Afra Raymond

In this provocative talk, Afra Raymond takes a deeper look at race and racism. He successfully uses the talk to place a new perspective on how we think about race [โ€ฆ]

and its role in corruption.

Sobering commentary on the sad reality of how things happen or donโ€™t happen in our society. The comparison with India and Nigeria make it all the more haunting. We have failed and we have to do better – Chip Sa Gomes

380 responses to “Is it Only White People Who Can be Racist?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…we are still dealing with the Caribbean. Afras article is about what is happening in present day West Indies re racism and corruption, one problem at a time….we have not moved on to the rest of the world yet, that’s a different story as we can see playing out.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And as the Colonel just articulated, I only just read that. Again….racism and corruption are practices used as weapons eg crazy ass Hitler, et al to brainwash and some use them to control. Ya can’t get away from that truth.

3. TheGazer (formerly The Observer) Avatar
    TheGazer (formerly The Observer)

@lawson December 8, 2015 at 8:33 AM

Which one is racist both? neither? or are they just funny

I say the last one is racist. In the first one there is no mention of race. In the second race is mentioned. Also, the fact that mace is involved would suggest that one of the parties was not consenting.
    Some racist sh!t.

4. TheGazer (formerly The Observer) Avatar
    TheGazer (formerly The Observer)

I must acknowledge that aging has brought on a decline in memory. However, I seem to recall that this is a questionfrom the sixties, where some would argue that a people with no power or money could not be racist. Racism was more than just words, more than calling names, it was also the power to have a negative impact on those towards which it was directed.

5. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Vincent @ 4:41 PM… a hearty LOLLL re “Could you kindly one more time try to explain to Well Well & Consequences the facts of life,as my efforts are proving futile”. If your succinct truisms don’t work you really expect my long winded verbiage to succeed.

So let’s go with @Col Buggy’s remarks. “…as they [WHITE German POWs] put it , were treated like sh** by the White American camp guards”.

If that does not validate (AGAIN) for @Well, Well that this term racism is all about POWER and PREJUDICE then not sure what will.

The blogger is caught up in a tunnel vision that refuses to accept that throughout history laws and regulations have changed to suit the societal normative of the time.

What was basic prejudice that was guardedly dismissed has become rampant racial discrimination in our time so yes we have to counteract that with laws. However there is no standard to which we could return that will could ever remove prejudice from society. That’s just simply impossible.

So too with corruption. Individuals has always sought an advantage. Now its rampant and there are laws to punish ‘advantage taking’. But there was never a pristine existence without corrupt officials and citizens. Never. Wasn’t a snake the supposed first corrupter?

Well Well has a good heart and her/his head in the stars. Absolutely nothing wrong wid dat!

“Any practice that is counterproductive to human development and progress can be made unlawful and the practice made punishable.” But, are the practices ever abolished. NEVER!

There are laws against adultery…it happens every day. There are even laws against peeing in the street…it happens every day. Notice I used all the tings “related to [us] long dead males” who can’t over’stand these tings! LOLLL

6. @de Ingrunt Word December 8, 2015 at 7:25 PM #

Chuckle….thanks for the prolix…..let us hope that it has registered,one can but try.

7. prolix, prolix, prolix. Get it ????? pro de facto lix ad infinitum prolix…..bare wrasse whole pro….lix. PROLIXis like a freakin communicable disease.

Please try one ah dese fuh a change.

http://www.brainjet.com/random/3996/14-complicated-words-you-can-use-in-everyday-language#page=1

8. BREAKING NEWS.

PAGE 1 AND PAGE 3 of BarbadosToday.

9. “Vincent Haynes December 8, 2015 at 1:33 PM #

@balance December 8, 2015 at 1:22 PM #

You are aware that Sir David Seale indicated on VOB 6.30 some time ago that he was not permitted membership in the then Royal Barbados Yacht Clubโ€ฆ..I also happen to know of such situations back then.”

That would be regarded as classism but I do not believe Sir David. Sir Charles once implied in an interview that his family was poor. The facts of his family history does not support his assertion.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

De Word….with all of that, in trying to assauge Vincent and his and yours racism and corruption is human nature, both of you refuse to deal with and acknowledge the destruction that both racism and corruption are wreaking on the Caribbean islands or suggest a way to change people’s views as a first step to ending/outlawing the practices, at least MoneyB was smart enough to shut up.

