Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

In last week’s essay, I adverted to the phenomenon of the seemingly inviolable attachment that the majority of Barbadians have to the practice of infliction of corporal punishment on children.

[…]

So much so that they are prepared to dishonour solemnly ratified convention and to flout the state’s international obligations, [oddly enough in the name of sovereignty]; to set at naught scientific findings by reputable organisations that corporal punishment might lead to an increased risk for physical abuse, a mind-set that aggression is an acceptable mode of problem solving and a decreased learning capacity; and seriously to consider that those jurisdictions who have been, in their view, “ig’runt” enough to abolish the infliction of pain upon children in order to instil discipline, are hopelessly misguided, if not ungodly, and much the poorer for it.

Hence in our quaint pharisaic way, we can boast of our good fortune at having been flogged as children and having flogged our children and that we Barbadians alone know what is best for our island home. It would seem that it has ever been thus.

I recall reading, many years ago, two passages in the brilliant monograph, “Labour in the West Indies: The Birth of a Workers’ Movement” by W. Arthur Lewis (as he then was) that evince a similar attitude. First, the author recounts an extract from the late 1930s Moyne Commission hearings in Barbados when a member of the Commission observed that he found it “rather extraordinary that we did not have a Workmen’s Compensation Act in an island like this…” The reply from one aptly titled gentleman on behalf of the Barbados Sugar Producers’ Association was, “…so far as an island like this is concerned, the urgency for it is very much less than in neighbouring countries. There is no frequency of accidents (sic) and in most cases the employer looks after the people. The urgency is not extraordinarily great in my opinion. At the same time, it will put people out of employment…”

Second, in response to a suggestion from the Commission that the Secretary of State for the Colonies would indeed regard the matter as one of urgency, the same gentleman pointedly asserted, “ He doesn’t know local conditions as we do…”

This penchant for not interrogating the status quo, whether or not it is of our own creation, may be located in other areas of our existence similarly. We seem to have adopted some eldritch Panglossian stance that “all is for the best in Barbados which is, itself, the best of all possible worlds” and, in spite of cogent evidence to the contrary, we are prepared to discount the solutions adopted by others, based on the anecdotal view that we should and do know better than anyone else what is best for us, and it is not what they have done.

I was further reminded of this quirk last week when the on-going industrial dispute erupted at the Apes Hill Golf Resort. Ostensibly, the dispute bears relation solely to the issue of recognition of the Barbados Workers’ Union [BWU] as the certified bargaining agent for the workers, although the acerbity of certain remarks by one of the principals for the employers and more than an undercurrent of hostility in the entire matter give reason for some doubt as to whether this is indeed the real bone of contention. Not, given the way these things eventually unravel, that we may ever know for certain, but I am prepared to assume for now that the issue is one of recognition only.

And my central point is that in an era when we dare to boast of high literacy among our people; when many of our regional neighbours have enacted legislation providing for the compulsory recognition of a workers’ organisation after a transparent process; and when relevant information is available at the click of a mouse, we should be loath to remain content to base a such a significant collective right of the workers on a principle as “legally dubious” as custom-and-practice.

Now let me be clear. I am not saying that custom-and-practice does not have its place in a legal system. Of course it does. However, its validity in that context is subject to certain prescribed criteria; that it must be of long-established vintage, reasonable, certain and notorious. I do not care to offer an opinion here as to whether the right to recognition claimed by the BWU in this case satisfies these criteria, but I submit generally that the number of disputes in this area would be substantially reduced were there to be legislation enacted providing unequivocally for the process to be observed by both parties if the union is to gain compulsory recognition.

There already exists CARICOM Model Legislation on the matter, and there is relevant statutory provision in Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica and, of course, Trinidad & Tobago for examples, should we wish to draw on these experiences. Even if we might agree with the local witness before the Moyne Commission, referred to above, that “our urgency [for such an Act] is much less”, that they “do not know local conditions as we do”, that there is “no frequency of disputes”, that “in most cases the employer takes care of the people”, and that a similar enactment “will put people out of work”, we must still ask ourselves whether the local industrial relations climate would not be better served by the certainty of prescribed procedure than by the occasional acrimony wrought by contested custom.

