bang bang bang bang all day, tension in the atmosphere…tell me what is happening to the young generation…call de police…arm the police.
Who would have thought the landscape of Barbados known for order and relative calm compared to our neighbours Trinidad and Jamaica would be one characterized in 2015 […]
as the Mighty Gabby did all those years ago?
This cannot be Barbados!
left right left right the government boots…is it necessary to have so many soldiers in this small country…is it necessary to shine soldier boots with taxpayers money…he buying boots to cover soldier toe.
Is this Barbados where the standing Prime Minister feels compel to publicly credit the Barbados Defence Force for contributing to the ‘enduring national endeavour’ of Barbados being a safe, secure and stable environment?
This cannot be Barbados!
In 2011 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to what was a rising crime:
We have seen the startling crime statistics in other Caribbean countries, and it would be tantamount to burying our heads in the sand if we were to believe that this is not possible in Barbados. But, left unchecked, that is precisely what would happen. The importation of illegal arms and illegal drugs gives the criminal element the leverage to wreak havoc on our society; as the two are linked to most of the heinous acts committed – Statement On The Crime Situation By Attorney General, The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite
In 2015 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to rising crime:
… Last year was a 14 per cent decrease from the year before, so when one looks at the overall statistics one has the impression that what is happening is really just a correction to us going back to more or less what our norm is – I think about 9000 reported crimes per annum – AG: Crime update
This cannot be Barbados!
Several years ago Barbados Underground cautioned Barbados the weeds were sprouting on our manicured lawns and we needed (urgently) to deal with the root of the problem. In 2015 we are forced to listen to politicians addressing the crime problem by retreating to statistical mumbo jumbo. Here AG Adriel Brathwaite:
The Attorney General’s remarks came as he noted that research has shown that the higher the educational attainment in a country, the lower the rate of individuals being involved in homicides – Barbados Advocate
The AG appears to have forgotten the change to government tuition policy has resulted in a precipitous drop in enrolment (of young Barbadians) at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. The BCC according to reports received 5,000 applications for 1,200 available places. How can we sustain the character of the society that has made Barbadians proud and the envy of our neighbours under the current state?
This cannot be Barbados!
There maybe hope yet for policymakers because outspoken minister Donville Inniss recognized we have to stop pushing our heads in the sand as it relates to the crime problem. The platitudes will get us so far. Time for an action plan.
187 responses to “Pow Pow…this is Barbados”
@ Hants
You said “Then these politicians subsequently FAIL the youth by not implementing progressive or innovative policies to assist their progress in life or for making positive contributions to society.”
Inherent in the verb “fail” is the notion that one is either in or aware of the specific undertaking.
I have taken the Bush-Tea-esque stance which successfully promotes the posit that both of these parties come from the wider pool of inept Bajan Sheeple and are unfortunately in the case of this bunch, moreso than the other bunch, just a greater concentration of incompetents.
A “revolution” is the only thing that will change the royal mess that we find ourselves in.
Unfortunately the dimwits among us, like our Attorney General Adriel Nitwit, will think that the solution lies in some outlandish idea of borrowing $76M to repair the police stations around the island, devoid as he is of any original or effective thought.
he only place to engage the minds of youth is to go where they are – in the community, in the schools, churches and the virtual places that they live in, social media, chat rooms, music.
Let me ask this question?
What is the life of the teacher who was shot during that exchange a few weeks ago worth?
$5M dollar like the money in DownLowe’s deceased mother’s account? I wonder how the disposition of her estate is going?
Let us be insensitive to the value of humanity and peg that value at $5 million (no disrepct to the young man or his family) would it not make sense to run a national competition that would ask for ideas to address the problem?
One that would, with the assistance of corporate Barbados, solicit that assistance of that ostentatious group that puts so much money into Gold Cup or the Apes Hill Polo horses?
