Submitted by Anthony Davis
Minister Boyce, Minister of Health

Minister of Health John Boyce today linked high consumption, especially of sweet drinks, to the island’s exploding problem of noncommunicable diseases (NCDs) and expressed gratitude that the Ministry of Finance took on board the budget recommendations of an NCD CommitteeBarbados Today (18 June 2015

Pray tell me, Messieurs Sinckler and Boyce, if this sweet drink – which has turned into sour drink, not only for Barbadians, […] but many of the tourists who come here – is so potent, and makes us so obese, why would you tax the sports drinks recommended for giving athletes a boost after working out or taking some form of exercise, as recommended by this Government and several other speakers along with eating healthy, as the panacea for reducing NCDs?

Are we to take it that you have reneged on your word of making exercising part of our daily routine of staying healthy?

I find it just another of the Minister of Finance’s ways of pushing his hand deeper into our pockets – nothing more, nothing less. When I see the centenarians whom the Governor General visits I don’t see any obese ones. They are usually slim. They would have drunk their share of sweet drinks such as Ju-c and Bim. Also it is well known that they used a lot of sugar in their tea, and sweet bread was one of the household staples. Even dumplings were loaded with sugar!

So you have to come with a more plausible excuse!

You are doing your best to circumvent putting anti-air pollution laws on the statute books probably because some of your friends/family own trucks, minibuses, ZRs, taxis, and also the Transport Board buses would have to fit diesel filters to their exhausts. There is also the annoying problem of those who only think of themselves – and not even their neighbours -and burn all kinds of rubbish indiscriminately whenever and wherever they like. They don’t think of those who walk, or drive by, and maybe suffering from asthma, or have some problem with their airways.

It is callous!

In Time Online dated 16 June, 2015, under the headline “The FDA is moving to eliminate trans fat, and here’s why that’s a good thing” the report stated:

“On Tuesday U.S. officials announced that they are moving forward with a ban on artificial trans fat in the food supply. Over the next three years, food manufacturers must remove the primary source of artificial trans fat – partially hydrogenated oils (PHOs) – from their products.”

“Trans fat is the byproduct of PHOs, and it’s created through a process called hydrogenation. This can give foods a certain taste and texture and it can up the shelf life of processed food.”

“Trans fat is linked to heart disease. This kind of fat has been shown to raise bad cholesterol and lower good cholesterol – which can increase risk of heart problems and even type-2 diabetes. Trans fat builds up plaque in arteries , which could lead to heart attack.”

Add to this the air pollution, and we have a cocktail of great volume.

You can tax sweet drinks, including sports drinks which those who exercise often, and strenuously, as they are needed to give them a boost after their exercise – and milk of all things which the poor, the needy, the vulnerable, and the pensioners rely on to put in their tea – as much as you want, Mr. Minister of Finance, in the end the NCDs will continue to spiral upwards if nothing is done about cleaning up the air in this country, and removing the noise polluters from its highways and byways.

It always amazes me how the Minister of Finance can push through some dreamed up tax within months and the other ministers have to wait up to a year to have their day before Cabinet, and longer for important legislation to get into the Statute books – e.g. anti-air and -noise pollution.

If the populace have to suffer from the black clouds which diesel exhaust vehicles leave, what use is it if the Minister of Finance burdens us with tax after tax as if taxes were going out of style, when individuals fall ill from the particulates which get into their blood stream, and they have to visit the hospital?

He wont get the amount of tax he is speculating about.

There are already people in this country who are surviving by the skin of their teeth, and living from pay check to pay check, because they can hardly buy a snow cone after the taxes, rent/mortgage, and bills are deducted from the pittance which they get as pay. We must remember that they also have to pay bus fares and purchase clothing/uniforms for themselves and their scions.

The Minister of Finance, on the other hand, has an MP vehicle at his disposal and is paid by the said people whose pockets he is pushing his hands into every five minutes. Also, his pension is secure, and he will get much more than those persons who are being discarded at Government’s and its quangos’ whims and fancies.

When this Government wanted a second term they talked a lot about “we” and “our” children, but I have not heard any of them use the above when it comes to the youth of this country for a long while. We means “we” as in their colleagues in the Cabinet, and Government as a whole, because this is a “people-centred Government”. The lower echelons of our society are bearing the brunt of everything which is going on in this country!

Our sense of “we” has shrivelled. Now when people talk about “our kids”, they talk about their own biological kids; they don’t think about all kids. This leads to a situation that’s bad for the economy and bad for democracy. But it’s also just not right. We have to care for other people’s kids too.

– Robert Putnam, PhD

66 responses to “Sweet Drink Tax!”

1. Colonel Buggy

Oh! So you’re saying BBS never knew that no such Copy-Right-laws were in existence? I find that hard to accept in the year 2015; when even the local bootleggers are cognizant of the fact that it is illegal to copy and distribute an artist music without his/her expressed consent for monetary gain.

2. I remember quite vividly when Arrow came to the states in the late 1980’s, and sued this white American guy who had profited off of his song called Feeling Hot, Hot.

3. It appears to me that some are very happy to have soft drinks taxed under the pretext of protecting us from ourselves and safe guarding our health. Will we also rejoice when the MoF (minister of foolishness) imposes a Sargassum Tax, a Sahara Dust Tax, a Tsunami Tax, a Hurricane Tax, a Seaegg Tax and any other revenue raising tax that catches his fancy and to which he wishes to attach some esoteric name?

