Submitted by Beresford

BLPIn dire times, while the society rallies in national survival mode, driven by personal crises, there is always that element that crassly exploits the desperate times for solely their own good.

As Barbados struggles and becomes daily weighed down under the onslaught […]of exploitation,punishment and inhumane treatment, its most unfortunate position is that those who should be the rescuers and protectors are its pillagers.

The DLP Government is presiding over the massacre of all that has held Barbados together, made it shine beyond compare and forged a country that was singled out universally as a beacon of excellence.

What has Barbados come to now? Forget the wiping out of the strongest economy in the region for years. Except that the ever decaying productive sectors have spawned massive unemployment, declining government revenues, never mind the increased VAT which is now manifesting itself in the collapse of our social sector and infrastructure.

As roads fall apart, there is bedlam in bus terminals as workers and parents are left stranded. All kinds of critical drugs are now suddenly disappearing from pharmacies. The least said about the QEH, the better.

Barbadians are now made to shed tears and to submit themselves to the shame, humiliation, of begging the DLP Government for their rightful due – payouts, severance.

The heart-rending spectacle of cut off Transport Board workers begging for money they should have received long ago – this is what Barbados has come to.

Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.

Hoteliers still waiting for concessions. They are coming and coming, but never come.

As predicted, registrations at UWI tumbling directly as a result of the DLP’s cutting off of tuition fees for Barbadians. With the evidence mounting, the hearts of the DLP only hardening.

The cold hearted, calculated, cruel approach of the DLP is most vivid in the constant tissue of lies in which they have shrouded their wickedness.

There is just no way to believe the utterances of the DLP, starting from the Prime Minister.

He of no public servants going home. He of free education will not be touched. He of free health care to be maintained.

In every instance, Freundel Stuart has lied to Barbadians.

How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?

The heart of Barbados, the middle class, has been cut out by the policies and deception of the DLP.

The DLP has destroyed this group that has been the glue in Barbados, those that moved from poor to middle class, through sheer hard work and the programmes, mainly free education, and aspired to go further.

The nearly 30 increased and new taxes have been a straight punch to the face of the middle class. This wide swath of Barbados has been waylaid by the DLP as most so categorised have been the ones less able to withstand changes in economic or national circumstances.

And the loss hope of a majority of Barbadians is wrapped up in the waste basket of the DLP in which has been thrown the support that has transformed thousands of lives through university education.

The desolation and wiping out of the middle class is one of the more sordid outcomes of a DLP Government that has boxed itself into nothing else but surviving at all costs.

It is telling that people who a decade and two ago were themselves aspiring have crushed the dreams and mobility of people just like them.

Imagine Stuart is a Prime Minister! Could not have happened without his passage through free university education. Could not have happened without the social supports that aided his mother and allowed him to dabble in histrionics and whatever else without worrying about how he would eat, go school or even sleep.

Look at Dem! Not one can remove himself from this equation.

Pompous and Falstaffian as they now are, not a single member of the DLP Government could contemplate their outsize good fortune, which they are exploiting to the fullest, without the economic and social structures that have underpinned Barbados’ progress.

It is the worse patronage and height of deceit for Stuart and DLP Ministers to be fully engorged with their luck and plea empathy even as they, as the Trinis say, mammigua – lie to the public.

Many things in Barbados need an end putting to them or correcting. The court system. Economy. QEH. Transport Board. Water Authority. Tourism. Look anywhere, and there is a looming crisis or threat to Barbados as we know it, as we wish it.

Few are as excruciating and in need of reform now as the DLP penchant for spinning and lying.

A society without the example of good governance from the top is one that will descend into anarchy.

And one with no hope shared by thousands, drop outs, inertia, an underclass, a society stymied.

This is what Freundel Stuart and the DLP have wrought and are breeding.

In such an outcome, they will be no saviours and all losers.

237 responses to “Killing Hope, Middle Class”

1. @GP and Hants,
    Hope the first 6 batsmen can do better than lead us to 109 for 7. Russell, Carlos B and Holder are a luxury to have lower down but 1-6 must start producing. We certainly stand a much higher probability of winning than in the Tests.

2. MoneyBrain

Writes: “All governmental systems have flaws, but the flaws can be overcome by the right kind of people”.

It is clear from the Mr. Moneybrain above statement that he is by common definition and in my own interpretation an utopian ideologue, who has yet to provide the necessary evidence to support his twisted hypotheses.

Sir can you point to any period in human history where we have had the correct kind of people serving collective needs of all of the people?

To concluded Moneybrain, Sir Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr, pokes holes in your hypotheses when he alludes to the fact that life is a continual clash of groups, nations, races, and classes, representing great conflicting principles, struggling for survival in a world of limited resources.