Could these inept Dimwits and Nitwits “devoid as they are of any ideas” look thereafter to run a national campaign that awards $2.5M for first place, $1.5 for second place and 10 prizes of $100K each for the runners up?
Of course we would have to have a better mechanism to judge the worthiness of the programs other than the kickback mechanisms of de minister friends and other neophytes who enter the campaign but we need to do something and soon!!
Loading…
Wunna do know dat in my calculations dat $500K gone missing even heah pu BU.
Artaxerxes and Bush Tea and Money Brain done see dat even heah de ole man ent went school long and cant multiply a pang OR, AS IS MORE LIKELY, de ole man related to DownLowe and Minister of Fine Ants Christopher Stinkliar a.k.a Agent 0.07 and 00.7 Chris Junk Bonds not to be confused with 007 James Bond!!
Loading…
Artaxerxes
Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right August 20, 2015 at 10:26 AM #
“@ Hants: You said “Then these politicians subsequently FAIL the youth by not implementing progressive or innovative policies to assist their progress in life or for making positive contributions to society.”
PUDRYR, the above comments were written by me….. NOT Hants.
Loading…
Mr. Artaxerxes
De ole man beg forgiveness
I not only tief de $500K but I also have tief-ted your literary content at the same time here in the Rum Shop.
I beg your sincerest apologies it was not intentional but in the space of catching up with the older comments and den writing down de ole man thoughts I does get confused wid who say what.
In actual fact Artaxerxes when I see dat de two uh de Dynamic Duo now pun BU as literaries and people now tek to quoting dem as authorities pun “Krime and Vilence” it got de ole man kafuddle en ting… I only had was lef de site a few days to do de Feed my sheeps causing de madam ent heah and look sharp when I get back dem is now gurus and ting!!
You know who I mean ? I cyan mention dem name cause dem does cuss me bad en ting…
Loading…
Artaxerxes
Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right August 20, 2015 at 10:46 AM #
“In actual fact Artaxerxes when I see dat de two uh de Dynamic Duo now pun BU as literaries and people now tek to quoting dem as authorities pun “Krime and Vilence” it got de ole man kafuddle en ting…”
No problem, PUDRYR
“de Dynamic Duo” got me “kafuddle en ting” too. One is a plagiarist and the other wun……. well, the other wun got me “kafuddle” as wuh to call dum.
A “revolution” is the only thing that will change the royal mess that we find ourselves in.
The rum gone to your head!?
Loading…
@ Mr Cummins
The reason that I put revolution in quotation marks is for those among us who mindful of what quotation marks means would not be quick to interpret that word in the classic sense of coup but in the context of “Change or Die”
Notwithstanding I would expect that the Slow of thought among us will only be able to decipher the word a la Grenada Bishop styling.
I am one of those who absolutely is against any Mao Tse Tsung “Power Speaks out of the Mouth of Gun” action but “revolution” in ideas and processes HAS TO BE UNDERTAKEN, or we going all die in a hail of gunfire like that 29 year old teacher.
But then again you living somplace else so this is an exercise in literary prowess for the writer in you, is it not??
Loading…
i wonder where me graviton gone? De ole Man ent see it fuh a while!!
If this is what you want to say, then say it. If you advocate a change in thought; new ideas, new attitudes, then say it in plain language. Give some examples in what you are saying and thinking. LET US see the direction in which these changes should go.What changes would you advocate? The purpose of the quotation marks is for emphasis, thus the emphasis is on revolution. There is a specific connotation associated with the word “revolution” a la, Haitian Revolution, the American Revolution, the Cuban Revolution, The French Revolution, and as you said the Grenadian Revolution. In each of these there was the use of violence, so the connotation of revolution is violence. Some of the blogs I have read on BU with regard to change, clearly advocated violence, and I had to remind the writers of the consequences of these types of changes.
Choose your words carefully.
Loading…
Crusoe
”“Amid tight security? Were they expecting the 5,000 laid off workers to show to partake of the gourmet dinner with them?”