What is even “curiouser” is that identical draft legislation has been in local circulation since 1995 without more.

Lord, put a hand!

151 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (iii)”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You are right AC, we want to see and read all the regional labor laws and conventions DBLP signed unto over the decades that were supposed to protect workers from the discriminatory practices employers like to use and which both governments refuse to recognize or make public so the citizens are duly informed of worker’s rights. Yes, that is what we want to see posted to the blog.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

What makes you think that they have not started the exercise sine the “competent” part?

Speaking bout “parts”, I doan know bout de lesbians dat you got in Canada but effing Dem is anything like de ones we got bout here I gine warn you dat you got to stay way from Dem when dem incensed dem does bite out you parts – you ent got no clitoris does You?

Whuloss Hants, Whuloss, even jes tinking bout dat mek de ole man wince wid my dried up parts formerly Mandingo appendage now water spout.

@ legion

Unlike you and your 8mm movie reel bloggers here can range wide yet come back home to Moyne Commission indictments that show these 60 years, during your PIMPs reign (Peeplis in my Parliament) that nothing has changes, in fact, while they are at the helm, things have only gotten worse.

Even the staid Jeff, author of this article, can enjoy some levity, you anal retentive DLPite

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol. Piece…they sure can’t do any worse by attempting to draft and implement a whole new governance system.

4. Wait, Freundel finds difficulty in swearing allegiance to the Queen. I guess this is all about him then. And why does he believe that he will be called upon to swear again? Talk what you like, Freundel is busy making sure HE will be comfortable in 2018.

5. He should follow my lead. I too had difficulty swearing allegiance to the queen so I removed myself from all situations where it was required. LOL.

By the way what does that say about the oath he took last time- that he really didn’t mean it? Why am I not surprised that his words are meaningless?

6. As for corporal punishment, I responded better to my father’s reasoning than my mother’s beatings. I lashed my son when he was younger but only a couple of slaps. Now after all the work I have put in building our relationship I find I no longer need to. He’d die rather than bring shame on me. It’s all about the relationship you have with the child. He trusts me and knows I have his best interests at heart. If he doesn’t see my reasoning he challenges and I explain. No problem. Never a serious problem in years!

7. So PDYR if things have goiten worse. I suggest you get off your fat anus and move on to a better place

8. Any punishment that inflicts physical or psychological pain is abuse and is not a positive reflection of a society that professes to have high academic standards

9. @David

The Hon. PM,just stated in Parliament that we are a monarchy and the Queens representative will be here for the 50th anniversary…….no mention of a Republic as he moved the funding of the secretariat for the celebration.

Speaking of Parliament today,I was reminded by the utterances of some members of the EWB comment on his Deputy’s speech…..Fullsome and Puerile…..

10. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Our Lesbian premier of Ontario is known to be of good character.

Canada is very tolerant and “inclusive” of the LBGT community.

Now when it comes to prominent Bajans this soca tune may have been misinterpreted or taking too seriously. (putting it in de Diaspora Corner ).

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

Ya think Zuma and Froon are buddies?

Last wednesday South African president Zuma fired his MoF Nene. It is reported that Nene, was trying to reel in the governments extravagant spending habits, particularly as they related to a commercial aircraft deal and an energy project (nuclear not WTE). The new MoF was an unknown backbencher, and the rand fell sharply.
    Over the weekend, to stem this problem, after announcing there would be no further cabinet changes, Zuma dismisses the new MoF, and replaces him with a former MoF Gordhan. President Zuma also admits the long standing rumour that he and chairwoman Myeni of South African Airlines [SAA] had a ‘romantic relationship’. The commercial aircraft leasing deal is related to the nationally owned SAA. It just so happens that Myeni is also head of Zuma’s ‘private charity foundation’.
    Then on Monday, new MoF Gordham admits the SA cabinet had ‘quietly’ given its approval to the nuclear energy deal.
    Now in the Republic of South Africa, even if Zuma wins re-election in 2018, he must relinquish the President title in 2019. [10 years since his first win in 2009] Of the potential scenarios, the most written is Zuma is heavily supporting one of his ex-wives for the job so that he might retain influence. Another is he might just change the constitution to extend the Presidential term.
    Cannot wait for the Democratic Republic of Barbados.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

‘of good character’? Having a Liquor License makes one of good character? LOL
    I see the other buffoon who spent a billion dollars to move a few gas plants, is now a journalist writing for the G&M as of Monday.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….these are the results of despots who use dictatorship to rule, then the process of bringing them down starts.

