWI; and which historical sites should be considered apt for preservation….?

A quotation from a former British politician on referenda is instructive. According to him, after making reference to their use by Hitler and Mussolini, “ I think referendums are fundamentally anti-democratic in our system…on the whole, governments only concede them when governments are weak…”

118 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The New Republic”

1. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Vincent, I did not intend to slight you, I just never saw your comment. Your proposal is an interesting one, although voting on more than 20 clauses could prove cumbersome. Further, we are likely to end up, if we are not careful, with something that resembles a political compromise more than a coherent policy.

@Shirf, you need to get real. Do you not understand that we are a sovereign independent country? Our passport is not valuable because the British Monarch is our Head of State…it’s so because of our international reputation. She is head of state of Jamaica too. Is their passport as valuable in terms of ease of entry into foreign states….why not?

2. @ David
    If we are so much more educated today why do we not insist on more actively participating in our democracy?
    Boss, you keep asking this question with the implication that Bajans have been deliberately refraining from involvement in national life….

The REAL truth is (as you well know) that we don’t have any damn ‘democracy’, but really a Mafia -type arrangement where citizens get to decide which of the two gangs will dictate our next five years (..or six where Froon is concerned – cause he don’t like calling elections)

In a democracy, citizens are informed, ..encouraged to feedback, ..their concerns have meaning and …leaders seek to represent their collective consensus interest.

In which ‘democracy’ could ministers sneak and sign SECRET million dollar contracts with business people who admit to funding them?

Here is the question you should consider….
    What opportunities exists for TALENTED (non yard fowl) Bajans to actively participate in the democracy? Have you seen the various state ‘Boards’ that run agencies such as the QEH / Transport Board /Schools / Sports Council etc….?
    80% Minister’s lackey political friends and family….and 20% token yes-people.

How, for example can someone such as Ping Pond or Grenville participate ….besides adopting an AC-like, bent-over pose…?

3. @David, given some of the concerns and questions raised here I think that if the Government is serious about making the step towards a Republic (doubtful but let’s suppose it is), it would serve them well to adequately inform the public what kind of Republic it proposes and what such a move would mean for Barbados.

The Government doesn’t need to run any elaborate awareness campaign. A simple video on Youtube and infomercials on CBC, a poster on Facebook etc explaining to Barbadians what type of Republic it proposes, the benefits of such a move and clearing up some of the myths and fears e.g: the fact that becoming a Republic won’t affect our visa waiver treaties and other treaties, the fact that it won’t cause us to lose membership of the Commonwealth, the fact we won’t be suddenly cast aside by Britain as a pariah just because we would be doing what numerous other former British colonies have done before us.

In light of the prevailing economic environment, we also need an idea of the costs of such a move.

From what I see on the various threads here on BU, there still remains a lot of ignorance and misinformation about the implications of a Republic and that, along with general mistrust of the Government’s intentions and concerns about the financial implications, could explain a lot of the opposition towards the move. I believe that while there will always be the monarchists and conservatives among us, most reasonable Barbadians will realise they won’t have much to fear once they are informed.

I agree that many Barbadians, including the younger generation, are increasingly disengaged from the political process. It is not necessarily that we don’t care. It is that we are fed up with the theatrics and are tired of supporting an unresponsive governance system which is just a “2 minute” democracy. However, I don’t think that should be an excuse not to involve the citizenry in what is an important step in nationhood and one which I frankly believe should have been taken a long time ago. I believe public buy-in is important.

Lastly, as I have said on numerous threads, the move to a Republic should not be merely a simple title swap but should be part of a broader thrust towards reforming our governance system to make our elected officials more accountable and our system more participatory and responsive. That to me, besides the symbolics, would be a tangible benefit to a Republican move.

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Alicia, you are aware,of course, that the two are not inextricably entwined. We can start governance reform now…as late as it may be in our life as a sovereign nation.

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Jeff;

I might have missed it.

But did you give any opinion in your essays as to whether or not, in the event that the Government decided that a referendum was not necessary, a two thirds majority of the House would be necessary for our current Republican status to be changed to one where the head of state would be a citizen of Barbados?

In other words, would our current Republican status allow the Government, with only a simple majority, to change the head of state if it felt like doing so?

