Walter Blackman
Submitted by Walter Blackman

Generally speaking, over the past 35 years, the political class has taken full advantage of a trusting, docile electorate. With no effective checks and balances in place, both political parties have routinely accused each other of using taxpayersโ€™ money to fund deals, bribes, foreign bank accounts,

and kickbacks, and to create multi-millionaires out of a few handpicked people. Most of the islandโ€™s newest multi-millionaires can show no work, and can demonstrate no application of a set of skills to justify the accumulation of their recently acquired wealth.

[โ€ฆ]

Specifically, over the past 7 years, the David Thompson/Freundel Stuart administration and its advisors have exhibited a glaring inability to understand the economic and financial problems confronting the country. Since the government doesnโ€™t understand the problem, it can never formulate an effective solution. Thus, Barbadians are beginning to feel the effects and hardships of an IMF imposed โ€œhomegrownโ€ solution that must now be implemented by a reluctant, kicking, and screaming government.

Incompetence, arrogance, greed, insensitivity, ignorance, and disrespect for our laws and national reputation, on the part of the political class, have resulted in tremendous stress being exerted on a significant number of households in Barbados. After a prolonged period of economic and financial mismanagement created by the political class and their cronies, who do you think must suffer and pay the price in order to stabilize the economy? The workers of Barbados and their families must, of course.

Workers now have to grapple with the problems of small or no salary increases, high tax rates, unsafe and life-threatening forms of public transportation, rising costs of basic necessities, high personal and national debt burdens, and unfair and discriminatory hiring and firing practices at the workplace. Those workers born between 1951 and 1955 have now been earmarked, by government practice, for forced dismissal. Most government workers havenโ€™t realized it yet, but there is a very high probability that both their government and NIS pension cheques will be repeatedly cut after they retire.

Investors and businessmen have to contend with the high costs of doing business, limited investment opportunities, frustrating โ€œred tapeโ€, the negative fallout of being domiciled in a country whose international credit rating has plummeted to junk status, uncertainty, and a lack of confidence brought on by a Prime Minister who has exhibited very poor leadership qualities to date, and a Minister of Finance who does not understand how a decimal point works. Additionally, bribes and kickbacks, paid by โ€œshrewdโ€ and unscrupulous businessmen to secure major contracts, continue to put honest and hardworking entrepreneurs at a great competitive disadvantage.

Property owners have been hammered with increased property taxes.

Young, intelligent, ambitious, but poor Barbadian minds cannot find jobs in a stagnant economy and they cannot afford to pay the mandatory university fees. Certainly, the devil will eventually find work for their idle hands to do.

If we put the performance of the Government of Barbados over the past 7 years under the microscope for just a couple of seconds, a few facts will be immediately revealed by simply following the money.

After inheriting a massive debt problem, thanks in most part to the Owen Arthur administration, the David Thompson/Freundel Stuart administration made a bad situation worse by borrowing whatever international currency it could get its hands on. Very little, if any, of the billions of dollars borrowed and spent from 2008 โ€“ 2015 contributed to the development of the country or the creation of sustainable jobs for its people. The countryโ€™s international credit card has now been maxed out and its international bonds have been relegated to junk status.

At the domestic level, the David Thompson/Freundel Stuart administration has displayed a similar insatiable thirst for money. Despite the fact that the actuary had repeatedly, albeit in vain, called on the Owen Arthur administration to control and reduce the level of NIS loans to government, the David Thompson/Freundel Stuart administration made a bad situation worse by continuing to treat NIS funds as a major source of government financing.

Who will suffer most when NIS funds eventually run dry? The workers of Barbados and their families will, of course

Now that the administration has had its feast and has left a skeletal NIS fund in its wake, it has now shifted its gaze upon the cash being held by the citizens of Barbados. Millions of dollars have been recently hauled in from citizens and have already been spent. There is a high probability that these trusting domestic investors will be literally โ€œleft holding the bagโ€ of junk Barbados savings bonds.

