Submitted by Margaret Harris
Shamar Weekes
Shemar Weekes

A little boy in Barbados has died. Not in sleep or because he had an illness. He did not die like so many little boys  walking certain neighbourhoods because he was black; Barbadian boys are supposed to have a real chance at a future. He did not die by falling off the back of a cane-truck like a child I knew who would now be diagnosed with ADHD, not that that diagnosis would necessarily be true. He died because someone did not listen and if they had listened, they did not hear and if they heard, they did nothing about it. He said goodbye to his classmates and left them for the day. He told them they would not be seeing him anymore, as if he had had a plan,  as if he knew that something was going to happen to him, even if he inflicted the wound himself. But did he cause his own death?

Someone said that there was a big gash somewhere on his head, that he didn’t kill himself. But we all know what happens when there is too much speculation  through second and third party whisperings without speaking to the source and Shamar Weekes, tiny it seems by any standard for a 14 year old,  is not here to tell his truth. In any case, whether he faltered  too sad  to scream or laugh or try to fight anymore, to beg for an opportunity to live the life he wanted, Shamar Weekes was figuratively pushed. The literal take on the story, we will have to wait for later, when the second and third party versions of what went on in the house and Shamar’s  mind are over, emotionalism has simmered down and investigators match evidence to speculation, or not match evidence to speculation and somehow we carry on with our lives, much as we did before. For barring a miracle, this is what I expect to happen. We are like ostriches; we come up for air to guzzle at the spectacle or even be sad, then we bury our heads again because indeed we need to carry on. Back to our corner of the woods, our designated roles, our own troubles, the lives we created for ourselves. Someone else will take care of it. Aren’t we all playing our parts in the (re) construction of this beautiful country?

Shamar died here in  this land, where community is supposed to mean more, in his house  in misery and in pain. He is not the first child to have died but something about the way he came to his end opens up the country to examine its soul – not only the neighbours who must for the rest of their lives live with the knowledge that they heard the bumps and the thumps, the licks and the bruising of the teenager’s spirit and did nothing; nor the people who saw him sucking limes but responded only so much and no more, nor the woman who thought  twice when he asked her  to,but she did not take him in. The entire nation will be put on trial whenever this case is heard. We have to go deep and ask, which child was/is in trouble that I did not/have not assisted? We have to ask, how much did I turn my head to hunger, to stories about sexual abuse, to a child’s suffering which must surely be the mother of all sufferings?

What drives a young boy to be so cheerful at school, it is claimed, when something was so wrong? They say that men generally commit suicide when women only try but often fail. Why do little boys  and teenagers commit suicide? They also say “all” teenagers have some notion of killing themselves at some point in the transition to adulthood. But whether Shamar jumped, or was jumped, or whether his head was bashed with a hard heavy or metal object, he is dead. Barbados has to reason its way through the mire of this story and in so doing, come to terms with something about itself.

Remember when there were no murders in Barbados? Or only one murder a year and then two and three and so on?  You say, “ah but this is the world. it is happening the world over. We have things here that are great and good and wondrous” and all of that would be true. It is the not so wondrous changes and shifts we still have to deal with and what is the future we wish for our country and our children.

Everything is relative you say – neighbours do not have to respond, child abuse is a worldwide phenomenon, that is the place of the “useless” Child Care Board; But before the Child Care Board, there was the citizen. We are every bit as entitled to be watchdogs and caretakers in a country in which jobs are far fewer, child abuse is every other person’s story stretching across both the black and white communities. The future that is changeable, is what we always have to look to… in a country in which communities teem with dust and growth in “block children” and sure, yes, I may be overstating the case because afterall it is not Haiti or Jamaica or Guyana. And no, Shamar was not Shamar from the block – for all I’ve read and heard.

Coupled with the flight of something  that overtook him, Shamar died, they said, from a rope, his feet hanging or dangling, barely touching the floor, at an age in which memories only just begin to gather. Those memories, it is said, were far from good. Bad memories, cumulatively they say may cause great depression and suicidal thoughts. Shamar in that sense, was already a big man, grappling with fears it seems no young person should have to entertain at that age. Hiding sometimes, asking for help at others. Yet there he is, in the picture,  resiliently smiling, gritting his teeth, eyes attempting to dissimulate his burden, until the light in them could shine no more.

Until he died, the little boy was an unknown to the majority of us. Before he died, he, it is claimed, searched in years so young to find an answer to the problems that seared his soul. So what was it that took him to his death? There are no two ways to answer this: whatever verdict is arrived at – Shamar Weekes was definitely pushed.

147 responses to ““Pushed””

1. for the past few days i have read some of the most nonsensical and outlandish perceptions and bold faced speculation in reference to this case.. no one knows the truth or the facts ,the mother of the boy was livid as to the amount of gossip and out and out lies surrounding the death of her son. at a time when this mother is bleeding inwardly as well as outwardly as usual we have the intelligente of the the bajan spoil doing there two step bit in tour four time to tell the world what happened,,

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

BTW AC…

You see how GP represent heself?

Even wid all of the comments in the rum shop, there was a strident decorum in his behaviour.

Indeed though methinks that there is some underlying issue regarding the ROTE thing that de ole man ent unnerstand yet, he still does rely pun reasoned thoughts and provocative remarks dat does get people thinking though testy.

AC (absolute cretin, barring the other two fellow) I unnerstan dat he does still teack a class of students in these his golden years.