6. @Mr. Cumberbatch, agreed and there has been discussion of constitutional reform throughout the years, with the Ford Commission Report being just one example of such discourse. However, many of the reforms suggested in the Ford Report have not been implemented. Besides that, the long mooted Freedom of Information legislation and Integrity in Public Life legislation are figments of manifesto imagination.

While I support the move towards a Republic, I honestly believe we should be demanding a concomitant change in our governance system to make our system more representative. The Queen as our HOS isn’t a threat to our democracy. What is a threat to our democracy is the lack of accountability and transparency.

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@awty, No. The section in the Constitution that locates executive authority in Her Majesty (section 63, I think) is entrenched and by section 49 requires a 2/3 majority for any change.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…ya just jealous…lol

Jeff….I agree, the constituents also have a duty to ask the represenative MPs questions, but is anyone able to find an MP after he/she has been elected, they are very good at giving out their phone numbers but even better at not accepting or returning calls. The constituents who elected them can never seem to fit into their schedules.

I think it would have been beyond difficult for the humbled and nearly mentally broken majority blacks on the island to understand what a referendum to achieve independence meant in 1966, getting them to agree to things most in 2016 still don’t understand would have been a gigantic feat back than, we do need to display real empathy for what they were subjected to and still managed to survive…..as I undersyand it, because of that lack of knowledge, Barrow had quite the task on his hand convincing people to take a step forward……not so in 2016, most of the majority are better educated and emotionally stronger to handle analyzing a referendum re republic status……and yes, Bajans need to participate more and demand more from politicians who start hiding from them the very next day after being elected, which is another gigantic task.

The electorate is not only more educated than 50 years ago, but also able to process information better, even those who did not pursue higher education.

9. I would like to ask Mr Cumberbatch if persons born in Barbados and holding a passport of the United Kingdom and colonies before independence on 30th November ,1966 are not entitled to a British passport by right.

10. @Jeff Cumberbatch January 17, 2016 at 10:22 PM #

Is not governance the art of political compromise?

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@balance, I am not certain, sincethis would be a matter of British citizenship law, but it would appear to me that if your only claim to a British passport now is that you once held one when Barbados had a relationship with Britain…you should not be entitled. Under what category are you claiming? Birth? Or descent?

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Vincent, I suppose it is if the opposition is significant enough electorally.

13. Jeff Cumberbatch January 18, 2016 at 7:24 AM #

I sense that although a referendum is doable as I suggested you are still not convinced that it should be done…….Why?

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Vincent, principally because it is not constitutionally required; also that I sense that the majority will return the “wrong” result so far as I am concerned. Is it democratic? Yes! Is it fair? The jury is out!

15. @ Vincent
    I sense that although a referendum is doable as I suggested you are still not convinced that it should be done…….Why?
    Steupsss…
    Because Jeff is smart enough to know that Bajans will reject any such change -overwhelmingly. Yuh think he just born…? Wuh even Froon knows that.

Why will they reject it..?
    …because not even a brass bowl will waste time fixing the TV and stereo – when the damn roof is full of holes and the floorboards rotten.

If Froon and his band of JAs can fix the floor, the roof, the water, the roads, the garbage, the CLICO thing, the CAHILL thing, the sugar thing, the Four seasons thing, the Almond thing, the sewerage treatment thing…and all the other leaks….

THEN …we will see 110% of Bajans supporting a move to republicanism.

What manner of idiot spends resources on a new TV …when the damn house is rotted…..?

16. Jeff and BT

I understand your reasoning but you see for democracy to realy work the masses have to be involved,if not we may as well go back to the age old ways of a Dictatorship,hopefully benevolent.

We may well argue that what we have now is not democracy but an alternating dictatorship.

17. @Vincent

The masses can be involved if they so desire.

18. David January 18, 2016 at 9:00 AM #

I agree…..which is why dictatorships come into fashion because too late shall always be the cry……ah well

19. @ David
    Say how….

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I believe it was Balance asked Jeff the question. One female I knew personally went to England in the 50s when Bajans were still allowed to hold British passports. When Barbados became independent, she had to apply to Home Office for citizenship in UK as she still lived, worked and had her family there. I believe that privilege went out with independence, unless you qualified for status through other means, which I understand are getting fewer and fewer.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences January 18, 2016 at 9:41 AM

As a result the growing crime associated with the drug trade, attacks on visitors, possible terrorists threats from a growing Islamic fundamentalists grouping within the region and the increasing probability of a breakdown in public sanitation Bajans might soon be required to have a visa if they wish to travel to the UK.

