Afra Raymond

In this provocative talk, Afra Raymond takes a deeper look at race and racism. He successfully uses the talk to place a new perspective on how we think about race [โ€ฆ]

and its role in corruption.

Sobering commentary on the sad reality of how things happen or donโ€™t happen in our society. The comparison with India and Nigeria make it all the more haunting. We have failed and we have to do better – Chip Sa Gomes

380 responses to “Is it Only White People Who Can be Racist?”

1. NO RACISM IN BARBADOS. Just ungrateful black people who do not appreciate being elevated from “slavery”.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/10/ungrateful/

2. WW wrote,
    And yes, you are perfectly correct, no doctor wants his daughter married to anyone he considers beneath him and his daughter, as bizzyโ€™s family show cased, but again, that is what the practice of racism breeds.

WW my example was NOT racial since the Dr, his daughter and the Rasta are all black. My point is that all peoples regardless of race, class or creed DISCRIMINATE! This was exactly Afra’s point, how people delude themselves.

3. Trinidad and Guyana are two countries where political leaders use race and divisiveness to gain power.

In Barbados the political leaders use yardfowlism by black party supporters while the white minority treat politicians and party politics as an “investment”.

In 20 years the remaining white owned businesses in Barbados will be owned by foreigners and we will change the national anthem…..

” these fields and hills beyond recall are NOT our very own”

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB…you still miss the point, blacks do practice racism against each other, like the headline suggests, ‘is it only white people who are racist” no it’s not Money, blacks also learned how to practice racism and they do so rather effectively, but only against each other.

Each and everyone in existence through those eras learned how to practice racism, too many do so with glee. Do you think there is something in black people’s brain that disables them from practicing racism and why would you think that Money?

5. Hants
    Can we be sure that what Cow said was reported correctly?

The guy many love to hate is Trump and the reporting of what he said about Banning Muslims has been purposely distorted by the US so called “professional media” houses. He made it very lucid that he believes that Washington DC or Govt is NOT up to the task of vetting Muslims to determine who are acceptable or who is most likely to be of a Jihadist philosophy. He said UNTIL the Govt reviews and develops detailed tactics then the Immigration process should be stopped. Actually for intelligent peeps and those with good hearing he was dissing Washington more so than Muslims, Trump NEVER said to Ban all Muslims permanently.

So can we be sure that Cow said exactly what was reported? Wont the media have more fun by distorting reality? Stirring the racial aspects? Tycoon types are known to be relentlessly aggressive, that is the root of their success. Everyone wants to hound Cow but at the end of the day he employs many Bajans as in this Apes Hill Project 400 instead of 8 when it was the Dairy. Who else in Bim grows his business to create jobs? NOT the Govt thank God! Problem is that Govt letting thousands of people go! It is easy to hate rich people but how many of the haters have the work ethic and intensity to build massive businesses that provide JOBS? I am not saying that Cow, Trump are always right!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maybe now that Cow is acting like he saved black people in Barbados from slavery, the useless and corrupt DBLP leaders will open their eyes and stop enabling the likes of cow, bizzy and bjerkham in trying to re-enslave their people. Granted some workers are lazy, but when slavery ended neither cow or bizzy’s family had a pot to piss in or a window to throw it out of, blacks of yesteryear, through hard work and determination against all odds, built the country, some went to Panama, US, England and Canada and sent money back for family or brought back money to develop the island…the ungratefullness now shows in Cow, that he was given an opportunity to enrich himself and now he thinks he is lord of the island. He ought to recognize that if it was not him, some other dude would provide jobs, does he think when he croaks that blacks will sink into slavery again and never work again., is this clown losing his mind.

Black bajans need to get off their asses and stop depending on these people for work, they have been educated at taxpayers expense only to be depending on parasites less educated than themselves. My daughter read this and wants to know what the hell is going on and what type of leaders would allow this idiocy.

