Stealing Water

Posted to the Unfinished Vendor Stalls at Probyn Street an Example of Government Leaking Tax dollars mention was made of a farmer who has been allowed to fill several containers with water from taps located outside Golden Square market to water his animals. BU wishes to support farmers everywhere but the market authorities have a duty on behalf of the taxpayers to do the right thing.

37 comments

• Caswell Franklyn

You are concerned about one man, as you say stealing water for his animals. Be that as it may, you should be more concerned about the Barbados Water Authority and the Government stealing from everyone who pays water rates. First of all, the Government increased the water rates in 2009 by as much as 60% without going through the necessary legal process to do so. In effect, they are stealing from everyone who has a water supply.

As if to add insult to injury, they are now in the process of changing the meters that they say are more accurate which has resulted in massive increases in water bills. The fact of the matter is that these meters have not been tested locally to ensure that they are working correctly. As I understand it, the people in Barbados who are responsible for certifying weights and measures have approved these meters on the basis of a certificate of some entity in Germany. No one in this country knows how to calibrate or repair these meters and we are concerned about a farmer “stealing a few litres of water while the BWA is over charging and stealing from the whole country and nobody seems to be concerned. Gimme a break!

• @Casweel

A good tongue in cheek comment, we are concerned about all matters of law breaking.

• Jermaine Forester

Caswell

The new water meters cannot be calibrated or repaired, that is the beauty about them, they are battery operated. They are a completely sealed and tamper proof meter (15 YEAR BATTERY) and are the most accurate in the world, bar none. Even the BWA cannot tamper with these meters to make them read/record more water than is actually going through the ultrasonic meter.

They were tested as part of the IDB tender procurement in Barbados, Germany and the UK and in every respect they thy were shown to be the superior meter. The are certified for use in almost every country in the world.

DONT BLAME THE METERS.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Mr. Franklyn

I am not any type of mediator but I would like to say that you are both correct, you Caswell for your point regarding the theft by government through the importation of these meters from ovah and away WITHOUT ANY PROPER TESTING (probably done via the back door, you know where the Minister in Charge of the Water Works got a kickback in the country where the item is sourced) and the Blogmaster regarding the report on Crime.

But here is where I do believe that the Blogmaster’s momentum is gathering speed in the right direction.

About a half a century ago my grandfather said “only count the pennies, the pounds will take care of themselves”

Mr. Franklyn it is fellows like these who take away 20 gallons of water a day, or 5 bags of cement, or get a load of marl diverted from the MTW depot to their back yard, or tief 3 reams of paper a month for the children, or the church programme, it is these seeming “little things” that have us where we are because “it is a small thing”

And there is something that you Mr. Franklyn (he who should run for parliament but hath declined) should notice.

The increasing content and its calibre that the Blog is attracting.

People are waking up to the indiscretions and, amazingly enough for Bulbados, they are posting the articles!!

That means three things

They ALSO feel the indignation that you fell with the national theft, they have less fear and more confidence that the BU will protect them and their sources and more importantly what used to be hidden and rarely talked about in close circles.

Finally, of one thing you and I can be assured, the Blogmaster is not Lickmout Lou and people now are learning how to use http://www.imgur.com to upload their pictures and incriminating evidence and then posting them here, even with false names, UNLIKE YOU.

After a while even the most docile Bajans are getting the balls to come out so there is a place for all constructive dissent and observation

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Jermaine Forester

You misspoke when you said “They were tested as part of the IDB tender procurement in Barbados, Germany and the UK …”

That is not true and you would seek to impute that the IDB tendering process includes “testing” as part of its process.

The role and process of IDB IS NOT TO TEST and as long as the tendering process meets their approved methodology for tender, be it national, regional or international tender, that is the end of their involvement.

A lot of you talk BECAUSE you have a mouth and would wish to make people believe because their is an international agency involved that these backdoor deals are not effected.

The IDB lends money (or will make grants) to qualified parties tTHAT FOLLOW PROCUREMENT PROCEDURES.

They do not tst equipment nor do they overide the wished of a borrower who insists that one tenderer has qualified, as long as the process has been followed.