If you was to promise to not vex he, so that instead of using sodium amobarbital on your donkey he doan get so incensed and decide to use some sodium pentobarbital on your bad, bad curse word.

Even heah you sucking up to power and intellect as you suck up to idiocy and cretinism fromDEM, and you know who DEM is.

But one ting dat de ole man kin tell you bout de doctor, he doan tek kindly to fools.

Test whu I saying, tell he whu you medical opinion is of dis matter, jes say sumting, you normal ingrunt talk (sorry de ingrunt word) test de man nuh?

De ole man does go way regular wid de grans en ting en compliments uh one ud de madam chilrun (dem is me steps and dem got money)

One in particular tinks dat de cuntputer is de instrument of de devil and dere is no cuntputer in he house and me IPad dat one uh de chilrun gi’ me does only wuk in wifi.

I din heah when all dis ting bout Rote and Wikipedia went on but wunna know de ole man, if it wrong, and Sinckliar or Fumble say it right, it doan matter who, I does call it wrong

De ole man feel dat when the local doctor saw what she was dealing with it might have made her pause, examine the depth of water that she was in, (euphemism for not forensic pathologist) and mindful of the possible “fallout” from messing up the body, she said “she was not going to do it and sought help”

Women is like that, when it involve children, especiallt young ones, women will have compassion and be more reasonable, yes i know some will say this is not a Juman or a Bjerkham matter but dat is whu de ole man feel, nuhbody ent tell me nufin…

3. Jolly Grren Giant PDYR …..as for ac i suffer fools like myself gladly,,,,,hooray for freedom of speech,,even ac can call ac a fool and don/t have to think twice as to care or who don.t.. listen bro the godly doc and ac have gone a couple rounds i know what to expect and ac is ready and quite capable of giving back,,underneath this fools breath are five words i do not give a dam.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    I THINK ( I DONT KNOW) THAT THE CLINCAL PATHOLOGIST IS MOST PROBABLY UWI STAFF THERE PRIMARILY TO TEACH MED STUDENTS.. DOING PM’S IS PART OF STUDYING PATHOLOGY, SO THE PATHOLOGIST WILL DO SOME “NON FORENSIC PM’S” I.E PM’S NOT LIKELY TO CAUSE THE DR TO HAVE TO GO TO COURT……ESPECIALLY IF THEY HAVE NO JUNIOR STAFF TO SEND……..AS THEY MOST LIKELY DONT.

[HAS QEH EVEN HAD A GOVERNMENT/QEH PATHOLOGIST SINCE HAROLD WHITE IN THE 8O’S? ]

IT SEEMS THAT WHEN THE PATHOLOGIST VIEWED THE BODY—NOTICE I DIDNT SAY CUT, AND I SAID SEEMS………..THAT THE INITIAL FINDINGS SUGGESTED MORE THAN OR SOMETHING IN ADDITION TO AN APPARENT HANGING

I DONT KNOW

OR SINCE THE AUTOPSY WENT FOR A WHILE, IT SEEMS THAT THE PATHOLOGIST FOUND MUCH MORE THAN THEY CARED TO DEAL WITH………..GIVEN HIS WORK LOAD…….. CAUSE WHEN HE LEFT COURT ALL THE BACK LOG OF WORK THAT MIGHT REALLY BE CRITICAL CAUSE IT PERTAINS TO LIVING PEOPLE, STILL HAS TO BE DONE.

IF YOU ARE TEACHING 10 HRS PER WEEK AND ALSO HAVE TO DO A LOT OF ROUTINE HOSPITAL WORK IN ADDITION TO CLINICA-PATHOLOGICAL CONFERENCES ETC AND THEN HAVE TO GO HOME AND PREPARE TO BE ABLE TO TEACH THE TEN HOURS PER WEEK INTER ALIA, YOU HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO GET THEM TO CALL IN A FORENSIC OR ANOTHER PATHOLOGIST WORKING FOR THE STATE, TO COMPLETE THE PM

AFTER ALL THERE IS NO EMERGENCY HERE—– A BOY DUN DEAD HE CANT DEAD AGAIN IF HE DONT EVEN GET A PM.

IT DONT MATTER WHAT THE BU ILLITERATI SAY OR HOW EMOTIONAL THEY GET.
    THIS DEAD BOY IS JUST ANOTHER DEAD PERSON WITH POSSIBLE INTERESTING PATHOLOGY

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

FOR THOSE WHO FOLLOWED THE JUMAN CASE IT SEEMED THAT NO EVIDENCE WAS COMING FORTH TO CONVICT JUMAN

WHEN JUMAN GAVE HIS WIFE AN UNLUCKY BLOW IN HIS HOUSE IN SANDY LANE, THE MAID WAS THERE.

A CERTAIN EX UWI SURGEON (NOT THE PROF) WAS CALLED AND A CERTAIN LAWYER WHO HAS SINCE HAD SOME BIG JOBS OVESEAS. I WONT CALL HE NAME HERE TO DO.

THIS LAWYER TOLD JUMAN TO SEND THE MAID AWAY-WHICH HE DID. (tony tony recieved similar advice from this same layer but refused the advice)

THE JUMAN HOME WAS PROPERLY CLEANED BEFORE THE POLICE WERE CALLED

SO AS WE FOLLOWED THE CASE WITH GREAT INTEREST THERE SEEMED NO WAY THAT JUMAN WONT GET OFF.

