The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. “If you suggest that she may have determined that the matter was more politically advantageous to her if left out of court, then you may also want to speculate as to whether such a person portends to be a good national leaderโ€ฆ.or if Owen was rightโ€ฆ”

Owen made certain revelations during his leadership of the opposition eg use of pumps at Transport board to fuel PSV’S and did not follow up either.

2. Here we go again trying to kick dust. A lot of misinformation by the mouthing of those who felt compelled to derail the WTE project by any means necessary. The PM interaction was necessary to set the record straight against a background of classified daily hogwash delivered as factual and correct by noise makers
    Hopefully the PM intervention would put all this doubt fueled by speculation to rest

3. @AC… Thus, why I maintain the Cahill Plasma Gasification project action by the ministers was enabled by a lack of ITAL and FOIA. #poorgovernancebarbados

4. @ Kammie Holder

Do not pay any attention to the political spin that the AC consortium is attempting to apply to this situation.

Freundel Stuart has obviously bowed to the pressure of the concerns raised by the public and special interest groups relative to the CAHILL project. The pressure was first felt by Donville โ€œOrgasm.comโ€ Inniss, who hypocritically joined the facebook group.

Essentially, Stuart used the political rhetorical diatribe that usually comes from his mouth to โ€œcamouflageโ€ the fact that he has been forced to โ€œeat crowโ€ and admit that government MUST ENGAGE the Barbadian public in discussion before the CAHILL project can be undertaken.

This was all people were asking for, but Stuart and the DLP zealots were making it seems as though people were opposed to the project and garbage disposal.

Hence, despite all the political innuendo shiite talk that Stuart spewed, this is a VICTORY for Kammie Holder and all those involved who were rightfully seeking ACCOUNTABILITY and TRANSPARENCY in this issue.

5. It must take a special kind of fool to give any credence to assurances from a man who promised not to charge for education; who promised quick action for the NCC workers; who promised FOI; …and who only talks to old tourists and yardfowls….
    But there are plenty brass bowls around….

6. Listen there was an agreement signed in respect to having the possibility of a WTE energy . What transpired after via social media was a concerted to slash and burn the project. There was no attempt by govt to hide or conceal information since govt officially in good faith and transparency released the news of the WTE project via differing news outlet. Suffice to say that was not enough as an avalanche of toxic information took foothold against unrelentless attacks.
    Hopefully the PM interaction would have pushed back and put the issue on a path which directs to the necessity for an efficient and viable waste and energy programme giving nitpickers and heel bitters something to talk about..but i doubt very much

7. @ac, you selfishly defend poor governance like BLP operatives during the Greenland madness. $30M and rising due to arrogance and stubborness of a BLP government. Perhaps, when selfishness was shared you got the lion share just to promote your political party`s initiatives irrespective if it meant sending persons to gas chambers!

Will you ever get the conscience to ever put country before party as Donville Inniss has done?

8. Just noticed the price of the condo dropped by $400k+ to 6.38million
    She has to be upsidedown in this thing
    The $1.5m loan can only have gone to pay down the first mortage taxes maintenance and old bebts
    She can’t have used it to advance the plasma project as there is nothing to show for the time elapsed

9. If she can afford a lawyer to defend the case she should have paid the monthly payments it will most certainly cost 40 to 50k to settle this and months to sort
    Surely the government have a right to rule that she is insolvent and no longer in a financial position to complete this project. Bigger issue is bringing the government of Barbados into disrepute has to be grounds to terminate.
    The only thing she has for sale is a tainted contract which is essentially in breach and worthless.

10. @Claire Cowan

We know you monitor this blog, we are open to sharing your side of the story. Based on the prime minister’s intervention and the PR being peddled by minister Inniss it is clear the Cahill project will slip under government’s radar.

Hurray for citizen power!!!

11. @Claire Cowen

Piss off and look for another Government to rape and pillage and leave Barbados and Barbadians alone.

12. Fruendel Stuart is an arrogant, pompous individual that condescendingly dismisses the concerns of people who may not necessarily share the views of the DLP or, as is their right, question or constructively criticize any policy the party may want to implement.

Stuart demonstrated his arrogance when he told those temporary government workers that were concerned about the tenure of their employment:

โ€œLetโ€™s be very frank โ€“ there are people in the public sector who are temporary employees. When I last checked the dictionary, temporary still meant โ€˜for the time beingโ€™. [Barbados Advocate, September 3, 2013]

Recently, he used pejorative statements to describe the new Union leadership to the amusement of the DLP faithful, who immediately โ€œjumped on the band-wagonโ€ to gave us a similar performance.