3. @moneydrain. Glad as shite to see the back of that creep Harper.
    Birds of a feather eh?

4. Another BLP loser waiting to see barbados fall of the cliff, No Shame ! No Shame ! No Shame
    but the questions still remains is what solutions does the BLP foot soldiers and their wounded leader/ still fighting a battle on her own turf with no end in sight ‘
    the question being What are YOUR solutions
    That article serves no purpose Why? because it is the same long recitation of balderdash that have been said for six long years,

5. Moneybrain

Sir Alexander Hamilton also pokes holes in your hypotheses, when he alluded to the fact that government was instituted in the first place because the Passions and Desires of men will not conform to the dictates of Reason and Justice without Constraints.

So the goodness of men or the right kind of men aren’t enough to cause them to do the right thing Money, it is the legal sanctions which compels them to do the right thing, or the consequences to be had.

6. The BLP has a hard time convincing themselves that they can solve the country economies problems
    So it is unthinkable to even conceive that blp can convince the majority of barbados of their worthiness

7. It is good to see a few of the names that I have become familiar with. Regardless of the camp, I can feel a deep sense of patriotism as I read the various comments. Take no offence when I say that perhaps we need to place patriotism above partisanship.

8. Moneybrain writes:”You are bringing Israeli social policy to discussion of economic policies”

MoneyBrain, the two are one and the same because how can economic and social liberty be realized, unless there is an equal distribution of Laws, Conditions and Opportunity available to every citizen?

9. j(AC)kass said…
    “So it is unthinkable to even conceive that blp can convince the majority of barbados of their worthiness”
    …the real joke is that the BLP don’t even need to do any such convincing…. Not when the DLP has already convincingly shown us their WORTHLESSNESS…..

so…
    Bajans are PRAYING that Walter, Caswell, Jeff, Grenville and some other TRUELY intelligent and competent Bajans will come forward and give them a SANE option….

10. Dompey,
    Unlike others I am willing to take the Positive lessons from any situation, you must have heard of,”take the Best and leave the Rest”. So I certainly can learn what NOT to do from the ABJECT FAILURES ie Commies.
    Domps you are engaging in a lot of talk that leads to nowhere, I am only interested in how Israel, Singapore or any other Nation produces concrete items like JOBS, Progress, stamp out CORRUPTION, Develop the youth etc anything that Bim can pursue to improve the position of the average Bajan. What Israel does to the Palestinians is not relevant in this context as Bajans are not Palestinians.

Fact is that the Nations I have mentioned have suceeded economically.There is much to learn from them.

11. @Junior,
    It is fitting that one with your moniker ie Junior, would be pleased to see a kid elected to do a man’s job.

1 Budgets balance themselves, really Justin?

2 Tax the 1% and give to the middle class. Really Justin? Is that the same 1% that have the very best Tax Lawyers and Accountants? How much will he receive to share with 70% of the population?

I could continue but intelligent people already understand and fools never will. It is your children and grands that will pay the price of the ridiculous Debt this clown will create. Who the hell trust any Pol anyway!

12. @Moneybrain

Why are you so fixated on Singapore? Far from replicating what Singapore has done we should aim to adopt good ideas and policies whatever their origin. That will be our ultimate solution, no one has a patent on knowledge and man has been borrowing from his neighbours since the origin of time. At the advent of the Japanese auto industry they borrowed from the British- see the engines of their Datsun 1200 which were copycat of the “transverse” engines once found on Minis and Morris 1200 etc. what position does Japan occupy in the automotive industry?

Adopt, adapt and incorporate to suit our specific needs and requirements, Singapore developed its own strategies to benefit its people.

13. Moneybrain

Writes: “Domps you are engaging in a lot of talk that leads nowhere.”

Well Brains, here are the facts regarding the country Singapore: you have stated here on numerous occasions that Singapore has within its borders little or no corruption right?

But are you cognizant of the fact that Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, was prime minister of Signapore from 1965 to 1990, and that under his tenure that he had restricted individual freedoms and stunted political development?

Brains, doesn’t Signapore reminds you of many of the dictatorships firmed planted upon the African continent these days? lol

Yes, it is true that Lee’s transformed a squalid port city into a regional financial center, and an exporter of high tech goods, but at what cost Brains?

And finally Brains, after Lee handed power over to Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, in the nine general elections since independence, Lee’s PAP party has never won fewer than 95 percent of the seats in parliment, and in recent years an increasing number of Lee’s PAP candidates have run unopposed. Now Brains, doesn’t Singapore reminds of Nigeria the single most corrupted country upon the African continent? lol

14. @ Money B
    Skippa, you in line for a downward regrading yuh hear?

