The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. New waste project coming from local company.

2. You could soon be getting your waste cherry picked.

Interesting times ahead.

3. Interesting times indeed
    If Cahill believe that all the garbage on the island is legally theirs will this new venture be stealing Cowan’s garbage???
    When does our garbage become her garbage ??? In our trach can in our kitchen ? In our trach cans inside our fences ? Or once at the kerb ??
    This new venture will reduce the tonnage a day to SBRC by ????
    Does the 450 tonnes a day agreed by the government to the plasma plant now become an unattainable target and if so what is the real TPD available to the farcical plasma project

4. Nothing is approved.

5. Interesting, perhaps those who gave Cahill undertaking the Barbados Waste Market is all theirs may not have a pay day or money going to any foreign accounts after all. Life is funny

6. And the land transfer???
    Once ownership of the approx 15 acres is transfered to Cahill free gratis how will she be stopped from selling it on to pay off the debts she has racked up with lawyers consultants accountants and all those who believed her nonsense??
    Where are the S3/S4 documents for this subdivision of the larger energy park site

7. Why must the government vest crown lands to Cahill? The Coverley Villages project arrangement of leasing is an option if the government is hell bent on moving forward.

8. @ David,

What do you think of the Anderson Cherry proposal ?

9. The government is not only obliged to vest the site to them for free they are obliged to vest Cahill an alternative site should the contracted site be found unsuitable . who in there right mind would sign up to such an onerous requirement
    Surely to Christ the bearing capacity of the site should have been determined before a contract was signed to use this site
    On the Cahill side they don’t even know what the plant will look like never mind the load bearing requirements of the equipment or buildings !!!
    Curiouser and curiouser
    Will it ever end

10. @Hants

Conceptually it is good but like all issues this is being politicized.

11. @ David,

Cherry’s “concept” is similar to the Toronto model. Every household is required to separate waste. garbage, recycle, food waste. Grey bin, blue bin, green bin.

The difference is that the collection is all done by the Toronto (SSA).

It seems that the Barbados SSA would be reduced to picking up garbage and hazardous waste.

The only problem I have with Cherry’s concept is the dependence on another country or countries to accept the waste he collects.

At least we have an apparently homegrown solution to consider.

http://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=03ec433112b02410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD#compid_84eee160bc922410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

12. A big issue is legislation ton allow for non compliance. We have to build the total framework to support recycling.

13. @ David,

Cherry mentioned November 2016 as a possible start date.

That should be enough time to clear the track and make his concept work.

14. Not sure the government will be a willing player. Do you know B’s Recycling appears to be on its last legs?

15. @ David,

That may be the reason Cherry appears so “confident”.

He could be the Recycling king of Barbados if B’s folds.

16. @David

Not sure the government will be a willing player. Do you know Bโ€™s Recycling appears to be on its last legs?

Yet they will continue to support and deal with this crazy Canadian scammer
    To the detriment of local enterprises

17. @Hants,

You forgot the black bin for paper. We put out the green bin every week. Garbage and blue bin one week and black bin the other. Leaves and other garden waste can go in the green bin, but is picked up every week in spring and fall in brown yard bags. Branches for recycling have to be in four foot lengths and bundled unless it is a large bough, then it is collected as is.

18. @Pat,

We do not have black bins in Toronto where I live. Green every week. Blue and Grey every other week.

19. It all makes sense now. I have watched this Cahill thing grow in infamy for months now and couldn’t get my head round who this woman is and where did she come from .
    I just came back from Montreal where I lecture every once in a while.
    I came across this woman Elenor Cowan who is a teacher /writer and read some of her publications a few years ago. Then it dawned on me !!!! this woman is related to this woman that the BU is making headlines with back in Barbados.
    And right enough it is .
    The life story is horrendous and dam it if it doesn’t explain the irratic,irrational behaviour of this woman.
    What is strange about this is the fact that the government didn’t do a proper security check on this woman .
    I’m not saying that people from disturbed backgrounds don’t pull through the childhood hardships they encounter but having re read some of her sisters works I can only conclude that this woman has never sought professional help of if she has then she really needs to continue the therapy.
    Check out the secret life and untold story for yourself

Eleanorcowan.ca

20. “BL&P has signed a contract with the South American company Grupotec to build the largest solar photovoltaic plant in Barbados. The 10 megawatt solar facility will be built at Trents, St Lucy as part of the power companyโ€™s renewable energy strategy for Barbados, and will cost over $40 million.”