11. Racism, tribalism, classism, etc,etc; ALL had their genesis in SIN!

SIN permeates the ENTIRE human race, bar NONE!!

“For ALL have SINNED and come SHORT of the Glory of God.” ( Rom.3:23)

“For the WAGES (results) of SIN, is DEATH (Separation from God, eternally), but the GIFT of God is eternal Life, through Christ Jesus, our Lord.” (Rom.6:23) Emphasis added.

Chose this day, whom you will serve!!

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s interesting to note that everyone uses a different word to describe the practice of racism and corruption, I guess it depends on what they were taught…..a rose by any other name still carries the same stinking stench. It is ironic that we spoke of this yesterday. Bizzy, Cow and their ancestors were considered sub-human on a level lower than black slaves and according to MoneyB treated even worse by their slave masters, their brethren from England.

Fast forward to 2015 and you see Bizzy and Cow believing themselves higher up, better off and a class or two above the descendants of the same slaves, after enriching themselves off the same racism and corruption through government help and the backs of the same blacks they now seek to take advantage of and continue to practice their racism and corruption.

Don’t choke MoneyB, we know there are instances of the same black on black stupidity. We have now successfully highlighted Afra’s article to a point where it can be taken to the other level.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/09/class-war/

13. @balance December 9, 2015 at 5:22 AM #

I am old enough to know that you are incorrect on both counts.

Classism was my point,which is also a prejudice.

Are you aware that slave descendants owned plantations and slaves.

We have now entered the age of melanin rich is right and melanin poor is wrong with no in betweens……contrary to MLK’s suggestion of being judged by ones intellect…..such is life

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The bottomline remains that both racism and corruption exists at unsustainable levels in the Caribbean, aided by corrupt politicians, to the detriment of the people, their lives and well-being and both should be outlawed because the parliaments are equipped with the tools/laws required to rid the countries of those 2 blights, to be able to move on to greater things.

That is where the discussion should be headed.I personally don’t care what it’s called, we know both practices have become blights and should be removed, rem8ve those two and all the other named blights will undergo a transfomation.

15. Vincent Haynes December 9, 2015 at 7:52 AM #

@balance December 9, 2015 at 5:22 AM #

I am old enough to know that you are incorrect on both counts.

Classism was my point,which is also a prejudice.

Are you aware that slave descendants owned plantations and slaves.

We have now entered the age of melanin rich is right and melanin poor is wrong with no in betweensโ€ฆโ€ฆcontrary to MLKโ€™s suggestion of being judged by ones intellectโ€ฆ..such is life

๏ˆ
    My apologies Vincent. thanks for the incorrection.

16. Researchers at the University of York, England claimed to have found a way to alter a Christian’s belief in God through a procedure known as transcranial magnetic stimulation, by electromagnetically targeting the posterior medial frontal cortex. Obviously a bunch of elite educated atheists fools in another futile attempt to remove God from our lives.

Suggestion, would it not be a more worthy cause to use that technique to try to eliminate the hatred and bigotry that this thread is addressing? If brain mechanisms for threat response functions can be re-purposed to produce idealogical reactions, then surely it can be done to cure these learned afflictions . But that is purely the scientific answer.

But there is a very simple remedy for overcoming and defeating these maladies , one which we all have within our power to do if we seek the Lord, and honour every commandment in the decalogue. The simple or the complicated . Success or failure.

17. @Well Well & Consequences December 9, 2015 at 8:05 AM #

Humanoids have existed for millions of years and those blights as you call them have always been with us,as have many others…….could you tell me how you are going to get rid of these blights?

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent….read my last 4 posts, I already posted the means of getting rid of the blighted practices. Keep justifying why the practices cannot be REMOVED FROM THE CARIBBEAN, without acting on it and it will remain.

Thanks for reminding me. Modern day slavery worldwide is a 25 billion dollar a year industry, so we don’t have to think too hard onwho the players are that run that show.that is a whole nother animal to fight. The caribean is basically a small jurisdiction that has managed to eliminate slavery to a greater extent, eliminating the practices of racism and corruption should be a cakewalk, but seeing as you males, with the visible exceptionof Afra, are so mentally weak and stuck on attributing everything man-made to human nature, it will be once again left the female a la Harriett Tubman to lead the initiative.๐Ÿ˜‰

19. @Well Well & Consequences December 9, 2015 at 8:55 AM #

Chuckle….carry on smartly oh clone of Harriett,we await the signs of your conquest.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Conquests? Hardly, but just note that with all things man made, both practices will also become significantly less profitable to both the practitioners and the governments who enable the practices to the point where the enablers will trip over themselves to criminalize the practices no longer profitable to them. Histoey does tend to repeat itself ad nauseum.

