Submitted by Anthony Davis
<p><strong>Chris Sinckler</strong>, Minister of Finance (l) <strong>Fruendel Stuart</strong>, Prime Minister and Head of the Civil Service (r)</p>

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has warned that if Government did not improve its revenue collection system, […]with the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) as the collecting agency,

his administration would be forced to ‘impose heavier burdens’ on Barbadians – Barbados Today (1 August 2015)

There are two things which jump out at me!

1) The Prime Minister seems to be saying: either Customs comes on board at the BRA – which it was agreed upon that it is not mandatory for them so to do – or we will be burdened with some pie in the sky tax as a punishment.

2) Once again this government seeks to lay the blame at someone else’s door step by stating that the BLP had this in mind, whereas they did not intend including Customs in the BRA they had envisioned.

This carrot and stick attitude reminds me very much of the colonial masters, and it does not augur well for our country and its populace because it does not matter what colour massa is!

These veiled threats are becoming too commonplace  these days.

What the Prime Minister should do is to tell his Minister of Finance not to give away our taxes as if they were his own.

He is always crying out that he does not have any money to aid the poor, the needy and the vulnerable in our society, yet he can find millions to give to every Tom, Dick and Harry who steps off a plane purporting to want to give us free deals!

There is no such thing as a free lunch!

Put the freebies you want to give to Cahill Energy to better use, and stop harassing the populace of this country for willy nilly taxes and then misusing them!

That is our money.

135 responses to “Prime Minister STOP Harassing Taxpayers”

1. Donna

The TV personality judge Mathis, has said on more than one occasions that: “He has been guilty from time to time of employing bad grammar and he often attributes this shortcoming to the environment in which he born and bred that employed such colloquial vernacular.” But it has in anyway shape or form prevented him from graduating law school at the top of his class, and today he is amongst most informative civil court judges on TV, regarding the top of civil litigation. So I do understand and will appreciate your efforts spent in trying to inform as well as educate some of the uninformed BU eldership regarding this very sensitive subject.

2. It is said that BU is a rum shop. There was a rum shop obliquely opposite my grandmother’s house. I loved to hear the noise of the men that often became merrier and more melodic as the day progressed. I would lie in bed at night and be soothed by the camaraderie that emanated from the interactions of the men.

Often there would be heated arguments on politics, on religion, on who was the best dominoes, draught or whist player. Bees would cuss Dees and Bees would cuss Dees and eventually they all fired a rum together.

On the occasions when no resolution could be made between the parties my father would be appealed to for the final word. This was because most people saw him as the most intelligent and rational person in the group and also because they saw him as the most unbiased.

These days when such a person opens his mouth he is greeted with the “Who do you think you are?” abuse. Everybody thinks they are equally qualified to speak on all subjects. Me? I know my place.

Try it! It’s liberating.

3. Donna, as far as my talents are concerned: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr said long ago that: “The service to our fellow man does not require one to understand Newton’s classical physics neither does it require of one to know Einstein’s quantum physics; all that is required is just a heart generated by love to the service of our fellow man.

4. Dompey,

Love Judge Matthis. My son and I watch him all the time. Actually we watch all the judge shows on television. We even watch Divorce Court when it’s not too racy. We always try to call the verdict. You’d be amazed at how many times he gets it right. I use it as one of the ways to prepare him for decision making. He reasons well. Seems like it runs in the family. His daycare provider used to call him “You Honour”.

5. Dompey,

Excellent! Then keep on keeping on!

6. Donna
    Trust me I do understand Donna, and appreciate the much needed positivity you have brought to the BU forum. Don’t allow them to change who you are and what you stand to represent as far as the Christian Gospel concerned. I have to run, I am doing some grocery shopping with my wife and daughter.later!

7. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet August 9, 2015 at 12:20 PM #
    Walter Blackman, re your 11:52 am post

“Your tongue was stuck firmly in your cheek, right?

Knowing what you know about the CLICO affair, would you really expect them to employ someone probably from outside the hallowed circle in a matter as sensitive as that one?

