Posted to Facebook by June Naime Yesterday at 10:15pm.
Independence, 1966

Going Republic might sound good in principle but when you change the legal entity to another legal entity every Treaty every Agreement even down to the letterhead has to change including all international Airline Routes, every Double Taxation Treaty will need to be changed and amended.

Do you think that Barbados in the Re-Negotiation is going to get the upper or lower hand…it certainly will not be the same. The only people that stand to benefit are Lawyers and Those Seeking Power Over The People.

Under the Commonwealth there may be an influence for us to stay Democratic where under a Republic nobody has our back and as a small Nation this is crucial. Too much power is already concentrated in the hands of the Prime Minister and it will be more so with no accountability. By becoming a Republic we will be on a fast road like Venezuela our neighbours. Although these are the effects of Socialism, this will definitely put more power into the hands of fewer people.

This is the worst possible time where Barbados is at its weakest financially and in the International Arena, we will be putting ourselves to Re- Negotiate everything. When they want to take peoples minds off of these trouble times in Barbados that Politicians who make promises and cannot fix, the strategy of the Left is Misdirection, Magicians use SLIGHT OF HAND all the time, it is their favourite tool. The Dems are using this ploy to hype more votes for re-election and also by linking this Republic Ploy, to the 50th Anniversary of Independence. We are constantly bombarded on the airwaves daily with countdown to this Celebratory time.

So far from helping Barbados we are hearing about projects that cost Billions including Waterworks 1 billion… We will only reap higher water rates, all we will see is a new building and none of that money used to get more water for Bajans, they are acting like they can cause it to rain! Is God telling us something by the Drought? Are we are heading in the wrong direction? What about The Airport Project 1½ Billion and Cahill 700 Million? I suppose that Bajans jumped the gun with the Cahill project when it is already a done deal with land selling in St.Thomas for a few cents per Acre and the finders fee of 200 million said to be divided between 5 persons! Who is going to repay this debt and who is benefits, certainly not We The People, our Grand Children and their Children for Generations to come will be made to pay.

By moving in the Direction of a Republic will put us in More Debt, More taxes, more Serfdom and the only way for the people of Barbados to STOP & CHANGE THE DIRECTION IS TO SAY ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

LET YOUR VOICES BE HEARD LOUD AND CLEAR, Civil Servants work for the people not the other way around. The power is in Our Hands; we can prevent them from becoming the Civil Master!

157 responses to “Becoming a Republic”

1. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Frustrated Businessman

Well said!

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Vincent Haynes re. your Jan 5th post at 10.13 pm.

Something seems very awry about that post. Was it really published on a webpage funded by the Barbados Government, the Department of Archives? If so it is the most refreshing post I’ve ever seen coming out of a Government department, replete with an iconic image of the PM in blindfolds. I wonder if and when heads will roll for that one.

The article deserves wide publication and perhaps even extracting the words and publishing in BU before it is taken down.

There is hope for the Public Service if an article like could even be conceptualised, far less actually published in a government organ. But it also speaks to chaos and less than adequate management of the message and wide fractures.

As Bushie would say; Oh shiirt!

3. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

The article clearly shows that the tide of change is making it’s centuries delayed sweep. Choke on that, Alvin and DBLP. It’s not like they have a choice. The constitutional lawyers, so inclined, need to do some indepth research and post the real truth of the financial benefits TO THE PEOPLE, on Barbados becoming a Republic, truths am sure that DBLP politicians are desperately and greedily trying to hide, offering instead a wukup which they now their yardfowls would be happy to feel satisfied with……

I don’t have all the facts re the financial benefits to the people, but am told, they do exist…….constitutional lawyers should be aware and knowledgeable about attaining 50th year independence status, while transitioning to republic status.

4. @ AWTY
    Oh shiirt is right!!
    ha haha

5. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Of course when you miss AC and know they are hiding, there is something dirty, conniving and not in the best interest of the people, being hidden, from the people.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Back to the promised article by Jeff Cumberbatch on the merits and demerits of Republican status for Barbados. I hope it is not merely presented in the sterile vacuum of legal imperatives and mawkish (I love that word) feel-good objectives but that it will also look at the economic, political, physical, spiritual and governance environments and consider how such aspects might dictate the best time to make the change.

