The report coming out of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) that it ‘failed to realise the damage austerity would do to Greece’ makes for an interesting observation as Barbados is negotiating its own brand of economic austerity. The moral of the story for Barbadians is simple, we need to solve our problems by leveraging homegrown knowledge capital – see article IMF admits: we failed to realise the damage austerity would do to Greece. .
The admission by IMF Chief Christine Lagarde brings back the memory of pre-2007 and how global credit rating agencies contributed to the global recession by feeding demand for helter skelter consumption and ignoring a financial framework built on a questionable financial market which continues today to peddle questionable securities the like of credit default swaps, derivatives and electronic trading to mention a few.
During the recent presentation of the 2015 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals minister of finance Chris Sinckler insisted it was a home grown effort. However a visit to the IMF website supports the position the economic prescription the government seems committed to is NOT home grown. The huge debt to GDP gives Barbados little or no wiggle room to ignore the advice of international financial agencies largely responsible for influencing credit rating agencies. Despite what the prime minister and finance manager would have us believe a good sovereign credit rating does matter. The junk credit rating of Barbados makes borrowing on the capital market an expensive undertaking. Ask the Cahill people!
The news making the rounds this week and publicized at the BLP Tyrol Cot meeting last Sunday night: the government has been ‘analysing’ an IMF report on the state of the Barbados economy for about three weeks since the delivery of the Budget, and is yet to give permission for its release to the public. It supports the widely held view the Stuart government is inclined to manipulate information and engage in a lack of transparency for political advantage. The minister of finance was forced to hurriedly confirm the IMF report story the Monday after the BLP Tyrol,Cot meeting. What should be 0f interest to Barbadians – minister Sinckler confirmed the IMF is still concerned about the level of quantitative easing being practiced by the central bank of Barbados and government.
On a related note: the industrial relations climate in Barbados is ‘hotting up’ and it makes one wonder how effective the social partnership has been in the last couple of years, and we add minister of labour Esther Byer to the mix. BU suspects both unions have not forgotten the ‘black eye’ given to them by government and private sector in recent years. NUPW must still be smarting from the NCC matter and under a new management seems to be bent on retrieving its flagging reputation. There is also the Caswell Franklyn factor whose union has been making more noise than the two which are more established. It is unfortunate both sides have reached a point where dialogue has broken down, the last thing Barbados needs at this time is a national strike and low productivity. In the case of the BIDC – the current matter which has triggered industrial protest – it seems to be one better left to the law court to determine, but any issue maybe a good issue for the union to claw back its influence and membership.
The perilous state of the economy requires Barbadians to leverage the benefit of the large investment in education by resolving our problems. The rising tension in industrial relations in Barbados is symptomatic of a dearth in leadership in all facets of society.

290 responses to “Is the Economy Improving and Why Strike Now”
In recent times I have been very critical of the NUPW for its misrepresentation of its members. I am man enough now to compliment them on getting it right in this dispute. I completely disagree with you that this matter is best left to the Law Courts. That is precisely what the Government is hoping for, knowing full well that the courts are notoriously slow and by the time that the matter gets through the courts, the people being retired prematurely would be well into their eighties or would have gone to meet their Maker. NUPW is doing the right in the best interest of its members, the people who pay them. They are behaving like a union after a long time under the domination of the DLP. The shackles have been broken and NUPW is feeling freedom after years of subjection to their political masters.
The Government, on the other hand, is not even trying to look out for the interest of the people who they were elected to serve. To my mind, they are only interested in self preservation at the expense of the country.
By now this country should realise that we should take anything that Mr. Sinckler has to say with a pinch of salt. He has demonstrated over and over again that his word cannot be trusted. This nonsense of a 19 month home grown programme has been debunked long ago but he still kings to his script. This programme was designed by CARTAC which, even though its offices are located in Barbados, is an IMF agency.
He still clings to his script.
You guys are hot and heavy about the strike, pay attention if a strike cripples barbados all become paralysis and the people of barbados would not take kindly to having to endure the punishing effects that comes along with a strike enough said.
