Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

In last week’s essay, I adverted to the phenomenon of the seemingly inviolable attachment that the majority of Barbadians have to the practice of infliction of corporal punishment on children.

[…]

So much so that they are prepared to dishonour solemnly ratified convention and to flout the state’s international obligations, [oddly enough in the name of sovereignty]; to set at naught scientific findings by reputable organisations that corporal punishment might lead to an increased risk for physical abuse, a mind-set that aggression is an acceptable mode of problem solving and a decreased learning capacity; and seriously to consider that those jurisdictions who have been, in their view, “ig’runt” enough to abolish the infliction of pain upon children in order to instil discipline, are hopelessly misguided, if not ungodly, and much the poorer for it.

Hence in our quaint pharisaic way, we can boast of our good fortune at having been flogged as children and having flogged our children and that we Barbadians alone know what is best for our island home. It would seem that it has ever been thus.

I recall reading, many years ago, two passages in the brilliant monograph, “Labour in the West Indies: The Birth of a Workers’ Movement” by W. Arthur Lewis (as he then was) that evince a similar attitude. First, the author recounts an extract from the late 1930s Moyne Commission hearings in Barbados when a member of the Commission observed that he found it “rather extraordinary that we did not have a Workmen’s Compensation Act in an island like this…” The reply from one aptly titled gentleman on behalf of the Barbados Sugar Producers’ Association was, “…so far as an island like this is concerned, the urgency for it is very much less than in neighbouring countries. There is no frequency of accidents (sic) and in most cases the employer looks after the people. The urgency is not extraordinarily great in my opinion. At the same time, it will put people out of employment…”

Second, in response to a suggestion from the Commission that the Secretary of State for the Colonies would indeed regard the matter as one of urgency, the same gentleman pointedly asserted, “ He doesn’t know local conditions as we do…”

This penchant for not interrogating the status quo, whether or not it is of our own creation, may be located in other areas of our existence similarly. We seem to have adopted some eldritch Panglossian stance that “all is for the best in Barbados which is, itself, the best of all possible worlds” and, in spite of cogent evidence to the contrary, we are prepared to discount the solutions adopted by others, based on the anecdotal view that we should and do know better than anyone else what is best for us, and it is not what they have done.

I was further reminded of this quirk last week when the on-going industrial dispute erupted at the Apes Hill Golf Resort. Ostensibly, the dispute bears relation solely to the issue of recognition of the Barbados Workers’ Union [BWU] as the certified bargaining agent for the workers, although the acerbity of certain remarks by one of the principals for the employers and more than an undercurrent of hostility in the entire matter give reason for some doubt as to whether this is indeed the real bone of contention. Not, given the way these things eventually unravel, that we may ever know for certain, but I am prepared to assume for now that the issue is one of recognition only.

And my central point is that in an era when we dare to boast of high literacy among our people; when many of our regional neighbours have enacted legislation providing for the compulsory recognition of a workers’ organisation after a transparent process; and when relevant information is available at the click of a mouse, we should be loath to remain content to base a such a significant collective right of the workers on a principle as “legally dubious” as custom-and-practice.

Now let me be clear. I am not saying that custom-and-practice does not have its place in a legal system. Of course it does. However, its validity in that context is subject to certain prescribed criteria; that it must be of long-established vintage, reasonable, certain and notorious. I do not care to offer an opinion here as to whether the right to recognition claimed by the BWU in this case satisfies these criteria, but I submit generally that the number of disputes in this area would be substantially reduced were there to be legislation enacted providing unequivocally for the process to be observed by both parties if the union is to gain compulsory recognition.