No, that is just marketing. ‘We have tight security, thus we are imporant’….
Playing to the crowd ‘yuh see he got a lot of security, he is important’.
Joke, Barra used to drive bout heself and shop heself, so too as recent as Owen.
Yuh really think anyone gives a hoot about Froon?
Alla playing the ‘important’ game, because there is no substance, have to create the impression.
Loading…
@ Mr. Cummins,
I am too old to use diplomacy as a response to idiocy
Here is a quote for those less versed in the English language and who instead of going to school went to Brumley’s stand pipe, I borrowed it straight form the internet for your edification
“In English writing, quotation marks are placed in pairs around a word or phrase to indicate:
Quotation or direct speech: Carol said “go ahead” when I asked her if the launcher was ready.
Mention in another work of a title of a short or subsidiary work, like a chapter or episode: “Encounter at Farpoint” was the pilot episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation.
Scare quotes used to mean “so-called” or to express irony: Your “car” doesn’t actually have any wheels.
Now while others give you a fair pass because “you have written a book” and should know better, I WILL NOT!!
The use of the quotation marks as I used it was and is for “irony” or in this case so that the astute reader will detect the application of the quotation marks an, mindful of the fact that de ole man has on many *&%# occasions spoken very seriously against revolution of the armed type.
You continue to show your extensive myopia since your illiterate behind has never heard of the industrial revolution which contrary to your blinkered vision and ability to understand the nuances of the english language, HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH VIOLENCE AND EVERYTHING TO DO WIHT CHANGE!!
RADICAL CHANGE FROM THE STATUS QUO!!
I KNOW MY WORDS DUFUS and will forever use the ones which persons versed in the etymology of the language would have shared with this ole man brain.
Because you write bout jalousies does not mean that you know how to install the lead weights and the single or dual block pulleys that permitted the window to be raised or lowered.
Ignorant Swine.
How many effing times dis ole man has come here with suggestions and alternatives and given copious ideas for the consumption of wunna effing leeches!! and enemies of progress, truly an army of occupation!!
This is why some of you deserve a bullet to the base of the brain where the possibility of the round hitting bone and bouncing off is less.
Ask anyone here if i do the “I am Alvin Cummins” pompous Ass styling when I come here to the Rum Shop??
Ask anyone if I come with airy fairy ideas to this or any forum, if a man can tell me that, I will withdraw here and now thou walking epitome of Balaam’s donkey
Loading…
de Ingrunt Word
@ Cummings, for a man who regularly touts his book-writing and all round word skills, your interpretation of the word ‘revolution’ in the remarks below are ridiculous and insanely disingenuous.
The remarks CLEARLY distinguish between the physical, violent revolution of China compared to the theoretical revolution of thoughts and ideas.
How can you describe , “I am one of those who absolutely is against any Mao Tse Tsung “Power … but “revolution” in ideas and processes HAS TO BE UNDERTAKEN, …”
As… “The purpose of the quotation marks is for emphasis, thus the emphasis is on revolution. There is a specific connotation associated with the word “revolution” a la, Haitian Revolution, …”
I do appreciate your historical commentaries but your impact and veracity diminishes significantly when you are dealing with current events.
Good lawd man, that interpretation is the height of hypocrisy and intellectual dishonesty
Loading…
MoneyBrain
De old boys, 80+, getting a lil acid pun hey, wuhloss the Doris gin soon pick dem up, ya here. One dem liable to tek in wid de mad staggers and de pot fever, caw bluma!
Please calm down Piece and Alvin. I have plenty nuff respect for both of you as your experience is deep.
so what de hell does the the statement “revolution” words and processes to be UNDERTAKEN means
somebody is trying to play “a Houdini” with the english language to “couch” and “confuse “
Loading…
Hants
Seems like we got a federation of licks sharing in de BU rum shop today.
Bet only de geriatricians (me included) know wha “federation” mean in ol time Bajan vernacular.
