Didn’t we say girls are from Venus and boys are from Mars? What about what boys are made of?

Snips and snails,

And puppy dog tails,

That’s what little boys are made of.

What are little girls made of?

Sugar and spice,

And everything nice,

That’s what little girls are made of.

The chickens are coming home to roost. Have a listen to the short video presentation for an interesting insight.

Thanks to BU family member Bentley.

32 responses to “Why our boys are failing”

1. William Skinner Avatar

We can only warn that it’s dangerous for us to believe that one size fits all when it comes to such matters relating to education. Our Caribbean culture and history should be taken into consideration and our journey has been completely different. We first have to examine our changing cultural norms and the effect of technology and how we see changing sexual lifestyles and then revisit many things that we either sweep under the carpet or try our best to ignore.
    In discussing these matters, we tend to couch our approach in some imagined comfort zone that is no longer present. While one should always seek to be informed by trends elsewhere, we must remain focused on our cultural and historical realities.

2. This issue is so damn obvious that no one should expect such thinking to be adopted in our f$%#ed up world.

The problem can ONLY be explained by our world becoming overwhelmed by IDIOCY caused by brassbowlery – guided by EVIL forces, which we have CHOSEN to adopt…

God have forsaken us –
    Wisdom has deserted us..

Emotional, illogical women and effeminate shiite-men lead us..
    … and they are aided by a set of child-like followers…
    In our case, a bunch of incompetent, ball-less ‘ministers’ who simply follow orders.. and make excuses for ongoing failure.

The ONLY good thing about all this, is that it CONFIRMS the imminence of the end of the project called ‘Life on Earth’ – and reassures those with eyes to see, that everything is proceeding EXACTLY as purposed…

What a time to be alive…

3. Very interesting video! This may sound “old fashioned”, but did we have many of these problems with males before co-education? We know that most girls develop before boys and yet they are in the same class. Do males start to feel inferior to girls when this happens? I also think the lack of male teachers is a problem. As a mature woman if I had to make the choice between a male or female Doctor, I would choose the female because I think they can relate more to female problems.
    There is an area in Barbados where females have taken what used to be male jobs and that is gas attendants. I don’t like it because they are not nearly as efficient as males. They tell you I can’t put air in your tires or I can’t change your oil, the man who can do that is not here now. Maybe one in twenty five women can do it, whereas every male server could do it and I would give him a tip.
    This may not be the feedback that you are looking for, but I think it is an important subject and will have to have input from teachers, parents and the boys themselves.

4. My secret
    I think biggest contribution / factor for higher achievement in education is the amount of effort that is put into homework, revision, preparing / techniques for exams etc.

I’ve seen people do badly due to lack of effort.

5. I did not think it need to be stated but for completeness let me add the following “Girls aren’t boys”.

I have started down the slippery slope for I did not consider trans girls, trans boys or those with a variety of pronouns or identifying as something else. But yest I covered it.

I will not retreat behind the sand castle another blogger throws up at every chance he gets. I will not limit the role of men to that of a gas attendant and, though expected from her that comment is not even from my dear friend “Cuhdear”.

“My secret
    I think biggest contribution / factor for higher achievement in education is the amount of effort that is put into homework, revision, preparing / techniques for exams etc.

I’ve seen people do badly due to lack of effort.”

Indeed, this not only explains the difference between boys and girls, but it also explains the poor performance of black students in tests. When our children roll into an exam and see a question for the first time, Khalil who is seated next to him has seen a similar question a dozen times and is able to start solving the problem. Khalil is faster and has time to review his effort. The exam results for these two student would be different.

000 (my hero) nails it. Hopefully he does not let this compliment go to his head and starts lighting up.

