Submitted by William Skinner

Those who are not blinded by party loyalty to either the Democratic Labour Party or the Barbados Labour Party would have noticed some rather fancy political foot work, […]

over the last couple of weeks.

It seems that our struggling Minister of Finance, Mr. Chris Sinckler, is finding more common ground with our former Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Mr. Owen Arthur.

These two gentlemen have similar problems. Sinckler’s legacy will be that he failed on any and every occasion to get the economy moving in a positive direction. And we are slowly discovering that Athur’s much praised stewardship of the economy, during his three terms, is now almost demolished, by the revelations that many of the problems we have, were left unsolved. Both of them are being considered as outstanding failures.

Mr. David Commissiong, who was once in Mr. Arthur’s choir, has now determined that Arthur is a spent force; a colossal nuisance, who did little or nothing substantial, during his reign. What the erudite Commisiong failed to say is that Mia Mottley, the prime minister in waiting, has done considerably less and has far less to offer our country than Arthur. But I leave that there “fuh now” and will certainly return to it in another time and place.

We note that Sinckler is now openly embracing Arthur as a possible advisor to the DLP on economic matters. He has also associated himself with Arthur’s stand on the Dr. Maria Agard affair. Sinckler also told the students of the Parkinson Memorial School, that rougher times are ahead and Bajans need to stop complaining so much. We recall his newly found buddy Arthur saying that everybody wants to go to heaven but no one wants to die. Arthur also said that Bajans were becoming a nation of whiners. The messages are very similar: mush up de place and then blame de people.

But only those who are in deep slumber would be surprised by these developments. After all, Dr. Clyde Mascoll, who was once the major critic of Arthur’s economic policies, ended up in his cabinet!

We have a one party state peoples!

133 responses to “One Party State”

1. It has to be a rather bothersome reality to many that the sceptre of party politics remains so deeply entrenched. That coupled with a dose of good ole bajan selfishness continues to steer the ship further off course. Who would have thought that a person as well educated, and a person whose budding political career was so publicly retarded like the goodly attorney would in 2015 be spouting this clap trap in defense of a woman who has made it known her utter disdain for freedom of speech. And so that her defenders don’t get tied up I’m talking about long before the Dr Agard saga. Perhaps the man was made a promise that looks to inviting to pass up.

2. And the price of oil is at its lowest since 2009. Has anyone noticed the dramatic fall in price at the pump? Or, the tremendous reduction in the price of an airline ticket ( hint – LIAT). Oh, I thought not! Somebody in the kitchen doesn’t know when the water is boiling but wants to solve their problem by increase taxes. Matter of fact, he’s convinced that everyone must pay taxes and more taxes and that will solve the problem. The reality of the matter is that if Jesus and His Desciples started paying more and more tax the problem would still remain unresolved. Tax avoidance and tax evasion has been around from the beginning of time and the country prospered. How come all of a sudden the demise of Barbados as we know it is imminent unless coconut vendors, mini bus conductors, nut sellers and fisherfolk pay taxes?

Why not as(s)k yourself if the above mentioned are the real cause of our problems or is it the massive and unrealistic tax concessions you gave to foreign based companies that has us struggling to survive. Dummy, don’t you and the governor of the Central Bank realize that Massy, Republic, First Citizens, Sandals, McAl etc are sending home ever foreign dollar they collect in Barbados so as to prop up their struggling economies at home? And you are befuddled by the humongous drain of foreign exchange from the local economy?

You and your leaderless party are the cause of the problem and you and your leaderless party will be start of the solution when you demit office.

3. http://ct.moreover.com/?a=23673051934&p=1s3&v=1&x=KdLSwMbSQI_XQxScysDwfg

Finland is thinking of experimenting in 2017 with giving its people money in order to stimulate the economy….see link

Why is it that the only answer this govt has is tax and more tax as we slide back into recession.

I concur with the points made in this post.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hamilton Hill

Blood is thicker than water.