Suppose Artax had been given the job and reported exactly as the foreigners did, do you think the report would have seen the light of day or that CLICO and the Government would have cooperated with the investigations?

Sometimes foreign input is necessary and this was probably one of those times.”

are-we-there-yet,
    I get your drift.
    Yet, whilst CLICO’s victims die and cry alone in the darkness, we, in the role of our brothers’ keeper, must be careful not to rationalize and defend the reasons why evil deeds are still being perpetrated against them.
    Did CLICO and Government co-operate with the investigations? No, they didn’t! Do you remember the report stating how un-cooperative Leroy Parris and the other goons at CLICO were? Do you remember that a governmental agency like the Financial Services Commission, that was established to protect policyholders’ interests, even tried to stop the forensic report from becoming public? Simply to prevent Barbadians from realizing what a crook David Thompson was?
    If we needed foreign input, why did we not think about using the FBI or Scotland Yard?

This problem is not going away. It forces us to stand up everyday and ask ourselves: “What does it really mean to be Barbadian? How much more blatant wrongdoing are we supposed to sit down and take?

8. St George's Dragon Avatar

According to the Sunday Sun, the new name for the Customs Deptartment when it merges with BRA is going to be the External Taxes and Border Control Division.
    Surely they have missed a trick here. Shouldn’t it be called The Pan-departmental Authority for National Tax Income and External Security? Then we could have BRA and PANTIES.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Excellent St George excellent exquisitely convoluted and rational

10. Notices in todays newspapers.
    BWA moving into their $50/60/70 Million new Headquarters at the Pine. Meanwhile they are notifying the public that they do not have enough water tankers to service the frequently or permanently water outage areas, and will be getting some additional ones “soon.” Sitting in the comforts of new offices may not drive BWA into action.
    http://i.imgur.com/PfFEN28.jpg?1

11. Why is it that every time this Minister of Finance has had to impose a tax that something always goes wrong?

Solid waste tax……….he could not decipher if it was .3% or .03%.
    Land tax …….he did not say if the land tax cap of $60,000 will stay in place.
    Cell phone tax……..for a second time…..companies are having difficulty to put it in place.

The man should never be near any country’s finances!

Artaxerxes, please make today the last time you ever answer the Dompey………it is not worth wasting your intellect on him………….leave him to Bushie to be put in his place!

12. My tax increase is 22% and a relative’s is 33% on a an old property and 35% on a vacant lot of about 9000 sq ft.Neither property is seaside.
    Donna and Arta should avoid commenting on the donkey’s rants.

13. Prodigal Son

What intellect are you talking of regarding Artax? Do you mean the regurgitated knowledge beholding to others that the both of you spews and parrots continually on BU? Question for you Prodigal: what idea has Artax introduced that we can categorically and unequivocally say, it has changed the course of human civilization. So why should we him afforded our respect just because he is supposedly studying for his doctoral-dissertation? Thousands of people who can afford to do so, study their doctoral-dissertations annually, big deal! Sorry. If I am supposed to be impressed by Artax announcement earlier today; am afraid to disappoint him because I am not.

14. Prodigal Son

President Harry Truman has done more with a high school diploma than Artax would ever envision of doing with his supposedly PhD. President Woodrow Wilson is the only president thus far to hold a PhD, but he has been recorded amongst the worse presidents in the history of United States of America.

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops!

It was my mistake. My memory totally failed me on this one.

There was no new valuation this year. My improved value is the same as it was last year. The increase in tax appears to be totally due to the different bands now in place.

Thanks Artax and David.

16. No problem Are-we-there-yet, if you can’t afford the taxes Bushie will take the property off you.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; I’ll keep it and set up a begging sheet on BU. I fraid Bushie. He might give me 10 cents on the dollar for it

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter; re. your 1:42 pm post;

I also get your drift.