Barbadians are voicing legitimate concerns about the CAHILL project and rather than reminding himself that โ€œa soft answer turns away wrath,โ€ Stuart is dismissing these concerns by using terse statements, for example:

โ€œSo a lot of the incoherent noises you are hearing on this issueโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€

โ€œPeople always ask me questions about this and I say โ€˜look, if I am not the person who wound you up, donโ€™t come to me to unwind you.โ€™โ€ฆ.โ€

โ€œSo donโ€™t let anybody confuse you, trying to create alarm and despondency.โ€

Stuart is fully aware that he cannot engage the public on the CAHILL issue in this manner, because he would be confronted by a number of pertinent questions, which he would be obligated to answer.
    That is why he prefers the โ€œsafetyโ€ of George Street or DLP constituency branch meetings where his entire political diatribe will be โ€œeaten upโ€ by gullible DLP yard-fowls, who enjoy hearing Stuart talking shiite and INSULTING other Barbadians.

I hope during the next election campaign, Stuart and the DLP CONFINE THEIR ATTEMPTS at soliciting votes within the confines of their George Street headquarters and amongst those that attend the constituency branch meetings.

Remember Stuart, during his third term in office, Owen Arthur began to display arrogance similar to what you have adopted and doing shiite like what the DLP is currently doing.

Arthur lost the 2008 general elections; the next elections will be held in 2018. Bear in mind Fruendel, there is an EIGHT at the end of both yearsโ€ฆโ€ฆ 200(8) and 201(8).

13. Looka Bushie’s crosses nuh!!

David invites the woman to come and share her side of the story on HIS blog….
    …and wee Willie wrinkle tells her to piss off…

Lord come fuh yuh wirl…

14. Mocking bird September 15, 2015 at 9:06 AM #

“Just noticed the price of the condo dropped by $400k+ to 6.38million
    She has to be upsidedown in this thing
    The $1.5m loan can only have gone to pay down the first mortage taxes maintenance and old bebts
    She canโ€™t have used it to advance the plasma project as there is nothing to show for the time elapsed”

Good eye to pick up the price drop. $6,988.000 and $6,800.000 asking prices were obviously too high.

Having paid $6,524,245 she is under water.

I am not so sure that the $1,500,000 was to pay down the first – more likely to pay other debts or to secure payment of other debts incurred in the Cahill scheme.

15. @are-we-there-yet September 14, 2015 at 5:55 PM #

This is an excellent analysis of this whole situation and after listening to the PM on DLPTV last night, your post makes absolute sense.

He said when an application comes across his desk, he tells the PS to arrange a site visit and in this Cahill case a land acquisition has to be brought to the House. So if he does not do the site visit nor a land acquisition is not brought to the House, the deal just stall.

Brilliant……………this is his only way out!

16. @are-we-there-yet September 14, 2015 at 11:20 PM #

Wonder if a good swap might be for the Government to surreptitiously, through a kind hearted donor, pay off her debts for the Condo in exchange for silence and the shredding of the incriminating agreements. That way Ms Cowan loses nothing for her efforts, Barbados wins as the PG project will be no more but will be replaced by sensible AE solutions , The Ministers win as they wonโ€™t face any court, the PM wins and Mia can claim that her spilling of the info in the BUdget debate was the real reason for its demise.

Your mind works like a Minister of Government.

Which one are you?

Perhaps FS and MECC will be able to hash out the details at the condo, while the PM is in Toronto to speak to the party faithful at the Errol Barrow Memorial Dinner on Saturday – September 19.

17. @ Artaxerxes September 15, 2015 at 10:52 AM #

Fruendel Stuart is an arrogant, pompous individual that condescendingly dismisses the concerns of people who may not necessarily share the views of the DLP or, as is their right, question or constructively criticize any policy the party may want to implement……………………

Excellent post, Artaxerxes.

As much as I did not like David Thompson’s brand of politics, I am forced to say that I regret the day he died and that this arrogant pompous moron rose to become PM. Dead wood always floats to the top.

Although I never really knew Freundel Stuart (met him a few times during our children’s time at Foundation) I never imagined that this man could be so arrogant, pompous, condescending and aloof………..to say it in Bajan parlance……………the man behaves like he got what he never expected!

I am so sick of him!

18. @DD

She has a lot to show for the CAD$1.5M. She has signed 1) MOU, 2) Implementation Agreement and 3) Power Purchase Agreement. That is a lot of ink and I would think CAD$1.5M just about the covers the ‘costs’ to get to such and advantageous position with a non-project.