Here is a story all can relate to:: Once upon a time a lady called Mary Redmam head of a teachers Union called out her members to strike (for a good cause) today she is revered as the most hated woman in barbados and the reasons are because of the side effects the actions distributed across the nation, Needlessly to say she was not wrong but in the long run her image has been plagued with hatred and disrespect by many .
Well if they want to…..the people can march till they parch!
But the truth is BIDC ain’t budging because they know they stand on good legal ground on this one.
CTUSAB is saying that NUPW is not following the agreed procedures laid out in protocol 6!
BWU is calling an urgent meeting this evening, hours before the march, to determine how much support they gine give to the NUPW!
So who the NUPW believe they fooling…..Akani Mcdowal was psrt of the NUPW when thousands were laid off…..took a while to get their due monies…..and Akani and the NUPW refused to march!
Now 13 workers were retired….got their due monies…..and were so damn happy…..they all cashed their cheques a political puppy in Akani…..declares this is the ‘straw that brek’ the camel back …..I gine STRIKE!
Well we shall see..
….
Fractured
Does Donville tell you what to write in your comments. You sound just like hi and not making any sense just like him.
A government who promised to protect jobs just to win an election. We all remember how Caswell was vilified for coming public 10,000 public workers would be sent home. If the BIDC and NUPW have different interpretation of the pension law, will it not eventually have to end up in court? The fact the court is slow is unfortunate but it is the legal arbiter.
here comes speckled fowl (david BU) throwing early morning scratch grain ,well yes the truth is that govt did promised jobs and the truth is that the BLP DID SAY that govt entities were over bloated and measures to downsized should be taken which would help reduced the deficit including layoffs and the govt took said measures,,,,So what is your point Speckled fowl except to turn over the apple cart and expose the many rotten apples that are stamped BLP,
This Strike is not being called because of lay offs, For if that was the case the other Unions would have been proactive when the first batch of govt employees were laid off but they did not instead came to the conclusion and in agreement with govt decision that the economy of barbados was over heating and had reached a critical point where such actions were necessary.So all this long talk about govt promise is just that long talk and does not factor in the “why”which would give sufficient and reasonable answers with clarity,
This march/strike is being called on behalf of a few self interest mongrels who believe it is their right to call and manipulate the governance of this country by any means necessary.
In the long run these Union bosses would be ostracized if their measures create a hostile environment in this country, Needles to say this might be a case were might is not always Right and bajans would rebel vocally if they feel punished
Both NUPW & BIDC have the same interpretation of the pension law so there is absolutely no need to go to court. But Government wants to go to court so that they could delay making payments until the matter is settled, which would take years the way things go around here. Government is being nasty as usual.
@Caswell
Thanks for the clarification. Interesting to note the PM is quoted as saying strike action is hasty yet minister Inniss is also quoted he will not be backing off.the two positions seem at odds. What do you think?
Barbados seem to have a cabinet where it is each man for himself. I am not surprised by the conflicting positions from those two. And worse yet, ministerial office seems a burden to large for our Minister of Labour. Her position is let’s talk to no avail again and again and again …….
It is obvious the DLP wants their only only female to feature in the Cabinet (Mara Thompson appears not to be on the radar). She seems to lack the depth to get the job done.
are-we-there-yet July 4, 2015 at 11:47 AM #
“Looks like the new NUPW stance has indeed got the yardfowl rattled. MInister Inniss’, AC’s and Togetherness’ contributions says so.”
AWTY, it is about time the NUPW did something for its members.
I was reliably informed of the following:
In 1986 when the DLP regained the reins government, the National Assistance Board, under the chairmanship of Dr. Farley Brathwaite, terminated a number of employees under the guise they had no degrees and hired DEMS to replace them.
Those terminated employees sought the help of Dennis Clarke and Joseph Goddard to no avail.
