Last week was a very interesting week in Barbados and the Caribbean region. First it was the Bucket Challenge and although not achieving 7-day wonder status in Barbados the reaction by the society to the Charlie Charlie Challenge has given an insight that is scary for the few sensible individuals left.

Human beings based on heritage practice different beliefs and are free to do so for the most part. If people want to believe that Charlie Charlie Challenge is the key to a portal to the other side where demonic forces exist so be it. BU is concerned when the state responds with positions giving validity to such beliefs. We still operate on the basis of separation of state and the religious right? Let us ignore the gibberish spewed by the folks from the Pentecostal and other denominations. Hell, even Roger Husbands got into the act warning Barbadians to keep their children away from the demonic universe which Charlie Charlie Challenge opened a door.

There is analysis by Snopes.com – an Internet website specializing in filtering fact from fiction – suggesting the Charlie Charlie Challenge was a marketing campaign to promote the movie The Gallows. Instead of discussing Charlie Charlie Challenge how about substituting the discussion with how ignorant and gullible a people we have become, so easily manipulated. The politicians and religious zealots know this only too well.

112 responses to “The Charlie Charlie Reaction”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

many years ago in another dimension there were Ouija boards.

Years before that there were Tarot Cards

And some years before that there were seances.

Each age brings with it a “gateway” to things that may, OR MAY NOT, coexists, with us and while our individual experiences will cause us to lean one way or the other, necromancers, divination and other dark disciplines have been with us from Biblical times and aforetimes.

It is an interesting thing that men do not worship GOD, nor do they practice their Search for GOD, as they do that of the other fellow.

“And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

At the end of the day it comes down to choice

2. A science teacher’s explanation was all that was needed. The school headmistress who called in the clergy reinforced that there was more to this to the children. Imagine big grown men and women speaking about this with straight faces. No wonder we have so little to show from our free education. No inroads in science because people afraid of it and believe in duppies.
    I also asked the question whether we are a secular society with the separation of church and state. We have to also take a very serious look at the brand of Christianity that hijacking traditional Christianity. They are poles apart with their belief. Many followers don’t even understand what they are told but repeating the stupidity as their mantra. We even have some claiming that Charlie is Jesus. These new off shoots of Christianity will clash with traditional Christianity. They are more militant in their approach and defense. No wonder Jim Jones was so successful. Sadly there will be more like him.

3. It is frightening when supposedly educated people in positions of authority joined in and even promoted the mass hysteria surrounding the Charlie, Charlie hype. Calling in the Priest Brigade was the solution, imagine that, and they were all too willing to sell their wares! These are the same prayer warriors who protect the island from hurricanes, earthquakes, evil spirits etc. as if other countries don’t pray for protection too yet befall the ravages of nature. A national embarrassment is what I call the reaction to Charlie, Charlie and I fervently hope that all those in authority that supported this charade hang their heads in shame…and to think that they are examples to our children.

4. My friends and I played with a Ouija board at school in our “dungeons” years ago. We all thought it was a silly game and we knew that one of us was doing the moving. We never had any strange occurrences and we never had any strange feelings. It was just stupid and quickly bored us. Never bothered with demons and they never bothered with me, I guess.

5. May the celestial gods that rule and govern this universe have no mercy on those who infiltrate the minds of guillible and unsuspecting children with telekinesis forces to rule and control the mind

6. “Instead of discussing Charlie Charlie Challenge how about substituting the discussion with how ignorant and gullible a people we have become, so easily manipulated. The politicians and religious zealots know this only too well.” Yup!

7. There should be a law, not rule, against playing too many short men in the West Indies team.

When one subtracts Holder, and maybe Taylor and the up-and-down T&T spinner-in-a-hurry, we got all short-me-crutch people, like the great Menehue, just not great at all.

But it is never a pretty sight to see all uh these short men on a cricket field. Dey don’t frighten nuhbody. Bare school boys with no more ability. We cud even put dem in short khaki pant.