19. What we need to know is what is the extent of the SSA, Ministry of Finance/Energy or GOB’s out of pocket expenses paid to Cahill and or its consultants. This is where the riddle in this whole saga resides. Someone has made a SHITLOAD of MONEY off of the CAHILL scam.

20. DD re. your 11:40 am post

I was merely trying to think of what actions (or inactions) might precipitate a win-win situation in the CAHILL affair at this stage.

I’ve never been nor ever will be a Government Minister and my analysis therefore does not come from ever being a Minister. But I’ve worked fairly closely with a few of them on both sides of the Barbados political spectrum and I don’t trust any of them. They might start out OK but eventually falter. The Ministers in this Government seem to have started out at an amorality level that other previous governments took many years to reach and appear to have progressed steadily downhill since then.

21. All we need to see now are copies of the signed Cahill MOUs/Agreements and the house of cards will surely collapse before our very eyes…..

22. Some are holding the view it does not matter what agreements/memoranda were signed by ministers,it is the TP approval and other prerequisite approvals from the PM etc that count!

23. All that matters now is that the contracts are breached and voided
    Unfortunately there are signed contracts and she may have to sue the gob for penalty’s which should be there to protect the gob and her both
    If she’s bankrupt they good luck with suing these dead beats.
    The land acquisition and transfer is the key
    No land transfer no project to sell.
    I wonder if the infrastar guys are still in the game and have they seen the statement of claim against her
    Also its clear to everyone now that Cahill energy is indeed a shell penny stock company . soon to be posting a new Toronto address.on Jane and finch

24. $700 million project.

$ 7 million in “exit” legal fees.

The Lawyers win again…..cha ching!

25. Statement by Dale Marshall

By a Press Release published by Cahill Energy dated17th March, 2014, the following was made public:
    “Guernsey-based Cahill Energy is delighted to announce it signed (sic) a historic agreement with the Government of Barbados on 15th March 2014 to build and operate leading clean energy plant on the Caribbean island.”

Locally, at around the same time, Ministers Lowe, Sinckler and Boyce, along with a cadre of public servants, made the same announcement to the country. The photograph of the signing was published in the local newspapers and also shown on television.

Now, there can be no doubt as to what was proclaimed by Cahill and the Cabinet Ministers. They proclaimed that they “had signed an agreement with Cahill Energy” to build this plant.

Now, I don’t know where Freundel Stuart was when this signing was taking place, but from his comments at yesterdays St. James South DLP branch meeting, it obviously was done without his knowledge!

It is reported that Prime Minister stated that there can be no Cahill plant without his “say so”, but clearly no one told his Ministers!

Without the Prime Minister’s “say so”, DLP Ministers boldly signed a contract agreeing to Cahill building the plant, agreeing to the cost, agreeing to the location, agreeing to buy the energy that the plant may or may not produce, agreeing to the importation of solid waste including vehicle tyres for burning in the plant, agreeing to the tax concessions….. And all
    The Prime Minister Stuart can say 18 months later, is that it still has to come to him.

What a laughably poor example of governance and leadership! It is no wonder that we are no longer taken seriously as a nation. One wonders what other agreements his Ministers may have made in our name in this way.

In our system of cabinet governance, the de union of the Cabinet binds all members of the Cabinet and binds the country. Are we to assume Mr. Prime Minister, that signing the Cahill agreement, was not approved by Cabinet? It is the only logical conclusion that we can draw, since you do not consider yourself to be bound by the agreement.

We are happy for that, since it might allow us to escape from this gallows, but what of our Nation’s reputation and the damage done to it along the way? Will people be willing to enter into solemn agreements with our country, not k owing if it has the support of the Government, or if it was signed only by the wild antics of rogue Ministers…..

In a sense, either way we turn, we cannot win. If we honour the contract entered into by these rogue Ministers, we are likely doomed. On the other hand, if we wiggle out of it following this feeble argument/stance of the Prime Minister, our sovereign reputation becomes worthless.

How long must we endure these bunglings? How long must we endure these bunglers?

P

26. @hants
    Not necessarily Cahill has to be a solvent viable company under normal rules of engagement an act of insolvency or gross impropriety should be enough to cansel the contracts
    Lex Caribbean must be reeling with nerves right now

27. Just to change the subject a little though in the same realm of signing deals.

I was watching cricket this morning before heading out and realised that Barbados is still sponsoring the Hampshire Cricket Club. Now I am not saying that we do not have to advertise but do we have the marketing dollars to sponsor a British cricket team now for the last few years?

Would it not be better to pay for advertising at the grounds of a few of the test matches during the summer? Who make these boneheaded decisions?