Who will ultimately pay for this disastrous level of national debt? The workers of Barbados and their families will, of course

Now let us look at the behavior of the David Thompson/Freundel Stuart administration when it comes to giving out lucrative government contracts and investment opportunities. Not surprisingly, most of the major contracts and investment opportunities are handed out on a platter to handpicked foreigners. Some of these foreigners are nothing more than financial vampires constantly in search of third-world victims. The remaining contracts are then handed out to a few handpicked local businessmen. Typically, these contracts generate massive cost over-runs.

Who benefit from the allocation of lucrative contracts by the political class? The workers of Barbados and their families donโ€™t, of course.

Who will ultimately pay for these contracts and their associated cost over-runs? The workers of Barbados and their families will, of course.

Evidently, the workers of Barbados and their families have a proverbial bone to pick with their political bosses. Their bosses clearly have not been looking after the interests of Barbadian workers, and have now been caught again trying to dismiss workers in an unfair and discriminatory manner. I donโ€™t have the time and space to even mention the Cahill Waste-to-Energy project which has long been exposed by contributors on Barbados Underground as a scam of scandalous and dangerous proportions.

After reading the above, any fool can see that the situation is no longer about the workers of NCC, BIDC, SSA, Customs, or QEH. It is about the political class trying to use extortionist measures against Barbadian taxpayers and trying to get rid of Barbadian workers in an abusive and prejudicial manner. The response, therefore, ought to be about Barbadian taxpayers and workers defending their rights and interests by trying to rid themselves of a parasitic, useless and arrogant group of politicians.

Contributors to the Barbados Underground have repeatedly warned readers that those parliamentarians who made their first entry in 2008 are now simply biding their time until February 2016 when they will qualify for a parliamentary pension. If Barbadian workers manage to rid themselves of their political bosses before 2016, they and their families will save millions and millions of dollars in pension costs.

Worded differently, it is in the personal interest of members of the political class to survive until February 2016. On the other hand, it is in the national interest, and the workersโ€™ interest, to get rid of them before February 2016. Since the dice have already been cast, the battle lines must now be clearly drawn.

Who is in the best position to commence the fight, on behalf of Barbadian workers and their families, against an unproductive and oppressive political class? The trade union is, of course.

The next strike called by the unions should be a strike on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families. This strike, national in scope, should not end until the resignations of our useless political bosses have been secured. Let us try, in a unified way, to secure those resignations before February 2016.

Walter Blackman is a pensions actuary. He can be reached via e-mail at walter.blackman@comcast.net

118 responses to “A New Agenda for Barbadian Workers and their Families”

1. @Alvin Cummins

Modern thinking on waste management is to aim for zero waste. There is money to made from recyclables and composting. When I was growing up before the age of the consumer society hardly anything was thrown away. Every paper bag, piece of string, bottle and can was used again in some way or other. Today we are higher up and better off, so we mash up and buy back. How much longer do you think the earth can sustain this? Any thinking government should be promoting zero waste and a truly green economy not giving it lip service. We have bragged about the Barbados Model before, but it would game changing if we could be world leaders in this regard.

Please answer just one question about plasma gasification. Name one commercial plant anywhere in the world currently processing 1,000 tonnes of MSW a day and producing 60MW of electricity.

2. @ alvin cummins
    Skippa, there are no ‘MAYBEs’ about you being an idiot….you even got the original AC looking ‘small’ then…
    When did Bushie ask you about a WTE plant to elicit your 4:23 pm post?

You were asked a SIMPLE question in response to your comment that Walter was calling for the demise of the country…

When YOU were diagnosed with a similar malady that now inflicts this country, DID your doctors not take radical corrective action in an effort to DESTROY the cancer …but to hopefully spare your life?
    Could their actions not be construed as ‘dangerous’ to your health?
    Should they have ignored you instead ..and just keep telling you that you are a good fellow?

