Submitted by Beresford

BLPIn dire times, while the society rallies in national survival mode, driven by personal crises, there is always that element that crassly exploits the desperate times for solely their own good.

As Barbados struggles and becomes daily weighed down under the onslaught […]of exploitation,punishment and inhumane treatment, its most unfortunate position is that those who should be the rescuers and protectors are its pillagers.

The DLP Government is presiding over the massacre of all that has held Barbados together, made it shine beyond compare and forged a country that was singled out universally as a beacon of excellence.

What has Barbados come to now? Forget the wiping out of the strongest economy in the region for years. Except that the ever decaying productive sectors have spawned massive unemployment, declining government revenues, never mind the increased VAT which is now manifesting itself in the collapse of our social sector and infrastructure.

As roads fall apart, there is bedlam in bus terminals as workers and parents are left stranded. All kinds of critical drugs are now suddenly disappearing from pharmacies. The least said about the QEH, the better.

Barbadians are now made to shed tears and to submit themselves to the shame, humiliation, of begging the DLP Government for their rightful due – payouts, severance.

The heart-rending spectacle of cut off Transport Board workers begging for money they should have received long ago – this is what Barbados has come to.

Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.

Hoteliers still waiting for concessions. They are coming and coming, but never come.

As predicted, registrations at UWI tumbling directly as a result of the DLP’s cutting off of tuition fees for Barbadians. With the evidence mounting, the hearts of the DLP only hardening.

The cold hearted, calculated, cruel approach of the DLP is most vivid in the constant tissue of lies in which they have shrouded their wickedness.

There is just no way to believe the utterances of the DLP, starting from the Prime Minister.

He of no public servants going home. He of free education will not be touched. He of free health care to be maintained.

In every instance, Freundel Stuart has lied to Barbadians.

How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?

The heart of Barbados, the middle class, has been cut out by the policies and deception of the DLP.

The DLP has destroyed this group that has been the glue in Barbados, those that moved from poor to middle class, through sheer hard work and the programmes, mainly free education, and aspired to go further.

The nearly 30 increased and new taxes have been a straight punch to the face of the middle class. This wide swath of Barbados has been waylaid by the DLP as most so categorised have been the ones less able to withstand changes in economic or national circumstances.

And the loss hope of a majority of Barbadians is wrapped up in the waste basket of the DLP in which has been thrown the support that has transformed thousands of lives through university education.

The desolation and wiping out of the middle class is one of the more sordid outcomes of a DLP Government that has boxed itself into nothing else but surviving at all costs.

It is telling that people who a decade and two ago were themselves aspiring have crushed the dreams and mobility of people just like them.

Imagine Stuart is a Prime Minister! Could not have happened without his passage through free university education. Could not have happened without the social supports that aided his mother and allowed him to dabble in histrionics and whatever else without worrying about how he would eat, go school or even sleep.

Look at Dem! Not one can remove himself from this equation.

Pompous and Falstaffian as they now are, not a single member of the DLP Government could contemplate their outsize good fortune, which they are exploiting to the fullest, without the economic and social structures that have underpinned Barbados’ progress.

It is the worse patronage and height of deceit for Stuart and DLP Ministers to be fully engorged with their luck and plea empathy even as they, as the Trinis say, mammigua – lie to the public.

Many things in Barbados need an end putting to them or correcting. The court system. Economy. QEH. Transport Board. Water Authority. Tourism. Look anywhere, and there is a looming crisis or threat to Barbados as we know it, as we wish it.

Few are as excruciating and in need of reform now as the DLP penchant for spinning and lying.

A society without the example of good governance from the top is one that will descend into anarchy.

And one with no hope shared by thousands, drop outs, inertia, an underclass, a society stymied.

This is what Freundel Stuart and the DLP have wrought and are breeding.

In such an outcome, they will be no saviours and all losers.

237 responses to “Killing Hope, Middle Class”

1. Bushie, why dont you inaugurate the BrassBowlery ERADICATION Party?

Rather than jump in on GP’s side of the debate I will attempt to help right the ship.
    So what should Bim / we do asap:

Start by accepting there are other small countries doing an excellent job that Bim can learn from and adapt where needed eg Singapore and Israel spring to mind

1 Stamp out Corruption with comprehensive Integrity Legislation leading to severe PENALTIES both financial and prison time.