7. Hants the A Team getting some warm lashes as expected. Why didnt Carlos play? Why dont they understand that a good Off Spinner is a necessity, look how Braff and Blackwood did compared with the others, and they are part timers. Roachie and Gabby should NOT be in the team together and ahead of Carlos. 2 for 1 to come or rain. SAD!

8. @balance

…blacks also learned how to practice racism and they do so rather effectively, but only against each other.

++++> >++++>

I am still trying to wrap my head around this theory,(black on black racism) any assistance you can render will be appreciated greatly.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Try wrapping your head around the experience the ‘inferior whites’ who were Barbadosed and mistreated, treated no better than garbage, inbred and ignored, that would be Moneybain, Cow and Bizzy’ ancestors and were treated that way by their white “Superior” brothers in England.

Their last role before emancipation was that of the indentured servant. They experienced racism from their own in it’s most basest form. Anyone can practice racism against each other, it’s not unique.

10. WW
    Blacks dont practice Racism with each other it is DISCRIMINATION based on status/ success. Typical for almost all humans.

11. @balance
    Sorry for calling your name earlier.

@ Well Well
    Thanks, but all I can say is well well. I hear you.

I get what you are saying but l think you should be using a different word.
    Discrimination like Moneybrain suggested, classism, tribalism, clannism… whatever, but racism; no.

One love.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Raw…..You and MoneyB can call it whatever makes you feel happy and what sounds sexy to you. Tribalism falls under yardfowlism. Racism is racism because many blacks don’t even believe they are black, they call themselves high yellow, high brown, red skin and all types of dumb shit. You cannot tell a Hindi Madras they are black and they are darker in skin shade than most blacks, you cannot tell Indians in general they are black because they use their racist caste system against each other that designates status based on skin tone. You cannot tell Arabs they are black for the same reason. Blacks have also learned the practice/system of racism and use it accordingly.

Racism is racism regardless of how you want to analyze it. Anyone feeling themselves superior to each other or to any other group is a racist. There were very few blacks jews in Hitler’s Germany, the people who he gassed were similar in skin tone to him, that did not stop him from using propaganda, genocide and racism against those people to satisfy his sick ideology. Ya’ll acting like blacks are too dumb to know the difference.

13. I got you now.
    Since skin tone alone does not denote race, it is indeed possible to have black on black racism.

Forgive me, my head hard and now it is hurting too.

14. WW

MoneyB could never be inferior to high up English Whites because in my family lines we have had much success eg Bdos Scholars, Cambridge and other top Unis grads, 4 Knights way back in 1700s, my children graduated Magna Cum Laude, I pissed around at HC but still migrated to Toronto with nothing,knowing no one of influence and still reach a decent Net Worth(top 2% in Canada), almost all my nephews went to HC—so high brow English Whites could NOT keep us down. Non of them can keep down clever/ hardworking black Bajans either! Besides plenty dem lost the old Manor House anyway and like nuff bulling.

WW, you are relatively astute but you keep insisting that Discrimination is racism and that its only source is from whites , neither is the reality! In Bim we have Racism, SHADISM, discrimination—all because that is the way Humans are—-look at the hate between Nth Irish, mainly Catholics versus Anglicans and the English. Humans can be very DESPICABLE!

15. @WW&Q

Lawdy,lawd…..yuh musse got shares in a pharmacy as yuh gi’en nuff hedakes ’bout here.

Prejudice I repeat prejudice….that is all it boils down too…..superior vs inferior(perception),rich vs poor,pigment shades,birth,etc,etc……….

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I want Moneybrain’s head to hurt when he hears the jews don’t want racist Donald Trump in Israel and he is lying and say he canceled the trip when it was Netanyahu told him to get lost, the jews feel he is being racist against them and the muslims with his white supremist rantings that is causing chaos and havoc, of course ya’ll will probably call it discrimination, tribalism, classism, all types of ism and schism….lol…. shit falling apart at the seams.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/king-win-lose-trump-energized-white-supremacists-article-1.2461160

17. @Well Well & Consequences December 10, 2015 at 12:51 PM #

You have hit the nail on the head……’isms have very fine line seperating them and sometimes overlap but they are all the progeny of prejudice…….lets see if you can settle that in your brain box.