But I think that it was clear, almost from the outset of the CLICO matter, that the Barbados Government, first through David Thompson and then through the new PM and the Minister of Finance, appeared to be doing their utmost to derail the operations of the CLICO Judicial Manager in an effort to cover up the involvement of the now deceased PM in the infelicities that were intrinsic to the CLICO scam and to limit the fallout on the DLP’s image.

If that is accepted then it does not seem likely that they would have agreed to the involvement of any local forensic audit expert in delving into a case that they must have known would inexorably lead to the uncovering of facts that would certainly cast the former PM in very bad light in any but a most perfunctory investigation.

I agree with you wholeheartedly that Artax and similarly well qualified Bajan specialists in all fields should not be discriminated against for jobs here but in the CLICO case I think that having outside specialists was key to the eventual unmasking of the main actors.

I’m not trying to defend the Government, only pointing out that, given their track record, the option of choosing a well qualified, independent, Bajan or Bajn firm to do the job would have been a non starter. Also, given the pivotal position of the former PM in this matter, the likelihood of them calling in the FBI or Scotland Yard was negligible. Yuh expect an experienced lawyer dealing in matters that clearly involved money laundering would call in those authorities to investigate a situation that would almost certainly lead back to him? Or that the current PM would take a chance that could possibly result in the DLP’s image being sullied?

But you also said;
    This problem is not going away. It forces us to stand up everyday and ask ourselves: “What does it really mean to be Barbadian? How much more blatant wrongdoing are we supposed to sit down and take?

I could not agree with you more on that one. We are seeing the problem anastomosing every day as the Government avoids comment and actions on very egregious problems in the hope that they will right themselves or they will go away or that there will be some sort of divine intervention. We need look no further than the Cahill affair or the case of the reluctant payback affair or even the NUPW and the BIDC affair. At least there is strong counteraction re. the Cahill affair but even BU commenters, on balance, seemed to back the Government against the Opposition effort to push back against the iniquity in the Speaker affair. It looks as if we are inured to not doing the righteous thing to fight these inroads by our Government and are just waiting until 2018 to act.

19. Walter Blackman Avatar

are-we-there-yet August 9, 2015 at 10:05 PM
    “I agree with you wholeheartedly that Artax and similarly well qualified Bajan specialists in all fields should not be discriminated against for jobs here……..

I’m not trying to defend the Government, only pointing out that, given their track record, the option of choosing a well qualified, independent, Bajan or Bajan firm to do the job would have been a non starter.”

are-we-there-yet,
    I think I have a pretty good idea of how government is meant to operate. From what I have been told, you have to be an American citizen to get a federal job. That makes a lot of sense to me.

I am not a lawyer, but I hold the view that if a law abiding citizen of Barbados is qualified to do a job that the Government of Barbados needs done, then that job, by definition MUST go to a Barbadian.
    If it can be demonstrated that the Government of Barbados is repeatedly and routinely keeping its jobs away from qualified Barbadians, and giving them to foreigners, then, I know that the basic principles of good government are being destroyed.

If I start thinking like a lawyer, then the first question that confronts me is this:
    If enough qualified Barbadians come forward with evidence that the Government of Barbados has been discriminating against them in the awarding of jobs and contracts BECAUSE THEY ARE BARBADIANS, can they successfully file a class action suit against the Government of Barbados?

Is there a lawyer practising in Barbados who can say “yes” to this question, and cite the relevant section of the law? And is willing to take the case to court?

20. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter;

Re. your 11:31 pm post;

I have a feeling that you are conflating the situation in Barbados with the situation in the USA. Barbados, despite all its former ambitions of becoming a first world country, cannot imho be compared with the USA in this matter under discussion.

I would agree with you that the Barbados Government should, other things being equal, give its Jobs to Bajans but in the case which you brought up, the CLICO case and the hiring of a Judicial Manager where the Government knew that its hands were not clean in the matter, the likelihood of them choosing an exclusively Bajan firm had to be slim unless that firm had sworn its allegiance to the Party and could be trusted not to report anything that could be construed to be anti-government in its findings.