Yuh IDIOT!!
    Unless we address the CANCER infesting this country NOW, WE ALL will pay the price of its uncontrolled spread.
    Walter’s only problem is that he expects too much from brass…

3. Never leave a “hanging” so. “So, you are an idiot:” may just complete the sentence. Made my day.

4. @ brown bag

In 2010, 86 plants operate in 24 US states and have capacity to process more than 97,000 tons of municipal solid waste per day
    The nationโ€™s waste-to-energy facilities have the capacity to generate the energy equivalent of 2,790 megawatt hours of electricity. Although the amount is a combination of the total amount of plants the significance lies in that there are plants which produce the equivalent of 1000 or more tons of garbage per day and with the abilty to produce more than 60 MW of electricity

5. @!Colonel Buggy July 19, 2015 at 5:26 PM # Any persons , we know , who have been omitted out ?

What I would like to see is Wikileaks or such release a listing of (politician worldwide including Bim) politician owned bank accounts worldwide in Monaco, Cayman, Lichtenstein, Switzerland etc etc…

THAT would be interesting indeed.

6. Alvin Cummins don;t pay deputy dawg no mind, he is full of sh,te i belive it is way past his time to change his depends, everyday he becomes more irritable even when he is not being asked to response to a questions he butts in like a lord full of rambunctious dialogue it is usually a waste of energy responding to his flair for arrogance and ridicule

7. @Crusoe

There is no corruption in Barbados. Although if you listen to the political hotair from Denis Lowe he disagreed in the leadup to the general election in 2008

.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFw0vCQXej0

8. when the blp is losing an argument they drag out one of their favorite whipping boys dennis lowe by then one knows that they are beginning to scrap the bottom barrell lol

9. @ Bushie and the others:

“ABOUT US
    TECHNOLOGY
    WHAT WE DO
    ENVIRONMENT
    INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES NEWS & PRESS
    CHINOOK SCIENCES
    WHAT MAKES OUR TECHNOLOGY SO UNIQUE? THE RODECSยฎ SYSTEM ACTIVE PYROLYSISยฎ THE PROCESS
    TheRodecsSystem.jpg
    Chinook’s award winning RODECSยฎ technology is the worlds only industrial universal gasification system and uses our multi-patented Active Pyrolysisยฎ process to reclaim valuables and transform discarded waste materials into usable energy.

With an unblemished environmental track record (well within the strictest environmental standards worldwide) and unequalled commercial viability, the RODECSยฎ system is on it’s 9th design generation and has been successfully implemented in 16 projects worldwide over the last 14 years.
    Rodecs-Generations-2lines.jpg
    The very first RODECSยฎ system was commissioned in the year 2000, had a batch capacity of only 2 cubic meters and is still in full operational today. The 9th generation RODECSยฎ system now has a batch capacity of over 100 cubic meters and is capable of processing 100,000 tons of MSW material per year.

Combining both pyrolysis and gasification the RODECSยฎ system is able to process any form of organic waste and recover metals and other valuables while producing a highly efficient clean synthetic gas (syngas) for energy generation. The cutting edge proprietary process does not require any form of pre-sorting or pre-processing which adds considerably to the economic strengths of the system.
    Feed-Material-Recovered
    The RODECSยฎ system is able to achieve unsurpassed thermal conversion efficiency with its patented Active Pyrolysisยฎ process which actively monitors and conditions the syngas during the processing cycle, altering the gaseous composition and the atmospheric conditions according to the target requirements. The process is achieved by synchronising the operation of the various systems while maintaining close control over the operation at all times.

Another strength of the RODECSยฎ system is that it is modular and scalable and can be implemented with multiple RODECSยฎ lines per plant. This allows it to be used to fit various project sizes supporting anything between a community scale size project (less than 30,000 tonnes per year) to a full large city production with multiples of 100,000 tons per year of MSW.

Do your research!
    However I am prepared to do it for you, like:

Major users of WTE in the U.S.

