Extracted from Open Letter to the Prime Minister: The People’s Price Tag on a Republic posted by flyonthewall.
Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow

Barbadians love their biblical stories and heroes, and they are adept at finding parallels in their own time. The story that resonates most strongly for black Barbadians, as indeed it has done for black Christians everywhere, is the freeing of the Israelites from Egyptian bondage. It is not by coincidence that Grantley Adams was called the “Black Moses”.

But as we know, while Moses led his people out of Egypt, it was not his destiny to take them into the Promised Land. That responsibility – that privilege – would fall to Joshua. It would be Joshua whose army defeated the Canaanites; it would be he who would blow his horn to blast the walls of Jericho and, one by one, also bring down the other citadels of Canaan.

In 1966, there were many Barbadians who saw Errol Barrow as Joshua and were eager for the sound of his horn. The citadels would fall and the Canaanites would be routed, and within the context of Barbados at that time it’s not hard to figure out who the “Canaanites” were.

Errol Barrow shunned that role and we should all thank him for it. Had he embraced it, Barbados today would be another bankrupt experiment in democracy, a dysfunctional little rock in the Atlantic. He left the “Canaanites” in place in their citadels (i.e. White-run commercial enterprises) and set out to build a nation that would accommodate them.

I believe he knew that, in time, there would be more Israelites inside the citadels than Canaanites. What is more, they would build their own. Besides, he needed those White-run commercial enterprises – those citadels – to function well to help fund the vision he had for Barbados.

And Barrow was very adept at drawing on the talents and experience of those White business leaders. He knew that these men, despite their colour, would help him build a new Barbados. He asked them to serve and they did. What is more, they did it for free.

As I see it, Barrow chose the path of evolution rather than revolution, even though he knew it would be a far more gradual process than many wished it to be. And he made that path attractive by paving it with education and making it smoother to travel on. Across the Atlantic, in Africa, other leaders in newly independent countries chose differently.

There, a plethora of highly destructive “Joshuas” held Africa back for decades. Fifty years on, there is hardly a country on that continent in which democracy is anything but a thin coat of varnish.

Errol Barrow wanted to build a more equitable society but not by fire. What many people don’t appreciate is that, in the social hierarchy of Barbados – at least the Black hierarchy – he was an aristocrat. And aristocrats tend to value rather than despise order and stability.

He was an international thinker, extremely well educated and with a world view honed by participation in a world war. And on November 30, 1966, he knew EXACTLY how precarious his country’s future was.

Contrary to what some may believe Britain did not resist the idea of Independence for Barbados. What concerned the British Government of the day was that, having helped push the “Good Ship Barbados” out to sea, they would have to come rescue us as we foundered within sight of shore. Errol Barrow must have had the same fear. He knew that if it all went pear-shaped Barbados was well and truly f—-d.

That things did not go pear-shaped is due to his leadership and a vision that went far beyond politics. I have heard it said that he was autocratic, but in the early days of Independence he probably needed to be. (Besides, I have this said of other prime ministers we have had. From all accounts, Tom Adams was no “sweet bread” and neither was Owen Arthur.)

I’m grateful to Errol Barrow, and to the other leaders that Barbados produced since 1966. We may say they were flawed, but which of us isn’t. Fifty years on, I believe many Barbadians would willingly settle for some of that old-fashioned autocracy instead of what currently exists. We are drowning is politicians while starved for statesmen.

The difference between the two is this: a statesman thinks of the next generation; a politician thinks of the next election [BU’s Emphasis].

159 responses to “Errol Barrow Refused to be JOSHUA”

1. I would like to know when things started to go wrong for him,was it in his 3 term and why…..was it the fuel crissis only?

2. @Vincent

Could it be that his skillset did not straddle the period he led very well?

3. David January 17, 2016 at 2:12 PM #

Good question.

I was not here for most of his second term and if my recollection serves me for the 3rd term corruption,black power and fuel crissis were plaguing him…….also we must not overlook his domestic life at the time which was quite interesting.

