Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

It would appear that Barbados is in a worse crisis that most people can even imagine. Yesterday (May 6, 2015) Bus Operators of the state-owned Transport Board refused to work citing as their reason the hiring of a person with political connections to fill a vacancy that could have been filled by one of the persons who were made redundant.

The workers are unionised as part of the Barbados Workers’ Union so it was only natural that their union would have sprung to their defence but their response was lukewarm at best. Anyone who listened to the General Secretary on the news would not have gotten the sense of outrage that the workers felt which forced them to withdraw their labour. It seemed as though the union did not want to disclose the real reason behind the strike, as though BWU was protecting someone or something.

The Barbados Labour Party joined in the fray ostensibly to lend their support to the striking workers, but it was more likely that they wanted to score a few political points. But they too refused to adequately put the real reason for the strike in the public domain. Even though the real reason behind the strike was on the lips of all the assembled workers, neither the BWU, the BLP nor the news media was honest enough to accurately report on the real reason for the strike. It would appear that there was a conspiracy to keep the country in the dark.

Quite frankly, I can understand why the Barbados Labour Party refused to be honest: firstly, they are politicians and being honest is not something that local politicians find easy; and disclosing the truth might make one of the political class more than a bit uncomfortable as it appears that protecting each other, even across party lines, takes precedence over anything else.

It is puzzling why the media or the BWU did not reveal the real reason behind the strike, unless they too are politicians, aspiring politicians or controlled by politicians.

The workers were complaining for all to hear or for all who wanted to hear that the Transport Board hired the niece of the Minister to do work that could have been done by one of the retrenched workers. Why did the media, BWU and BLP omit that very pertinent detail?

School children who studied hard for five or more years to take CXC exams were inconvenienced, in getting to examination centres, by this strike. Somebody needs to answer for this piece of nastiness; some heads should roll starting with the Minister’s, if for no other reason than this nastiness happened on his watch, and he is required to accept responsibility for the actions of his officers. But before he leaves, he should send the members of the board packing ahead of himself.

54 responses to “Transport Board Strike: Conspiracy to Deceive”

1. @Caswell
    You mean to tell me that a sitting Minister ensured that his family and friend got a pick ahead of those who deserved it more? And shut down a whole system in the process? Here in Barbados? Man no man. I find that hard to believe. I know that Dennis Lowe would never condone such behaviour….

Just observing

2. Hamilton Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Hill

@ Caswell. …In all fairness Stetson Babb in his second report did allude to such, even though he did not go into details. Advertising dollars still dictate what is reported to the public here in Barbados. This bunch is doing exactly what was done by the bunch they replaced, and as has been the case here of late here comes what is called INDUSTRIAL GRANDSTANDING.

3. @Hamilton

Alluding?

If it is a fact and obviously news we need Babb et al to be robust with their coverage. The media is charged with the awesome responsibility to report the truth.

4. Hamilton Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Hill

That’s why I spoke about advertising dollars

5. Hamilton Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Hill

That’s why I spoke about advertising dollars.David this has been a problem forever.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Trevor Prescod also “alluded”: What was his excuse?

The institutions in this country are merely parodies: the BWU is a parody of a union; the political parties have evolved into parodies without any discernible philosophy, other than the winner takes the loot; the news media exist because other countries have them; and even the education system is a parody. We send children to school for twelve years (primary and secondary schools) and produce citizens who are barely literate.

Everything needs an overhaul but it won’t happen because we like it so.

7. This morning the Nation newspaper’s cartoon of the day is about – STRIKE FAILS TO CRIPPLE COUNTRY – should it not be – TRANSPORT BOARD STAFF PROTESTS AGAINST THE HIRING OF MINISTER LASHLEY’S FAMILY.

We always get our priorities in a bunch.

8. does that make sense to inconvenient hundred of people especially the school children over a frivolous internal problem. does that makes sense,, then the bewitched blp leadership with plenty of time on hand jumped head first into the fray like a drama queen looking for publicity instead of behaving and acting like one who wants to be come a PM of barbados. what a doh doh bird that mia mottley

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David May 7, 2015 at 9:49 AM #
    This morning the Nation newspaper’s cartoon of the day is about – STRIKE FAILS TO CRIPPLE COUNTRY – should it not be – TRANSPORT BOARD STAFF PROTESTS AGAINST THE HIRING OF MINISTER LASHLEY’S FAMILY.

We always get our priorities in a bunch.

whats THE DIFFERENCE DAVID WHEN YOU DELETE MY POSTS ON THE BLOG BOUT SOME STUPID DEAD WHITE GIRL?

YOU ALSO DELETED AC’S POSTS TO PLEASE YOUR TWO BUDDIES- TWO BIG BULLIES ON BU.

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Why is the General Secretary of the BWU making threats to the Barbados Light and Power? Were the BWU not the gate switch keeper when the electric horse bolted out of the stables

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Michael Lashley barely spit in the face of all Barbadians by showing just why we can no longer tolerate the hiring and political practices of these dispicable bitches. These politicians are about their agendas and families. Yet the loyalist pooch pickers see nothing wrong with these schemers.