21. With the exception of Dee Word, Artax and a couple others not sure how many zoned into Afra’s message. Some of the comments suggest we need to structure our conversation based on the reality painted by Afra.

22. @David December 9, 2015 at 10:15 AM #

Afra’s reality have been addressed by the discussion on the human construct with all of its flaws identified…….hopefully ” well well&Q” will destroy them.

23. Race war ?

24. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, further to @Vincent 10:57 post I believe the other telling point of this discourse with @ Well Well has been the ‘different’ perspective she extols, perhaps tongue-in-cheek, but with such conviction.

Topics like racism and corporal/capital punishment, for example, are so ‘old’ and have been debated so extensively over the years that it’s interesting to come at it again and see such a strident commentary at the ‘margins’, so to speak.

But to your main point, what Afra Raymond has highlighted is the true bane of modern society with no viable, practical end in sight despite all ‘Well’ intentioned thoughts.

MoneyB remarks so ‘easily’ that Raymond “… has not been eliminated by these high powered criminals who dont want to be exposed”.

And that statement, said with no malice or ill intent, should give us all pause of how seriously dangerous life can be for those who speak strongly against power. Sadly, T&T have had assassinations of many ‘voices’ over the years so one should be in no doubt of the danger Raymond faces.

@Well Well, my history books do not reflect ANY society where corruption, graft and prejudice have been legislated to oblivion. Rather they simply prosecute it out of the public glare where it continues to metastasize dangerously out of sight….and causes death and mayhem.

But we do indeed strive for a cure; Endlessly if necessary.

25. WW
    Bizzy is so racist he married an Afro Bajan lady!!! Did she use a gun? Did she inject him wid love sauce? Cocoa tea?

Bajans come in all types and it is interesting that both Biz and his lady receive RACIST treatment from their own racial group AND the opposite racial group. Streesful to say the least!

My formerly rich ancestors of the 1700s did leave $$$ for Slaves, I have seen it logged in the historical records of Wills. Contrary to what some WANT to believe there were many instances of happiness and care. I assure you that some whites loved their outside woman more than their white wife. They left $$$$ and plantations for them and the offspring. So slavery is wrong and was/ is a terrible institution. What has Commissiong done about Slavery in Africa today??????? Dominican Republic basically enslaves Haitians!

Word
    –Tdad has a wickedly high murder rate of 31/ 100k, like 4-500 /yr. Toronto with 6mn or 4X the population has about 65/yr! thus Toronto would need to have 1600-2000 murders to compare! We know the powerful in Tdad have and would eliminate “troublemakers” threatening the “gravytrain”. Naturally, Afra is conducting a very commendable campaign and I certainly wish him no harm and every success.Sad that one gent carrying most of the load!

26. @ MoneyBrain wrote, ” I assure you that some whites loved their outside woman more than their white wife.”

Did they divorce their white wives and marry the outside black women ?

27. hants dont be crazy, if you divorce your white wife it costs you half plus and alot of times the women is the money. Better to play the game and everybody gets a piece of the pie. Even today if you split the man usually ends up living in a basement apt the girl on the side leaves him for greener pastures and his wife usually hooks up with some guy who is more than happy to spend the money the husband worked for.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Well Well & Consequences December 9, 2015 at 2:17 PM #
    โ€œIn other parts of the world one might see these as problems that can be resolved, but in todayโ€™s fragmented me-first CARICOM, caught between US materialism and Fabian socialism, it is no longer easy to see any regional basis for resolution, let alone implementation of solutions.โ€

Why is anyone surprised Caribbean leaders are not trying hard enough to get their houses in orderโ€ฆ..Vincentโ€ฆthis is right up you and De Words alley, not having the ability to see problems being resolved or the implementation of solutions. Is that a Caribbean thing or what?

De Word….I can ask you the same question.

29. @Dee Word

The point is that some of the strident commentary suggest we can’t do anything to dismantle or at least TRY to ameliorate. We should not generalize, some societies are further along based on the history. Demographics etc.

