Grenville Phillips II

Grenville Phillips II is the man behind the initiative to start the next political party in Barbados. The following was extracted from the Solutions Barbados โ€“ The Next Party.

We are a group of men and women who love Barbados, treasure our reputations, and plan to offer ourselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  While we have some potential candidates, we need more โ€“ hence, the following.

WANTED

Accomplished men and women of demonstrated integrity and leadership, who love Barbados, treasure their reputations, and are willing to present themselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  Prospective candidates must not view politics as a career, but as a brief time of exemplary national service.  Expect: long working hours, vicious personal criticisms, no pay, a slim chance of being elected, and an exciting journey.

Before you contact us, please do the following.

1. Read our Solutions on the Solutions page.
  2. Read Harold Hoyteโ€™s book: โ€œEyewitness to Order and Disorderโ€.
  3. Talk to your family and put your house in order.

We do not intend to be elected to simply wait around long enough to earn a pension.  Rather, we intend to govern responsibly.  A summary of our main solutions are described on our Solutions page.  They are designed to address the main problems hindering Barbadosโ€™, and therefore your development.  You are encouraged to comment, and we will happily engage you in discussions of how they may be improved.  The improved solutions will become our promises to you.

Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise if they choose to.  Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this

Current Main Political Parties

Despite their failings, we should count ourselves very fortunate that we have been led by persons who seemed to genuinely care about Barbados.  Therefore, both political parties should be thanked for their past service.  However, we should be under no illusion that it takes any special competence to spend other peopleโ€™s money.  As a country, we are very deep in debt, and useful unsolicited advice appears to have been ignored as we plan to go further into debt.

One political leader recently revealed that that only those in the political trenches had the right to have their advice on national issues considered.  Since we do not plan to stop offering unsolicited advice, and we have no desire to engage in futile exercises, then we have no choice but to reluctantly enter the political trench.  If the Government or Opposition parties follow our advice, then we will leave the trench as quickly as we entered it โ€“ the choice is theirs.

Improving Barbados

The greatest obstacle to improvement lies within you, the reader โ€“ the voter.  This obstacle is the fear of change.  People would rather stay with what they know, regardless of how incompetent, than with what they do not know.  Hopefully, after reading our Solutions, you at least know what we support, and to what we object.

It has been said that good managers try to do their best with the resources available to them, while leaders change the environment to allow for better management.  We intend to lead.

We invite you to: share this web-site by including a link on your Facebook or other social media page, inform your friends, family and colleagues about Solutions Barbados, and follow us on this web-site in order to be notified of any updates.

Due to the charging of individuals for breaching the Computer Misuse Act (section 14) and the Defamation Act, we must reduce the risk of inconvenience by reviewing all comments for compliance.  You can help us by not speaking disparagingly about people.  Please note that all favourable and unfavourable comments will be posted, but any defamatory information will be redacted.  We apologise in advance for any delayed comments.

Thank you for visiting and best regards.

SOLUTIONS BARBADOS

Grenville Phillips II, Founder

387 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Launches the Next Political Party in Barbados”

1. @Colonel Buggy July 2, 2015 at 3:26 PM “Hitler, for all of his short comings, coming from a lowly background, turned out to be a brilliant leader, a great Chancellor and military strategist.”

Dear Colonel Buggy:

Why the he!! you have to bring Hitler into this for? He was none of the things you said. He was a short me crutch loser who brought his adopted country to ruin.

2. Hopi

I am talking about the dirt-poor which the lower-class look upon with snobbish contempt. This is what I meant by the class beneath the lower-class my friend. I am talking about the kind of poor people who regard you as so low and beneath them that it fuels a deep dislike( in them for you) if their son or daughter were to bring you home as a potential mate.

3. Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max Avatar
    Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max

Just read Negroman’s comment whilst scrolling back and I would want to ask the question
    Who should lead Black Barbadians then ? Why not Mr. Phillips ?

I think the goodly gentlemen is on good grounds but like I stated b4 , alternative parties have not and will not work. Mr. Phillips will find out soon enough that Barbadians still possess a very backward mentality. You just have to listen to the youngsters and the females both old and young to understand that they are even more backward than their grand parents. There are some serious myths still existing among the mendicants.

4. Simple Simon

Adolf Hitler brought his adopted country to ruin. Man that is an understatement by any stretched of the human imagination. What about Poland, the former Soviet Union, and Great Britain just to name a few?

5. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Bushie, you are allowing esoteric philosophical concepts to get in the way of reality, thus you appear to believe that your blog rants can now change things in Barbados and in that stance it’s impossible to argue with your brass bowl rhetoric.

That brass bowlery on the practical stage is obviously nonsensical but you are confident enough with it to argue with me that Grenville’s assault on the basic element of freedom of association and desires to contravene established laws as he forges ahead are realistic and practical.

One does not argue a non-point so I concede to you so as not to waste our time.

@Excaimer

Your interpretation of Philips’ ‘Solutions’ are as insightful of several others here who have looked at them. Many have questioned parts of the commentary as lacking strength and the gravitas needed at the national level.

The support given to Phillips is the rousing outpouring of citizens looking for a fresh new perspective. You certainly know how that works with the past support giving to your British political outsiders or the historical support given to those who challenge a status quo in which the people have lost faith. Same thing here.

@ Negroman, more power to you. With heroes like Idi Amin and Robert Mugabe, men who in their pursuit of dismantling white supremacy also terribly decimated their black brethren you are well set.

6. @My Two Cents July 2, 2015 at 9:11 PM “his apparent rush to flex his immature political muscles :

So how old was Bussa when he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Sarah Ann GiIl when she flexed her political muscles?
    How old was Clennell Wickham when he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Samuel Jackman Prescod when he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Grantley Adams when he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Frank Walcott when he flexed his pollitical muscles?
    How old was Erroll Barrow ehn he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Tom Adams when he flexed his politica muscles?
    How old was Owen Arthur when he flexed his political muscles?
    How old was Mia Mottley when she flexed her political muscles?

And over in away: How old was Barack Obama when he flexed his political muscles?

Good politics ALWAYS, ALWAYS belongs to the young,

7. Great point Ingrunt… regarding Idi Amin who has been reported to have murdered more than a million Ugandans before he fled to Saudi Arabia with the people money, and died at the advanced age of 90. What a hero for one to venerate!

8. Best wishes and good luck to Grenville.

Just a little bit of advice.

I hope that he understands that politics/serving people is much, much, much more complex than civil engineering.

Because we human beings are real, real own way.

LOL!!!!!!!!

Hee!!!, hee!!! hee!!!

Unlike mathematics/physics/engineering WE DELIGHT IN DISOBEYING/BREAKING/MASHING-UP THE RULES..

When you are dealing with human beings 1 + 1 seldom equals 2.

I have a young friend, bright as sh!te. Bachelor’s and master’s degrees in engineering by age 23 with full scholarship funding all the way from one of the great universities in the great white north. After about 6 years in engineering and while working full time earned a second master’s degree in human services and went to work in a people heavy field. When people questioned this “mad” decision he said “civil engineering is much too easy. I want much more of a challenge and I find that in working in human services.”

A word to the wise is sufficient.

9. It is amazing how narrow the view some of us hold. A third party does not have to win an election to contribute to the governance system. Imagine a third party with two or three seats sitting in parliament and the influence possible n that scenario. We have to unshackled our minds and understand nothing stays the same forever, such is change.

10. Bush shite philosophical and political rhetoric is steeped in dictatorial philosophy, bush shit.. confuses good governance with that of control , a control that allows people Only Certain rights e,g education and religious rights, But all others must be steeped in a manifesto dictated and order by govt.eg, The right to have two cars. the right for a female to be part of a system that allows woman equality from the bedroom to the boardroom and a total of exemption of woman to have leadership roles in the country affairs. the right for parents to take whatever disciplinary action against a child.
    Bush shite have never denied his tyrannical behaviour as a two bit dictator and revels in the fact that they only way to get a country and its people unified govt must set abut doing the job of putting a system in place that has no room for error but one that can disadvantage the poor and vulnerable,

11. @Negroman July 3, 2015 at 12:22 PM “Mark Adamson & his political party have some very refreshing and worthwhile suggestions and solutions for Barbados. Was Mark Adamsom taking seriously by Barbadians? No,he was not. Bloggers here made sport of Mark proposals and not only ridicule him but also launch personal attacks on him.
    Reasons because he is a rasta who sells socks for a living.Also because his origins are from a poor working class district in St Michael. Mark Adamsom talked about reforming the tax system in Barbados. I must admit he had difficulties expressing how revenue would be generated.”

I know Mark. I like Mark. We do not refuse to take him seriously because he is a working class rasta.

We do not take him seriously because he will not or cannot explain how he will keep essential services running once he has stopped collecting taxes.

