Submitted by Beresford

BLPIn dire times, while the society rallies in national survival mode, driven by personal crises, there is always that element that crassly exploits the desperate times for solely their own good.

As Barbados struggles and becomes daily weighed down under the onslaught […]of exploitation,punishment and inhumane treatment, its most unfortunate position is that those who should be the rescuers and protectors are its pillagers.

The DLP Government is presiding over the massacre of all that has held Barbados together, made it shine beyond compare and forged a country that was singled out universally as a beacon of excellence.

What has Barbados come to now? Forget the wiping out of the strongest economy in the region for years. Except that the ever decaying productive sectors have spawned massive unemployment, declining government revenues, never mind the increased VAT which is now manifesting itself in the collapse of our social sector and infrastructure.

As roads fall apart, there is bedlam in bus terminals as workers and parents are left stranded. All kinds of critical drugs are now suddenly disappearing from pharmacies. The least said about the QEH, the better.

Barbadians are now made to shed tears and to submit themselves to the shame, humiliation, of begging the DLP Government for their rightful due – payouts, severance.

The heart-rending spectacle of cut off Transport Board workers begging for money they should have received long ago – this is what Barbados has come to.

Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.

Hoteliers still waiting for concessions. They are coming and coming, but never come.

As predicted, registrations at UWI tumbling directly as a result of the DLP’s cutting off of tuition fees for Barbadians. With the evidence mounting, the hearts of the DLP only hardening.

The cold hearted, calculated, cruel approach of the DLP is most vivid in the constant tissue of lies in which they have shrouded their wickedness.

There is just no way to believe the utterances of the DLP, starting from the Prime Minister.

He of no public servants going home. He of free education will not be touched. He of free health care to be maintained.

In every instance, Freundel Stuart has lied to Barbadians.

How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?

The heart of Barbados, the middle class, has been cut out by the policies and deception of the DLP.

The DLP has destroyed this group that has been the glue in Barbados, those that moved from poor to middle class, through sheer hard work and the programmes, mainly free education, and aspired to go further.

The nearly 30 increased and new taxes have been a straight punch to the face of the middle class. This wide swath of Barbados has been waylaid by the DLP as most so categorised have been the ones less able to withstand changes in economic or national circumstances.

And the loss hope of a majority of Barbadians is wrapped up in the waste basket of the DLP in which has been thrown the support that has transformed thousands of lives through university education.

The desolation and wiping out of the middle class is one of the more sordid outcomes of a DLP Government that has boxed itself into nothing else but surviving at all costs.

It is telling that people who a decade and two ago were themselves aspiring have crushed the dreams and mobility of people just like them.

Imagine Stuart is a Prime Minister! Could not have happened without his passage through free university education. Could not have happened without the social supports that aided his mother and allowed him to dabble in histrionics and whatever else without worrying about how he would eat, go school or even sleep.

Look at Dem! Not one can remove himself from this equation.

Pompous and Falstaffian as they now are, not a single member of the DLP Government could contemplate their outsize good fortune, which they are exploiting to the fullest, without the economic and social structures that have underpinned Barbados’ progress.

It is the worse patronage and height of deceit for Stuart and DLP Ministers to be fully engorged with their luck and plea empathy even as they, as the Trinis say, mammigua – lie to the public.

Many things in Barbados need an end putting to them or correcting. The court system. Economy. QEH. Transport Board. Water Authority. Tourism. Look anywhere, and there is a looming crisis or threat to Barbados as we know it, as we wish it.

Few are as excruciating and in need of reform now as the DLP penchant for spinning and lying.

A society without the example of good governance from the top is one that will descend into anarchy.

And one with no hope shared by thousands, drop outs, inertia, an underclass, a society stymied.

This is what Freundel Stuart and the DLP have wrought and are breeding.

In such an outcome, they will be no saviours and all losers.