6. Parent groups back penalties for parents of delinquent children

Parental engagement organisations have joined the call for stronger measures to hold parents accountable for their children’s actions, as authorities consider legislation could penalise adults for their children’s misconduct.
    As concerns over rising youth crime and school violence continue to mount, the Probation Department is currently reviewing legislation to address parental responsibility, with new provisions recommending that parents be held more accountable for their children’s actions, according to outgoing Chief Probation Officer Denise Agard.
    Cecily Clarke-Richmond, director of Parent Education for Development in Barbados (PAREDOS), told Barbados TODAY that the threat of legal consequences might encourage more parental engagement.
    “I think based on what is happening, we know that parents are not living up to their responsibilities. Perhaps if there’s the possibility that you can be charged, it might have some effect on how involved they become,” she said, reflecting growing concern about the lack of parental involvement in shaping children’s behaviour.
    Clarke-Richmond pointed to the increasing influence of social media and external factors on children, attributing this to a lack of parental involvement.
    “A lot of parents are not living up to their responsibilities,” she said. “They’re expecting school or even the television and social media to raise their children.”
    While the PAREDOS director hopes legislative measures can be avoided, she acknowledged that, given the rise in youth violence, all options must be on the table.
    “I would hope that we wouldn’t need to get to legislation, but perhaps it’s something we need to look at. We have to try new methods of helping parents understand their responsibilities,” she said.
    The Barbados National Council of Parent-Teacher Associations (BNCPTA) supports the principle of parental accountability but warns against a one-size-fits-all approach.
    Nicole Brathwaite, BNCPTA general secretary said: “We agree that some measure of legal accountability for parents in Barbados should be required, but on a case-by-case basis.”
    She also expressed concerns about the potential impact on some parents already facing financial challenges.
    “A main concern for parents of consistently delinquent children, especially if they are single or unemployed, may include how often they would be required to pay a penalty for their wayward child or ward,” Brathwaite said.
    The discussion on parental responsibility legislation follows the introduction of similar legislation in neighbouring Antigua and Barbuda, where parents can now face fines and imprisonment for their children’s offences, including loitering.
    The Antiguan law also includes curfews for minors.
    (SM)

Source: BT

7. Here’s the problem!!

8. So, 2/3 of our females are enrolled at UWI and 1/3 of our boys are not.

How many worthless degrees are offered at UWI?

How ever many there are, it isn’t our boys that is the problem, it is our girls.

9. Is it necessary to come with zero sum arguments? Can we agree the problem is difficult to solve and will require a holistic, pragmatic and multifaceted approach?

10. The societal norm is that you need a degree for employment.

What is the gender difference in the employment world?

Unless someone can show me different, females will predominate, they have the most degrees, useless and useful.

Most males are probably self-employed and probably doing fine, with or without a degree.

They are envied by the GOB populated as it is by females who can’t understand that an individual gets to make individual choices. Those individuals pay taxes which pays the salaries of GOB employees.

Unfortunately, there are many males who did not get the message and are without a degree, a job or a business and have made themselves unemployable and untrustworthy.

11. Here is an opinion on the most useful degrees.

12. Maybe a Bajan 90-year old, 11-plus boy, will not fail the Operation Armageddon as the failing American and Western sponsored, Zionist genocidal war, in Palestine has been so renamed by the White, eastern-European devil, whose grandfather changed his name to Netanyahu, just to further the pretense that these imposters have some relationship to Palestine. But then again the big, mushroom-headed, deckie in all their numbers, will seek flight to the very centre of the heart of the White demons everywhere.

13. @ Pacha
    Shiite Boss…
    Good to hear yuh!

When yuh went silent after Iran launched those hypersonic missiles…
    it had Bushie worried, yuh..!

De bushman thought you had joined the intifada, or that yuh had a Hezbollah pager in yuh pocket…

Things heating up.
    Karma done meking shiite sport…
    ‘it ah go be dread inna Babylon’….

Tek Bushie’s foolish advice..
    Head for the Rock ..and get used to the brass bout here
    …and don’t try coming home via Florida neither …

I looking like their donkey is grass.

What an era!