BUT
    THE PM WAS DONE BY NONE OTHER THAN THE EX HARRISONIAN EX BDOS SCHOLAR AND EX UWI REGURGITATOR WITH ONLY A MBBS AND NO TRAING AS A PATHOLOGIST OR FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST CALLED BELFIELD BRATHWAITHE

THE GOODLY DR REFUSED TO TAKE THE BRIBES THAT WERE OFFERED BY JUMAN AND HIS EVIL LAWYER AND HE GAVE ACCURATE EVIDENCE IN COURT………..AND JUMAN WENT TO JAIL. ALL HIS RICHES DIDNT SAVE HIM!

BELFIELD IS WHAT YOU CALL ” an ‘unqualified non forensic doctor’ LOL LOL LOL

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

AC

You got the ole man cracking up heah pun de floor.

You got to stop doing this, me madam getting tired of me laughing like if i gine bewitch or sumting.

“… are five words (1) i (2) do (3) not (4) give (5) a (6) dam.

Yuu din go school the same place whey de Minister of Fine Ants went did you causing wunna gots a problem with counting AND Decimal points…

I finally realize that the doctor and precisionist discipline that you have practiced for so long makes it really difficult, nary, impossible for you to speculate on things, you just will not do that and I can appreciate that.

Poetry and lies apparently have this as their common denominator both are “The art of substantiating shadows, and of lending existence to nothing..”

I also understand the clinically correct fact that Shamar is dead and nothing about the PM can bring him back.

Have you noticed that as we get older we no longer have six packs but flabby pig skin bladder bellies. and equally limpid lower regions.

I have also noticed a softening in my feelings and an increasing empathy at funerals especially now that the number of those whom I know is diminishing.

I go to funerals of complete strangers at the church and de ole man finding that sometimes,, when i look at sons and daughters weeping for their lost ones, I shed a tear.

Somehow GP that is the state of mind that I find myself with Shamar (or is it Shemar?), the humanity in me or is it the beckoning mortality that identifies with this 12 year old, recently running all down Sutherland Hill, playing on the beach, hungry now that grandmother and aunt recently died and having to revert to “mother”

Forgive me GP, de ole man jes getting soft dat is all and needs to remain constant in the realization that this is now a cold corpse in the morgue at QEH that according to you “ent going no where other than Westbury” (there I go speculating again)

7. PDYR ,,did i not say ac was a fooll…

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    I GIVE YOU A GOOD AND HONEST IDEA OF WHAT I THINK WENT ON WITH DAT PM

IN OUR SYSTEM OF TRAINING WE DID GROSS ANATOMY FOR I8 MONTHS

IN THE FIRST FEW WEEKS ONE USED TO SEE THE CADAVER IN YOUR ROOM AT NIGHT AND IN YOUR PLATE ETC

BY EXAM TIME IN 18 MONTHS MEN USED TO GO IN THE DISSECTING ROOM AND PULL OUT A LIMB AND SET IT DOWN AND START NAMING THE PARTS

I CERTIFIED HUNDREDS OF FOLK DEAD FOR THE POLICE INCLUDING SOME HORRIFIC MURDERS

DEATH ONLY AFFECTS ME WHEN IT IS SOME ONE CLOSE. DEATH IS COMMON AND TO SOME EXTENT THE NORM — ITS EXPECTED.

I FEEL SAD THAT FOLK DIE BUT WHAT CAN I DO?

I AM HEAR TO HAVE FUN AS THE CLOCK RUNS DOWN FOR ME.

TICK TICK TICK tick tick tick

9. @Georgie Porgie May 21, 2015 at 7:37 PM “FOR THOSE WHO FOLLOWED THE JUMAN CASE IT SEEMED THAT NO EVIDENCE WAS COMING FORTH TO CONVICT JUMAN…WE FOLLOWED THE CASE WITH GREAT INTEREST THERE SEEMED NO WAY THAT JUMAN WONT GET OFF…BUT THE PM WAS DONE BY NONE OTHER THAN THE EX HARRISONIAN EX BDOS SCHOLAR AND EX UWI …WITH,,,A MBBS… BELFIELD BRATHWAITHE.

Wish that we had more men of integrity like Belfield.

10. @Georgie Porgie May 21, 2015 at 7:37 PM “WHEN JUMAN GAVE HIS WIFE AN UNLUCKY BLOW IN HIS HOUSE IN SANDY LANE.”

It wasn’t an “unlucky” blow.

He beat the poor woman to death…fortunately after some years in the pokey (in the American use of the word, not the Bajan use) he died like a dog alone in a hotel room in Antigua.

Serve him right.

But he should have been hung.

11. Russian pathologist says he was not invited
    Added by Sandy Deane on May 22, 2015.
    Saved under Local News

Trinidad-based forensic pathologist Dr Valery Alexandrov says he has not been invited to perform the autopsy on the body of 12-year-old Shemar Weekes.

However, the Russian-born expert, who has been retained by other Caribbean countries, told Barbados TODAY he would welcome the opportunity to do so, following reports that a forensic expert would have to be brought in to carry out the procedure on the body of the former Coleridge & Parry student.

On Tuesday, a post-mortem examination of the body got underway at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, but was halted to pave the way for a more detailed forensic analysis.

Dr Alexandrov, a forensic expert of 44 years experience, described Weekes’ case as sensitive, particularly since it was an unusual occurrence for Barbados.

The expert, who has performed close to 40,000 procedures, said while suicides among children were distressing, it was nothing new.