We must always remember he was to the manor born,unfortunately at the time of his birth all that was left was status and little wealth,an example of what I stated in a post some time ago that money alone does not decide your status in the class structure.

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

What we need from those who knew the “Father of Independence” well is less of the hagiography that we have had so far, and a more critical essay on his contradictions. Why at Independence did he choose to retain the Queen as the executive authority of Barbados? Why did he belittle John Connell and Denis Hunte? Why did he make the 1974 constitutional amendments? Why did he preside over the passage of the Public Order Act?

5. I agree with Jeff.I think part of the reason(s)might be found in his declaration that he was of Jewish descent.He stated his name in Jewry is Baruch.If memory serves me well he was at that time introducing a law protecting people and things from acts of discrimination.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This post is such glorified nonsense. You are creating an image of Barrow that is only wishful thinking, much like what the other twistorians did when they elevated Bussoe (Bussa) to hero status.

Barrow was a young man in a hurry that could not contain his ambition. All this high-sounding nonsense that is contained in this post does not reflect what was happening in the 50s and 60s. Adams wanted independence as part of the little eight that were left after the Federation broke up. Barrow could not wait and in any event he was not certain that he would have been able to emerge as leader of the resulting independent federation of the little eight. He went alone to become the first Prime Minister of Barbados. It was all about Barrow.

He did not opt for a republic either because the white people had much the same silly fears that are being promulgated today. In order to please the white people, he retained the Queen as Head of State to appease the backward thinking of the white people. Many of them emigrated to Australia and New Zealand rather than live under a country that was completely ruled by black people. Many of those whites returned to Barbados because they could not find the worshipful life that they left behind. Some of them were lucky to find jobs on pig farms.

History is always better when it is rewritten to remove the warts.

7. @Jeff C
    What we need from those who knew the “Father of Independence” well is less of the hagiography that we have had so far, and a more critical essay on his contradictions.
    There has been no definitive biographies on any of the Barbados leaders from Adams to the current occupant, one would think that some enterprising student at UWI would undertake such a task but would they have access to papers or archival documents? Did these leaders ever write anything down or did they communicate their thoughts by speeches which we are only able to access via old newspaper columns.

I was informed by a reliable source that OSA was going to write his memoirs and went so far as to arrange to rent a “Bay House” but Owen got sidetracked by the thought that he may be victorious at the polls again and his current battle with his successor, perhaps it may still happen.

8. Wasn’t Arthur allocated space at Cave Hill to collect his thoughts in writing or did he use the space to fyah a few grogs with Wood, Lynch et al. Surely a search of Cave Hill library should toss up a few scrips?

9. Caswell Franklyn January 17, 2016 at 3:51 PM #

I also agree with your view both you and the poster are looking at him from two different angles….. two examples…..your statement about him being in a hurry reflects his entitlement thinking(to the manor born) and the fact that he did not do a Burnham reflects the Joshua analogy of the poster.

He was a complex character and sometimes peoples interpretation of history is more what they want to believe like in the case of Bussa as opposed to the facts,especially when few facts exist.

10. @caswell

On what basis are you challenging how the history of Bussa is recorded? History of that time was recorded from the perspective of the White man for obvious reasons.

11. David January 17, 2016 at 4:36 PM #

I do not know what Caswell knows but I grew up with a tradition of oral history in the country villages passed on from slave generation to freed generation and it was always said that Franklyn wanted his willed plantation Bayleys and in order to get it he recruited a bunch of individuals of which Bussoe was apparently one because he was hanged for it(White mans writing…so we dont know)………It was also stated that Franklyn wanted to be Emperor of Bim as he knew he could not hold Bayleys without taking the whole island………these facts are what our illiterate ancestors passed down……I was the most shocked person to see that tale of Bussa from Beckles.

12. @David, Yussuff Haniff has a great compilation of speeches by Errol Barrow which give good insight into Mr. Barrow’s philosophy at the time. I wasn’t around during Barrow’s time but I have read his speeches contained in that book. It is frightening how many of the issues and problems he identified are still plaguing Barbados/the Caribbean to this day.