18. WW
    I have never said Trump speaks properly on Immigration, Muslims, Racial matters etc. He riles up the people who are fed up with Washington DC, he is an absolute idiot for taking things too far or expecting the “overly liberal and unprofessional” media to be unbiased. They are ALL out to get him (media, Pols/ Repubs et al ) and he uses that to fuel his base building because many Americans are fedup with Washington DC, media BS, so called Political Correctness/ PC, Double Talk etc.

Personally, I dont think Trump will win the election unless he makes his positions crystal clear on all the controversial areas and explain in detail what he intends to accomplish. He is receiving 35 % of Repubs vote because of the perception that he will TAKE ACTION to defend the Homeland better than anyone else. Most Pols are just mouthers as we all should appreciate.

19. WW
    Trump has received about $ ONE Billion in FREE advertising and from that perspective he has been brilliant, showed how to Save $$$$$. Maybe he had to be a lil crazy to pull that offf?

20. WW
    U say how racist Trump is but on The Apprentice he gave crazy ass Omarosa plenty nuff exposure, when she was fighting with anybody who was still breathing (some have said her man, the great Clarkey of Green Mile fame wanted to die to get away from her). He had on plenty African Americans and some Won, seemed to me that he was fair. Now the white comedien cow who won???????

21. Well Well & Consequences December 10, 2015 at 10:59 AM #
    Anyone can practice racism against each other, itโ€™s not unique.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    eg Shankill Vs Falls Road, the Protestants against the Catholics in Northern Ireland.

A Catholic man once told me, you can walk the streets of New York and readily distinguish blacks from whites. He continued, that here in Northern Ireland where all are white , you only have to see a man walking down the street to be able to tell whether he is Protestant or Catholic.

22. “we en’ prejudice, but we does discriminate!” Wasn’t that Jeanette Layne-Clarke?

23. @Well Well, let’s accept that you are right that “Racism is racism regardless of how you want to analyze it.”!

I suggest that you are no different to the Donald’s election campaign as you prosecuted this issue and like him, as MoneyB suggested, you too have gotten your $$$$ of free BU mileage on this point. And again just like Trump you are asserting ideas and positions that have long ago be shown to be wrong-headed.

Trump wants to label all Muslims as terrorists despite sensible and practical evidence that such rhetoric hurts rather than heals the situation; he wants to build a Mexican wall when the tunnels can’t all be found. BECAUSE he enjoys bombast and is running to further enhance his business empire and EGO under the guise of a Presidential bid.

You are advising that Blacks are racists towards other blacks despite the absolute impossibility in real language terms. What the hell are YOU trying to prove with your semantic, intellectual dive off this mountain of race-talk? LOLLLL.

Colonel….quite understandable, but some won’t understand. Peltdownman…..it’s called racial discrimination, among other discriminations. MoneyB….lol I know you will be pissed when they throw Trump out on his ass, I remember Amarosa, a real piece of work, no different from Trump or Pierce Morgan, another idiot.

Yeah Vincent……racial prejudice.

Trust me MoneyB….Trump is not interested in defending any homeland…him and the Arab billionaires are tight and business partners, trump is all about stirring up as much worldwide havoc and chaos as he can so as to line his pockets, he might not even be as interested in the presidency as he’s pretending to be. He is very close to being deemed unsuitable and kicked out, there are rules governing candidate’s behavior while campaigning and he knows this.

Washington will always be greedy and self-serving just like Trump, until they are individually locked up for corruption, etc.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

De Word….you are starting to lose it…lol

Whites can show racial prejudice to whites they deem inferior. Indians can show racial prejudice to indians they deem inferior. Arabs can show racial prejudice to arabs they deem inferior. Asians can show racial prejudice to asians they deem inferior…..All those groups can also show racial prejudice to blacks they deem inferior.