The author of this piece should have realised that Commissiong place in Arthur’s choir was a consequence of his relationship with Mia. It was never genuine support of Arthur. His mission is to get Mia elected as PM despite her obvious shortcomings.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fearplay…it’s a common practice and idiocy on both DBLP that none of them are even aware that the more concessions they dole out to foreign entities, not only that someone, other than the entities, have to pay for the generous concessions, but that someone is the already overburdened, with taxes, taxpayers. Politicians never seem to understand that someone has to pay for their generosity. Then they turn around and add more taxes to make up for the shortfall, they created…..a bunch of asses…lol

6. We need to focus on a leaking tax collection system. Isn’t this the reason BRA was established?

7. @David – the leaking tax collection system is manmade. If all of your major foreign exchange earners are foreign owned, it goes to reason that all profits will go overseas. With a foreign exchange shortfall, local tax leakage no matter how small takes on major proportions. Looking at my list above which admittedly is very limited, can anyone even begin to guess how much money is repatriated by these entities? That is money taken out of the local economy that must be topped up by increasing levels of
    taxation.

8. Caswell Franklyn is surely fighting for his own self relevance and continues to write of Mia’s short comings. Mr. Franklyn do have short comings??? Are you the perfect Union leader?. Mia has tremendous cabinet experience and successfully so. You have a group of Johnnies come lately right now running the country for their own personal gain and you continue to talk a bunch of crap.
    Who do you have in Barbados that is more qualified to lead the BLP and the government right now. Anybody with better qualifications state them. You have all newbies that came to be ministers when Thompson won in 2008 and they have not started to work after 7 1/2 years and you continue to spout a lot of garbage about the lady. Bring an alternative. There is no one and I mean no one in this country with a better grasp for the economy than Clyde Mascoll and she has him as her cheif advisor.
    Owen Arthur is history he inherited Sandifords difficult measures that were already bearing fruit when he won in 1994 and David Commissong is absolutely correct that he had little to do especially in his first term. Apart from VAT tell us what other major direct changes he made to the system.
    Now you have dumb ass Chris trying and just don’t know what to do and making him feel he is ever so mighty just to think that it will give him and the DLP some political mileage for a possible 3rd term. Sorry to disappoint you jokers but bajans have already made up their minds that they cannot suffer anymore under this ridiculous bunch and nothing you,Chris,Freundel,Owen nor Maria say will make a difference.

9. http://www.antillean.org/caribbean-disunity-new-actors-212/

We are continuing down hill.

10. Is this the same incompetent Owen Arthur he is now begging to guide him. Just watch the parliamentary clip in this blog…

11. @ bajan boy. …No one has a better grasp of the economy than Mascoll. Which one? Surely you have not forgotten the blistering attacks on GEMS and all those associated with it. …then the bold face endorsement. Yours is the kind of thinking that continues to ef up Barbados, but Caswell talking craps. With any luck we maybe treated to the spectacle of two boar rats (Messers Mascoll and Straughn)controlling one hole.

12. And is this the same Mascoll who stated over and overagain that the world was not in recession even though there was evidence of a global melt down
    Mascoll is a small fish in a big frying pan .Actually a political hum bug

13. Mia has tremendous cabinet experience and successfully so.

Apart from …. wait a minute, I now realise that you rehearsing for Comedy Fest. This is going to be good, where can I get a ticket?

14. I smell envy.. There is no one who ever predicted the correct outcome of the Barbados economy since the 1990’s like Mascoll did. Mascoll was totally correct on Gems and did what he had to do as opposition leader. Do u think we would be in this state now had he been PM or even Minister of Finance. They don’t ever come worst than this bunch n hopefully joined by Owen and Maria.

15. Apart from VAT tell us what other major direct changes he made to the system.

Please remind us of your dream girl achievements over the same period.