13. Saw it online Alicia, will have to add it to the library and have a read. From all reports he was regarded as a giant among men of his time.

14. There’s also a film on Barrow in the works. I am hoping that it will explore the many nuances to his life. On the good point that was made about adulatory biographies, it is not just us here in Bim. If one watches any documentary on George Washington one wouldn’t even think he had owned slaves, far less was a racist 🙂

15. @David, I own the book.His speeches make for excellent reading. You won’t be disappointed.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The role attributed to Bussa in the rebellion is a fanciful creation of revisionist historians to give a black man a leading role. The real leader was not black enough.

17. Sir /Madam please explain or clarify or cite where i can find as reference record of the last part of your statement specifically outlining that White barbadians worked for free when asked by barrow

And Barrow was very adept at drawing on the talents and experience of those White business leaders. He knew that these men, despite their colour, would help him build a new Barbados. He asked them to serve and they did. What is more, they did it for free.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn January 17, 2016 at 3:51 PM

Black Bajans should be more indebted to the real agent of social and economic changes that took place during the early period of the DLP administration. EWB was more the poster face and PR mouthpiece.
    The brains and energy were with Wynter Crawford; a giant of a man and a real champion of the people whose great contribution to their social development has gone largely unnoticed and unrecorded.
    But that is life.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

Crawford is much like the Franklyn who started the rebellion and was replaced in the History by the Iikes of Beckles. That rebellion had nothing to do with fighting for freedom of slaves.

20. @Caswell Franklyn

If you had seen this post in its original form, you would have read the disclaimers at the front. I made it clear that this was not to be considered any work of history, but was a highly personal interpretation of what I believe transpired as Barrow took Barbados into independence. I also made it clear that I had no personal knowledge of the man, and that I was not posting as a DLP propagandist.
    “Barrow was a young man in a hurry who could not contain his ambition.”
    He was 46. How old is Justin Trudeau? how old is David Cameron? How old was John Kennedy? How old do you have to be? How old are you?
    The “white flight” has been greatly exaggerated. There were some families, including some of the Mackenzies and Taylors who went to NZ, and Mayers who went to Australia, but the idea that there was some kind of mass exodus is horseshit. There were no Piles, Sealys, Packers, Gittenses, Thomases, Mahons, Challenors, Caves, Simpsons or Leacocks on the flights. And obviously no Williamses. They stayed because they considered Barbados to be home and had a vested interest in making it work. Of course they were concerned. If you were a member of such a minority, wouldn’t you have been? They had no idea of what to expect. It was a time of uncertainty, and the point I was trying to make in my post is that Barrow was wise enough to provide certainty and gave them time to adjust. You appear quite scornful and dismissive of Errol Barrow. It’s almost as if you have a “hate-on’ for the man. You seem to know so much more about his personality and what he was thinking in 1966 than the rest of us do.

21. This article was published in 1987 in the Nation and what is of most interest is the interview of The then PM of barbados Errol Barrow was conducted by a school child AYANA GIBBS, a first form student of Harrison College
    Following is the full text of the November 11, 1986, interview with Barrow, on the country’s 20th anniversary of Independence.

Remembering Barrow

GIBBS: Good morning, Honourable Prime Minister, I am very grateful that you have kindly consented to let me speak with you about the independence of our nation, not only because you are now Prime Minister but also because you were the major figure in the achievement of our independence.
    Mr. Prime Minister, how do you feel when you are referred to as the ‘Father of Independence’?

PRIME MINISTER: Well, it makes me feel as if I’m some kind of patriarch with a long beard.
    When we achieved Independence I was 46 years old and I suppose a person of that age is old enough to be the father, if not the grandfather of anything, to produce something. –
    But it is just one of these journalistic expressions, which I suppose in a way it is a compliment because George Washington, who was the first President of the United States of America is referred to as the ‘Father of the Nation’ because he was largely instrumental in winning the War of Independence against Britain.
    We didn’t have to fight a war it is true, but we did have to do a lot of talking and arguing because a lot of people were unsure of themselves and were not sort of positive that they were able to run their own affairs. –

GIBBS: Mr. Prime Minister, what influenced you to seek independence for Barbados at the time you did?