237 responses to “Killing Hope, Middle Class”

1. were pulling our troops out Syria
    I completely understand Justin …oh by the way that keystone thing aint happening

2. @Word

The Cnd Cabinet looks interesting BUT “the proof of the pudding is in the eating.” Hopefully he has not failed to pick the correct, competent people in his effort to be PC.(no pun)

Regarding the US the major error was under Clinton in 1998 when he and his Admin permitted the repealing of Glass Steagel Acts that were placed to prevent the trouble caused by the Great Derpression financial debacle from recurring. Obviously U do not put a Wall St guy in that position as he is beholden to his masters and probably still has $25mn +++ exposed at the old firm. Please remember that the crooked St is not Lombard St in Frisco it is the St linking Wall to Washington DC. The quantity of $$$ flowing to Washington Pols is phenomenal.

Contrary to popular opinion the Dems are just as crooked as the other guys.

3. @ Lawson

Dont be mean to pretty boy! hahaha.

Find a way to save Taxes as JT will eventually scewer our derriere like Church St bullers on a Sat night.

4. @ Frustrated Businessman November 2, 2015 at 9:23 AM,

I have no idea if our leaders have taken a leaf from the Kenyan government on how it decides to spend tax payers’ money. Take a look at this story, it highlights the corrupt model that our government has decided to adopt.

It is the responsibility of each and every citizen to keep in check and to monitor carefully their leaders. What is happening in Barbados is self-evident: we have a population who is both negligent and responsible for the endemic levels of corruption practised amongst the elite.

Corruption will always thrive in fertile conditions. It would seem that Barbados has become an incubator; a facilitator to the organic growth of the species called corruption. The question remains: how much more will the masses be prepared to accept?

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Auditor-General-questions-Sh3-8bn-expenses-at-Interior-ministry/-/1056/2942920/-/m3vrv9/-/index.html

5. @ David,

“No black Canadians in cabinet……… yet.”

6. @Hants

Not acceptable, assuming there is someone worthy. (I dont know the situation)

7. Hants

I am here wondering as to why would anyone black person would want to serve in the Canadian cabinet?

When Canada does little, as well as contribute little in the world of international affairs.

As a matter as fact, it is rather mindbloggling that Canada neighbours the United States, and one hears little in the way of news either good or bad regarding Canada. The BBC even gets way more exposure than any Canadian news agency!

8. Hants

All Canada is good for is a good escape route for American felons fleeing prosecution, and illegal immigrants crossing the border into United States.

9. @Dompey

Rest yourself talking crqap!

Remember this, Canada has 61% of the Global supply of fresh water and the US, especially the Sth West and California need it badly! Water has a tendency to be a necessity!

Checkout this top notch Black Canadian:

Lincoln MacCauley Alexander, PC CC OOnt CD QC (January 21, 1922 – October 19, 2012) was a Canadian who became the first black Member of Parliament in the House of Commons, the first black federal Cabinet Minister serving as federal Minister of Labour, the first black Chair of the Worker’s Compensation Board, the first black, and the 24th, Lieutenant-Governor serving Ontario from 1985 to 1991, and the first person to serve five terms as Chancellor of the University of Guelph, from 1985 to 1991. Alexander was also a governor of the Canadian Unity Council.

This gent started from a very low level but never allowed anything to stop him reaching the top! Excellent example to all people, especially the poor and Black people.

10. Anyone could have seen the Keystone decision coming down as it was made months ago, (see Hillary came on board a few weeks ago) Obama didn’t want to announce it during the Canadian Election lest it influenced some voters.

it has nothing to do with taking six fighter planes out of Syria.

11. @Sarge

It is a shame that Canada keeps flogging a dead horse and goes hat in hand to the Americans on Keystone. What do these “leaders” not understand about the US moving from 5mn bbls of Oil/day to 9mn/bbls in a few short years. Cnanda must hatch a deal with Sth Korea, Japan, Taiwan and maybe China to buy our Natgas and Oil. Natgas in those Nations sells for more than 3 times the priceas in the US so cut a deal with them which involves those countries in building the pipelines in partnership with Canadians. Find a formula to lock them in.

12. MB remember the movie …there will be blood….America is gonna suck that 61% right out of Canada, But thank god for Justin since he said he was going to go eye to eye with putin those yanks will just be like deer in the headlights once he passes his steely gaze on them. Wait to you see what happens when they start spending money like drunken sailors, the middle class will feel it again.
    Hants careful what you wish for ,Barbados cabinet is all black I think and how is that working out for you.

13. @David November 6, 2015 at 1:45 PM #

Hopefully none of them are economist.