A move to republic status without the relevant improvements to national safety and security (including public health) might just catapult this move by the UK Border Control Authorities.
    Since the British monarch will no longer have any Constitutionally ingrained responsibilities or oversight to protect Her or His ‘subjects’ from any external aggression Barbados will have to paddle her own canoe and cannot expect any special favours or dispensation because of her failure to manage effectively her own internal affairs.

22. There is civil disobedience, collect all the water bills and dump them in St.Barnabus, mobilize a la Cahill, hold hands on Bay Street, bombard callins and social media, pressure, pressure, pressure from the people.

23. The following article may be of some interest:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/11/26/empty-houses/

24. @ David January 18, 2016 at 10:28 AM
    Excellent.

…now give some that can be applicable to brass bowls with a very negative self image.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…would the happy DBLP crowd have an alternative, seeing as British taxpayers have been whining for years about getting rid of their own burden, the buckingham palace civil servants, would they not have to get it right anyway…..as bad as it may be, they will have to stand on their own two feet and manup eventually.

As long as they know their party will soon be over, the hardest thing is to know.

Re any terrorist threat, it’s their responsibility, the politicians, to let the US know of any threats, they are the experts equipped to handle such, instead of Brathwaite grandstanding and trying to provoke people who are deadly serious and equipped with enough funds to buy and sell Barbados. Those dudes in the middle east handle billions of dollars, they are not to be provoked.

They need to start acting more responsibly, unlike how they handled the water issue, this is real life…….and stop acting like 4 year olds blaming each other because they did something stupid

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That article is frightening, it suggests that despite the real estate and housing bubble going bust as far back as 2004-2005, not one of these jackasses saw it fit to put a freeze on constructing, instead they listened to all the other greedy jackasses cow, bizzy, bjerkham, tempro and kept builiding, building as long as ever6 kickback came along, with no future plans in place, but have the nerve to yap none stop about a world financial crisis, do they even know what that meant in the context of building and construction………Miller there really is a problem.

27. So Millertheanunnaki, would the British help Trinidad & Tobago? They have removed her as head of state, although they still use her Privy Council as their final court. You are scaremongering, that ‘s all. Who needs the British anyway?

28. If Barbados intends to replace the monarchy we should do it with dignity and good sense

29. No withstanding all the so-called “intellectual” arguments in favour of a Republic, I am forced to ask why a government so beleaguered, so absolutely out of their depth, can now want to force through a Republic. Over the past 40 years, there has been at least one parliament where the government had over 2/3rd majority. Do you not think that this Prime Minister, this government, has not looked at Turkey, Rwanda and Burundi and seen what can happen when a government gets the power to change the constitution? Have they not tested the waters and found out that Bajans will never rise up no matter what is perpetrated on them? It is scary to think that these people could have absolute power as is now enjoyed by Erdugan in Turkey.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bustopher Jones January 18, 2016 at 12:47 PM
    “Who needs the British anyway?”

The British Monarch is not the HoS of T&T and has no Constitutional obligations.
    Don’t you find T&T retention’s of the British Privy Council a bit hypocritical when the CCJ is right in its own front room?

BTW, Barbados cannot do without the British. Check the amount of tourist arrivals from Britain. Without Britain there is no tourism to prop up your one cylinder economy.
    Barbados is nothing without Britain, however you cut it.
    Now deal with that, Buster!

31. @Peltdownman

You assumption why we should not jettison the monarchy is scary.

32. Bustopher Jones Avatar

So, Miller, are yo u saying the tourists will stop coming once we abandon the monarchy? Oh dear!

Should we not beg them to become a colony of theirs then? Then they will be right at home.

33. @Jeff

You have seen the news that Antigua will hold a referendum to poll the population whether to join the CCJ?

Interesting times!

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Polls are popular in developed and forward thinking societies, the people’s input is vital. They give one a sense of moving forward. I can’t imagine that in 2016 there are those who would be against the idea and have the nerve to call themselves developed and first world, while the mentality is still so 17th century.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bustopher Jones January 18, 2016 at 2:11
    “So,Miller, are you saying the tourists will stop coming once we abandon the monarchy? Oh dear!”