Let me give you an example of what I am saying.

“On Tuesday, Kent businessman Gary Bolton, 47, was jailed for seven years at the Old Bailey for fraud over the sale of thousands of devices based on novelty golf ball finders which he claimed could detect explosives and drugs but which detectives said were “nothing more than plastic handles with aerials as antennae”.

“In the aftermath of Bolton’s sentencing, it can be revealed that the Ministry of Defence, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the government’s trade arm, UKTI, gave promotional, diplomatic and financial backing to Bolton over several years even though a Home Office expert in bomb detection equipment found his device’s ability to detect explosives was no better than random”

Here you have 3 reputable UK government agencies giving an endorsement to false bomb detection devices which would seem to suggest that even the IDB is not infallible AND that thieving Ministers are able to tief World Bank, IMF or IDB funds using equipment THAT WAS NOT TESTED BY THE IDB

• pieceuhderockyeahright May 20, 2015 at 7:37 AM #

“Mr. Franklyn it is fellows like these who take away 20 gallons of water a day, or 5 bags of cement, or get a load of marl diverted from the MTW depot to their back yard, or tief 3 reams of paper a month for the children, or the church programme, it is these seeming “little things” that have us where we are because “it is a small thing”……….”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

PUDRYR, de ole man mekking nuff, nuff sense nowadays, yuh.

This man is allowed to go into the Golden Square market and stays there for over an hour filling these containers, 6 days per week (excluding Sundays and public holidays) at the expense of taxpayers.

And I bet he won’t pass on his savings to the consumer by selling his meat cheaper than market prices.

Piece, your comments reminded me of a scenario I heard a few weeks ago. Apparently, (if it is actually true) a worker from MTW delivered a truck load of marl at a certain residence that is located near a woman known for her “maliciousness.” She immediately called MTW to ask the price of a truck load. The person told her MTW does not sell marl, and she went on to tell the individual what he told her cannot be true, because she saw MTW truck MPXXX off loading marl at a residence. Further investigations led to the driver losing his job.

• D Ingrunt Word

Pieces as the royal ruler Artax says you mekking nuff sense …I like your IDB clarification best but that remarks on petty theft evolving to big problems, good too.

You seem versed with international tender processes so I would only say that realistically if the devices pass muster to meet the agency standards (which are generally rigorous and precise to avoid claims of corrupt favoritism) it’s fair to say that they should be effective.

What your example very rightly points out though, is that when governments issue RFQ/RFT or even Req. for Information which are not funded by international agencies shenanigans can be more easily perpetrated.

Your experience likely informs you that the favored company will have their product/service specs as precisely defined in the tender request as legally possible (surreptitiously, of course) and thus that company has a much higher % of success with the public ‘above board’ tender request.

Anyhow, that is a known known these days.

So this fella gine be getting more water today too, or he gine be like de MTW driver…catspraddled?

Artax, we like we need a lot more ‘gypsy’ and ‘malicious’ Bajans bout de place. Director (RIP) was so right…Sousie, where yah is!

• pieceuhderockyeahright May 20, 2015 at 7:37 AM #

“Further investigations led to the driver losing his job.” Bet he wouldn’t have lost his job if “the boss sent he” or “the minister sent he”….

• D Ingrunt Word

BTW can anyone point me to the lyrics for the old calypso, “Sousie”?

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Some One is being a crook and some One being robbed, Some thing is still not right and at this point none can be trusted,

• Caswell Franklyn

Jermaine Forester

Anything made by man is likely to malfunction. My problem is, if they do we or no one in Barbados can diagnose or fix the problem. It is within my knowledge that one of these have already malfunctioned. I don’t know how many more have done so. Water passed through this particular one and was gushing for over one week and when the meter was read, the customer only paid $40. IT WAS NOT MINE!

• @Jermaine Forester May 20, 2015 at 7:21 AM “The new water meters cannot be calibrated or repaired, that is the beauty about them…Even the BWA cannot tamper with these meters.”