How does words become processed and” UnderTaken” by means of “revolution ” without some form of physically ACTION. Shouting “fire” in a crowded room is some form of action when process and undertaken can result in danger/s with devastating results which can fuel all types of negatives including revolt.
this mad stampede to be little MR.cummins maybe a systematic revolt brought about by a jealous rampage of the ” crabs in the barrel” mentality,
An interesting position developing on the Barbados landscape is the rise of the females being arrested/incarcerated.
On 20 August 2015 at 22:36, Barbados Underground wrote:
Loading…
Crusoe
That is very true David. Traditionally the females have been ‘at home there’ for those in crime, but now seem at the forefront too.
I guess everybody got to eat.
On another matter, this 2 day conference thing. Pure smoke and mirrors. No good actions being taken to mitigate the economic decline, so, spread the blame.
Instead of, ‘we don’t know what to do’, it becomes, ‘the consensus is that we are in a predicament and we are working on it’….
May seem not such an important difference, but it is a major one and a clever attempt to deflect blame.
When young people are leaving thier homes with a gun or a knife when going to town,or the beach ,or a Club,one can only come to the conclusion that they intend to hurt, or kill someone, anyone that they might think( as these young punks say) “disrespect them”
This in their opinion might be someone disagreeing with them,accidentaly bumping into them, or seen talking to their girl friend or ,some other trivial thing. The first thing that seems to register in their small head is ,let him or her know he can’t mess with me.So next thing ,out comes the gun or knife.
I think our Judiciary system is so weak kneed that no one fears what they’ll face when brought before the courts.The courts have become a joke in most instances.
Why can’t our Judges treat these crininals like the crimninals they are. Long sentences and huge fines if necessary to deter them and others from thining the system is a joke.
It is very frustrating to hear our Police, and Coast Guard Officers telling their stories,of how they risk their lives and after apprehending some of these dangerous criminals they would go to court to have some chicken hearted Judge aquitting them ,or giving them a bare slap on the wrist. only to have these thugs come outside of the Court rooms and look at the Officers and grin as if to say ,you are nothing .
That kind of court response has ,and is continuing to contributing to crime wave we are experiencing in Barbados ;Second and third time offenders are getting away with murder as we say .
Where is the deterent?There isn’t any.
Loading…
Colonel Buggy
And what a pity that the powers that be,have unceremoniously ditched and dissed COP Dottin,as he is probably the only man in the security forces in Barbados who has been exposed to the real business of gun violence and gun apprehension,on a large and bloody scale, when he volunteered as part of his senior police course ,to served on attachment to the Royal Ulster Constabulary in the province of Northern Ireland,during the days of the aptly named, “Troubles”.
Loading…
Colonel Buggy
The question of compulsory military service was raised many years ago,and Barbadians strongly objected to their sons and daughters being exposed to guns. How ironic today
Loading…
Colonel Buggy
Hearing the COP today stating that some of these guns are coming through our ports of entry,in some cases undetected,has taken me by surprise,as I am absolutely sure that I ‘ve seen a truck mounted mobile scanner unit, at the Bridgetown Port,capable of scanning a 40 foot container.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
The average Citizen does not have a clue what is good for the Nation and its people.(not just Bim, everywhere)
For Bim it is a matter of knowing what used to work here and what works in other small island Nations currently.We cant just do everything like say Singapore but we can adapt great ideas. Bim can never totally duplicate Singapore, we have major cultural differences and work philosophies.We can introduce a major societal change based on survival and success. This requires strong true LEADERSHIP which is currently in very short supply.
Loading…
Dompey
The solution to the escalating crime rate amongst the youth in Barbados is JOBS JOBS JOBS.
Alvin
There is no such thing as deportation based on parentage as for as my knowledge goes with respect to American immigration laws. There is only one ground for revocation of the citizenship of a native American born of both Barbadian parents, and that is Treason. Now for a naturalized American much like myself, there are two grounds for revocation and deportation, and their are falsification of the immigration petition, and the act of treason.