In America, such a consideration would be unlikely to carry any weight but other considerations relating to the firm being of the right political colour might also be of importance and could influence the ultimate choice of the firm to do the job. But note that in the USA the position that you are putting forward would still obtain. An American Firm would still be mandated to do the job.

………. To be continued.

21. Walter Blackman Avatar

are-we-there-yet August 9, 2015 at 10:05 PM #

You are arguing that the strategies used by the David Thompson\Freundel Stuart administrations in the CLICO scandal were designed to achieve three major objectives:

“to derail the operations of the CLICO Judicial Manager
    to cover up the involvement of the now deceased PM in the infelicities that were intrinsic to the CLICO scam
    to limit the fallout on the DLP’s image.”

If it is one thing the media in the USA repeatedly reinforce in situations involving scandals, it is this: to minimize and limit the damage of fallout from a scandal, never engage in actions or behaviors aimed at covering up the stench. Such actions make matters worse.

Good politics on the part of Freundel Stuart required him to throw Leroy Parris and the legacy of David Thompson to the wolves, literally. By doing so, he would have minimized whatever political fall out there was to the DLP and he would have been viewed as a man of integrity. Why was PM Stuart unable to do this? Why did he view such action as treachery?

Simply put, the damaging nature of the CLICO scandal did not give Stuart the luxury of pursuing those 3 objectives you mentioned.

Yet Stuart and Thompson pursued those very objectives. What is the result? The corrosive nature of the scandal has now taken effect, and along with the well known suspects, it has attracted attention to BRA, the Financial Services Commission, CLICO’s auditors, CLICO’s lawyers, the Judicial Managers, the police, the DPP, the DLP, the BLP, PM Stuart, and the government of Barbados itself.

CLICO has now evolved from being a scandal into a political virus.

22. “CLICO has now evolved from being a scandal into a political virus”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …and a serious NATIONAL CURSE.

23. Isn’t CLICO a regional pox?

24. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Walter, you have spoken eloquently and with solid authority in your recent posts as you have on the entire CLICO matter but your way forward re the resolution of the ‘political virus’ you described is a non-starter.

The only way that seems feasible to have an action from a police official or “a lawyer practising in Barbados… ” getting to the bottom of the political virus is a secret assassin.

Not an assassin shooting his way ‘with extreme prejudice’ to bring death but a person intent on bringing an end to the bad behaviour of the guilty with a similar single-minded focus.

That will take money, initial secrecy and deep conviction.

Do you see anyone in Barbados or outside who has the attributes or can bring them together to do that?

I see no authority figure in or out of Barbados who has the conviction (like former T&T AG Selwyn Richardson) to clean up your virus,

And although we can hope that there is some breech of US laws that propels a US investigatory foray which then leads to an attack of the virus, that action stills needs some one to be an instigator.

No Richardsons in sight.

25. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter;

At last you are beginning to see the light.

We are talking about Barbados, not the USA.
    Of course the US history of the last few decades has shown how toxic and impractical political cover-ups can be and now we are seeing where the CLICO cover-ups here by a bevy of flawed DLP politicians has been exposed and appears to be doomed to failure.

Those DLP politicians should have known better but it is the nature of the political beast here to cover up and your intimating that the DLP leadership should have gone against its nature and expose everything is purely wishful thinking.

Of course not covering up was the sensible and right thing to do, just as the right thing to do in the Cahill case would be to throw at least two of the signatories of the MoU to the wolves. Expecting that such flawed individuals would do the right thing is only hiding one’s head in the sand similarly to an expectation that politicians would willingly employ locals in a project designed to expose infelicities that could be linked to them.

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;

Yuh rite!

27. @Dee Word

The T&T investigation exposed the deep intercompany transactions which a high quality forensic may only scratch the service. If you have been following Afra Raymond’s fight in T&T where transparency legislation exist you may grasp the enormity of the task.

28. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Are-We, the thing about a virus particularly a political one as described so eloquently by Walter is that it takes a lot of willing participants.