I cannot believe that we are so gullible as to fall for the nationalistic talk about coming to the aid of the country every time another tax is applied, as if we are not already the most highly taxed island in the Caribbean if not the hemisphere. We meekly paid high taxes because we were led to believe that that was the cost of the social services we enjoyed (not for free as some would have us believe). Now we are being asked (no, demanded) to pay more again for less and less. Free education my eye – every cent of that came from the taxpayer.

4. FearPlay THANK YOU for such a profound and lucid comment. Hitler was successful because had his supporters to do his dirty work.

Donna you were never my competition it is just a figment of BUSHSHITE’S imagination.

5. islandgal.

I understood it was all a running joke. I never took any of it seriously . Bushie can be a bit annoying sometimes but he does that on purpose. Don’t take the bait!

6. @Raw Bake June 27, 2015 at 3:52 PM “what then is the rationale for not taxing the consumption of fried chicken and chips, all beef rotis, or macaroni pie and pork chops with coleslaw and potato salad on the side?”

Because these prepared foods already attract 17.5% VAT

I bought a nice soup today, chicken breast, yellow split peas, butternut squash, brocolli stalks etc. and I paid 17.5% VAT on it even though it was a pretty healthy lunch.

7. Simple Simon

Let me guess Simple: that soup cost you about $200 bucks plus the 17.5 VAT. Talk about eating out in Bim; its the dread of those persons who are visiting Bim with young families.

8. @ Donna
    Bushie can be a bit annoying sometimes but he does that on purpose
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Come on D…
    What makes you think that….? LOL

We need to talk about your need for rehabilitative work..re this business of giving up on men….
    As you know, different people have different levels of tolerance to addiction.
    One fella can drink all kind of drinks and walk away…while another only need to smell some fumes and he mash up….
    …same with Mary J and even Cocaine, and same with food…

You are clearly the type who can walk away…but trust Bushie, many others CAN’T.

On the same topic, your ‘walking away’ from men is a GROSS error….LOL ….that is one addiction that you should submit to….
    …of course the challenge is finding a REAL man among the lotta brass bowls.. but you can always check with Bushie…. 🙂

@ Islandgal
    Good morning sweetness….
    …what’s cooking today?

9. “@ Islandgal
    Good morning sweetness….
    …what’s cooking today?”

I got a 2×4 soaking in some Turpentine waiting fuh to pelt in yuh backside if yuh ever cross my fence !

10. Dear Simple Simon,
    Sweet drinks currently attract 17.5% VAT and were never in the basket. In other words they were never VAT free. On the other hand, salt, luncheon meat, corned beef and white flour remain in the VAT free basket.

Wunna could congratulate this David Copperfield MOF all wunna want but I ent gine follow multitude to do evil. Look pass the smokes and mirrors and realise that land tax gone up and not a squeak from those who claim to be looking out for we.

11. Mr Dompey

In Barbados rum and cigarettes are heavily taxed. Inspite of de lotta taxes, duh got some small shops in de country dat does sell mainly rum, cigarettes and sweet drinks. Sometimes yuh might find one or two hurricane season staples, but dem shops surviving in dese harsh economic times by selling rum and cigarettes and not from de items in de vat free basket.

Insurance companies in Barbados are not of the same species as the ones found in North America. Never admit liability is their motto or so it seems. Pick sense from nonsense.

12. @Dompey June 28, 2015 at 6:52 AM “Simple Simon…Let me guess Simple: that soup cost you about $200 bucks plus the 17.5 VAT.”

Nope.

The Simple is not so simple as to spend foolish money.

The soup cost $12.95 including VAT and was fresh, tasty, full of lovely fresh veggies and big enough to serve 2 people…but because I am lickerish I had the whole thing for myself.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!

13. @Raw Bake June 28, 2015 at 11:41 AM “Wunna could congratulate this David Copperfield MOF all wunna want…”

I was surprised to note in today’s Sunday Sun, page 6A halfway down the right hand column that included in the basket of VAT free goods are “edible offal of horses, asses, mules or hinnies, fresh chilled or frozen.

So yes please fresh and frozen ass is VAT free…poor people’s food I guess…but frozen flying fish attracts VAT at 17.5%

Marie Antoinette said “let them eat cake”

This Minister of Finance is saying wunna can eat ass,

Oh rass!!!!!!!!!!

14. Islandgal,

You are funny! Ha, ha, ha!

15. Bushie,

Too late! The brass bowls turned me off. After twelve years I would now need to be rewired.

True about that addictive thing though. I find it easier than most to give up things. It is not that easy for others. That is true. But it can be done. If there is a will……

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dompey June 27, 2015 at 4:11 PM #

Colonel Buddy

I hardly think that the obstruction of that stretch is solely or partly responsible for the tradedy which took place yesterday evening. I would hazard a guess that it was contributory to the aggressive driving of the average Barbadian.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    In both the Nation and the Barbados Todays news
    Ms Mottley at the political mass meeting on Sunday night , the 28 June,mind you.

Mottley links boy’s death to “obstruction” at Coverley
    The Tragic death of Queen’s College bound student Abijah Holder -Phillips has made the political platform.
    Opposition Leader Mia Mottley intimated Sunday night that the ABC Highway entrance to the Villages at Coverley in Christ Church was ordered to be removed more that two years ago……………………………………