2 Increase MPs salaries by at least 3X, to attract the best and cleverest.

3 Create an Incentive Environment so that hardworking and clever can flourish.

4 Bim has been and should be a nation of shopkeepers/ Business minded types take this to the next level in Technology, Creative Artistry, Medicine et al.

5 Encourage DISCIPLINE throughout Bajan life regardless of the aspect, ie remove the Block Boys for their own good to a Military style schooling process–teach all yutes going nowhere, where to go by Discipline, learning for self enhancement and betterment of the Nation. (they will learn a trade or further higher academics according to ability and/ or their gifts) Singapore and Israel have Natl Service Programs.

6 Make Education and Training the cornerstone. Ensure that these focus on what Bajans can use to increase the standard of living broadly. Limited $$$ to spend indicate proper focus—do not waste money on mainly theoretical areas like Sociology, PoliSci etc emphasise Medicine, Engineering/ Technology,Business, Science especially Applied.
    Ensure top flight training for Jobs, Jobs, Jobs. Set up Centres for Business where Retired Execs etc can help younger business people understand Finance, Production, Marketing etc. Such Retired peeps should feel positively disposed to mentor and give back to their Nation–If not You, who?

7 Consider Health Tourism Centres a la Thailand we are closer 4-9hrs from the USA/ Sth Am versus Thailand at 18-24 hrs flying time. Thailand costs about 60% of the US Med system, Bim could give Tax incentives to Med orgs to really get things cooking. Bring in Mayo / Cleveland Clinic quality to establish top reputation. Remember most patients will stay 2-3 wks in a hotel, before and after Surgery, because they will have to be checked out before returning home.

8 Expand Sports Tourism

9 much more

We must have LEADERSHIP that knows what is good and head straight there sans the BS stalling and chatting nonsense. The problem with Democracy and the DBLP is that too much time is spent with petty squabbling and partisan politics. Relentless productivity must rule.

2. @Dee Word

You is something else. Why you gone pickin at GP again?

3. DEE WORD
    So playing my “psuedo psychology” role again, I presume you are either Gemini born or ‘schizophrenzoid’ or an avowed gawker (as described before).

WRONG AGAIN. you cant hElp it can you

now if i responded TO YOU FURTHR my response would be deemed CHILDISH
    WHEN WUNNAH WRITE SHITE ITS WITHOUT MALICE AND PSYCHOLOGY

WHEN as a young doc in Bim that i had an almost ‘orgasmic’ pleasure in making fools of the lawyers and police prosecutors WHO CHALLENGED MY give evidence in court i WAS NOT MOCKING i was giving evidencE only SIR?

you cant hElp it can you

Doc you are an interesting personality. YES MANY FOLK THINKS SO DESPITE YOUR SARCASM

RE “I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY DULLARDS GET FAR IN LIFE

THIS IS A TRUTH THAT I HAVE SEEN OVER AND OVER IN MY LIFE………..YOU HAVE PROBABLY SEEN IT YOURSELF BUT YOU HAVE TO “push back” AS YOU CALL IT

YOU HAVE TO SHOW THAT YOU ARE SMART

EVeRY ONE KNOWS THAT FUMBLE IS AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN A DUMMY
    HE AINT NO DARCY BOYCE

4. David October 31, 2015 at 4:12 PM #
    @Dee Word

You is something else. Why you gone pickin at GP again?

HE CANT HELP IT
    IT SEEMS TO DO SOMETHING FOR HIS EGO

I HEY SO WATCHING TV COOL AS A CUCUMBER

5. @Moneybrain

Start by accepting there are other small countries doing an excellent job that Bim can learn from and adapt where needed eg Singapore and Israel spring to mind

++++++++++++

Why does everyone bring up Singapore as a country that Barbados should emulate? The factors: political, cultural, population, history and economics that propelled Singapore to its current status never existed in Bim and will not now, nor in the foreseeable future.

And yuh bring in Israel too? You know how much aid that the US provides to Israel? Do you have any idea of the private benefactors who donate or transfer billions to Israeli institutions annually?

Wuh kind of derangement syndrome are you suffering from?

6. MB
    RE We must have LEADERSHIP that knows what is good and head straight there sans the BS stalling and chatting nonsense

THIS IS HOW IT SHOULD BE………..BUT IT DONT SEEM TO EVER WORK THIS WAY
    I CAN CITE SEVERAL INSTANCES BUT TO do SO WILL RESULT IN ME BEING LABELLED AS MENTALLY UNSTABLE

sOMETIMES YOU WILL ADVISE THOSE IN CHARGE (WHO ARE NOT ReALLY LEADERS) BUT THEY MAY THINK YOU WANT THEIR PLACE OR SEE YOU AS A THREAT.