I suspect that Jeff’s pros will persuasively far outweigh his cons but I think that transcending those pros and cons would be the question of if the time is now right for moving to those elysian heights rather than 50 years ago or even 10 years ago and if there may be some other factors or semi imponderables that could be included in his treatment that would give us some guidance as to when would be the best time for making such a move.

In addition, I would hope that he devotes a paragraph or two to the idea of holding a referendum to gauge the feeling of the people on if we should take that step from which there is no turning back or if he thinks it is sufficient only for the politicians to do it on our behalf without adequate consultation with their masters.

Jeff, re your earlier question;

If you had the choice of a head of state among the British Monarch, a local and Obama, whom would you choose? And why?

I would NEVER, on my own, in my wildest dreams, have such a choice. So it is somewhat idle for me to even consider it. I also think no politician or party should have such an awesome responsibility, even if they had obliquely mentioned the road to republicanism in their manifesto as they would not have been voted into power on the basis of going republic ONLY.

But I think that no individual in either of the countries you mentioned in your question would have that choice either. I think it is a situation that calls for a majority of the people to choose their maximum leader. I think we in Barbados deserve no less than a referendum on the subject.

But to try to answer the question. I would vote in Barbados for a qualified born and bred Bajan to be the President, hopefully in a referendum. A choice of a President outside a referendum seems to me to be a somewhat illegitimate process.

Perhaps you are familiar with the SF story, I think it was by Harlan Ellison but I could be wrong since I read it so long ago. It was about a time in the distant future when the choice of a president devolved to the vote of just one individual. That individual was identified from birth from detailed genetic records as being the ideal representative of Eurasia or some other continental mass for that task and when the day for election came He alone cast the vote. nb. that Individual did nothing other than vote the real power resided in public servants who chose the candidates for the job also based on their (the candidates) genetic makeup and mental acuity.

7. @ AWTY

I am a bit confused about this republic issue.

Is Barbados DEFINITELY moving towards a republican form of government on November 30, 2016 or is this only a rumour, based on the assumption that the 50th anniversary of independence is the appropriate time to do so?

I have read articles in various regional and internal media which suggest Barbados is set to become a republic. For example, according to the MARCH 23, 2015 edition of THE GUARDIAN ON-LINE:

“GEORGE PILGRIM, general secretary of the DLP, CONFIRMED the development and said the CHANGE WAS EXPECTED to COINCIDE with the 50th anniversary of Barbados’s independence in 2016.”

A draft bill will have to be put before parliament. Pilgrim said: “We don’t expect any opposition coming from the opposition party. “This will move the country through to the next major step in the process of nationhood.”

“He added that Barbados would remain part of the Commonwealth, of which the Queen is head, thus retaining some links with the crown.”

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/mar/23/barbados-plans-to-replace-queen-with-ceremonial-president

However, on page 9 of the Friday, December 18, 2015 edition of the Weekend Nation, under the Headline: “No Truth To Republic In 2016 Talk,” Permanent Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office, Sonja Welch, “dismissed the article (in the international press) as ‘TOATLLY INACCURATE’ and nothing more than a MADE UP STORY.”

My question would be: Is it up to the government to make a “UNILATERAL DECISION” to move Barbados toward republic status or is this a DECISION TO BE MADE BY BARBADIANS through some sort of REFERENDUM?

8. Well Well & Consequences2 January 6, 2016 at 9:10 AM #

“Of course when you miss AC and know they are hiding, there is something dirty, conniving and not in the best interest of the people, being hidden, from the people.”

I am of the opinion that the ACs are members of this DLP administration. My assumption is based on the fact that when any major event is about to unfold in this island, the legion of demons are noticeably absent from BU, perhaps to assist in its planning or to devise a propaganda strategy to thrust upon BU.

Remember, the yearlong 50th anniversary celebrations will commence from today and obviously the demons will be in attendance only to come to BU tomorrow to boast of its success and how thousands of Barbadians came out to support the event and the government. Then they will divert into their usual political rhetoric, while mentioning some shiite ‘bout Mia Mottley.

9. Artaxerxes,

Please don’t make me lose my lunch! If the regular AC is what you believe then we collective ass, as Bushie would say, is REALLY grass.

10. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Art…there is something definitely going on and something being hidden from the people, why I ask the constitutional lawyers on BU, with a conscience, to delve into and research any benefit to the people for the country reaching the 50 year milestone of independence, something like maybe, debt forgiveness or something in that line, or some other benefit associated with traversing to republic status, those scum are hiding something, I can feel it.