I would love to hear of one country whose economy was saved by an economist from the 2007 recession.

What is the difference between an Alchemist and an economist?

14. @Moneybrain
    1) Wait for the details of TPP
    2) How will they get the oil and gas to the West Coast when they are running into stiff opposition about pipelines from the BC Gov’t and other First Nation organisations?

Incidentally you seem to be one of the few people who will miss Steve, yuh getting worried about the tax hike that JT will impose on your backside? Don’t worry a fellow 1 percenter is Finance Minister and he will probably work in some loophole that will allow you to recover any taxes that you pay. All that to say don’t cancel that Club membership yet (yuh notice I didn’t say which club but people here already know that you are not one of the proletariat)

15. @Lawson

I have always believed that if we dont play ball with the US on H2O then at some point it will be worth it to just annex Canada for water and other critical resources like grains and chromium et al metals.

The mismatch of the Millenia was BO versus Putin until Ju Ju showed up. Justin best of luck at the G20, if U need some real balls take Sophie wid ya!

The Bajan Pols are NOT Black, they are Green and Gold and generally welcoming of the notes of Dead PMs and Presidents to who they have no racially negative feelings.

@ Vincent

Economists are usually those fellas that ask,”what happened ?” I asked a very mature Harvard U trained, Econ Prof from U of T in 2006 about his concerns with the US Econ and Financing and he said,”Dont worry they are on the correct path.” REALLY? The US may still go under if they play the Interest Rate game and other variables incorrectly. The situation is still very risky in a major way.

16. @Sarge

It is a total waste of time pissing around with BC and Natives regarding pipelines, the question should be,”where are we going to build the pipelines to cause the least trouble.” Talk about the lunatics running the asylum? These idiots in BC prefer trains with 150 tankers rolling down the mountains with Oil ! So while I am not a PhD Engineer it seems obvious that it is many times more dangerous than properly designed and constructed pipelines. Remember Lac Magentic, 57 deaths from an Oil tanker train in Quebec? I cant wait to a large town in BC gets wiped out, DUMMIES!

Personally my wealth is not effected since I can invest all over the Globe in Oil/ pipelines or NOT! The losers are workers that need the thousands of jobs in the current tough times.

Sarge ,U should know that the top 1% have the very best TAX Lawyers and Accountants so the people who believe that Trudeau will stick it to the 1% are JOKERS! JT will spend$$$$$ like a drunken sailor in Nelson St and reeive National AIDS for his stupidity. Canada is very i DEBT at every level
    1 Consumers have worse situaion than US in 2006!

2 Provinces, especially Ontario which has Liberal WASTED $$$$$$ BN from Mc Goooffy, Mc Guilty, and Lessie Loser! Gas Plants should have lead to Prison for McCrooky! Ehealth? Orange? This fiasco proves conclusively that the populace of ONTARIO are DUMB BASTARDS! Agree that the PCs screwed up with WHODAT. I told them he was the wrong choice go with Frank Klees et al.

I have never been a Club member politically, only for Cricket with a mixed bunch of much darker Cbean/ Indian gents and other Sports teams with my kids. My son was one of 2 light kids in his Basketball League, unlike WICB I know how develop players– go where the highest level of competition is!

If Justin really pisses me off I will retire to become and early CPP burden and take a very excellent Retirement Income with very low TAX! Divs and Cap Gains are like 25% MAX! Take dat JT U idiot! I may go home to Bim with all those TAX treaty benefits—on second thought even JT is better than Fumbling Foundation Grad!

17. @MoneyBrain November 7, 2015 at 10:36 AM #

Economists are usually those fellas that ask,”what happened ?” I asked a very mature Harvard U trained, Econ Prof from U of T in 2006 about his concerns with the US Econ and Financing and he said,”Dont worry they are on the correct path.” REALLY? The US may still go under if they play the Interest Rate game and other variables incorrectly. The situation is still very risky in a major way.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..

Exactly my point MB.

18. @Vincent

U were very succinct so just wanted to put lil flesh pun it.

19. @Beresford “Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.”

