Submitted by Anthony Davis
<p><strong>Chris Sinckler</strong>, Minister of Finance (l) <strong>Fruendel Stuart</strong>, Prime Minister and Head of the Civil Service (r)</p>

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has warned that if Government did not improve its revenue collection system, […]with the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) as the collecting agency,

his administration would be forced to ‘impose heavier burdens’ on Barbadians – Barbados Today (1 August 2015)

There are two things which jump out at me!

1) The Prime Minister seems to be saying: either Customs comes on board at the BRA – which it was agreed upon that it is not mandatory for them so to do – or we will be burdened with some pie in the sky tax as a punishment.

2) Once again this government seeks to lay the blame at someone else’s door step by stating that the BLP had this in mind, whereas they did not intend including Customs in the BRA they had envisioned.

This carrot and stick attitude reminds me very much of the colonial masters, and it does not augur well for our country and its populace because it does not matter what colour massa is!

These veiled threats are becoming too commonplace  these days.

What the Prime Minister should do is to tell his Minister of Finance not to give away our taxes as if they were his own.

He is always crying out that he does not have any money to aid the poor, the needy and the vulnerable in our society, yet he can find millions to give to every Tom, Dick and Harry who steps off a plane purporting to want to give us free deals!

There is no such thing as a free lunch!

Put the freebies you want to give to Cahill Energy to better use, and stop harassing the populace of this country for willy nilly taxes and then misusing them!

That is our money.

135 responses to “Prime Minister STOP Harassing Taxpayers”

1. Gabriel
    Brother, I don’t seem to get it or perhaps I am not the brightest candle on the cake here because I really do not see anything to be arrogant about. Now, firstly, we’re beholding to the knowledge of those that are amongst us, and those who have gone ahead of us. We haven’t made any significant contributions which have impacted positive change in the course of human civilization, and I certainly do not have millions in the bank. And could quite possibly die at less than a minute notice on the request of the Moral Arbiter above. So tell me Gabriel: what is there to be arrogant about?

2. No ingrunt … just call me the verbal jihaist brother.

3. @Dee Word

BU a play where the dullards and the intellectuals converge.

4. It is mindboggling how some here are endeavoring to dissect the inadequacies and insufficiencies in my writing, but I have witnessed many on BU employing my commonly used words and phrases. Things that make one stop and pensively contemplate lunacy associated with contemporary academism

5. De Ingrunt Word,

Throwing my words back at me, are you?

I don’t think Artaxerxes is having fun. If he was he would have told me so. He is allowing himself to be rattled and distracted. There is no humour here, just childish insults whiuch demean a man of his apparent stature.

6. which

7. Have fun! I have better things to do.

8. Donna

I am not quite sure how long you have been on the BU blog? But I have been on this blog for quite a few years now, and I can state without much equivocation that quite a few of the eldership on this blog can be very condescending as well as demeaning at times. And my emotional impetuosity leads me at times to respond to their belittlement, in a manner that is not conducive to the social niceties of modern day society.

9. Walter Blackman Avatar

are-we-there-yet August 10, 2015 at 10:47 AM #
    “Walter;

You made a mistake! Admit it and move on instead of trying to impute that I am welcoming their practices or suggesting that their covering up activities are acceptable, correct or immutable.

I think my major fault, in your eyes, is questioning your analysis. You can’ deal wid dat.”

are-we-there-yet,
    You have lost me! I will take your advice and move on.

10. Donna

I have come under some harsh criticism for my grammar, syntax and punctuation usage, when I first came to this blog, but I took that criticism the way a real man ought; with temerity and boldness. So the fact the Artax is somehow emotionally shaken because someone has level an honest critique of his writing, demonstrates to some extent, his lack of emotional equanimity, and self- confidence.

11. Walter Blackman Avatar

Artaxerxes August 10, 2015 at 8:30 AM #
    “@ Walter

Walter, being self-employed in Barbados is not as easy as some people make it out to be. Many of us are confronted with issues of discrimination and dishonesty, which are generally perpetrated by people we know.

You have “friends” who rather employ the services of PWC, Deloitte, Ernst & Young or KPMG, before they even consider us or any of the smaller accounting firms in Barbados. Why? It’s our mentality.

However, if they want a favour or something done for free, you can guess who they will seek first.”

Artaxerxes,
    I know precisely what you are talking about and I feel your pain.

When it comes to our so-called friends giving us work, there is a point to bear in mind. Part of our people’s mindset is to walk about and try to convince others that they are millionaires rubbing shoulders with “high society” people. Some of them spend their lives doing this, because of class pressures in Barbados.