In 1993, the NAB’s board, which included Farley Brathwaite as chairman (yes, the same Farley Brathwaite this DLP administration honoured a few months ago), Derek Alleyne director of UDC), Rev. Errington Massiah and Richard Sealy (tourism minister) APPOINTED all those DEMS that were employed after 1986, leaving those employees who were at NAB prior to 1986, unappointed.
To make matters worse, they made the appointment retroactive to 1990, which meant that the appointees were entitled to a refund of the excess national insurance contributions they would have paid between 1990 and 1993. At that time unappointed officers would have paid 8% NIS, while appointed officer would pay 6.65%.
The unappointed employees also sought the help of the NUPW through Dennis Clarke and Joseph Goddard to no avail.
I was also brought to my attention that the DLP formed an entity called “Task Force on the Youth” of which Farley Brathwaite was also chairman. The then opposition asked about the performance of this “task force” and Brathwaite hurriedly compiled a report and took it to a former NAB secretary to be typed.
She questioned the reason behind her typing the report, since she was not employed by the “task force” and the only “common denominator” between that entity and NAB was the chairman. She went to NUPW for representation and was told by Dennis Clarke she should type the report. Unfortunately, the then director, Errol Best and Brathwaite made work unpleasant for her and she was unfairly terminated. The reason the board gave for terminating her services was insubordination.
Again, she sought representation from Goddard and Clarke. They made a half hearted attempt by contracting the services of a lawyer on her behalf, who did such a poor job, she lost the case. However, when she used the services of another lawyer, she won the case and the board had to pay her for wrongful dismissal.
Some clowns who contribute to BU want us to believe that the stance the NUPW is now taking has been influenced by the BLP.
However, based on what occurred, as I outlined above, with Joseph E. Goddard (a known DEM) as general secretary, and the position the NUPW took under then president Walter Maloney (who is a known DEM) and his side-kick, then general secretary, Dennis Clarke (another known DEM), it can also be concluded that the NUPW operated under the influence of the DLP.
Despite the reason, after years of slumber under Maloney and Clarke we are now seeing some action being undertaken by the NUPW, which is being viewed by the yard-fowls as a BLP influenced action.
Why is it that when any individual, organization, club, group or even the man on the “Cream of Wheat” box disagrees with anything this DLP administration does, they are automatically affiliated with the BLP?
Are these jokers trying to suggest that Barbadians are not independent of thought?
Unless we find ourselves a sensible – and at least partially competent- leader, we will continue to decline in all areas…
Only a CURSE can explain the level of IDIOCY currently being realised in Barbados.
Only a CURSE can explain the presence of the Sargassum problem
Only a CURSE can explain the blatant NASTINESS of the Cahill and other scams
Only a CURSE can explain the mentality of people like AC…
CURSES result when a country institutionalises UNRIGHTEOUSNESS …as Stuart and his clan of crooks have done with CLICO.
CURSES result when leaders are OPENLY known to invite and accept bribes and kickbacks – AND THIS IS ACCEPTED AS OK by everyone.
CURSES result when a country takes the position, on order to ‘save money’, to fire LOW PAID maids, cleaners, etc, while hiring MORE incompetent ministers, and while passing HUNDREDS of MILLIONS of dollars to their RICH, WHITE paymasters, lawyer friends, and bribers.
LOTTA SHIITE….
Physical nastiness leads to diseases like typhoid and dysentery…
Spiritual /ethical nastiness leads to CURSES like homosexuality,National IDIOCY, lack of vision….
Unless someone can CLEAN UP the shiite and the country can SEEK FORGIVENESS, these curses will leave us crippled….
Time for sack cloth and ashes…
Here is what minister Denis Kellman posted to his Facebook page a moment ago:
“IS WAYNE WALROND A THINKER , HE INSDULTED THE MINISTETR OF LABOUR AND THE PRIME MINISTER BY GOING TO STRIKE ACTION BEFORE REFERRING THE MATTER TO THEM AND NOW ASKING THE MINISTER TO CHASTISE BIDC. WHY THE RUSH FOR A STRIKE BEFORE FOLLOWING THE RIGHT CHANNELS. WHEN WILL THE LABOUR UNION SELECT A GENETRAL SECRETARY AND SAVE BARBADOS FROM THIS IGNORANCE. IT IS REFLECTING BADLY ON THE COMPETENT ELECTED MEMBERS. GIVING THE IMPRESSION THAT THESE PROFESSIONALS DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND TWO YOUNG. THESE YOPUNG MEN AND WOMEN ARE THE FUTURE OF THE CIVIL SERVICE AND SHOULD LEAD AND NOT BE LED.”