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Sunshine Sunny Shine May 8, 2015 at 2:05 AM #@ Well we agree with you , This is the part of what is wrong with Barbados ministers as most have millions of tax and vat payers money in their pvt pockets, Most of them need not even need their families to work with all the money they have , Spies in the work place like rats,

13. @Caswell

One still has to regard this as a victory by the BWU? It was able to get the TB to rescind the contract of the temporary (political)appointment.

14. David

As far as I am aware there was no rescinding of any contract. My information is that the young lady left the job in order to make peace. In any event, the employer could not legally rescind a valid contract without paying compensation for the loss that the employee would have suffered.

I wish to restate my original concern. The workers who were gathered at the entrance of the Transport Board were complaining that the young lady in question was related to the minister and that concern was not reported. For argument sake, let’s say that she wasn’t, the report should still have been that the workers were on strike because of a mistaken belief that the new employee was related to the minister. But nothing was said one way or the other and I am therefore wondering why this omission.

The only person who came close to divulging the reason behind the strike was Trevor Prescod who said that the lady was related to a senior politician. Why the half news?

15. @Caswell

Agree with you 100%.

16. Has Mia become the “external” leader of trade unions in Barbados? Why was she at this dispute? I mean Santia Bradshaw chairman for her constituency is Treasurer at the NUPW and I could see why she was there!!!

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Franklyn (who I constantly am encouraging to run for a seat in the coming General Election)

You said “…But nothing was said one way or the other and I am therefore wondering why this omission.”

A recent blog here on BU by a Mr. Knighton, speaks about the generic topic of “Freedom of Speech” in a rather “disconnected?” way and de ple man sought to keep it local and talk about what that means heah in Bulbados.

Now I am going to ask you a question which I will try and connect to that topic “Freedom of Speech”

“What is the size of your balls?”

Now I hope that you don’t add the last word of the 3rd paragraph above and this question to come up with the wrong answer.

No sir. I want to get at the “meat” of this matter, there de ole man go again with this play on words, or is it a Freudian slip?

On June 20th 1995 Selwyn Richardson, former the Honourable Selwyn Richardson, Attorney General for Trinidad in 1988, he who sought to indict Mr. 10% John H. O’Halloran was murdered in his driveway.

The phenomena that you refer to as an commission is in fact not based on “freedom of Speech” but what obtains in our isle Barbados “Fear of Speech”

You have “man size balls” and ethics a quality that is fast diminishing on the local landscape but for which it is known that you cant get run out of town coupled probably with a few secrets about where the skeletons are buried.

Small insignificant men who, when they die, as we all shall, whether by natural means, by assassins’ bullet in our driveways, or by meat lodged in our throats at Sunday lunch, by injections under fingertips or in your anal cavity to hide the insertion point or whichever way “he who has power to inflict the “first death” deems fit, small men who having written nothing on Life’s pages, will be forgotten.

Trevor Prescod is not an idiot. Having himself benefited from ministerial largesse at particular points of his career, he would be most idiotic to bite the hand from which he fed/feeds?

Oh what I, a Bajn, would give if a few good men and women would rise to the constantly beconing task of good governance…

18. My question pretaining to the actions taken by the Transport board workers is a legitimate given the fact that the resolution was taken in consideration and resolved by the BWU which the transport board workers could have used as their first “resort”instead causing the inconvience to school children and the general public.this is a case triggered by political theatrics and a rush to judgement

19. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Oh BLP why does Mia Mottley hurt you so?

Even Owen Arthur at his zenith as leader of the BLP never descended to such despotic levels.

No wonder Owen had to opine that the BLP under Mottley has lost its soul!

20. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Mia Mottley will lead the BLP to a massive defeat……just like how Milliband led the UK Labour Party to defeat yesterday.

Blasted opportunists!

21. Let BU join with Caswell to restate the gist of the submission, why the hell did the TB hire a temp who is the relative of the minister instead of giving a ‘pick’ to one of several sent home?

22. On the morning of Wednesday, September 19, 2012, approximately one hundred Transport Board workers took strike action claiming that they are “fed up” with the treatment from management. The employees explained that the strike was the result of a build-up of frustration with management over time.

“Other issues raised by the workers were alleged non-payment of workers who are suspended, where they should receive half pay; the non-issuing of green slips; and the unavailability of pension and gratuity.”

The above comments, which were taken (in part) from the September 20, 2012 edition of the Barbados Advocate, indicates that there have been ongoing problems at the Transport Board, and more so since Sandra Forde became the general manager.

And what amazes me is rather than provide the TB with effective and efficient management, which would benefit employees and commuters, the DLP was more concerned with placing the following on the TB’s website, on Tuesday March 30, 2010:

“In its second year of office, on Thursday April 1st, 2010, the Democratic Labour Party CREATED HISTORY BY APPOINTING THE FIRST FEMALE, Ms. Sandra Forde, to the position of General Manager of the Transport Board, whose role it will be to lead the organisation in the 21st century.”