PRIME MINISTER: You may ask what would influence anyone to be independent at any time. We think that independence is a natural state of affairs and people should not be ruled over by other people. So it isn’t something that you would think of doing at a particular time, it is something which all human beings in any society should strive towards from the time they are born.
    The people who rule over us usually tend to try to make us feel that we cannot run our own affairs, and that is all independence means – that you wish to run your own affairs without having to wait for other people to tell you what to do. –

GIBBS: Mr. Prime Minister, what do you consider to be the main difficulties you encountered in leading our nation to independence?

PRIME MINISTER: The main difficulty I think that my colleagues and I encountered was the lack of self-assurance of the people in Barbados and the people who had political axes to grind, which is the result of a long period of colonial domination, and I think that other societies have suffered from this self-doubt; and whereas the Americans, let us revert to them again, had to fight the British to get independence, we had to fight our own people to persuade them that it was time that we looked after our own affairs.

GIBBS: Mr. Prime Minister, what, in your opinion are the main achievements of Barbados since independence?
    PRIME MINISTER: It is difficult for me to pinpoint anyone particular matter. I’ll tell you why
    When my political party took over the Government in 1961 we had a programme and that programme did not hinge upon our attaining independence although independence was part of our programme.
    In other words, being a self-governing country in 1961 and even before that, we did not depend on anyone for any money to carry out any of the programmes that we wished to carry out in this country; the people of Barbados paid their own way.
    So when we drew up a programme in 1961 for the improvement of the country, like free secondary education and a National Insurance Scheme and matters of that kind, although some of them came after independence, they did not come as a result of independence.
    It is only a question of timing that we were able to get through some of the matters on our agenda before independence and others came in shortly after independence.
    After independence, of course, the only difference was that we were responsible in the international community for running our own foreign affairs as well. So that was about the only thing that Barbados accomplished by independence along with the expense of running these foreign legations and so on that we did not do before independence.

GIBBS: Mr. Prime Minister, we will shortly be celebrating our 20th year of Independence. Is there a special message on independence which you would like to give to children of my age?

PRIME MINISTER: Yes, I should like the children of your age and all the children in Barbados to realise that when you reach the age of 18 you have the right to vote and when you reach the age of 21 you have achieved full maturity.
    A lot of children today, nearly all the children today, were not even born when we achieved independence but the future of this country is in the hands of those children who were not born when we achieved independence. –
    Next year we are going to be 21 and therefore the future is going to be firmly in your hands and you should make the most of your educational opportunities and all the other facilities which you have available for self-development in order to carry this country upward and onward.
    GIBBS: Mr. Prime Minister, I would like to thank you again for making this interview possible and I wish you success as you continue the leadership of our nation. Thank you.
    PRIME MINISTER: Thank you.

22. @AC, thank you for sharing this.

23. @millertheanunnaki January 17, 2016 at 6:03 PM #

Chuckle……politics is about seizing the moment and he did after the work was done,he was a politician afterall and acted accordingly.

24. The interview posted by ac is interesting but does not accord with the widely held view that the Empire was glad to be rid of the colonies at that time.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ flyonthewall January 17, 2016 at 6:24 PM
    “There were some families, including some of the Mackenzies and Taylors who went to NZ, and Mayers who went to Australia, but the idea that there was some kind of mass exodus is horseshit. There were no Piles, Sealys, Packers, Gittenses, Thomases, Mahons, Challenors, Caves, Simpsons or Leacocks on the flights. And obviously no Williamses.”

Sound like a whole set of “black people” names included there. One is left to wonder what the white immigration officers had to say about the Bajan people with those ‘Family’ names entering the UK, US and Canada in the 50’s and 60’s.
    Was that also mass migration of the black kind with white names?