David;
That above comment by Denis Kellman sounds so familiar…..
Wonder if AC wrote it for him!
Oops! Perhaps Denis kellman is one of the Ac’s??????
If we do not want a strike, then this matter is one ripe for voluntary independent arbitration. It is a simple point of law to be decided. And the court system is not the appropriate method of resolving this dispute. There is a need for a SPEEDY, inexpensive binding decision.
An industrial court, properly staffed, might be the right answer in these circumstances, but that’s another story.
Over the years the unions and the other stakeholders have not shown the appetite for an industrial court given the touted success of the social partnership. Where do we go from here?
Well then, David, all that remains to resolve labour disputes is industrial warfare. Lockouts by employers, strikes and go-slows by workers’ organizations and see who blinks first…May the best man win! Unsophisticated, but if that’s the way we want it…so shall it be!
A “rights” dispute such as this one is not suitable for resolution by the Social Partnership. Rights either exist or they don’t…it is not a matter for agreement.
@ Jeff
Yours is a refreshing analysis…..BUT…
But did out CJ not seek to champion the whole concept of arbitration as a means of speedy and effective resolution of matters just like these?
What progress has he made in two years?
Where is the call for his head?
Why can’t the really intelligent heads at Cave Hill openly call for such proactive changes and propose mechanisms for their implementation?
Is there no role for true intelligence in our national affairs then..?
What then is the role of education ..and indeed Cave Hill, if brains such as yours are NOT available for resolving National challenges…?
sad….
Mr Bush Tea, what I am proposing is nowhere as formal as what the CJ is suggesting, court annexed mediation. I am mindful that any arbitration in this case as well as the arbitrator should be agreed to by both sides.
To answer your last question, the use of education to resolve societal problems is a two way street. Our people have come to believe that politicians have all the answers to our problems and have accordingly reduced the significance of the truly informed and analytical mind. There is no clamour for this type of individual ..except perhaps for him or her to push one’s partisan political view
You wrote: “@ Jeff
Yours is a refreshing analysisâ¦..BUTâ¦
But did out CJ not seek to champion the whole concept of arbitration as a means of speedy and effective resolution of matters just like these?”
Stop kissing Jeff’s behind. He more than most is well placed to give a legal opinion on this issue. After all, he lectures law at UWI. He must get off the fence.
He must also be aware that there is binding arbitration in the Laws of Barbados but it is not utilised. The matter must be referred to the Governor-General, but both parties must agree to abide by the result of the arbitration. I referred one to the current GG and he did not even acknowledge the correspondence.
Was’nt the Al Barack fiasco post arbitration?
Mr Cumberbatch, it is definitely a two-way street and those like your self in the tenured rooms of academia with your awareness and knowledge of the subject matters should be traveling those streets regularly and guiding and schooling other users on the best highway prctices.
How can you really suggest that ” There is no clamour for this type of individual”. Who should be leading the calls leading to that clamour of insistent voices? If not you guys, then who as Bushie asked!
Do you honestly suggest that, “our people have come to believe that politicians have all the answers to our problems”?
Is it not that politicians here have the bully-pulpit oft times to the complete exclusion of our voices on the public stage and their opinions thus hold sway on the face of general examination.
A deeper examination after other views and opinions are considered often shows that Bajan consider politicians’ opinions to be overly biased and lacking conviction. And in more recent years to be abjectly corrupt.
University professionals have always given their views in the public domain but they have also always been directly aligned to a party and thus we question their objectivity. Those who maintained outward independence have been less strident than they should have been or simply do not have the public pulpit to be heard and digested by the average Bajan.
