Posted to the 2015 Year in Review blog by Are-we-there-yet.
Barbados Cabinet

2015 was, to my mind, the year in which the guard was emphatically passed from the remnants of my parent’s generation to my children’s own. I’ve now fully accepted that 2016 and beyond is not about me or my generation (those of us still surviving are all pensioners with not much more to contribute to the country than the allowances which the Freundal Stuart administration is taking from our meagre pensions) but about how our children and their children’s children will live and survive in this new age of almost incomprehensible technology and likely overweening service to self by those that will lead them.

I therefore think that what is needed in the review of 2015 is the teasing out of the occurrences that will be most influential on their lives in 2016 and beyond. I don’t think the portents are good.

This year has started with a crass attempt by the Freundal Stuart administration to push a project whose main purpose is to perpetuate the hold that the DLP now has on the Government and to implement the elevation of Freundal Stuart to the history books as the father of the future Republic of Barbados to join, according to his own statement, Errol Barrow, the father of Independence and Owen Arthur, the Father of something grand which I can’t even recall.

Errol Barrow made a great contribution to the country outside of leading the fight for Independence and so too did Owen Arthur in economic management in his years at the helm. On the other hand, Freundal Stuart’s administration will go down in history as the worst one we have ever inflicted on ourselves, with Freundal Stuart himself displaying an unmatched poverty in leadership in respect of any yardstick that might be chosen.

The year long strategic celebration of our 50th year of Independence and the concomitant thrust for our elevation to republican status are therefore patent ploys by the Government to distract the country from the above realization and lull us into acceptance of another term for them when every effort and resource should instead be concentrated on getting us out of the morass that has been largely created by them.

Republicanism might be a good thing for Barbados but not as it appears to have been framed at present. If our leaders can identify how Republicanism will improve the lot of the majority of our citizens and correct many of the ills identified in the past 50 years It should be pursued carefully and deliberately and certainly not within the next 2 years.

So 2015 was characterized by two main happenings which, imho [in my opinion], could be most influential re. governance in this country in the future.

The most important of these was the possibility of our taking on republican status without it being the resultant of the groundswell of the people’s wishes but rather a strategy for deifying a failed leader and for extending the rule of the current lot.

The next most important was the lessons enshrined in the Cahill affair which, to me, suggested that a Government that cared little for normal checks and balances was able to survive by a policy of non-engagement with its publics in this most important of projects. Such survival sends the wrong messages to Governments in waiting and must be nipped in the bud in such a way that future governments will be unwilling to take such a path again.

97 responses to “Barbados Through the Eye of a Senior Citizen”

1. I was very much a part of the Independence parade in 1966, I was then a mid-teenage and a specially invited guest, also at the State dinner at the B’dos Hilton, just before the ceremony. It is only now, in my senior years that I realize how much it means to me, but a country that is struggling to get out of a financial bind, the question has to be asked, Can we spend that kind of money right now? Right now the DLP is in the driver’s seat for the next general elections and they can easily overplay their hand and allow the BLP to rebound. Politics can change in the twinkling of an eye.

2. poopy cock this article should be title a Review of BLP PROPAGANDA 2015.
    In any event i am AMUSED at the many accolades which the BLP foot soldiers accredits to EWB one cannot forget their resentment of all his policies namely Independence and free education.
    It is almost laughable and punishable to one ears listening to blp using political hat tricks of endorsement of EWB policies which they fought against under Errol Barrow leadership now making those policies a bench mark of political wisdom and social justice for the poor and underprivileged after hindsight and years of resentment while going up hill to the political battlefield to draw blood. Yes free education ! However one cannot overlook that the 50 anniversary of Independence is a celebration and much deserved celebration including cost for a man and his VISION a vision that took barbados on a path for total and complete singularity
    Unbelievable EWB must be rolling in his grave while taking stock of his arch rivals
    The DLP can predict that within another ten years or so the BLP would be repenting while selling their souls against a backdrop of recantations accrediting grandiose accolades on Freuduel Stuart administration
    The hypocrisy of it all is that the BLP foot soldiers would have believe that barbadians would have forgotten all of what they said through the years

3. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

Cabinet made up of a bunch of aging men and women with nary a vision between them…..steupss…

4. A huge public distraction, which this government badly needs. No real benefits.

5. @Well Well,
    You know I would have to answer this blog. Later, but for now I will just tell you that WE; you and I, as well as everybody else, are all “aging” men and women. What is the average age of there Cabinet? What is the median age of the Cabinet? What is the average age of their advisers? What is the sex of the Permanent Secretaries, and what are their ages? You know or should know by now, that CaBINET IS ADVISED BY THE HIERARCHY OF THE CIVIL SERVANTS. I AM NOT GOING TO ALLOW YOU; IN 2016 TO KEEP ATTACKING THE INTEGRITY OF THE CIVIL SERVICE AND THE ADVISORS, WITHOUT DEFENDING THEM. I will not aLLOW THESE ATTACKS TO GO UNCHALLENGED. So be prepared. I don’t care what you call me. And if I am alive after the next election, regardless of which party forms the government, I will defend the Civil Servants. These are in the main decent hard-working men and women who go in to work every day with the intention of doing their work to the best of their ability. They may not satisfy the wishes of everyone, but I know they try. I haVE OR KNOW, AS FRIENDS, MANY CIVIL SERVANTS; GOOD AND BAD, BUT A STATIsticALLY SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF THEM DO AN EXCELLENT JOB.

As far as “are we there yet; although he/she does not say where “there” is, we will never get “there” as long as the DLP is in power. Well we shall see. Of course he will have to let us know where “there” is first so that we will know when we reach”there”

We have a good country. Why would you like to see it destroyed? We have reached 50, and we will get further.
    Later.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Alvin

All the best for the New Year to you and your family!

“there” is rock bottom. “there” is attracting the lowest ratings in all dynamic developmental statistics amongst our Caribbean neighbours. We have not reached “there” yet.

I must confess that I thought that we would have reached “there” sometime ago, but I think that due to the happenstance of a bad winter season sending droves of tourists from the north our way and significantly reducing oil prices we have not yet got “there”.

And I must agree with you that there are several Public servants who should be commended for having worked tirelessly to keep the ship afloat despite (or perhaps because of) the treatment afforded them by the Politicians in Power.

7. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Alvin…ya missed the goddamn point, the operative words are “nary a vision between them”……in aging at least one of them should have a workable vision……you ranted on and on about aging for no valid reason and never once mentioned any of them having vision.

Of course you would not be you if you did not also defend the civil servants known to have properties worth millions of dollars but cannot account for where they got the money or the properties, do you know if that group even turn up for work on a daily basis or that they may be overburdening the hardworking lot of civil servants while they think only of self……..according to you, each and everyone of them are saints.

8. I wish all the good people in Barbados, Joy, Peace, Health, Wealth and may this year be the beginning of a much better life for all. May THE MOST HIGH continue to guard ,guide and protect you from all harm and danger.

9. @Are-we-there-yet

It is unfortunate you have such a view. Keeping senior citizens involved is important to a progressive society, it is where wisdom is reposited. More disappointing is how easily we dismiss perspectives shared as political.

10. Alvin Cummins January 4, 2016 at 10:40 PM #

“You know or should know by now, that CABINET IS ADVISED BY THE HIERARCHY OF THE CIVIL SERVANTS.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So, are you trying to tell me that “THE HIERARCHY OF THE CIVIL SERVANTS” “ADVISED” “CABINET” to:

Impose an additional 4.5% in VAT on cell phone usage.

Impose a tax called a “tipping fee” which has resulted in the increase of illegal dumping all over Barbados.

Increase land taxes by including the solid waste tax.

Venture into the CAHILL scam.

Retrench over 6,000 civil servants while maintaining the largest “CABINET” in the history of Barbados. A “CABINET” that includes ALL LOSING DLP CANDIDATES in the 2013 general elections.

Commit Barbados to a financially unsustainable yearlong celebration for 50th anniversary of independence, especially against the background of many Barbadians not receiving their income tax refunds and reverse tax credits due since 2011 and many businesses not receiving their VAT refunds.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; Re. your 6:54 am post.