We see these boys-to-be-men being beaten in less than 3 days!

It’s a petty, the most talented play we have now had to come along in the times of a bunch of misfits and a Board that is even worse.

8. Hamilton Hill Avatar

When I first heard about this Charlie Charlie thing invading our schools I could not stop laughing even after I had finished reading the piece. When it was reported that priests were asked to intervene, I surmised that we had gone from the ridiculous to flat out absurdity. One big predicament we in. Begging Satan to correct sin.

9. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps it could also be surmised that the upper pencil pivoting on top of the lower , formed a compass needle and reasserted itself attempting pointing to Magnetic North.

And a couple of generations ago, Bajans were into what was then called “Book and Key”

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

One of the most frightening things that I ‘ ve experienced, was when I was around 5 to 6 years old. It was raining , and looking through the glass window, I pointed to a big lovely pear in our tree, just a few yards away, commanding it to drop,and immediately it did.

11. Pachanama,

Ever heard of a short man called Alvin Kallicharran? He used to stand tall when the tall ones looked small. While it is good and necessary to have players of different heights who will pose different problems for the opposition, a man is not a boy because of his height. Can’t people on BU make any point without being insulting? Gee, sounding like the speakers in the House of Parliament!

12. The biggest lie proliferated on mankind is that there is no evil in the world and that events and “games” like the Charlie Challenge are just that, games and other mindless events based in boredom and stupidity.
    Many will dismiss this as child’s play and harmless frolic and will scoff at its potential implications and impact on society. Unfortunately, our government has loss so much credibility, that responses from schools to the game will meet with significant resistance.
    Put simply, the only danger associated with the Charlie Challenge is that of not understanding what one is dealing with.
    If people feel that it is harmless, then let that thought prevail, but a “game” that requires an invocation to initiate its activities and then requires that it be “closed” or terminated to me raises huge question marks especially when this game has no electronic basis.
    Play away!

13. Although there is evidence the Charlie Charlie Challenge is a hoax to promote a movie we continue to …

14. how ridiculous can anyone be to believe that two stones and a piece of paper and two pencils can have the power to disable people, but then again there are still people intelligent beings on this earth who believe that the dead can arise from the grave, when these dots are connected it then should not be surprising that intelligent beings would believe in such a hoax.

15. Watcher …..Watch your back ! I have alerted my invisible agents to give you a reminder how these games are played. Remember my magic is stronger than yours LOLL! Lookout for the black bird in the tree in yuh yarde! ROTFLMAO Hocus pocus zap zap!

16. When you believe in an invisible man you will believe in two pencils called Charlie very easily. LOLL

17. Some say to believe in the forces of God and good it means legitimizing Charlie for some people.

18. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But lets face it, a pencil and an “X” is all the magic we need come 2018, to get this lot of right Charlie zombies off our backs.

19. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@Colonel Buggy. …..Unless you can give the assurance that the in coming group will make some statutory adjustment that ensures a denial of pension to these vultures, I pray that we see their backs before the time you suggested. If Owen was able to change it one way, then someone must be able to change it the other way.

20. Will it make a difference Hamilton?

In 2007 BU was labelled a DLP blog and there was robust use of BU by DLP acolytes. Today it is the reverse.

Th cycle of twiddle D and twiddle B will continue.

21. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Like it or not, they have to accept this as a fact. Were it not for CASWELL FRANKLIN, custom officers would have suffered consequences similar to those inflicted on NCC and Beautify Barbados workers..

22. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@David. ..You know what? It is definitely worth giving it a try. Why is that, you may ask? The answer is simple.Never before in the history of our country have we witnessed such a blatant disregard for the mood of the people, coupled with heavyhanded tactics to muzzle the obvious outcry. I am firm in my belief that the Omar Watson saga was a carefully crafted attempt at intimidation.

23. Donna

What insulting what? Short people were the first human beings on earth. Don’t you know Bess from Kemetic history?