SOMETIMES THEY TAKE YOUR IDEAS HIGHER UP AS THEIR IDEAS

7. Sargeant October 31, 2015 at 4:21 PM #
    iS THERE ANYTHING APPROPRIATE TO US THAT WE CAN LEARN FROM Singapore and Israel?

MB how can the crab in the barrel syndrome be overcome as well as the greed and graft?

8. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, you are right. So this I hope to plumb no further after today.

@Dr GP. You really don’t get it do you. I was not being sarcastic. In my view, you are an interesting personality. I am honestly intrigued by you (surely evidenced by these continued exchanges; despite David’s admonitions).

It just amazes me that someone of our obvious ability (remember the polymath) on the one hand being ‘angry, disenchanted and disaffected’ by your days in Bim and yet on the other so seemingly interested and wanting to help..evidenced by these BU forays.

I am not trying to be smart in no shape or fashion. Believe me. You and your actions just seem like such a conundrum to me.

And finally. It is impossible for me to accept statements like ‘Fumble is a dullard’.

Let me see if I can explain it this way. A guy is a C student in school. Yet he does enough to get into a few good colleges (likely because his old man is big shot). So he is a dullard you say. That man goes on to become a millionaire owner of a baseball team and lo an behold also bungles his way through two elections to the White House.

Really, WTF. Who are the dullards? He or we?

In the same way, Darcy Boyce may be whipper-snap sharp but Fumble is still his boss right now.`

So yes I understand that ‘dull’ people get ahead in life, but can’t you see that they can’t be so COMPLETELY dull if they know who, when and where to smoooze to get what they want.

Do you also not realize that as smart and bright as others may be if they don’t know when to stay silent and live to fight another day that in fact they are the ones who are ‘dullards’. And that is NOT a backhanded attack on you… its a fact of life.

For example, MP Estwick, as sharp as people say he is, shouldn’t his backside be out of Parliament for that ‘dullard’ behaviour with the gun?

GP, let me leave you on this note. Don’t be a hammer all the time. Not every comment or person is a nail.

I repeat in good faith: You are an interesting personality!!!!

9. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

of course that should read: “of YOUR obvious ability….”

then you would say I am definitely trying to be smart like you… oh lawd

10. How can we compare Barbados to Singapore where a dictator of sorts was able to exert his strategies not to be questioned? Agree with Sargeant on this one, our society just does not have the discipline to stay the course, the need to plan transportation, living quarters, environmental matters to support business initiatives etc. What we are seeing is the Barrow dread which has loss impetus and bottomed out because of a dearth in leadership. We are in wait mode, for the rebirth.

11. @ Sarge,
    Surely you are cleverer than that?

The relevance of Singapore’s culture, political, history etc is limited. I would agree with you that Bajans generally speaking will NEVER work as hard as Singaporeans, that Asians dont spend as much time having fun etc. However, that does not mean that there is not a ton we can adapt from them utilising good ald Bajan commonsense and fish eating brains. Proven Principles can be learnt from very Successful systems. Naturally, I am assuming we want to learn. Bottomline re Israel is that they have produced very good Tech that we all use eg cellphone camera tech and much much more.

Mr Lee of Singapore could have straightened out the Bim of today, although Bim could never be as successful as Singapore, it could become far superior to its current self. Part of Bim’s problem is people like you with a negative view. Highly intelligent Leadership would first have to Motivate and even manipulate to persuade some Bajans to actually get off their behinds to stop the BS and start to think and act Positively.

I am somewhat disappointed that a Foundation grad like you cant envisage the forest for the trees.

12. re It is impossible for me to accept statements like ‘Fumble is a dullard’.

if he was not a dullard BARBADOS WOULD BE BETTER LED AND BETTER OFF

THERE WERE TIMES YOU SAT IN YOUR WINDOW AND WATCHED THE BOYS PLAYING
    ONE BOY WOULD SAY “LEH WE GO TO THE BEACH FELLAS” AND SO THEY WENT……..HE WAS THE LEADER

FUMBLE CANT TELL THE MORONS AROUND HE TO GO NOWHERE AND HE DONT HAVE THE FORTITUDE TO CLOSE IT DOWN AND DEPRIVE THE REST OF THE JOKERS OF THE PENSIONS THEY SEEK LIKE SANDI DID IN 94

13. @David
    Exactly what is required is a consensus among top flight Pols who design a system that the majority can see makes sense because the Leaders sell the very well thought out Plan. Who cares about the minority who dont want their sons on the Block to be reformed for their own good! Bim needs precisely this style of nearly Dictatorial Leadership to save its sorry downtrodden backside. Bim is but a shadow of itself compared to under the Skippa and Tom. How do you felllas propose to right side this ship?