But, according to ya’ll, it’s impossible for blacks to show racial prejudice to other blacks they deem inferior, although they can and do, why do ya’ll think blacks are more retarded and incapable of showing racial prejudice than any other group. People are people and capable of any negative practice or behavior. Or is it you believe blacks are too saintly to practice racial prejudice or racial discrimination against each other….exactly what is confusing you..lol

26. WW
    The GOP/ RNC will NOT kick Trump out as they know he will go Independent and that will lead to Dems being given the election! Even Doggy Hil will win easily then! Most Pols anywhere need locking up!

All Trump needs to do is calm down and explain indetail the how, why etc without just creating sensational sound bites. The Muslim lady who heads some Muslim Repub group says that they will vote for him once he clarifies a few points. Personally, I dont care who is Pres,once it aint Hil!!!

I want the fun of debates between Trump and Hil or Cruz and Hil, they will shred her pink botsy!

27. i get the impression that at some point one of your teachers/professor would have described you as ‘bright, but often too fixated on own opinion to move on’. LOLLL, Oh lawd.

From day one @Vincent told you exactly THAT was the point. The issue is ‘prejudice’ and @Bush Tea added ‘power’.

Vincent reiterated both a few posts back… yet this semantic dance came down to you NOW saying back to me (us) : “itโ€™s impossible for blacks to show racial prejudice to other blacks they deem inferior”.

You are right, “exactly what [was] confusing you”. Woe, what a whirling waltz of words!

28. racยทism
    หˆrฤหŒsizษ™m/Submit
    noun
    the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races.
    prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one’s own race is superior.

WW this is the definition of Racism it is INTER racial, NOT INTRA racial. I am surprised by your approach to this, but that is cool.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….MoneyB….I don’t want Hil there either, but they might not have a choice, Trump is a loose cannon and all about Trump. There really are no suitable candidates and Sanders is a socialist, no one likes socialism, when capitalism is the countries’ lifeblood.

The real danger with Trump lies in the fact that he already stirred up the hardline neo-nazis and white aryan supremists, giving them hope that under his presidency they will be allowed free rein to practice their evil acts and turn America into a supremist’s wet dream. When he don’t deliver because he was bullshitting all along, those dudes are well armed, it will be all out urban war and there will be no appeasing them, people will die. David Duke, the grand wizard has been waiting for years to unleash mayhem via race war. Trump is doing crap, let’s hope they take him out first.

30. To be clear, of course your remarks quoted were rhetorical and meant as a positive by you. The key words from your quote in making my point of the waltz are ‘prejudice’ and ‘deem inferior’!

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Money…..the problem with the dictionaries definition of racism is that it does not address the reality of racism. I spoke to a Hindi female out of India some years ago, she told me bluntly that the indians in India, do not consider the indians in the Caribbean part of the indian race, now if that is not racism, that means racism does not exist. When you don’t acknowledge people who have the same characteristics as you and I know that happens in every bloodline (race), because you believe them inferior, not part of your race, because you deem yourself superior, that is racism. It’s a philosophy.

32. WW if you are saying everybody has prejudices, I think you are correct. I try not to have them . When I haven’t been down to the island in a while I like to mix with the locals and go to a bunch of garage sales to see if I can get some of my stuff back.
    MB one more attack in the US and trump may win.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes Lawson, racial prejudice in one form or another, at one level or another, we are all quite capable of practicing it on each other….unless we are brain dead, nor a small innocent child.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Should read….or a small, innocent child.

35. Moneybrain
    You went to HC?And you defining Racism?My man,there is only one race,the human race.Stop writing shoite.Wunna educated?JA.You en know ignorance is a curse,yuh johnny.

36. @Well Well & Consequences December 10, 2015 at 3:57 PM #

Chuckle…..for the umpteenth time racism is a prejudice……no need to say racial prejudice,it is redundant.