30. What are you saying Lawson…?
    That the only thing more stupid than getting divorced…
    was getting married in the first place…? ๐Ÿ™‚

31. Afra Raymond highlighted some very interesting similarities between what occurred in India relative to the corporate fraud perpetrated by Chairman of Satyam Computer Services, B Byrraju Ramalinga Raju and the CLICO scandal in the Caribbean. He then made a comparative analysis of how the authorities in both jurisdictions responded to these โ€œscams.โ€

In the case of Satyam Computer Services, Raymond explained that, in January 2009, Raju wrote a letter to the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) and his companyโ€™s shareholders, admitting that he had manipulated the companyโ€™s earnings, and fooled investors. Nearly US$1 billion, or 94% of the companyโ€™s โ€œcash,โ€ on the books was fictitious.

Two days after admitting to falsifying the companyโ€™s accounts, Raju was arrested and charged with committing a number of criminal offences, including criminal conspiracy, breach of trust and forgery.
    Nine others, including Rajaโ€™s brother, B Rama Raju, former Chief Financial Officer Vadlamani Srinivas, former PRICE WATERHOUSE AUDITORS Subramani Gopalakrishnan and T Srinivas, were also sentenced to seven years rigorous imprisonment and fined varying amounts up to Rs 25 lakh by Special Judge B V L N Chakravarthi.
    The role of external third party auditors, who were tasked to ensure that no financial bungling is undertaken to carry out promotersโ€™ interest or hide facts, have also been brought to question.

Similarly, in January 2009, CLICOโ€™s owners wrote the Governor of the TT Central Bank requesting a financial bailout. CLICO subsequently received assistance from the then PNM administration (which is supported by Africans) and the previous Peopleโ€™s Partnership Coalition administration (supported by Indians) to the tune of US$4B.

Raymond is concerned that although so much money was spent on the CLICO debacle, the tax payers are none the wiser on how or for what purposes these funds were disbursed, since BOTH ADMINISTRATIONS seem RELUCTANT to disclose such information. This is also against the background that at least one individual from the PNM and PPC that held a ministerial position in their respective administrations, were at some point in time intimately affiliated with CLICO.
    He is also concerned that CLICO directors and the Price Waterhouse auditors seemed to have been able to avoid prosecution, as was the case with the Satyam affair.

At this juncture I will analyze the meaning of RACISM. Racism may be defined as a belief that members of each race possess specific characteristics, which distinguishes them as being superior to other races.
    If I were to juxtapose the above definition with Raymondโ€™s concerns, it seems as though he is implying that, although the African and Indian population have similar outlooks of racism against each other (as he alluded to in the beginning of his speech), when in politics, both races exhibit characteristics which distinguishes them as superior to the voting populace.

This evidenced when Raymond mentioned from 13:28: โ€œโ€ฆ. Do we have a well founded sense of superiority to anybody, or are we part of the racketโ€ฆโ€ฆ do we want to do better? This is really the question for usโ€ฆ. in talking off the record. What right have we got as a society, and I know they are young people here and Iโ€™m speaking particularly to the young people. What RIGHT have we got, as a society, TO HARBOR any FEELINGS of SUPERIORITY, we havenโ€™t done wellโ€ฆโ€ฆ we have to do betterโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€

This is “racism.”

32. @ Bush Tea,

we need an expert opinion from Pieceuhderockyeahright. lol

33. Hants
    Being clever they kept all 2 both like how de bros still do! lol

Watching the WI A team game tonight? Hope Carlos B get a play as he and Jason batting better than so called batsmen. Put Carlos as a batsman? Why Gabriel gets a pick I cant figure out dat! Speed wont work in Aus, dem likes pure speed and Warner liable kill he. Anyway Taylor and maybe Roachie can discipline the batsmen with a few short ones. Hope Roach bowls better than recently, he has not been that good since his accident.

34. ISLAM WAS BANNED FROM THE USA IN 1952 but Obama doesnโ€™t want you to know that, nor does he respect or uphold US law.

The Immigration and Nationality Act passed June 27, 1952 revised the laws relating to immigration, naturalization and nationality for the United States.

That Act, which became Public Law 414, established both the law and the intent of Congress regarding the immigration of aliens to the US and remains in effect today.

Among the many issues it covers, one in particular found in Chapter 2, Section 212, is the prohibition of entry in to the US if the alien belongs to an organization seeking to overthrow the government of the United States by force, violence or by other unconstitutional means.โ€

This, by its very definition, rules out Islamic immigration to the United States but this law is being ignored by the White House.