Short people have always been very powerful people too but in cricket with nearly a whole team of near midgets does not present any visual or intimidating force in the minds of the opposition, like our great team did.

You may object but short people have a particular, dominant or general mindset. Short people like Hitler, Napoleon, Mussolini gave the vertically challenged a bad name. But others like Imhotep built civilizational models.

However, in cricket we don’t need a team dominated by near dwarfs.

24. Pachanama,

You’re right. I do object to that generalization. By the way, how tall was Brian Lara? How about Malcolm Marshall? The best and most intimidating of modern West Indian batsmen and the most respected fast bowler arguably of all time – not at all tall! I guess the tall people were the supporting acts.

25. @ Donna

All the men we talking ’bout ‘less tall’ than all the people you bringing. Both Marshall and Lara were just under or about medium height. LOL

26. Dont see what height has to do with cricket. It is not basketball. Rohan Khanhi was a very, very short fellow.

27. How to form a cult
    you need
    leader
    first follower
    more followers

first follower transforms lone nut into leader

28. “For we do NOT wrestle AGAINST flesh and blood, (human beings!) but against principalities, against powers, against rulers of DARKNESS of this age, against SPIRITUAL hosts of WICKEDNESS in the heavenly places.” (Eph. 6:12) emphasis added.

This is no joke, demonic entities, masquerading as some ‘Mexican’, first God does NOT allow the departed ‘spirits’ of the dead, be they either in Heaven or Hell, to return to this earthly realm; its ALWAYS some DEMON masquerading AS* someone for the express purpose of DECEPTION.

Some people (children) are more ‘open’ to demonic intrusion than others, that’s why the very weird behaviour of some is so obvious.

Again, there are demons of intellectualism, lust, hate, anger, murder, the list covers every aspect of human behaviour, false pride, false love, etc, etc, I have had first-hand clinical experience, with very well educated, people, who were infested with many indwelling presence of ‘demons’ and were still able to function in their jobs, the indwelling presence of demons, does NOT constitute ‘possession’ but, they DO inhibit to either a greater or lesser extent, depending on the personality, the degree of control in that specific area ‘aspect’ of the individuals life.

This is NO joking matter!

29. @islandgal246

Thanks. I will watch my back front and two sides!
    I was very careful to choose my words in a manner that does not promote the belief in, of scoff at the possibility of these events occurring.
    Some years ago, when I was a younger individual, I recall coming into personal, physical contact with an Ouija board for the first time. It was a very unusual experience to say the least and I never forgot it. So my writings, are not at all just a matter of throwing my hat into the ring, they are a lot more personal than that.
    However, people have to experience for themselves the power of those unseen forces and understand their source. No amount of ranting on either side will make believers of unbelievers or visa-versa.
    For me, I would recommend that anyone who is a parent and is concerned about the dangers inherent in ignorance, do their own research and arrive at their own conclusions, whether those are for or agains good ole Charlie.

30. Certainly the bible was not refering to pencils stones abd paper as forces of demonic powers

31. LOL @ Zoe
    “….I have had first-hand clinical experience, with very well educated, people, who were infested with many indwelling presence of ‘demons’ ….classism, greed.”
    Bushie loves it when you are given to such understatements Zoe….

First hand clinical experience shiite!!! …..the challenge (and unusual experience) is to encounter ‘very well educated people’ who are NOT infested with the indwelling presence of demons…
    Why do you think it is that despite ALL the progress we have made in education, science and technology, proliferation of knowledge, improvements in electronic communication systems, our world has DECLINED in so many areas of social development?
    Why do you think that racism, classism, greed, war and hate continue to increase?

….because the increasing numbers of ‘very well educated people’ are infested with good positive spirits…?

Come on Zoe….You know the facts…

This world is currently CONTROLLED by the dark forces… practically ALL of it…
    The only impediments in their way currently are the few grains of ‘salt of the earth’ who are under the protective cover of ‘the comforter’….
    Charlie Charlie really don’t need to work too hard…. wuh they already running things bout here…
    …..the damn demons are probably really just having some fun in truth….