@DIW

Ah think we getting their with WW&Q……..hopefully….lol

37. WW
    That is one way Trump could redeem himself by clearly stating he will also go after extremist of every kind Christian Crazies, White Supremacists etc

38. @Dee Word

Trump is a jackass. However the more scary part of his mouthings and political rhetoric is that his message is resonating with a large chunk of White America, latent feelings rising to the fore perhaps? Whatever the reason, we have a problem. ISIS is about winning minds not bombing people. They will get it eventually.

On 10 December 2015 at 20:09, Barbados Underground wrote:

39. Gabby, I know you dont have the brains to comprehend what I write, regrets!
    If your IQ doubled it would still be under 100! lol
    Dont get upset because you went school at the Pipe, pun a Saturday night, in July!

Just playing wid yah.

40. WW
    I have met Africans with the same view of Cbean Africans. Keep telling U that Humans are messed up. English peeps think they are much better than I because I am Bajan, talk like a black guy. Self confidence and knowledge is what every individual requires, I mashed up some outspoken fools when I was at Uni in England swweeeeet fah days, U would have been proud of me!

41. @ Money Brain,
    You do worry me. Why do you engage in these fruitless arguments? All races, to a degree, harbour deep entrenched racism about other races. I have just been listening to the BBC World Service which has brought out a series focusing on โ€œSoul musicโ€. The show uses as a back drop well know songs in each documentary to tell a narrative. You may not have heard of Emmett Till; but I am certain that you must be familiar with Billie Holiday and her haunting rendition of the song entitled โ€œStrange fruitโ€.

I would ask you to carry out a google search on Emmett Till. He was a fourteen year old Negro boy who was savagely lynched for, allegedly, having wolf-whistled a Caucasian female.

The title of this post โ€œIs it Only White People Who Can be Racist?โ€ is really a misnomer. We can perhaps argue that blacks are equally as racists as whites. Where I would beg to differ from you is that the black man has never been conditioned to lynch, rape, murder and to commit atrocities against other races. It is simply not a part of his DNA.

The Caucasian has maintained his hegemony over other races through his racist ideology, which begat violence and complete economic submission over a number of races and peoples of this world.

To conclude I would say that I probably hold some racist views. However I would never deny a Caucasian a job simply because of their colour. Neither would I lynch a Caucasian or shoot him like a dog in my role as a police officer simply because of his colour.
    Money Brain it is time for you to open your mind.

http://www.democracynow.org/2004/5/28/cornel_west_on_the_death_of
    Cornel West on the Death of Emmett Till, 9/11, Preemptive Wars and Race in America

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB…lol…..it’s an ongoing battle for everyone…….the philosophy of superiority has been discredited for a couple decades, but people refuse to abandon the concept. I know of Caribbean people as well as black Americans who went to Africa and had some ugly experiences, some were told openly they were not black because they were from the west and not considered as having an African heritage. Many people from the Caribbean, as you know, you can go to any country in Africa and find a look alike of them, yet they are not accepted in their own race…go figure.

Vincent….you will get it someday…lol

43. What if his color was red and green spots

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Exclaimer…that Emmett Till story was ugly, his mother insisted on an open casket, it was gruesome to see and downright wicked what those racists dudes did to him, funny enough, decades later, people came forward and admitted that thd white heifer who said he whistled at her, lied just because she could and caused his brutal death. Racism is ugly, regardless who is practicing it. It is true that using racism to violently destroy another person is not yet encoded in the black DNA. It’s been 150 years since the abolition of slavery and a good 50 years after political independence, the exposure to practicing racism is relatively new to blacks, before that blacks experienced the victimization and violence racism breeds. Everyone feels racist tendencies, but I would not want it encoded in my DNA as has happened to whites, it’s now a disease of the mind very unhappy and ugly to witness.

45. @ Lawson,

Lay off the booze!

46. @Exclaimer December 10, 2015 at 6:31 PM #

Suggest you read up about the great ancient Kingdoms of Africa and their conquests……rape,pillage,slavery has always been part of the human norm with respect to conquest…..in recent times it is responsible for us being in the Caribbean…..nothing new under the sun.