11. Today in Independence Square …..PM Stuart and former PM Owen Arthur will welcome thousands of Barbadians to the square.
    This will be a ‘ kodak moment’ do not miss it.

See you there.

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@AWTY, You may keep “mawkish”, PUDRYR (missing him) already has claimed “prolix”. LOL!

I am intrigued by your enthusiasm for the “republic debate”, but you realize, of course, that my column is principally for a local newspaper and not of an unlimited word count? Already it is well over the 800 world maximum, thanks to the indulgence of the publishers of the Barbados Advocate. Nevertheless, I shall give it my best shot…perhaps in a two- or three-part piece.

13. Yes Art you so correct. However i took some time
    out of my official duties to peep on the pages of BU.
    It is going to be a historical celebration first and last of its kind to ever happened in a Barbados fireworks galore and plenty entertainment deserving for the people,s of barbados. Everyone is invited. Clap,Clap

14. I can’t believe that you all can’t see through it. Reference Burundi, Rwanda, Turkey, and now Venezuela, where a defeated party is poisoning the well for its elected successors. When a party gets a 2/3 majority, the Constitution is up for grabs.

15. When the “historical celebration first and last of its kind to ever happen in a Barbados fireworks galore and plenty entertainment deserving for the people of Barbados” HAS CONCLUDED:

The former Beautify Barbados employees are yet to receive their severance payments almost 2 years after being retrenched;

Those former NCC employees have to await until whenever the DLP hack, Mitch Codrington, decides to attend the ERT hearing and it be concluded so as to determine if they are to be paid severance;

The over 20,000 individuals who NIS admitted were “back-logged” are still to be paid their sickness, maternity or unemployment benefits;

Businesses owners are still pleading with the BRA for their VAT refunds;

Many Barbadians are yet to receive their income tax refunds or reverse tax credits due since 2011;

Those residents of St. Lucy, St. Andrew and St. Joseph are still experiencing water woes;

The service provided by the Transport Board is quickly deteriorating, to the extent that it is rumored amongst employees the Board is to be privatized and that a new set of drivers are to trained to drive buses, ignoring the agreement that former drivers will be given the first option (majority of the drivers are said to be coming from Lashley’s constituency);

The CAHILL scam is still with us;

CLICO pensioners are still broke, but I’m sure Leroy will be in Trafalgar Square as a specially invited guest;

NHC employees will most likely be paid late this month, while Kellman uses facebook to promote “Moon Town;”

The government will still maintain the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados, which includes losing free loaders such as Patrick Todd, Esther Byer; Harcourt Husbands and 3 time losers Jepter Ince and, Irene Sandiford-Garner;

The list can go on and on.

16. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Apologies for the poor spelling, spellcheck gone wild!

I should also have mentioned that Fumble’s ascension to president is the deal he did with his party for them to find a new leader going into the next election. Retirement in shame is unbearable for Fumble but he doesn’t have to ‘retire’ as a failed prime minister if he has a new job as president. Rejection of the republic at referendum will set the DLP cats among the DLP pigeons.

The ‘eager eleven’ and everyone else just wants the ball&chain to go away before we go to the poles again. Obviously, so does the majority of the electorate although there are a few more even more evil enemies of the people who will also be rejected.

At no time is ‘the good of the Country’ on any politician’s mind. All the back room deals about a new president are all about our next election. It will backfire.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Jeff;

Thanks! I am looking forward with eager anticipation to seeing your treatment of the subject.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Frustrated Businessman;

Very Interesting rumours!

Actually, I think Freundel Stuart, operating as a Ceremonial President with no serious decisions to make and adequate time at his disposal to follow his likely literary dreams without impacting on any serious aspect of the governance of the Country, may not be a bad thing for the country if the DLP (Heaven forfend) wins the next elections.

A move of Freundel to a ceremonial post may be the easiest solution to the real possibility of Barbados having to go through another term under Freundel’s leadership when he next calls a general election.

Almost any member of the DLP is likely to effect an improvement in the job of PM as compared with Freundel.

19. Thank you, Artaxerxes. Entertainment as a distraction. Another show! That’s what we need. “A Nation of Shows”.

20. And a profound speech by a speaker of great skill at the opening of the reelection campaign. NOT!

21. @Fear Play

It is a good show. Only change BU would have made is to edit the part of the PM’s speech where he rebuked the cynics, it was in poor taste for the occasion.