It is what it is!

I think what is unfortunate is that at the present time we are saddled by politicians on both sides of the divide that act by following the dictates of service to self rather than being guided by a sense of overweening service to country.

One case in point. The earlier Sandiford-managed recession found a formula to combat a situation that was similar in a number of respects to our current one. That formula relied on an 8-percent cut across the board to rein in expenditure in the Public service. That proven example was there and could have been used in this current situation but the politicians on both sides were unwilling to take the mutually unpalatable steps to do what was necessary to be able to implement such a change. They cared little about the people.

There are several other cases that could be enlisted to show that the current Government has exhibited almost total self centredness in its decision making.

My problem is that the apparent successes of the above approach by the current Government is likely to result in a situation where it will be almost impossible for a future Barbados Government to operate in any other manner.

12. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

If it was up to me – the BDLP Government will be celebrating the 50th Annivesary ALONE!! Did the Government to date tell the people when they will receive their 2014 Income Tax?

What’s even more sad is that the Private sector Employers in this country has now adopted the management style of this inept Government.

13. This is only a small money affair but is evil in that it affects some of the most vulnerable among us but what about that Challenor school business! Well, well, well! And look who it is! No commission of inquiry needed here. Can we expect justice to be served, I wonder. I will be watching and waiting but I shan’t be holding my breath.

14. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Sad Donna, in such a small country, so many victims and no one being punished for victimizing others.

15. Donna January 5, 2016 at 1:48 PM #

“This is only a small money affair but is evil in that it affects some of the most vulnerable among us but what about that Challenor school business! Well, well, well! And look who it is! No commission of inquiry needed here. Can we expect justice to be served, I wonder. I will be watching and waiting but I shan’t be holding my breath.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This society is really changing as young people seem to have a different outlook on things, even crime.

For example, the following excerpt was taken from an article in an on-line “paper” known as Naked Departure:”

“A police officer was shot in Barbados and the whole place is in an uproar!? Police officer was shot because he was trying to f*** up someone’s income. While some are saying he (the officer) was ‘only’ doing his job, some others will say they right to shoot his r*******!”

I referred to the above because I heard someone making some very strange comments about the investigations into what appears to be a case of misappropriation of funds from the Challenor School.

The person said that rather than people criticizing the person who allegedly misused these funds, they should be more focused on the system which allowed the individual to supposedly perpetrate the act.

16. The Challenor School matter is interesting more for the visibility it is being given compared to similar malfeasance highlighted in decades of auditor general reports. We seem to cherry pick the issues based for reason we know.

17. @ David

You are being disingenuous in your comments.

There are many times I have made NUMEROUS references to the Auditor General Reports to substantiate certain contributions.

18. David,

The Challenor School issue is interesting because of the lineage of the person concerned. It’s a case of apples and how far they fall from the tree.

19. Artaxerxes,

I’m surprised you unaware of the connections.

20. Donna January 5, 2016 at 1:48 PM #
    Can we expect justice to be served, I wonder. I will be watching and waiting but I shan’t be holding my breath.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    All the accused ‘carrington party’ has to do is to get his/her lawyer to poo-shark with the case until we become a Republic, and Bobs your uncle.

21. Colonel Buggy,

Which party is that?

22. @Artax

To clarify the comment was directed to local media and other players.

23. I believe in order for us to go forward we must first critically analyse our past leaders’ contributions to our country.I note that we like to heap praise without citing context e.g EWB was Premier when the UK needed to shed itself of the expense of running its colonies like wise OSA was Prime Minister when money was flowing.

24. Donna January 5, 2016 at 3:35 PM #
    T and R’s

25. @ David

Okay, please accept my apologies.

26. @Well Well,
    Let me deal with you first and then I will deal with Artra.

