Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union
BU shares the Caswell Franklyn Nation newspaper column – he is the General Secretary of Unity Workers Union and BU Contributor.

Union rules to remember – Added 23 August 2015

FOR SOME TIME I have been inundated with queries […] from mostly public sector workers about their terms and conditions of service.

However, it seems that I have been answering the same set of questions from several different persons.

Related articles

I have, therefore, decided to use this space intermittently to respond to some of the more pressing enquiries. Today, I will start with two.

Within the last two months, I have seen stepped up interest by prison officers who want to become members of trade unions even if secretly. Sadly, I have to point out to them that it is an offence for prison officers to join or even associate with trade unions. That restriction was imposed by Parliament in 1982.

When I first joined the NUPW in 1980 I found a very vibrant prison officers’ division that was active in all aspects of union life. In those days, I was only an ordinary member and was therefore not privy to the circumstances that led several prison officers to ask Government to amend the Prisons Act to provide for a prison officers’ association. “Be careful what you ask for, you might get it” springs to mind. The officers got their association but it turned out to be little more than a social club.

Bear in mind that prior to the passage of those amendments in 1982, prison officers enjoyed the constitutional right of freedom of association. Without the nicety of a constitutional amendment, a Barbados labour party administration swept away those rights.

Worse, they made it a criminal offence for prison officers to join trade unions and banned the association from engaging in trade union type activity. Section 24A (3) states:

“No representation may be made by the Prison Officers Association in relation to any question of discipline, promotion, transfer, posting, leave or other matters that affects an individual member of the association”.

Subsection (4) mandates that the association shall be independent of, and unassociated with, any association outside the Prison Service. Mind you, when it suited Government’s purposes, the association was allowed to associate and become a member of the Government-inspired and controlled Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB). My advice to prison officers is that they are not obliged to pay dues to an organisation that cannot legally represent them.

Appointed public officers are entitled to 21 days sick leave per year; temporary officers are entitled to 14. When officers exceed their allotted sick leave entitlement, they are normally granted extensions of sick leave with pay, for up to one year, once that leave is certified by a medical practitioner. A practice is creeping in where officers in that position are being granted extensions of sick leave on half pay or, in many instance, without pay. Having already received full salary for the period, officers are being told by the Personnel Administration Division that they are required to repay what is being called overdrawn salary. Sometimes, this notice arrives years after the fact. This in effect means that appointed public officers receive no sickness benefits like their private sector counterparts.

In order to understand why this is unjust, it is necessary to go back to the establishment of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). Under that scheme, private sector workers and temporary officers in the Public Service are entitled to a maximum of 312 days sickness benefit. No provisions for NIS sickness were made for permanently appointed public officers because they were already entitled to one year’s sick leave with pay, in accordance with the General Orders for the Public Service. General Order 5.24.1 states:

“Extensions of leave with full pay may be granted on the ground of ill-health to any officer other than a casual employee for a period not exceeding six calendar months, and when there is reason to believe that the officer will ultimately be fit for further service, for a further period not exceeding six calendar months”.

There is no provision in the General Orders for the Chief Personnel Officer to grant anything other than an extension of sick leave with pay. Put another way, there is nothing in the General Orders called an extension of sick leave without pay or on half pay. Such a thing does not exist in the rules.

Temporary officers who are entitled to receive NIS sickness benefits are required to pay in their NIS sickness benefit in exchange for their full salary in accordance with General Order 5.18.1.

Government as an employer must honour its commitments to its workers if for no other reason than it must set the example for other employers to follow. Increasingly, Government is becoming, if it has not already done so, one of the worst employers in this country.

Caswell Franklyn is the general secretary of Unity Workers Union and a social commentator. Email caswellf@hotmail.com

105 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Union Rules to Remember”

1. Had we seen a plateauing of the IR climate in Barbados now that the realities of the landscape has been fully grasped by the new union membership?

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Franklyn

Which entities in Barbados, like the Prison Guards, CANNOT JOIN A UNION?

Are there demerits to such regulations would would seem, to the ole man, to limit the rights for independent representation of a category of worker by a Union?