State Number of Plants Capacity (Short Tons per day

Connecticut 6 6500
    New York 10 11,100
    New Jersey 5 6,200
    Pennsylvania 6 8,400
    Virginia 6 8,300
    Florida 13 19,300
    Total 53 69,600

(Source of information) “An Overview of the global Waste-to-energy Industry. by Nicholas J. Themelis in Waste Management World July -August 2003 P. 40-47)
    Nicholas Thermelis is Director of Earth Engineering Center, Columbia University, New York.
    As I said, read, read, read.and do your research.

10. @Alvin Cummns

We have been here before, your head is obviously hard so we will repeat. The problem with Cahill is the lack of transparency and based on the leaked MOU Barbados will have to import garbage and this is before the fact no EIS gas been made available to inform a more collaborative process. We live in a democracy don’t we?

11. I agree………. anytime anyone refers to Denis Lowe, they are definitely scraping the bottom of the barrel.

12. @David,
    Where was the democracy when Ionics got the contract to set up the Desalination Plant? Has any study been done on the residue from the osmosis process ? Do you know that oner of the residue from the desalination is sulphuric acid? What happens to that? I’ll tell you there is a pipe, buried just outside of the plant that takes it down to the sea at Brighton and releases it underground. Where it goes after that I can’t say, but I know it has to affect the environment in some way.
    I know we have been here before, and that my head is hard, but you should also know therefore that I can counteract any of your arguments with facts, not suppositions. And I have a good memory still.Sorry for that. When the signing took place media reporters were there. Ministers and Permanent secretaries etc were there, It was not secret. The reception took place at Central Cricket grounds and there is a plaque on a rock at the entrance to the landfill commemorating the event.
    And talking about leaked MOU, there was an MOU between Cable
    and Wireless and the BLP government. Does anyone remember this being discussed at the time of signing?And you talk about lack of transparency?How come there is talk about transparency, only when the DLP is in power?

13. @Alvin

To repeat, the BLP was booted out of office by an electorate with raised expectation. No response required to you comparing the residue from a deal plant to the residue of a plasma gasification plant.

14. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ ac
    Your post about 86 WTE plants misses the point. They are not gasification plants.

15. Again Alvin the BLP brigade have convenient memories and take bajans for fools, The fact is that even if Barbados import garbage it still would be cheaper than what the govt is paying for a barrell of oil on the world market

16. @Walter Blackman “both political parties have routinely accused each other of using taxpayersโ€™ money to fund deals, bribes, foreign bank accounts,”

And in this I believe that both the BLP and the DLP are speaking the truth.

17. @St. Georges Dragon,
    Wrong again! Not only are they Gasification Plants, but there are also PLASMA-GAS plants. These operate at higher temperatures, so there is no residue.. In addition even in pure gasification plants, valuable side products results in less material to put in landfills. The entire purpose is to reduce the amount of waste to put in a landfill will be negligible, compared to what goes in now. Therr would be no need for space to turn into landfills.

18. @Alvin

You seem hell bent on ignoring concerns by Barbadians which is our right. What about the concern the plant proposed for Barbados would be the second largest in the world and there requires waste to be imported?

19. @ David
    He don’t live bout here….

20. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Alvin, a person not indoctrinated by one of the local parties but simply viewing your posts on merit would initially conclude that your are discerning and rational.

Your slow plodding efforts to distill Caswell’s point of the impact of acting appointments at PS level gave pause, however.

And then your rebuttal of David’s comment that “…The problem with Cahill is the lack of transparency … ” consolidated your true fowlism. The completely irrelevant retort of “Where was the democracy when Ionics got the contract to set up the Desalination Plant” is ridiculous.

Are you the same person who questioned why Thompson is till being linked to the government’s activities after Stuart’s success on supposedly his own merit? You want to break a direct link forged by the same Stuart but create onebetween Ionics and CAHILL. Amazing. Truly amazing.