“For example in Trinidad, where there were several cases involving young girls or young boys who committed suicide, they were victims of abuse or being bullied at school,” he said, while noting that the most common means were hanging and poisoning.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/05/22/russian-pathologist-says-he-was-not-invited/

12. Well if what the doctor say is true “not invited” it bodes well to say that the public once again was fed information soley laid out on half truths and misinformation formulated by a morbid obsession to be politically motivated.The swiftness of the news media on many issues would always be a conflict to independant obsevers who rightfully questions media motives and the political affiliations.
    Without a doubt this story is a text book example of a rush to judgement by media practioneers and an extreme case of “playing the public for fools”

13. Trinidad-based forensic pathologist Dr Valery Alexandrov says he has not been invited to perform the autopsy on the body of 12-year-old Shemar Weekes.

GOB like they jes ain’t got de funds.

History repeats itself.

Been there done that in 2011.

Need some philanthropist or a body who is not prepared to accept the status quo to step forward.

Maybe after all of the long talk we could organize a collection on BU!!

14. On an unrelated thread, I see the CLICO Joint Venture that appeared in the Forensic Report, Small Ridge Development Inc, had much of the bush on its lands at Small Ridge Plantation go up in smoke last night and it is still burning this morning

From my non- scientific mind, it’s the cow itch, de cow itch. The bush was full of cow itch and someone decided to take matters into their own hand. If yuh don’t believe me ask the residents in the immediate vicinity, but they may not talk to nosy strangers.

15. Cow Itch seems to go hand in hand with the CLICO debacle!!!

I know!!

Remedy I always heard and tried was get some mud and rub it on the affected parts …. but if it is all concrete ……

Until 1988 I had never heard of Cow Itch in the area ….. about the time CLICO came to BIM!!

16. In the opinion of this medical illiterate……

If you believe the neighbours it could explain a suicide or murder and it is possible that there were signs on the body that made the “doctor” stop the PM and request a Forensic pathologist.

“Almost in unison, residents yesterday recounted how also loud screams could be heard daily coming from the Weekes’ home as the boy was being chastised by his mother. They complained too of the constant shouting and cursing by the mother, sometimes from as early as sunrise, but confessed they never called the police or Child Care Board.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67723/-screams-cries#sthash.NxYJ04Zc.dpuf

17. @Hants

It takes a village.

18. George Porgie

You still spewing and parroting your regurgitated medical- terminology- which is by all intents and purposes devoid of the necessary knowledge associated with the instruments of modern- medicine.

19. The average Bajan will not get involved in a parent beating a child or domestic disputes at that level. That’s the reality. This beating thing is engrained in our psyche. We just cant live without it.

I know teachers that when the vacation comes, they hunt in the trees and gullies to find a proper bamboo and would then tape it up like it is a prized possession. So that when school restarts they could flog children. I have said those are sadistic actions.

A plumber is a good plumber if (s)he has all water-borne accessories functioning properly. A carpenter is a good carpenter if (s)he builds quality houses. But a teacher/parent is a good teacher/parent if he/she beats you badly constantly.

Isn’t something wrong with that logic?

20. Margaret Harris Avatar
    Margaret Harris

I’m pleased that my note on Shamar’s death has generated such a healthy debate. David tells me the article has gone viral and I should write a response to the many people who have taken time to hold this discussion here and where the article has been shared. So here then are my thoughts:

I think that the most important benefit to be derived from Shamar’s death is that it be the fuel to help us try to prevent the recurrence of similar tragedies. Nothing is guaranteed, a friend of mine said to me yesterday. But she, like one of the commentators here, said, “It takes a village to raise a child. I want to get involved. I have to do something to help.” Perhaps Shamar has departed to help us to learn that the development model we wish for Barbados is not a selfish one.

The “push” to help other children has to come from within our communities. That word community always tugs at my heart because as far as I can tell we are one big community – still ranked as a developing country. But we often think of “community” as the poor and not how Barbados as a nation of “communities” can work together. We have divided it for political, financial, social, class and elite ambitions, when we could as easily opt to truly put in some time to help those who have come from similar backgrounds – just a few decades ago. Put people, children, single mothers, the elderly, who need help in the pot. Each according to his need; that’s what we have to do at this stage.

Collect a dollar a week from each person in Barbados and you will have enough money to feed many children. This is the direction in which we need to go. Politicians will be pleased. The private sector will be pleased; we would have achieved something great for this country; There are always ways to ensure that funds reach their destination in properly functioning community organizations. But we do not always need money for community development and action. That idea is a sure fallacy. We need the spirit and the will to share material (in kind) and non-material resources.

No child should go to sleep at night hungry in Barbados. Not when many vendors at Oistins Fish Market dump tons of food at night. Not when we have restaurants dumping good food. Not with the amount of wastage in this country. Not with the many who dump food from their refrigerators every day. Not with the many dogs and other animals that are fed better than children. We need to make better provision for our homeless too. I was impressed recently that a Bahamian colleague is volunteering (one of the few) at a shelter for men in Barbados. We Barbadians need to do more.

No child should be beaten to death, if that is what happened. No child should wish to take his life in our country. That is the bottomline. What brings a child to that point? And why do we stand on the sidelines and speak so vociferously after the fact? That is the part of the trouble with our country. We make so much noise and do so little. How can we light the fire beneath our collective derrieres so we can do more to support people in need in our communities, especially children, the elderly and single mothers, the physically challenges? We do not need to wait on the United Nations and other international agencies and politicians to do the small things we can do ourselves. We need to break down the walls of shame and pride that keep us from acting instead of reacting.