Loading…
Exclaimer
Is Barbados on the road to becoming a Narcotics economy?
“EXPECT THE UPSURGE in gun violence to get worse before it gets better.
That’s the sentiment expressed by some folks from the Valery, Brittons Hill, St Michael area. They said a shortage of marijuana on the streets was a serious contributing factor.
A 27-year-old woman who requested anonymity said since marijuana was now “scarce on the streets”, things will get worse because people are hungry and have families to feed – and marijuana helps to provide.
She said with Christmas approaching, she thinks there will be more gun violence as people will be driven to rob and kill to buy gifts and food.
She said order is another factor that causes the violence. She went on to pose a scenario.”
Your apologist slant on all critiques of government is reminiscent of when former AG Maurice King refuted all those years ago that they were gangs in Barbados.
The traitors at the ports need to be found and dealt with in the harshest manners
Loading…
Bush Tea
“….when former AG Maurice King refuted all those years ago that they were gangs in Barbados.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Boss, you playing that you don’t know the story about Attorneys General….. of whom Maurice King was the epitome..
These are lawyers who have distinguished themselves with mediocrity to the extent that it pays them to give up their practice for a while ..in order to get some inside contacts for future business. They also need to be the kind of people who are comfortable with the gutter politics that we have played for the last 50 years. It is instructive that one who could well be our next AG was exposed for giving out money to parros and other ‘bad-boys’ last election…
Any hint of competence, leadership ability or even just decency would have tagged a good lawyer as prime-ministerial material, so you understand the nature of our legacy of AG’s.
Bushie will never forget the night when Barrow said that shiite about appointing King as AG and ’bout ….” after him is Sandi ….etc” the usual political shiite about ignoring competence and appointing asslickers….
Maurice King distinguished himself by looking dumb and by ending the single best thing that the Barbados Police Force and Defence Force has EVER done in the interest of security in Barbados ….. the routine multi-force stop and search program.
Obviously pressure was brought by those who stood to benefit from ending that most effective practice…
Honest, above board citizens actually felt SAFE and comfortable knowing that large numbers of lawmen COULD be around ANY corner ..at night….
One wonders who DID NOT feel comfortable ..and would want to end such an EFFECTIVE tactic…?
Loading…
Hants
The Commissioner says there is a guns and drugs problem which everybody in Barbados already knows.
As Bushie wrote ” the routine multi-force stop and search program.”
What The France are they waiting for?
Loading…
MoneyBrain
Commonsense would dictate that in a small island like Bim with loads of gypsyass people up in each other’s business, it should not be difficult to know what is going on in Drugs, guns etc.
Joint Task Force meets at 4am and hundreds are sent to those nodal areas where there is high density of such social negatives and the location is cleaned up! Obviously very high penalties are required
1 use a gun in the commission of a crime U start with 5 yrs OR a serious introduction to the Cat / Tamarind Rod.
2 Customs, fishing boat people—–serious penalties for transgression of importation
etc
etc
Message must be clearly sent BUT who gin send it??? Does it buy votes???
Benevolent Dictatorship for a few years to solve the probs and design a complete proper direction to maximise the success of Bajans and therefore the Nation! The answer to how we should be living and conducting the country we way are totally off course!
Time for govt to invest in high tech cameras placing them in areas unknown to those working at customs
Loading…
de Ingrunt Word
MoneyBrain, how exactly is the “slackness gotta done” when the drugs are managed and controlled by members of the ruling class!
I was reading a spy novel recently and this scenario was a key plot line:
The US gov’t were purchasing the Poppy crop from Afghanistan and destroying the heroin. In sum they were (1) passing money into the Afghan economy to maintain some equilibrium there and (2) removing the heroin from the open marketplace. Of course being a spy thriller there was more to it than that: a CIA operative, who was part of the program, was skimming a portion of that heroin for her own economic gain before it was all destroyed.
