AlQaeda symbol
Al Qaeda symbol

A few years ago is was all about Al Qaeda, now the world has become preoccupied with the threat from ISIS. Although some will challenge the degree to which the two terrorist organizations […]have been manufactured by the foreign policy of the West,

BU is concerned that the Caribbean may be dragged into a cesspool of geopolitics in the near future.

Immediately after the Paris terror allegedly carried out by ISIS, it was reported that three Syrians with fake passports were arrested in St. Maarten. As if this is not cause for worry for Caribbean residents – who live in one of the more peaceful geographies in the world – there is the more worrying development coming out of Trinidad. It is being reported by the venerable traditional media in Trinidad that hundreds of its citizens have joined the ISIS fight.  Is there any doubt Barbadians should be very concerned?

Several events in recent weeks point to a ramping up of global unrest in the ME. Note BU has not mentioned the Black on Black violence also ramping up in several countries in Africa which appears to be a horse of a different colour. What appears to be man’s inhumanity to man rampaging across the globe surely will touch God’s country in a direct way at some point. We have to admit the assurances from Prime Minister Stuart et al provide little comfort we in this part of the world are able to defend our borders from any terrorist threat.

The following commentary by  David Jessop addresses the issue of whether the Caribbean is immune from what the West has branded an ISIS threat.

#######################################################

Commentary: The View from Europe: The Caribbean is not immune

Published on November 21, 2015
Email To Friend Print Version

By David Jessop
The sensitive subject of terrorism in a Caribbean context is a matter this column has addressed before with some caution. However, following recent events in Europe it is clear that it is an issue that now needs to be taken more seriously in the region as those who wish harm to the world begin to deploy their ‘foreign policy’.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Commentary%3A-The-View-from-Europe%3A-The-Caribbean-is-not-immune-28407.html

274 responses to “The Caribbean and the ISIS Threat”

1. Terrorism in the Caribbean…!? We’re NOT on the world stage! My concern is that Nordic Countries (Denmark, Norway, Sweden etc) could be targeted…! We need to concentrate on developing our region in terms of manufacturing, health and education…!

2. @David, thanks for this. Can I reblog this with attribution to BU?

3. @Alicia

BU’s content belongs to the BU family. Of course feel free to share.

4. @David, thanks I just shared it. This raises so many questions. Is it just religion or like some defectors have highlighted, is it money or the desire to defeat the Assad regime that compels some persons in the Region to join ISIS? Should these fighters be allowed back home? Naturally we won’t want to risk the chance of them coming back and radicalising others. At the same time, if they do wish to return home after seeing the errors of their ways, should we stop them? I suppose this is where risk based analysis comes into play. So far I am just hearing a lot of rhetoric from regional leaders. What we need to know is what concrete policies (informed by proper research) will be put in place to deal with the ISIS recruitment in the region and to improve our security apparatuses.

5. They truly are everywhere

6. @Alicia

A few of your questions are easy to answer, those returning should be convicted however the downside risk is that the region opens itself to ISIS retaliation? In earlier blogs we discussed the fact the world is fighting against not the group ISIS but an ideology not only located in religion. Recruiting defective parties who are unable to cope in a relativist world will provide a steady stream of recruits. How can we track people who enter border countries and drive to Syria and ISIS controlled areas? You are correct, questions questions. To the spiritual maybe this is the downside to the practice of wickedness in high places.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Shaft

What sort of female rabbit are you?

What sort of ingrunce you commenced this topic with? We are not on the world stage?

Any place where Amuricans are, Britishers are, Canadians are and infidels are is the jihadist stage!!

Where wunna come from doah?

De ole man was saying, since de madam gone way fuh Tanksgiving I din was gine see no scvunt, albeit swibbly, till she jet back but here you is, at 5.01 a.m. presenting de ole man enough scvunt to last fuh de 11 days dat she ovahseas

You unnerstan whu soft targets is? And whu 89 returning jihadists means fool?