I am not an engineer, but I’ve paid the bills in my household for decades. When my new meter was first installed my bill jumped from about $35 dollars a month for a two person household to about $95 per month. I complained to the BWA and they did “something” while I was at work and my bill levelled off to about $65 per month, but that is still almost double what I was accustomed to paying.

Neither my household size not our activities have changed.

I’ve compared my bills with friends and relatives with the same and greater household size and who have also had the new meters installed and still I am paying more.

Yes I’ve checked multiple times for leaks.

What do you think might be the problem Jermaine?

• ‘ I heard a few weeks ago. Apparently, (if it is actually true) a worker from MTW delivered a truck load of marl at a certain residence that is located near a woman known for her “maliciousness.” She immediately called MTW to ask the price of a truck load. The person told her MTW does not sell marl, and she went on to tell the individual what he told her cannot be true, because she saw MTW truck MPXXX off loading marl at a residence. Further investigations led to the driver losing his job.”

• Caswell
    Take it from me.These new water meters are not measuring usage.I know of a customer who is overseas and his home is looked after by a neighbour who took the precaution of locking the meter.The meter is still showing water usage up to 25 metres a month.Bear in mind the house is unoccupied and the meter is locked

Liked by 1 person

• @Poison

This is not new, many houses have been built with diverted from government projects.

• David May 20, 2015 at 6:55 PM #

“@Poison: This is not new, many houses have been built with diverted from government projects.”

This “Poison” individual is treating a serious issue with deliberately inappropriate humor, i.e. trying to be facetious.

• Caswell Franklyn

Gabriel

Please tell that to Jermaine Forester. He seems to have total confidence in the authorities and in people from over ‘n away. Personally, I am not so naïve but he is welcome to remain in cloud cuckoo land.

• But what the farmer doing aint illegal. He could go at any old standpipe and do the same thing.

• Caswell Franklyn

Good point Kevin.

• Caswell Franklyn, for a man who claims to know all the technicalities of the law and have an opinion on everything, you have certainly let me down on this occasion.

Or is it that you are condoning this situation because your interest lies primarily in being seen in a favourable light to market workers in an effort to recruit members for your union?

@ Kevin

Firstly, “stand-pipes” were erected around the island to accommodate those persons who were unfortunate not to be able to have the water system installed in their homes.

Secondly, the taps in the market are for use in the facility and the vendors in the market have to pay rent. Is it fair to those vendors having to pay rent and someone can use those facilities freely?

Therefore, it is ludicrous to compare the two.

And how do you know for a fact that it is “not illegal”? Can you quote any law that could substantiate your claim, or are you just another “arm chair lawyer” going with a “gut feeling”?

So, in essence you are suggesting I could go into any market and set up a tray offering goods for sale, because I could go on any street corner and do the same.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@Artaxerxes

The rents in the market, as far as I know, are very low base on what I could remember about the online regulations. None of the vendors pay for water usage and as a result, it is wasted by the per thousands of gallons daily, particularly, in the fish markets. It is also taken by the gallons daily by those persons who engage in the occupation of washing cars. Most of them tend to get their water from various market outlets, including golden square. So you have abuse of the water system by those consented to be in the markets and abuse of the water system by those who should not take water from the markets. The situation as I see is a – left alone – by market authorities who are obviously not doing their jobs and allowing this abuse to go on unchecked.

David do you remember the name of the regulations or have the comments to the discussion on Vending problems. I really cannot remember.

• @ Sunshine Sunny Shine May 21, 2015 at 4:44 AM #

“The situation as I see is a – left alone – by market authorities who are obviously not doing their jobs and allowing this abuse to go on unchecked.”

The amount of rent vendors pay is not the issue. The point is that those individuals charged with managing the market facilities, whether they are fish markets or otherwise, are NOT DOING THEIR JOBS.

Essentially, it is being inferred that as long as a tap is located on any government owned property where there is access to the public, it is legal for anyone to venture on those premises to “catch” water because a similar activity could be undertaken at a “stand-pipe.”

Therefore, I could take a 500 gallon container to a tap located on the outer perimeter of the Central Bank to “catch” water. And if approached by security, I could simply tell them what I am doing is not illegal, because the property is owned by government and I could get water from a “stand-pipe” as well.