@ Islandgal
    you mek laughing sport…..
    If only you knew the dire situation…..

32. @Bushie

What are you saying? Do you believe Charlie Charlie Challenge is a door to the world of the demonic forces?

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WE DONT NEED CHARLIE CHARLIE
    IT IS CLEAR THAT THERE ARE A LOT OF DEMONS ON BU——VERY CLEAR!

34. I also have first hand knoweldge that at one time there was a talking snake and an apple whichch conspired to deceive man.Another story like the Charlie hoax which is rooted in superstition and make belief

35. What is clear is that from the beginning of time man have explored the world of the occult looking for answer to things which seemed inexplainable. Hence when one look into the origins once does not have to look very far to see the connection to these inherited make beliefs and there roots within religious doctrines and teachings from which gods of all kinds were created and use the “fear factor “as a way to control .

36. Pachamama,

True about Lara and Marshall not being short although Malcolm was short for a fast bowler. However, that short-me-crutch. Blackwood is a very aggressive batsman. And, have you seen what that little boy Bishoo is doing today? Also Marlon Samuels is not short and Shannon Gabriel is actually tall. So that’s not a team of midgets.

37. And Pacha,

On entering secondary school, my little short son was waylaid by a much taller and bigger boy who wanted to take his snack. My son had been singled out I’m sure because of his small stature. Well to cut a long story short, by the time that little boy was finished with that “big man” the only one bearing the marks of the fight was the “big man”. He was sporting a black eye for which he was sent to the sick bay. The Principal, on observing the relative sizes of the combatants ran out of the classroom to conceal her laughter.

The next day the big man’s mother turned up to confront the “bully dat beat up my son”. Imagine her surprise when she encountered a placcid- looking little sweetheart.

The next time two boys tried to pick a fight with my son they were informed by the last combatant that my son has superpowers. They took their aggression elsewhere.

The moral is – “It is not the size of the man in the fight but the size of the fight in the man.”

If you are not intimidated before the fight sometimes you will be after.

38. Time is precious, life is beautiful.

39. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Donna, ok den, from a cricketing perspective the Aussie David Warner lives your dictum, “It is not the size of the man in the fight but the size of the fight in the man” quite well.

Or how bout the basketball Lilliputians ‘Spud’ Webb’ or ‘Muggsy’ Bogues who played with success in the NBA where they were often at waist level of most of their opponents.

Short or not if you got the skills and determination then you can get the job done.

“…Don’t watch my size, I’m dangerous, dangerous”, is how Peter Tosh put it to song.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

100 to Voges……….DEFINITELY NOT A YOUNG MAN

41. David,

Sorry we’re off topic. Blame Pacha! He started it!

42. As is said “If you fervently believe in Angels you will also believe in demons”.

Let me give an analogy – every time we sit on an aircraft we are instructed to turn our cell phones off during take off and landing. Why? Because somewhere out there, someone formulated the opinion that microwave signals would interfere with the electronics of an aircraft and could bring it crashing down. Thousands of travelers practice this ritual daily without question.

Now tell me, were it that easy to disrupt the instruments on an aircraft causing it to crash, would the terrorists of this world still be struggling to get explosives past security in order to bring death and destruction to this world? Would it not be easier to stroll on to an aircraft, cell phone in hand and just by the flick of a switch do your dastardly deed?

Point I’m making is if it was so easy to create a portal to the other side just by rubbing two pencils together then witches and warlocks would be a dime a dozen.

Don’t forget, fear of going to “hell” was the driving force behind religious recruitment for centuries in all faiths. Some even promise sixteen virgins as a reward for obeying without question.

Fact is, Charlie, Charlie played to the fears and beliefs of the superstitious among us and whipped the gullible into mass hysteria hence reports of desks floating in midair and doors slamming should be taken with the pinch of salt they deserve. If that is what you believe happened, then that is what happened. An opportunity was seen to promote a product (religion) and the salesmen came out in their numbers.

