The following was submitted to the Facebook Group Bajans Against $700M Waster to Energy Plant by a Mechanical Engineer.
Zero Waste Logo
Zero Waste Barbados Logo

My concerns are the true scale of the project, [โ€ฆ]40MW, 60 MW, 70MW. Peak power demand in Barbados has averaged 125MW – 167MW over the last few years so this is 25 – 40% of the local electricity needs that can be supplied from this plant.

Light and Power has and Integrated Resource Plan where they have indicated a decommissioning schedule for equipment. What happens the day this plant has a failure and what are the contingencies in case that they cannot meet this demand? The document I read indicates that there will be no financial penalties in this regard. This is unacceptable.

What is the government’s plan for energy security in Barbados? Are there steps being taken for one comprehensive energy strategy instead of catching at every available technology that sounds good? Various documents and press releases over the years make mention of a landfill gas to energy and  a smaller conventional waste to energy both part of a 25MW at Mangrove Pond Green Energy Complex, a 25 MW biomass to energy facility at Andrews using bagasse and river tamarind (this facility could also process the same king grass). How many of these plants are actually going to come into fruition or will we be left with some white elephants? Where do the smaller or utility scale traditional (solar/wind) renewable energy projects fit in this scheme?

Biomass and WTE plants are geared towards baseload generation as they don’t have any problems with intermittency as long as there is a constant supply of whatever feedstock is supplying the facility. So these large plants will want to be the preferred electricity suppliers to the grid. At what cost? Is the cost of electricity going to be higher per kwh to consumers that current fossil fuel generation?

EIA and Grid impact studies which the GOB has nobly decided to foot the bill, another poor decision. Cahill was shopping around for somewhere to base this plant why are they not also footing the bill for these studies?

Building capacity and knowledge transfer. Stantec is engaged for the EIA consulting, Hatch Mott McDonald engaged for the engineering consulting, JADA engaged for the construction. Any plans to engage and enlighten local engineers and machine shops who will be left to operate, maintain, fabricate parts for, God forbid they actually go ahead with this plant?

Any plans to ask for an opinion from the local engineering body? I see Engineer Gibbs and Franklin have both published pieces in the media. I know as professionals in a small society that persons may not be keen to voice their opinions, no one wants to be ostracized from getting work, but I think that it would be remiss of BAPE if they did not give some opinion on the matter.

I do not support the construction of a plant this size on an island this small. When it breaks down, because that is inevitable will the spares be on hand or will we have to wait for spares to be flown/shipped in? What happens to the operation then, what happens to the waste? What happens to decommissioned equipment from this plant?

Just a few thoughts which have possibly been shared before. This is no small undertaking and as an engineer I cannot be opposed to innovation and the introduction of new technology but usually it is done after consideration of the risks involved and the best option is usually a mature, commercially proven option not a gamble. The IADB has said in one report that we (Barbados) under

126 responses to “Mechanical Engineer Calls on the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers (BAPE) to Address the Proposed Cahill Waste to Energy Plant”

1. @Alvin

Either you head is hard or you are being deliberately ignorant. Again the big concern of BU can be found in the lack of transparency in the agreement with Cahill. What does pasting information you did address the concern. You may have the last word.

2. Alvin Cummins July 21, 2015 at 10:51 AM # @Kamie,
    โ€œBy the way people must not be given the belief that Cahill is the ONLY energy company either in the construction of Plasma gasification plants or in the waste to energy business.โ€

By the way, Alvin Cummins, people know that Cahill is not an energy company or in the waste to energy business or ever built a Plasma gasification plant. In fact people know they have never built anything.

3. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins
    While it may be true to say that there is no provision at SBRC for recycling after separation, that doesn’t mean there is no recycling.
    Here is a clip from their website which explains the process:
    “The household and commercial waste is ….presorted to remove bulky items and green waste. The remaining waste ….is sent over a sorting conveyor where recoverable material such as plastic bottles and metal cans are removed.
    The green waste …..is ground to produce mulch and the soil and rubble are screened to produce screened soil.
    The recovered recyclable materials include:
    Mulch Products
    Plastic
    Cardboard
    Paper
    Scrap Metal
    Glass
    Secondary processing of these materials is presently undertaken by recyclers.”
    It is then interesting that they go on to say:
    “Additional future recovery of waste and conversion to beneficial products include the…….recovery of energy by combustion of the waste.”
    Clearly the operation was set up to include some form of WTE as an add-on later, presumably for the final residue of waste, not the >100% envisaged now. Why the change of plan? As I said, it can’t be economical to have to buy out the SBRC and close it down. Finally, why burn something like mulch when you can sell it?