To tell the truth I would love to vote for Mark, because to tell the truth again I don’t really like paying taxes.

Who does?

12. Simple Simon

Beyond and above understanding the psychology of human behaviour, the challenge for Grenville Phillip I do believe is whether or not he has the inner-steel to withstand the temptation power, position and influence brings to bear upon the job?

13. @Big Brown July 2, 2015 at 11:11 PM “the first thing that caught my attention was his recommendation to make various laws retroactive. Not sure about his suggestion to prevent civil servants from joining a political party either. Freedom of association is provided by the Constitution.”

Haven’t read Phillips’ solutions yet. But if as Big Brown states he proposes retroactive laws (fundamentally unjust) and removing the freedom of association form civil servants then there is no way he or any of his party can get my vote, because I see the beginnings of a dictatorship.

14. @Bush Tea July 3, 2015 at 5:07 PM “Why do you think they all dress up in three piece suits on Friday nights and head for Salters and other places of lodging?”

Cuh dear Bushie. Ya being real, real hard on the lodge boys.

I can’t say that I disagree with you though.

I always wonder about people who have to suck on a lodge bubbie all through their lives…people who are afraid of merit…people who are afraid of competition…people who can’t move forward unless a lodge buddy is holding their hands.

A bunch of sorry losers all ‘o dem.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15. @ac July 3, 2015 at 6:54 PM “These workers should be aware that it is not nice to bite the hand that feeds them unless and had not for govt hiring all would be on the bread line, ”

Dear David: Would you ban me if I called ac an idiot?

The workers are paid by the tax payers, not by the government.

As you well know some of our MP’s before entering Parliament had not a po to piss in nor a window to throw it through.

16. @Nevroman July 3, 2015 at 7:09 PM “It seems DLP supporters comments are not welcome on this blog anymore Thanks for referring to my comments aโ€™s hogwash and also a JAS I has been insulted by you.”

Dear N-man: Quit whining and go and put on ya big boy sliders.

17. Exclaimer July 3, 2015 at 7:48 PM “Quite simply the man is an authoritarian fascist” [My thoughts exactly]

“Farmers will be reimbursed immediately for thefts” [where will this money come from? And who is to say that farmers won’t steal from themselves or from each other in order to collect the free government money?]

“an effective praedial larceny section will be established within the Royal Barbados Police Force to investigate and charge offenders. The fine will be 10 times the market value of the crops and/or equipment reported stolen” [And what happens when the predial larcenist does not have a po to piss in nor a window to through it through? Nor the money to pay the fine? Where will the 10x money come from? I am not sure whether Grenville has noticed that most jails throughout the world and in Barbados as well are fullup to the brim with the same poor people who do not have a po to piss in nor a window to through it through]

“introducing fruit trees into gullies” [I am not sure whether Grenville has opened a biology book since 3rd form. I know how those engineers are. But if he had spent some time studying biology. or had been raised on the gullyside with the monkeys like me he would understand that if he planted fruit trees in the gullies it may well cause the monkey population to increase, because well fed animals have more energy and can copulate more, tend to reproduce more and more of their young tend to survive,to copulate more and reproduce more. Unless he is planning to issue contraceptives to the monkeys and somehow compel the monkeys to use the contraceptives, this one may be a no-go]

18. @MoneyBrain July 3, 2015 at 7:18 PM “Nothing pisses me off more than people who Support these Party Clowns!”

True dat.

19. We stated in an earlier blog under this thread, the following and will emphatically restate it: “the overall political conditions in this country are extremely ripe for the creation and growth and development of alternative parties to the decadent and corrupt DLP and BLP, out of these conditions, and for any such newer parties to lead the way in getting the vast majority of adults in this land to โ€“ as soon as possible โ€“ absolutely and permanently secure the political removal of these disgusting repulsive factions โ€“ and these factions that have clearly overstayed their time in Barbados โ€“ from the parliamentary political landscape of this country”.

The PDC encourages many people reading this particular statement to focus on it and to – in that context – focus on Mr Grenville Phillips’ necessary and essential bid to form another new political party in Barbados.

If Mr Phillips is successful in forming this new party – which the PDC really looks forward to the launch of (though that exercise is not necessary – the party really needs to get cracking) – then it will make it the eighth political party existing at the moment in Barbados.

And the definition of Mr Phillips’ prospective party does not have to follow the traditional western political ideological philosophical definition, as ours have NOT been, is NOT, and will NEVER be.