22. ”It is going to be a historical celebration first and last of its kind to ever happened”

And that is EXACTLY what I am worried about.

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Actually, the show was superb.

I really enjoyed the performances of all the artistes. Just a little bit sorry that I had to miss being there in the flesh. The mix of performers was ok but didn’t go far enough to include a greater number of the upcoming very talented musicians. Perhaps more of these could have been included by limiting some established performers to one song only. The organizers of the cultural presentations and the energy of the dancers was spot on.

Heard only the opening few sentences of the PM’s speech as the sound dropped out several times from the TV broadcast and I missed much of the rest of it. Were any hints dropped re. the current talking point that It was the beginning of the Campaign for the next elections?

There seemed to have been a full slate of the Cabinet in Independence square for the performances but I didn’t catch a glimpse of any of the Opposition. If they were there the Cameras did a good job of NOT showing them up. But perhaps it was just second nature for CBC cameramen to ignore them.

re. the earlier “procession” the crowd looking on from Broad street seemed to be quite sparse from the overhead camera angles but appeared quite thick from the road level. Indeed I wondered if the organizers were happy with the actual turnout.

There also seemed to be a substantial number of empty chairs in independance square for the big show.

24. Donna January 6, 2016 at 6:28 PM #

“Thank you, Artaxerxes. Entertainment as a distraction. Another show! That’s what we need. “A Nation of Shows.”

Yes, Donna, Ian Webster reminded us about that, I think it was in 2013.

I do not have any problem celebrating the 50th anniversary of independence….. this is a milestone for any country.

However, I have a problem with committing Barbados to the yearlong activities and the talk about culminating the celebrations with moving the island towards republican status.

Also, if this was truly “a coming together of Barbadians,” then why was the Opposition not asked to participate in the planning process? Independence is NOT a DLP thing or a BLP thing……. it’s a Barbadian thing.

Additionally, while addressing the launch of the official celebrations, Freundel Stuart asked Barbadians three questions:

1) What features of Barbadian life have we lost that we need to reclaim?
    2) What features of Barbadian life have we not lost that we need to retain?
    3) What features of Barbadian life we have not lost that we need to discard as quickly as possible?

Stuart is essentially asking: “I WANT TO KNOW WHAT KIND OF MIRROR IMAGE DO YOU HAVE OF YOURSELF?”

This entire comes over as political campaigning to me, but at the expense of the taxpayer.

Amidst the frolicking, it is interesting to note that President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) Tracey Shuffler also warned that economic recovery was still a long way off and that cannot withstand additional taxes.

25. Bridgetown and Barbadians were ablaze with the sights and sounds of Patriotism ,It was one of those captivating moments to be a PROUD BARBADIAN

26. In 1961 when Errol Barrow was canvassing for that year’s general election, the same Bridgetown was abuzz with scores of supporters carrying brooms. We should have had a mass re-enactment of those broom carrying scenes today at the 50th Celebration, and after the show ,put those brooms to good use around Bridgetown.

27. Great day!

Today I got personal word from a politician very, very high up that economy will propably rebound in 2018 if the masses accept higher taxes and vote for DLP.

In the meantime the Sinckler can play Santa Claus for us all dispenses corned beef and glass marbles at Christmas as compensation for excessive fuel and food prices.

Hurra, hurra, 50 years indepence and only 8 years economic depression eh… recession since the last 10 years.

How wonderful! I am next to tears as a true patriot …

On a serious note, AC, can you explain the audience why GDP in BRITISH Cayman Islands is three times ahead of Bim?

28. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Pomp and bullshit, trying to blow smoke up the taxpayers ass. I am not impressed, since it’s the same taxpayer’s money being used to put on a show. Where is the water for the people in the parishes most affected, or do they have to die of thirst among other things because they did not vote for DBLP party of parasitic nuisances.

29. “However, I have a problem with committing Barbados to the yearlong activities and the talk about culminating the celebrations with moving the island towards republican status.”

When the movement towards Republican status goes into top gear; that kind of comment would cause you to be labelled by the DLP propagandists as anti- progressive; conservative and other derogatory labels similar to the characterization of all those who clamoured for Independence within a Federation than alone.