4. @Nostradamus

All you have to say is ‘shelf company ‘ read Cahill.

5. I seem to recall that the court case was heard just before Christmas and I thought having read that one of the conditions of bail was a requirement to surrender passports until the next hearing some 4 months away,I thought this was overkill.After all, what is so earth shattering about reporting on an almost everyday event in our co-ed schools.Were these well known citizens a flight risk?These are seasoned,die-in- the-wool Barbadian citizens whose business makes them very exposed to John Public.Why this draconian measure?Was it to ensure that none of them could travel to shop for the coming Xmas season or spend the extended holiday season with friends or relatives.This withdrawal of passports for almost 5 months initially was spiteful and an abuse of power.
    Then there was the frequent court appearances and adjournments.More abuse.This matter hanging over the heads of accused persons is ridiculous.Utter stupidity.Asinine.
    Finally closure.Case dismissed.Oh yea?No way.Back to court and all that entails.People can’t get on with their lives because of a system that permits what looks like harassment

6. @Hants, I hope that everyone who participates in the discussion on the waste to energy discussion v is its the website you posted. It is enlightening and, for one thing, it shows that the present government is thinking far ahead, maybe too far for a number of people.

7. @Gabriel,
    Do you believe in the rule of law, or only when it id convenient?

8. @Nostradamus.
    Stop spreading lies!!! If you go to Yahoo and type in Cahill Energy you would find details on the company (started in 1953) and details of its engineering. Distinguish between Cahill Engineering (Barbados), And Cahiil Engineering.

9. So when one speaks of transparency..Was n,t the govt openly transparent in its initial anouncement to a worlwide public about the initial phase of the construction of the WTE plant which include cost. Or should the fact that Mia has gotten hold of some. speculative half truth misleading information be the transparent vechicle by which all should travel in the name of transparency

10. @ Nostradamus,
    I think there has to be some clarification needed here. Are you talking about Cahill Engineering, Cahill Energy (The company registered in Guernsey) OR CAHILL ENGINEERING,an engineering company, or THE company that is involved in the Plasma Gasification plant.?

11. Boots Cummins
    In the early 70s a former Speaker was spirited away to Guyana/Brazil,for printing lies about 2 members of the BLP.People said at the time that Cammie had a hand in the outcome.Then Cammie and Happy Bryan were accused of printing and distributing pamphlets of lies and half truths in the late 70s.Then Harold say the Dems send two goons to his Cathedral to shoot him for a sermon he preached headlined Mene,mene,tekel upharsin.Then the young democrats were spreading lies about the private life of Tom.An idiot showed me a doctored photograph as proof.In the late 80s,David Thompson went about St John holding up a piece of paper saying he got a development plan for St John.Lies.Up to this day,if Christopher Codrington come back,the only thing he would ask to be enlightened upon is the huge satellite dish at Congor Bay.Then before the said David was gathered unto his fathers,he told the good people of Barbados he would neither lie,cheat nor steal.Then bruggadung.The Clico shoitte hit the fan.Lies and more lies.Then Stuart comes and tells the electorate he witness vote buying/selling and everybody thought he as PM would deal with it.Not up to this day .He say,no privatization.He say,not one public servant going lose their work.New hospital.New berthing facility.Lies and lies
    Boots Cummins,you doddering old duffer,why don’t you go back to bed.Around here it’s not the rule of law,it’s the rule of lies,half truths,a corrupt political class led by the ever lying and Dangerous Dems.

12. This project is pure and simple an energy project that is dressed up and masquerades as a waste management/ waste disposal project. Sure enough 50% of the feedstock/fuel comes from MSW, but 93% of the revenues are generated from the sale of electricity. And the electricity is not cheap either. It is perhaps the most costly base load energy anywhere in the world. It displaces LSD base load currently at a variable cost of 18 cents per kWh with base load from WtE at a cost of 45 cents per kWh. If this were a garbage disposal project, then the burden should have been placed more on tipping fees and less on electricity rates. Ratepayers now have to endure Bds$100 million in additional costs as a result. Cahill on the other hand makes a daily revenue of U.S26,000, daily profits of U.S$184,000 and a ROI of close to 30 per cent.

By the way, people sometimes confuse me with the other Tony Gibbs and as a result many of my comments on energy are attributed to him. He is a civil engineer, I am not.

13. @Tony Kite Gibbs

Thanks but you are way ahead of the game. We need to address EIS and transparency issues FIRST!