So Bushie is on mark here, “Why can’t the really intelligent heads at Cave Hill openly call for such proactive changes… if brains such as yours are NOT available for resolving National challenges [over the years, then what’s the point of a national university other than turning out the latest drone]…??
I understand that the Kellman on the NUPW’s executive is the minister’s nephew. I do not know the young Kellman but I am told that he is the exception that proves the Kellman rule. He should explain that there is no role for the PM or the Minister of Labour in these matters.
Mr DIW, Are you suggesting that we at UWI should be calling for ourselves? If you are suggesting rather that we should enter into the public domain, then the people will have to react to what we are saying. I wrote an entire column on this issue in last week’s Sunday Advocate, There was no response.
This Akani Mcdowal is bare boo!
Even at this stage he does not know and understand that a true Trade Unionist……fights with a clenched right FIST!
Check the photo of this Akani upstart in the group photo above!
Even the next trade unionist, FRAUD, could have put him right one that one!
JOKERS……
Caswell you could have at least put Mcdowal right….on the clenched fist!
On page 4 of the Sunday Sun…..the Hon. David Estwick is seated and dressed so immaculatelt next to his beloved PM Stuart and other Cabinet colleagues.
And to think not so long ago….our divisive blog owner, David, was up and down on BU telling all and sundry that David Estwick gine leave the DEMS!
I repeated then…..I will say again…..David Estwick CANNOT…..leave the DEMS!
It just won’t make sense….
D for DAVID….D fuh DEMS….!
Get that in yuh BRAIN !
Interesting to observe that there are persons on this island that cannot be bought with a duty free car and a colonial title. Hmmmmm very interesting!
Delcia Burke of the NUPW is putting up a game fight on today’s talk show which has the NUPW’s legal officer on the panel.
Here is the link to Jeff’s column of last week:
http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=44253
Delcia Burke of the NUPW is putting up a game fight on today’s talk show > which has the NUPW’s legal officer on the panel. > > > >
@ Bush Tea
Right on Bro, you are spot on in your remark about CURSE, blood money , is the cause
get RID of the DLP and the Curse gone , then any good house wife can rum this country
Jeff, what now, you wrote it where? The Advocate you say, is that the one in the US…oh you mean the Barbados Advocate….
Sorry sir, but I honestly do not recall the last time I read the Advocate. But regardless that is but one point of reference; even if it was in the Nation you should be broadcasting your opinions more widely when you are offering recommendations on public policy matters.
As I suggested this should be an absolute purpose and motivation of the top academics. Frankly in the same way that at the big schools it’s all about ‘publish or perish’ the in our small countries voices like yours should be mandatory a part of deep public discourse. So if that means, VOB, Facebook, BU, Press releases and the like then so be it.
No reason your column could not be posted here also.
Mr DIW, David has now posted the column @12.27pm.
You are missing a good and enlightening Sunday newspaper if you do not read the Advocate. What on earth do you read on Sundays to stimulate your intellect then? The New York Times?
DIW, We must publish or perish too. It’s just that “publishing” means something different there.
I do sincerely hope that all those persons who intend to protest tomorrow, have fulfilled all their statutory obligations to the Crown.
That is:
Land Tax payments up to date
Road Tax payments up to date
Income Tax payments up to date
VAT payments up to date
Corporation Tax payments up to date
There is no point wunna laughing at the government being brek…..and refusing to pay wunna bills to improve the situation.
I have already instructed the officers in my ministry to be on the look out for culprits tomorrow…..or whenever the marchers intend to hit the streets.
A repeat of what was witnessed during the Waste Haulers strike is PROMISED.
Pay your taxes……before you STRIKE!
A word to the wise…..
he Wate Haulers strike
@Jeff
Agree with some of the thrust of your article as it relates to the specter of age discrimination. It is unfortunate this perspective has not been given more sway in the midst of the political vitriol being spewed. If workers from 60 are compulsorily retired the question to follow: who is next ?