NAIROBI (Reuters) – Nearly 90 people were killed during Friday’s clashes in the Burundian capital, the army said, the worst outbreak of violence in Burundi since a failed coup in May.

Blasts and gunfire echoed around Bujumbura for most of Friday and residents said officials spent the day collecting bullet-riddled bodies from city streets.

Army spokesman Gaspard Baratuza said on Saturday gunmen had attacked three military sites in Bujumbura, kindling a day of clashes across the city. He said 79 attackers were killed and 45 others captured. Four police officers and four soldiers also died.

“Sweep operations have finished now,” Baratuza said, adding that officials confiscated weapons and ammunition.

Unrest erupted in April when President Pierre Nkurunziza announced plans for a third term in office. A 12-year civil war, which ended in 2005, pitted rebel groups of the Hutu majority, including one led by Nkurunziza, against an army then led by the Tutsi minority.

The latest turmoil has unnerved a region still volatile two decades after the genocide in neighboring Rwanda, which has the same ethnic mix.

Friday’s clashes were condemned by the United States, which like other Western powers fears the Central African nation could slide back into ethnic conflict.

The U.N. Security Council was briefed on the developments in Burundi late on Friday. U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Samantha Power, who is president of the council for December, said the 15-member body was ready to consider “further steps.”

The police did not identify the gunmen. One of the generals behind the failed coup attempt said afterwards that his rebel group still aimed to topple the president.

Residents said some of Friday’s dead were killed after being rounded up by the police in house-to-house searches, an allegation the police denied.

BODIES WITH HANDS BOUND

According to witnesses and pictures circulated on social media, some bodies had their hands tied behind their backs.

“They entered in our compounds, gathered all young and middle-aged men, took them and killed them away from their homes,” said one resident in Nyakabiga.

Police spokesman Pierre Nkurikiye said there were “no collateral victims” during Friday’s clashes.

Baratuza said some attackers who attempted to raid the Ngagara military camp retreated and were pursued by security forces who “inflicted on them considerable losses.”

Kenya Airways canceled flights to Burundi on Friday but said it would resume flying to Bujumbura on Sunday.

More than 220,000 people have fled the violence this year to neighboring Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Congo.

The U.S. State Department warned Americans on Sunday against traveling to Burundi and ordered all dependents and non-emergency U.S. government personnel out of the country, citing violence after contested elections. It also recommended that all citizens in the country leave as soon as possible.

Former colonial power Belgium on Sunday condemned the violence in Burundi and called for an investigation.

Foreign Minister Didier Reynders said he would take up the issue with his European Union colleagues when they meet on Monday and urged the United Nations Security Council and the Peace and Security Council of the African Union to take action.

In a draft 2016 budget passed by the cabinet on Friday, Burundi plans to slash public spending by 16 percent next year and expects foreign aid to almost halve.

In October Belgium halted some aid to the government of Burundi in protest at Nkurunziza’s disputed third term. The European Union has imposed travel bans and asset freezes on four officials close to Nkurunziza who are accused of using excessive force during clashes in the run-up to his re-election in July.

14. Donna December 15, 2015 at 3:21 PM #

“Talk what you like, Freundel is busy making sure HE will be comfortable in 2018.”

The following excerpt was taken from a policy paper entitled: “Democracy in the Caribbean: A Cause for Concern,” which was written by Douglas Payne (April 7, 1995):

“Both the BLP and DLP confront a duel challenge: tackling long-range economic and social problems that have no easy answers, and restoring confidence among a population increasingly unsure of the capability of the political class to address those problems.”

Surely we must agree that the “political class” have failed to significantly address the socio-economic issues that has confronted this island. Because, in 2015, 20 years later, the problems that were highlighted in Payne’s 1995 policy paper are still confronting the Barbadian population and creating difficulties for the “political class” to solve.