Neither politicians nor international agencies cannot do the job that citizens can. That is one of the first rules of development. Citizens need to be empowered and the best persons to empower us are “us’. That is why blogs such as this one are so important.

We have enough human and material resources in each community in Barbados – to do much, much better at community organisation. I would like to include white communities– who often stay on the margins of what is going on in the black communities as if we are two separate nations. I add to this that black and white communities must have meaningful dialogue together about how our communities must continue to share and improve responsibility for each other as a nation.

Community is also about corporate social responsibility. I can pass the plate of food over the paling to the neighbor who does not have food. But I might not be able to do it every day. So the community leaders go to the restaurant up the hill to negotiate on behalf of children and elderly who need food –the single mothers with no assistance or support from fathers, the mothers with a million mouths to feed. Community leaders (not government appointed leaders, but leaders the community selected within a framework the community itself creates) also negotiate for the children who need to be protected from all kinds of abuse that goes on in this country. The community has a big stake in this: to protect their social spaces and their entitlements as citizens, to give themselves strong voices to speak against social injustice.

It’s important to back words up with action or we lose the ball; people lose faith and trust. So who is willing meet outside this platform and create a Citizens Forum to plan a community strategy to be replicated in Barbados, particularly the poorer districts?

No one is going to do it for us. Money from the United Nations and other International NGOs is not as valuable as the spirits we carry within us, and the help we can give ourselves, together. I would have called this a romantic ideal, if I had not seen this model working in poor communities in other countries. Barbados needs to ignite that collective fire!! Or if we don’t it will surely consume us regardless.

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

John May 22, 2015 at 9:04 AM #

Cow Itch seems to go hand in hand with the CLICO debacle!!!

I know!!
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    And the plantations used to slash and burn out the cow itch,after it seemed unlikely to make a recovery from the clutch of the cow itch patch.

22. Margaret,

Nice to know I’m not the only “mad” woman in Barbados. Most Barbadians don’t want to see children suffer. And most Barbadians think they can do nothing to prevent it. This simply is not so. If we that love children outnumber those who don’t we can minimize the children’s suffering. Should we do nothing because we can’t save them all? Or should we get on with the business of saving those whom we can? It doesn’t take a whole lot to minimize this problem within a small country like Barbados with a church on every corner. There will always be some misappropriation of funds because unscrupulous people will jump at every opportunity but some operations will be successful. Let’s do it!

23. Donna! Thank you. We will do this. Would you please get my email from David? Let’s link up and go from there. The thing is we are giving up what made us unique as Barbadians. Not that societies should not change. But what we had as standard community practice (see David’s latest post which brought me back here) is now being taught in universities and international organisations. Just like the mahogany furniture that the Martiniquans came in and bought for nothing, or that we threw out for Courts furniture, we are altering our national character – that made us so strong before the eyes of so many across the world. We stand and watch social erosion and think we are helpless to do nothing about it. And it’s not that people haven’t done or don’t do things. I can think of people who are trying hard to make a difference. The point is we need to do much more and far more consistently and we have so much here to offer, it’s a crying shame how we stand back and watch the social malaise, critique it and for the most part do absolutely nothing. So Donna, let’s get something going.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AFTER ALL THE HULLABALOO ABOUT THE POST MORTEM AND ALL THE SPECULATION………THE PM HAS BEEN DONE………AND THERE IS NOTHING SINISTER REVEALED

BUT THE BU RUM SHOP “illuminati” HAS NOTHING MORE TO SAY NOW

I SENT IN A POST ON WHAT SHOULD BE THE EXPECTED ANATOMICAL & pathological FINDINGS IN A HANGING

GUESS WHAT? IT WAS DELETED!

AFTER ALL THE BU RUM SHOP “illuminati” KNOWS EVA TING AND DONT NEED TO BE ENLIGHTENED

25. Dear Georgie Porgie:

Why don’t you wiat to see what the coroner’s inquest reveals?

More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood] has said that this child was frequently beaten

Did the child despair?

Did this despair lead to his death?

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IF YOU READ BARBADOS TODAY YOU WILLSEE THAT THE FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST DID NOT FIND ANY THING UNTOWARD. WHAT WILL THE CORONER FIND?
    IS THE CORONER SOME ONE LIKE SIR KIETH SIMPSON.

RE More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood] has said that this child was frequently beaten HOW VERY EXCITING!!!

BUT THE FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST IS REPORTED AS HAVING DONE A FULL AUTOPSY AND FOUND NOTHING UNTOWARD.
    HOW MANY FULL AUTOPSIES HAVE YOU, THE CORONER OR THE ” More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood]” EVER DONE?

RE Did the child despair? Did this despair lead to his death?
    SO WHAT? HOW MANY TIMES HAVE SO VERY VERY MANY FOLK ON THIS EARTH DESPAIRED? HOW MANY HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY GONE ON TO COMMIT SUICIDE?

HOW MANY FOLK HAVE BEEN CONVICTED BECAUSE SOME ONE ELSE COMMITTED SUICIDE BECAUSE THEY DESPAIRED.

wHY DID NOT THE More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood] HELP THE LAD WHILE HE WAS ALIVE.

27. Georgie Porgie June 2, 2015 at 1:12 PM “wHY DID NOT THE More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood] HELP THE LAD WHILE HE WAS ALIVE.”