Tank you, and de DLP, fuh providing dat commodity in our lives – Scvunt!!! You fuh writing it and Dem fuh doing it to we, Tank you!!

@ Hants

Please do not do like Lawson and udders, write me madam and tell she tuh come heah and read de adjective de ole man use to describe ” whu used tuh pleases, and no longer squeezes, and, wid many young gals, does give wunna diseases …” Causing even doah I doan get none, de ole man doan want tuh be sleeping in de dog pen fuh Xmas, it are is cold outside…

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ CaribbeanTradeLaw

For some it is misguided religion and a disavowal of the tenet of “the GOD in you sees the GOD in me” for others it is just little boys, and horny girls, living out their gun fantasies glamorized on Hollywood big screens.

Unbridled passion to play Cowboys and Indians with real real bullets wrapped up in a cocoon of the jihadist version of Rambo.

We are just little boys entranced by guns, 21 tight pokies and a desire to impress

The cure to defeat the Jihadist dream lies in understanding that and inserting appropriate counter behavioural modifiers into our psyches while we are yet young by doing something simple which de ole man calls de sand pit doctrine.

You evah se how multi cultural toddlers play in a sand pit before we adults pervert their sense of acceptance of all the other babies in the sandpit?

Simple solution “the GOD in me sees the GOD in you” For the fervently religious or for the atheists “I am my brother’s keeper”

Easy to say but harder to implement yes?

9. @david and @piece
    Indeed it is bigger than religion. Why I ask about whether or not they should be allowed to return is that we probably won’t be able to bring charges against them. The crimes were not committed in the jurisdiction or against a national of the jurisdiction. I don’t think we have any legislation which allows us to bring charges against persons who participate in terrorist acts abroad. But I speak subject to correction.

10. One thing about running a country,you can do anything you want, how many isis fighters are going back to north korea to cause trouble If you leave to fight and cause trouble in other parts of the world there should be no safe haven for you to return to. It is just insane to try and fight terrorism with one if not both hands tied behind your back.

11. “NOT 1 seat…” I’m a European and I’ll say again… The colonies are NOT on the world stage! Once a year, at least, we Europeans venture to the Caribbean for Sea, Sun, Sand and other pleasures…! Without us your economy would die completely…! Get real ISIS and the west have no real interest in the region…

12. @shaft I agree the threat of a major terrorist attack happening in the Caribbean region is low. However the very fact that some of our nationals have been recruited by Isis is cause for concern for our region. Moreover, many westerners do vacation in the Caribbean and Isis is known for hitting soft targets. So whilst I agree that the possibly of threat is low I do believe it is a situation we must still monitor.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Shaft

As I said before and will reiterate using the example of Mali, which I would also state is “not a World Stage either” yet we are now having reports of “Friday’s deadly terrorist attack on the Radisson hotel in Bamako…”

Which brings me to enquirer what is your definition of world stage?

Did Charlie Hebdo ascribe “world stage” ranking to Paris or does it take two incidents?

Don’t answer Shaft your condescending qualifier thereafter of “colonies” puts your remark squarely in scope and as I have said on another blog here, we only need one incident and without your tourism dollars, our mono economies die

Thank you for for visiting our colonies…yet you wonder why you breed the clean skins in your midst…

14. Soft targets LOL The fact of the matter is Barbados has the crème de la crème coming to Barbados on holiday prime ministers billionaires millionaires generals movie stars royalty etc they make an inviting target for terrorists even home grown ones. A plan must be in place,and practiced. Any island is just one incident away from tourism collapse

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ CaribbeanTradeLaw

“a pox upon thee thou common colonist to see to ascribe by extrapolation “world stage” status on any of your colonies!!”

Do not fool yourself that a Caribbean focused threat is low in fact you should call the current Economic Advisor at the United States Embassy and enquire what is the Threat Level Assessment ascribed to Caribbean airports since 9/11

You might want to call the British Liaison Officer for MI5/6 operations for the Caribbean while you are at it as well.