With these politicians, it’s not about SERVING their constituents, it’s all about self aggrandizement…….. first, what is in it for them and their families; second, the financiers of their campaigns; third, left overs for the yard-fowls who canvass for them and rush to their defense, (in many cases to defend the indefensible); and lastly, only PROMISES for constituents on whom they look down upon.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….The last President who had some strife going in Haiti, whether he was right or wrong, the priest Jean-Bertrand Aristide, when he thought he was on a plane to the US, he was exiled to Africa, I am not sure if he made it back to Haiti, if he did, it took years.

So I have no fear for the little tin pot wannabe despots and dictators in Barbados, they are a cakewalk. They don’t even know what to do with Bizzy, Cow et al.

16. Artaxerxes December 15, 2015 at 5:34 PM #

With these politicians, it’s not about SERVING their constituents, it’s all about self aggrandizement…….. first, what is in it for them and their families; second, the financiers of their campaigns; third, left overs for the yard-fowls who canvass for them and rush to their defense, (in many cases to defend the indefensible); and lastly, only PROMISES for constituents on whom they look down upon.

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

but who unna suppose to blame ? unna selves..who vote fuh them? unna
    ac suggest unna read the script carefully and if unna dun undestan ask Jeff Cumberbatch to intrpret and clarify
    Simply put it is all de fault of unna intelligentia who tink unna know everything cauze unna cud use big wouds and smart off at de mout dumb a……holes

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Welcome to the real world Vincie boy.

18. @David

The LoO is making some interesting points in Parliament presently,I hope you are listening.

19. @Well Well & Consequences December 15, 2015 at 7:00 PM #

Welcome to the real world Vincie boy.
    ……………………………………………………………………

Chuckle……muh girl one these days yuh will join muh…..untill then enjoy.

20. @Vincent

What were the interesting points. Thought parliament was on recess as per usual.

On 15 December 2015 at 23:29, Barbados Underground wrote:

21. ac December 15, 2015 at 6:57 PM #

“…….. but who unna suppose to blame ? unna selves..who vote fuh them?”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Yes, AC’s, a very good question……… “who vote fuh them?”

It’s people like you “who vote fuh them.” “Simply put it is all de fault of unna UNINTELLIGENT who tink (politicians) know everything cauze (they) cud use big words and smart off at de mout dumb a……holes.”

There was a reason why I PURPOSELY mentioned these politicians leave “left overs for the yard-fowls who canvass for them and rush to their defense, (in many cases to defend the indefensible).” Judging from your response, it seems as though you recognized my comment was meant specifically for people like you.

Because I’m sure that many of the people who contribute or read BU would agree that you “POSITIVELY IDENTIFY” with the characterization in the above statement. “Simply put,” you are a “DLP yard-fowl” who rushes to the defense of DLP politicians, “(in many cases to defend the indefensible).”

However, when you read Irene’s or Kellman’s facebook page, perhaps you could remind them since the government has been able to RAISE $2M to send to Dominica (though it is for a humanitarian cause), PROVES they could have USED SIMILAR MEANS to raise enough money to pay their OUTSTANDING COMMITMENTS.

COMMITMENTS such as REVERSE TAX CREDITS, VAT and INCOME TAX REFUNDS that remain outstanding to BARBADIANS since 2011; or to PAY those former BEAUTIFY BARBADOS and NCC employees, who after being retrenched over 1 year ago, are YET TO RECEIVE their SEVERANCE PAYMENTS.

(I guess a “happy Christmas” for Dominicans means much more to Chris and Freundel than those disadvantaged former employees to whom Freundel made the promise prior to the 2013 elections that “not one of them will go home).”

22. BarbadosToday Editorial. Interesting.

Donville Inniss fuh Prime Minister ????