Mr Phillips and the relevant others of this prospective party must NOT be hamstrung by any unstudied notions of some persons on here or elsewhere about ‘a third party’ being needed and such other baloney. He and the relevant others must not let such people define and perceive their prospective party as any THIRD party and with all the negative connotations that that foolishness presupposes and implies.

The Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP MUST GO!!!

20. “Artaxerxes July 3, 2015 at 12:25 PM #

Seems as though this new NUPW hierarchy has acquired some โ€œballsโ€,

๏ˆSeems that way. The Government has their role and the unions have theirs. People pay the union for representation first and foremost among other things and the perception among members ought to be that the unions are representing their interests.

21. Are they (NPUW) showing balls or political interference by flying by the seat of their pants to shut down the country under the guise of seeking resolution which is call being asked by the NUPW for an apology by govt .This kind of power play by political arch dodgers would serve no purpose in the long run but to hurt and punish the overall population of the nation . The case brought against the govt by the NUPW lacks total merit for sever action and can be classified as persons seeking retribution .The powers that be who pursue heavy handed tactics to disrupt without thought or concern for the country’s best interest would reap what they sow in due time.

Here are the Facts

Innis
    employees have not been disadvantaged. According to him, a package totalling approximately $800 000 has been worked out for the affected workers.

Inniss explained that the employees have received almost four months pay in lieu of notice, as well as all vacation paid accrued to them. Come September, 30 of the retired employees will be getting their gratuity in keeping with the laws of Barbados, he further noted.

โ€œEffective October, they should start receiving their pensions in keeping with the Pensions Act and with the Plan the BIDC has had in place over the years,โ€ the Minister said.
    Inniss pointed out further that notwithstanding the Pension Plan of the BIDC, the individuals will receive a further pension, because some of them had been employed elsewhere in the public sector prior to joining the BIDC.

The NUPW has been demanding an apology by the BIDC for not meeting with them around June 18, a request for the Corporation to withdraw the letters issued to the affected employees, and that the staff retired be paid salaries up to age 67.

Inniss stated that the NUPW had been made aware of the BIDCโ€™s position through its legal officer, who took the time to explain the law in her perspective, and what aspect of the law is applicable in the present issue.

โ€œThis is not the first time that a state-owned agency is retiring individuals who have attained age 60,โ€ the Minister said, noting it was done at the Barbados Tourism Authority.
    The Minister described the meeting was a robust one that was quite enlightening. He said that while the discussions shed a lot of discussion, it has not yielded an amicable solution.
    While also reasoning that both sides are wiser from the discussions, there was a different tone by the NUPW.

Acting NUPW General Secretary, Roslyn Smith, said they will be putting together a strategy to come up with some form of action, since nothing had changed as a result of yesterdayโ€™s meeting.

Benson Straker, Chairman of the BIDC, Sonja Trotman CEO of the BIDC, and Monica Mason-Crichlow, legal officer and Corporate Secretary of the BIDC, were among those attending the news conference held at Innissโ€™ Ministry.

The Minister said that the BIDC has been subjected to a cut in the transfers it receives from Government. He explained that the Governmentโ€™s subsidy to the BIDC has been cut by as much as 10 per cent.

โ€œThat has been further compounded by a challenge in the BIDC being able by the to collect the rents due to it in a timely fashion, to the extent that the BIDC was owed up to a few months ago in excess of $11 million in rental arrears,โ€ he said.

He said too that there is a policy whereby the Corporation has been advised to dispose of non performing assets.

โ€œThe reduction in staffing levels through retirement is only part of a bigger course of action by the BIDC to reign in expenditure, and also to boost revenue without compromising on the quality of service offered by a business support organisation in Barbados,โ€ he stated.
    He said that while the NUPW keeps referring to 13 people having been made redundant, two of them indicated their desire prior to the BIDCโ€™s Board decision to retire by August this year and another who was not appointed to his post, the matters at hand do not relate to the employee.

22. Balance

It seem like you are still asleep brother? Or had you been sleeping for quite sometime now? And I truly hope that you awake very soon and smell the fresh coffee. Do you really mean that the perception is the Union is there to represent the interest of its members? Please don’t fall prey to the Union rhetoric, which masguerades behind verisimilitude of discontent for governmental policies. While at same time, under cover of darkness, and in the back alleyways of Bridgetown cutting deals with government.

23. Agree with Adamson, a growing number of Barbadians are becoming very frustrated by the day and may continue to disengage from the process of voting etc. it creates the opportunity for others to present themselves.