But isn’t it true that Barrarck has been waiting for his money from way, way back when the BLP was in office ? (Note that I said in office, and NOT in power)

20. @Moneybrain
    That was one angry diatribe, money isn’t everything (although some people may argue it’s the only thing), have you seen the impact of the Tar Sands on wild life? The First Nations and residents of BC have a point, they don’t want a pipeline traversing their territory and ruining their environment and way of life for eternity. The ranchers in Nebraska and even some in Texas and other States don’t want a pipeline through their lands disrupting their ranching and polluting their streams (yuh forget that pipelines do break what about the Enbridge one that break in Michigan?) Yuh do know that they are still cleaning Prince William Sound 25 years after Exxon Valdiz?, its too early to know what the impact of fracking is on the environment.

The PCs in Ontario are so inept that they deserve to be out of power for the next generation, the last Leader outlined his fiscal plan of cutting jobs prior to the last election and didn’t even let his candidates know, the Liberals mistakes were small potatoes compared to those.

So the Granite Club returned your cheque? Yuh should donate it to Charity, if you want a suggestion I have a good one (no not the United Way).
    Leave Foundation outta this, he left it long time ago and went to UWI as well as finishing school in T&T.

Lastly “if all the Economists were laid end to end they would never reach a conclusion” (GBS)

21. This is for Dompey:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Cools
    Anne Cools

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_Bailey
    And this. Cameron Bailey

22. The Toronto International FIlm Festival is the biggest cultural MONEY earner for the city of Toronto.

Big up St. Boniface Junior School at Sion Hill, St. James.

23. Big up his teachers Merle Roach, Joan Hinds and Vivian Sealy too.

All still alive. All boss teachers.

Boss women.

24. Simple Simon

I think you somehow missed my point, or didn’t quite comprehend what I was trying to convey? So it is best that I reiterate it once more: in what way would it benefit a black person to serve in the Canadian Senate, when Canada conveys little in the way of influence upon the world affairs. And also Simple: I am quite certain that the Caribbean population here in the States, have heard the names Merle Roach, Joan Hinds and Vivian Sealy thrown around here quite regularly.

25. @Sarge
    Like I said it does not matter to me whether they build a pipeline, it effects Workers and consumers who have to pay higher prices and Taxes. I dont have to have any investments in Canada. Indeed, in the last year or 2 investing broadly in Cnd stocks has not been that lucrative.

Ban Oil and Natgas then, but windmills are NOT good either as they kill birds and are only about 30% efficient. I still wont be hurt too much as I live close to Downtown and dont have to use a car, especially if retired, however most Canadians must have a car! So Nuclear energy is looking good then as it does not pollute and the fuel is cheap. Some joker will say that nuclear is terrible too, I know there are tons of overly educated fools with nothing better to do. G5 nuclear is very safe.

Sarge, some like me so will succeed without the help of clubs, racial connections and any other crutch in life. ( certain cro/utches excepted as in sweeeeet ladies). Self confidence, research, ability to communicate and get along with all types of people, brains are all we
    really need.

Regretfully, Fumble spent his formative years at Foundation thereby lending that institution an inferior reputation, but like I said before my cousin went there and went on to a Bdos Schol. A friend from Foundation received a Rhodes Schol.

I regret alarming U with my passionate approach but that is natural for someone with TRUE Leadership no nonsense genes.

26. @Sarge

Bim is 339 for 5 at Lunch according to our Foundation pal Keith Holder. Braff and Brookes did not last long this morning nor did Dowrich, and my hope for 500+++ is now a lil diminished but not impossible. Would have been more confident if Carlos was there.

Were U at school with Keith?

27. @Dompey November 7, 2015 at 12:16 PM “Canada conveys little in the way of influence upon the world affairs…the Caribbean population here in the States.”

Dear Dompey:

It is not my fault if the United States is an inward looking backward place. Wasn’t it a United States President who was so backward that when he became President he had only travelled outside of the United States just once, and that very, very, briefly? and the people who elected him TWICE are no better.

Stupseee!!!

Get lost do!!!!

28. @Moneybrain
    Can’t recall the name so perhaps he was after my time, BTW is your friend the current CG? He was a Rhodes Scholar but we did have some people who could be classified as “Roads Scholars”, why would you tag a school as inferior because you disapprove of the actions of one individual? Look how many of his senior Ministers went to HC? I even heard that DB was as bright as a newly minted penny.