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincie boy is a blow……without the hard…lol

24. Sir there YOU go again with these false impressions referencing what ac does in the daily practices. Of course you are wrong,
    What little time i have most of it is spent in other activities rather than reading what other peoples thoughts reveal on govt business or practices
    However i must remind you that the quoted statement to which you reference was done in an era of which your esteemed party was in power and for fourteen years contributed to the political seedlings of the yardfowl environment
    However to be fear there is a measure of truth which can be applied across both political landscapes in as much as you would like to point the finger in one direction.
    Your tone with the objection of sending much needed aid to Dominica in a time of desperation and rapid response is a shameful and despicable attack on govt policy which under caricom law dictates a necessity to be urgent in times of disaster . Sir you ought to be ashamed of your self to be using the political rhetoric of yardfowl politics to degrade govts actions to help the people of Dominica

25. Here we go again.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Jeez…AC…..bottomfeeding yardfowl, at least you reverted to what you do best, now you are in true character, nothing else really suits you…lol

27. Yuh mean dat 2016 gine come and fin’ you writing de same shiite? Yuh mean dat you comprehension skills gine always be lacking? You is a real DLP political yard-donkey fuh trute. A spewer of “political rhetoric of yardfowl politics.”

“…….since the government has been able to RAISE $2M to send to Dominica (though it is for a humanitarian cause), PROVES they could have USED SIMILAR MEANS to raise enough money to pay their OUTSTANDING COMMITMENTS.”

Wuh part of my above comments suggests an “objection of sending much needed aid to Dominica in a time of desperation?”

Let me brek dis down in Bajan fuh yuh, since you play you is a “political spin doctor,” but play you ent know you in de same category uh spinners like Marlon Samuels and Narine. (You spin gots SUSPECT ACTION, SO YUH GINE GET BAN).

De same way de guv’ment met its obligatory commitment as dictated by CARICOM (as you mentioned) relative to lending assistance in time of disaster, and find $2M.

Don’t you think the guv’ment should have met its obligatory commitments to Barbadians as well, by finding money to:

….. pay Reverse tax credits, VAT and income tax refunds due since 2011?
    ….. pay the former Beautify Barbados and NCC employees, who are still awaiting severance pay?
    ….. not deny over 20,000 Barbadians of their unemployment, maternity and sickness benefits

28. Sir ac stand to reason that You are comfortable being a
    political Grinch at this festive season .Understood

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol……I love it. A man said to me he picked up a british passenger at the airport yesterday, just arrived from London who told him about the date for republic status, dude told him thanks for the information since the government dìd not feel the need to tell the people in Barbados the date, but told everyone else worldwide.

One female got the link 2 days ago from her Asian fiance in Canada and her fiance wanted to know how is it the people did not know the date on Monday, she told him, it’s very simple, the government did not tell the media, only tell the media whatever garbage pops into their heads, but sees it better to tell matters of importance to everyone outside of Barbados and leave the taxpayers who will be affected, in the dark.

It’s very disrespectful to the people of both DBLP governments, but a very nasty practice they both seem to not want to break.

30. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Forgive my earlier “deviation” down the”other” of the “two roads (which) diverged in a narrow wood… As you would have seen, Legion, once goaded, cant get back from that path, like a Robert Frost variant called “road to yard fowl perdition”.

There is a subtle difference between stasis “stasis – the state of equilibrium or inactivity caused by opposing equal forces” and “stagnation – the state or condition of stagnating, or having stopped, as by ceasing to run or flow” But you, wordsmith that you are, would already know that.

The ole man ent bright like you and Gabriel and wunna fellows. I does got tuh use de internet. In fact, all de tings dat I does post heah could easily be based on (i) “google searches” on the key words of your text coupled with (ii) an online “english to spanish – back to english” interpreter to use with “the find” which would mean that

(a) I locate subject matter akin to what you are speaking of and then as if I am Einstein
    (b) route said syntax through that interpreter program which effectively does the job of a “real time dual output thesaurus”

This process which I want you to keep in mind, depending on the calibre of the dual interpreter used, coupled with the language utilized, effectively defeats any of the UWI so called “Plagiarism Tools” until someone creates an “Anti Plagiarism” Dual Interpreter Policing Tool.

You still wid de ole man assuredly.

The pint that the ole man mekking bout those two words is the state our country was in, post emancipation, and leading up to Independence, was much like “stasis”

But here, before I appose (I tief dat word from you) is where I present another thought for your consideration.