24. Balance

I have said this with great emphasis before and I shall reiterate it once more: self-interest is the single most threat to our democracy today. It has and still continues to corrupt those with the highest of professional-ethics and good intentions.

25. David

I am aware of the fact that you’re in a much better position to speak authoritatively with respect to overt and covert discontent of certain elements of the Barbadian electorate. But this sentiment has and continues to be expressed in the four corner of the globe; people have grown weary of the mundane process which seeks to bring change, but all it does is intensifies the pain and suffering of those persons outside of the picket-fences.

26. Thank gosh the unions have woken up from slumber……. rather than ‘we had talks” rigmarole….

Unions are there to represent, guess what… workers! Though some would like to ignore this….. for some the sweets are more important than the work….

27. “Agree with Adamson, a growing number of Barbadians are becoming very frustrated by the day and may continue to disengage from the process of voting etc. it creates the opportunity for others to present themselves.”

Becaue they don’t understand government or governance and have this Utopian view of society even though themselves are no better than the same politicians. Politicians don’t commit corrupt practices amongst themselves, private individuals including contractors, relatives, friends, civil servants, party supporters, party members and the media facilitate it. Corruption is not just about exchanging money either, I recalled early in the 2008-13 term many here were supporting the shiite government was doing including breaking laws left, right and centre.

28. A new political party with idealistic goals might at face-value appear to be the best alternative given what we have at the present. But the question still remains: how do we muzzle that element of corruption in the process? There is an old adage with says: “When we plan, we ought to do so with the Devil in the details.” Now with that thought stewing at a simmer in our minds, hasn’t history taught us that man will never do the right thing, unless he is force to do so by the appropriate constraints which harnesses his evil passions and desire?

29. @enuff

Agree government is a mirror of society and a few good men will always have to embrace the challenge; it will always be the challenge.

30. I am not reading these “solutions” and my point remains as not even Grenville Phillips II seems to understand government and many of the solutions unfortunately appear to be playing to the gallery of the misinformed and uninformed. There lies the difference between a Political party and a political body–vote catching!!

31. My final thought for the morning. One of the Founding Fathers of the American Republican model government Sir Alexander Hamilton, who happened to be a West Indian by birth. Said these words long ago and of which I still hope, reverberates in the halls of the American Congress today: ” Why was government instituted in the first place?” He went ahead and gave his answer: ” Because the PASSIONS and DESIRES of men will not conform to the dictates of REASON and JUSTICE without CONSTRAINTS. So for Grenville Phillips’ idealistic concept of party to have any real chance of survival, he must first ask himself what he knows or believes he does already knows regarding his new idea of party can work devoid of Hamilton’s wisdom?

32. The qualms about an Apology is a blatant “red herring” so far if one read the NUPW disagreements none of their disagreement including the apology have nothing to do with the waythe govt handle or treated these ten employees ,
    Staging a war against govt flaws which have been corrected is not only disingenuous but a staged war by the NUPW which is flawed and stained and lacks basic tactics for understanding and corrective measure, if or when the NUPW decides to launch a battle against govt they must be prepared for the fall out and the backlash given by the many victims they left standing in the way. Yes bajans are concerned but bajans are also concerned about those measures to build up and not to tear down.

33. LOL @ AC
    Looks like the NUPW got wunna pissing wunna pants with their new stance… ๐Ÿ™‚
    At least you are smart enough to realise that at last, the pressure is on wunna asses … after eight years of doing bare shiite….

This action has the potential to escalate because of the TOTAL COLLECTION of damn nonsense wunna DLP jokers have been doing with impunity…

Thiefing
    Taxing
    Talking shiite
    Throwing our money away
    Terminating low paid workers while hiring more ministers
    …..Lotta shiite.

Wunna really miss Ma-money and the other DLP lackie nuh…. ha ha ha
    MONDAY IS D – DAY.
    Day does run till night catch up wid um….check yuh watch – it is dusk….

@ Dompey
    Why don’t you get a logical, consistent story and stick with it nuh…???!

Oh wait….. that is difficult when one is trolling the internet looking for ‘quotable quotes’ to use on BU in order to put on an intelligent ‘front’…. ha ha ha LOL
    Boss …if you want to sound intelligent….take a sabbatical.
    Come back in about 7 years.