There already exists CARICOM Model Legislation on the matter, and there is relevant statutory provision in Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica and, of course, Trinidad & Tobago for examples, should we wish to draw on these experiences. Even if we might agree with the local witness before the Moyne Commission, referred to above, that “our urgency [for such an Act] is much less”, that they “do not know local conditions as we do”, that there is “no frequency of disputes”, that “in most cases the employer takes care of the people”, and that a similar enactment “will put people out of work”, we must still ask ourselves whether the local industrial relations climate would not be better served by the certainty of prescribed procedure than by the occasional acrimony wrought by contested custom.

What is even “curiouser” is that identical draft legislation has been in local circulation since 1995 without more.

Lord, put a hand!

151 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (iii)”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

At the end of the day the politicians have to let the employers in Barbados know that to achieve any progress going forward, the island must be brought into the 21st century with regard to labor relations, the island and it’s people are not there to serve at the whim of those who would prefer to use 18th century practices to enrich themselves, stagnating any forward movement , just to do so withoutvregardcfor those whom they use and their progeny. It’s disturbingly greedy and selfish for a minority of people to believe that they should be allowed to achieve wealth at all costs using antiquated, immoral and devisive practices.

Great piece Jeff, it would be educational to know the applicable regional laws governing labor relations which the Barbados government seem to be avoiding, just to appease the status quo.

This is the very reason the minorities, aided by politicians were trying so hard to get rid of the blogs so that this information would never become public in Barbados.

2. SHOULD IT NOT BE ” What is even more curious” instead of “What is even “curiouser”

3. GP
    The word “curiouser” written with a pair of punctuation marks is intended to indicate the unusual or dubious status of the word.

4. ” ‘Curiouser and curiouser!” Cried Alice (she was so much surprised, that for the moment she quite forgot how to speak good English).”

@ GP fellas like you and Jeff have earned the write to right as you please.lol

5. Panglossian=blindly or naively optimistic

Eldritch =uncanny,strange,unearthly,eerie,supernatural

6. when many of our regional neighbours have enacted legislation providing for the compulsory recognition of a workers’ organisation after a transparent process

+++++++++++++++
    One would think that with the word “Labour” firmly established as part of the name of the two main political parties on the island that workers’ rights would be paramount.

“Labour” is more honoured in the breach than in the observance.

7. The major union in Barbados is mortally scared about legislation that would codify the procedure for union recognition. The reason being, if there are rules in law governing recognition then there must be rules in law to govern the process of de-recognition. If a procedure existed for de-recognition BWU and the employers utilised it, the BWU would have less than half of the divisions that it now boasts.

The practice is that the union must have 50% plus one of the employees in any particular workplace as members in order to be recognised. The union quickly loses the majority but because there is no procedure to undo the recognition process, the union continues to the bargaining agent even if it’s numbers fall way below the 50% plus one threshold.

Mind you most employers like it so because they know that they would be negotiating with a union that they can trust to betray workers in a crunch. Some employers openly canvass support for them.

8. Jeff C
    Another article bemoaning Bajans attachment to Corporal punishment? At least the brickbats are reserved not for you but for those of us who agree with your opinion.

Aren’t you aware that Bajans are wedded to the Judeo- Christian ethic expressed in Proverbs “He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes”, or as we know it “spare the rod and spoil the child”.

9. Who would ever believe that we,as a nation , are nearing 50 years , when the state owned and controlled Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) is running adverts for Obeah Men and Witch Doctors from the east.
    Who would ever believe that when CBC was first established 50 years ago, it came under the umbrella of the Ministry of Education.

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Sargeant, agreed, but that is not the gist of the piece. I am arguing that it might be the same attitude that explains the failure to provide for a process of compulsory recognition.

@Gabriel & Hants, thanks for spotting the “Alice in Wonderland” reference.

11. @Jeff

Let us accept the point Barbadians, the vast majority, are clueless about our obligations under ‘solemnly ratified convention’ undertaken by their governments. What about the reality that many developed societies are exhibiting erratic social behaviour possibly as a result of following a path of zero tolerance to corporal punishment???? There is a downside to any activity and the US society is a clear example – historically Barbadians have fashioned a society it could boast of, not any longer.