“Every body continues in its state of rest, or uniform motion in a straight-line, unless compelled to change that state by forces impressed upon it.”

Since our country would have remained in an “enforced Stasis under our Colonial Masters” (Growing up Stuipd under the Union Jack) until November 30th 1966, this would beg a question.

“Why then have we moved from stasis to “enhanced stasis”?

Did not Independence, 50 years of which these Dufuses now seek to celebrate next year, bring with it some change as proposed/induced/demanded by Newton’s second law “The change of motion (i.e., momentum) of an object is proportional to the force impressed upon it, and is made in the direction of the straight-line in which the force is impressed??”

Does that therefore suggest that this Act of Independence was indeed “enhanced stasis”, since on examination, it seems not to have had any impact on the collective motion.

Was Independence in fact “an equal and opposite reaction, simultaneously” and therefore “impressed” no force on the object “Barbados is a community?”

My “Anti Plagiarism” Dual Interpreter Policing concept presents a microcosm of what the ideal state of our cuntry should be where, in understanding the nature of specific “plagiarism tools” I have proposed a series of actions, WHICH DO NOT CURRENTLY EXIST but which suggest that UWI, and other vaunted institutions of learning do not have tools adequate to deal with the plagiarism problem.

This learned construct (with an acute on the e) clearly undergirds what you are positing in this your third document “On nearing 50” which is that we have an entire nation which is incapable of extrapolating to a place where “none can see”.

This is of the main reasons that the ole man wants slavery to come back like Sir Cow and his peeple are trying to regain these glory days

I will explain using the case of Lewis Latimer the African American who enlightened Thomas Edison’s light bulb

https://grist.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/lewislatimer.jpg?w=1455&h=818&crop=1

Quite simply put, Mr. Cumberbatch, all the evidence suggest that when niggers like us are under overt slavery we work better that when we are free and independent, “strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate”

Whu you think?

31. Quite simply put ..blah blah blah

32. Leh me show wunnun pun BU the stupidity of the AC consortium.

In a previous contribution to this article, I referred to a quote from a policy paper dated April 7, 1995 and written by Douglas Payne.

It is important to note that:

1) The policy paper was published on APRIL 7, 1995, which meant the author would have based his comments from an assessment of the period 1966 to 1994.

2) The BLP formed the government between the period 1994 and 2008.

Therefore, bearing the above information in mind, it was LUDICROUS for the consortium to have written: “ac December 16, 2015 at 4:10 AM #: However i must remind you that THE QUOTED STATEMENT TO WHICH YOU REFERENCE WAS DONE IN AN ERA OF WHICH YOUR ESTEEMED PARTY WAS IN POWER and for fourteen years contributed to the political seedlings of the yardfowl environment…”

The legality of the consortium’s political spin bowling has once again come under scrutiny. As a result, their bowling action was deemed unsatisfactory after an independent assessment by BU.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol……and I am the one got called the goat…lol

34. @ AC

Blah Blah this clown…

“Yard Fowl-lism is, fundamentally, a conviction that a particular political party is the best in the world because you are in it”

If you tell me who I plagiarized that from I will send you $100!! (monopoly money of course)

35. Ok.so your point being that the govt formed after the published report should be given an automatic waiver to the wrong doings as published in the report. No! although you have no problem directing as you indicates a personnel political preferance of choice as to which govt is culpable

36. Gheez whiz PDYR looking forward to your minstrel show this holiday season…Good job.Thanks to govt there is a “ready “made audience on barbados shore at your disposal. If you can guess where i read that you would be a millionaire

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 16, 2015 at 4:10 AM
    “Sir there YOU go again with these false impressions referencing what ac does in the daily practices. Of course you are wrong,
    What little time i have most of it is spent in other activities rather than reading what other peoples thoughts reveal on govt business or practices
    However i must remind you that the quoted statement to which you reference was done in an era of which your esteemed party was in power and for fourteen years contributed to the political seedlings of the yardfowl environment…”

Here we go again, trying to interpret the barometric and anemometric readings of the direction and speed of the political wind of opportunism emanating from the gaseous entrails of a weathercock whose vane points permanently in the direction of an indestructible fowl from the political barnyard of George Street.