It is people like Shaft who seek to lull us into a false sense of security aided and abetted by Dimwits like Adriel Nitwit Bratwit our Attorney General who are silent compatriots to the jihadists living in our borders the only true manifestation of Caricom and pan-Caribbean harmony at work

Allahabad Akbar

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Errata Allahu Akbar

This iPad corrects everything

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece……you are on point, having returning idiots who went on their adventure into ISIS, if they live that long and are no longer wanted by the group is bad enough, but having Arabs/Syrians or Indians living in your midst in the Caribbean for decades and breeding among other things, who are now accused of having been funding these terror groups for just as long, is a whole nother animal.

From what I understand, the agencies that should, already know about it. Of course DBLP governments would be too busy protecting their political campaign financing, greed and corruption to care that they will now be examined to the 10th power.

I have been wondering for some time why tha majorities in Barbados always act so confident, display such arrogance and disrespect to the majority on the island, I guess we will soon find out.

I do believe when Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke was spouting his rhetoric, he was removed from Barbados by some obscure law, maybe the politicians need to start reading up on the laws, it will certainly distract them from corruption.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SHOULD READ…….I have been wondering for some time why the MINORITIES in Barbados always act so confident, display such arrogance and disrespect to the majority on the island, I guess we will soon find out.

19. Well Well you threatening white people or have you been disrespectful to guyanese

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…….Lawson…..just saying it as I understand it will play out. If it does, just hope they have a bigger country than little Barbados to hide.

21. Minorities acting with confidence and displaying arrogance… …and why not, they control the economy…! They keep their monies in their circle and use the majority’s money to make more money for themselves…! White and Asian people don’t sit and count their money, they make it work…! I was in Barbados recently trying to do business with the majority and was frowned upon, I ended up doing business with the minority…! The business is doing quite nicely in London… I’ll be back to try with my people again! I’m not giving up…!

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Shaft….have you ever wondered where the minorities got their money from, there is just enough of a population on the island to keep up a facade of successful business, not enough to make anyone superwealthy selling cloth, furniture etc. The population has not exploded since the 60s and the working population remains I believe around 150,000 or less. Gasoline would be the biggest seller on the island next to food.

Those who know will just follow the money.

23. A particularly chilling video clip. Take a few moments to watch this one. Straight from the horse’s mouth so to speak.

http://www.cbn.com/tv/embedplayer.aspx?bcid=1509282970001

24. MB

Chilling indeed

25. Everyone needs to comprehend the implication that Islam in its pure form is both an Ideology and Religion, it is Fascist mixed with brainwashed Religiosity!

The sooner this is Fixed the better as lives will be saved earlier than later!

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man was ranting (my buddy does call it ranting so I adopting he words) earlier about guns and we little boys why we like being terrorists and how I believe that we can fight terrorism.

Here is a BBC article jes published about the matter of terrorism a few hours ago. Do terrorists really think they’re going to win?

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-34909636

27. @MB, you should send the CBN clip to the Donald’s team. Oh man, with his rhetoric re undercover Mosque action, d-base of all Muslims etc this fits perfectly in his wheelhouse.

With this type of stuff those on the right wing, and even those xenophobes in the middle-left, will start to highlight that the views over the last 25 years of the LePens in France, Powells in England and the David Dukes et al are indeed accurate. Not so though.

Certainly, Islam is a threat to modern western civilization, as it always has been. Many wars have been fought to date between Islam and Christian. And just as certainly these attempts across Europe to effect more of a modern ethos to ‘orthodox’ Islamist have failed or maybe they were always misguided.

There has been no success to inculcate modern ways of life to the ethos of deeply conservative orthodox Jews who populate cities across US and Europe, either. Of course they are not advocating a complete takeover of the society.

Thus it’s quite clear that to maintain democracy and freedom of expression and relegate Sharia law to those who desire such it’s necessary to implement very strong constitutional hurdles and to democratically control any such religious coup resolutely and firmly.