12. @Jeff, I am convinced that you are what the CIA-MI6 fellows would describe as an awesome intelligence officer. An individual who crafts his words so well that they appear absolutely clear on the surface but the ‘real’ information is also beautifully shrouded for others to see.

Either that or I just love spy thrillers!

Your subtle but damning reference to the ‘gentleman’ of the Moyne commission sounds much like present day apologists in our racial and status-conscious dysfunctional Barbados. Those who believe the workers are treated so well. It would be facile to say there spoke COW as that gentleman at Moyne who wanted to maintain the status quo and offered that how great we ‘look after the people’ speech. A virtual positive mirror image of the negative ‘lazy, laggard’ rant. But not so. I place that voice other places.

But could it also be that based on the ‘awesome work’ of people like Sir Allan and Sir Roy and all their efforts on the Social Partnership triad that indeed we can reaffirm that type mentality because “so far as an island …the [need or] for it was [absolutely not required as] in neighbouring countries.”

Look what labor peace and social harmony they spawned!

Writ to the world at large, you produced a balanced intellectual piece befitting an esteemed legal don at our local institution of educational excellence.

Yet you could have written this as a treatise for the disenfranchised with a rallying cry that some 70+ years since the publishing of that Commission report, Barbados – as developed as it is – remains as racially divisive and more corrupt. Fancier houses, more rich Black folks surely but have we truly ‘evolved’ or have we just gotten older with our same twisted ways….like that desire to flog.

You are a boss! I love your secret subversive side, even if I am fan club of ONE in that regard!! LOLL.

13. Dec 14/2015 Ajax, Ontario, Canada. 23:46 Hrs.

I have not seen parts I and II of Jeff Cumberbatch’s offering, but I do have very many concerns about the treatment of children, females, the elderly and persons with disabilities on this relatively small island paradise, many of us affectionately call, HOME.

As the very proud and honored parent of three of the most wonderful biological off spring and two equally wonderful adopted offspring and the foster parent of countless sons and daughters of aboriginal and Caucasian heritage, I am appalled at the level of violence on this island, and by extension, the ever escalating levels of abuse and violence (physical & sexual) perpetrated on our children on this island.

Barbados just celebrated 25 years of signing on to the Convention of the Rights of the Child. However, while we fail to punish adults for murdering their fellow human beings, we inflict the equivalent on innocent children, especially the youngest ones.

Article 1 (Definition of the child): The Convention defines a ‘child’ as a person below the age of 18, unless the laws of a particular country set the legal age for adulthood younger. The Committee on the Rights of the Child, the monitoring body for the Convention, has encouraged States to review the age of majority if it is set below 18 and to increase the level of protection for all children under 18.

Article 1 is very clear about the definition of a Child and how the UN feels about it. However, we do not apply Capitol Punishment to adults, but we say that a 16 year old child may consent to sexual activities, but that child cannot vote or enter into any other legally binding transactions.

Article 2 (Non-discrimination): The Convention applies to all children, whatever their race, religion or abilities; whatever they think or say, whatever type of family they come from. It doesn’t matter where children live, what language they speak, what their parents do, whether they are boys or girls, what their culture is, whether they have a disability or whether they are rich or poor. No child should be treated unfairly on any basis.

Again, we see a gross discrepancy in how children are treated in B’dos. Article 2 speaks to Non-discrimination – making it very clear, that no child should be treated unfairly on any basis. However our children are discriminated against daily. They are abused by ALL; and then they are asked to be responsible for the extermination of abuse from their environment. Very little is done to protect them from the ravages of abuse, poor parenting skills, pedophiles, the unqualified and the incompetent. Our children are told that they MUST report any and ALL abuse they suffer, the adults, the care givers and the protectors are EXEMPT. The adults, especially our learned professionals have no responsibility or compulsion to report abuse, actual or suspected.