Like my mentor PUDRYR I would ask you a rather straightforward question:
    Could you tell us who was the LEADER of that “esteemed party which was in power and for fourteen years contributed to the political seedlings of the yardfowl environment”?

Hasn’t that former king-breeder of Boston leghorn “yardfowls” commonly call ‘owenites’ now become the respected doyen of all things economics among the seething cesspool of inbreeding incompetents nicknamed the George Street Court of Fumbling Jesters?

38. Miller….. Bravo you said it! Yes indeed truth be known ‘OSA
    However i think he had a damascus moment when he took flight taking to the skies like a soaring eagle and distance himself far away from the BLP and those dark days.
    For that he should be applauded

39. Cheeze awn bread, why you doan stop spoiling Jeff Cumberbatch article wid de shiite you posting?

Between 1966 and 1994:

….. the DLP formed the government between 1966 to 1976
    ….. the BLP formed the government between 1976 to 1986
    ….. the DLP formed the government between 1986 to 1994

Therefore, the author of the article would have assessed the progress of DLP administrations for a period of 18 years (1966 to 1976 and 1986 to 1994), while he would assessed the progress of a BLP administration for a period of 10 years (1976 to 1986).

My interpretation of Payne’s policy paper was that he assessed BOTH BLP and DLP administrations, which is based on the following excerpt from page 7 of the policy paper: “BOTH the BLP and DLP confront a duel challenge: tackling long-range economic and social problems…..” NOTE, Payne mentioned BOTH the BLP and DLP.
    Therefore, it is beyond me how you could read this and interpret it to imply I meant “the govt formed after the published report should be given an automatic waiver to the wrong doings as published in the report.” But, that’s yard fowl politics.

However, YOU wanted to SPIN the issue to suit your POLITICAL AGENDA, by ERRONEOUSLY suggesting the paper, (which was published in 1995), included assessment information relative to the 14 year period (1994 to 2008) the BLP formed the government.
    Hence, the accusation leveled at me re: “although you have no problem directing as you indicate a personnel political preference of choice as to which govt is culpable,” is DESCRIPTIVE of your response to this issue.

Once again, you have been called by the umpire for an illegal action trying to political spin bowl.

But I must say that I will not engage you any further on this issue because:

1) You have not read the policy paper, and as such your responses will be “speculatively” based on your biased political opinions (and I have been successful in proving them wrong so far).

2) This “discussion” has no relevance to Cumberbatch’s article.

40. @ AC

De Ole Man laughs in amazement at your comments.

Which of you is this?

The one who says “I am like the Prime Minister, he does not read Facebook because he does not put ignorance in his head, because ignorance in, ignorance out?”

Has to be one with a modicum of sense 3/5ths of Legion is not too bright.

You like games? Let us play some chess.

Let us see how with all the money that you have amassed, how wunna going win this one!!

Wanna bet the $5,000,000 in DownLowe’s muddah account that wunna going win??

What some of us have forgotten, you and the rest of you will never know…

So you come here and throw down this gauntlet?

Let us dance…

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David December 16, 2015 at 1:51 PM #
    “You obviously have not accepted Dr Robinson’s explanation for the dump?

There is no financially-based commonsense reason in his explanation to accept, is there?

What will the NIS board do now with the proceeds aka mess of pottage? Buy the NHC built units at the Grotto for a song to rent out for peppercorn rent to unemployed Bajans?
    What about investing it (the sale of shares proceeds since the NIS is awash with cash) in the new printing press producing junk bonds for the local market proving a perfect case of import substitution to prop up the foreign reserves to finance an untenable conspicuous lifestyle based on the importation of processed food, luxury items and trinkets?

My friend, the NIS had the option of converting their shares into foreign investment instead of the ‘here-today-gone-tomorrow’ cash in true paro style financial behaviour.

Do you understand the serious ramifications the NIS has to confront to meet its future obligations to those 60 years and under in the coming years?
    Of course you will dismiss the contributions of the lowly unknown foreign-formed miller as the rants and ravings of a sissy and a Mia disciple of doom and gloom.