14. This is a good link to inform the ignorant thanks to the Group Facebook Page: http://www.phr4mwr.ca/dr-blecher-presentation/

15. every thing cost but when one think of the energy cost per kwh per house hold and so far no end in sight as the cost of oil escalates the price difference in garbage would all worth the spend in helping to keep energy cost down , so this analogy brought to table as another form of fear placing a black eye against the WTE plant does not wash ,

16. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, actually when you think about it in detail Kite Gibbs’ comment may not be really that ‘way ahead of the game’ because at the core what are the justifications for the project? One is energy.

I agree with you that of course an EIS is crucial, but Gibbs’ analysis begs the question about purpose and intent.

Naturally the project is first and foremost about waste management but as he suggested if that is the pure play then its reasonable that would be the core cost/income driver.

The energy production appears to be a key factor and based on the cost that is noted in the reports and the fact that government has contracted to purchase all energy produced then one can also reasonably conclude that this aspect is also a core revenue driver and a foundation component for the project.

But the energy costs are so high and critics have identified issues with tying it to the BL&P grid also.

So yes we can’t get there before we even conclude the key first steps but if that is also a key motivator and is shown to be another sham dream then on what foundation does this project proposal really stand other than a shaky sand of corruption.

17. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

AC, really. Is your energy analysis even rational! If you do some processing you would understand that on the available evidence that energy angle appears very tenuous.

Apart from the very high costs as compared to current BL&P $$/KWh we are faced with the possible return of Iran to worldwide oil production. Maybe they will, maybe not but one still needs to add the matter of shale production in the US.

In simple terms, there is a good likelihood that oil prices will stay stagnant for some years yet so your argument of this high cost WTE inclusion to the BL&P grid has not yet been show to be a cost effective benefit to the island.

18. @Dee Word

is your hobby of late breaking moon rock?

19. well sir that is your opinion based on speculation but i will bet you that cost wise the oil would continue to surge forward as the world economy becomes less expands and unemployment returns to a substantial level . Travel becomes more frequent via sea land and air plus as global warmer contributes to hotter temperatures world wide and people prefer comfort over discomfort all of which will be a major player in forcing energy prices to reach once again higher levels, these and other factors need to be brought into the equation in making the choices govt have tp make in terms of seeking preventive measures to tackle high energy cost.
    BTW one cause of lower oil prices is a stagnated economy which has lead to a glut of oil on the world market, but it is shortsighted to believe that the oil barons would not make up for the losses as the world economy rebounds and all indicators that contribute to energy cost are in full gear.

20. As long as the Sun continues to shine and the wind continues to blow it is my layman’s opinion that those are the two best sources of energy for Barbados.

I don’t have a University degree.

21. A new World Bank study projects a 70% global increase in urban solid wasteโ€ฆ from 1.3 billion tonnes per year today to 2.2 billion tonnes per year by 2025

World Bank, 2012

Waste to Energy helps turn a waste management problem into an energy generating solution

US Environmental Protection Agency

Advanced gasification has a key role to play in delivering renewable energy

Nick Clegg
    Deputy Prime Minister, UK

No landfill, electricity from free fuelโ€ฆ why donโ€™t we do this everywhere?
    Forbes Magazine

22. Oil prices end higher for first time in 5 sessions

Oil prices staged a rebound Tuesday, following a four-session decline, with prices for the August West Texas Intermediate crude contract settling above the key $50-a-barrel level.

De word ! we all would love to live on easy street , but that never happens in the financial world

23. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Hants, neither does Gov Scott Walker. But he beat back big time union pressure to break labor contracts in his state, and has been a magufffy in the state of Wisconsin ever since…and then parlayed that to be now the leading man for the US Presidency as a Republican.

So…what is it you are saying again (tongue in cheek or otherwise) re that piece of University certification!!!!

And to take that one step further…can you imagine gong from a Rhodes Scholar, to a Yale/Harvard and now a Columbia/Harvard man to an unlettered man. Oh my gawd, how scandalous. There would be an immediate fall in university enrollment if he won. LOLL.

And David, as usual your cryptic, short comments defeat me…a bit lost with your “breaking moon rock” reference.

But there was a cool comment today from an English professor in response to some conspiracy theorists who do not believe that the US landed on the moon, he said: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – if you don’t think Apollo 11 landed on Moon you are a colossal nob end & should get a new brain”

So hope you are not telling me too that recently I need a new brain. LOL. I actually may agree with you; this old one needs a reboot.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

David’s [BU] reference to moon rock is not to denigrate you but rather to reference your perennial kindness to the “rock”, moon rocks or kryptonite that abound on the site and whom you, of late, have taken to discoursing with and responding to.