It also means that when the market is closed, thereby restricting me from collecting water, I could write the Superintendent of Markets and tell him that, by closing the market and denying me access, he has illegally prevented me from plying my trade.

• Many people living in Barbados have different interpretations or opinions as it relates to the activity of stealing.

For example, Susan and George both work in the store-room at XYZ Car Parts Ltd. George was caught stealing car parts valued $5,000 and his services were terminated. Susan goes around the office and areas frequented by George telling everyone he is a thief.

However, Susan arrives 5 minutes late for work every morning; her children attend secondary school and she is doing a course as well, so she takes home pens, pencils, erasers, rulers, paper clips, note books, file folders, staple machines and staples, liquid paper, reams of both sizes of paper, rubber bands, etc.; uses the company’s photocopy machine and paper to copy documents for her and friends; she forgot to buy toilet paper, so she helps herself with 6 rolls from the company’s bathroom closet; goes to lunch before her time and returns after; and leaves work 5 minutes before the end of the shift.

Over a period of 6 months, when the cost of time, equipment usage, stationery and supplies taken without permission are accumulated, Susan has actually stolen an equivalent of $10,000. In her and others opinion, what she is doing is not stealing.

But what makes Susan different from George relative to taking from the company what is not theirs?

Liked by 1 person

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@Artaxerxes

Brilliant analogy. This is the mindset that our politician also hold too base on the on stealing define at their level. Stealing is stealing when it obvious and the things being stolen have significance.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Artaxerxes

The story that you just gave about Susan has been my litany at my church for years.

It has caused Pastor ** to argue with me on many occasions ad de madam to insist that I refrain from entering into discussions where she has occasion to put her hand on my thigh.

That is her sign and command “do not go any further” or incur my wrath when we get home.

When wunna is married as long as de ole man, wunna learn who is de boss in you house and I can say that I get permission to tell wunna dat it is me.

They call it little sin Artaxerxes.

If you tief one $50 bill and I tief 50 $1 bills it is not the same!!

That is what de pastor say and you know dat dem got a heavenly telephone so dem gots to know

• @ Artax
    It is NOT a good analogy….and your analysis is flawed…
    There is a big difference between a fellow stealing car parts from the bond, and an employee taking advantage of shiite management.

If you are responsible for management /supervision of a department and employees are always late, leaving early, taking too many supplies and generally ‘assing’ around, then the fault is 100% that of management.
    An employee would have to be a bushman to operate “by the book” when the environment is one where you can do as you like…..

The ‘problem’ with misuse of water can be solved by placing a simple lock on the damn tap, or by someone simply monitoring daily use by legit users. If government just put unlocked taps all around the damn place …are they not essentially saying;
    “…um free – come and tek um”?

This problem comes from the very top – where the dishonest and JA Froon refuses to allow the Law to ‘lock’ (up) his esteemed non-leper financier…..
    How the hell can he then insist on locking water taps from a lowly farmer….?

This is a TOP problem, not a bottom problem….

• Bush Tea May 21, 2015 at 9:00 AM #

“It is NOT a good analogy….and your analysis is flawed…There is a big difference between a fellow stealing car parts from the bond, and an employee taking advantage of shiite management.”

I disagree with you Bushie, there is no difference.

Effective and efficient management strategies emphasize the need for internal control systems, which consist of a plan of organization and all the related methods implemented by a business to safeguard its assets (money included) from employee theft, unauthorized use of such assets and theft.

Essentially, a system of internal control may be defined as the process by which organizations maintain environments that encourage incorruptibility and deter fraudulent activities by management and employees.

Most companies employ five basic internal control principles, namely, establishment of responsibility; segregation of duties; documentation procedures; physical, mechanical and electronic controls; independent internal verification.

Now, Bushie, if an employee stole car parts (as per my scenario) and another employee stole stationery, there has been an obvious breach of the internal control systems, which were either non-existent, very weak or management saw it fit not to enforce the policy.

