Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

Anything that is going to negatively affect this country and further push it into the mire, whether it be the government, unions, outside forces or our very own masses, I will speak out against these or any atrocious acts as it is my duty as a Barbadian to enlighten the masses of such damaging acts.

[…]

The NUPW in this case is wrong in stating that the striking Sanitation Workers should be paid for their time off from work. It is the union that called the workers to strike and therefore, they are the ones that should be paying the workers for the time off that they did not work.

There are two issues which are wrong here, one is that the striking workers should not have been on the compound during the strike as it was a union strike initiated by the union and not the business, and secondly, it is the union that should be paying the workers for the time spent off from work during the strike.

The country had to suffer the indignity of not having their garbage collected during the strike, no fault of theirs and therefore should not as taxpayers have to pay the striking workers salaries. The union should be in a position, that if it is going to call its members to go on strike, that they should be in a position to pay the strikers salaries as that is what part of their union dues is supposed to cover. It is grossly unfair for the taxpayers not to have their garbage collected and have to pay the striking workers too.

212 responses to “Wrong Move, NUPW Should Pay Striking Workers”

1. Bookworm,

You and I have unfinished business on another thread.

2. @ac July 20, 2015 at 6:26 AM #

‘No discrimination’

“The BIDC relied on Section Eight of the Statutory Board Pensions Act to ask workers over the age of 60 to retire as part of the reorganization of that corporation [and not] as we have been told that Section Eight of the Statutory Board Pensions Act was being wrongly interpreted by the BIDC and are even been told that even if it is not being wrongly interpreted, the fact that it gives the Board the power to ask people to retire if or when they reach the age of 60, means that the legislation should be repealed or that part of the legislation should be repealed because it is a discrimination against persons who are 60 years old or over.”
    The Prime Minister stated that if one were led to believe that this was the case, then persons under the age of 18 could also fairly argue that the law discriminates against them because they are not old enough to vote, those over 66 can say that the law discriminates against them because they have to retire even if they want to continue to work and those under the age of 16 can say that they law discriminates against them because they are too young to go for their driver’s licence, explained Stuart.

…………………………………………………………

You know it would pay this ignorant jackass we have for a PM to keep his mouth shut. Every time he opens it, he offends the people of Barbados.

He is condescending and offensive and he does not come over as all this intelligent that dems portray him to be.

ac, tell the PM to do us a favour and act on what he is purporting and want to impose on Barbadians, impose the same rule on himself………. RETIRE……..he is past retirement age as well.

Does the PM know what a hypocrite he looks like trying to justify his inept incompetent government decisions? PM, you are nearly 65……..do Barbados a favour and go home. You are serving no purpose only destroying Barbados every day!

PM……….retire now and make Barbados happy!

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You wrote: ” To hear Caswell is fighting for appointments and the others something different is worrying.”

As a trade unionist, I am not the boss or dictator of the workers who join the union. I am their agent and as such, I am required to follow their instructions. Their instructions are that I should seek to get the government to fill the post that are being kept vacant contrary to the Public Service Act; and that they are not interested in joining any BRA.

It is also my duty to guide them. If their instructions to me were unreasonable, it would be my duty to point that out. It is not my duty to substitute my wishes for their instructions.

4. @Caswell

Didn’t the prime minister in his public utterance yesterday suggest many of the Customs Officers are clerical officers and stand a better chance of being appointment st the BRA?

5. Why these Johnny Burgers DONT Just UP and RESIGN the Government. Piss Poor Government I dare say. These fellows worse than SANDI………………………………..

6. Caswell’s mouthings reflect the philosophy of the anarchists of the 20th and 19th centuries. For him there is never an end to turmoil in industrial relations. The society must remain in a permanent state of flux and upheaval. If the customs officers don’t want to transfer over to BRA sign the option form to indicate that. The officers who wish to transfer will do likewise. How can something as straightforward as that lead to a strike at the ports that could cripple the economy. Caswell and the customs officers are challenging the basic common sense of the ordinary citizen. Is there a hidden agenda in this simple matter of choice.