21. @ Hants
    How the hell you know so much bout Bajan business and you all the way in Canada?
    oh…you got shares in Emera nuh..?? LOL

Answer this question fuh Bushie then…

After it has been shown that it is completely feasible for Bajans to own their OWN personal Solar systems; to generate electricity, employment AND independence from these ‘sLIMEy’ international utilities ….why the hell should EMERA be allowed to now grab this market – especially by using the FTC to limit and frustrate Bajans who have been seeking to take that step?
    All along BL&P were talking shiite about how solar was ‘too expensive’ – while they were passing on the ridiculous oil prices to customers at $100 per barrel …. suddenly, just as a grass roots solar explosion begins, they see fit to invest $40 M ??? …while co-incidentally, locals cannot get permission to install solar?

…sounds like a lotta shiite to Bushie….. !!

WAIT…. But Jeff will sort out that shiite shortly …ent it? ๐Ÿ™‚

22. The life and times of Clare Cowan
    It all falls into place indeed!!!!!!!
    This explains quite a lot about this crazy person !!!!!
    How can a group of ministers not have known that this woman was/is unstable and has these sort of issues clouding her past
    My hats off to her for effort.
    That aside this is still not an project that this island nation is ready for
    The government need to put a halt to this nonsense and do it soon .

23. $40mx4= $160m vr $700m = no brainer.
    Solar = low risk
    Plasma gasification = ticking time bomb

You don’t have to be a political guru to figure this one out ….
    Even if there are penalties on the crazy Canadians stupid contract the ROI on the solar farms has to outweigh the plasma nonsense

24. @RasterR

You have focused on energy production only, do not forget there is meant to be a waster to energy component.

25. @david
    That’s true David however the recycling and waste management that could & should be done it tandem with solar and other renewable energy production will form additional revenue streams and minimise land fill needs
    3000 acres of land for king grass/ river tamarind versus 200 acres ( my guess) on the solar requirements it all fits a renewable strategy that could work to all our benefit on the island plus keeping the revenue on the island and growing the construction/ labour base here and not bringing in forgein labour to export our $$$$$$$$$`s

26. Seems like we are allowing this Cahill thing to fade away into oblivion !!!
    The government are playing a blinder on this thing
    Say nothing and it will go away if its own accord.
    Labour day is coming to a close
    And still no word on the investors or the start of construction (tongue in cheek)
    We need to step up the fight once again and keep the pressure on all sides to kill this thing
    “Come on Barbados let’s get this fight going again”

27. @ Mockingbird
    …you know that if Bushie was leader of the opposition there would be a BIG sign mounted strategically saying “TELL US ABOUT CAHILL, Mr. PM”
    …ever time they move it, they would have to find the new location and remove it again..(…and knowing our public service, that would take weeks…)

…but then again if Bushie was a CLICO policyholder there would ALSO be one saying “TELL US ABOUT CLICO, Mr. PM”

…and if the shiite tax had continued, one saying “TELL US ABOUT THE SHIITE TAX, Mr PM”

…and if Bushie worked at Parks and Beaches, one saying ‘TELL US ABOUT THE TRIBUNAL, Mr PM”

…perhaps we should ask the PM to submit a proof-of-life certificate like pensioners are required to do… suppose the poor man dead as shiite …and we still paying he…? ๐Ÿ™‚

28. In court trying to keep her condo I suspect

29. Encourage BU commenters to follow minister Inniss’ updates on this matter on the Facebook group. Perhaps progress being made.

30. Looks like she survived the motion hearing this morning
    I had an old buddy of mine sit in at the hearing
    She wasn’t there but a lawyer called Tim Gleason defended her.
    Another Bajan attended the hearing
    So it will be interesting to see what he has to sayon the matter.

31. @Mockingbird

Expand on survived the motion.

32. For those who are not philosophical inclined it would be very hard to understand the decision making of the PM. His philosophical attributes are one of his greatest weapons which confounds and deters his loudest critics. His response to the Cahill issue can be interpreted many ways.However into those whose minds has only one option “political” without vision his answer can be blurred and confusing..However the bottom line would always be waste control and reduce energy whether it be Cahill or Brouha Hill that is the goal in mind to be accomplished

33. @RastaR September 14, 2015 at 11:32 AM “In court trying to keep her condo I suspect”

So what if she loses the condo?

She can always move into Toronto Community Housing: http://www.torontohousing.ca/

34. David/Mockingbird

While the discussion of this morningโ€™s hearing might been more appropriate in the ridgemount-fs-ltd-and-claire-cowan-statement-of-claim-court-case-cv-15-535661/ blog, I will respond here.