47. Quite correct David, “Trump is a jackass”. But in the words akin to Mighty Sparrow, ‘dat is one jackass that will bray…all the way to the bank”.

If one lives in the US then with a sense of self preservation one can actually hail the Donald for reminding us of the rabid racism that abounds still in the hearts and minds of the many.

So though they be “scary part of his mouthings’ it’s still great that as Artax said in another context ‘come out tings’.

Imagine this week a US Supreme Court Judge basically said to the US nation and his Black colleague judge Clarence Thomas, ” bro, we know dat you really ain’t intelligent enough to cut it up here where the work is fast and furious so why yah don’t just carry ya Black backside off de people Court campus”. He wouldn’t talk like that you say! Well, he definitely THINKS in that racist, disparaging way.

Anyhow, the Donald may never be President but he may become a political player in a way even more frightening that the Presidential position. The man has caught the political bit between his teeth and as we know from “You Are Fired’ exposure he will run with it until it dies a natural death.

For sure the cottage industry ahead of books, presentations et al surrounding his presidential bid will be huge….he has changed everything every written in recent years about US political palaver. Evating! And upended the political world completely.

I’ll have to go back and check what more the master Nico M says about him… cause fah sure, the Machiavelli assertion that a leader should never keep his word when it no longer makes sense to do so is exactly Trump. LOLL.

48. @Vincent at 7:05 PM, I think we can assume that @Exclaimer is familiar with the wonderful continent of Africa and Kemet and those wars, rape and pillage of which you speak. He must.

I suspect that like our blog friend Well Well it’s just a case of prosecuting the issue based on the atrocities of the White side – and there were MANY – thus such references are not needed.

It’s amusing (shocking really) to see Well Well suggest “It is true that using racism to violently destroy another person is not yet encoded in the black DNA… the exposure to practicing racism is relatively new to blacks”.

That is perfect intellectual hari-kari or whatever!

49. Exclaimer wrote
    All races, to a degree, harbour deep entrenched racism about other races.

That is exactly my point, it isn’t a purely a White attribute it is Human. I am not at all proud of the way Black peeps have been treated by some Whites. But I can guarantee that Black peeps have been racist in my direction without any rational basis concerning my actions or behaviour. I willingly state that in my experience in Bim that my observation as a child and a youth, that Whites were more guilty of ill treatment of blacks. Indeed, I do think blacks were more justified in being racist due to historical factors. Generally as I grew up there were many times more black people who were friendly towards me (and liked my company) and only a few who behaved unjustifiably racist.

Exclaimer, Black men dont Rape and Murder??????????????????? You do know that nearly as many black people,2491 are murdered in the USA annually as Whites,3005, in spite of there being approx 4TIMES more Whites? You do comprehend that Blacks murder Whites 409, at a much higher rate than Whites murder Blacks, 189 but whites are 4X the population of Blacks. (Stats from FBI). The key here is that far too many Black men are murdered by Black men—a solution MUST be found some suggestions 1 legalise Ganja and other drugs, 2 deliver proper/ Job Education and Training, disarm the bros in the hood.

I do agree that some Whites have treated Black people badly, the Emit Till story is but one of far too many.

Skippa, you need to take your reading to a higher level. All I do pun here is play Devil’s advocate from time to time and question when people make all encompassing statements about ALL White people being negatively disposed to Black people, it is not so, especially in this period of history.

50. David wrote
    ISIS is about winning minds not bombing people. They will get it eventually.

U do appreciate that ISIS has killed far more Muslims than any other group? Would Muslim minds not be easier to win than Westerners minds?????????? I have seen interviews with Shia Muslims in Beirut who consider ISIS as their number 1 enemy more so than Israel or the US. Many would migrate to the US or Europe in a flash, just like the Africans who routinely traverse jungles, the Sahara and The Med to get into Europe.

Please feel free to explain the logic that I am missing here.