Islamic immigration to the United States would be prohibited under this law because the Koran, Sharia Law and the Hadith all require complete submission to Islam which is antithethical to the United States government, the Constitution and to the Republic.

All Muslims who attest that the Koran is their lifeโ€™s guiding principal subscribe to submission to Islam and its form of government.

Now the politically correct crowd would say that Islamists cannot be prohibited from entering the United States because Islam is a โ€˜religion.โ€™

Whether it is a โ€˜religionโ€™ is immaterial because the law states that aliens who are affiliated with any organization that advocates the overthrow of our government are prohibited.

http://www.thepostemail.com/2015/12/08/public-law-414-june-27-1952/
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immigration_and_Nationality_Act_of_1952
    Immigration and Nationality Act

The Immigration and Nationality Act, or INA, was created in 1952. Before the INA, a variety of statutes governed immigration law but were not organized in one locat…
    View on http://www.uscis.gov
    Preview by Yahoo

35. Hetty Brathwaite Avatar
    Hetty Brathwaite

Bush Tea, in all his limited wisdom, has stuff to say: on December 8, 2015 at 7:17 AM

“Racism stems from the POWER BROKERSโ€ฆ
    One Man can be โ€˜racistโ€™ โ€“ if he has the power to enforce it
    while a whole country of brass bowls can be victimsโ€ฆ.”

Yet more idiotic bullshit from the Familyโ€™s pet imbecile.

Do all the quotations below, all of them from the same individual and published on BU, come from a โ€œpower brokerโ€, fool? Original sources can be cited, with corresponding HTML links, but that wonโ€™t be done now because otherwise the idiot blogmeister will have the excuse that the message went to spam.

Here we go โ€ฆ

โ€œThe elimination & extinction of sub-human, half make Europeans from this earth will undoubtedly bring about a more peaceful, stable & morally uplifting world.โ€

โ€œThe time might not be that far away where a Black Barbadian Hitler might be needed in Barbados.โ€

โ€œI care only about Black People โ€ฆ I do not want any detestable, wicked, scheming Indo-Guyanese benefiting from the amnesty.โ€

โ€œI will always say I see 1 colour people and that is Black People. I care nothing about Indians, Chinese or White People and I have a passionate dislike for the Indo-Guyanese. Negroman hates Indo-Guyanese with a passion that cannot be explain.โ€

โ€œThe White stinking, disease filled Europeans must accept full responsibility for the chaos the world is in today.โ€

โ€œI do not give a damn about any stinking, white European life. As a matter of fact all Stinking Europeans could disappear of the earth.โ€

Now that, Idiot Tea, is a fecking racist.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB…….matters of the heart transcends skin tone……that don’t mean racism will not be used to attain, retain wealth and status. I gotta run out for a minute, but will continue when I return.

37. Hetty Brathwaite Avatar
    Hetty Brathwaite

Additionally, of course, we could adduce the dear words of “Well Well”, a poster who seems to have almost no other life apart from sending half-baked non-thoughts to this one blog (on one day last week, an average of 1 comment every 30 minutes for an entire day).

How sad and drab does your life have to be when you get to that point?

And the dear words of “Well Well”, the eternal wisdom of this most beautiful mind on BU in 2013 (now lovingly redacted by the blogmeister but recorded elsewhere for all eternity) are these:

“I will not shed a tear when Tel Aviv is finally flattened and wiped off the map.”

Is that racism, we wonder, or is that just the most abject idiocy?

38. @David December 9, 2015 at 2:21 PM #

Can a leopard change its spots?

What Afra did was to show us human nature over two tribes in their unvarnished form.

Could you tell me which nations are further advanced in changing human nature.

39. @Vincent

Check Artax’s comment above. In the case of CLICO what is the learning?

Money an Power!

40. Which dumbass wrote this headline? It has nothing to do with what Afra Raymond says. He didn’t use the word “white” once in his speech.

It’s like asking “can only water be wet?” or “can only leaves be green?” It’s the fruit of an prfoundly limited, idiotic, one-agenda mind.

41. Jack Bowman it is your call.

42. “In this provocative talk, Afra Raymond takes a deeper look at race and racism. He successfully uses the talk to place a new perspective on how we think about race [โ€ฆ]”

Which dumbass wrote this? How, just how, is this talk in any way “provocative”? It’s just common sense. It’s anti-racist, which is common sense. What’s “provocative” about it?