DD is no expert on legal matters; but, does not think it is accurate to say that โ€œshe survived the motion hearing this morningโ€ or that โ€œa lawyer called Tim Gleason defended her.โ€

The lawyer who was at the hearing, sort of, on MECCโ€™s behalf said that he or his firm had been contacted by MECC on Friday, but the firm had not been engaged yet, so he could not argue her case.

The lawyer from the law firm of Gardiner Roberts LLC acting for the plaintiff, Ridgemount, argued that, as interest is accruing at $710.00 per day, there is some urgency to grant possession of the mortgaged property, 4803 50 Yorkville, to Ridgemount so the property may be sold; and with a first mortgage of $4,000.000.00 ahead of the Ridgemount mortgage, the equity in the mortgaged property is eroding quickly.

The Judge ordered that the parties reappear next Monday, to set a date to hear the plaintiffโ€™s motion.

DD will leave it up to Mockingbird or his buddy to sit in at the hearing next Monday to let us know the outcome of that hearing.

The lawyer for MECC simply bought her an extra week to pack her bags and move out.

35. A title search of 4803 50 Yorkville, legal description Unit 3, Level 26, Toronto Standard Condominium Plan No. 2282 and its appurtenant interest, records that:

It was transferred from Bay-Yorkville Developments Limited to Cowan, Marie Elizabeth Clare on 2013/05/17 for $6,524,245.

Also on 2013/05/17 a charge (mortgage) for $4,000.000 was registered in favour of Home Trust Company.

On 2014/11/27 a charge (mortgage) for $1,500.000 was registered to RIDGEMOUNT FS LTD.

There are no other mortgages or liens registered on the property.

The property was listed for sale on a contract dated January 28, 2015, for CDN$6,988,000, with an expiry date of June 15, 2015.

The property was re-listed for sale on a contract dated July 3, 2015, for CDN$6,800,000, with an expiry date of December 15, 2015, Toronto Real Estate Board # C3250784

That it is still listed for sale over two months later suggests the reduced listing price is still too high.

That the $1,500,000 second mortgage is in arrears and the debt is now about $1,600.000, suggests that the $4,000.000 first may also be in arrears and accruing interest and that debt could exceed the $4,000,000 face amount.

If the real market value at which it sells is $6,000.000, there is no equity for MECC after the mortgages and real estate fees are paid.

36. Thanks DD, feel free to post to the other blog you mentioned.

37. mitchlans

โ€œThe Government has to look at many, many options for the management of our solid waste challenges and come up with the best solution,โ€ he said. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/72222/pm-cahill-ok#sthash.Zakx1FlJ.dpuf

That does not sound like a ringing endorsement of the contacts signed by the Four Ministers.

Makes you wonder where the PM was when the Four Ministers concluded that Cahill’s PG plant was the best solution.

38. Due Diligence @ 3:32 pm

โ€œThe Government has to look at many, many options for the management of our solid waste challenges and come up with the best solution, That does not sound like a ringing endorsement of the contacts signed by the Four Ministers.

Ringing endorsements en wutt wuh paddy shot at mowadays. De MInisturs still dey large an incharge, probably signing other multimillion dollar contracts. The PM thinks he can fool all his party followers while reneging on practically all his responsibilities as leader. I wonder when he will start to realise that much of the decline in morality starts with his and his political class’ examples of turning a blind eye to obvious misfeances.

Lehme tell wunnah whuh I tink is his strategy to do what he does best (nothing) and get away with it.

Do absolutely nothing about the matter. Ensure the Government Departments that will be involved in the matter stay mum and do nothing about the various statutory applications that should move this matter forward or indeed ensure transparency. The agreements the Ministers signed therefore become worthless documents and therefore can’t be reasonably onsold to the Chinese or anyone else.

Don’t unpick he teet tuh or about the Ministerial signatories. Let them stew in their own juices but do nothing about their actions. To satisfy some of his followers who might have a little brains of their own, offer up snide statements that appear to be somewhat less than ringing endorsements of the ministers’ actions, but never in their presence or never in a way that could provoke counter actions by the Ministers.

Try to convince the electorate that the whole matter was a construct of Mia Mottley, nothing more, despite significant documentary proof otherwise.

Watch MEClaire Cowan go to pieces in the Canadian law courts but offer her various inducements to keep quiet about the involvement of his ministers in the matter. But it wunt work. Ever heard about a cornered rat with nothing to lose. She en nuh bajun sweetbred.