So how the hell are the fellas on the street going to stop their economic activity when there are Bajan official operatives who are facilitating the flow of the ganga and other drugs into BIM despite well organized intentions to interdict this flow!
My understanding of psychology suggests that if a person is capable of malfeasance and corrupt thinking in one area that there is a high degree of confidence that they can do the same in other areas.
All previous administrations (persons within) have shown enough corruption of character for me to be confident that the scourge of drugs into the island is a result of implicit acts of omission and direct acts of commission on the parts of the authorities; different from but yet similar to that spy thriller plot.
We are screwed until those in authority decide to really stop this influx; cause like the US we can’t really ever stop the farmers but being an island we surely should be able to stop or seriously restrict the level of imports.
Loading…
UWI Student
They now HIt Carlton & A1 in broad day light dennnnn ! Men brazen brazen just so. Lock wanna doors dread. Bubbados turn cowboy town. Trench Town rock.
Ports of entry .there is where this infestation beings and there is where it should end. Since govt has firsthand information as to how and where these guns are trafficked by way of entry govt should leave no stone unturned by way of discovery to remove those instrumental in covering up and making avenues possible for guns and drugs to lay away on the street.
Loading…
Exclaimer
Well the weekend has finally arrived. You guys may be interested in the headline story:
“Rio de Janeiro: ‘It’s a deep injustice that gun violence is tolerated”
Please give us your prognosis on where things are heading in Barbados with regards to gun crime.
Take a look at our neighbours in North, Central, South America and the Caribbean region. All these regions suffer from ridiculous high levels of homicide. It should be noted that the majority of countries within those regions have high levels of gun ownership.
None of us should be surprised at the high levels of homicide within these regions. Take a look at Central and South America pre the entry of the white man where human sacrifice was as common as drinking a cup of water.
We should also look closely at how these regions were colonised and brought under control by the white man; who enjoyed the blood sport of hunting down and killing those Negro slaves who attempted to flee from their master’s plantations. This group brought with them an intensity of violence unmatched in history in order to gain absolute power.
It seems evident to me that Barbados has a long way to go in order to reach the summit of her more illustrious violent neighbours. The spike in violent crime is merely an attempt by our citizens to catch up with our neighbours. Rest assure this is where we as a country are heading to.
Loading…
Hants
Exclaimer wrote to David “Please give us your prognosis on where things are heading in Barbados with regards to gun crime.”
We all know that unless there is an aggressive intervention by the Police with the backing of the Army, Barbados will become like Toronto.
Young black people will continue killing each other.
Guns can be easily acquired on the streets of Barbados. Guns and Drugs go together and as you know illegal drugs, most of it, enter via non regulated entry points. We have a problem.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
@Exclaimer wrote–
We should also look closely at how these regions were colonised and brought under control by the white man; who enjoyed the blood sport of hunting down and killing those Negro slaves who attempted to flee from their master’s plantations. This group brought with them an intensity of violence unmatched in history in order to gain absolute power.
Blaming Whitey for what happened several generations ago is a very pointless exercise. The point in today’s World is that Black people in the Cbean and Nth America are MURDERING Black people at a very high rate. Do really think that Shamar is thinking about, “those Whitey’s killed my forefathers so—-” NO! It is all about Shaquille dissing him or pushing in to his market to cost him $$$$$$$$$ ! When there is a shooting in Toronto it is mostly black on black and has gone so far it is not whether blacks are involved, it is whether Somali’s fighting Jammies or wha? SAD!
Conducting detailed analysis about Whitey’s historical record will change not one RAHTEEEEDD! Improving Education/ training and forcing DISCIPLINE in all communities in the Western world is what is required ASAP! Take your unlicenced gun to commit a crime and you start with 5 yrs before considering the crime. (better yet how about the LASHINGS of some implement that leaves indelible marks or even THE CAT) Far too many, especially Blacks,getting their life cut short, the time for talking BS DONE!