14. Moneybrain

How could you in good faith employ Israel as a model of which Barbados can emulate?

When Israel has a three-thousands year history to draw from despite the establishment of the Jewish state in the Midddle East back in 1948.

And regardless of the aid Israel receives from the United States and other countries in the world today, Israel has some of the leading academics in world and probably the wealthiest population Worldwide which contribute to the further development of the jewish state.

So Lawson, I am quite surprised that a man with your intellectual-artifacts would use Israel as an example for Barbados to feed off of, given the vast array of literature regarding the Jewish state and its historicity.

15. What we have in Barbados is a bastardized system of Westminster that breeds adversarial politics to the detriment of ALL. How we break out of it will be anyone’s guess. We are searching for solutions before stall becomes catastrophic.

16. Moneybrain

How could you in good faith employ Israel as a model of which Barbados can emulate?

When Israel has a three-thousands year history to draw from despite the reestablishment of the Jewish state in the Midddle East back in 1948.

And regardless of the aid Israel receives from the United States and other countries in the world today, Israel has some of the leading academics in world and probably the wealthiest population Worldwide which contribute to the further development of the jewish state.

So Lawson, I am quite surprised that a man with your intellectual-artifacts would use Israel as an example for Barbados to feed off of, given the vast array of literature regarding the Jewish state and its historicity.

17. To borrow from GP’s lexicon…murdaaah!!!!

18. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

‘FUMBLE CANT TELL THE MORONS AROUND HE TO GO NOWHERE AND HE DONT HAVE THE FORTITUDE…” That is quite accurate but it does not a dullard make. A corrupt leader maybe.

“if he was not a dullard BARBADOS WOULD BE BETTER LED AND BETTER OFF”
    Really. So was Bush smarter than Fumble in your mind then. Nope. I don’t think so.

The best ‘dullards’ get smart people around them to do the job. By your own admission Fumble has a few smart fellow.

Call a spade a spade. We all use those type of words like ‘dullard’ but they are badly misplaced in my view.

If I call him a dullard and he is leading me then I must be a jackass. I don’t see myself that way…and even if others do then maybe they also elected a bunch of dullad to lead them..ipso facto…jackasses we all are!

@David, same to you god sir. Call a spade, a spade. Lee was no “dictator of sorts”. He was a DICTATOR. We are smart enough to understand free and fair elections and elections in his country of the time!

@Money B…”Mr Lee of Singapore could have straightened out the Bim of today”. I presume by ‘Mr. Lee’ you mean a strong, decisive leader. I question your conviction.

Barbados of today is comprised of a wide swath of money sucking layers: lawyers, accountants, brokers, etc. I am not as confident as you are that the comfort zone level of graft that permeates our current society can be upturned by one good leader.

I firmly believe that the entrenched groups would do all in their power to stop any serious attempts to change things. Yes you will accuse me of being negative.

But unless your modern day Lee will install a new DPP, CoP, head of FSC and work assiduously to prosecute criminals WHEREVER their malfeasance is discovered the real change of which you speak will not be achieved.

Not suggesting ‘hands up, surrender’.

But the models of Lee or Barrow cannot be superimposed on today’s existence. Yes strong leadership is needed but we also require very serious surgery too…just saying!

19. @Dee Word

If I call him a dullard and he is leading me then I must be a jackass. I don’t see myself that way…and even if others do then maybe they also elected a bunch of dullad to lead them..ipso facto…jackasses we all are!

That is what you call a half volley to GP…lol.

20. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, but how so really re, “What we have in Barbados is a bastardized system of Westminster that breeds adversarial politics to the detriment of ALL. ”

Grantley, Errol and Tom was able to work with that bastardized system with a certain degree of effectiveness and success. Was never perfect, but they made it work.

The Americans dissed it completely and have their own thing. How many times have you read of legislative grid-lock there?

And then we have the system Mr Putin uses. Ok, let’s rephrase that: we have whatever system Mr. Putin wants to use

I hear your frustration but our problems are in no way caused by our system of Government…rather by the men/women who run it.