As much as I agree that there is “… the CLICO cover-ups here by a bevy of flawed DLP politicians …” . that coverup could not have been facilitated without the complicity of others in the BLP specifically and throughout our society.

Tired and cliched now though it be: A Pox on both those parties and beyond.

Has anyone, for example, ever explained/investigated how DT was able to administer funds to and from one of his Law Firms company accounts without the approval of office personnel although he was officially not affiliated with the company and would have been removed as a signatory to the bank accounts when he was appointed PM.

Lots of people complicit beyond the clearly self-preserving DLP pols.

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Oh absolutely David, enormous it is. What Alfa Raymond’s had charge also tells us is that the ‘coverup’ is firmly in place there.

One actor there, Mariano Browne, we all all know here from his banking stints here and just seeing the role he played as a financially smart insider who went on to a senior Mn of Finance official and how he refused along with a few others to speak to the commissioners was interesting.

The same question asked in the US, why were the investigators not given subpoena a power to make the matter a official legal matter was posed here. And same reason: cover up of financial misdeeds. But we know that.

To your point on Alfa, T&T have their Richardson in him so maybe all is not lost on that front.

He does need to be careful, however. T&T has this small problem of attempted robberies with resulting killings in driveways and so on. A fate akin to which which Selwyn Ricardson encountered.

30. @ David
    CLICO is a regional pox, …but NOWHERE ELSE has there been the degree of GOVERNMENTAL involvement, cover-up, obstrufication and downright LYING as in Barbados.
    Nowhere else have the PEOPLE been as docile and ACCEPTING of the crookery as in Barbados….

Shiite man…. EVEN THOSE WHOSE MONEY was stolen are quietly accepting the thievery and just hoping that someone, somewhere, would somehow give them their money back….

How many cheated policyholders joined the pressure group?
    What have the damn group done except seek photo ops with Stinkliar and the other CLICO thieves?

Bunch of brass…

Spiritual law No 453B /22c
    ..where piles of shiite are allowed to accumulate, and no action is taken to properly dispose of such shiite in a country, said country’s ass shall be grass until such time as their donkeys REPENT of the lotta shiite, CLEAN UP the shiite, and take steps to properly SANITISE their surroundings….and to keep it so…

BTW David,
    Bushie just noted your reference from an ’emailer’ for Bushie to take up the cause of the chicken farmers who are owed ‘millions’ by some fast food chain….

YOU AIN’T SERIOUS RIGHT…?
    YOU AIN’T really pass that to Bushie in truth….!!!

Skippa, Bushie has a WHACKER….!
    He is not a damn baby sitter.
    Tell them to join Unity… Caswell is into baby-sitting …not stinking Bushie…

You telling the Bushman that MILLION DOLLAR FARMERS don’t know how to deal with some ‘fast’ crook? …and looking for a sugar daddy to do their dirty work for them?

steupsss ….these farmers are probably the same shiites that own CLICO policies and waiting for someone to clean up their mess….
    In the meantime what do they do…?
    Run off and buy Stinkliar’s and Worrell’s Bonds – and will come again next few years looking for someone to ‘take up their cause…’

Steupsss…
    Bushie would like to see the fast food outlet that owes the Bushman more than $500 …and is still open to business …or even have principals living in Bim…… 🙁

31. Dompey, BU is not about YOU or ME, the blog-master provided this forum for us to comment on local and international issues. Unfortunately, I strayed away from that purpose by engaging in an IMMATURE “tit for tat” with you.

Interestingly, you NEVER, EVER COMMENT ON ANY ISSUE presented to BU for discussion. Instead, you prefer to come to the blog excessively CRITICIZE everyone who contributes in this forum.

That seems to be your MISSION on BU.

What does that say about you?

32. @ Walter

Whereas I am a local self employed individual, Deloitte is an international accounting firm.
    Do you really believe the judicial manager would want to pay someone like me at least $1M to conduct a forensic audit of CLICO’s operations?