No JA, I am not saying that at all. I am responding to your bold stupid assertion of “Who needs the British anyway?” You do!

I am saying that if the British don’t come as tourists or buy real estate Bajans asses are grass. All the hell Barbados got is seawater and sand and the day BA, Virgin Atlantic, Thompson Tours and Thomas Cook stop landing at GAIA crapaud smoke your pipe, according to the Mighty Chalkie.

The Brits go all over the world to places like Thailand, Dominican Republic and Cuba which are all republics. If you guys continue to make Barbados unattractive by perpetrating crimes against visitors, with garbage piling up, rats running around Bridgetown as if a carnival for rodents is on show and generally despoiling the enviornment thereby compromising your public health systems Barbados, republic or monarchy, would be “blacklisted” as a no go place for health and safety of British travellers even before you can shout “Jack Robinson” or the cat can lick his ears.

Why not heed the immortal words of the legendary Joe Tex and hold on to what you’ve got.
    And if you think other countries don’t want your British tourists,
    Just treat them bad and tell them to piss off.
    Then St. Lucia, Jamaica and Cuba will have your share
    Before you can travel from Sandy Lane to IlLaro Court.

36. Miller
    You have said it all to Bustopher who seem not to understand what he wrote.The IBC’s and Tourism saved Barbados from bankruptcy after the rules of the WTO put paid to sugar subsidies.Barbados must continue to be Little England if it is to survive,plain and simple.With Chinese,Japanese tourism all a pipe dream we must rely on the Brits,the Yanks and the Canajuns to keep choosing the bajan way and that means friendly people,clean streets,safe streets,clean water,good food and everybody on board sharing the pie equally.

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

David, I saw that item. I also saw where they threatened to renege on it if it became too politicised. Note, too, that it the referendum constitutionally required there for some alterations to that document.

38. Jeff Cumberbatch January 18, 2016 at 7:22 PM #

UK is also going for a referendum over the EU,possibly within 6 months……..will little england follow??

39. “When Barbados became independent, she had to apply to Home Office for citizenship in UK as she still lived, worked and had her family there. I believe that privilege went out with independence, unless you qualified for status through other means, which I understand are getting fewer and fewer.”

Would try to kill two birds with one stone. With regards to Jeffs’s question. I am thinking about birthright since prior to 1966 i was a British citizen born in the United kingdom and Colonies with right to a passport issued by the Government of the United Kingdom and Colonies as is the case with persons from non independent British colonies like Montserrat and Bermuda for instance. There was no Barbadian passport prior to Independence from Britain.

40. It all boils down to getting good governance and if we have to flavour it with being a republic……….so be it.

41. Jeff

You mentioned Oscar Wilde’s definition of a cynic – “a man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing”.

And here I was thinking that was Freundel Stuart’s definition of a cynic

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance…don’t know if this helps but the lady in question was born in 1933, there were no Barbados passports so she also qualified and possessed a British passport, born in Barbados and qualified under colonies….but once Barbados got independent, she had to change that passport….while living in England.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I hope those against polling now realize that it’s the norm worldwide to engage the people on each and every issue. I have voted so many times in the US on one issue or another, I can’t even remember a quarter of them. It’s the norm, the public must be brought into discussion. I don’t know how else it’s supposed to happen.

44. balance January 18, 2016 at 5:51 AM #
    Unless the UK Citizenship laws have been changed in recent times, a person born in Barbados before 1966, has no automatic right to a British Passport/ Citizenship, unless the parents were full United Kingdom Colonies.
    I was born before 1966, emigrated to the UK in the mid 60’s , using a Barbados Passport. 4-1/2 years later I had to apply for British Citizenship which entitled me to a British Passport. My son ,born in Barbados, after I return home, is automatically entitled to British Citizenship.
    Persons who left Barbados for the UK before 1966, using a British Passport, after 1966 ,also had to apply for British Citizenship if they so desired.