In your submission (I was a great fan of Mr. Submission, so I will open with his words) you stated “….according to you, each and everyone of them are saints.” In my submission I pointed out that: “I haVE OR KNOW, AS FRIENDS, MANY CIVIL SERVANTS; GOOD AND BAD, BUT A STATIsticALLY SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF THEM DO AN EXCELLENT JOB”
    Our country is a good country and what I said still stands. It is due to the types of civil servants have that enable it to that it runs smoothly; better than many larger and more endowed with resources than us.You surmise that according to you “the civil servants known to have properties worth millions of dollars but cannot account for where they got the money or the properties,”
    What gives you the right to make such a presumptuous statement, without proof. If you have the proof and want to stop it, contact the appropriate authorities and give them the evidence. If you don’t have the courage of your convictions stop with your foolishness.
    In all the years you have been writing on this blog, I have yet to read anything kind or good about our country; your country too, because as far as you are concerned there is nothing good to write about. Then, leave it to stew in its own sauces, because the people have shown that despite the negativity, the country is still surviving, the people that matter are not paying attention to what you write and the people in the main are still prospering. Despite all the negativity the bonds issued by the Central Bank were still over subscribed, we are still going to have a bumper winter tourist season again; (the temperature in
    Toronto is expected to go below minus 15 degrees to night, and this is early January, so the chances of it getting above zero are very small) and growth will still occur.
    Contribute positively to make it grow even more. This morning I WALKED AROUND THE GYMNASIUM, AND Was struck by words on one of the advertising boards. They are attributed to Winston Churchill: “A pessimist will see the failure of every opportunity, while an optimist will see the opportunity in every failure.
    You, dear lady, are the supreme pessimist. I am and always will be a supreme optimist.

@Artra…
    The tax on cell phone usage was already proposed debated and a decision was made as to how best to impose the tax and what to do with it. Are you suggesting that there was no discussion with any of the senior civil servants whose job it is to advise the ministers? Similarly with the tipping fee? What were the conditions laid down when the tenders were advertised for the construction of SBRC? These were negotiated during the Arthur administration.
    Why would the tipping fee cause people to illegally dump stuff? What did Tom Adams do when the taxi drivers wanted to hold his
    government to ransom? Similar drastic measures are always a prerogative of government.
    Shouldn’t the whole country be in an uproar when a policeman gets shot while executing his duty? Didn’t people have marches when a policeman shot someone in Bank Hall, and there were calls for Justice? Is this society getting so callous that there is no respect for Law and Order? I am surprised at you..But then why should I be surprised? You would prefer anarchy I presume.

27. @are we there yet,
    We will Never reach “there”.

28. @Artra…
    Apologies to you, I re-read your blog and note you were only referencing osmeyhing from another source. They were not your words. Humble apologies.

29. Alvin,

You sure are losing it.

30. Fact check.

http://www.theweathernetwork.com/ca/weather/ontario/toronto

I will be trout fishing on Saturday.

31. What happened to the fact that WE the voters, are the managers of the M.P’s. Maybe We must remember that we can HIRE or FIRE. We allow them to think the only time they need Us is for that X. POOR THINKING by US voters

32. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Yeah Alvin…you are and will always be the supreme yardfowl, nothing more, nothing less, who will always want to see your people as being dependent on others, who will always enable the perpetrators, but never emphasize with the victims, who will never be able to see your people as being able to climb above allowing criminals and their money to blight the island, who don’t believe that people who wear useless titles and pretentious fame should be punished for their crime, who don’t believe the wealthy should take responsibility for their actions…….it would be interesting to know who you believe should always be punished for every little thing, should I take a guess?

Alvin….you have lost it, you may want to consider sitting back, stop fighting it and allow Barbados to waltz into the 21st century, you will not win this, it is not the 1950s anymore where people did not know better and were unable to fight back. I am woman, hear me ROAR…

33. Talk about setting an example. Did you see Minister Innis tonight on CBC TV news showing off his skill on the Hoover Board. Did not even bother to don some sort of head protection.

34. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

The ignorance of the political class, the example Dumbville is setting is destructive and potentially deadly, the Hoover boards for months now are being reported as not only being defective, but they actually explode because of issues with their mechanism, the manufacturers have had recalls. So many have been shown to explode under people’s feet.