Without the necessary internal control structures in place, results in security breaches and illegal transactions, inclusive of theft or misappropriation of assets by employees or management. These activities will evidently result in the failure of the business or dismissal of management as a “recuperative” measure.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

By the way Bushie, wuh you and de Sea Cat Woman do wid Old Onions Bags?

I hope he aint get lock up fuh gine at Ms Sea Cat, see you there and beat the two a wunnuh, get lock up fuh harvesting sea eggs, or he dead from piezon sea cat.

• Miguel Williams aka Steppa

@Simple Simon

The answer to your question is quite simple my dear Simon, your previous meter was unregistering. Do you comprehend?

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@Tea Bush

If placing a lock on the pipe was that simple, I think it would have been done ages ago. This is a problem of poor management and a case of condoning wrong doing until it becomes common place.

• @Miguel Williams aka Steppa May 21, 2015 at 11:24 AM @Simple Simon…The answer to your question is quite simple my dear Simon, your previous meter was unregistering. Do you comprehend?

Nope.

Even though I said that my monthly costs was about $35, it was not $35 every month. It was variable amounts which averaged $35. I keep my water bills for 3 yeas at a time and regularly do averages to see how I am doing. (I am not an engineer, but I am a precise person LOL!!!!)

And if my meter was not “ungistering” how is it that when I had a leak on my property my meter registered $1,300 one month (I had my plumber fix the leak and I paid the Barbados Water Authority the thirteen hundred dollars over a one year period)

And how do you account for a close relative whose water bill I see every month whose water bill averaged $35 with the old meter and is still averaging $35 with the new meter.

There is a problem with SOME of the new meters.

Engineering is still an imperfect science which is compounded by human error.

From time to time airplanes and even space shuttles fall out of the sky.

You comprehend?

• @Artaxerxes May 21, 2015 at 7:28 AM “But what makes Susan different from George relative to taking from the company what is not theirs?”

I don’t know but I’ll guess.

Susan is the wife of a certain high profile Pentecostal pastor?

• @Miguel Williams aka Steppa May 21, 2015 at 11:24 AM

Repeat after me “frozen pitot tubes?”

• Bush Tea May 21, 2015 at 9:00 AM “If you are responsible for management /supervision of a department and employees are always late, leaving early, taking too many supplies and generally ‘assing’ around, then the fault is 100% that of management.”

Dear Bush Tea: Is it ok then to take some supplies from the office, as long as one does not take “too many supplies”…and if so how much is too much and how much is too little, and how much is just the right amount to carry way? And who determines how much is just the right amount…the thieving employee? the incompetent management? The sleeping board of directors?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• As for the problem with some water meters,sometimes we go overseas and are stiffed with defective or sub standard items, that others who have set standards do not want. And some manufacturers/suppliers love it when we send someone who knows very little of the items.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Oh lawsie

Colonel Buggy done gone and done it…

I knew it had to happen sometime

“…And some manufacturers/suppliers love it when we send someone who knows very little of the items…”

Time to ban, blogmaster, time to ban…

This is worse than the accomplished cretinism practiced by one AC, this is institutional sedition.

This army man done overshoot his rightful place in the military and have dun bin disclose things higher than military secrets….

Political secrets !! which, as a military man Colonel, you would know that, at a time of war, (and we are in a war where the DLP is pitted against the people of Bulbados) act of high treason like dese, is punishable by death. or banning, tek you pick

Nex ting dat you gine say is dat, while de man was deah dat not only he get per diem from de Bulbados office dat sen he pun dis exploratory mission, BUT DAT de people overseas wine him and dined him and dat he was improperly propositioned and, “cud not help heself” and caved in to the international pressure of several Franklyns or was de bribes dem in German Marks?

De Colonel Punishment!

Immediate banning and tek way he modem too like a next fellow heah did promised to do wid AC one…

• pieceuhderockyeahright May 21, 2015 at 7:12 PM #
    …………………………………………………………………………
    Speaking from personal experiences. Been there and done that, but drew the line at being ‘improperly propositioned” Perhaps I too would have cave in, if instead of Marks, it was Monikas and Marlenes on offer.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s