Sadly many people seem to genuinely believe that parents own their children so that they the parents can do anything they want to the children. Just like how it used to me that men were felt to own their wives [and their oxen and assess] and could do anything to the wife…until the wives started to push back and tell them to their faces “you don’t own me”

We all have to speak up and act on behalf of the children…sadly too often we do nothing.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon
    You have not answered thee questions. Wha happen day? lol

1 HOW MANY FULL AUTOPSIES HAVE YOU, THE CORONER OR THE ” More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood]” EVER DONE?

2 HOW MANY TIMES HAVE SO VERY VERY MANY FOLK ON THIS EARTH DESPAIRED? HOW MANY HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY GONE ON TO COMMIT SUICIDE?

3 HOW MANY FOLK HAVE BEEN CONVICTED BECAUSE SOME ONE ELSE COMMITTED SUICIDE BECAUSE THEY DESPAIRED

29. Yes GP you are right.the brass bowls of speculation and perceptions.

30. The pathologist found that Shemar died from strangulation, a Caroner’s inquiry would have to determine the how.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I was drinking some watered down Falernum in the BU rumshop earlier and de ole man thought of you.

When we retired and “waiting” we does get restless and thought the flesh is withering on the case, the mind is still sharp so I can identify with “murder in de rum shop”

I will try to answer your four questions, rather three of them because question #3 is not a GP question, it is not constructed sensibly and is too convoluted to make sense.

GP does not ask stupid questions, you will ask questions which cause the person being questioned to think, but not to get bogged down in idiocy. Question #3 is a Domps question. For Shame GP

Ok to question 1.

1 HOW MANY FULL AUTOPSIES HAVE YOU, THE CORONER OR THE ” More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood]” EVER DONE?

None but that begs this question.

Are you a pilot, GP? The ole man ent one but how many times you, a non-pilot, have been on a plane where the trained pilot, dash the plane into the runway when landing, and made you feel that he was not a pilot but a man with one of those pneumatic drills?

Even though you are not a pilot skilled in piloting a craft does that eliminate you from commenting on the piloting skills of the “qualified pilot”?

Question 2 . 2 HOW MANY TIMES HAVE SO VERY VERY MANY FOLK ON THIS EARTH DESPAIRED? HOW MANY HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY GONE ON TO COMMIT SUICIDE?

De Ole man again is going to attempt to answer this one by plagiarizing from the Wikipedia of Medicine and Mayo online Clinic.

They say that there are six reasons that people commit suicide: 1. they’re depressed. 2. they’re psychotic. 3. they’re impulsive. 4. they’re crying out for help and don’t know how else to get it. 5. they have a philosophical desire to die. and 6. they’ve made a mistake.

The World Health Organisation (WHO) estimates that each year approximately one million people die from suicide, which represents a global mortality rate of 16 people per 100,000 or one death every 40 seconds. It is predicted that by 2020 the rate of death will increase to one every 20 seconds.

DID I COPY AND PASTE THAT PROPERLY? WUNNA DONE KNOW THA THE OLE MAN ENT TOO BRIGHT

And finally your question # 4

WHY DID NOT THE More that one neighbour [in more than one neighbourhood] HELP THE LAD WHILE HE WAS ALIVE?

Because Dr GP, we just don’t care less…

When I listen to the thumps at 12, 1, 2 o’clock, or whenever. coming from my neighbours’ house, these are the thoughts that run through my head

1) If the Police come them idjuts going tell the occupant that someone reported a disturbance and the occupants going guess that it was my ole donkey and, that big chested brute dat does beat he wife, going give me an unlucky blow and kill me or mek me suffer long befo’ de ole man dead…”
    2)”dem deah is me fadder, 1/2 sister cousin nephew chilren and family ent going tell pun family so i ent calling no Police or Chile Care Board..”
    3) “man a few lefts and rights nevah kill no body, plussing she doea talk too much anyways…”
    4) “steupsee, sargeant you know who jes call again? Yes sir, dem Headleys down deah fighting again, steupseee you mean dat we gotta go down deah again like we did had was to do last night? and it raining sargeant!!’ “Fellows we ent going no place. It cold en I ent getting wet tonight..”

We just don’t give a shy*e!! Dr. GP.

Jes a question doah Dr. GP, WHY YOU DOES COME TO DE RUM SHOP DOAH???

32. Hint .forensic would have determined the hows.

33. To quotes today’s front page report:

“What the Caroner’s enquiry, if one is held, would do is try to ascertain the circumstances that led to that strangulation and whether anyone was criminally liable”

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re David June 2, 2015 at 2:28 PM #
    The pathologist found that Shemar died from strangulation, a Caroner’s inquiry would have to determine the how.

CLEARLY YOU NOT SERIOUS THOUGH !! clearly!!

PIEECE
    THIS QUESTION IS VERY RELEVANT IN THE CONTEXT

HOW MANY FOLK HAVE BEEN CONVICTED BECAUSE SOME ONE ELSE COMMITTED SUICIDE BECAUSE THEY DESPAIRED.

I MAINLY COME IN THE BU RUM SHOP WHEN I AM BORED STIFF AND HAVE NOTHING TO DO

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

every body here knows that I am a joke, but……

iF YOU READ BARBADOS TODAY YOU WILLSEE THAT THE FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST DID NOT FIND ANY THING UNTOWARD. so WHAT WILL THE CORONER FIND?

IS THE CORONER SOME ONE LIKE SIR KIETH SIMPSON.