39. Her only way out is to sell the Cahill entity or entities to an unsuspecting investor and let them fight the good fight with the government!!!!!!!
    If she can limit the warranties she has to give then she may survive her day in court
    She better have $50k to fight this claim
    But then if she had the $50,000.00 she would have paid her mortgage payments
    Trading insolvent is illegal both here and in Canada
    Where is the Blenheim group in all this
    ?????????

40. If we go by the utterances of the PM and minister Inniss it appears the government is backing away from the deal.

41. Nice pad!

On 14 September 2015 at 23:43, Barbados Underground wrote:

42. It will be interesting to see who ends up living then after the foreclosure. It might even be a Bajan, who knows. These days are funny nights.

43. It seems to me that from the PM’s ranting tonight on DLPTV, he has more or less put pause to this project.

It seems that he has it on his desk catching dust. He said that before any decision is made, he tells his PS to arrange a site visit.

Are we to assume that he has no gotten around to do this visit? Then he said a land acquisition resolution has to be brought to the House.

We shall wait on the Fumble!

44. Who put up the $1.5M and what was the money used for???

45. in simple language the PM said tomight on CBC news that the instigators and noisemakers opposing the WTE plant talking garbage,

46. Wonder if a good swap might be for the Government to surreptitiously, through a kind hearted donor, pay off her debts for the Condo in exchange for silence and the shredding of the incriminating agreements. That way Ms Cowan loses nothing for her efforts, Barbados wins as the PG project will be no more but will be replaced by sensible AE solutions , The Ministers win as they won’t face any court, the PM wins and Mia can claim that her spilling of the info in the BUdget debate was the real reason for its demise.

47. @Are-we-there-yet

Interesting times!

What is clear, it seems the PM and via Donville is distancing itself from Cahill.

All on stream for Waste to Energy Plant

3/19/2015

EVERYTHING is on stream and running smoothly, to ensure that Barbados can get its promised $240 million Plasma Gasification Waste to Energy Plant.
    Word of this came recently from Minister of Environment and Drainage, Dr. Denis Lowe, as he spoke with the media, on numerous environmental matters.
    It was in March last year that Guernsey-based Cahill Energy announced that it had signed a historic agreement with the Barbados government, to build and operate a leading edge clean energy plant, which would be located at Vaucluse in St Thomas.
    Cahill Energy representatives noted at the time that the company would invest up to $240 million (USD) in the proposed plant, creating up to 650 jobs under a 30-year contract.
    Giving an update on the project this month, Minister Lowe acknowledged that there was โ€œa little challengeโ€ at one point, but noted that the process is once again, running smoothly.
    โ€œThe process is coming along well. The engineers (and other representatives) from the company are on the ground looking at the environmental impact assessment, and we are (completing) the purchase of the land.
    โ€œWe had a little challenge there at one point, but we are now getting that in place and everything is on stream,โ€ Dr. Lowe pointed out.
    Responding to suggestions that there might not be enough waste material to maintain the plant, as materials are at present being redirected to recycling companies, Dr. Lowe noted that he does not foresee a problem. If the need arises, Government would engage players in the renewable energy sector, to ensure that some of the waste directed to them can be redirected to the plant, in a way that is advantageous to them, he said.
    โ€œAll waste, recyclable and otherwise, falls under the remit of the Sanitation Service Authority. However, if it comes to the point where we have to redirect waste from one of the independent waste handlers, then we will do that, of course, not to their disadvantage,โ€ Lowe stated.
    โ€œWe pay SBRC (the Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre) a tipping fee for our waste, and if we had to go to Bโ€™s Recycling to ask him to send his waste our side, obviously we would have to make sure he is fairly compensated, based on what he is doing now. (However) it may save him some shipping costs if we ask him, rather than send it to China etc., to send to us,โ€ Lowe commented. (RSM)

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=42345

48. We cannot celebrate too soon in the absence of dialogue with the Future Centre Trust, Zero Waste Barbados Movement or BREA by GOB. The waste management solution Cahill Energy Barbados was to provide has to be endorsed by GOB thru legislation and must start from the grass root level.

Barbados must find sustainable homegrown solutions to solve its challenges. Nothing will change if we wait on revolving politicians or the well spoken intellectuals at UWI. if we really want to save on fuel importation and transport cost we need to introduce flex time, longer work days, decentralize GOB offices to minimize traffic congestion and its impact on the economy. While we commend the PM for reminding us of the law on Cahill we cannot ignore the mouthings of his 4 ninisters who put the cart before the horse. Thus, why I maintain the Cahill Plasma Gasification project action by the ministers was enabled by a lack of ITAL and FOIA. #poorgovernancebarbados