Maybe a word of confirmation from Walter Blackman well known to both Piece of De Rock and Artaxerxes would convince you of the impact of the straw that broke the camel’s back as far as the economic enfranchisement of Black Bajans in their quest to be shareholders and controllers of Private Sector Barbados.
    Future pensions of Barbadians cannot be paid out of the bricks and mortar in Warrens backed by permanently accrued (unpaid) rental income and paper IOU’s but out of the cash proceeds of viable investment decisions.

42. @Miller

Are you saying you do NOT accept Dr. Worrell’s proclamation that the issue of the latest savings bonds has been an unqualified success?

43. @ AC (the one with a modicum of common sense)

When I say the video with your speech, I was watching your hands the form part of isokinetic observations.

And I noted something, for a right hander you were amazingly using your left hand!!

It is NOT normal unless the subject of this locomotoral echolalia is so mindful of an image that you start to emulate the left hander.

And in that instance I remembered the key aspect of the Hermit KIng like a bold of lightning.

The crux of that story goes

“…And the Hermit King said, “Brief is my story, for sudden was the bursting of the bubble. It happened thus: one day as I sat at a window in my palace, my chamberlain and an envoy from a foreign land were walking in my garden.

And as they approached my window, the lord chamberlain was speaking of himself and saying, ‘I am like the king; I have a thirst for strong wine and a hunger for all games of chance. And like my lord the king I have storms of temper.’ And the lord chamberlain and the envoy disappeared among the trees.

But in a few minutes they returned, and this time the lord chamberlain was speaking of me, and he was saying, ‘My lord the king is like myself—a good marksman; and like me he loves music and bathes thrice a day.’ ”

I am now convinced that Fumble has more reason to fear you than he has to fear Donville or Lil Caesar because you are encroaching on his very mannerism like a vampire.

I did not mention the others because they are all “shadows of men”

Did you know that if a rogue nation were to launch a nuclear rocket at the moon that the ensuing fallout would have more damage than if they targeted one country on earth?

King Knight to King Bishop Two ?? Your turn….

44. Ole man why don/t you stop telling lies !

45. Artexeres ! Miller and the rest of BLP butt lickers Did you pay attention in the way Chris Sincker mop up parliament floor with Mottley after she gave her ludicrous dispensation of Tax laws and proceeded to take Mottley through a litany of misrepresentations she has uttered on the floor of Parliament as opposition leader,while hammering home her desire to be inflicted with foot and mouth disease
    As if his outwardly displeasure towards Mia was not enough he proceeded to stick the knife right into the meat of the matter making sure it was well done.

46. Anybody could mop the floor with Mottley…. all of them in there seem to be low quality jokers. if she had any self esteem, or was worth what Paddy shot, she would have either responded to Owen’s multiple put-downs …. or quit with that politics shiite long ago..

BTW AC
    Did you respond to the CBC poll question tonight?
    “Should Government set up patrols to deal with the ridiculous levels of illegal dumping?”
    …ask Stinkliar what HE think…? …. Idiot!!

So he raise $1m by implementing tipping fees …and will now spend $5M (plus overtime) on ‘patrols’.. thousands more cleaning up the dumpsites, and millions countering negative comments from the ‘bumper numbers’ of tourists expected…

What do they say about ‘people like you’ and their money…? Soon separated?

Imagine if that Jackass had taken a ‘bushman approach’ instead, and PAID $10 for EACH 4-ton load of garbage PROPERLY delivered at the processing facility… You would have truckers LOOKING for garbage to take to the damn dump….
    Cost – $1M

Savings:
    No patrols needed….. $5M
    SSA freed up to do their REAL work…..$3M
    Place CLEAN as shiite…..$$$$$
    Positive impressions for locals and visitors.. $$$$$

But penny wise and pound foolish is the mantra of a brass bowl….

47. @Bush Tea

O Shiite!!!!

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

At least AC is in the role in which she is most comfortable.lol

49. Bush shit do not have time
    for polls BU polls CBC Polls Nation Polls or Wickham polls, leave them for retards and loud mouths like yuhself to worry about ,,,,Good grief is my respond to your long winded brass bowl comment of shite