You mean to tell Bushie that you are arguing with poor people ..about how to get rich…..?
    Give it a rest Money B….
    Next thing you will be doing is debating with Fumble Froon
    on ‘how to expedite urgent issues’…..
    ….Or with AC on the merits of common sense.

15. @Sarge
    I am saying to adapt successful concepts from anywhere. Why Singapore and Israel, used as examples, confusing wunna is incredible.

The only reason for mentioning Singapore is that I have been visiting there since 1983 and have seen the progress on my 11 visits. They have long since passed the British in GDP/capita currently $55K.

Meanwhile, I return to Bim annually and while Bim has performed fairly well it is way behind its potential, especially in the last 10 yrs. Bajans are not happy so we have to atomically charge our efforts regarding solutions and we cant afford to misdirect our limited resources.

Singapore ie Mr Lee and his Party, did conduct certain actions that would be foreign to Bim but we need to Choose the Best and Leave the Rest. However, for Bim to change we may require very aggressive Action.

What do you believe should be conducted for Bim? More palaver?

I trust Grenville the Younger is indeed moving forward to coalesce a formidable group of truly intelligent and experienced Bajan patriots. Certainly NOT fellas that see Parliament as their Personal Net Worth Enhancement Plan!

16. Dompey,
    Yes Lee was a Benevolent and MUCH BELOVED Dictator! My wife’s family there have sent DVD of the Funeral and their Facebook pages were full of praise and thanks for Mr Lee’s life!

Just what Bim needs, someone who cares enough to realise that WASTING TIME (ie 70yrs for Russia), experimenting with Communism is POINTLESS so BAN it day1 and jail those that wont listen! Why? Humans only understand INCENTIVE systems. As my Tour Guide on my recent trip to China, lucidly pointed out “China had to change to Incentive base because workers were doing the least they could get away with.”

In 1983 I attended a Cricket game played on the Padang in Singapore and started chatting with a random person of the minority Indian population who was padded up and waiting to bat, he made it very clear that the Nation State was worth living and investing in as they were headed in the correct direction at high speed. Never met Singaporeans who had major problems with the Govt besides younger highly educated Idealist that would want to change any system.

Corruption among Singaporean Pols leads directly to Prison! I made a comment while accompanying my brother in law to a Regional Political Dinner in Aug 2006 when I saw a Rolls parked nearby and he said there is absolutely no MP who would dare drive such an ostentatious vehicle.

17. Bushie
    U have several great points! Scary as shoite!

It is scary that some people have the same Vote as others, how that can pertain is beyond me. Democracy is excellent in theory and yes the masses had to be liberated by some means BUT Democracy is seldom best for rapid improvement.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah MoneyB……correct me if am wrong cause sometimes I rely on memory only, but it is a gigantic effort by the Singapore government to be able to stamp out a great deal of corruption particularly by politicians in a country not much bigger than Barbados and with a population of about 6 million peoplr, demographics Dompey, demographics. The Singapore government have very little patience for those who waste precious time and cause the country to lose face, corruption is embarrassing to any country. They are very driven business people who, using their formula, have become very successful.

19. @ Money B
    Democracy is like giving all the inhabitants of Jenkins an equal vote in deciding their future ….and expecting that they will vote for the doctors and nurses to be in charge….. and what you are doing here is like debating with a couple of unstable inmates on “what are the best models of sanity”….. Give it up …and look for the green gate Boss… 🙂

20. Bushie,

Too true!
    It was raining in SL and de Cricket stopped so——-

Probably looney for watching WI too!lol

21. @MoneyB, this Bdos-Singapore comparison is really quite tenuous when you get down into the weeds…surely, you know that.

We can laud Lee as a leader/dictator and all that but the real differences between the locations makes these operational contrasts difficult to countenance.

One simple aspect. The entire Caribbean region hovers under 6 million, as I recall, on a population basis. Singapore alone is 5.6 M people! AND as noted above, the country is only about 1.6 times bigger than Bdos.

Jeez. Both T&T and Jam have much greater land mass than Singapore but neither of them or us have the other more salient links like Chinese connections or proximity and commercial interface to those vast markets.

The country has a GDP in the $100’s of billions. Our entire region is in the $10’s of billions.

But all of this is premised on Errol Barrow’s rather loose and careless remark eons ago in making the comparison in the first place.

As far as I am concerned Mr. Barrow was wistfully longing for his friend Mr Lee’s benign dictatorship moreso that making a MEANINGFUL economic point on how Singapore was able to transform its sugarcane and other agricultural operations as a model for Barbados.