I can see it now that you are at that parenting stage where because of your daily need with your children, you find it necessary to speak to the ingrunt and slow of brain, as you would with your child.

Cretinism IS NOT something that you can reason with and is at variance with training the young mind of a child who, with time, will come to understand the instruction.

You can no more instruct the donkey nor its similarly sounding partner than you can try to land the Jolly Roger at Grantley Adams International Airport.

25. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

AC, I love it when you attempt to go all Artaxerxes with research and facts and ting. Problem Messrs, is that whereas the real Artax provides deep analysis along with his notes you are pasting facts without the relevant proper analysis.

So I truly applaud your details above in an attempt to be serious on your commentary.

However, citing the rebound in oil prices now does not say much about what’s happening so let’s agree on this: waste to energy is vitally important and we need to ensure that your party leaders use better judgement and absolute transparency with us Bajans as they decide which is the best option for our island.

The price of oil will change many times in the next few years so the current price now is really quite irrelevant but we have one chance now to get it right with this monstrous $700M project.

So please analyse that!

26. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Oh good lawd, Pieces am I that transparent re your ‘I can see it now that you are at that parenting stage where because of your daily need with your children”.

Good gracious me! Looka I gotta watch you again carefully, yuh! LOLL.

OK, I get the drift den. So I dun wid that. I’ll leave them to Artax.

27. @Dee Word

Let us make it simple for you. We have a link above of an interview by Tony Kite Gibbs, an engineer, and instead of challenging his dispassionate analysis we have JAs scouring the Internet to post info not relevant to Barbados. How can you compare the deployment of smaller gasification plants when compared to the Cahill plant located in large and sometimes temperate land masses. And to boot none are commercially viable.

28. @ de Ingrunt Word,

I just wanted to be clear about my level of formal education. I am not an expert in anything except maybe …..fishing.

29. @ Pieceuhderock,

David put some medication on the Sports page for us old fellas. You can check it out but doan let de wife catch yuh. Serena….lol

30. Dee word just accept the facts and stop being a dic.Facts are hard to argue

31. I am certain a 100 % renewable energy hybrid system with less risk can be found where international financier is willing to pay a 2 % commission

32. Is anyone thinking about the landfill? Is anybody thinking about disposal of the tyres; car, truck, SUV, tractor? Does anyone remember we had a serious fire recently with car tyres at Mangrove,AKA. Mt Stinkeroo? What is the proposed solution? Anyone?

33. The solution for the tyres Alvin is that Paul Bynoe has a piece of equipment capable of shredding tyres and used as raw material to build toads.

34. Dee Word
    The current leader among Republican candidates for Presidency of the USA is NOT Scott Walker but ….Donald Trump!!

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants July 21, 2015 at 6:03 PM #

I donโ€™t have a University degree.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Check with Cinty Forde, she was dishing some at the BLP mass meeting outside Tyrol Cot ,a few Sunday nights ago.

By the way a fellow on the block told me that when Mr Stuart , retires he could name his home Tyrant Cot.

36. @ Colonel Buggy,

I have great respect for people who have the discipline to study and get a university degree.

37. Kammie Holder where you found that fraud Professor Connett from?

Fooling people about the danger of WTE plants.

38. David,
    The shredded tyres will still have to be put in a landfill. Where would this “new” landfill be located? Even if they are buried, it has been shown that landfills still give off dangerous chemicals and material still leach into the soil. In other words, all over the world, and even in places with enough space that Barbados could fit into many times, they are becoming obsolete, and great efforts are made to find alternatives. You obviously have not read the “articles” I posted. Too much information I guess.

39. Fractured BLP July 21, 2015 at 10:48 PM #

โ€œKammie Holder where you found that fraud Professor Connett from?โ€

Perhaps the same place you found that fraudulent โ€œdoctorโ€ among you.

40. I have noticed the protagonist of the WTE plant have been โ€œcopy and pastingโ€ extracts from articles and posting them to BU in an effort to justify their support for the government and the decision to proceed with the plant.

However, they seem to be missing one important factor in this scenario, which is TRANSPARENCY.

Additionally, I also noticed that supporters have been referring to WTE plants in countries that are by far larger than Barbados, where such plants may be constructed in isolated areas, and any harmful effects to the population and environment could be adequately controlled.

Perhaps these supporters could address the issue of transparency and confine their research to WTE plants in countries or islands with the size and economy (or there about) similar to that of Barbados, the effects those plants had on the environment, the long-term economic viability and cost benefit analysis report.