30. “The former Beautify Barbados employees are yet to receive their severance payments almost 2 years after being retrenched;

Those former NCC employees have to await until whenever the DLP hack, Mitch Codrington, decides to attend the ERT hearing and it be concluded so as to determine if they are to be paid severance;

The over 20,000 individuals who NIS admitted were “back-logged” are still to be paid their sickness, maternity or unemployment benefits;

Businesses owners are still pleading with the BRA for their VAT refunds;

Many Barbadians are yet to receive their income tax refunds or reverse tax credits due since 2011;

Those residents of St. Lucy, St. Andrew and St. Joseph are still experiencing water woes”

Amazingly Arta i would bet that these persons you seek to represent rather than boycott would be the first in Independence square to share in the entertainment.

31. The reality is that the move to a Republic will not please everyone just like the move to Independence in 1966 did not. It is life!.

32. The reactions by the naysayers are all but predictable . In this historic moment the need to be guided by anti patriotic rhetoric and political gesturing cannot but be helped by some of the BLP foot soldiers who in all earnest must have been caught off guard and unprepared for this historic day of great adulation celebrated under a spirit of patriotism
    The spirit of “we are one Proud and resilient people” filled the streets of Bridgetown the backbone of getting the country through its darkest seasons . Yesterday barbadians celebrated with pride and not influence by those with a political bent of unseasonable and uncharacteristic timing wrapped in fear and doom, but simply step out in one frame of mind and flew a Barbados Flag reveal in practices of pride and culture cultivating at this historic moment with a zeal and effervescence of making barbados stronger

33. Here is a little research for the BLP footsoldiers Compare yesterday March to Mia Mottley march on the same streets of bridgetown
    Question what were the objectives and goals of the BLP Marches? compare them to the goals and objectives of the March of Celebration yesterday by the govt
    One cannot help but marveled in hindsight when both marches are placed under a historical microscope that the Midday March of the BLP held not so long ago would show findings of division with segments of catastrophic breeding
    While the Celebration highlighted by several Marches would reveal findings of calls to put country first and patriotic indulgence and duty to country
    What a difference a day makes

34. @ AC
    Who ever writes Froon’s speeches should be tarred and feathered…and then drawn and quartered….. whether Jeff C likes it or not 🙂

That was the most asinine speech made by a head of ANYTHING at a milestone celebration since Caesar’s “Et tu Brutus” monologue. His input was like bringing a one-week-old damp carpet to a damn party…..

The joker actually compared living conditions fifty years ago – almost directly out of slavery, with 2016…. to suggest that we have nothing to complain about, …indeed that we should be thankful.
    Perhaps COW ..or his recent Central Bank director, wrote the damn speech for him….

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushie;

He appeared to be ad libbing in the snippets I saw.

36. Am I the only one who forgot all about it until it was too late? Then again I was engaged in teaching my son what he should have been learning at our poor excuse for a school. What exactly were the gains of yesterday’s spectacle? Spending money which we DON’T HAVE (OR HAVE BORROWED)on something that produces NOTHING is exactly what financial experts would tell us NOT to do as individuals. Also celebrating something that really ISN’T is folly. Look how we are still HOLDING OUT A BEGGING BOWL for aid and being pressured by the former masters if we don’t change our laws regarding homosexual relationships. Leaders of Errol Barrow’s ilk (though not perfect) may have found a way to finally achieve true independence. He envisioned it, planned for it, prepared for it and may finally have implemented it. But what we have now is a bunch of talkers. And the thing is when they speak what comes out is mostly sweet nothings, insults, threats or lies.

Yardfowls please don’t bother to attack me because here it comes-

THE OPPOSITION IS NO BETTERTHAN THE GOVERNMENT!

Here is my PATRIOTIC COMMENT- STEUPSE!

37. Today the mouths of the naysayers would be closed tightly as they witnessed in yesterday 50th year of Independence celebration a resilient barbados and not a barbados defined by cowardice and fear

38. Could someone explain what yesterday was about,in context with the below quote from EWB…..have we achieved this state yet?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10156612346705314&set=a.51184050313.125689.562410313&type=3

39. There are certain variables one must take into consideration before stupidly attempting to compare a protest march with a fete. Knowing the timid nature of Barbadians, many people would prefer to protest in the background because of the fear of victimization or reprisal if they are seen in the picket lines. In this regard, for example, BU provides a perfect forum for people to protest since they can do so under the cloak of anonymity.