Don’t you think it’s time those same families that remained in Bim play a more ‘involved’ role in the modern management and decision-making of the their country’s affairs instead of hiding behind the scenes and pulling the strings of a set of greedy corrupt immoral class of black politicians for their own financial outcomes?

26. Miller you seem to thrive on generalizations. Do you actually know any white people? Do you know what most of them do for a living? Everyone on this blog seems to think that all whites are like COW, Bizzy, Kyffin and Tempro. Of course, it’s useful to have these targets around whom you can build generalizations, but whites have to work for themselves or run small businesses same as black people. How can they play a more involved role in the modern management and decision-making of their country’s affairs? Are you going to vote for a white person to sit in the House of Assembly? Do you think any white person will ever be appointed to chair a statutory corporation or occupy a senior position in the Civil Service? You are being disingenuous.

27. @fltonthewall

We had Peter Laurie and Teresa in foreign affairs didn’t we? Goddard was one of many consultants to Arthur and Douglas Lynch was a Barrow soldier. Yes White people have been given roles in the past.

28. @David January 17, 2016 at 6:35 PM #

The interview posted by ac is interesting but does not accord with the widely held view that the Empire was glad to be rid of the colonies at that time.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

PRIME MINISTER: The main difficulty I think that my colleagues and I encountered was the lack of self-assurance of the people in Barbados and the people who had political axes to grind, which is the result of a long period of colonial domination, and I think that other societies have suffered from this self-doubt; and whereas the Americans, let us revert to them again, had to fight the British to get independence, we had to fight our own people to persuade them that it was time that we looked after our own affairs.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Chuckle…………David it does……..No fight with the Colonial powers………he just had to convince his masses led by the opposition to embrace it

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The current Solicitor General is a white woman, Jennifer Edwards.

30. David January 17, 2016 at 7:11 PM #

Chuckle……………Be carefull David,Douglas used to be the first to tell you about his black matriarchical lineage……by now you should know better about the origins of us Bajans and our colour scheme……..The next thing you have to understand that each grouping has a pecking order and melanin content does not matter……yuh tink Bim ezy.