We are professionals working in the financial services sector, so if it is a matter related to insurance, pensions, annuities, accounting, or tax services they have to provide confidential financial information to us. To their way of thinking, giving us such information would reveal the reality of their pretentiousness and allow us to peep into their financial soul. Thus, they flee from us as a vampire would flee from a crucifix simply because they don’t want us to “know their business”.

Putting business aside, they have no problems playing dominoes, drinking with us, enjoying our company, and bragging to other people, behind our backs, that they have a very close friend who is an actuary, or accountant, or investment banker etc.

Hang in there, my friend, and keep the faith.

12. @Walter Blackman August 10, 2015 at 7:47 PM “Part of our people’s mindset is to walk about and try to convince others that they are millionaires rubbing shoulders with “high society” people. Some of them spend their lives doing this, because of class pressures in Barbados

Thanks Walter. This is funny and so very sad at the same time. Timothy Callender/Alfred Pragnell had a few words for these people “poor great poppits” they are called in the literature.

13. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Dompey, this is an early morn release so pay little attention.

Over the years I have read many sterling articles and other writings. I have also enjoyed listening to the oratory of Don Blackman in particular and also Tom, Errol, Sir Cameron and others.

I always remember two ‘simple’ articles (long ago now) that were absolutely powerful and worth their weight in gold; one by W. Gibbons on the Machiavellian ways of OSA and the other by C. Lovell as a riposte to a criticism. Both were masterful.

Bro, when I read your commentaries I am deeply reminded of those things and better understand why they say ‘monkey shouldn’t handle gun’. LOLLLL Oh lawd!

14. Dompey,

You may have taken it like a man but AC takes it like a duck. It flows off her back like water. I am a very expressive reader and as such I can hear your voice when I read your posts. You feel the blows.

I am not a fan of blood sports but I have been known to watch a few boxing matches in the “greatest” of times. I know they make the combatants weigh in to confirm their weight before the fight. There is a reason for that.

But, if you are a masochist don’t let me spoil your fun.

15. De Ingrunt Word,

Enjoy the feeding frenzy!

16. Because contrary to what you seem to think (“At some point…. your son I presume will join his school debating society”) I have been aware of debates and debating society since my primary school days and this prolonged exchange cannot pass for debate. More like debasement.

Besides, Artaxerxes and Dompey could easily have told me to buzz of if they so desired. Do they now need you to do so for them?

17. That’s buzz OFF.

18. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

So wait Donna, expressive reader as you are, when you read my pieces of palaver above you don’t feel my mirth!

Why would I be so rude to tell you to ‘buzz off’ or indeed not recognize your familiarity with blood sports like debate – oh yes, even that can get very bloody or debased as you said.

You are very experienced and able to handle yourself. I was merely being the joker on the wall in this matter. Feel the smile, Donna. Feel the smile!!!!

Do you really feel that a man of Artax’s resumee needs either of us to proscribe his commentary in this folly with Dompey; particularly when as you highlight Domps is way out of his weight category and over-matched!

You like you is a fairly serious lady yuh, and wud give even The Donald trouble! LOL.

Some of this stuff is a release. Relax.

Life is rough. Smile and save the energy for more serious matters!

19. It would surprise you to know that I have graced many a stage with my comedy. I don’t just smile. I make people laugh!

20. De Ingrunt Word,

I have also been a fan of nature shows in my time and have not flinched from watching two lions fighting for territory. However I stopped watching when I saw a group of lionesses bringing down an elephant. Each got on his back and took her turn biting his spinal cord until his legs buckled and he fell to the ground. It took a very long time. That was torture. Didn’t much like watching the lions tearing apart a zebra either but at least they did it the easy way. One quick swipe!

By the way, reread your last few posts to me and see that a condescending air is creeping in. That is what I’m feeling.

21. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Donna, fah real. I think I should have said earlier: You like you is TOO serious, yuh !

Dear lady, chill. Why would a little palaver here on BU take you into the realm of my being condescending?

To what avail would I need to be such and on what is my tone of superiority based?

Are you sure your ‘expressive reading light’ is turned on properly, or is the bulb wattage too low??

Looka, I gone yah hear.

22. Men seldom need a reason to be condescending to women. When I first started here somebody asked David if had BU become a haven for “bored housewives”.

23. @ Donna

I must admit that your are most certainly correct in your assessment of the “debate” between Dompey and I. I also believe I went over-board by helping to prolong the nonsense.

BU provides us with a forum to express our opinions on issues presented to the blog for “discussion.” Rather than stick to that purpose, I entered into a “jousting” match with someone I believe is sanctimonious and condescending to the point where I ended up exhibiting similar characteristics as well.