14. required to combat predatory behaviour, particularly given the prevalence of such offences in the country.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/10/09/changes-aim-to-curb-rise-in-predatory-acts-against-children/

15. Small note
    I noticed that Pacha was missed as well.
    Hopefully he will keep out of areas where a “mushroom deckie” would fall but then it wouldn’t really matter.
    Welcome back

16. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHEN A SOCIETY FAILS – THE KIDS ARE THE ONES WHO SUFFER!!! WHEN A SOCIETY LIVES A FALSE PRETENSE OF WHO IT REALLY IS – MEANING & SUBSTANCE GO OUT THE WINDOW!!! WHEN YOUR LEADERS SELL A BOGUS VISION – THE ONES WHO SUFFER ARE THE ONES WHO SEE THE HYPOCRISY & LOSE HOPE FOR LIFE!!!

#Brassbados (TO QUOTE A VISIONARY BROTHA*) has reached “CRITICAL MASS”!!! Many cannot see a way back from this bottomless precipice!!! On its current trajectory, the “ONLY POSSIBLE OUTCOME” will be “VIOLENT ANARCHY” – (July 1937 “ON STEROIDS”)!!!

The “DENIALISTS” & “NAYSAYERS” have spent so much time “NAVEL-GAZING” that it is no longer feasible for them to see beyond their “DISTENDED ABDOMENS”!!!

Critical mass has created a “LOST GENERATION”!!! It was on the decline for the past [4] decades – today, socialised post-nuclear fission has been reached & all is about to “EXPLODE” resulting in the terminal, seismic-active fallout that will completely decimate an entire group of people!!!

Let the “GRIEVOUS MULTITUDE” of millionaires, multimillionaires et al (“BEWARE”) for “PITCHFORK” are coming for them (IN THE WORST WAY IMAGINABLE) as “RETRIBUTION” will be the price many will have to pay for their “CORRUPT EXPLOITATION” of the “PERSON OF THE POOR”!!!

NO ONE SHOULD BE ALARMED THAT OUR #boys ARE KILLING EACH OTHER – UNTIL THEY CAN FINALLY TURN ON THE “ONES” THEY REALLY WANT TO LEVEL THEIR VENOM UPON!!!

The final curtain is about to be drawn – for we know that “all the world is a stage – the men & women mere players; they have their entrances & exits” -for the time has come!!!

HEAVEN HELP OUR NATION

17. Possibly the same AI which generated Friedman?

18. @Angela at 8.24 ” They tell you I can’t put air in your tires or I can’t change your oil, the man who can do that is not here now. Maybe one in twenty five women can do it, whereas every male server could do it and I would give him a tip.”

It is the responsibility of the employers [very likely male] to train staff to do their jobs properly.

Nobody is born knowing how to put air in a tyre, or fly an airplane, or drive a ZR van.

Training, training, training.

19. failing?

20. @John at 10:46 “Those individuals pay taxes…”

You are sure about this?

21. @John

As a Barbados scholar and scientist don’t you think you owe it to the blog to support your assertions with evidence based arguments. Then again they wouldn’t be assertions if that were the case.

22. Plenty of our boys are growing up to be loving, appy, responsible, hard working young men.

The ones who are failing, are failing because precisely because their fathers are failing them.

Once I was standing on the deck of the Aquatic Center and a boy about 12 to 14 years old got into conversation with me and told me “my daddy don’t notice me”

His daddy was at that time a Cabinet member.

23. root causes.

24. Sometimes you got to dig deep and do a likkle deep dive on sources of shit for bias
    Christina Hoff is linked with conservative website PragerU
    Historians and political scientists have also criticized PragerU’s videos for containing misleading or inaccurate claims about topics such as slavery and racism in the United States, immigration, and the history of fascism. PragerU has been accused of promoting anti-LGBT politics.

25. Epigenetics of Slavery
    studying the epigenetic incidence of stress in African-American populations who suffered the trauma of slavery or on prenatal stress transmitted from African-American mothers to their offspring. According to some studies, this traumatic memory is transmitted according to a transgenerational mechanism and induces a modification of the epigenome (which is to be understood as a key variable in the expression of an individual’s genes) of a large number of individuals whose ancestors – still according to these studies – underwent a metabolic change related to slavery, due, notably, to nutritional deprivations. While the transgenerational transmission mechanism of trauma is still being questioned by many epigenetic researchers today, and thus not universally accepted by the peer community, it is interesting to consider that activists in favor of reparations related to slavery, especially African Americans, as well as anthropologists and philosophers, are increasingly citing this reasoning of cause and effect as ‘proof’– which allegedly demonstrates that ‘race’ has indeed entered the body through the epigenome.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/-VjL8ePcPsU

26. Teachers’ union wants vacant posts filled

While the Ministry of Education says it’s working to fill vacant teaching positions, the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) wants the process to be intensified.