It would appear that a Prison Guard like dem is more prisoner dan de people that they are there to guard.

No wonder the rumour has spread that the are often on the “take” from incarcerated persons because their working conditions seem to be very constricted.

Tell me if not necessarily how you have been able to deal with the rights of these categories of workers whom it would appear can be seriously abused

3. There are some employees and some employers who are poor examples of what a conscientious citizen ought to be.I posit the view that absent the conscientious citizen,chaos will prevail.A prison service,a police service,a fire service,a civil service including doctors,nurses,teachers should all come under the purview of the public service commission.Witness the chaos in the police service administration now overseen by vindictive,obstreperous,hostile ignoramuses among which of all citizens of the realm,is a man of the cloth.Mismanagement of the economy by a combination of overbearing,bullying dinosauresque fiscal and monetary policies which have taken away most of the allowances and deductions taxpayers enjoyed for many years and at the same time increased taxes in every conceivable way they found,have conspired to give rise to a general dissatisfaction in the workplace.Unions have a way of hinting to its membership some of the responses they might resort to in order to ‘get back’ at the perceived oppressor.So we are told by a dinosaur that productivity must be improved considerably.Unions will soon say to hades with the protection of the foreign reserves and demand increased pay for increased productivity.The effect on the investment portfolio and on levels of new employment for locals must begin with a review of the Severance Pay Act,The Holiday with Pay Act and the Employees Rights Act all of which are burdens to small business in Barbados.

4. Piece

Policemen, firemen and soldiers are also not allowed to join unions. The problem is that it was always the case with them from inception. On the other hand, a “labour” party government deceived the workers and deprived them of constitutional rights that they were already exercising.

One of my recommendation that was submitted but edited out was: Further, they should seek to have the 1982 amendments declared unconstitutional by the High Court.

I believe what the Tom Adams administration did to the prison officers was unconstitutional.

5. @Caswell and Piece

Would you want prison warders to be able to strike given the threat to national security?

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

They went on strike in 1974 I think and the world did not come to an end. National security what? Police in Jamaica went on strike last month and Jamaica is still on the map.

7. @Caswell

Are we understanding you to say benchmarking to Jamaica is ok?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

No David; I am saying that it will not be the end of the world if prison officers went on strike. If there are not enough officers as frequently happens, you don’t open all the cells at the same time. What Tom Adams did was wrong and an overreaction. Suppose they call in sick, the result would be the same, that is no officers on duty.

9. I would like to redirect people to the problems that I highlighted in the column: Prison officers are being abused because they believe that they have no rights because of the unconstitutional piece of legislation that took away their rights in 1982; and that they are literally hundreds of public officers who are paying back money that they do not owe to the Government because some senior officers in the Public Service cannot read and understand the rules that they are empowered to administer.

10. @Caswell

To use your word, if unconstitutional, will you challenge in court?

11. Caswell Franklyn

I have been in this country a little over thirty years now, and I have never once heard neither have read of prison officers here going on strike. You’re asking for trouble and whomsoever call such strike and risk the public safety should be themselves incarcerated amongst the bullers.

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The prison officers would have to do that. I have no standing in the matter.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dompey

You are a real jack ass you know. 1974 plus 30 years do no bring you to 2015.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By the way, they don’t incarcerate people at George Street.

15. Caswell Franklyn

Can on Caswell, people are reading this blog and this is how a man of influence and position conducts himself before national audience? You would have to have ice water running through your veins for blood to even hint at the idea of calling a strike, and risk the public safety. You said that the prison officers woud have call the strike, but boy it sure seems like you’re planting the seed Caswell.

16. Caswell Franklyn

I would have never expected you to be adhominem, but it appear as though I have struck a nerve somehow?

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dompey

I apologise. The only thing that I can say in mitigation is that reading your crap over and over is likely to make an angel sin, and I’m no angel.

18. And Caswell where were you in 1974… I am sorry… I just remember you were Tom Adams bag boy forty years ago.

19. @Dompey

Every single blog the same from you?