Walter, being self-employed in Barbados is not as easy as some people make it out to be. Many of us are confronted with issues of discrimination and dishonesty, which are generally perpetrated by people we know.

You have “friends” who rather employ the services of PWC, Deloitte, Ernst & Young or KPMG, before they even consider us or any of the smaller accounting firms in Barbados. Why? It’s our mentality.

However, if they want a favour or something done for free, you can guess who they will seek first.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DIW;

Agree essentially with your 7:16 am post. But in this matter the DLP PM’s were the main actors or instigators in the flawed denouement, passively abetted by the former BLP PM and not so passively by the Policy Holders group and by the numerous Bajan Brass Bowls as defined by Bush Tea.

Artaxerxes;

Your above post helps to put Walter’s earlier one in stark local perspective re. the probability of a Barbados Government, in the situation that the DLP was in, hiring a local unaligned professional or firm to be essentially part of a blatant coverup. Walter’s position on that was counter intuitive and really not essential to the construction of his major point on the need to set standards, guidelines, performance targets, etc. to ensure that qualified Bajan professionals and firms should not be discriminated against re. access to gainful employment opportunities by Government .

34. @ AWTY

I read you managed to sort out your land tax issue.

We should also look at income taxes and how the removal of certain deductibles would affect the average working class individual.

Sinckler proposed that from income year 2015, along with the existing personal allowances, the deductions allowed for filing income tax are (1) energy audit retrofits, (2) contributions to trade unions and statutory associations, (3) donations to charities including the church.

The personal allowances include the personal allowance of $25,000 or $40,000 for pensioners; allowance for a spouse who is not working = $3,000; child allowance = $1,000 per child (not more than 2 children).

The removal of $10,000 per annum home allowance will obviously affect those persons who are paying mortgages, since they can no longer claim interest or for repairs up to $10,000.

They government has also removed the $10,000 per annum deduction for planning and saving for the future, i.e. investing in a registered retirement savings plan. This is a worrying development, especially against the background of a slowly depleting NIS funds.

Sinckler mentioned the impact of the removal of these tax deductions would not be harsh, since he reduced the higher personal income tax rate to 33.5% (from 35%) and the lower band of 17.5% will be reduced to 16%. However, if you compare a calculation of your income tax return for 2014 to the 2015 return inclusive of the proposed changes, the overall impact would be somewhat negligible in comparison to the increased taxation resulting from the removal of the tax allowances.

It is interesting to note that these measures are also expected to result in a reduction of 60% of the total tax refunds processed by the BRA.

35. Walter Blackman Avatar

are-we-there-yet August 10, 2015 at 8:57 AM #
    DIW;

“Artaxerxes;

Your above post helps to put Walter’s earlier one in stark local perspective re. the probability of a Barbados Government, in the situation that the DLP was in, hiring a local unaligned professional or firm to be essentially part of a blatant coverup. Walter’s position on that was counter intuitive…..”

are-we-there-yet,
    I believe that Deloitte would get a troubling visit or call from the Canadian authorities if it could be demonstrated that they were hired by the Barbados government as a “professional or firm to be essentially part of a blatant coverup.”

There is no law, in Barbados, that gives the government the right to ban its citizens from doing a job, because it wants to cover up a crime!
    There is no law, in Barbados, that gives a minister of government the right to commit a crime, and then banish Barbadians from performing a legitimate job, in order to cover up that crime!

Don’t get me wrong. I understand fully that you are trying to ram into my thick skull that politicians in Barbados can do any crap. They can violate the law and abuse us as citizens, and then we in turn must show them how bright, astute, and pragmatic we are by telling them: “we understand that you must treat us so in order to coverup the wicked acts you have done!”

I am going to ask my question a second time: Can the government of Barbados be sued, if there is enough evidence to show that it is discriminating against persons for government jobs, simply because these persons are Barbadians? You might deem this question counter-intuitive, but my mind is seeking an answer.

36. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artax;

Yes! Thanks!