Your time is done and you are happy in retirement so no wonder you can disingenuously suggest that the concept of being ‘demoted’ back to the ranks for an acting PS is so hard to grasp.

Where is that integrity in your comments of which you speak!

You certainly provide more engaging discourse than your ‘AC’ namesake, however, that’s for sure.

21. de Ingrunt Word July 20, 2015 at 10:29 AM #

โ€œAnd then your rebuttal of Davidโ€™s comment that โ€œโ€ฆThe problem with Cahill is the lack of transparency โ€ฆ โ€ consolidated your true fowlism. The completely irrelevant retort of โ€œWhere was the democracy when Ionics got the contract to set up the Desalination Plantโ€ is ridiculous.โ€

Well stated, D Word. It is mind bogglling how some people usually apply ridiculous and irrational retorts to certain cituations.

Cummins is essentially implying that there was no transparency when the then BLP administration awarded to Desalination Plant contract to Ionics. That is a reasonable comment; however, โ€œtwo wrongs donโ€™t make a right.โ€

Some individuals are equally concerned that there seems to be lack of transparency with the CAHILL project as well. That is their right.

So, is Cummins suggesting to those persons who have concerns with CAHILL should shut up, โ€œ because wunnuh aint say nutten โ€˜bout Inonics, so wunnuh shun say nutten โ€˜bout CAHILL.โ€

That is the height of stupidity.

22. Artaxerxes,

You made certain comments concerning me on another thread. Have you read my reply?

23. @ Donna

Yes, I read your reply…… point taken.

24. Is there a law that states that all citizens must be in total agreement with every action or decision made by the Government. Aren’t we, the persons whose votes they walked about in the hot sun and begged for of any more use since the election? We didn’t vote for a dictatorship we voted for a “Government of the people”. If we had treated them with the same disrespect that they now inflict on us the police would have come to arrest us even though they were trespassing on our properties. I guess they will all be retiring after securing their pensions otherwise a few people might be testing my theory.

25. @Walter Blackman “Most government workers havenโ€™t realized it yet, but there is a very high probability that NIS pension cheques will be repeatedly cut after they retire.”

I think that the government is hoping that people do not know that their pensions will be cut by 6% per year if they retire before the age at which NIS can pay full pensions.

For example if I retire at 67 my NIS pension will be $517.68 per week

If I retire at 60 my NIS pension will be $331.32 per week

If I retire at 61 my NIS pension will be $346.85

If I retire at 62 my NIS pension will be $377.91

If I retire at 63 my NIS pension will be $408.97

If I retire at 64 my NIS pension will be $440.03

If I retire at 65 my NIS pension will be $455.56

If I retire at 66 my NIS pension will be $486.62

If I reture at 67 my NIS pension will be $517.68

So therefore if I retired at 60 instead of at 67 my NIS pension will be reduced by $145,360.80

At 60 I was in good health. At 75 my health will CERTAINLY not be as good as it was at 60, and I will certainly need that $145, 360. 80 to take take of my more complex medical and social needs.

I am thinking that the government hopes that we do not understand the numbers above and will therefore take our forced retirements and the loss of hundreds of thousands of our NIS money quietly. Donville Inniss a Minister of this same government and the Minister responsible for the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation has told us clearly that he cannot afford a 10% reduction in his salary as he “has bills to pay”

Tell the MInister that if he can’t afford a 10% then we can’t afford a $145,000 cut.

We still understand our numbers.

We don’t have Alzheimers yet.

But we need our money to provide for our care when we do develop Alzheimers, and other end-of-life illnesses.

26. I visited a friend yesterday. Her 72 year old father who retired at 60 now has Alzheimers. And a very small pension. He will need extensive and expensive supervision. She has self employed and has had to cut her own work hours (and income) to care take of him on his very small early retirement pension.

The government needs to understand that we know. We live the harsh realities of providing care for our elders who receive too small early retirement pensions.