31. Here are edited extracts from the “Mirror Image” speech, 13th May 1986: The Rght Honourable Errol Barrow

What I wish to speak to you about very briefly here this evening is about you. About yourself.
    I want to know what kind of mirror image do you have of yourself? Do you really like yourselves? There are too many people in Barbados who despise themselves and their dislike of themselves reflects itself in their dislike of other people.
    Now what has bothered me in this society is that every time after elections, people expect certain things to take place. And although the law says that he that giveth is as much guilty of bribery and corruption under the Corrupt Practices Act as he that receiveth, we know that even on polling day, people were given envelopes with $100 bills in them.
    So what kind of mirror image would you have of yourself? If there are corrupt ministers in Barbados tonight, you have made them corrupt.
    I am not trying to make any excuses for you, but I realise what has happened in this society. I look around and see people who have not done an honest day’s work in their whole lives driving around in MP cars, having an ostentatious standard of living, unlike my poor families in St. John, who the Welfare Officer gives $50 to feed a family of ten for a whole week.
    What kind of mirror image can you have of yourself?
    You so much despair of this society that your greatest ambition is to try to prove to the people of the United States Consulate that you are only going up to visit your family….And you are surprised when the people at the United States Embassy tell you that you do not have a strong reason to return to Barbados. And you are the only person dishonest enough with yourself to realise that you do not have a strong reason to return to Barbados, because Barbados has nothing to offer you. You are not being honest with yourself, but you tell the man down there, ‘Oh yes, I’m returning.’
    When I went to Mexico, I had to make a decision, and I returned. I had a strong reason. My reason is that I did not want to see my country go down the drain but you who are not in politics don’t have a strong reason.
    Your ambition in life is to try and get away from this country. And we call ourselves an independent nation? When all we want to do is go and scrub somebody’s floors and run somebody’s elevator or work in somebody’s store or drive somebody’s taxi in a country where you catching your royal when the winter sets in?
    What kind of mirror image do you have of yourself? Let me tell you what kind of mirror image I have of you. The Democratic Labour Party has an image that the people of Barbados would be able to run their own affairs, to pay for the cost of running their own country, to have an education system which is as good as what can be attained in any industrialised country, anywhere in the world.
    In the state of Texas, the government of that state has asked to make the teachers pass an examination. To see if they can read and write! The gentleman of the Texas teachers’ union came on the news and he said that he was proud of the result because only eight per cent of the teachers couldn’t read and write!
    If Reagan had to take the test, I wonder if he would pass. But this is the man that you all say how great he is for bombing the people in Libya and killing little children….This is the man that you all go up at the airport and put down a red carpet for, and he is the President of a country in which in one of the more advanced and biggest states eight per cent of the teachers cannot read and write, and he feels that they are better than we. And you feel that we should run up there and bow.
    What kind of mirror image do you have of yourself? When a government steals from people in the way of consumption taxes and takes that money and spends it on their own high lifestyles, and unnecessary buildings, then that government not only has contempt for you, but what is most unfortunate, you have contempt for yourself, because you allow them to do it.
    What kind of mirror image do you have of yourself when you allow the mothers of this nation to be beasts of burden in the sugarcane fields? In Mexico where people suffer under a lower standard of living than in Barbados, they use donkeys to freight canes out of the fields; in Antigua, they use a small railway; but here the mothers of the nation are used as beasts of burden. What kind of image do you have of yourself?
    I was inspired by the work done by the late Mr. Ernest Bevin, who went to work at eight – I don’t mean 8 o’clock in the mornin, I mean eight years of age – and those dock workers in London used to turn up during the winter and summer from 5 o’clock in the morning waiting for a ship, and if a ship didn’t come in for three weeks or three months, they wouldn’t get any pay. And Ernest Bevin introduced the guaranteed week for dock workers. I set up a commission of enquiry into the sugar industry and made the examination of the guaranteed week for agricultural workers one of the terms of reference, and the commission reported that nobody gave any evidence before them in support of this recommendation.
    What kind of mirror image do the people of the Workers’ Union have, either of you or themselves? I had to wait until there was a dispute in the sugar industry and say, well these will be the wages from next week and…I went into the House and introduced the guaranteed wages for agricultural workers. Why should only one man have a mirror image of you that you do not want to have of yourself? What kind of society are we striving for? There is no point in striving for Utopia, but you do not realise your potential
    I lived in a little country when I was young, the Virgin Islands. That is a small country. But there is another small country. That country has 210 square miles; it is 40 square miles bigger than Barbados. If you took the Parish of St. Philip and put it right in the little curve by Bathsheba that would be the size of the country of Singapore.
    But you know the difference between Barbados and that country? First, Barbados has 250,000 people. You know how many people Singapore has on 40 more square miles? Over two-and-a-half-milion, on an island just a little larger than Barbados.
    They don’t have sugar plantations; they don’t have enough land to plant more than a few orchids. They don’t have enough land to plant a breadfruit tree in the backyard and nearly every Barbadian have some kind of fruit tree in the backyard.
    They have developed an education system but they are teaching people things that are relevant to the 21st century. They are not teaching people how to weed by the road. They are in the advance of the information age.
    But you know the difference between you and them? They have got a mirror image of themselves. They are not looking to get on any plane to go to San Francisco. Too far away. The government does not encourage them to emigrate unless they are going to develop business for Singapore.
    They have a mirror image of themselves. They have self-respect. They have a desire to move their country forward by their own devices. They are not waiting for anybody to come and give them handouts. And there is no unemployment.
    Is that the mirror image that you have of yourselves?

Anyhow, ladies and gentlemen, I done.

http://www.errolandnitabarroweducationaltrust.org/mirror-image-speech/

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ flyonthewall January 17, 2016 at 7:07 PM
    “Miller you seem to thrive on generalizations. Do you actually know any white people?
    Are you going to vote for a white person to sit in the House of Assembly?”