General secretary of the BUT Herbert Gittens made that call after highlighting the numerous complaints from teachers who had to sacrifice some of their time to pick up the slack.

“We do know that there were reports from one or two schools that replacements were not sent. In some instances, no replacements came after teachers went on leave or when transfers were done.

“I don’t know if that speaks to a shortage, but what is concerning is that some of our members were reporting that they were not being given the requisite amount of off time.

“So I would urge that the ministry ensures that these concerns are rectified to ensure the smooth functioning of the various schools to ensure the teaching and learning process is not compromised,” Gittens said.

He made those comments yesterday after the Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw said 12 out of 24 teachers at St Albans Primary School, St James, were ill and did not show up for classes.

Although some parents collected their children early, the majority remained and student-teachers and retired educators continued the sessions.

“We were able to make contact with Erdiston Teachers Training College and the principal was able to send about 15 student teachers here to assist with the process.

“I am also thankful for retirees who showed up to ensure that the teaching and learning continues at this school,” Archer-Bradshaw said.

After meeting with the principal Wendine Prince, Archer-Bradshaw acknowledged that a staffing shortage could have been at the root of the issue.

Meeting

“Out of the meeting, it was made clear that the Infants Department was without a teacher and that was very concerning for the members of staff and they indicated that they would wish for this matter to be rectified.”

While they are trying to fill the post, Archer-Bradshaw said the process took time.

“At the beginning of the term, the Ministry of Education ensured we had two teachers assigned here. However, one of the teachers reverted to their substantive post, which was not in the teaching service.”

She added: “We were in the process of ensuring that the post was filled. However, when it comes to filling posts, it’s a matter of going through the interview process and making the selection. We were taking steps in that direction and we continue to take steps in that direction.”

Recently, Christ Church Foundation posted an ad to fill a vacant teaching position. There were also reports that some classes were not being taught at that school.

Archer-Bradshaw was asked how widespread the staffing issue was and she said there could be various circumstances to be considered.

“The issue isn’t very widespread. From time to time, you may have teachers not being able to fulfil their duties due to illness, and when that happens, you have to advertise the post and go through the process of interviewing. That process takes a bit of time and that would result in sometimes classes not being taught for a short period of time.

“We must understand that teachers are human beings as well and when they fall ill we have to take some time to ensure the issue is rectified,” she added.

Meanwhile a source close to St Albans confirmed Herbert’s comments about the sacrifices some teachers had to make.

They said the vacant spot resulted in teachers not getting their scheduled off time and in some cases, their lunch time.

They, however, questioned how quickly the Ministry filled the vacant spots yesterday at short notice.

“How can an interview process take this long? You have a lot of qualified people that are graduating from Erdiston that are at home or working in other industries,” the source said.

They also questioned how the students were supervised.

“The Ministry is very particular about who can supervise children alone. When student-teachers go to schools to do their training they are not allowed to be with students alone, but for this purpose today, did they allow that to happen?” the source asked.

Gittens, however, said the matter of supervision was up to the Ministry.

“The Ministry is responsible for the functioning of the institution and it would be up to them how they determine with such matters,” he said.

(TG)

27. all uh wunna should read dis an eff wunna doan read it I gine complain to Bush Tea fuh wunna.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/10/11/psv-workers-scolded-for-breaking-road-rules/

28. Failing cause duh muddahs ent gettin pay enough.

29. @Hants October 10, 2024 at 5:16 pm “root causes.”

Nope.

In 1962 we didn’t know about DNA testing.

But in this 21st century, we all know how DNA testing works.

And in the referenced conversation the boy looked exactly like his daddy.

Our boys are failing because their fathers are failing them.

Our boys deserve better.