16. Get a life the economy of the 1990s was easily identified and analyize. Since then the world has become larger the same method and formulas that worked then have become likened to already arthur expired their shelf life.
    What Mascoll have you ever heard of the term one hit wonder there a a couple of caps with that logo maybe you can buy one for yourself and send the other one to Mascoll

17. It is interesting how Mascoll has now become the head corner stone with which MAM now seeks to construct her kingdom.

18. Has it not been always a one party state?
    Some where red and others yellow, but what else differentiates one from the other?

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“In other parts of the world one might see these as problems that can be resolved, but in today’s fragmented me-first CARICOM, caught between US materialism and Fabian socialism, it is no longer easy to see any regional basis for resolution, let alone implementation of solutions.”

Why is anyone surprised Caribbean leaders are not trying hard enough to get their houses in order…..Vincent…this is right up you and De Words alley, not having the ability to see problems being resolved or the implementation of solutions. Is that a Caribbean thing or what?

20. Funny how the world economy has gotten bigger according to you guys and our has shrunk by almost 20% in the past 7 years and it is fine to talk about Ewing Freundel Stuart and Chris Sinckler around after 2018. They should have been gone long ago.Still waiting to hear who would be your choice of PM if not the Honourable Mia A Mottley…

21. If Peter say dat we want she tuh be PM, wuh wunna worried bout? Is it because we doan vote for PMs? If so, then wunna should convince those that do, that she is the best choice. Peter trying he best so guh long and gih he a hand nuh.

22. “Since then the world has become larger the same method and formulas that worked then have become likened to already arthur expired their shelf life.”
    What Mascoll have you ever heard of the term one hit wonder there a a couple of caps with that logo maybe you can buy one for yourself and send the other one to Mascoll..”

Wait, you did drinking the “one eye man” and smoking herb when you did writing this shiite? Um en mekking nuh sense uh tall.

23. Mascoll is a small fish in a big frying pan? You have two “big fish” in your frying pan.

Chris Sinckler, who is the worst Minister of Finance Barbados has ever had. He is the “big fish” that Mascoll “USES for bait.” Sinckler cussed Owen Arthur left, right and center and saying he was responsible for the island’s economic woes. Rather than stand like a man and fart and admit he is a failure, Sinckler “stooped to poop” by begging the same Arthur for help,

Then there is Jeptar Ince who does not know the difference between “fiscal” and “physical,” yet he could get a pick as a parliamentary secretary in the Ministry of Finance. And the same “small fish” Mascoll always “EATS Jeptar for bait” each time they lock horns on economical issues.

24. Are u mascoll? Talk bout throwing a sprat to catch a whale

25. “Talk bout throwing a sprat to catch a whale”

Wuh, shiite, by your above comments you have admitted, in bajan terms, that Mascoll is a “big fish.” Although we all know a whale is a mammal.

26. Overheard in an address by the very same Jepter Ince…..when you reach a certain stage in life and you leave your parents’ home ‘yuh got to know that is when yuh cut de unbiblical cord’…..lol. I was told another Clico man told him it was the umbilical cord.

27. Mascoll ain’t sht he don’t know fish from fowl when it comes to the economy. Like trying to sprout grass and calling it green beans

28. @ Gabriel,

Why wunna doan Jepter sorry Jester alone??

Dis is de man who when he was guest sorry guess speaking at a meeting for the National Organization of Women saying that he knows how important it is for women to cut their public (pubic) hair (probably he would have spelt that here) to be attractive to their men folk!! You play you ent know doah dat Jester is a non-english speaking mo_fo…

29. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Bajan boy…. You alluded to the fact that if Dr Mascoll were the present Prime Minister of the country we would not be in this state. My brother I am inclined to agree with you, for there can be none worse than what we now have. Explain to us though exactly why he is not. Don’t worry…..let me tell you. He fell victim to the same alluring influence dispensed by that spent force. Fair play demands that the same contrite forgiveness shown by you to Dr Mascoll be extended to Dr Maria. At this time of yule wa ya say bajan boy? And in any event Dr Mascoll is unelectable given the path he allowed himself to be goaded to follow.