Have been struggling to see how myself and other pensioners will survive with so many allowances removed. It will be difficult, especially for those of us who don’t have a second property or other income to supplement the pensions or those who are providing support to elderly family or other dependants, some of whom are not working.

One thing for sure is that next year few will have to wait for income tax refunds as the ones who normally get such refunds will instead have to pay Government arrears on their personal Income tax.

What is also very worrisome is the current trend for NIS pension cheques to be delayed for various seemingly unlikely reasons. They’re at it again this month.

There doesn’t seem to be any silver lining just beyond the horizon.

I think the Unions need to be supported in their new militancy as the day seems to be rapidly approaching where a seemingly unsympathetic government appears to be hell bent on squeezing everything out of the easy targets, subsidizing the ones which can pay towards their retirements while doing nothing sensible to put the economy back on track, and it looks as if only the Unions can make them see reason.

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter;

You said above:-

Don’t get me wrong. I understand fully that you are trying to ram into my thick skull that politicians in Barbados can do any crap. They can violate the law and abuse us as citizens, and then we in turn must show them how bright, astute, and pragmatic we are by telling them: “we understand that you must treat us so in order to coverup the wicked acts you have done!”

All I’m trying to ram into your thick skull is that you need to appreciate what are the current realities of the situation, not try to pretend that Barbados has the same safeguards that the US has in matters of this kind. Nowhere have I condoned the situation both you and I have described.

You made a mistake! Admit it and move on instead of trying to impute that I am welcoming their practices or suggesting that their covering up activities are acceptable, correct or immutable.

I think my major fault, in your eyes, is questioning your analysis. You can’ deal wid dat.

38. Artax

It is best that I inform you as I have done with so much others here on BU that my main purpose on this blog is to pine for the social, political and intellectual discourse of a people I love, and of a country which should forever remain etched in my consciousness to the day of my physical expiration from our human existence.

Now, if you or anyone else here somehow mistakenly believe for one brief moment that I am concerned about what level of education you have achieved; what political party you have pledged your loyalties to; who you are seeing; and what you’re having to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you’re sadly mistaking. Because my main purpose as I have described about, it to pine for that linage to a people I have much in common with, and to do so within an atmosphere that is conducive to uplifting one another. But some persons here do not wish to see this materialize, and that okay because we obviously have to leave room for the Devil to play.

39. Dompey,

Then leave that alone and make your point, Dear Dompey.

40. Donna August 10, 2015 at 11:02 AM #

“Dompey, Then leave that alone and make your point, Dear Dompey.”

That’s exactly my point, Donna, but he NEVER does. What does Harry Truman have to do with Barbados being over taxed?

What sickens me about this individual is, rather than make meaningful contributions to any article posted to BU for discussion, HE PREFERS TO INSULT OR ABUSE OTHER CONTRIBUTORS. What does this say about his character?

Take this present topic, “Prime Minister Stop Harassing Tax Payers,” for example. As at 11:19am there were 89 comments on this topic. Out of these 89 comments, Dompey made 20; and none of the 20 DID NOT have anything to do WITH THE TOPIC.

Rather than using those 20 opportunities to add something of value to the “discussion” about TAXES in Barbados, he used his time to insult “Violet C. Beckles,” “Prodigal Son,” you and me, as well as to aggrandize himself and make the blog about HIM.

Donna, this guy is a sickening, narcissistic braggart.

41. @ Donna

Dompey August 9, 2015 at 5:49 PM #

I respect your opinion, but I respectfully disagree with your analogy regarding parades in North America because I find them quite mundance (MUNDANE) and very boring. Their (THEY) aren’t anything at all like our festivels (FESTIVALS) in Barbados and elsewhere in the Caribbean.

Read the above contribution coming from a man who mentioned in previous posts he knows how and when to use there, they or their in a sentence.

Additionally, “mundane” means “lacking interest or excitement, dull and BORING.” So, he’s essentially saying “…..I find them quite boring and very boring.”

Shiite.