7. Caswell is challenging a government whose record has bee less than transparent. The lies and deceit has brought us to a position of deep distrust.

8. This is interesting. Retire at age 55.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70108/stuart-law

9. David

I haven’t read neither have I heard of any government throughout the course of human history that have had a pure record of transparency. What forced a government to be more transparent in its dealings are those effective checks and balances brother. And if the opposition does not find is necessary to demand that the ruling government be more open in its dealings, why should it care any?

10. The Ugly Man ( no i not meaning Grynner)pun the people TV with all his finger jucking and shouting like somebody and he quarrelling.He forget that Buhbaydus is a signatory to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.Discrimination on account of age is contrary to the fundamental rights of the individual.The UM can talk crap but none other than blind foot soldiers of the DLP are taken in by his effluent of crap in crap out.
    We miss people like Oliver Jackman who would set the UM right and think nothing of it.

11. Fractured BLP Avatar

It is now official

After direct opposition have been taken by the evangenical community against same sex unions

Mia Mottley and Jerome Walcott (not sure why these two chose to speak on the issue) declared publicly for the first time, yesterday, that they are NOT oppose to same sex unions.

And that support for same sex unions will for the main plank of the BLP platform strategy.

There you have it folks !!!

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Donna

You wrote: “Is Caswell fighting for appointments. I believe he said that due to the CCJ ruling the benefits of being appointed had evaporated?”

You are taking me out of context. According to the decision in the Winton Campbell Case, if an appointed officer is sent home he/she would have to wait for their sixtieth birthday before they could get compensation. On the other hand, if the officer is temporary and has less than ten years pensionable service, that person would be entitled to receive their compensation immediately.

13. So much gloom and doom wow…is there nothing positive in this island?

14. @ Jennifer
    …is there nothing positive in this island?
    There COULD be….
    If someone would just remind Froon that you CANNOT be Ugly …AND unmannerly at the same time….

15. Bush Tea

Boss, I have read your list of accomplishments and I must say unequivocally and categorically, that I am more than impressed sir. (lol )I have never met a man of your sort; a man who has all of the answers to all of the questions all of the time. what a diamond in rough David. You ought to be more than grateful to have this rare diamond which shines of its own light in your midst.

16. Gabriel, so we should assume that de girls does bee breaken down yah door den. You must bee de handsome Romeo round and bout Barbados horning men left and rite tah get on social media and call a legitimately elected leader of sovereign state ugly. It is atrocious and egregious conduct on your part to resort to this sort of gutter-language because you do not fully agree with what the prime minister is doing with the country. shame you Gabriel. You beginning to make Bush Tea look more saintly now.

17. How can a country be positive with a fractious IR climate and an island sinking caused by the weight of garbage? If you have to make decisions collaborate with the dang stakeholders and do it!

JAs

18. @bushie
    Take a bow. Uh love it!

On the same note can you be pretty and polite at the same time?

Just observing

19. Read a comment on the Nation about Dale Carnegie courses for the PM . ROTFLMAO.
    The esteemed (sic) PM has shown his true character & it ain’t pretty.
    A politician lacking interpersonal skills or feigned empathy could only exist in Buhbaydoss. You can buy an election but you can’t hide incompetence & bufoonery of the highest order.
    Inertia combined with callous indifference is the new wine offered by these “wild boys”.
    Eager Eleven just finish the job you started! The National Interest should be paramount in these troubling times.

20. It is the National Interest to keep a self serving , self promoting megalomaniac opposition leader and her band of recycled misfits and pretenders as far away from Bay Street as possible.

Her former boss Owen is warning Barbados.