And why, these days, does BU always have that annoying an pointless ellipsis is square brackets at the start of every piece. It looks amateur.

43. @David December 9, 2015 at 5:24 PM #

We are saying the same thing,simply insert the words “abuse of” in front of money and power and you should understand the point of human nature being prone to abuse.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hetty….how sad and drab that you are reduced to counting my posts, don’t you have a life of your own….try posting something that can make a positive difference in other people’s lives. I will now give you something to count, just give me a few minutes.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB……I am sure you know the history of Thomas Jefferson, when his wife died he had children with his black mistress Sally Hanson, lots of children, that in no way changed his philosophy or outlook, as then president of the US, about black people, he openly voiced that he believed, in his ignorance, that blacks are 2/3 human, though him and his ilk were the ones acting like beasts. So saying that Bizzy cares about blacks is a joke and besides, look at bizzy and look at his wife, he got the better end of the deal.

The one has nothing to do with the other, in mentioning Bizzy’s brother Cow and the family racism toward bizzy’s wife, that only validates my point about the racism being practiced in Barbados, by one group against the next.

46. WW
    No doubt there are bigots and racists all over the place. How do you know whether Bizzy cares about black peeps or not? At least we know he married the lady and that is a strong sign since he has serious $$$$$ to delude himself with some “blonde trophy wife” if he wanted to. Jefferson was from a completely different era and so I would not think that is a good comparative today.

Bottomline is that all peoples have prejudices if you doubt me let a rasta from down in Thymebottom go trying to marry a black Drs daughter and see what a go on!

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB….we all agree that the centuries old practice of racism has polluted the minds of people from one era to the next, what you have to acknowledge is that the pollution from Jefferson’s era is still manifesting itself today to a lesser condensed extent, yet still very much in existence.

Re Bizzy, he certainly did no favor to the lady he married or to the people on the island, those marriages take place worldwide all the time, it seemed to the backward and ignorant in Barbados to be some type of anomaly, because of the continued practice of showing and experiencing racist tendencies, but as I said, I don’t see bizzy as any great catch, not even his money is attractive and as we both know, his delusions about some empty headed blonde trophy wife would indeed cost him dearly. He stands a better chance with someone who genuinely cares for him.

In addition both bizzy and his brother speak very openly, even in the presence of black people, about how they feel about the majority population on the island who enriched them. They do not have the decency or decorum to keep it to themselves, since they both are well aware that no one will call them out on their behavior. I always revert to this truism, you can take a pig out of the mud, but it’s hell to take the mud out of the pig. Those brothers, despite being fortunate enough to meet people stupid enough to allow them to enrich themselves , using all types of corrupt practices, I know, I know, the politicians in Barbados helped them, are unable to free themselves from what they learned in the era in which they were born. People live what they learn.

And yes, you are perfectly correct, no doctor wants his daughter married to anyone he considers beneath him and his daughter, as bizzy’s family show cased, but again, that is what the practice of racism breeds.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB….at this stage I understand why the 3-5% minorities would not want any changes to the staus quo in Barbados in it’s present form, because they would lose their gravy train, easy money, corrupt practices, immoral practices, pretentious delusions of superiority, the ability to resort to criminal activities without fear of punishment. Keeping the majority ignorant and thinking their lot in life cannot improve unless the likes of bizzy/cow/bjerkham, et al are around to suck their blood and suck the life out of the island, while ensuring the politicians stay corrupt and in their pockets, works out rather well for the minorities and have done so for the past 4 decades.

But, just as in Jefferson’s era, which was extremely profitable for the US and other countries, things had to change, so too in this era there will come a transformation that will see the minorities in Barbados having to finally go out there and find real jobs. I know, you will tell some of them work and I will tell you not enough, I know of what I speak. That is what positive change brings. No one will be able to notice or experience any more glaring disparities, pretentious delusions or unfair practices, they will be minimized, just as there became a minimization of the practices after the Jefferson era.

Hey, that’s what change for the better means.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh I forgot…..I will leave Hetty, who has nothing to do and no life other than to count my posts, to do the countdown for transformation, that should keep, he, she, it gainfully employed and out of mischief for a long time…lol

50. It isn’t only the 3% in Barbados, the bollywood actor just got off. BT avoid marriage at all costs