I think it would have made more economic and practical sense to compare B’dos to sugarcane producing cities in South Carolina, USA as the market forces, population dynamics and many other dynamics would have been more alike!

Just saying.

22. Did someone say we need a Dictator? Say waht you like…

https://www.facebook.com/jerry.nyagah/videos/10153675161987008/

23. @Anthony Davis ref German model

My recommendation: Do not look at the German national level, but to specific counties in South Germany since these regions are the true power-houses, responsible for most exports and wealth. The same is true for specific counties in Switzerland or Austria. These counties have the size of Barbados. Local politicians know how to attract business, to manage assets and to shrink public debts. Most famous is Palmer, the major of Tubingen from the Green party. He has no official car. I quote him: Why do I need a big Mercedes with 200 hp in my city? I am not an escaping robber. Palmer doubled company taxes by attracting new business to his city. Politicians like Palmer are 100 % anti-corruption and pro-transparency, working around the clock and saving money for the common good. I am absolutely sure that Palmer had the right solution for garbage in Barbados – if somebody in charge in Barbados would ask him.

24. Word wrote,Singapore alone is 5.6 M people!

Yes but over 1.5mn are foreigners who have come in to help build. In 1983 it was only 3mn.

Yes the 76% Chinese is a major factor as they are generally more serious and harder driving people than we Cbean peeps.

The key is what could we learn and implement from Singapore. There GDP/capita is $55k, Bim is $13K down from 2008 $16k. Bim just needs to get to $25K real soon.

NO we dont want anything to do with sugarcane, one crop economies are usually poor, even Canada with many types of Commodities is in recession now because of the commodity bust. Bim was at its peak in the 1700s when Sugar was very highly priced, tis true. But those dynamics done long time.

The key is identifying and IMPLEMENTING the correct concepts. Sometimes you have to be forceful and sell your plan. Are the citizens sick and tired of what pertains now? What do we plan to do differently? Why will it work? Bajans are not stupid they will give the correct fellas with sensible plans a chance to prove themselves. They know that repeating the same thing over and over is the very definition of Madness.

25. Moneybrain

Chinese are harder driving people than Caribbean people, of course they are, with a population approaching two-billion why would we believe otherwise Brains?

Brains, the entire Caribbean archipelago is less than thirty-six million as for as population is concerned, so your comparison leaves much to be desired in my judgment.

26. Headline in one of Britain dailies

BRITAIN FACES AN INVASION OF SUPER -SIZED RATS WHO ONLY GET BIGGER AND STRONGER WHEN FED……………………………….

………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And from the looks of our pound gathering (and dollars) leaders, we are having a similar problem here.

27. Dompey,
    What the hell are U on about China, I am talking about the Chinese who are 76% of Singapore’s population.

China’s population is not approaching 2bn it is 1.3bn and has peaked because of their 1 child policy. Indeed, China has changed to 2 children per family this last week!

Try Coffee all day to wake yahself up!

28. singapore is an investors dream govt splits the difference and the books remain clean

29. Moneybrain

Sir, it was you who drew the comparison between the Chinese work ethic verses the Caribbean one right?

30. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Bajan problems are not complicated or difficult to solve by apolitical individuals. Our problems stem entirely from the inclusion of political or corrupt considerations in national problem-solving.

New sugar factory for cane that doesn’t exist; new Cahill plant for garbage that doesn’t exist; gov’t monopoly in the fuel business to pass on national crude oil earnings that don’t exist; over-priced ‘low-income’ housing for customers that don’t exist; creating employment for civil servants in jobs that don’t exist; ministers assigned to portfolios with skills that don’t exist; prime minister that hides under his desk pretending his job doesn’t exist.

It would be finny if it wasn’t so farcical.

31. Dompey,

Try harder to read and comprehend.

32. @Frustrated B

Yes they need Projects so the Pols can take their several pounds of flesh!

How else would they finance their Net Worth Enhancement Plans?

33. @ Frustrated Businessman
    It would be finny if it wasn’t so farcical
    Skippa…. Um funny as shiite yuh…even though it is farcical …. AND finny.. 🙂

34. Frustrated Businessman November 2, 2015 at 9:23 AM #

As we approach 50 years of Independence and one year away from being a Republic.
    Year . 17 October ,1954. Corner stone laid for Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Church at Verdun St John.
    Year. 5 December , 1954. Blessing and opening of Our Lady of the Rosary Church.
    Duration of construction. 59 Days or 2 Months.

Meanwhile not a stone throw away
    Corner stone of the St John Polyclinic laid around 1987 (stc)
    Expected date of opening……………………November 2015
    Duration of construction………………………..28 Years (stc)

The Year June 1956. Start of dismantling of Andrews Sugar mill, and the fitting of a much larger mill in an abandoned state,coming in from British Guiana.