@Simple Simon
    You always “name drop” Cameron Bailey’s name into any conversation about Canada, you is kin? I know his old man and recently heard he was ailing hope he is doing better now.
    Yuh think that any Wiki info means anything to Dompey? It is obvious that his knowledge of the country adjacent to his and North of the 49th parallel is woefully inadequate but what else is new? Dompey could be useful, the Americans haven’t seen the “Lord God Bird” in a few decades although there was a possible sighting about 10 years ago. I suggest that they send Dompey down to the swamps of Arkansas where the wood above his shoulders would lure them out in droves.

29. We in canada take our lead from the USA, maybe Justin will have to move Margaret in to 24 sussex

30. @Lawsom

I think U mean Sophie’s mother?

31. @Sarge

DB received a Bdos Schol was Head Boy when I arrived in first year (actually 2nd yr as I skipped a year). Unfortunately, it would appear according to those on this blog, that the HC Pols under Fumble are suffering from the same pollutants and toxicity as those less gifted. Indeed, very sad.

Already communicated that Foundation has produced some stars. I have many Foundation friends.

32. @MONEY BRAIN,
    1. LEE CREATED A NATION STATE OUT OF PEOPLE WHO ACCEPTED THE HARSH ACTIONS OF THE STATE AND ARE VERY DISCIPLINED. They had to be or suffer the drastic penalties; DEATH FOR THE USE OF DRUGS. JAIL FOR LITTERING, ETC.THE PEOPLES OF THE CARIBBEAN, ESPECIALLY BARBADOS, ARE VERY AVERSE TO DISCIPLINE.

ISRAEL RECEIVES ANNUAL GRANTS FROM THE UNITED STATES AND JEWISH GROUPS OF BILLIONS OF DOLLARS EVERY YEAR. They stole the land from the Palestinians.SO DON’T HOLD THEM UP AS ANY COUNTRY TO EMULATE
    Why didm’t the BLP pay Al Barracb his money? Why did he have to put them in court. Why (when they lost the case) did the BLP not honour the findings of the court, and pay him his money, even after he appealed and won again. He would not have had to padlock any building. Why didm/\’t he accept the settlement that was offered by the incoming government?
    Justin Trudeau’s father uttered a few famous words during his tenure as Prime Minister:”Just watch me!”I say to you, just watch Justin. He has just ushered a new era in Canadian history and is showing how the West Minster system can work. When he talks about “cabinet government has returned”, it returns the independence of each cabinet minister. Something that Barbadians have not understood and resented, in the form of government that the present prime minister has instituted.

33. @Alvin

Problem in Bim, the C’bean and much of the World is a lack of Discipline, hence that is EXACTLY what we need badly–DISCIPLINE. Parts of Asia have discipline and they are winning they will continue to Win (the parts of Asia with little D are the losers eg Phillipines.) My kids are half Asian and they will win too. I am concerned for those in Bim that are good hardworking people getting afflicted by poor leadership. Bim’s choice is clear Discipline and Success or suck salt.

I never said to emulate Israel or any other Nation, I said to learn their Success Secrets. Why has Israel been so good at Technology and Pharmaceuticals? We cant learn anything from that? I never said to take every aspect of Israel and reproduce.

I am not a BLP pimp so U have a case of mistaken identity. When a Party wrong I will say they are wrong. Above I criticised the Ont PC for electing Who Dat!

The best thing PET ever did was utter those words and follow through during the FLQ Crisis! Justin is no PET, just like Dippa son was not Dippa!

Stephen H had his faults we all do.

34. @MONEY BRAIN, HANTS AND DOMPEY.
    LEAVE OUT CANADA FOR ME. I WOULD RATHER LIVE IN CANADA ANY DAY THAN THE U.S.A. WE HaVE JUST HAD A SUCCESSFUL ELECTION, AN UNBLEMISHED CHANGE OF GOVERNMENT, A RESULT THAT THE WHOLE COUNTRY ACCEPTED AND EMBRACED, AND A CABINET THAT EVERYONE SEEMS PLEASED WITH. And Dompey Canada has contributed, and will continue to much on the World Stage/ Trudeau was the FIRST Western Leader to visit China when the United States was very much against it. It was the first nation after the revolution to visit and maintain diplomatic relations with Cuba, and have trade links with despite the embargo. Cuba contributed significantly to the freeing of Mandela when it sent troops from Cuba to Angola and Namibia.