30. “Mascoll ain’t sht he don’t know fish from fowl when it comes to the economy.”

Let’s separate Dr. Mascoll the politician from Dr. Mascoll the economist. Then compare “Jester” Ince and “Stinkliar” to Dr. Mascoll the economist and you would get a better understanding who “don’t know fish from fowl when it comes to the economy.”

Dr. Mascoll has a MSc and a PhD in economics, with his specialty being government accounting (which is something Jester and Stinkliar cannot boast about, and their continual failures to address this island’s economic issues are demonstrative/evidenced of this fact). He was a junior Minister of Finance in the previous Owen Arthur administration. Dr. Mascoll is an economics lecturer at UWI Cave Hill, teaching your relatives and friends and their children.

However, prior to your colleagues (Thompson and his back stabbers) ousting Mascoll as the DLP’s opposition leader and him leaving the DLP as a result, you thought he was the “best thing since sliced bread” when it came to economic matters and was willing to take advice from him. But I guess your position changed when he joined the BLP.

But let’s look, for example, at your Minister of Education and teacher, Ronald Jones. Jones attempts an atrocious imitation of the English language. He cannot not speak well nor does he pronounce words properly. “Chilrun” (children) and “tree” (three) are two examples. Imagine what people in the regional and international political arena would think about Jones as Barbados’ education minister after hearing him speak. A total embarrassment and a poor example to “de chilrun.”

Hence, “(Jones) ain’t sht he don’t know fish from fowl when it comes to (education).”

31. These tires have run over the same sugar cane rows to long. So you change them, and add fresh air. What supposedly worked at one time, is not now. You don’t re-invent the wheel, you grease it. So many of our so called leaders can’t see the forest for the trees. So you start with the basics, and move forward. VAT was fine at 15%, what changed: greed, non compliance, thievery, overspending? There’s a lot to do, only problem is to find someone not on the take, businesses that are honest, and public servants willing to do there job, and not sit on their asses in government vehicles.

32. Madscoll talks democracy

33. australia 121/3 at lunch at hobart

34. What does it say about Windies cricket when a spinner has two of three wkckets in the first session in Australia of all places?

35. @Georgie Porgie, except for the first few overs they settled down and bowled fairly well.

36. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Bajan Boy please be mindful of the fact that this here forum is not like that of Barbados Today where you post a lot of bull and drivel, i was waiting for you to get here, the problem is you are just a boy so i will wait and see how you should be dealt with.

37. Hants December 9, 2015 at 10:05 PM #
    NOT TOO BAD AT ALL HANTS

38. “What the erudite Commisiong failed to say is that Mia Mottley, the prime minister in waiting, has done considerably less and has far less to offer our country than Arthur.”
    This is speculative Mr Skinner. She has never been Prime Minister of Barbados and her short tenure as opposition leader has been undermined from the beginning.

39. “Sinckler’s legacy will be that he failed on any and every occasion to get the economy moving in a positive direction”

Sinckler’s legacy will be that he persevered despite the odds. The odds are that he was not an economist; knew little or nothing about finance implemented failed police but remain undaunted through all the criticism thrown at him and I might be blind but I do not see the suffering of which we speak.. He did not fail for lack of effort or courage. he would easily be my politician of the year.

40. “He has also associated himself with Arthur’s stand on the Dr. Maria Agard affair”
    I recall Mr Sinckler saying that Dr Agard would be welcome in the party provide she was willing to abide by the rules of the party.

41. “Box Cart December 9, 2015 at 9:48 PM #

What does it say about Windies cricket when a spinner has two of three wkckets in the first session in Australia of all places?”

It can say two things either that the west indies pacers can’t bowl or the spinners are coming into their own. Boxcart have you never heard about spinners opening the bowling?