Posting information would not be enough; they need to explain the information within the Barbadian context as well.

It would not be surprising if the government decided NOT to proceed with the plant, those same individuals who are now supporting the government, would obviously not only CEASE TO SUPPORT THE PROJECT, but would โ€œcopy and pasteโ€ to BU, articles with information relative to why a WTE plant is NOT the ideal project for Barbados.

Essentially, these individuals have no formal training in WTE plants and have not done any EXTENSIVE research. It’s all about pushing the DLP’s agenda.

41. Dear Alvin, I respect your opinions however its clear your argument pro PG suitability for Barbados are not well researched. PAUL BYNOE WILL USE THE SHREDDED TIRE WHICH IS TIRE CRUMB FOR ROAD BUILDING, BIODIESEL FROM THE TIRES AND WIRE WOULD BE EXPORTED

42. Shiite man Kammie….Just say what you have to.. and stop responding to ACs…

Wunna is real jokes in truth…
    Wunna actually in serious discussion with a bunch of j(AC)kasses …?

Give Bushie a break!

When it comes to ACkasses
    that know not, and know not that they know not..
    It is wise to
    avoid serious discussions with them,
    least you be judged as a bird of a feather.

After what alvin went through recently, we can forgive him for being screwed up.
    But the original ACkass has no one to blame but herself for wearing undersized underwear….
    …and squeezing all the shiite up by her brain.

43. Alvin so far despite access to the Internet has not been able to differentiate between Cahill Energy, Cahill Energy Barbados. Cahill Canada etc.

44. @ David
    Yuh hear the man head mash up!!
    alvin is now about as coherent as the chipmunk by the same name….
    He beat the cancer….but he can’t escape the ‘AC’…

45. @bush shit alias deputy dawg. Pity the fool uh ole scroundel what a shit head when in many of your earlier contributions going back to when the idea of WTE plant was talked about for barbados you took to task those who said that such an idea was garbage. If any one has shit stuck in their underwear unquestionably it got to be u.you two faced hypocrite

46. @David,
    I know the difference between Cahill Energy, Cahill Engineering and Cahill Energy (Barbados), but it obvious from the replies given to my contributions by people like Bushie, Artra and other negative nabobs; who only know how to try to denigrate others, DO NOT know the differences.
    Why is it that now that the leader of the opposition suddenly realized that there is a difference that you and all her supporters are supporting her and calling for TRANSPARENCY? I already drew your attention to the ceremony that was held at Vaucluse over TWO YEARS ago, when the latest landfill cell was opened; you can check the plaque on the grounds at the entrance to it, NO one in your party raised any of the issues now being raised? They had a town hall meeting and representatives of Cahill, Sanitation Services, the minister the PS, and other officials were in attendance.What happened in the period between then and now?

Artra, are you sure I am a “protagonist of”in the WTE debate? I am a Bajan whichever side I am on and I will always give my honest opinion, regardless, I don’t have to be on any particular side. But the old(er) people haD IT RIGHT “DO SO DON’T LIKE SO”. YOU ALL WANT TO SUPPORT YOUR SIDE COME HELL OR HIGH WATER, BUT CUSS OTHERS WHO SUPPORT THEIR SIDE WITH EQUAL ZEAL, and are able to counteract your opinions.
    You can’t stand on one foot all the time.

When you are wrong you are wrong, admit it. When your opinions are flawed accept it and admit it.I don’t have to justify cutting an
    d pasting, that is just to show up those who admitted ignorance of the process of plasma gas WTE processes, the benefits and flaws, etc.

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Kammie Holder, Re. your 3:40 am post, that is extremely bad news.

I was hoping it was powder when one could, even somewhat improbably, dismiss it as a stupid prank. Now it is criminal.

We need to know the identity of the pesticide, whether it was the neat active ingredient or a diluted formulation, the toxicity of the chemical, etc. to drill down on the extent of the criminality.

But it looks bad.

The fact that it was a pesticide points inexorably to the likelihood that it was a malicious act geared to forcibly sending a message to Mia Mottley and not a false flag operation.

Stuart and his followers need to publicly call off their dogs and let the police do their work. But why do I think that is going to be an uphill battle since we have not even had him do anything about the vote buying which he observed in the last elections or pursue the alleged people who threatened the life of Sinckler?

48. @Alvin

The government has never held a Town Hall meeting to share on the Cahill issue. If you mean the Open House that was under the aegis of Cahill read the shelf company registered in Guernsey.