CONTRAST THAT WITH THE EXPLETIVE LADEN DISCUSSIONS WITH THE MEMBERS OF THE LOSING PARTY at the end of the last election in Barbados

I will bet that Money Brains and Hants voted Conservative. Canada progressed and won the world’s respect under Pierre Trudeau’s leadership. They lost this under Harper and the Conservative’s tenure. By the way Money Brains, Justin Trudeau is forty three (43) years old. Hardly a young pup. This was the cry of the Conservatives. The country showed them the truth. And Hants and Dompey, there are Blacks in the Cabinet of the PROVINCIAL LIBERALS AND THERE WERE BLACKS ELECTED TO PARLIAMENT in the federal elections. Lincoln Alexander served with distinction in the Parliament and Conservative cabinets and rose to become Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Blacks are treated better in Canada.

Justin has made an excellent start to his governance, The whole country feels as if a load has been taken off their backs. Justin may turn out to be the best Prime Minister Canada ever had. America can earn a lot from it.

If Barbados could get over 60Billion dollars (US) every year for over sixty years we would be the best nation in the world.

Cuba has suffered an embargo for the past sixty years and is on par with Israel,especially in the area of the sciences and pharmaceuticals.

35. @ Alvin Cummins.

I voted Liberal in every election since 1977 when I became a Canadian citizen.

I am well aware of the composition of the Provincial Government.

You can educate Dompey about Canadian politics not me.

36. @Alvin
    The truth is that Justin was elected for 3 reasons

1 people dont like Harper, regardless of his ability, so they wanted change.

2 Justin’s name Trudeau fooled many people that he is his father PET, he is not. He will leave Canada much poorer in many respects.

3 Women voted for Justin because he is a handsome fella, that is indisputable as I have heard women say so and other people have reported same.

I have been to different parts of Cuba on 4 trips. Cuba is a FAILED state, they can not properly feed the people, that is Job #1. Yes they have accomplished a fairly good Health system. Technologically Israel is far ahead, many components of cell phones eg cameras, use Israeli Tech. Singapore is very far ahead of Cuba even though it is a very small island.
    While I have no problem learning from certain successes of Cuba I am certainly NOT interested in their Political system for use in Bim or Canada. Heavy Leftists in Bim and Canada should be sent to Cuba so they would be happy and leave clever hardworking people alone! Lee of Singapore was very clever NO Leftists here! Why waste time on a system that can not work because it lacks Incentive?

37. @Alvin and Hants

It is very disturbing to discover that learned gents, as you both are, would just Vote Liberal all the time. Please tell me that if an ONT election was held Mon 9th Nov you gents would not vote for Lessie Loser, at least spoil the ballot, nuh!

This ONT Liberal Govt are a joke. They are now messing with the DRs and HealthCare, bloody idiots will race them down to the US and we dont have enough DRs as is. My DR has just given up and retired at like 45 yrs old. My recent interactions with Emerg at Mt Sinai and OP at another facility have fully acquainted me with the Ont Liberal BS! I wish this was their only failure but these Libs specialise in messing up what they touch.

How anyone could even bother thinking about voting for them again is incredible even the DLP is only a lil wusser. These ONT Liberals could not make 12th man on a Dog Team.

38. @ MoneyBrain,

I am NOT learned. Alvin Cummins is learned.

You and your 1% friends have a lot more to lose than a poor boy like me living in the ghetto.

I will vote Liberal again even if Hunter does not run.

Now go and enjoy brunch at Cafe Brolud. I just had mine at Tim Hortons,

39. Hants

I am true Bajan–NO fancy lunch for me, we were brought up far too shrewd for that. We went for Chinese DimSum on Thurs lunch, 3 of us for $30 all in. You could not eat so much any cheaper at Tim’s.
    U fellas trying too hard to purposefully position me incorrectly. I have HC Bajan pals who living a much higher standard than I, both here and in Bim. One gent is the head of his Govt Dept and he is always going on Global Conferences at Bim’s expense as far away as Singapore, Aus, Europe. He would not care to eat at Tim’s! Another chap drives his Merc and travels extensively.