42. Artax

Donna, it appears as though Artax seems to be just as childish as I am? Now, I have made a miscalculation with respect to the word “mundane”, which I actually meant to employ within the sentence yesterday, instead of the word “mundance” and he focuses all of his attention on this very minor miscalculation. It just goes to show his level intellectual mature, and his inability to distinguish when someone has genuine made an honest mistake. Artax, have I ever said to you that I am perfect? Of course not, but it appears as though you seem to think that I am because you have failed in your efforts to discredit my intellectual-stance to attribute my miscalculation to human error. Donna, this is what the antagonist does, he exploits your every weakness in an effort to undermine your intellectual stance, to aggrandize his sense of intellectual- prowess.

43. Narcissistic Personality Disorder (pathological narcissist) is a psychiatric diagnosis characterized by an EXAGGERATED SENSE OF SELF-IMPORTANCE and uniqueness, extreme selfishness, EXCESSIVE CRAVING FOR ATTENTION AND ADMIRATION, PREOCCUPATION WITH GRANDIOSE VIEWS OF THEIR OWN TALENTS AND FANTASIES CONCERNING THE SELF (I.E. BELIEVES SELF TO BE SUPERIOR), as well as a lack of empathy.

They are of the misguided opinion they are “special” and unique and CAN ONLY BE UNDERSTOOD BY, OR SHOULD ASSOCIATE WITH, OTHER SPECIAL OR HIGH-STATUS PEOPLE (or institutions). THE PATHOLOGICAL NARCISSIST ALSO DISPLAYS ARROGANT, HAUGHTY (RUDE AND ABUSIVE) BEHAVIOURS OR ATTITUDES.

People with narcissistic personality disorder often display snobbish, disdainful, or patronizing attitudes. For example, an individual with this disorder may complain about a clumsy waiter’s “rudeness” or “stupidity” or conclude a medical evaluation with a condescending evaluation of the physician.

The above is characteristic of Dompey. He’s just another immature jackass who comes to BU to nick-pick about everything and anything.

A child who thinks he’s so intellectual, but he does not know when or how to use THERE, THEY or THEIR.

44. Donna

Artax, seems to be delusional because he has somehow mistaken me for Bush Tea. He claims or seems to think that I contribute little of value to the discussions here on Bu, and that my contribution is often enterlaced with negative critique. And this my God is the furthest thing from the truth because in essence, I often like to bring an international perspective to add and enhance the level of the topic before deliberation here on BU. Now, in certain areas of the discussion that I am not too informed about, I try my best to stay out of it unless someone levels a negative comment in my direction-which often happens and then I usually respond.

45. Artaxerxes and Dompey,

Will the bigger man put an end to this seemingly ceaseless nonsense?

46. For those of us who listened and practised the Use of English,this donkey is a red rag to a bull with his arrogance, scribbled in pidgin english.

47. Donna

I hear what you’re saying and quite frankly, you’re correct, but there is an enigmatic quality regarding the human ego which the psychotherapist, psychiatrist, psychologists and cognitive- scientist, haven’t been able to fully comprehend as of yet.

48. Gabriel, thanks for the laugh …. I needed that brother . lol

49. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Donna at some point, if he has not already become so involved, I presume your son will become involved in his school debating society or have serious interaction at a club. There he will surely learn the art of verbal battles. Such is this skirmish. All good.

And remember we get our joys in different way.

Artax loves the art of verbal war and the lovely craftsmanship of words; he appears quite skilled there actually.

Dompey drives Artax to a frenzy because the Domps thinks he is artful in these verbal skirmishes although he regularly mauls the language and is absolutely lacking grace in his stilted usage.

Please leave Artax and Dompey to their fun. From the sidelines it seems harmless to me.

50. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Oh gee, Gabriel you have said it so well.

Imagine how that red rag infuriates anyone who then has gone beyond that basic ‘use of English’ exposure and has truly embraced the wonders and joys of the English Language.

Dompey is then like the worst type of insurgent …dare I say it a ‘language terrorist’!

Artax is the avenger to that terror!