27. Donna July 20, 2015 at 11:27 AM #

โ€œIs there a law that states that all citizens must be in total agreement with every action or decision made by the Government?โ€

Donna, your above comments โ€œhit the nail on its head.โ€

It is mind boggling that certain individuals BELIEVE that EVERYTHING Fruendel Stuart or any other member of the DLP DOES is ALWAYS correct. Stuart and his ministers are Jesus Christ incarnate, they are PERFECT HUMAN BEINGS who can do and say NO WRONG.

I must also ask if there is a law that states if any individual, organisation, social or business group are not in total agreement with every action or policy decision made by the government, they should be characterized as being political, unpatriotic and opposition operatives.

Then the usual political rhetorical comments follows, such as โ€œnot putting the country first,โ€ wanting to see the demise of the governmentโ€ or โ€œyou have a political agenda.โ€

I remember David Ellis playing an extract from a St. Michael North West constituency branch meeting held at Ellerslie Secondary School, in which Chris Sinckler verbally abused, Ellis, Corey Layne, Nefatari Caddle and Dennis Johnson, and the supporters could be heard cheering him on.

This type of mindset defies all sense of logical and rational reasoning.

28. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Simple Simon July 20, 2015 at 1:47 PM #

The government needs to understand that we know. We live the harsh realities of providing care for our elders who receive too small early retirement pensions.
    ……………………………………………………………..
    This government of the people, are treating the elderly worst than the plantations ,had treated them , prior to the early 1960’s when such poor and elderly people were packed away,after being unfit to work in the fields, into one of the many Almshouses. But at least the plantations would occasionally show a bit of compassion ,and send a load of yams or potatoes to the said poor houses to sustain the inmates there.
    We may need to resurrect these Almshouses , but unfortunately we cannot expect any handouts from the plantations, as they no longer have those products. The modern equivalent would be expired Sell-by-date tinned stuff from MASSY.
    When you are kicked by your very own, skippa, you are well kicked.

29. But now the almshouses are run by the Ministry of Health. Does the Ministry of Health able to take care of all of the very frail, poor elders who require very close supervision and help with all the tasks of daily living? Bathing, feeding, getting in and out of bed etc.

Or does the government intend to privatize the almshouses. And which business person would buy an almshouse full of poor, elderly, heavily dependent elders?

Of course the government has the authority to lower the retirement age to 60 and all retirees would receive their full NIS and government pensions at 60. But can NIS afford to pay full pensions at 60? Does the government have the money to pay civil servants their full pensions at 60?

Maybe the government will have to move to the We Jonesing plan and crack some heads and shoot some people, that is all those who are 60 or older.

The Prime Minister is over 60.

30. @ Simple Simon
    It is abundantly clear that ‘this government’ don’t have the slightest idea what the hell they are doing.
    Their mantra is to borrow as much money as they possibly can andlet our children worry about the repayments.
    Meanwhile, a number of tricksters in their midst have been developing various schemes to get their paws and snouts into as much of that borrowed money as possible…

@ Stinkliar…. Boss, when do we Bajans get OPTION LETTERS to decide if we still want you wasting our damn money…? …or are these options restricted to Customs Staff?

Both Froon and Stinkliar were just on TV congratulating themselves on signing a loan agreement…
    …which they BORROWED to deposit in a BANK
    …so that they will be able to BORROW money from that new bank
    …to REPAY money ALREADY borrowed from others
    …and spent on things like the new waterworks building, Cahill, Bridgetown Marina plans
    …and of course the ‘consultants’, over-runs, and other unexplainable questions raised by the Auditor General.

…you ever hear such shiite…?

Wuh you and bushie could as well go and borrow some money from the Bank, put it on the Credit Union, so that we can borrow from the credit union and repay the bank…..

shiite pun top ah shiite…. ๐Ÿ™‚

31. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ de ingrunt word…… On July 20th at 10:29am you gave the BU family concrete proof that logic could very well be found in ingrunt words. One could hardly miss your very clinical dispatch of the quirky YARDFOWLISM for which the AUSTERITY CONSORTIUM is known. Good job! Check that…..GREAT JOB!

32. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Only Asking July 19, 2015 at 2:18 AM #
    โ€œPray tell Walter Blackman what is the alternative? I am tired of those who say to get rid of the Government and then proceed to offer no alternative.โ€

Only Asking,
    Your question and comment above remind me of a woman who has a man that constantly beats her. Most of her teeth have been knocked out, her eyes are swollen shut, and her cheekbones have been elevated with stockpiled scar tissue.
    When asked why she doesnโ€™t get rid of the abusive man, she angrily replies: โ€œIt is alright for โ€œwunnaโ€ to talk. When I get rid of my man, โ€œwunnaโ€ will help me get another one? I know what I putting down, but I donโ€™t know what I will be picking up. And besides, he beats me because he loves me.โ€

Only Replying.

33. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Alvin Cummins July 19, 2015 at 12:49 PM #

@ Walter,
    “Exactly who are you talking about when you speak of the โ€œPolitical classโ€?”

Alvin Cummins,
    You are asking the wrong person. Why don’t you ask PM Freundel Stuart?

34. Simple Simon July 20, 2015 at 6:09 PM #

Maybe the government will have to move to the We Jonesing plan and crack some heads and shoot some people, that is all those who are 60 or older.
    ……………………………………………………
    In other words make good use of the Arms Houses.ie St Anns Fort, Coleridge Street, and the Clay Pigeon Club

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Why is it time after time the Immigration Department allows this rot to happen. Someone advertises a vacancy in the local papers, anonymously, using a P.O Box address, then later we see the same people,again using the same P.O Box address, notifying the public that they are applying for a Work Permit .
    The Immigration Department should insist that before a Work Permit is granted, that the vacancy be again advertised using the full business address or home address.
    Barbadians, and the Unions, especially in these difficult times need at wake up and endeavor to put a stop to this nonsense.
    PS. Following a recent announcement on the radio, by the BWU, I believe it was, I was under the impression that a Work permit is no longer required for Maids and other Domestic workers who are Caricom Nationals? So where is this live-in maid coming from ? Ukraine , like the previous two?

http://i.imgur.com/bCG9C9n.jpg?2

36. @ Colonel Buggy,

Dem ent want nuh Bajan to help raise duh chilren.

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@ Hants,
    The Planter class in Barbados probably has not pass on to the “Come yah” newer citizens from Merka, Hingland, and Port of Spain, that Bajan ‘Mammies’ have been known to raise the great house children better than their very own.

38. St George's Dragon Avatar

I seem to remember that the advert for that post said to be successful you had to be able to cook Mexican food and speak Spanish. I somehow doubt that this one can be laid at the doors of the “Planter class”.

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Like advertising for a mechanic and stating that he must be Rolls Royce trained,and able to do Plasma Welding . Only to find that he is really needed to work on a old Suzuki van.

40. Ready to Vote Avatar

This administration persistently declared that it was not interested in the economy … that it was the society which was important. The administration is only now coming face to face with reality. It’s the economy stupid!!!!!!!

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Yesterday a Senator speaking in the Upper House stated that only 13 % of the black business persons seeking loans in Barbados are successful in obtaining such loans, while some 73% of the whites, who also apply are successful.He also quoted people of “mixed race” being 23% successful.
    Does this mean ,that our financial institutions in Barbados , still operate like the old South African apartheid regime, and has a column on each application form , with the heading “Colour of Applicant’s Skin”

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

Those statistics are scandalous. I thought it was illegal to discriminate on the grounds of race. What is being done to prosecute the financial institutions responsible?
    Can we start with finding out where was the data from and what the reasons for refusal were?

43. @St George’s Dragon July 21, 2015 at 4:56 PM “I seem to remember that the advert for that post said to be successful you had to be able to cook Mexican food and speak Spanish.”