21. Helen

I welcome your facile comments regarding our prime minister; such comments supplies the much needed counterbalance which fuels our democracy. But in alluding to that fact, there is one thing which you have mentioned and of which I must take affront to: your comment regarding the buying of the election does not paint a pretty picture of the Barbadian electorate. It seems in my view, to suggest that the Barbadian electorate has bartered away its most fundamental of all rights for a few dollars. And I cannot accept that as a basis of fact because I know that the Barbadian people are much more bigger and better than that. So try something a little more convincing and perhaps this time I might just take the bait.

22. I marvel at the audacious impudicity of some people and what their would say to appease their ego.

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

As Fumble would say, absorbuit aliquis uti glossarium.

24. Caswell mouthing is a reflection of his own life, uh ever hear misery loves company so whenever yuh hear Caswell criticism that is what he has heard about himself from a toddler to now an adult, Nobody on this God giving earth could be so contrary well except Caswell .

25. David

Didn’t the prime minister in his public utterance yesterday suggest many of the Customs Officers are clerical officers and stand a better chance of being appointment st the BRA?

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””The above comment was directed to Caswell which he so far have ignored

But yes the PM did make that statement,

Personally i think it is time for the PM to bring out the weed whacker start separating the weeds from the sprouts , there seems to be too much unbridled jas..as left alone and out to pasture behaving like steel donkeys

26. The dems are desperate………their mouthings, their actions and reactions, their sycophants’ behaviour on BU tell you that they are in panic mode and up the creek without a rudder.

27. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

PRODIGAL,the only desperrados i know of are those who concoct schemes like the burning of offices,and the white powder saga to gain public support and we know who are the chief cooks and bottle washers in the scheme of things, the next thing i am looking for is a serious disturbance at one of these spontaneous political meetings,i do not put anything past those who are involved in these well calculated hoaxes,which are calculated and intended to create a particular effect,what i have said may seem far fetched but i am seeing where certain behaviors are headed,i hope it does not happen but i will not be surprised if it does.

28. It’s amazing that the NUPW is demanding the option forms be withdrawn from Customs, when no such stance was taken for workers in the Treasury, Licensing etc.

It’s amazing that the NUPW is now demanding in writing a clear withdrawal of the BIDC letters to EACH of the employees, after proclaiming victory.

It’s amazing that Toni Moore has gone silent

It’s amazing that two unions fighting for two different issues while ignoring each others’ very valid and relevant issue in the same department.

It’s amazing that everybody can quote law, but no one wants to test their position in court.

It’s amazing that Cedric Murrell and Dennis Depeiza fight to get to Switzerland, but can’t unpick dem teeth in these matters.

It’s amazing that Sanitation was used to drive home a message. Now they’ve been told to drive home without pay and 6our times the usual amount of garbage to collect.

Madness is doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting different results.

Just observing

29. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

By the way Caswell, to your response to my post where you said that like me most Barbadians do not know the mechanics of the unions operations, and you pointed out such, well caswell we all know that was and how it is supposed be, but it is clear that there has been a bold and maybe reckless deviation from the norms,so i wish you luck in trying to convince me and many others.

30. LOL @ Observing
    Wuh boss, Bushie was not aware that you had studied the butterfly effect.

31. Bush Tea

There is nothing positive in this island says Bushie. And I beg to defer because as long as there is hope, there is a possibility of change within current state of affairs.

Now, this is the sort of man we expect impressionable young Barbadians in this difficult period in our country’s history to look to for directionality and some sense of hope. The same kind of hope those Jewish parents gave to their young children, while locked far away from an unknowing world in heart of the Nazi Concentration Camps during the Second World War. Bushie, do you not know that we as a human species have to hope against hope irrespective of how dire the circumstances maybe at the present, or else we cease to exist as a human race? Do you not know that it was the resilience of the human spirit that brought the Free World through the Great Depression? Do you not know that it was the resilience of the human spirit that brought the allies victory during World War Two? Do you not know that it was resilience of the human spirit that brought us through the recent Worldwide Economic Meltdown? And it will be the same resilience of the human spirit that will bring the Barbadian people through this present economic turmoil. I do believe because I have the record of history as a witness. Nevertheless, it is that hope which the Sacred Text calls vision that has and continues to be the lighting rod which drives man beyond his fears of an uncertain future to the light of a brighter one. And finally, as FDR said during those hopeless and uncertain years:” The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” Now, Bushie, start peddling, parroting and spewing your hope to those whose memories are yet green and haven’t the recall as you do to know that a better tomorrow is just around the corner.