These are the idiots the Alvins and ACs follow and want everyone else to follow as well…..no wonder yardfowls are unable to rationalze the most simple of issues, they follow those just as dumb as themselves.

When you don’t say what they and their political masters want to hear…”you are a pessimist”….what a load of crock…lol whatever plans the political class of asses have for the people after republic status, their yardfowls know and poor Alvin is on pins and needles with anticipation for implementation, so I will watch carefully and dial up what I do best, they must be kept on their toes….right Alvin.

35. Yuh could always tell a Bajan when ya hear somebody talk bout a cartoon of milk. Trust wuhnuh Bajans to get it wrong. It is hover boards not hoover boards.

36. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Lol

37. Alvin Cummins January 5, 2016 at 9:16 PM #

“Why would the tipping fee cause people to illegally dump stuff?”

Alvin, “I am surprised at YOU……But then why should I be surprised,” since your comments suggest you either DO NOT READ THE NEWS, or you read the news and INTERPRET it in a manner to suit your political agenda.

Below, I have presented excerpts from two news items to substantiate “Why would the tipping fee cause people to illegally dump stuff” for your perusal. I purposely presented one from 2015 and one from 2016.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

SOURCE: Barbados Today, July 11, 2015:

Among those who have been heavily critical of the levy is prominent businessman Ralph Bizzy Williams, the owner of the SUSTAINABLE BARBADOS RECYCLING CENTRE (SBRC) at Vaucluse, St Thomas, which is the island’s main waste disposal plant.

In a recent interview with Barbados TODAY, Williams described the introduction of the TIPPING FEE as a BACKWARD STEP by the Government, while WARNING that would only SERVE to TURN Barbados INTO AN ILLEGAL DUMPING GROUND.

However, Government has been refusing to give in to demands by private garbage collectors for the tipping fee to be scrapped on the grounds that its implementation was unfair and threatened the survival of their businesses.

SOURCE: Barbados Today, January 5, 2016:

The head of the private Waste Haulers Association, Charles Read, believes there is an EASY WAY for GOVERNMENT to get to the bottom of the ILLEGAL DUMPING problem and that the answer lies in its controversial tipping fee.

“If you [private hauler] are NOT BUYING [TIPPING FEE] TICKETS then that means that either you are not doing any business or you DUMPING YOUR BUSINESS WHERE IT DON’T BELONG,” said Read, while pointing out that it was costing his company anywhere between $12,000 and $15,000 per week.

I do not know: “What were the conditions laid down when the tenders were advertised for the construction of SBRC.”

However, if you read the first excerpt, you will discover that OWNER of SBRC, Bizzy Williams, has “been HEAVILY CRITICAL of the levy.” Therefore, anyone of REASONABLE THOUGHT would ASSUME that the “tipping fee” OBVIOUSLY could NOT be ONE of the “CONDITIONS LAID DOWN.”

38. Donna January 5, 2016 at 3:30 PM #

“Artaxerxes: I’m surprised you unaware of the connections.”

I heard the individual in question is the daughter of a late prominent politician who was associated with the ruling party.

But I do not know if there is any truth in that rumour.

39. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Information for those unfamiliar with the hoverboard and the associated dangers. I wonder if Dumbville was not by any chance riding his hoverboard close to his house, now that would be a hoot….post offices and airlines are banning transporting these dangerous devices.

“For now, your best bet might simply be not to buy a hoverboard at all. The US airline industry has already decided not to take any chances: American, Alaska, Delta, Hawaiian, JetBlue, Southwest and United Airlines have banned hoverboards on passenger flights, and the US Postal Service has stopped shipping hoverboards by air as well. Amazon and Target both temporarily suspended sales, and Overstock.com has stopped selling hoverboards at all.

But in case you’re curious, here’s what we know about hoverboard fires so far.

The science

The science behind hoverboard fires is actually pretty simple, and fairly well understood. Much like your laptop, tablet or phone, these hoverboards use lithium ion battery packs for their power — and it just so happens that the liquid swimming around inside most lithium ion batteries is highly flammable. If the battery short-circuits — say, by puncturing the incredibly thin sheet of plastic separating the positive and negative sides of the battery — the liquid electrolyte can heat up so quickly that the battery explodes.