THE FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST IS REPORTED AS HAVING DONE A FULL AUTOPSY AND FOUND NOTHING UNTOWARD.

this suggests inter alia that the FORENSIC pathologist found no evidence of callous to indicate fractured bones for example……….which might be significant

i seems also that he did not find any evidence to suggest scarring from healing internal injuries ………which might be significant

but i dont know
    i am a joke not intelligent and I learned my Pathology by rote and from Wickepedia LOL LOL that is why I come to learn from the BU RUM SHOP ILLUINATI lol lol lol

36. pieceuhderockyeahright June 2, 2015 at 2:30 PM #

Man, PUDRYR, de ole man mekking nuff mo sense in dis your contribution, yuh. People in this island just don’t care about anything, unless it affects them personally.

I remember uh time I wuz stanning up at a bus stop and a young girl with a baby got off a bus, whichin did had in nuff people. When she got off, she looked at me and said, “De people in dah bus real cruel, yuh. You imagine none ah dem din wa’on get up and gih me a seat?”
    Some people in de bus start wuz to wash she in curse and tell she “ca’ar yuh brass bowl, nuh body en kay ‘bout you, you shoulda wait and get in a empty bus.”

Ah next time I saw a pregnant woman get on the bus dat did had in people stanning up, and nuh body dat wuz sitting in the seats designated for the elderly, disabled or pregnant got up to give this lady a seat. She had was to force her way through the crowd and stand near the back door, until a woman couldn’t take nuh mo and offer she a seat.

This is the type of society we have “cultivated” for ourselves and as such, we must reap the consequences.

37. Georgie Porgie June 2, 2015 at 3:26 PM #

“THE FORENSIC PATHOLOGIST IS REPORTED AS HAVING DONE A FULL AUTOPSY AND FOUND NOTHING UNTOWARD.”

“this suggests inter alia that the FORENSIC pathologist found no evidence of callous to indicate fractured bones for example……….which might be significant….”

“it seems also that he did not find any evidence to suggest scarring from healing internal injuries ………which might be significant.”

ABSOLUTELY CORRECT, Georgie.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARTAX

WHEN I POSTED A LIKKLE THING ABOUT WHAT TO EXPECT IN A PM FOR HANGING IT WAS DELETED——I.E REJECTED AS IF IT WAS NONSENSE AND IRRELEVANT

IT WAS NOT CONSIDERED RELEVANT TO EDIFY THE BU RUM SHOP ILLUMINATI

NOW I HAVE POSTED 2 THINGS THAT PATHOLOGISTS MIGHT SEEK OUT TO INDICATE CHILD ABUSE IT IS GOOD TO SEE THAT YOU AT LEAST UNDERSTAND THE SCIENCE AND RELEVANCE OF WHAT I HAVE SAID.

IT DOES NOT MATTER THAT I STUDIED SIMPSON’S TEXT AND THAT I WAS INVOLVED IN FORENSICS , FOR GP is a joke….a UWI refurgitator, has learned by rote , brings medical facts that can be found on Wickepedia etc etc lol lol lol

IT DOES NOT MATTER THAT GP is accurate…….again?

PEOPLE ARE ASKING …….DR GP WHY YOU DOES COME TO DE RUM SHOP DOAH???

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE BU RUM SHOP WID DE BU ILLUMINATI!

39. It seems Barbados has failed our children yet again and this time it is even worse. Those paid to protect our children seem to have failed dismally. Somebody needs to take responsibility for this one. Inexcusable! Check Barbados Today for the grandmother’s story.

40. @Doona

It appears the CCB needs to put their hand up on this one.

41. @ David
    …so we should blame the CCB because a child’s MOTHER and step father are animals? What the hell was the CCB to do….change their hearts from ‘animal’ to ‘human’?

It is easy to understand the grandmother’s pain, …but is SHE not the one responsible for raising the damn mother? …and for her uncaring character?

Hindsight is ALWAYS 20/20.

If the CCB had listened to grannie and taken the child, then the boy would NOT have died, but the mother and her ‘upset partner’ would have been at Barbados Today or on Brass tacks talking bout how unreasonable the CCB is…and threatening to sue and to pelt rocks at those responsible…

This is NOT primarily a CCB issue….. It is a PARENTS issue….and it is a POLICE and legislative issue. This shiite where people bring children into the world and then treat them as ‘inconveniences’ MUST be firmly dealt with….particularly when mothers allow selfish men to mistreat their children.

Wonder how Grenville planning to fix one this nuh….?!!

Lotta shiite….

42. So it seems, David. Those bruises were enough for somebody to do something. What could have led a sane person to put that child back in that home? We should always err on the side of caution where a child is concerned. My heart is breaking for this poor little boy. Think of the physical and emotional pain he must have suffered! There will always be sick abusers in society but they will always be in the minority. We can save many of these children if we try hard enough. Last year I stood by the side of the road ready with my cell phone to call the police as I watched what I deduced to be a mother’s boyfriend manhandling a classmate of my son’s. He claimed it was for rudeness to the mother. The mother remained inside of the house while her boyfriend manhandled the child who was small for his age and should have been able to be handled by the her. Two female neighbours rushed in to calm the situation and physically rescue the boy pleading with the man to let the boy get a pants. (He was in underwear only.) The man chased him back out of the house. The ladies took him to their house and advised him not to be rude to his mother and keep his mouth shut. I have been asking my son questions to make sure that the child is fine and my son tells me that he managed to get promoted this year. Last year he didn’t. I believe the child will be alright as the neighbours will be vigilant and not allow things to get out of hand. We need to get involved. One can normally tell if there is a need for intervention from the authorities. We must also ensure that the authorities do their job. We mustn’t give up at the first sign of resistance. Whatever we think we have to lose, we have much more to gain. We will surely feel great about ourselves for saving a child from harm. The rest will take care of itself.