Article 3 (Best interests of the child): The best interests of children must be the primary concern in making decisions that may affect them. All adults should do what is best for children. When adults make decisions, they should think about how their decisions will affect children. This particularly applies to budget, policy and law makers.

Article 4 (Protection of rights): Governments have a responsibility to take all available measures to make sure children’s rights are respected, protected and fulfilled. When countries ratify the Convention, they agree to review their laws relating to children. This involves assessing their social services, legal, health and educational systems, as well as levels of funding for these services. Governments are then obliged to take all necessary steps to ensure that the minimum standards set by the Convention in these areas are being met. They must help families protect children’s rights and create an environment where they can grow and reach their potential. In some instances, this may involve changing existing laws or creating new ones. Such legislative changes are not imposed, but come about through the same process by which any law is created or reformed within a country. Article 41 of the Convention points out the when a country already has higher legal standards than those seen in the Convention, the higher standards always prevail.

Article 28: (Right to education): All children have the right to a primary education, which should be free. Wealthy countries should help poorer countries achieve this right. Discipline in schools should respect children’s dignity. For children to benefit from education, schools must be run in an orderly way – without the use of violence. Any form of school discipline should take into account the child’s human dignity. Therefore, governments must ensure that school administrators review their discipline policies and eliminate any discipline practices involving physical or mental violence, abuse or neglect. The Convention places a high value on education. Young people should be encouraged to reach the highest level of education of which they are capable.

I close my comments by pointing out the gross failures of ALL BARBADOS to protect and guarantee the RIGHTS and FREEDOMS OF ALL OUR CITIZENS – ESPECIALLY SO – OUR CHILDREN.

This is best exemplified in Article 3 (Best interests of the child), Article 4 (Protection of rights) & Article 28 (Right to education). Our Prime Ministers consistently talk about good governance, the rule of law and good order. However, these three Articles consistently speak to standards – higher standards, and government responsibility. They also speak about budgets and funding. As a health care professional and administrator of some five decades, it has ALWAYS been my practice – NEVER ALLOW THE QUALITY AND STANDARD OF CARE TO BE DRIVEN BY BUDGETS OR FUNDING AVAILABILITY. THE NEED MUST ALWAYS DRIVE THE BUDGET.

What have we as a people done for our children to conform to the requirements of the United Nations Convention On The Rights Of The Child? Have we harmonized our laws and sought best practice? Have we sought the High Ground of Morality and Highest Standards?

On the morning of October 18/2015, I and other Barbadians attended a church service at the St George Parish Church to celebrate the 25th Anniversary B’dos signing on to the UNITED NATIONS Convention on the Rights of the Child. While there were many persons there, I do believe that the list of the absentees is of far greater importance. Conspicuously absent, were the Governor General, the Prime Minister, the Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate, the Attorney General, the Minister of Health and the Minister of Education; and Representatives from the Child Care Board. If we are to be believed, we must move away from the ‘the do as I say and not as I do, mentality. How and why do we continue to abuse our children, while we reward and compensate adults for behaviors which damage the very fabric, the welfare and well being of our great Nation Home, which will lead to the eventual demise of this, our great land. Let us wake up and begin the recovery process. Let us start to practice what we preach. Let us model the behaviors we want to see reproduced in others. Let us live love and create environments that are conducive to great lives and living. It is not the abundance of what we have that makes us great. It is the generosity of heart and spirit and the ability to be kind, compassionate and forgiving that defines who and what we are. We must ALWAYS be willing and committed to lending a helping hand and be firm, but gentle.

REMEMBERING ALWAYS, THAT PEOPLE COME BEFORE THINGS.

14. I am convinced that Barbadian society likes to TEST the PATIENCE of TIME .by which chaos and confusion forms a necessity for change and order

15. I found this article quite interesting, especially since I have not heard or read any official information coming from the Barbados government that would confirm this story.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/barbados-wants-to-ditch-the-queen-on-the-50th-anniversary-of-its-independence-a6772571.html

16. David

What I find interesting this morning is the Nations headline …”Legal stay” re tax clearance certicate…..could you put up the link.