21. You guys can talk as much as you like.

Too many of you reference countries such as Israel and Singapore. Whilst others talk of the mythical arrival of a great leader who will steer us through these harsh times. The truth is we already have our captain, the Right Honourable Freundel Stuart.

You do realise that Stuart is the reincarnation of Benjamin Briggs, who happened to be the unfortunate Captain of the Mary Celeste on her final, ill-fated voyage.

God help Barbados!

22. David

It is quite clear that Moneybrain has a poor understanding of Jewish history to even allude to the fact that Barbados could possibly model itself after Israel.

How is it possibly for Barbados to model itself after a people with a three-thousand year history? lol

David, I would suggest the you and Moneybrain both read the book called the Protocols of the Elders of Zion, before making uneducated statements.

Some critics called this book a work of fiction, but I do believe that there is much insight to be gain from this book, regarding the Jewish people and they agenda.

23. @Dee Word

Do you understand what is an epoch? Systems must be modified over time to align with current realities. Because it worked for Tom and Barrow says nada.

24. @Hants October 31, 2015 at 2:54 PM #
    @David,

More free advertising. Breeders cup and the name of the #11 horse is……..” Barbados”

Just watched the Breeders Cup Classic – but “Barbados” was not in the race.

What happened – was he blacklisted?

25. Despite the gridlock with we witnessed these days in Washington, the Founding Fathers in their quest to established the American Constitution feared most that a democratic president followed by majority democratic Congress and liberal Supreme Court would make the President of United States a dictator and vice versa.

26. Due Diligence

Barbados” was in an earlier race called the Breeders cup sprint.

27. de Ingrunt Word October 31, 2015
    with all due respect Sir, your tenacity in arguing ad infinitum ad nauseeamque suggests to me that you are a dullard.

GOING AND WATCH THE THIRD VERSION OF MY FAVORITE MOVIE………THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO

28. David

The problem with the Westminster model of governance verses the American Republican model, is the fact that in the Westminister model of governance, the power emanates from a central government/body. Where as in the American Republican model of governance the legislative power emanates from the Federal, State, and municipal governments, despites the fact that federal law supersedes the latter two.

29. Stop the doom and gloom talk.

See Barbados Today story “Barbados signs air services agreement with India” at:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/10/31/barbados-signs-air-services-agreement-with-india/

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has welcomed the recent signing of the Air Services Agreement between Barbados and India, saying it could potentially bring the citizens of the two countries together.

During a recent farewell call by the outgoing High Commissioner of the Republic of India, Murugesan Subashini, at Ilaro Court, Stuart also identified sports and youth affairs among areas for deeper cooperation with India.

“Sports development is critical and it is a way to beneficially engage the younger cohort of our population, and India has a good record in that area,” he said.

The Prime Minister also praised the outgoing envoy for her contribution, while noting that several Barbadians had benefited from India scholarships over the years.

During the meeting, the outgoing Indian diplomat, who was accompanied by India’s Honorary Consul in Barbados Dr Mohini Harris, also hailed the new air services agreement, saying it would pave the way for more people-to-people contact between the two countries.

However, she noted that “a few minor changes” had been suggested for a new memorandum of understanding covering other areas of cooperation and expressed hope that it would be signed soon.

The High Commissioner, who will be retiring next month, also hopes to see an improvement in trade between the two countries. She pointed out that India was putting greater emphasis on the growth of its renewable energy sector.”

Just imagine 1.3 billion new customers for Bajan Pepper Sauce.

30. @Word

I did allude to a Party comprised of clever fellas selling themselves and the concepts to attain power. In the final analysis it must by necessity be somewhat “revolutionary” and even brutal to those that would like to perpetrate the status quo.

31. @ GP 10 hours before start…. West Indies vs Sri Lanka. Could be a win for Windies.

32. Dompey,
    Before you destroy or at least corrupt the English language please bare in mind that I am stating to learn Key Successful Prinicples from Israel and Singapore. 4 Billion years of detailed Israeli history makes absolutely no difference if they have forged Repeatable Successful Principles that Bim could utilise to raise like the Phoenix from the ashes extant.

33. David

And these three legislative body of government must legislate within the confines of the Constitution.

So the question then becomes: how does the American Republican system government, legislate to meet the demands of an ever changing society, while operating within the terms and conditions of a Constitution which is centuries old?