You don’t necessarily need to stab a lithium ion battery to set it on fire: a defective battery might have tiny sharp metal particles inside that could puncture the separator all on its own. “When this happens, especially when the batteries are charged, a lot of heat is generated inside the cells and this leads to electrolyte boiling, the rupture of the cell casing, and then a significant fire,” Carnegie Mellon University materials science professor Jay Whitacre told Wired. You can see what a lithium ion battery fire looks like in our Droid Turbo 2 torture test video:

We finally killed the Droid Turbo 2
    0:00
    /
    3:07
    It shouldn’t be a revelation that lithium ion batteries are volatile, because fires like these aren’t exactly new. We’ve been living with potentially deadly explosions in our pockets and laptop bags for years. In 2004, a spike in the number of cell phone battery explosions prompted this CNET report, and Dell recalled millions of laptop batteries in 2006 after just six incidents of fire. More recently, Boeing had to ground the 787 Dreamliner airplane until it could find a way to keep its lithium ion batteries from overheating.

Safety standards, or the lack thereof

If lithium ion batteries are so volatile, why are we still using them today? The traditional argument is that the energy density of lithium ion batteries is significantly higher than batteries that use less flammable materials. (In other words, a lithium ion battery can be smaller, lighter, and/or last longer than say, a lithium iron phosphate one.)

Another reason: The consumer electronics industry has gotten much better about safety standards, to the point where most of us don’t think twice about leaving a phone connected to a charger. “We said to the companies, you need to come together, create a voluntary organization and set a safety standard,” says the CPSC’s Wolfson, recalling how we went from big battery scares and recalls in the mid-2000s to the relatively safe laptops and phones we have today.

Many modern batteries incorporate all kinds of safety measures, such as emergency vents, and many products filled with lithium ion batteries have to endure a barrage of drop tests, crush tests and electrical stress tests before they can pass.

But hoverboards are brand-new. “It’s a product without a safety standard,” says Wolfson.

london-fire-brigade-hoverboard-fire-investigation-20151203.jpg
    London Fire Brigade
    Sean Kane, a longtime product safety researcher, says cases like the hoverboard are precisely why his nonprofit organization The Safety Institute is advocating for more general categories of safety standards like “computers” and “personal mobility devices” instead of the specific ones that exist today.

There are existing standards for motorized scooters and toys, says Kane, but the hoverboard just doesn’t fit. “What you have is a product coming in here where no one knows which safety standards are applicable to the product.”

For now, retailers like Amazon and Target are making sure individual components of these hoverboards — namely the batteries and the chargers — have been certified for safety. (Amazon is currently asking that all hoverboard sellers provide proof they comply with UN 38.3, UL 1642 and UL 60950-1, specifically.)

But before you breathe a sigh of relief, you should probably know that while batteries and chargers can be certified individually, it doesn’t mean those hoverboards have been certified as a whole. Until those parts have actually been tested together, it’s more of a legal cover-your-ass measure for the manufacturers and retailers than anything else.

hoverboard-fire-screencap.jpg
    When Florida resident Timothy Cade’s hoverboard caught fire, it wasn’t connected to a charger.
    Screenshot by Sean Hollister/CNET
    And you might not be able to find a hoverboard that’s been tested in its entirety by a reputable independent firm like Underwriters Laboratories (UL) even if you looked hard. Swagway, one of the more popular brands, claims its entire hoverboard is UL-certified because it has a UL-certified battery and a UL-certified charger inside, but that’s not accurate. “There are presently no UL-certified hoverboards,” says UL consumer safety director John Drengenberg. (Incidentally, Swagway is now facing a lawsuit from when one of its hoverboards caught fire.)

Besides, there’s another problem with certifying batteries instead of the hoverboards themselves. There’s no easy way to tell what kind of battery is inside a hoverboard — or if it’s a counterfeit.

Supply and demand

In 2004 when an increased number of cell phone batteries were bursting, many blamed cheap counterfeits made in China — batteries produced with far less stringent standards than phone manufacturers might have wanted.