42. @ balance
    Mia Mottley was a Deputy Prime Minister and has held some major portfolios in cabinet. She was also a member of the cabinet for three consecutive terms and is one of the longest serving parliamentarians. Do tell me what has distinguished her from the other twenty nine we have in our parliament. Do tell me what particular skills she has displayed that can give us any more confidence in her abilities than anybody else. As for being “undermined” in her party, that is no different from the undermining that others have endured.
    As for Sinckler , while your position that he is quite fearless may be in order, however I can assure you that: bungling in budget presentations, failing to be more than clear on such basic issues as VAT, constantly having to go back on his words and the unnecessary outbursts that do not add to the stature of his office, are not the qualities we expect from a Minister of Finance.
    On the Maria Agard affair, Sinckler said quite clearly Arthur speaks for me(him) on this one….. or words to that effect.

43. @William Skinner December 10, 2015 at 6:08 AM #

Under our present “Primer inter Pares” parliamentary system only the PM can shine or seen to be doing something and leave a legacy any attempt to change this status quo will result in what we has been playing out for a long time and now coming to an end.

44. Leadership

Magufuli cleaning streets in Tanzania……memories of EWB cutting cane in the 60’s.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-35049628

45. Still waiting to hear who will replace Mia as best suited to lead this country after the disgraceful display by this inept group..

46. The leader will be who the parliamentary group decides.

47. Something about this story is confusing me,I thought another minister had said good bye and good riddance to them……hmmmm……must be my senility

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/10/please-stay-dont-go/

48. @ Vincent
    “Please Stay” shiite!!
    Damn traitors…..SAGICOR.

The only real difference between Sagicor and Clico is that the players in the former are mostly white, less ‘in your face’, and have better connections.
    Imagine at a time when aggressive companies in T&T, Canada, UK, …even Latin America now are battling to buy up corporate Barbados, SAGICOR, our 150 year-old flagship, is looking to pull anchor and run off to hide in some albino-country.

This has to be the most dinosaur-like organisation in the whole region. After DECADES of exploiting witless Bajans under the ‘Mutual’ banner, they incorporated – when it seemed that BLACK Bajans could assert their rightful control, and have since used leeches like Sir Cave Hilary, Ann Gittens etc (who were selected to represent BLACK interests on the board) to re-assert their white centricity. No surprise therefore that they will now run off to their ‘mother-country’ ….now that the going gets a bit rough and there is no more ‘easy pickings’ in Bim.

Those incompetents bowls could not even break even with Barbados Farms …. and have only stayed there after (a BROKE) government promised to hand them a fist full of BAJAN TAXES. After 150 years, the CEO says that they only know about ‘insurance’….

Did you hear the CEO speak at the last AGM? …or the fellow they have in charge of Barbados Farms….?
    Shiite man!!!

Please stay shiite…
    Many of those &*%$# should be ‘staying’ at Dodds…

49. On the same note William; I can ask how have those currently in Parliament and the majority of those before distinguished themselves or what exceptional abilities have they displayed to merit our confidence more than Ms Mottley. Since you have referenced quotations by Mr Sinckler and Mr Arthur in your post to reinforce your submission ; I suppose there will be no objection If I refer you to Mr Arthur’s own words in relation to the confidence he reposed in Ms Mottley when he said in one instance ” I am preparing Ms Mottley for high office’ and in another ” Mrs Mottley has a lot to offer the people of Barbados”. So it would seem that Mr Arthur did repose confidence in Ms Mottley. Unless Mr Arthur is a hypocrite or deceitful or was playing games with the country or was disingenuous; giving her at such a young age ministerial responsibility for such high profile portfolios as Education, science and Technology, Attorney General and Economic Affairs and making her Deputy Prime Minister as well is in my view solid confidence in her abilities. What say you. By the way Skins; like her or hate her, there is no better debater in Parliament.