32. Caswell,

Just asking. So what exactly would be the benefits of being appointed?

33. LT.Horatio u just said a mouthful and boy it is the truth

34. I must confess that Caswell had my friend in a tizzy when he read the article in the Sunday Sun that it was better to be temporary than be an appointed civil servant. He was awaiting an interview for an appointed position.

I find it strange that the temporary Custom officers want to be appointed now.
    If they do not want to go to BRA why not sign no and go some place else. The business sector loves some Custom officers so they are signing to continue to reap the sweets. The problem is the go slow is sending the economy backwards. Then again it seems most of the BLP persons on this blog want it to crash and elections call, so the more persons strike the better for them.

If the economy crash and a new government comes in, the first statement from the new Prime Minister would be that the treasury broke and more cuts have to be carried out.The unions would lose many members because they would be laid off. So who wins by striking in these harsh economic conditions.
    Just remember we are a non productive country with heads in the sand that we this educated.
    We lived on borrowed money for too long. We were told by one of our heroes that we had Champaign taste with mauby pockets. So true up to this day

35. @Wayne Cadogan “The NUPW in this case is wrong in stating that the striking Sanitation Workers should be paid for their time off from work. It is the union that called the workers to strike and therefore, they are the ones that should be paying the workers for the time off that they did not work.

You are wrong Wayne.

Whether or not the workers were in strike they have since collected all the garbage that piled up when they were out. So if the job is done, the Sanitation Service Authority should certainly pay these decent hard working men.

On the day the strike was called my garbage was picked up. On the day the strike ended my garbage was picked up. Today at 5:13 p.m. today my garbage was picked up.

And “No” I don’t live in a posh neighbourhood.

And “Yes” I live in an “opposition” constituency.

36. @SImple
    buh wait bohsie.

I live in a posh neighborhood wid a DLP MP and I still see 7 big bags of garbage in front mine and all me neighbours’ houses.

Wha’ you telling me at all though??? Wha’ job done what?

Jus’ observing…wid muh Bajan twang fuh emfasis

37. Simple Simon the earthquakes got your head dizzy the stinking piles of rotting garbage cover the entire island. Take a drive in the Black Rock ,Grazettes, Harbour Road and its environs there is more garbage than Cahill can use. On the news a number was given to call SSA if you see piles of garbage. My household laughed their asses off when they heard the announcement. My wife plans to call SSA tomorrow to suggest they look outside their Wildey office window. There is garbage everywhere and its getting worse. A garbage truck has not been my area for weeks . The garbage situation is beyond awful its shocking and frightening. Crop Over will make the garbage plight worse if that is possible.

38. @Bajanfuhlife July 20, 2015 at 4:57 PM “Her former boss Owen is warning Barbados.”

Ah!!! nabady ain’t minding Owing “sourgrapes” After.

39. The counterbalance against an unreasonable union.

The government whether BLP or DLP ought and must be proactive next time around and formulate some kind of contingency plan to counter the union unreasonable concessions or else their will continue to be held hostage by the Union which care little of the better good and national interest of the country, and more about its own self-serving agenda in these difficult times. Now, Bushie, may ask: what contingency plan this nincompoop of the highest intelligence is talking about? And my counter to his inattentional blindness would be: I have witnessed the state government who at one point held out against union concessions for almost two months because it had had a pretty good contingency plan in place on the heels of our strike, and it almost broke the collective-will of the union. Lucky for us (because we were begun to lose all hope a month into the strike) we had had a union president who was skilled at summoning the collective on the union membership daily, during those trying times which tested the very resolve of the union some three decades ago.