Interesting from the point of view that this law was passed………it affects Lawyers,Doctors,Engineers,Accountants,etc……..the stay granted appears to be sine die.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

You dun know dat de ole man like to bring fanciful? discussions – out of de ordinary thoughts, euphemism fuh madman pun de loose.

I copy de following from de Internet.

As usual you, and udders, dun know dat de ole man are a regular internet tief but I was did thinking suppose dere was “an incident” during national dialogue to establish a Republic, a Republic wid new cuntstitional rules, powers of arrest fuh speaking or writing against the powers, remember “shoot some peeple and crack some heads”, rules dat only Fumbles Van Effing Winkles and he band of desperadoes know bout.

Jes suppose dat during a State of Emergency, jes like Hollande and he power hungry cronies enact in France, to stop de elections dat he was gine lose, (wunna play dat wunna ent know dat Hollande and he boys stage dat incident? Now tell me why, wid a whole stadium uh people, I gine explode myself outside de stadium and kill a few peeple instead uh waiting till de peeple leaving de stadium and self detonate, if of course I was did have the switch in de first place!!! Wunna ent see dat one uh de jackets get abandon when de jihadists find out dem was Guinea pigs??)

Anyway de ole man get tie up again.

Si I did talking bout de Republic dat gine get foist upon us, like dem doing wid Cahill, and like dem doing wid “Me Clare, who you??”.

Anyways I did studying bout one procedure wid Republics during a State of Emergrncy, It called Election by Acclamation and goes like dis

“We have an uncontested slate of representatives for the Republic.” Oh de ole man forget to state dat during de State of Emergency, potential contenders and opposition candidates get arrest and detained, sine recourse to judicial process, “because of subversive thoughts and other contrived crimes” dat WeJonesing and Adriel nitwit level at dem.

“As Chair of the Nominations Committee (I nearly say National Executive Committee) I Fumbles, duly appointed by Marston, want to Open the floor for other nominations for officers to be elected”

“Hearing that there are no other candidates as representatives for election to be officers for the Republic , I Fumbles now entertain motion to close and call for second.”

“I Chris Stinkliar second your motion, High Priest Fumbles, sovereign supreme, dada dada of the Republic of Barbados” “All in favor say aye, all opposed say nay

“I, Fumbles, by the power vested in me, by my buddy Marston, propose another motion which is to accept all duly proposed candidates for the government of the Republic of Barbados by acclamation ”

“Me thinks the ayes have it and therefore we accept all the candidates proposed for this election by acclamation to which I Fumbles Dadadada apply my seal”

It sound fanciful but wunna watch de big foot moves as de Republic I.e. DLP forever, unfolds in front we very eyes…

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I see Adriel Brathwaite, attorney general is telling the DBLP yardfowls that it’s okay to critize their masters, but there is a line not to cross. This clown still don’t get that they are the yardfow’s master only because the taxpayers allow them.

C. Wally….during the course of political independence somehow compassion has died and been replaced with satisfying all the many lusts and vices of the leaders and other adults on the island, they do not respect conventions of the child or anyone/anything else.

Saw some information on the internet yesterday which I knew to be accurate regarding Tim Hector and Bobby Clarke re their abuse of young girls on the island through the decades, as disgusing as those two were, there were/are leaders on the island who did and do so much worse, the operatative word being……. leaders.

As long as the centuries old status quo of discrimination and abuse of people on the island are steadfastly and stubbornly maintained, the leaders are not interested in any positive, uplifting or elevating changes.

The human index for positive development on the island will embarassingly continue to mirror or surpass the blighted appearance of the countries who fall below accepted international standards, because of the behaviors of the leaders on the island.