If separate but equal co-existence was never the expectation of Islamist living among their western neighbors then they must be strongly – vi et armis, if and where necessary – reminded that in fact that is what the Democracy that allowed them to strive actually means.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Barbados is the perfect soft target, the people are complacent, information is kept from them by the politicians, government ministers often attempt to muzzle the people who speak out and all the politicians are corrupt.

It would have been extremely easy to hide in their midst for decades, take control of the economy first and foremost, breed and just bide their time. The island could easily become the clearing house for spreading the religion and obtaining control across the Caribbean. Looks like Shaft been taking too much sun and other pleasures in Barbados to see what’s really happening.

Look what they did in Africa, Belgium and other parts of Europe.

29. “Well Well & consequences…” Thank you for the heads up! I shall keep that in mind on my next visit…!

30. @Word

I am not in agreement with the way Trump handles Racial issues ie Mexicans/ Muslims. He is obviously riling up the masses to win the GOP. He is dumb as he loses tons of Votes in the Genl Election.

Did U notice how the Radicals interupted and bullied moderate Muslims at their meeting? Are U aware that the 7/7 Bomb on the Edgware Rd bus was aimed at moderate Muslims?

I have had personal experiences with modern, “moderate” Muslims. My Physio and I were discussing issues and i mentioned that one could justify attacking Sodamn Insane’s Iraq because he was mistreating/ murdering thousands of the majority, 62%, Shiite Muslims. This guy flew into a rage and threatened to slap me! If I wanted to make his life hell I could have reported him to his Pysio Assoc, the Police etc. I did not know he was Sunni from Pakistan and Sunni’s hate Shiites and Ismailis more than the hate just about anybody else.

ISIS kills Shiites at every opportunity because they believe they are not true Muslims eg bombs in Beirut in a known Hezbollah/ Shiite strong hold a few weeks back. Hezbollah are associated with Iran (Shiites), so Iran will be looking for retribution against ISIS very soon, indeed the Iranians will gladly bust their rass big time if they were given a Pass by the US/ Israel.

Word, when there is a group that is both an Ideology and Religion then any Intelligent leader must monitor very closely and be willing to make tough decisions like Deportation, removal of Citizenship attained by traitors and eradication if necessary! Please note that when Hitler made his intentions very clear Chamberlain’s assessment was that he was no threat!!!! That cost millions of lives. The Allies should have moved against Germany as soon as they had intel on Arms build up!!!! So 58 + million lives were lost instead of couple hundred thousand!

31. Well Well Barbadians are the perfect soft target …but you have to hit the head. Watch Money Brain;s video then see that you are already way behind the curve. What the hell do people think is happening in Clermont this is just the head of the phalanx.

32. What happens when a thousand Jihadis return from ISIS and lead a major terror strategy against mainly Afro Christians in Tdad and Guyana???????????

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lawson November 25, 2015 at 1:32 PM
    “What the hell do people think is happening in Clermont this is just the head of the phalanx.”

You got that right.
    Why segregate instead of integrating with the general cultural landscape.

Experience is the best teacher.
    We have seen such thin edge of the wedge in other societies that are paying dearly for it today .
    The UK is a perfect example.

34. Miller
    U racist anti Islamist! lol

Just kidding!

35. Who knows trouble in Bim from terrorists that are somewhat different may bring the Whiteys and darker people in Bim closer together??????????

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Moneybrain. …I warned you about Trump, he’s a liar and sociopath, if something is not done to reel him in, just a matter of time before he causes a race/civil war in the US with his lies, there are a large bunch of dumb whites who actually believe the arrogant nonsense he spouts.

Lawson….a lot of people don’t believe it can happen, until it does.

37. I love my country’s new refugee program, we are only allowing women and children ,…and gays , I guess they figure that somebody that will cut peoples heads off, burn them alive, stone people wont suck some guys cock to get in here so they can blow us up.