A relative of mine was chosen to go on a youth conference to represent Barbados. He went to the BTA (or whatever it is now called) to get some paraphernalia as he was asked to bring to the conference and would you believe that they had nothing to give to him?

This DLP government has brought a once proud Barbados to its knees!

28. you always bitching .

29. Dale Marshall look who is talking Dale ammm Who,,,

30. @David September 15, 2015 at 4:24 PM “Statement by Dale Marshall. Now, I donโ€™t know where Freundel Stuart was when this signing was taking place, but from his comments at yesterdays St. James South DLP branch meeting, it obviously was done without his knowledge!”

Excuse me Dale and David:

I thought that we had Cabinet government, and my understanding is that even though ever bread-and -fish matter does not have to come to Cabinet I would have thought that it would be a common sense thing that a multi-million dollar project would/should have come to the attention of the entire Cabinet.

Was I wrong?

31. @Simple Simon

Yours is a reasonable assumption.

32. @David September 15, 2015 at 4:24 PM “or if it was signed only by the wild antics of rogue Ministersโ€ฆ..”

Well sometime ago Owen Arthur talked about a bunch of wild boys.

I wonder if this means that Owen was right.

33. Good statement by Marshall.
    When Fumble remains silent he comes across as asleep and disconnected.
    When he speaks he comes across as clueless and simplistic … somewhat like AC…

Talk bout a rock and a hard place….

34. Bush shite how many converts you got for yuh ten point plan ?

35. With respect Mr Bushie but 880+ remarks into this blog and the blog master posts remarks by an esteemed former and possibly future Attorney General which effectively retells what has already been said here extensively and pellucidly and you call it a ‘good statement’.

I suggest that ‘a good statement’ from the learned gentleman might advise how we can overcome the ineffectual and insidious workings of the current cabinet on this Cahill deal.

‘A good statement’ relying on his legal knowledge might offer further insight into the fact that missing EIA and other regulatory requirements offer high hurdles that can block this project. Comments expounded by Mr Lennie St. Hill.

All of these comments and more are part of the nearly 900 remarks thus far and we get this self serving political palaver from Mr Marshall.

Sounds like is political posturing and not the words of a a leading legal brain looking to safeguard the livelihood of his countrymen. That does not seem to interest him at this point; rather he looks to score political points.

What pray tell is good about that on a major debacle like this!

36. Dale Marshall please telll us the exact finding surrounding the fire at glendairy prison,

37. @ Simple Simon September 15, 2015 at 7:11 PM #

“Excuse me Dale and David:

I thought that we had Cabinet government, and my understanding is that even though ever bread-and -fish matter does not have to come to Cabinet I would have thought that it would be a common sense thing that a multi-million dollar project would/should have come to the attention of the entire Cabinet.

Was I wrong?”
    ……………………………………………………………………..

Simple,

It is alleged……but talk around the cocktail circuit was that when the deal was brought to cabinet, the PM was on one of his frequent jaunts. It is alleged that the deal was conveniently brought to cabinet when the tourism minister was acting Prime Minister. As I said this is what is being alleged!

There maybe some truth to this talk as when Mia dropped the bombshell during the debate, the PM appeared shocked, never mind he tried to defend his ministers somewhat. Now it seems that he is emboldened now that Inniss is on his side with this one…..hence the talk at Donville’s meeting last Sunday!

38. oh Dale while yuh scratching yuh brain trying tuh remember tell US everything about Veco,

39. Seems as if these government ministers think that only dems matter. We can only find out what their plans for Barbados are when they speak at their branch meetings.

Now we find out from Maxine McClean that there will be year long celebrations for the 50th anniversary next year. Hope she is not in charge as there was a lot of talk after the dead king’s funeral about how incompetent she was and had not the public servants, the whole thing would have be a shamble.

I wonder where the money will come from for this year long show!

40. David September 15, 2015 at 3:47 PM #
    “Some are holding the view it does not matter what agreements/memoranda were signed by ministers,it is the TP approval and other prerequisite approvals from the PM etc that count!”

Au contraire. Surely it would be proof positive that Stuart is neither in control, nor has a clue what is going on and that a number of his ministers are playing fast and loose with the lives of the people of Barbados.

41. David September 14, 2015 at 7:48 PM #

Nice pad!

On 14 September 2015 at 23:43, Barbados Underground wrote:

Let mew tell you something David. Pictures lie Nothing in the place belongs to her. It has all been rented and staged to give the appearance that she is a wealthy upstanding member of society and not the broke sceamer she really is. All her own stuff is sitting in a storage locker somewhere, stinking of smoke and covered in cigarette burns. No wonder she cant sell the joint, it smells like an ashtray and you cant go onto the terraces for the smell of dogshit since she lets her dogs use it as their personal toilet. She owes thousands of dollars to the staging company for her rental charges so they are just one more company that will probably never see payment from her.