So U have the correct idea but wrong Bajan bro. lol ha ha

40. Pride tekking the stinger out of the Scorpions, 2 for 1 dem !

41. Scorpions 23 to make but only 2 wts left. Beat the Jammies. Kirk top score too! Wuhlosssss! Murdah!

Besseee had win the championship!

42. Hants

I forget to mention I have never even heard of Cafe Brolud until you mentioned earlier.

I sure dont believe U are living the poor life, unless U designed things that way.

43. Moneybrain

Many of our civil rights legislations were implemented by the liberal politician, who has and continues to fight for downtrodden and marginalized elements of our society.

44. Meanwhile back at home , we are seeing a big push by Massy Credit card,and Bajans are snapping them up,as they can be tendered at over 70 places,and counting, throughout the island. But meanwhile if a Bajan organisation, wants to set up a fun raising cake sale table on Massy’s property, it better possess the following.
    (a) A Valid Health certificate for each person involved.
    (b) Liability Insurance
    (c) A temporary Restaurant certificate.

Perhaps one day we will be the authorities extending this requirement to Coconut vendors and Ackee Sellers, et al

45. @Dompey

Since U want to talk history which US political party fought against slavery?
    That would seem fairly important, wouldnt it? Now people dislike Dr Ben because he is in the Republican race? How come they also had Cain last time and Allan Keyes sometime before? How many black guys ran for the Dems before BO?

I do understand the Liberal angle but one has to be careful of their quality as with any party. Voting for any party as a matter of habit is very questionable. Why? Just look at the DLP today, hardly any relation to the DLP back in Dippa and Cammie’s time. Where are the clever gents of that calibre now? So when U vote DLP today it is not the same as in the 1971 election. All things are subject to change, just look at how poor the formerly rich Detroit area is. Consider that the USA has become much poorer over the last 10-20 yrs where the middle class is concerned.

46. Moneybrain

You surely do not have within your grasp a comprehensive understanding of American politics to make such argument as those who do that are defending the Republican Party platform and all that is stands to represent.

Yes, the party of President Abraham Lincoln fought against slavery because it was a well known fact that Southern Democrats at the time were slaves owners and it was within they best interest to fight to keep this evil institition alive because they very survival and interest depended upon it.

So therefore, the poor and marginalized elements in American society supported the Republican Party platform because its platform was geared towards they interest at the time, until FDR New Deal which saw elements of the poorer classes changing alliance to the Democrat Party because at that time the Republican Party shifted its focus to Big Business and the upper-classes of the American.

47. Moneybrain

You have always remember that Abraham Lincoln formed the Republican Party and run on a platform to dismantled the evil instutition of slavery, but most political historians would tell you the Lincoln held a moderate stance on slavery.

In fact Lincoln was quoted as saying: “If he could have destroyed slavery and save the Union he would have done it, and if he could have save the Union without destroying slavery he would have also done it.”

48. @Moneybrain
    So now you want to dabble in history? How about the Barbados raised Shirley Chisholm? The Vauxhall schooled Shirley Chisholm who was a member of the Seale family that lived in that area. Didn’t Jessie run for Pres? BTW they were black and ran in the Democratic primaries.

As for Alan Keys, Herman Cain et al they were all window dressing and Carson is living proof that smarts in one area aren’t necessarily transferrable to another. Why didn’t the Republican Party embrace Colin Powell? How about JC Watts who was senior to John Boehner in the leadership of the Republican caucus? Did you see how quickly they got rid of Michael Steele?

If you want to putter around the periphery of history choose another topic.

49. Sargeant November 9, 2015 at 8:15 AM #
    wITH ALL DUE RESPECT SIR
    IF YOU CAN ELECT BO PRESIDENT YOU CAN ELECT DR CARSON 100 FOLD

50. @Dompey

The vast majority of humans are motivated by their interests and nothing has changed in hundreds of years (or thousands).

However, my family member who was the first Lawyer to win a court case in England against Slavery in the 1700s by barring slave owners from having slaves while in England would not have been naturally biased against Slavery having been born in Bim. This decision was very surprising at the time.