34. Page 24 of BarbadosToday.

Sargassum “Solutions”

35. Moneybrain is a professional jackass he comes on BU to announce how privileged it is to be white in Barbados. What he doesn’t talk about is the monstrous crime of slavery that allowed his race to be privileged . He and his clannish ilk are fortunate the sons and daughters of slaves are God fearing (Marx described religion as the opiate of the masses) forgiving people. Over time its a miracle blacks have not retaliated for the barbaric crimes against humanity systematically carried out by Money brain’s ancestors. The inhumanity of European slave runners and owners make Hitler look tame. It is impossible to repay the debt Moneybrain’s ancestors owe Africans chained and transported for four hundred years against their will in stinking sailing coffins across the middle passage to the Americas.

As to the national strike pray tell what is the exit strategy of the NUPW and the unions. If the government does not yield to the union’s heavy handed measures what happens next. Are there plans to bring down the government? Will there be violence? The economy will be hard hit by the strike no matter how long it lasts or the result. The same workers the unions purport to represent will be hit hardest in their pockets. Moneybrain’s people will be insulated (or will they) given their privileged and wealthy station as moneybrain reminds us ad naseum.

Barbados is headed for dangerous waters. The people voted two years ago to install the DLP. The opportunity to change government comes around in 2018. The unions unwittingly for the most part are being tricked into an attempt to bring down the government before constitutionally due elections. Mary Redman and Shepherd of the teachers unions in particular relish this opportunity to hurt the government irrespective of the consequences.

The silent majority wishes common sense with an eye on the future of Barbados would be uppermost in the minds of the happy strikers. The unions are shutting down the country with broad smiles on their faces. Imagine millions of dollars possibly jobs will be lost in the key sectors from tourism to small businesses yet the union leaders are in the newspapers in a celebratory mood. The final act of national embarrassment is the nonsense unfolds under the gaze of our guests the Caricom heads of government and UN Sec Gen Ban Ke Moon.

Lord help us.

36. @ Togetherness
    Your call for moderation would be much more effective if you had made similar strong statements of moral outrage when people in high places were….
    … stealing CLICO moneys;
    ….protecting friends who stole CLICO moneys;
    ….laying off POOR VULNERABLE maids while adding MINISTERS to the payroll;
    ….Laying off 60 year-olds while keeping older JAs on payroll as ministers, Central bank governors etc who are DLP hacks.

Shiite man…..
    What do you suggest the poor, now unemployed, depressed, hopeless victims of the above shiite policies do…..?
    Grin and bare it…?
    What should the unions tell their members…? …too bad? …hard luck?

Perhaps there NEEDS to be a ‘final act of national embarrassment’ to awaken your sleeping and heartless esteemed pals….

What you sow, your ass will reap.

37. No Deputy Dawg alias bush shit . nobody is pissing in their pants or having sleepless nights about a set of parade parasite clowns lead by the opposition party (a party ) whose a,ss is heading down the wilderness again for the third time and now is in need of help ( using) known political operatives to disrupt the barbados economy on behalf of ten 10 where is the logic in that idiot , The bajan people are not foolish and are aware of the ongoing effort by the BLP to use any one who would listen to their lies of deceit by Mia a now know deceptive and defective organ of broken law/////////No bush shite the problem here is not what this govt is afraid (of ) as the govt has shown over the years that it would not cower to the dictates and self interest of a few antagonist, being fully aware of their covert actions to intimidate and govt is fully prepared to stand toe to toe against the masked disguise of illiterate goose stepping imbeciles like yourself who want to bring barbados to its knees.

38. Bushie wrote—

Why do you think they all dress up in three piece suits on Friday nights and head for Salters and other places of lodging?

They generally sell off their souls up-front in exchange for promised promotions and connections โ€ฆand once they have signed up and committed themselves to โ€˜the forces of darkness, they DARE NOT say a word later โ€“ even if they are pissed on again and againโ€ฆ.True brass bowlsโ€ฆ

The best possible slaves are chained mentally and spiritually โ€ฆ.

ABSOLUTELY CORRECT! U see we can see eye to eye!

39. @Domps
    Hamilton was not a WI he was Bermudian!

Hence Hamilton , Bermuda.

40. @Togetherness–

Dont forget to ask first for payment from the Africans who SOLD their POWS, criminals, enemies etc to Whitey!

Slavery in ALL its manifestations is WRONG! Including Black men who enslave women as prostitutes ie PIMPS, they are Slavemasters today, are U going to put a stop to that FIRST!

Are U going to stop the Slavery of Black Sudanese by dark Arabs today?

Are U going to first STOP the inner city drug trade that enslaves peeps today?

I am sure some of my ancestors were barbaric BUT I am NOT!