38. The negro race will never learn from their history. How did we become such a dumb, dim-witted race of people?

I stand firmly in the camp of Money Brain and Lawson!

Check the date of this publication.

Commentary: The crisis in Beirut: A new wave of Syrian/Lebanese refugees in the Caribbean

Published on February 5, 2011

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Commentary%3A-The-crisis-in-Beirut%3A-A-new-wave-of-Syrian_Lebanese-refugees-in-the-Caribbean-4869.html

http://www.virginislandsnewsonline.com/en/news/syrian-refugees-heading-to-the-caribbean-should-vi-take-some

39. @ David,
    I’ve just tried to post an article and it did not go through. I’m puzzled.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

These radical extremist muslims are a very sickening and repulsive group.

41. Barbadians seem to like to live in gated communities ……Clermont..dodds..glendairy

42. WW

Trump knows better, he is desperate to win and does attract plenty attention with his crazy talk. If I were DT I would never go so far BUT certainly emphasise my no nonsense anti Washington DC approach, which is what many people really want.(why Dr B and
    DT leading) He should be forceful on equitably solving Illegal Immigration, which BO promised to solve in his first year and has failed miserably. DT should be telling people NOT to hate Muslims but be strong in dealing with terrorism. DT is not receiving the best advice or is not taking it. Sad as he has the Negotiating, Management ability, Action Orientation the US needs badly but too many negatives!

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MoneyBrain November 25, 2015 at 1:48 PM #
    “U racist anti Islamist! lol
    Just kidding!”

MB, any body or group that tries to stop me from changing my religious belief, eating pork, abrogate the right to “bull” or “wick” or kill my sister for fornication I will intellectually screw with limber prick.

44. @MB, I am not in disagreement with you. I suggested the pass-on to the Donald’s because realistically that video does connote perfectly the context of why his zealotry on immigration re Mexicans and now Muslims gets such tremendous traction and continues to propel the man to the top of the Republican ledger.

I too believe that strong undercover work and all manner of effective investigation and control must be enacted and maintained…by force of arms where necessary! And in mosques or churches or synagogues when needed. Because propagating hate or aggression of one over the other is not the way to go.

Lest we forget they were ‘moderate’ Islam converts in US from since 35+ years… a conversion that offered a valid and meaningful life change for many Black Americans. I recall a blogger made mention recently of jail-house Muslim conversions. But that is nothing new certainly in US prisons as none other than hustler, pimp and petty criminal Detroit Red was converted to the positive influence of the Islam convert, Malcolm X.

Were it not for the scandals that roiled the group’s leader, the racist political climate of the day and of course the internecine troubles that led to the assassination of Malcolm it is arguable that the Nation of Islam in the US would be such a thriving group nationally with now many positive, accomplished leaders (other than Farrakhan) that this question of violent Mid East Islam would have a real and positive US-centric counterpoint…It can be argued!!!

Consider what the US political and police directorate saw as such a virulently antisocial, racist group are now leaders for positive political and social change as compared to the rabid, deeply anti-social Islam folks we confront today.

And BTW, surely your parents told you that politics and religion are generally NOT good topics for discussion in strange company…LOLLL! You lucky the dude didn’t put you on the ground right there and then…. At least you were politically correct and didn’t stereotype… Oh lawd. Coulda cost you ya life, though!

45. “By Rebecca Theodore

As wild flames of fire engulf the Arab world, provoking a moment of rising democratic optimism and thoughts of liberalization and freedom for many, the eruption of a civil war is also evident as the dispute over Lebanon’s support of a UN tribunal expects to indict several Hezbollah members for the 2005 assassination of former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri. Thus, this ominous and far-reaching allusion now extends into a chain migration of Syrian Lebanese in the Caribbean, as more and more refugees are joining relatives and friends rather than striking out for entirely new territory.