Art….the government chose to give a newsfeed to the Caribbean media early yesterday morning, you would have had to be on certain wavelengths to hear it, I guess Barbados’ media does not qualify.

19. @Vincent

Here is the link:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75594/legal-stay

On 15 December 2015 at 12:35, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. The proof of chaos in the socioeconomic structure lies in the many child abuse cases along with domestic abuse where inaction remains stalled while the rest of the world moves forward at rapid pace with legal mechanism for corrections of outdated and antiquated laws . Antiquated laws which has done nothing for the betterment but stiffle , choked and devalued human rights
    As an educated society “fear of change” is our biggest obstacle and a stumbling block which challenges the way things should be done

21. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

David, I do not know that on reflection we can be all that proud of our “historical society”. There was less conflict yes, but that was because there was less frequent challenge to the status quo. Would we want to be exactly like that again? And there is no society today that is totally free of problems, corporal punishment or not.

DIW, you are too clever by half. An excellent synthesis!

22. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Well written,ac!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“British settlers invaded Barbados in the 1600s”

That quote was for Moneybrain……you cannot invade an island devoid of people, there were natives on the island in the 1600s as the british themselves have acknowledged.

And the British commenters weigh in:

Definitions du jour: Constitutional monarchy = a republic with a mascot.
    ReplyShare0

265 days ago
    J.C. P.
    He’s our village blow-hard. And he doesn’t have the 2/3rds majority in Parliament… Carry-on please….
    ReplyShare0

266 days ago
    johsm
    Wrong question. Why did they not do it earlier?
    Wanting to be a citizen instead of a subject is normal for modern people in a modern country and lots of countries have dealt with their aristocrats properly decades or centuries ago.

And I say, if Mia does not support Fruendel, she should never be part of any further decisioning making on people’s lives in Barbados. I noticed that Cameron said that the decision is a matter for those concerned in Barbados, so why then did Fruendel not think it necessary to tell all the people in Barbados first and not just yardfowls first, the international community second and the people in Barbados got the third hand news from the british press.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@Artaxerxes

Say it ain’t so!!

You see that raga muffin Marston Gibson gone in Buckingham palace and ent tek off he hat!!!

http://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/styles/story_medium/public/thumbnails/image/2015/03/23/17/Barbados-queen.jpg

Internet Theft Again

“Removing one’s hat while indoors comes from respect of a tradition.

Removing of head coverings and saluting are tied to Medieval times where knights would lift their visors or outright remove their helms when presenting themselves to the king.

This can be seen as a sign of trust, exposing a vital weak-point, giving the knight an identity, and preoccupying the knight’s hand to prove he isn’t carrying a weapon…”

For dignitaries visiting Queens it is just a matter of respect

Wunna dun know Marston ent getting invite to de Palace ever again

And, as if to prove my fanciful point earlier, why was the Chief Justice, there again??? because Dem setting up for the imminent change.

Even Fumble DLP crew ent even know bout he President For Life plans

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is Marston or Good Luck Johnson???

26. Good Luck it looks like.

27. @Artax

It is the same old same old. Remember when Arthur, Billie Miller et al would drop a ton of info to New York Nation correspondent Tony Best?

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

At least Goodluck kept on his hat…lol ……Piece, even they are tired of the pretensive bullshit 1200 years is a very long time to perpetrate and maintain a fraud.

29. @pieceuhderockyeahright at 8:38 AM.. senor, on occasion you are dangerously funny as in uproarious and then at other times you are ‘dangerously funny’ as in ‘whooaa!’.

Which one were you aiming for re above?

I know that there are leaders out there who would accept the collateral damage death of their citizens to accelerate or maintain their hold on power and although I can’t see your scenario being true re Pres Hollande I can go along with the concept.