That’s a popular theory when it comes to the hoverboard fires, too. “There are some factories right now that will say they use Samsung batteries, but don’t,” a sales manager for Chinese hoverboard manufacturer CHIC told Quartz. “They wrap a piece of paper around the battery that says ‘Samsung’ when it’s not Samsung.”

But unlike cell phones, it’s not like we have known, reputable hoverboard manufacturers that merely got a bad batch of batteries to go with their own carefully designed proprietary components. Even the top hoverboard brands — Phunkeeduck, IO Hawk, Swagway — are ones you’ve probably never heard of, ones that sprang up out of nowhere to take advantage of the hoverboard craze.

And those companies are merely distributors for a sprawling array of factories in China that supply components to one another practically interchangeably.

hthoverboardfire02jef15121131x131600.jpg
    Montgomery County Fire and Rescue
    That’s not a reflection on the quality of Chinese manufacturing in general, by the way. Practically every high-quality Apple product comes off a Chinese assembly line, not to mention those of Lenovo, a Chinese company that’s one of the top computer vendors worldwide. But China has also become famous as a place where tiny factories can pile onto a hot new idea like the selfie stick or the miniature R/C helicopter, churning out copycats in record time.

By the time the hoverboard fad took off in the United States, there were already too many Chinese companies building hoverboards to tell who came up with the idea first. Practically every hoverboard you see is a counterfeit, in that sense.

“Right now there are thousands of workshops making identical hoverboards in China, and the only obvious differentiator is the costs,” says Jay Sung, CEO of popular electric-scooter company EcoReco. And since there are so many different ways these Chinese companies could have cut costs among the different components they trade with one another and piece together to form the final product you see, it’s hard to narrow down the actual point of failure.

So far, some reports have blamed the batteries, others the cables, but we don’t know for sure. The UK divisions of retailers Amazon and Costco are specifically telling customers to destroy charging cables that have plugs that weren’t built to UK safety standards. (Costco is providing replacement cables, while Amazon is offering full refunds.)

Another possible culprit is the cut-off switch, a safety feature that keeps an electronic device from overcharging, which the UK’s National Trading Standards consumer protection agency says can often fail in these hoverboards. EcoReco’s Sung suggested that to save costs, some hoverboard manufacturers might not even include a cut-off switch to begin with. That’s clearly not the issue everywhere, though: Mashable recently tore down a Swagway hoverboard that appeared to have a cut-off switch installed.

What happens now

In the UK, the government is already cracking down on hoverboards. Not only is it illegal to ride one on public roads or walkways, but the UK National Trading Standards body has now seized and reportedly destroyed 32,000 hoverboards — the vast majority of the 38,800 devices that the organization has been tracking since it started investigating the devices in October.

MORE ABOUT HOVERBOARDS

Before you even think of buying a hoverboard, read this
    ‘SNL’ skewers hoverboards
    The Lexus hoverboard is real, but it isn’t coming to a skate park near you

In the United States, we’re waiting to hear what the Consumer Product Safety Commission uncovers. It could be that the organization finds a specific batch of defective batteries or other defective component and issues a recall. Perhaps the CPSC will push for more voluntary standards like the ones that made laptops and phones safer today.

Or it could be that the CPSC pushes to ban hoverboards altogether. It wouldn’t be the first time a popular toy was deemed too unsafe to sell. There are good reasons that lawn darts and magnetic Buckyballs, both popular toys, were banned. (Fires aren’t the only reason that hoverboards are dangerous. The CPSC has received “dozens” of reports of injuries from falls from US hospital emergency rooms.)

Perhaps next time, we could reserve the name “hoverboard” for a gadget that actually floats above the ground.”

40. Artaxerxes,

No rumour. The truth. This time I am in de know.

41. @ Donna

Okay.

42. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

So Alvin….you still want me to follow and agree with everything you and your equally ditzy DBLP politicians do, say and think….all ya’ll will soon be rolling down a hoverboard cliff, but I won’t be there with ya…lol

43. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

I am sure as usual Alvin and DBLP see nothing wrong with a DLPite being accused of stealing money from the Challenor school of helpless children and young people, some of whom are not only differently disabled, but totally disabled. Just wait for Alvin to pop up in defense when or if charges are filed.