Is there some way you can dig deep to lend something constructive to the blog if not shut up?

20. David

I really do not think that my contribution to the blog is homogeneously repetitious because I do believe that I bring a deeper and a far reaching insight to the blog in certain areas of discourse. But I do respect your observation even though I don’t necessarily agree with it.

21. David

You must admit though that AC and I are pretty much like the boy and girl who are continually picked on by the bully in the school yard, and after many years of running and contant beatings, one is resolved to developed the necessary balls to stand up to the bully who usually retreats because he is often a puffed up coward.

22. David

Dompey is to BU what Left Brain is to Brasstacks! LOL!

23. Man …just ban the man and done nuh David….!!!

24. @Bushie,

David’s tolerance knows no bounds. lol

25. Prodigal Son August 23, 2015 at 9:37 PM #

“Dompey is to BU what Left Brain is to Brasstacks! LOL!”

Hahahahahaha!!

I could not have said it better, Prodigal.

26. Dompey,

I do not enjoy watching you get beaten up even though I was goaded by you into taking a shot myself yesterday. But I gotta tell ya –

STOP STANDING IN THE SCHOOL YARD WITH A SIGN THAT READS “KICK ME!”

27. So Caswell tell BU about the progress being made in the on going saga( that is custom officers transitioning to the BRA )some of which You created to no avail. Notice that there seems to be progress being made with you being out of the picture to control and dictate using your form of misinterpretation to create chaos,

28. The BU intelligentsia is aware Caswell is fighting for appointments for acting staff which differs with NUPW and BWU position.

29. After describing the new leaders of the NUPW and BWU in pejorative terms such as “choke and robbers” and “politically motivated,” it would be interesting to know, under the present negotiation environment, how the DLP are describing them now.

We can expect the DLP himaar to blame Caswell for the previous protests relative to Customs and the BRA (one has started already).

DLP supporters are unique.

30. caswell needs to go to anger management classes before he can seriously affect change. His attitude is riddle with obscene attacks that regress rather than progress

31. Here is a piece from the Attorney General of this country which explains why this country is doomed under this DLP.

Speaking on what he called crime misinformation at the DLP auditorium, this is what Adriel Brathwaite said as he launched an attack on Charles Morris and Tennyson Joseph:

………”When I look at crime between 2008 and 2015 there has not been any stark increase. In fact we have seen a decline from last year……..

People tend to believe if a university lecturer or a teacher says something it is true……but it is not. I forgive Mr Morris because in all seriousness, I have never actually heard or seen anything to suggest that Mr Morris would ever say anything constructive but given Mr Joseph teaches our young people at university, I would expect better from him.

He need not look any further than whence he came to see they actually have more challenges in terms of serious crime than Barbados, so he only has to take a 35 minute LIAT flight back home”……………………..

These morons are so thin skinned, arrogant and ignorant that they take everything a person says personally………..you cannot criticise this DLP government. No wonder people have given up and are refusing to offer any suggestions………..leave them to sink in their ignorance. I for one have given up even to post here on BU.

But Adriel Brathwaite, I have news for you, even the Trini woman who is a diehard Dem said on Brasstacks that you are not up to the job and should be replaced…………
    ……………….people in the legal fraternity think you are out of your depths and that as an AG, you are useless. I was in a group of recently and even an overseas lawyer who was here and had to deal with you said that you do not know enough law to be an AG and that you are out of your depths…………

So the same thing you are saying about Charles Morris and Tennyson Joseph is being said about you………..You have failed miserably as an AG and that is a fact. I am a Barbadian so you cannot tell me to take a 35 minute flignt to anywhere.

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I ent know whu you apologise to Donkey for Mr. Franklyn.

That simpleton like one of the ACs and This “recent” returning A(s)sie will never understand what cumulative means and that 2 x 6 is the same as 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 and if you change one of those two’s to a 5 well whaplax, it all over for Balaam’s jackasses!!

1 the outcome of 10 men taking sick leave for a protracted period has the same cumulative effect as a strike

2 for there to be meaningful redress for what is a seeming unconstitutional matter ONLY THOSE WITH A LOCUS IN THE MATTER can commence a court case about the unconstitutionality of the issue.