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Years ago a man walk into a rumshop in St Joseph and placed what looked like an enclosed glass cylinder, the size of a 1/2 litre drinking glass ,filled with a very dark fluid on the shop counter ,and invited those around to ask this object any question. Questions were asked, and without anyone in close contact with the object, the dark fluid inside started to churn up. A cream triangular piece then appeared on top of the dark liquid, with a printed answer. Only a few people got the opportunity to question the dark cylinder, before the shopkeeper drew his cutlass and ordered the man off his premises.

Now try explaining to me what that mysterious object was.

44. Here is a quote that that explicitly defines the creative wisdom of fear and yes it is also rooted in religious doctrines and principles ,even though there is no proof to verify,

the FEAR of the lord is the beginning of Wisdom. yet people of so called intelligence holds on to such a belief, why! because the mind can be swayed and easily controlled by fear,, removing the word fear would all but relinquish control and the meaning would become obsolete
    for e,g use the word Way, instead of FEAR and the power and control which that statement has immediately vanishes and no one would really think or care about the importance,

45. Thank God for Donna and Pachamama…. Those were the only comments I could read..

46. Superstition

How Skinner’s pigeon experiment revealed signs of superstition in pigeons.

In the Summer of 1947, renowned psychiatrist Skinner published his study on a group of pigeons that showed even animals are susceptible to the human condition that is superstition.
    Skinner conducted his research on a group of hungry pigeons whose body weights had been reduced to 75% of their normal weight when well-fed. For a few minutes each day, a mechanism fed the birds at regular intervals. What observers of the pigeons found showed the birds developing superstitious behaviour, believing that by acting in a particular way, or committing a certain action, food would arrive.

What Skinner Discovered

By the end of the study, three quarters of the birds had become superstitious. One pigeon, in pursuit of food, believed that by turning around in the cage twice or three times between being fed, but not just in any direction; the bird learnt to turn anti-clockwise and appeared to believe that this would mean it being fed.
    Now, it’s easy to dismiss such behaviour as normal – a bird in a cage might be expected to exercise a little. But the other birds developed unique supertitious behaviours in an attempt to gain a meal.
    Other behaviors the observers discovered include what they described as a ‘pendulum’ movement of the head, and a regular nodding movement in another bird.

Human Superstition

Skinner’s Pigeon Experiment revealed that even pigeons can be conditioned to develop superstitious behaviours in belief that they will be fed. But superstition is more obvious in everyday human behaviour; for example, avoiding 3 consecutive grates in a street, or walking under ladders.

47. @Colonel Buggy June 3, 2015 at 4:15 PM “One of the most frightening things that I ‘ ve experienced, was when I was around 5 to 6 years old. It was raining , and looking through the glass window, I pointed to a big lovely pear in our tree, just a few yards away, commanding it to drop,and immediately it did.”

A pear dropping because of gravity is one thing.

I would be much more impressed if after the pear had dropped you had commanded it to rise and it had.

LOL!!!!!

48. I know a retired former civil servant who moonlighted as an assistant obeah man, had real nuff clients, everybody from maid to Permanent Secretary, and not forgetting politicians, and made good good money, was able to retire early.

This was not long ago and far away, but 21st century Barbados.

So what else do we expect the children to do? Except to follow their leaders.

49. @FearPlay June 4, 2015 at 3:41 PM “Some even promise sixteen virgins as a reward for obeying without question.”

Not 16 virgins. 27 virgins. How dare you discount the number of virgins going to the true believers.

You understand the difference between 16 virgins and 27?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

50. Donna, another startling observation I have made regarding shorter persons, is the fact that their often think that their have something to prove to others because of their height and size. I have met many shorter persons in my youth who have had this psychological-preoccupation. I done know from hence this mental-malady arises, but it is obviously a cause for concern for the taller individuals, who more often than not make the fatal-mistake of underestiming the size and height of the shorter persons, especially in a physical altercation.