Wait for the defense when questions are asked about why a letter has to be written to David Seale seeking his permission re molasses tanks he left to rot at the port for over 20 years, why are DBLP politicians taking taxpayers money when they are obviously not in charge of taxpayer funded entities like the port. Wait for the defense if taxpayers ask if they have to clean up the messes with their tax dollars of those who believe themselves to be masters on the island.

Wait for the defense now that St. John residents are slowly coming to the realization that DBLP, in whom they believed for too many decades, could very well leave them to die of thirst and any diseases associated with the lack of potable water….it took those humble people of St. John years to understand with whom they are dealing, but the Divine has a way of working miracles….right Alvin..

Wait for the defense now that Andrew Pilgrim is taking offense that some fool magistrate remands a man for a nickle bag of marijuana, when the AG Brathwaite and DPP Charles Leacock allow their drug running and gun running buddies to destroy the island without fear of an arrest.

Just wait for Alvin to jump to the defense of all that wrongdoing….while Canada and the other countries DBLP dummies love to follow when creating laws to help them torment their own people, not only relax marijuana laws re personal usage, but now see marijuana and it’s various uses as a way to rebuild their significantly damaged economies. When will DBLP dummies and their empty headed followers ever learn….hmmmm

44. @Well Well,
    Re the people of St. John: Yes it did take them years to learn with whom they were dealing; fourteen years of BLP governance and slanderous misuse of the little resources. It didn’t however take them so long after re-electing a DLP to get the Polyclinic that they had been promised. If they did not die of thirst and diseases for all those years, when they did not even have a Polyclinic, they will hardly die now. The Divine did work a miracle…The DLP were elected and St. John got its polyclinic, even in the hard times.
    When people like you live based on rumour and innuendo I will always challenge you to bring the proof. Call it “jumping to the defence or however you want to phrase it, Bring the proof; name names in an indictment, hold it up to scrutiny, and when a court judges and sentences I will then agree with you. But until then, I will NOT accept what you say without question.
    I see Andrew Pilgrim is the defence lawyer for the three young men who shot the policemen, because he was upholding the law;marijuana growth and trafficking is still against the law here. Those young men had more than 5,000 marijuana plants; NO NICKLE BAGS, That took a lot of work to plant, so it shows they had the strength to plant crops that would be legal. THEY CHOSE TO ACT ILLEGALLY. And you want to encourage this type of behaviour? Who is acting to destroy this country? Not only these young boys, but people like you who encourage them in their stupid actions.
    LOSS THEM WAY IN JAIL. The BLP built a brand new jail for them. I don’t condone wrongdoing of any kind, but it MUST be proven. Our Constitution requires it.
    I don’t want you to agree with anything I say, because if you do you will probably “bust a gut” out of frustration that you would have to admit that you were wrong in your outlook on life.

45. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Alvin…..while not reading all your rubbish, just be sure that I will intellectually crush you, for your deceit….no one is speaking about any police getting shot, why don’t you read today’s newspapers, like AC, you are always 40 steps behind.

46. onlooker January 4, 2016 at 7:50 PM #
    I was very much a part of the Independence parade in 1966, I was then a mid-teenage and a specially invited guest, also at the State dinner at the B’dos Hilton
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    And each member of the Barbados Workers Union was made to contribute $ 5.00 towards that State Dinner,and only the very top brass from the BWU were invited.

47. Hoover Board or Hover Board ? To be honest I did know what the damn thing was call. Went on the net and saw references on YouTube, by seemingly intelligent North Americans referring to it as HOOVER.

48. Colonel Buggy,

Not important. Just having a laugh but unless they were made by Hoover I would believe it to be hover board. Actually my search for HOOVER led me straight to HOVER.

49. Colonel,

How were they MADE to contribute?

50. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Donna & Colonel…. with Americans you never know, their spelling can be atrocious, even if it started out as hoover in China, by ther time it reached the US, it transitioned, suffice it to say, it does not hover, it explodes….lol