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Moneybrain

You can’t speak about destroying the English language and in the same sentence say “bare in mind” even Domps of ” historicity” might have said bear, just saying

35. Moneybrain

Accept the fact that you were wrong in suggesting that Barbados should model itself after Israel, without first taking the entire history of the Jewish people into consideration.

And there is absolutely no need for a man of your intellectual-resources to resort to personal attacks and character assassination, to save face.

36. Hants October 31, 2015 at 6:26 PM

Hope the Twinspires Sprint was not televised, with Barbados finishing 12th of 14

37. @Moneybrain

Call me negative if you will but I prefer realist. I am all for improving the governance and economy of Barbados but it irks me when the first word out of peoples’ mouth is Singapore. There are many people in the world who are working to improve the lot of their fellow citizens and they do this without mentioning Singapore as a benchmark.

38. MoneyBrain, I accept the fact that yours is an English sharpen on the whetstone of the Queen’s English, so what does that have to do with intelligence that you’re in want of on this given issue?

39. Dompey,
    What dont you get about Key Success Principles–it does not matter whether they come from thousands of years of Jewish history or 50 years of Singapore. What matters is that they lead to Success, are repeatable and adaptable for BIM.

40. @Piece,
    Agreed, but I get a pass as I was rushing to pick up my Thai Dinner which is being consumed—yellow curry lamb and beef, with Shrimp cakes, grilled chicken, calamari on coconut rice.

41. @Due Diligence,

At least the announcer mentioned that this one was named after a district in Barbados.

As you probably know Eugene Melnyk (Canadian ) names horses after places in Barbados.

http://www.kentucky.com/2015/10/31/4115238_breeders-cup-wavell-avenue-wins.html?rh=1

And at woodbine Patrick Husbands was on fire today. Rode 4 winners.

42. MoneyBrain

The Key Success Principles are only sucessful devoid of the introduction of the human factor.
    The Key Success Principles of which you speak apparently, haven’t worked because in the Isreal today we are witnessing the mistreatment of the Palestinian underclass, and blatant discrimination of the black Ethiopian Jew.

43. And while the government has given the commercial banks to pay as little as 0.7 % on deposit accounts, the government itself is collecting a whopping 12% on the same deposits, by way of a Withholding Tax.
    Reminds me of the old Short Pool Medi-cai at the Garrison on race days.

44. Correction …………commercial banks the go ahead to pay ……

45. @Sargeant,
    The truth is that Singapore is a small island just approx 2-3 times larger than Bim with no natural resources and a population of nearly 5mn today (density of 60-70 times Bim). About 1 mn of those people migrated to Singapore by choice as a result of that Nation’s success at creating opportunities galore. Now if Bim could accomplish similar but more moderate success we would be much better off.

Which countries would you look to to provide proven, repeatable concepts surely not Cuba, besides for their Health Care? Many countries that “plagiarise” lessons may not want to reference Singapore et al.

Anyway be positive and tell us which countries or better yet which Key Success Principles Bim should employ.

46. Word wrote
    I hear your frustration but our problems are in no way caused by our system of Government…rather by the men/women who run it.

Exactly! All systems of Government have flaws but those flaws can be overcome by the correct group of people.

47. Hants October 31, 2015 at 6:43 PM #
    @ GP 10 hours before start…. West Indies vs Sri Lanka. Could be a win for Windies.
    UNFORTUNATELY WILLOW NOT CARRYING IT LIVE ON TV AND IM NOT GOING TO PAY THEM AGAIN TO WATCH IT ON COMPUTER

I WISH THE BOYS WELL THOUGH I WANT TO SEE SAMUELS GO

48. Dompey,
    You are bringing Israeli social policy to a discussion about Economic Policies.

Israel has developed several Tech gadgets which few would be willing to give up, Pharma products et al. What do they do, what approaches do they take in Education, Finance etc etc that Bim could learn from. Years ago I learnt some good Financial Concepts from a Jewish fella, but he also mentioned some rather crooked ideas that I did not adopt, it was for me to choose or refuse what I wanted to employ.

49. The system we like to refer to it must be changed to align with changing values, technologies etc. It is why we amend laws, change job designs, revamp processes and procedures etc. You need persons of integrity but you need to align the system to current realities as well. It is not enough to say we need people. You put persons in a dysfunctional system what happens? Also there is nothing wrong with Barbadians probing our system, who says we cant come up with a model for others to follow? We love to be ensconce in what is.