—–(The back-lash from the terror attacks could have driven greater sympathy towards the rhetoric of the xenophobic National Front party of Madame Le Pen- which it seemed to have done in the first round of their political voting process. His risk for failure were too high I offer; unless he was playing a double-bluff game!)—-

But, anyhow you certainly have all the ingredients for a best-selling spy/intelligence thriller and as I mentioned earlier that is a genre that absolutely warms my blood, so carry on smartly to develop your story…it has potential.

I can’t say the same about the Bajan side of your precis though. If the DLP gangsters have benefited so handsomely under the royal dispensation why exactly would they go to so much trouble (island collateral damage as you suggest) simply to change to a Republic model?

What additional graft and contrived processes will that introduce or increase that they do not already have?

Why all the palace intrigue simply to install new windows on our ‘palace’. There is no power grab, is there?

You need to do some work on the Bajan Republic story line….not feeling the vibe there! LOLLLL.

30. Ok Pieces, gottcha. Just caught the end of your 9:23 AM post. That answers all. Your story line fully explained.

Proceed apace and explain in your book how he gen swing that ‘For Life’ ting, though.

I gone. Until.

31. Can any one give a reason why Barbados should NOT become a republic in 2016 ?

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s the question I bet none of them can answer Hants….lol….Trinidad and Dominica are republics, the people still get to vote for a PM, political parties still exist. There is more transparency and the leaders, if they so choose, have total positive determination. The president for life makes the determination the british were often contacted about via the governor general and would now be more than happy to be rid of………..the president for life would have absolute responsibilities but everyone would be responsible for their own actions, no more blaming the system of slavery for anything, past or present.

As I see it, the naysayers are desperately trying to maintain the status quo of total corruption by hiding behind a dying british monarchy, I am sure the british would be happy to get rid of the Caribbean parasites who found a way to use corruption as a tool while hiding behind british traditions.

33. @ can anyone give a reaon why barbados should not become a republic

Answer.. For the same reasons address in the article. Quick to hold fastened to antuquated ideaologies and philosophies
    In the same way barbadians still belives in Santa claus and Easter bunnies which all if which are steeped in christain doctrines and pageantry

34. Could someone do a cost benefit analysis on the Republic issue so we could be assisted in making a decision.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

How much will be the cost of the grand parade for 50th independence celebration in 2016, what are the cost benefits of a celebration for 50 years of not being self-determining.

36. @Vincent

Some will pose the economic reasons others patriotic /nationalistic. Which side do you fall?

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Blogmaster.

Thank you for the ID clarification causing you dun know “all dem nigras dun look alike”

Oops, faux pas causing “all dem nigras” would include me wouldn’t it?

@ De Ingrunt Word

In case I din tell you Friday past, at de Feed my Sheep ting in town dere was a little “incident” during dat abridged version of de story when I did mention de beggar wanting to be a chooser causing he had a “smaller” piece uh meat in he styrofoam dish.

I din zactly truthful bout “wanting to dash de plate outta he hand” and during de scuffle me bifocals get it arm pull off, so I cyan see de faces nor letters too good and de glasses pun a side when I bird picking de keyboard pun de cuntputer.

De long and short of de Le Carre spy thriller is dat everyting dat dese fellas doing, dem doing in secrecy so I jes is a suspicious ole fella and if you tell me “good morning Methuselah” I gine jes nod me head and go back in me house and check me Bible to see ef you tif any pages from me Bible!!

@ Hants (he who send me tuh watch Kraven and dem udder disappointing box cart specimens)

Re your question bout the logical progression of a Republic. In addition to repeating de last part uh Whu I tell DIW bout being suspicious, my answer would be why no and, more importantly, what does it entail? While a “whoa A” eliciting remark I would like to suggest that that “election by Acclamation” remark is not so outlandish with this government which, having run on a campaign of FOI and integrity legislation, now considers $700 million agreements matters of national security and refuse to share details of a Waste to Energy plant with its citizenry

I was tuh axe you doah? Whey Dem get dis year Banks calendar girls from doah?barring 2uh dem de rest was sorta scallywaggish…you hear how dat one 3rf from de right laugh? Whuloss!!!