40. And by the way, the governor’s strategy at that time was to break the back of the union, which he almost succeeded in doing I may add.

41. Simple Simon

As I have stated above: government will continue to allow the union hold it at gun point if it refuses to put a contingency plan in place to counter the union’s actions.

42. It may be interesting for those people who accuse the Opposition of continuing their political campaign meetings after the 2013 general elections to note that the DLP, prior to 2008 when they formed the Opposition, were holding campaign meetings prior to the 2008 elections.

PLEASE NOTE: The following information was taken from the “Daily Nation” at a time when that media house was considered by the BLP, as the “mouth piece” of the DLP, while the “Barbados Advocate” was described as the “public relations arm” of the BLP. I guess some may say these papers exchanged roles.
    So, AC and company, you have no need to question the authenticity of the article. (Perhaps during those years, “NationBLPNewspaper would may been known as “NationDLPNewspaper).

According to an article on page 22 of the Tuesday, November 28, 2006 edition of the “Daily Nation”, the DLP held a public meeting in Gall Hill, St. John, on Sunday, November 25, 2006.

Michael Lashley informed the gathering that “Trade Unions should have a legal right to automatic recognition as the bargaining agent for pay and other conditions of employment in every workplace.”

Lashley was also reported to have said, “It is my view that we must have legislation in place so that there must be a mandatory recognition of trade unions in this country representing workers.”
    Automatic recognition of unions “should be a precept” on which the DLP approached industrial relations, Lashley added.

“We amended the Trade Union Act to allow peaceful picketing by workers in this country so they could demonstrate their rights.”

Fortunately, many Barbadians have come to realize that Opposition “campaign talk” changes as soon as they achieve the reigns of government.

43. ***Perhaps during those years, “NationBLPNewspaper may have been known as “NationDLPNewspaper.

44. So far i have not heard the govt say that they are implementing any form of legislation action to out law Unions but as usual the blp spin doctors would take away from the PM comments such a conclusion. far from such a conclusion the PM comments weighed in on the methods of differing tactics and action wherby the cart was being put before the horse .Never in the history. of modern day labour movement has any reputable Union called on Strike action before activating. resolution by means of bargaining Never !Never! the kind of response by the Unions was the catalyst which gave cause for the PM response. Not the other way around.

45. “I have never met a man so ignorant that I couldn’t learn something from him.” [Galileo Galilei]

Some people are obsessed with trying to prove Galileo wrong.

46. The Barbados economy depends on Tourism for 60% of GDP.

Your best clients have to wait in in sweltering heat before driving through your garbage dump of an island.( yes I am exaggerating because I am piissed off )

This is happening because of the educated brassbowls who refuse to put Barbados first.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/21/move-on-4/

47. @Hants

You should be more passed off if you consider the tourists entering for the season have to spend hours clearing customs.

48. Once again mark my word.Don’t mess with Customs Officers nor Customs Guards.Whereas it can be seen by all but the blind that the Police Service is compromised by political interference,not so Customs and Excise,Therein resides some of the best thinkers in this country.I have met Customs Guards who know the Laws of their Division better than some overseeing officials.Further,they are not intimidated by politicians,so called, of all people.

49. @David that is why I posted the BarbadosToday link showing the crowded line up at customs.

50. St George's Dragon Avatar

Can someone explain to me how the Development Bank of Latin America (CAF) loan works that is all over the press today?
    The reports say the Government has signed up for a US$50 million loan “to enable the island to fund the shares in CAF and create additional financing options”.
    The initial news about CAF was in September last year when there was an announcement that Barbados had become a US$50 million shareholder in CAF.
    It looks to me as though the loan in the papers today is to enable Barbados to buy the shares that were announced last year. The reason for being a shareholder is to be able to take out more loans.
    So much for the country’s debts being too high. It looks as though this loan is simply to enable us to access further loans.