Loading…
MoneyBrain
@De Ingrunt—-
You like U miss my statement, we need BENEVOLENT DICTATORSHIP! I have no faith that the Pols or any so called “leaders” who thrive on Votes from the not so clever/ caring/ but corrupt are ever going to change anything for the better! Drugs $$$$$$$$ too sweeett and easy for all concerned besides decent, moral peeps.
Loading…
Exclaimer
@ Money Brain,
We have not crossed swords for some time now. Your views as always remain deeply unpalatable but thank God we can share a debate without drawing a knife or a gun to settle our disputes.
I believe that Barbados has reached a precipice where it no longer has control of events. You may look to the law to eradicate gun violence and lawlessness in Barbados but it is too late. Our “great” leaders have set in train our irreversible decline aided and abetted by we the masses.
Fortunately for me, I have options, unlike the majority of Bajans. You guys are far removed from what is happening in Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, Eritrea, and all those other turbulent countries in East Africa and the Middle East. We in Europe are witnessing a sea of humanity – unprecedented in our history – being washed up on our shores in search of refuge.
I fear that one day a mass of humanity originating from the Caribbean will eventually hit the shores of Europe. Should this be the case I hope that they will receive a better reception then this current lot of asylum seekers.
but one cannot overlook the fact/s of the commissioners findings and their relevancy as to how the guns and drugs enter the country and the one worst case scenario of employees working at the ports of entry aiding and abetting gun and drug traffickers .This kind of information had to be given to the commissioner by several sources one which could be been person/s working within those environment and detecting / or people closely affiliated with traffickers and have and interest in telling
In any event the govt have an obligation to source more funding into parolling and securing the borders and doing diligence covertly to weed out the infiltrators who have no interest for this country sooner rather than later
Loading…
Exclaimer
@ Hants and Money Brain,
You are correct when you state that blacks are killing blacks. This fact is indisputable.
Here are some questions: Who makes the guns? Who sanctions the sales of guns within their country? Who offers licenses to gun retailers?
There is a moral vacuum at the heart of those countries that manufacture and retail these weapons of mass destruction. There is a tacit acceptance that these guns are being deliberately pushed onto certain communities to stymie their growth and development. We know this to be a fact.
If we are serious about eliminating gun violence we have to ban the production and sale of these weapons. One day these same guns will be used to cow poor whites and the lower middle classes.
The COP was bang on target he let the chips fall. Customs must pull up its socks and the Attorney General has double check the facts before he speaks. We are not surprised at COP comments on Customs . Over the years Customs officers, customs guards ,to a lesser extent red caps and general workers have been arrested for infelicities at the ports of entry.
Customs is always on go slow and are chronic complainers its difficult to figure out why. They complained against installation of cameras in the baggage areas. Why? They protested the cameras with a lengthy go slow . Why object to cameras that will keep everybody honest from the suspicious traveler to the officer who challenges that traveler. Customs acts as a law onto themselves we recall the customs guard at the airport the police rightfully arrested for overstepping his boundaries and acting as if he is a policeman. That action resulted in yet another customs go slow. So the current go slow instigated by hum bug Caswell and the NUPW is part of a long-standing pattern.
There are upright customs officers they must stand up and stand away from the rough rude ones who are the subject of a flood of complaints from the public. Customs should be restructured transfer the officers who are dodgy or trouble makers . Customs must go into BRA and start on a fresh footing with new personnel and positive pro active attitudes. We must stop the guns from entering and getting to the lawless youngsters who spend their days and nights when they are not shooting and robbing under tamarind trees and shanties smoking dope. the vast majority of young people are productive members of society the bad apples who have little regard for human life must be dealt with swiftly and harshly. No surrender to these dirt bags. Citizens have to step and give information to the police who are doing a creditable job. Don’t allow the thugs any hiding place except Dodds.
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join and add value to the discussion.Cancel reply