February 1957………..Andrews “new ” mill started to grind that year’s sugar harvest.
    Duration of removing old mill and fitting replacement one…………185 days approx

Meanwhile June 2015. The Qualified engineers contracted to dismantle Andrews sugar in preparation for the construction of a new multi-purpose sugar factory, are unable to do so, as “they do not know how it was put together,”and may I add by a group of Seventh Standard boys.

Talk about spinning top in mud, or more appropriately, Marking Time.

35. Talk about spinning top in mud, or more appropriately, Marking Time.
    huh? YOU MEAN BACK PEDALING!

36. @ Colonel Buggy,

The St.John Polyclinic could have been designed and built in less than 2 years. The politics of Barbados is the reason it has taken this long.

Barbados has competent Architects,Engineers and Builders.

37. @GP, YOU STILL WATCHING WEST INDIES GET BEAT ? LOL

38. @Hants/ GP

WI nearly had one there with Carter’s 2 quick wickets, pity they did not bat better up front.

39. @ MoneyBrain,

Nearly is not enough.

40. @Hants,
    Agreed but we are at the stage where we are looking for hope!

41. Hants November 2, 2015 at 2:59 PM #
    @GP, YOU STILL WATCHING WEST INDIES GET BEAT ? LOL

saw the highlights
    why dont you come out of retirement and replace samuels? you cant do worse
    you drop chanders and still playing samuels man?

42. david
    beg colonel buggy to start a thread for novembEr on OLE BUHBADOS like the one we had in 2008
    colonel buggy seems to be a st joseph/ st andrew man and brings a perspective quite different to those of us who lived in town at a time when transportation was not that available and folk only visited town or country (depending on where you lived) on occasions such as the annual village church excursion

43. Samuels is a talented waste of space, and he is supposedly half the backbone??????

WICB have not Developed the players properly and so who brekking down the door??????

Plenty teams would have mature alternatives worthy of another opportunity, not WI.

44. @GP, I do not understand how so many of these batsmen have not learnt the fundamentals.

Some of them bat like first formers before the coaching kicked in.

We were fortunate to have Major. Headley, Mr. Ashby and Colin Martindale who taught the “fundamentals” that are vital to good cricket.

45. good days those Hants
    but these jokers have not played enough cricket man all the different types of guards and pads BUT NOT DIFFERENT TYPES OF SURFACES
    can you rEmember they had fellas that could bowl ground eatErs at will
    AND TURN THE BALL OF PEBBLES IN THE WICKET ETC

46. @Colonel Buggy

You heard the request, email us something.

47. @ Georgie Porgie November 2, 2015 at 3:51 PM #
    You knew he was a country man, if he said ‘Frig this , took off his shoes and tie them around his neck.
    You knew he was a country man if he had a handkerchief the size of a table cloth in his back pocket
    You knew he was a country man, if he walk ,like he had two left feet, and his hard shoes cock up in the air .
    You knew he was a country man if he jumped off the bus and made a beeline for Church Village.

48. Let’s sum up Canada’s new Cabinet:

Minister of Health is a doctor.
    Minister of Transport is an astronaut.
    Minister of National Defence is a Sikh Veteran.
    Minister of Youth is under the age of 45.
    Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food is a former farmer.
    Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness was a Scout.
    Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development was a financial analyst.
    Minister of Finance is a successful businessman.
    Minister of Justice was a crown prosecutor and is a First Nations leader.
    Minister of Sport, and Persons with Disabilities is a visually impaired Paralympian.
    Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and Canadian Coastguard is Inuit.
    Minister of Science is a medical geographer with a PhD.

New titles include:
    Immigration, Citizenship and REFUGEES.
    Environment and CLIMATE CHANGE

49. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, if correct as listed re Canada’s cabinet then I applaud Trudeau’s political PR savvy.

But please be reminded that the US suffered its greatest economic collapse since the days of the great depression under the direction of a Treasury Secretary (Minister of Finance & Economy) who was a former CEO and very successful businessman at one of Wall Street’s preeminent institutions.

Being a success from the trenches does offer some real guidance when you are charged as a new director of those now in the trenches BUT it certainly does NOT guarantee success.

Absolutely awesomely beautiful optics, though!

50. Trudeau said “government by cabinet is back,” as if to turn a page on the one-man show that the Stephen Harper years had become, and pledged his would be a government that was open, relied on evidence-based policy making, and recognized that media would “do their jobs of holding us to account and asking tough questions.”

What a concept – media holding government to account and asking tough questions.