Overtime, BU’s popularity has been on the rise with people mentioning the blog on the calling programs, in discussions with their friends and on other social media. The reviews have been positive, which indicates there is something being done by contributors that has been inspiring and motivating people to instigate a change of the status quo.

If you examine the responses to the CAHILL articles, for example, you would identify those contributors who enhanced the “discussion” by making an effort to conduct the relevant research and came to BU with excellent contributions. This is the purpose of BU.

24. Artaxerxes,

Thank you. You are indeed a big man.

25. “FOLLOWING A PROTEST from the Ministry of International Business, Spain has removed Barbados from its tax blacklist.”

26. I have not yet read all of the posts but it seems to me that what the fool said was….”If we are not able to collect all of the tax due, we will introduce more taxes……..that we will not be able to collect.”
    You really could not make this semi literate shit up! This is supposed to be an educated man, the premier politician of our country. If this is the pinnacle of our ruling party then God help us, ‘cos the rest must be dumber than pig shit.

27. LOL @ bookworm
    cuh dear, yuh had to be so blunt?
    Bushie had put it down to the poor man trying to be light hearted…but then he did not smile …or even wait for a laugh from the audience..
    Wuh shiite man…. even AC must be able to figure out that if the PRIME MINISTER himself is admitting that they are powerless to collect legitimate taxes that are due from some citizens, then it does not matter one shiite how much Stinkliar raises other taxes ….cause only jackasses will pay anyhow…
    Why the hell will ANYONE pay taxes if the only penalty for not paying is that OTHERS will be asked to pay instead?

…and to think that these morons running things bout here….downhill – of course..

28. Caswell has repeatedly pointed to Courts and others let off the hook by the VAT office, owing millions to the Treasury.

29. It’s just like with the BWA. Those who were already paying their bills suffered drastic increases so that those who weren’t paying their bills could continue to get free water.

30. St George's Dragon Avatar

Wait until the BWA’s payments on their new headquarters building kick in. Water prices are going to have to rise again.

31. @ Hants
    “FOLLOWING A PROTEST from the Ministry of International Business, Spain has removed Barbados from its tax blacklist.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Spain?
    Boss man… Wuh they may be even further up shiite street than we are…

32. @Bushie,

They have something in common with Barbados.

beautiful beaches and beautiful women.

….and they have nuff debt too 100%of GDP

33. Hants August 11, 2015 at 11:16 AM #

“FOLLOWING A PROTEST from the Ministry of International Business, Spain has removed Barbados from its tax blacklist.”

You left out the best part.

“Mr. Inniss further indicated that bilateral discussions with those countries which still have Barbados on their lists are ongoing. He noted that the countries were sent diplomatic notes to ensure they were aware of the errors in their listing; to formalise tax treaty relations with them; and, more importantly, to endeavour to have this island removed from those lists.

The countries include Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia.”

The FDI floodgates will be bursting now that Spanish investors, and those from Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia, are protected against double taxation on the profits they earn from their investments in Barbados.

The Spanish hotel chains will be lining up at the MOF office for permission (and concessions) to build hotels in Barbados – after they finish building new properties in Cuba to meet the demand from US tourists flocking to Cuba.

34. Walter Blackman August 10, 2015 at 7:47 PM #

“When it comes to our so-called friends giving us work, there is a point to bear in mind. Part of our people’s mindset is to walk about and try to convince others that they are millionaires rubbing shoulders with “high society” people. Some of them spend their lives doing this, because of class pressures in Barbados.”

Walter, although I laughed at your above comment, they are quite true. I remember a few years ago liming and conversing with a few “friends.” One asked me how he could go about setting up an accounting system to monitor his business income and expenses as well as paying NIS contributions so he could be eligible for pension.

As I proceed to tell him what he should do, three of those present told me I was talking nonsense because “book work” does not run a business. One guy said he was in business for years and benefited without the benefit of an accounting system. Bear in mind, all the millionaire business men employ financial controllers and appoint them to the board of directors of the businesses.

As you rightfully said, they “walk about and try to convince others that they are millionaires rubbing shoulders with “high society” people,” who only tolerate them within a certain social environment.
    These men prefer to spend money in clubs, drinking brandy and receiving lap dances or other sexual favours from scantily dressed Guyanese women. The women take advantage of their generosity and the 2:1 ratio of our currency to the US dollar, by sending foreign exchange to Guyana to invest in taxis, properties and businesses.

Some of these men have their priorities “in reverse.” They live their younger lives as though they are retired, and subsequently have to spend their latter years working sometimes beyond retirement, trying desperately to achieve what they did not when they were young.

35. OOPS – Forgot

The Spanish hotels change will not need a DTA to avoid paying taxes twice, because with the Sandals precedent they won’t be paying income taxes in Barbados for 40 years