Yes, FOTW. I do know many, many white people. I went to school lived and worked among them all my life (even had sex with some of them). No different than the average black Joe; probably a bit smarter since they don’t really believe in the religious shit like most blacks. Now what really are you trying to say?

“Do you think any white person will ever be appointed to chair a statutory corporation or occupy a senior position in the Civil Service?”

Now isn’t that a cop-out? Blacks (who make up a minority population) do it in the UK, Canada and the so-called racist USA?
    Why can’t the ‘half-baked’ whites do it in egalitarian Bim where meritocracy is preached and embedded in the country’s free education system?

33. True David, but let’s be frank: how many of those positions are available to whites today? John Beale is the last white ambassador. Why did he get the job? Because he was friendly with Thompson. I believe their children were very close. The question you have to ask is this: are whites ever asked to play this kind of role? And what kind of criticism would they face if they stepped up? Come on; there would be a lot of opposition to a white cabinet minister today, even if he came through the senate like Goddard.

34. @flyonthewall

Don’t agree, think many Blacks would welcome a qualified White playing a high profile role in Cabinet.

France’s Chandler was booted by the government because of her outspokenness although she was an Independent…lol.

35. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

All of our political leaders are pragmatist. They preferred to build the Barbados model gradually, without attracting too many obstructions. Barbados was the most socialist welfare state in the British Common wealth without making a lot of noise.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

This might seem silly of me but you said that you had sex with some of them. Male or female?

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Yes Barrow is the anglicized version of the Hebrew Baruch. Perhaps it started with the Sephardic Jews from Brazil.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Why would qualified whites want to serve in Cabinet when they could go and work for COW Williams and be paid twice or three times what blacks work for.

39. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

There is some truth in what you have said. But I think you are a bit extreme in imputing improper motives for Mr Barrow’s drive to independence for Barbados.

40. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Any body can write a biography . Why don’t you ? Biographies are only perspectives on leading figures of history. There is no such thing as objective truth. It is coloured by our own experiences.

41. David January 17, 2016 at 7:43 PM #

Why?

Are you aware that the Lauries and David are family?

You just answered your own question,if by my melanin content I am booted out why should anyone of the same content want to join……..you cannot have your cake and eat it too.

42. Caswell Franklyn January 17, 2016 at 8:04 PM #
    Please kindly amend your post so that it is fully accurate
    This is a better rendering

Why would qualified whites want to serve in the current Cabinet of certified morons led by the king moron when they could go and work for COW Williams and be paid twice or three times what blacks work for.

43. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Is that so. Have you joined the ranks of twistorians?

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks Georgie Porgie.

I stand corrected.

45. @Bernard Codrington, I’m not the one making the film. The information is below:

“Executive Producer, former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder and Step-by-Step Productions are honoured to commemorate the legacy of Barbados’ first Prime Minister, the Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow (1920-1987) in Barrow: Freedom Fighter. In celebration of Barbados’ 50th Year of Independence in 2016, this inspiring docudrama brings a hero to life with a star-studded cast, interweaving award-winning writing, with drama and interviews for a historic event in motion-picture history!”

Source: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/barrow-freedom-fighter

46. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

This extract should form part of the mantra for the 50th anniversary. Not this jump and wave bacchanalia that is unfurling.

47. caribbeantradelaw January 17, 2016 at 8:25 PM #

Chuckle…..Freedom fighter???……gimme a break……in the above he stated that his fight was with his fellow country men.

Do you know that EWB made known that no statue was to be erected in his image and he thought that was ensured by scattering his ashes,he objected to heroes and idolatry.

We too love to create heroes,when none is required,we have to start believing in self.

48. ok caswell your A grade is maintained Sir

49. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

What comment of mine is this replying to? In any case this sound like a piece of marketing tripe. We do not need star studded casts to tell us our own stories and myths.

50. @Bernard Codrington. I was referring to your comment below:

Bernard Codrington. January 17, 2016 at 8:15 PM #
    Is that so. Have you joined the ranks of twistorians?

@Vincent Haynes, tell that to the filmmakers. I’m not involved as I already mentioned. I was just sharing the information.