Rebecca Theodore was born on the north coast of the Caribbean island of Dominica and resides in Toronto, Canada. A national security and political columnist, she holds a BA and MA in Philosophy. She can be reached at rebethd@aim.com

Unlike the murky era of the 19th century when Arabs migrated to the Caribbean to escape religious persecution at the hands of Muslim Turks; ties of race, blood and clan now stitches a web of commercial businesses in the Caribbean for the Syrian Lebanese migrating population because of social connections, jobs and strong family ties. The Caribbean is now the country of freedom and the land of milk and honey where streets are paved of the purest gold for the throng of Syrian Lebanese refugees in an exodus for survival and development as displaced Arabs establish new lives, enjoying the political stability and pristine environment that is the Caribbean.

It cannot be denied that the Syrian Lebanese community makes valuable contributions to national, economic, social and cultural development in the Caribbean but at the same time the Caribbean Syrian Lebanese community is not without blame. There is word that prominent Syrian Lebanese businesses and groups in the Caribbean are organically tied to the authoritarian arm of Hezbollah, financing their destructive paramilitary and unconventional warfare capabilities in Lebanon through money laundering and other illegal maneuvers. This conduct not only subverts the values of security, freedom, and cooperative diversity in the Caribbean but also make domestic and international relations impossible.

In this great wave of migration, the Syrian Lebanese hegemony over money laundering in the Caribbean needs to be challenged and Caribbean leaders need to take heed because in the same way corruption and incompetence in Palestinian politics gave birth to Hamas seizing the Gaza Strip by force, dramatic unrest in Tunisia and Sa’ad Hariri’s alliance with Hezbollah to retain a majority in the 128-seat parliament resulted in its automatic dissolution, throwing Lebanon into political chaos; the cultivation and manipulation of influence and power by prominent Syrian Lebanese elites over political parties and elected members of government — most notably Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda , Barbados, Dominica and Jamaica should not go by unnoticed.

Experience teaches that societal influences, corruption, and abuse of power are some of the chief clauses that now see Lebanon’s deposed prime minister, Saad Hariri (the son of Rafik Hariri), being placed between a rock and a harder place. If he does not agree to dismiss the findings of the tribunal, labeled a Zionist American conspiracy by Iran and Syria sponsored groups, then street protests, violence, possible civil war and sectarian battles between Sunnis and Shi’ites will herald a new dawn in the political and economic lives of the Syrian Lebanese people who yearn for an honest judiciary, a legislature guided by liberal ideals, strict and equal law enforcement and a free press — the institutions that form the backbone of democracy.

And as the Lebanese crisis incites the alarm of the international community, Hezbollah’s violent, subversive, and destructive autocratic power swiftly imposes billionaire Najib Mikati as prime minister while the US stands helplessly with folded arms, unable to implement its role as a major superpower with the same fortitude it did in the Gulf War of 1991. Through it all, Hezbollah leader Hassam Nasrallah exerts power, Iran hits the jackpot, Saudi Arabia abandons its efforts to resolve the dispute, and the wave of migration to the Caribbean deepens.

The political turmoil in Lebanon is a turning point for political and social history in the Caribbean as it welcomes another new wave of migrants. It is a precedent that will affect democratic reform, the strength of civil society and the political will of governments. It gives Caribbean governments cause to make adjustments on who they think are model refugees into the Caribbean basin.”

46. Word

X after he went to Mecca and his international trip really matured and saw through Elijah and his erroneous ways. Farrakhan is very clever, high IQ gent, I like to listen to him and see his brain working—I dont always agree with him though.

The Physio was 20 yrs younger than I —BUT I am 255lbs, 6ft 3ins, so he would have to mek sure I did not not get one good lash to his jaw or liver. I know how my bro Mike Tyson did lay dem out!!! I would pay nuff good $$$$$$ to see Ali versus Tyson at their respective peaks. Given Fraser’s success with Ali, Mikey with a disciplined approach may well have the edge! or his ear! lol lol