You are not promoting any sort of anarchy, you are speaking to the rights of employees, irrespective of whether it is a BLP or DLP administration, and the fact that in the absence of a frameworks of rights, these men and women are subject to abuse.

The man is a BUHKHUNT and though you can call he dat, dis ole man can and will.

He does not understand that the absence of these rights places each employee into modern day slavery since a Dictator of a former Defence Force man or the other man wh let the ole prison get bun down, become like slave masters BECAUSE THE EMPLOYEES DO NOT HAVE ANY RIGHTS

I am sure that the government of the United States regrets having given that man a visa and certainly would now be examining how to revoke his citizenship under some little known law in the Statutes book

I was asked by the US Embassy recently to look into such a “Dumb Law” which exist still in the USA

And I have found one such law which makes Donkey a Felon and therefore on indictment be subject to deportation

“Section 13A-14-1 -Maiming one’s self to escape duty or obtain alms.

Every person who, with design to disable himself from performing a legal duty, existing or anticipated, shall inflict upon himself an injury whereby he is so disabled and every person who shall so injure himself with intent to avail himself of such injury to excite sympathy or to obtain alms or some charitable relief shall be guilty of a felony. (Code 1923, §4941; Code 1940, T. 14, §357; Code 1975, §13-1-6.)”

Now few uh wunna know dat Donkey does wuk at a Horsepital and apparently, in a effort to get change to day duty, put he Iphone in a basin dat he did filling up to wash a patient WHILE IT DID PLUG IN!! His reasoning was dat he was gine claim “depleted night vision” and get reassign to day time duties.

Well when Domps wake up 4 days later after electrocuting heself into a coma, apparently he din know dat de USA current is 220 not 110 like heah in Barbados dem did able to fire he causing all de camera footage uh de incident get wipe out during the horspital wide power outage dat did result..

Now I telling all uh wunna dat I sharing dis heah in confidence so nubody ent supposing to let dem Americans know dis causing wunna dun know dat if Donkey get deport dat dem sending dat CRETIN EXTRAORDINAIRE right back heah to we 166 square miles and effing wunna cant tek he here pun BU, when he pun dis island all uh we in potta… including dat white umman with the white hair dat used to raise horses, Rachel Deane, and had tek a pity pun de Donkey

33. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

They say laughter is good medicine but yuh got me hey overdosing . rotflmrao

34. Caswell against cameras, the AG not sure if they are functioning all the while there is no legislation enacted to prosecute a boy if the footage was to be used in Court anyway. Who is AG again? Who is minister of Home Affairs?

35. @ David,

Are you also against cameras ?

36. @Hants

This issue is not about cameras but who will be responsible for overseeing the process. This is 2015 and camera monitoring is an excellent tool to manage security, work flow etc. The AG also needs to get his ass in hear and enact necessary legislation to give teeth to the process. He needs to do the same to the domestic abuse legislation he promised nigh a year ago.

JA

37. 185 cops short

anyone interested in filling the vacanies ? here is am opportune time for Misfits like Piece Uh DE CROCK to step outside the box and into the world of gladiators and report to the BU classroom what he has learn, It would be a milestone most worthy of valor to your country and more classy than waking up every morning with pretentious grandeur hoping to kiss the a.ss of old slum dogs and prostitutes.

38. Pieces,

Octogenarian – a person in his or her eighties.

Are you lying about your age or is the police force hiring old men?

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

David, the unions really need to provide clarity on why their members are against the use of surveillance/security cameras in the custom shed and other areas when cargo is being checked.

Are customs officers also against cameras in the general work areas where officers and the public interact?

Why, what is the concern?

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

De Ingrunt Word

Customs officers are not opposed to cameras just for the sake of being opposed or because of anything sinister on their part. They are opposed to having cameras focused on them while they are performing their duties with the cameras being under the control of persons outside of Customs. Further the recordings would be held by those same persons.