I am also sure some of your ancestors were barbaric, ARE U?

Are U suggesting that if your Great Grandfather had raped and murdered my Great Grandmother for no good reason, then I should be able to seek monetary rewards from U?

If I was a member of some clanish ilk, WHY would I waste time answering U on this site?

Moneybrain and “his peeps” live in Toronto because he foresaw this day 36 years ago when CORRUPT BASTARDS would RAPE and PILLAGE Bim and some absolute DUMBASSES pun here would still play partisan politics backing the THIEVES!

I foresaw the day when CLOWNS key criteria for ‘leadership” would be BLACKNESS! That has worked wonders in Africa???lol lol lol Just so you know the RACE is IRRELEVANT, it is BRAINS, COMMONSENSE, and INTEGRITY that are the critical criteria. Sir Errol was much darker than Tom BUT both were good for Bim!

What about the INHUMANITY of BLACK “leaders” in Africa in the post independence period??? Amin MURDERED 1mn+ Black people not whites! Check the Congo, Rwanda, the streets of Chicago!

It is ALL Whiteys fault! How easy, how convenient like lil kids, immature adults—always blaming everyone but themselves! The great Mikey Jackson was a philosopher who sang, “the Man in the Mirror”, TRY IT! Hold yourself to account! Try RESPONSIBILITY!

41. Take Note u BLP antagonist ,yes take note of the message that the PM Stuart delivered to the Caricom members, One of Sustainability a significant and deliberate message that is on point and conducive in structuring small nations economies. Whilst MIA solutions are built on OBSTRUCTION and SELF DESTRUCTION for herself and the Nation.Most intelligent people would understand and pursue the principles of building a secure and stable foundation for a house.or an economy to stand on.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MoneyBrain July 4, 2015 at 10:46 AM

Just a “minor” adjustment in your correction of Dompey’s โ€˜expressedโ€™ ignorance regarding “Sir” Alexander H.

Nothing to do with Bermuda where he could have sojourned on his way to โ€œAmericaโ€.
    He, the anointed Knight of Dompeyโ€™s imagination was born a “bastard” on the tiny island of Nevis. Probably a relic of a volcanic eruption you never heard of or visited. Take a trip there. Your cold-induced arthritis might just disappear as a result of the invigoratingly โ€œbalmingโ€ volcanic spring water.

Some very small places tend to produce great people. The same Nevis produced Frances Nelson (Lord (Admiral) Nelsonโ€™s spouse Fanny). Just be proud of your Barbadoes where the greatest white American Grand Master Washington was โ€˜nursedโ€™ back to health by a woman of colour, by whatever means. Ask the eponymous scapegoat Tituba from the Salem Witch Trials, if you are in doubt.

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Looks like the new NUPW stance has indeed got the yardfowl rattled. MInister Inniss’, AC’s and Togetherness’ contributions says so.

Taken at face value, all the union seems to be doing, at this stage, is calling for a march against the anti old-age policy of the Government, nothing more, and they are running scared. It leads one to wonder what might have happened if the NUPW and the other union had taken a more traditional Union stance when the Government was sending home the 6,000 and treating them with harsh disdain under the protection of a clearly bought union leadership.

Togetherness’ contribution taken at face value sounds reasonable but it is actually a poisoned chalice designed to maintain the current status quo while frightening the people with the dire consequences of a simple march.

They are actually afraid of what it presages and of the Union growing back some of its teeth and what might happen to this Government if they are allowed to regain some standing in the minds of the people. eg. Pension day might not come.

I say, let the union at last try to regain some of its past glory by doing something that has been standard Union policy but has been too long in coming in the present circumstances. Let the Government see that it will have to listen to the common folk in determining strategies for correcting its past heinous mistakes and come better in developing such strategies for the benefit of the entire country.

Let the business people carry a bit of the burden for once. The effects of one march is overstated and can be accomodated. They won’t suffer if Government is brought down a peg or so in acceeding to the demands of the NUPW. Indeed, the blowing of that safety valve may save them in the fulness of time.

Re. Ban Ki Moon and the conference; Let the Government take a bit of the perceived shame. All the HoGs know that in their own countries, with perhaps the exception of some northern ones, the NUPW’s reaction is no different to what they would have got in their own countries if they had taken the same kind of action. So our Government is only crying crocodile tears to get the Union from doing what it has to do.

It is time that the Union has a victory against a repressive government that has lost its people based moorings.

44. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@ David, in Bajan parlance your remarks are proper, ” A third party does not have to win an election to contribute to the governance system”. And I completely also agree with you that “We have to unshackle our minds”.

Grenville is not a politician but rather a policy wont/technocrat. He wants to drive a powerful public debate on governance and all right thinking people should strongly support that effort.

The concept of a political party and all the things that entails is not beyond Mr Phillips but he himself has clearly stated that his goal is to lead change and NOT be a political representative.

Frankly his comments clearly indicate he has no conviction to seek representative politics.

So I look forward to Greville’s efforts driving the smart and disenchanted non BLP/DLP characters here on BU and throughout Bdos into a formidable spear that continually pricks the politicians in the backside.

A positive, independent voice of reason and integrity holding politicians responsible to be transparent.

If his efforts result in such a well-oiled group who continually hold the feet of our politicians to the fire by for example publicly spelling out the sham into which CLICO devolved as permitted by both Thompson and Arthur and others, or by clearly spelling out to the public why the Lowe and Lashley issue is a blatant conflict and an action of disrepute then Grenville’s efforts will go down as the most important event in the history of this country… bar none!

Grenville has set a tone but we must not get bamboozled with the ‘third party’ pronouncement. That is not crucial…it is about change and driving transparency.

Can this be a true force for transparency in governance…Lord knows we need it!

A few men and women of integrity, intelligence, the right connections and sources can completely reform our country. If one or two of them happen to be MPs then even the better.

45. @ Money B
    Are U going to stop the Slavery of Black Sudanese by dark Arabs today?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Wuh you gone very far boss…
    How about the selling into slavery of black Bajans right before our eyes..?
    What the hell do you think is happening as Stinkliar and Noddy Froon concoct multi-million dollar deals with every Tom Dick and Butch to sell our black asses to foreign modern day slavers?
    What is the difference between Cable and Wireless and any of the fifteenth century expatriate plantation owners…?
    How is Emera different to 18th century Bennetts Plantation?

Same shiite …different set of brass bowls.

Also, you said…
    ” I foresaw the day when CLOWNS key criteria for โ€˜leadershipโ€ would be BLACKNESS! ”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    But…
    do you also recall the day when the criteria was WHITENESS!?
    Is that day even ended yet….?
    Where the hell do you think Blacks got that policy from….?
    …remember why your father sold out to Trickidadians…?

46. Lowdown Hoad’s column makes interesting reading this week Bushie. Some will say it is foolish talk to question how the Trini-invasion caused in the disappearance of Bajan businesses and custom. If we don’t change quickly we will die.

47. What a bunch of Empty head retards following a leader who has not given or added by way of intelligent banter to the nation economy. History would show that Mia Boisterous and misspent actions could have been better spent by defining her as a leader for change and not a leader spending time in the cavities of ole politics which has now become an empty shell and a dying industry,
    The PM spot light at the Caricom conference was another defining moment for Barbados to be seen as a beacon of hope for other small nation struggling with the same economic problems as Barbados///////////as barbados took the control of wading its self out of the clutches of disaster through the help and willingness and strength of the people putting their love of country First
    History would record such a moment in time as a defining moment of CHANGE and for all that have been said by the naysayers History would have once again forced the BLP naysayers to admit they were wrong

48. From the topical solutions page “Every Barbadian family should then start a home-based family business and start converting the abundant God-sent Sargassum seaweed into powder, with no waste products, and no utility energy requirements. All children in the family should participate.”

Every Barbadian family ? So you are going to spread Sargassum all over Barbados. What happens when it rains? Will each househould be required to build a storage shed?

I like the idea of “Every household” having a home based business but……

49. @Bushie–

My Dad wanted the best price and to grow the Coy/ create jobs (he only sold 67% not all)—it was all fulfilled, in a nasty environment with Oil prices going from $3 to $40. Bigger and better today!!! Excellent decision for Bim, more $$$ flowing in the system, as money came in not out.

I recall all kinda days that was wusser BUT this is about today and the future and race/ Shade should not be a criteria. Please be sure that I live in TO with white idiots running the City, Prov and Country!

Imagine we have a murderer asking for parole after killing at least 3 teenagers and raping at least 14 females FOR CERTAIN. Bastard should have been disposed off 20 yrs ago BUT now the parents of these females will go threw at least 2 yrs of reliving this horror. SOB costs $150K a year to house in segregation , that money could have been used for education/ healthcare etc.

50. @Hants–
    Yes be entrepreneurial was a good stopping point.