Anybody who can read, and who has access to the internet, can find authentic Mexican recipes with which to prepare Mexican food that is, virtually 100% of Bajans can meet the Mexican food requirement. The Spanish maybe not so. But I would think that Spanish speaking parents would be glad of an opportunity for their young children to learn English from a native English speaker. Children learn quickly and the children would also retain their Spanish since presumably their own Spanish speaking parents would continue to speak to them in Spanish. I have countless Canadian born nieces and nephews who speak both English and French with native fluency because they attended French immersion classes from junior kindergarten on. It has done them a world of good to be fluent in two of the world’s major languages.

I can cook Mexican food. My command of English is in the top 5%. I speak, read and write excellent English. I am currently unemployed. I’ve successfully raised a few children to adulthood. I could do this nanny job easily, and when the parents move on their children would have learned perfect English from their Bajan nanny, and it would have cost the parents nothing more than regular nanny wages.

This ad was very likely written by parents who wanted to import their own former Mexican nanny.

Immigration would be foolish to grant a work permit in this instance.

The parents are foolishly denying thier children an opportunity to learn English.

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

We sat back and done nothing when a former Central bank governor applied for a work permit to bring in a maid .

45. BU understands from a reliable source the entertainment budget of the central bank is very generous and there has been no significant cut back dispirited recent loses.

46. @David,

When you have acquired a taste for single malt it is difficult to go back to drinking white rum. lol

47. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

St. George’s you said that ‘Those statistics are scandalous….”

And on the face of it they certainly are.

Firstly, the senator who provided those stats should be doing exactly as you noted…clarifying where and how those stats are derived.

Based on the 2010 estimates, Barbados’ population is 92% black and 2.7% white so these figures make a complete mockery of our educational landscape and fundamentally reinforces the contention that the corporate backbone of the country is almost completely white.

If these figures are accurate then all that has been said on BU re the political and corporate elite ganging together to the disadvantage of the average black person/businessperson is accurate.

It would also be a clear indication that there is rampant classicism practiced.

But why is a stats maintained on the the race of those who request business loans? Is that captured covertly by the bank or listed openly by the loanee?

How can we accept the status quo in B’dos so blindly and meekly that no has paid even a passing comment to these remarks and your comments?

This data on the face of it says that the banking industry knows beyond a doubt that black men and women in Barbados have less than a 2% chance of success in business but their white counterparts will be at least 70% successful. When one considers the % of business failures due to market conditions and other factors then the data suggests that Bajan blacks are abject failures on the corporate front, according to the banking industry.

These data need to be explained. Surely, it cannot be accurate as reported!

This is frightening that everyone accepts this so quietly.

48. @Dee Word

Where is the comment link to what the Senator stated about Black and White loans?

49. @ Dee Word
    “…the data suggests that Bajan blacks are abject failures on the corporate front, according to the banking industry.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You mean….
    “..the data suggests that Bajan blacks are abject failures on the corporate front, BECAUSE OF the banking industry.”

The reality is that most blacks borrow money from Credit Unions…
    – the banks encourage this by asking really RIDICULOUS conditions of such persons and by requiring unreasonable collateral.

The PROBLEM is that Credit Unions have (foolishly) concentrated on consumer loans…
    – so they provide LOANS- which blacks then use to support BUSINESSES – which are mostly funded by the banks.

This is a well know and commonly accepted situation. The FUNDAMENTAL cause is that the retarded black leadership like the people in the Credit Union (INCLUDING CASWELL) are unable to raise their game….and yet are UNWILLING to give way to persons such as Oriel Doyle and Walter Blackman who seem to understand what is needed.

…they can’t give up the annual trips to the ‘conferences’ bozie….BUT the Credit Union NEEDS to own banks, businesses and to influence who is in the House of Assembly….

50. Those statistics are scandalous. I thought it was illegal to discriminate on the grounds of race.”

If the government is discriminating on grounds of age; why can’t others discriminate on grounds of race- both actions are unconstitutional