Now imagine this scenario: A customs officer is searching a passenger and discovers contraband, while this is going on someone unknown to them is monitoring the camera and recording the output. That officer’s image can be passed on to the criminal who owns the contraband. Next thing you know, we have a dead officer. Why do you think that passengers are forbidden from using cameras in the airport.

In the past, Customs officers have been threatened for being too vigilant while doing their duty when their identities were revealed. We do not want their images being spread all over the place.

On the other hand, would you like to have your bags being searched in full view of someone who is monitoring the cameras. Certain politicians would be quite embarrassed when their vibrators and dildos are discovered and there is a recording of the event.

By all means have your cameras for security purposes but not focused on officers while performing their duty. Mind you, any cameras in a customs area should be under the control of customs officers.

Do you think that the police would be happy with persons outside of the force monitoring their every move on camera.

41. listen to that bull shit coming from the one and only pompous jac a,ss walking bubaddus called caswell..

42. @David August 25, 2015 at 2:50 PM “Caswell against cameras, the AG not sure if they are functioning all the while there is no legislation enacted to prosecute a boy if the footage was to be used in Court anyway. Who is AG again? Who is minister of Home Affairs?”

The Hon Adriel Brathwaite, M.P

Maybe, just maybe the Prime Minister used the meeting at the Crane to kick butt.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

AC unlike you, I have no “pretentions” as to who de ole man is nor what is my purpose in life.

Let me explain why you fear the octogenarian.

You fear my mouth because you and you ilk have grown to realise that people are starting to listen and that the pen is mightier than the sword.

You fear the fact that I DO NOT FEAR YOU and YOUR ILD BUT RATHER FEAR HIM WHO, having given the first death WILL GIVE THE SECOND DEATH.

YOU HOLD NO POWER OVER ME because you can neither give life nor take it and that is ALL that is left, no pride, no pompousness, no false aggrandisement

Like Machiavelli what I have learnt is that it is better to be feared than loved for with the former comes a grudging respect that people of your ild do not have.

If tomorrow comes and there were a vote meter put up here with de ole man’s name and yours + Donkey + Alvin Cummins, I would bet my last dollar that I would get more votes than the three of you combined unless, as is the styling of the DLP, for you and your ild to but the votes and seek to rig the results.

Try such rigging of the voting system in 2018 or when one of your slim majority goes home between now and then.

In our small island having the affliction AIDS is something which causes people to shun you as you would know, no matter how good you look, or think you look, bajans give you a wide berth like the sinking Titanic

I want you to watch how the phenomena of AIDS as it has tainted **, watch how it manifests itself at the outings which you and your ild attend in public places.

Look at the 4 foot gaps which attend your DLP pretenders like a bubble of six police officers, similar to the one that Fumble has around him.

No one comes to talk to you because you are seen to be afflicted and no one wants to be tainted by your disease.

When wunna suffer this defeat as even wunna now realising that you will, it is my hope that you will not run and hide with your tail between your legs but will continue on here with as much vigour and alacrity hopefully wisened by the experience, but I doubt it would happen as i doubt that a zebra will loose its stripes

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

ILK**

45. @Caswell Franklyn August 25, 2015 at 7:47 PM “Certain politicians would be quite embarrassed when their vibrators and dildos are discovered and there is a recording of the event.”

So is it male or female politicians who are bringing in vibrators and dildoes?

Or is it those of uncertain/ambigous gender?

I am curious.

I am sure that others are curious as well but won’t admit to such curiosity.

46. oh well! whatever …………………..

47. Pieces,

I tried to decipher the ac code and I thought she was asking you to join the force. Not so good with that kind of language.

48. Caswell Franklyn

To bad for the custom office because that’s the risk he or she assumes when he or she dons such uniform.

I think the idea of installing cameras to monitor custom officers behaviour by an impartial outside entity must be encourage because it promote the right kind of working environment. There is a saying here in America That: when one enters a building that he or she must assume that camera surveillance is monitoring his or her every action.

49. Who cares about politicians private sex life? No minors, no problem. What’s the big deal about vibrators and dildos or a blow up doll for that matter? It’s of no interest to me.