38. @David December 15, 2015 at 11:25 AM #

We have these phrases…..patriotic /nationalistic……what do they realy mean?

https://www.facebook.com/AmericanOverlook/photos/a.342779639158811.1073741828.339226922847416/482758401827600/?type=3

The above is the American view of being a patriot/nationalist……….what is the Bajan view……….what do they mean to you?

We subscibe to the capitalist materialistic world so economics must be our guide.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

From the same people who run for their thesauruses to define everything when they cannot justify or offer an intelligent explanation for the easily explainable…lol

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well and (legion)

Well well I bracket legion name cause I ent want to contaminate yo.

I am not against becoming a Republic for many of the reasons that you stated.

What does Barbados becoming a Republic entail?

It is because of those matters and policies and practices which you and I and legion? (Certainly the ingrunt one) don’t know, and which this rushed? Desire to dash down our throats , as an Independence gift, without any national dialogue, that I would be concerned.

Suppose the new regulations gave Stinkliar the power to extradite you or De Ingrunt Word from Canada because wunna say sumting bout Peter Harris and the collusion between doctors, lawyers and insured persons who are being shafted under less that honest practices at today?

Or giving the DPP power to send some Guyanese extrajudicial exactors to terminate anybody who talk bout he Jheri curl or overly lenient practices towards de bredren from Berbice dat get ketch a de port Dem?

This demands a process and thorough ventilation of The Element of Republic Change

Doan mind De Ingrunt AC, until de bright one get instruct to change de password, she going come heah and bray for hay in de mule shed…

41. @Well Well & Consequences December 15, 2015 at 11:48 AM #

Hahahahahaha……….I will not join the multitude to talk about your lack of comprehension……..keep on keeping on muh girl……

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Piece, I do share your concerns on certain things, because, if you remember Idi Amin, when some leaders realize they have absolute power, they quickly turn into DESPOTS and vicious dictators…. wait a minute, is that not the term Owen is using to describe Mia and Republic status has not even been obtained yet.

But with all despots, eventually someone always either effectively takes them out or they are banished and exiled from their country, like Baby Doc and Haiti.

So this lot in Barbados better trod very carefully and be more respectful of the citizens after they gain republic status. The international community makes a point of watching these processes.

43. @ Hants
    Can any one give a reason why Barbados should NOT become a republic in 2016 ?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Wunna fellows up in Canada hiding under the white man skirts could always talk shiite…

Anybody with any sense would want to subject themselves to a Republic designed by Froon, Stinkliar, Adriel et al?
    …wuh not one of them have managed to do ANY shiite right yet since 2008…

So a fella can’t manage a sugar crop;
    …he can’t manage to keep water/garbage/transport flowing..
    …he can’t manage to keep the hospital up and running…
    shiite, he can’t even manage an old white woman from Canada named Cahill…

So we should put him in charge of designing and implementing a WHOLE new system of governance – just for doing it sake…?
    But then again, …we put a chicken-feed-maker in charge of supervising our Insurance companies …and ended up with CLICO…

Brass bowls are unique….

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…

45. @Bush Tea December 15, 2015 at 1:09 PM #

On point.

Chuckle…..ah gine wait and see how long yuh can keep on point.

46. @ Bush Tea,

I hiding under a white lesbian skirt here in Ontario. lol

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman….that is where we will get all our entertainment.

48. Ac noticed how all and sundry have diverted from the orginalty of the subject matter in their ardent attempt no of avoidance
    A clear clue as to how some of the intelluctual gurus(hereon BU) keeps important subject matters on the back burner until they are burnt to a crisp

49. Bushie thanks for your usual whack.

@ Jeff Cumberbatch, how long would it take for a team of competent lawyers to prepare

all the legislation to change Barbados to a Republic ?