@Fractured BLP
Your puerile and stupid attempt to railroad and intimate explains why this government is easily attained the label of the most incompetent government in our post Independence period.
I do not think that anyone, including the BIDC, considered the relevance of the ERA to the discussion before the decision to dismiss was taken.
Though serious public sector reform has been needed for more than two decades, this is a quick fix done in a haphazard manner and in an inhumane way. This is about reducing salaries and wages quickly by disposing of the most vulnerable and not necessarily the most deserving. This has nothing to do with rationalizing the organization nor with improving efficiency. The Government assured us in the last election campaign that all was well and that there was no need to panic. Yet here we are. If they had acknowledged the dire situation from the beginning they could have worked systematically to reduce the bloated public sector staff in a more rational and justifiable way.
I’m not sure what else the unions can do at this point to make their point. I wish they could arbitrate with impartial adjudicators. But who do you trust these days? This situation is difficult. You’re damned if you do and damned if you don’t. But the government has shown that it cannot be trusted so obviously there will be an antagonistic relationship.
A national strike is the last thing this country needs. Why? Those who are being asked to carry the biggest burden are the ones least respected by the leaders. There can be no gain without pain. For many years now the poor and the dwindling middle class have been made to feel the pain of living in this Barbados. Come out in your numbers and send a very clear message to the occupants of the other Barbados. We have had enough. I’m home for a funeral, but will find time to March. BAJANS ITS TIME TO STAND And BE COUNTED.
@FracturedBLP 12:45 pm
Wunnah desperate!!!
Wunnah duz fite nasty doh!!!
Wild boys all!
David @ 12:46 pm
Note that there is now no magic to the age of 60. It is no longer the retirement age.
So your question is very apt. They are coming for the 60 yr olds now but who will be next?
The 45 yr olds? The 50 yr olds? the 55 year olds?
Interesting times!
How can we build a humane society and our government pursue a tactic of compulsorily retiring workers at 60. Allow optin but compulsory?
@ Jeff Cumberbatch
I am suggesting if you see the need to offered the public knowledge on issue that can help Barbados and want to see a response, write your column in BU ,very few people read the advocate. So Sir , if the object for your column writing is not to be paid ( money ) please used BU .
@ Jeff
Notwithstanding your Advocate publications, Bushie has to agree with Dee Word that a wider and BROADER promulgation of intelligent, considered ideas such as yours are sadly lacking.
How many people read the Advocate…or even the damn Nation..?
In ADDITION to these media, we also need to hear voices at your level of intelligence in grass roots fora such as BU, facebook etc.
There is a GLARING need for some semblance of intelligence to show itself at this level, but it requires academics to step down from Mount Olympus and to interact with the brass bowl mortals… This is why Bushie has taken up the whacker… lol
Wuh Bushie has produced some academic work too – that not 10 people bout here could follow… but what purpose does THAT really serve in our current environment?
Those that dared to come here mostly did not have the balls to remain – with a few clear exceptions, but there is NO REASON why academics cannot contribute using a nom de plume …. That way, it is ONLY the ideas which they bring that are moot….
Those that come here hoping to bring clout through their REAL identity had better have solid ground on which to stand… You may well be one of the VERY FEW who could manage that… but even so, it would be no cake walk 🙂 …the whacker has a serious sting yuh…!!
Not one shiite wrong with nom de plumes on BU….
what we want is SUBSTANCE… and an alternative view to the jackass politician’s BS.
@ Caswell
Bushie….Stop kissing Jeff’s behind.
See that….??
You always looking for trouble….and often in the WRONG places…
Why you don’t leave Bushie nuh…?
…so much for you to learn…… 🙂
Mr watchman, I have a contractual undertaking with the Advocate, but David knows that he is free to republish my column here as he has done on numerous occasions previously.
Fractured BLP,
Are you kidding me? You are not doing the DLP any favors with your attempt at intimidation. This is precisely what detractors have been talking about. If you and others persist in this manner the people may actually rise up and give your kind an opportunity to “crack some heads”.