I cannot believe that there are still people on this blog that believe in her and her money grabbing scheme and are still defending her. Her plants perhaps ???

Let’s hope she loses her court battle to her mortgage holder and moves into a women’s shelter. But then again, they probably won’t take her because she would have to give up her booze and her dogs as a condition of living there. Perhaps Ashley’s fine furniture has a big cardboard box they can give to her to live in.

42. Everyone on here keeps talking about the three contracts that this shyster signed with the Government and yet no one seems to have really seen them. Surely someone has a copy of these. If so, do us all a favour and post them for all to see and finally bring down this Canadian con artist once and for all. Put her out of her misery, and ours so that we Bajans can put this embarrassment behind us and get on with our lives.

If this kind of nonsense happened in any other country they would have her ass in jail and it would have been dealt with months ago. No wonder the rest of the world looks at Barbados as stupid and uneducated, because we are if we let this woman get away with conning us. It is time to put a stop to this.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Larry King September 15, 2015 at 11:39 PM
    โ€œIf this kind of nonsense happened in any other country they would have her ass in jail and it would have been dealt with months ago.โ€

And what about the “Ministers of the Crown” who aided and abetted in the scam? Where should there be? Like Leroy โ€œGreenverbsโ€ Parris; free to walk the streets and flaunt their ill-gotten gains?
    What should happen to them, if not sent to Dodds; just like the stupid boys who robbed the Tapas Bar? Or are you seeing them as just innocent stupid naรฏve fools tricked by some smart-ass white Canadian woman in exchanged for a bit of โ€œcrumpitโ€?

Take a rain-check, mate! This is just another โ€˜get-rich-quickโ€™ scheme hatched right in sunny Bridgetown by some of the most crooked local conmen spearheaded by Quisling Boyce.

44. Agree the time has come to see those agreements initialed by the four ministers

45. LAW definition

What is AGREEMENT?

A concord of understanding and intention, between two or more parties, with respect to the effect upon their relative rights and duties, of certain past or future facts or performances. The act of two or more persons, who unite in expressing a mutual and common purpose, with the view of altering their rights and obligations. A coming together of parties in opinion or determination; the union of two or more minds in a thing done or to be done; a mutual assent to do a thing. โ€œAgreement,โ€ A 1. The consent of two or more persons concurring, the one in parting with, the other in receiving, some property, right, or benefit. Bac. Abr. A promise, or undertaking. This is a loose and incorrect sense of the word. Wain v. Warlters. 5 East. 11. The writing or instrument which is evidence of an agreement. Classification. Agreements are of the following several descriptions, viz.: Conditional agreements, the operation and effect of which depend upon the existence of a supposed state of facts, or the performance of a condition, or the happening of a contingency. Executed agreements, which have reference to past events, or which are at once closed and where nothing further remains to be done by the parties. Executory agreements are such as are to be performed in the future. They are commonly preliminary to other more formal or important contracts or deeds, and are usually evidenced by memoranda, parol promises, etc. Express agreements are those in which the terms and stipulations are specifically declared and avowed by the parties at the time of making the agreement.

46. When you work out the front and back ‘fees’ paid out from
    GOB
    1) Pierhead Marina $40M
    2) Sugar Point $30M
    3) BHP Billiton $??M
    4) Antilles Oil $??M
    5) BTI Masterplan $8M

Darcy is surely one rich mother _u_ker

47. Thine ignorance knows no bounds.

48. @Alvin

You have extrapolated based on generalisms?

49. What would be interesting to establish is whether PM Stuart presided over Cabinet when the Cahill matter was discussed. In the recent budget debate the frontbench took responsibility for acknowledging the agreement. If the PM was present why would have allowed the country to become embroiled in the Cahill discussion without intervening in the way he did this weekend to a DLP audience. If it is true Richard Sealy presided over Cabinet it explains how flustered he appeared in his contribution to the budget debate. If the PM wants to censure him who can he turn to anyway. Reappoint Jones? Elevate the blindly loyal Kellman? What about Inniss who has obvious ambition. Sinckler has the talking head of the E11 is out.

50. @david
    only last week the PM travelled to Dominica and left Estwick, to act as PM. If Minister Darcy Boyce was involved in CAHILL, and we know he was, then for certain the PM knows (and knew then) fully the details of the WTE scam that is CAHILL. Get real, you think Minister Boyce is where he is because of some special or exclusive managerial or Ministerial skill he possesses?