45. Line # 4/5 ,t should have read “Full United Kingdom Citizens.”

46. David January 18, 2016 at 10:28 AM #
    There is civil disobedience, collect all the water bills and dump them in St.Barnabus,
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    A fellow on the block told me that the affected people could kill two birds with a big rock. While protesting about the ever coming water bills, they could also protest about the solid waste tax, and what a better way to do it than to fill the plastic buckets which the BWA has given them, with Solid Waste, China Construction Company style, and deposit them on the door step at St Barnabus.

47. @ Jeff,

Would a move to republicanism instill the notion of pride, industry and a fervent form of black nationalism within the Bajan Negro?

I am currently in Barbados and to be honest with you it always simultaneously shocks and underwhelms me at how the apartheid system is woven within the mind set of our government and her citizens. The current role of our government is to coerce, bully and discriminate against her Negro population.

The concept of “Republicanism” is a misnomer in a country whose Negro population remains marginalised and locked outside of the decision making process.

48. I am appreciative of the comments of Well Well and Colonel Buggy to what some may regard as a non-issue since Barbados is now supposedly independent but i am curious as to whether persons born in Barbados before independence are not NOT ENTITLED TO THE RIGHT TO LEGITIMATELY AND FREELY ENTER BRITAIN HAVING BEEN REGISTERED AS A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED KINGDOM AND COLONIES AT BIRTH? CAN MY BIRTHRIGHT BE LEGISLATED AWAY BY LEGISLATION AFTER THE FACT?
    GREETINGS
    THANKS FOR YOUR RESPONSE AND FOR THE INFORMATION YOU HAVE PROVIDED THUS FAR TO WHAT YOU HAVE APTLY DESCRIBED AS A COMPLEX ISSUE. HOWEVER, MY QUERY REMAINS THE SAME.
    AM I NOT ENTITLED TO THE RIGHT TO LEGITIMATELY AND FREELY ENTER BRITAIN HAVING BEEN REGISTERED AS A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED KINGDOM AND COLONIES AT BIRTH? CAN MY BIRTHRIGHT BE LEGISLATED AWAY BY LEGISLATION AFTER THE FACT?

I WAS BORN IN 1947 IN BARBADOS. BARBADOS WAS GOVERNED BY GREAT BRITAIN. I GREW UP UNDER THE UNION JACK. I KNEW OF NO OTHER FLAG. AS A BOY, I REMEMBER HAVING TO COMPULSORILY LINE THE STREETS IN THE BROILING SUN TO WAVE FLAGS WHEN A MEMBER OF THE ROYAL FAMILY VISTED THE OVERSEAS KINGDOM.

ALL BARBADIANS PRIOR TO INDEPENDENCE IN 1966 HELD PASSPORTS ISSUED UNDER THE AEGIS OF THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT WHICH TO ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES MADE US CITIZENS OF GREAT BRITAIN.

AS FAR AS I AM AWARE, I WAS NOT STATELESS AND I AM AT A LOSS AS TO HOW THAT BIRHTRIGHT CAN BE LEGISLATED AWAY BY A SET OF COMPLICATED LEGISLATION DESIGNED TO DENY PEOPLE OF THE COLONIES LIKE ME THEIR INALIENABLE RIGHTS.

BIRTHRIGHT CANNOT BE TAKEN AWAY BY LEGISLATION OR OTHERWISE. I COULD UNDERSTAND IF THE LAWS WERE APPPLICABLE TO THOSE BORN IN THE COLONIES AFTER THEIR RESPECTIVE TERRITORIES BECAME INDEPENDENT BUT SURELY NOT TO THOSE HAVING A RIGHT TO BRITISH PASSPORTS AT BIRTH.

I WOULD BE A FOOL TO LEAVE BARBADOS TO LIVE IN BRITAIN OR ANYWHERE ELSE BUT THE FACT REMAINS THAT BIRTHRIGHT UNDER THE CROWN ENTITLES ME TO THE RIGHT TO LEGITIMATELY AND FREELY ENTER BRITAIN LIKE THOSE BORN ON THE MAINLAND AND TO APPLY FOR A BRITISH PASSPORT.

49. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Balance, tell you what. The proof of the pudding is in the eating. Next time you enter England, give the spiel that you have screamed above to the Immigration officer and inform him that you plan to take legal action if he refuses to comply. Incidentally, Barbados was never really a “colony” of Britain