43. Bushie,

There will always be savage parents. That is why we need to have authorities to intervene and act on the child’s behalf. We blame the authorities because they are being PAID to do a job. They failed miserably. Have you seen those bruises Bushie? Look and see if it wasn’t a brass bowl or brass bowls who sent that child home to die. Those bruises have nothing to do with hindsight! And who cares who goes to the media when there is evidence? Who cares if they threaten to sue. That is one expense that I would pay taxes for gladly. And here’s one lady who would have lost her job to save this child. If he had come to my classroom looking like that I would not have taught anybody that day. I would have dealt with the authorities for as long as it took.

You are blaming the grandmother. She has raised other children. Have they turned out that way? Do you know? Despite our best efforts some children will turn out different from how we plan, Bushie. That was the silliest assumption you have made EVER!

44. @ Donna
    Bushie don’t argue with emotion…

For the CCB to be ANY where effective, we would need to provide them with 2000 staff and as much money as Cahill.
    Do you have ANY idea how many brass bowls we have out there? .do you think that the one or two cases you know of because of their association with your children is the root of the problem…?

Do you know that there are brass bowls who USE THE CCB to ‘take children off their hands when convenient’? Do you know how many children get abused without showing a single bruise or scratch…?
    The CCB is nothing but a band aid. How the hell can they supervise 100,000 parents?

The ROOT problem is that we need to establish and ENFORCE some serious societal rules about how children MUST be treated…… WITH THE MOST SEVERE PENALTIES when people do shiite.
    Behaviour is changed when good habits are ENFORCED until the shiite culture is changed…. If you want a good lawn …don’t you start with a serious WHACKING until the good lawn grass takes over and you have the desired lawn…?
    You don’t get a lawn by just tackling the thorns that juck you in your travels….

45. @Bush Tea

The point here is there was an opportunity for the CCB to intervene because there was clear evidence of abuse.

46. Thank you, David. I’m not arguing that the CCB can supervise 100,000 parents. That’s why I say we have to be vigilant in our neighbourhoods and call them in when necessary. Anyhow, it is not the majority of the 100,000 parents that needs supervision.

I have and still do deal with children in many capacities. I have been trained in youth ministry and this entailed seminars with the authorities so I am well aware of all the matters you speak about. I have also been involved with a mentoring programme with the youngsters at Dodds. After my mentee’s release this led me into situations that I had never been in before. I have also been a teacher. You Bushie have the unfortunate habit of assuming.

I speak with emotion but it does not impair my logic in any way. I am passionate about children and I will never lose that passion.

The clear and unemotional fact remains that this was an extreme case of abuse brought to the attention of the Authorities. The bruises were obvious and their causes would have been obvious to the trained eye. So Bushie, you need to stop opposing for opposing’s sake. And you need to remember that by your own admission I am not one of the illogical brass bowls. Don’t play the emotional female card on me! Your post was really silly.

47. @ David
    What would have happened if they had taken the child away from the mother? (remember now that the child would NOT have died)….?
    There would have been a post on BU entitled “Draconian CCB separates child from mother”.
    All kinds of emotional types would be posting about how such action could be so arbitrarily taken, …and wondering if THEIR child could be taken just because he fell off his bike.

It is OBVIOUS why CCB would have to do extensive investigations before acting. The people who could have acted pre-emptively are family, neighbours, churches etc who LIVE with the situation.

Bushie is talking about an OVERALL solution, not about this isolated case (pulling at a particular weed that pricks you…)

Mean you can’t see that such knee-jerk reactions are USELESS….. wunna just talk the same shiite after the youth from St Lucy ….what changed?

This needs someone intelligent in the position of AG or Minister of Youth standing up and saying something like “ANY ADULT that harms any child in the following ways will SUFFER the following ……” – and meaning it!
    A couple years of STRICT, PUBLIC enforcement and adults would get the message.

Neither you, Donna OR Bushie are in a position to second guess the CCB in the current circumstances…. Only the mother is unquestionably guilty unless clear extenuating circumstances can be presented.

48. Bushie,

Has punishment ever stopped violent crimes from occurring? Heck some prisoners even come out and repeat the offence. Can you ever see anyone’s point but your own? Can you ever admit to being hasty and wrong? If you can now is the time to do so.

After several years of practising any competent doctor should be able to determine how likely it was that the injuries were caused by a fall off a bike. Get real, Bushie!

And you keep talking about investigating. The interests of the child should dictate that you err on the side of caution and remove the defenceless child if reasonable suspicion is established. Who cares if the parents go to the media? Does the government base its actions on what a few disgruntled people report in the media? Besides, how many children get taken from their mothers? How many disgruntled women have you seen reporting to the media lately? People get arrested and are acquitted all the time. What happens then?

We are well aware that the problem requires more than a quick fix for an isolated case but does that mean that we ignore a careless or incompetent employee in a position which influences the outcome of the life or death of a child?

Steupss!

49. And Bushie,

I don’t just talk shiite I act. You seem to be the shiite talker here to day anyway. Go and wipe ya mout, do!