No matter how many times you try to avoid the issue, Randal Rouse is a member of the DLP and a former candidate for the constituency of St. Joseph. I know you are aware Rouse attempted to organized residents in that parish to march in protest against the treatment being meted out to them by the BWA relative to the prolonged unavailability of water. He subsequently expressed disappointment that the protest could only attract just over 50 people.

Conversely, if we were to examine a fete associated event, where the organizers provide free entertainment performed by popular artiste, it is obvious more people would be in attendance, with some either supporting the event, taking in the entertainment or both.

40. Yesterday celebration was of relevance in that it brought one nation and multiple voices together in unisom
    A symbol of barbadianism once forgotten and a neccesity to revived as barbados embarked on a path of completness towards total
    independence

41. Horse racing, cricket at Kensington, football, picnics, Kadooment, a dance or even a shop lime……… all these events “bring one nation and multiple voices together in unisom.”

The propaganda ain’t wukking this morning.

42. Something a few of us have to grasp in this forum is that if one disagrees with certain government policies they are not doing it based on a political leaning. In a democracy some will disagree and it is a right.

BU supports the need to initiate activities to generate pride in our country. The government will leverage this to generate popularity and this is what political parties do. It will be up to a discerning public to appreciate the other issues. The BLP will have its work cut out because low oil price and bountiful tourist arrivals is floating the economy. It is a pity how the minds of ordinary people can be greatly influence by propaganda .

43. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Bajans in town yesterday expected a political meeting and they got one.

Celebration of unity my ass.

How many Bajans go to political meetings just for the entertainment value while hoping for the odd revelation in between the rhetoric? No revelations last night, only braying, republic innuendo and some good live entertainment by the politically affiliated.

Corruption rampant, no national economic guidance, no civil service facilitation, illegal dumping rampant, no water, no leadership; but throw a party and Baje will come and drink a rum for long enough to forget.

We are a joke as a nation. Expectations great? We are living day by day.

44. Frustrated Businessman,

I share your frustration.

45. Artaxerxes,

You are so right. There was no special significance. People (DLP yardfowls excepted) came for a good show.

46. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

That is what pisses me off about dumb politicians and black men/women who should know better…slavery was then and still is a crime against humanity, when these imbeciles want to continue victimizing and deceiving the electorate, they fall back on the repugnant rhetoric of comparing being a descendant of former slaves with being a free independent individual who does not have to put up with mediocre treatment of any kind from useless politicians whose salaries the same electorate has to pay……..black people in Barbados are free in 2016 and going forward to DEMAND better all the time and every time from their leaders as well as the half ass minority business people on the island…it is the people’s right, so f-off Fruendel and Co., just do your goddamn jobs and get the people water, no one with a modicum of commonsense and education would be impressed with listening to politicians of DBLP preen and pat themselves on the back for doing their jobs in the last 50 years, or in this case, not fully doing the jobs the taxpayers are paying them to do…….enough with the self-praise already, it’s nauseating..

When politicians start doing the country’s work competently, free of corruption and for free…then I will be impressed

47. Yesterday chat rooms and social media was abuzz with the patriotic outpouring of Barbados Spirit of Independence Celebration which indeed is a plus plus for govt and country moving forward with a real life goal if becoming a Republic incorporated with the further advancement of the restoration of faith and investors confidence in our tiny island

48. Donna January 7, 2016 at 8:47 AM #

“What exactly were the gains of yesterday’s spectacle? Spending money which we DON’T HAVE (OR HAVE BORROWED) on something that produces NOTHING is exactly what financial experts would tell us NOT to do as individuals.”

Donna, you are absolutely correct.

49. However speckled fowl when the global bust happened the long recitation from the blp economist and foot soldiers were one that the global meltdown had little significance to the preformance of barbados weak and unstable economy but more to do with present govt policies.. How now is it that the same influences which were rejected by the blp footsoldiers takes on a greater importance in the recovery of barbados
    The blp had used every degrading word to describe any policies which govt had implemented or plans thereof, but now the evidence of the negative causes has rebound and show a positive side to barbados economy all of a sudden a recantatations of the why,s and wherfore is being uttered by the naysayers against the slanted views and perceptions all of which was previously said by them
    Although one can now easily gauged and understand the foot soldiers grandstanding performance led by Mottley in the name for political mileage
    What a bunch of hypocrites