So far as we can see, under Ms Forde’s management, the TB’s service in 2015 can be compared to the service it provided in the early 1980’s when there were fewer buses available.

23. When are the blp operatives ” going to get it right”most or all can see through their political hiccups and actions. The necessary actions of strike was uncalled for if related to a temp. worker unheard of and unprofessional to bring a country transporation to a schreeing hault.

24. Can always tell when MIa is the mastermind behind foolishness she is always the first to jump out the box in full “support of” anarchy and yardfowl drama

25. It seems as though illogical idiotic political spin, rhetorical political diatribe and passing blame for their failures are inherent within the DLP house-hold. Or these characteristics are what qualifies one for membership of the party.

The lack of being able to present rational, coherent arguments has become endemic within the DLP to an extent which makes it quite difficult to differentiate between the yard-fowls who comment on BU on their behalf and the arguments you hear the DLP politicians regurgitate in parliament, at constituency branch meetings and in public.

Unless they are in actuality the politicians themselves who are using the pseudonyms we have all grown accustomed to on BU, who blindly support the DEMS.

Case in point, TB workers have been experiencing problems with management, and these DLP yard ducks are blaming another political party for the action taken by these workers in an effort to have their grievances addressed.

26. Fractured BLP Avatar

When next the House meet, I am going to move a motion to have Mia Mottley suspended from the House of Assembly for continually trying to incite Barbadians to violence and mob rule.

27. So again what was the purpose of Ma support for the workers.this idiot wants to know this issue as far as i am aware is betwwen the workers and govt and human resources and if necessary the union that represents the employees. Outside of Mia trying to draw attention on herself what then would her support could have acomplished. Why is mia not as openly supporative in the call for integrity legislation given that she knows how to dip a finger in every pie

28. To quote the general secretary of the BWU the hire was the straw which broke the camel’s backbone.

29. The Transport Board system is used by the poor, working poor and the lower middle class to get to work and school.

The strike should not have occurred especially since the workers are represented by the Best Workers Union.

Dear Ministers of the GOB,
    when wunna family need jobs send dem to Cowbizzy or Jadajerk or one a dem big ups who own companies dat mekkin nuff money offa guvmunt contracks.

30. Prodigal Son Avatar

The minister like all the other dems are so arrogant that they think they can do as they like and Barbadians could like it or lump it.

He flooded the NHC with his relatives and NHC vehicles were directed to pick up one in particular who walked into work at any hour and did whatever she wanted. So to bring in a relative at transport Board was just par for the course.

Useless bunch of idiots!

31. Prodigal Son Avatar

Fractured BLP May 8, 2015 at 12:56 PM #

When next the House meet, I am going to move a motion to have Mia Mottley suspended from the House of Assembly ………….

Are you trying to expose yourself? Dont you have anything better to do like what we are paying your to do, other than to write BS on BU?

Oh for the day when you and your ilk will be defeated and sent to the junk heap forever. You are are blights on this fair land!

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

You said: “The strike should not have occurred especially since the workers are represented by the Best Workers Union.”

I must take offence; I was not representing those workers.

33. @ Caswell Franklyn,

You dun know I was being “sarcastic”.

Workers who are properly represented by a structured workers union do not go on a “wild cat” strike over a matter that should easily be resolved.

34. @Hants

What happened at the TB appeared to have taken the BWU principals by surprise, note the president of the TB Union indicated it postponed the strike from the day earlier to not affect the children who did the screaming test and the buses to support airport and disability workers were allowed to run.

35. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Fractured BLP May 8, 2015 at 8:42 AM #
    Mia more dead than the people she killed by fraud in the cave in,

We will roast her ass in the public, Questions she will run from like ex CJ Simmons looking to run and the set up for Sir Hilary to run in the next elections to keep the coverup of the truth of Barbados great History after slavery,

Books Sir Henry wrote to get his fraud rank and to keep us all in mental slavery , No white man can write History and put you up front , When its based on crooking a Nation so he can feel like a Master once past, Vision and Focus will light the way.

Where do white people work in Barbados? for self or where the money is ,and the Minister sell out the public so their sellout ass can live a White Life ,
    google and look past the babies of Sir Allen Stanford Ponzi and Fraud , Only in Barbados , In America now doing over 100 years in Prison ,

36. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Are we for real? Last week we had the Barbados Workers Union and the Minister of Labour, kicking up much dust about the “voluntary” retrenchment of workers at the Barbados Light and Power Company. Even threatening strike action ,although those who have gone home while the Union and the Minister of Labour were sitting down to “talks’ with the BL&P, have done so with attractive packages and broad smiles on their faces.
    In today’s Sun we learn that the Government of Barbados are “dissing” some 25 custom officers from entry into the newly formed Barbados Revenue Authority,simply because they were born before 1952.
    One wonders if their forced packages will be as attractive as that of the BL&P.
    Perhaps before people, like the union and especially the Minister of Labour, start kicking up a fuss about others, they should first consult the Met Office to ascertain in which direction the wind is blowing, to save spittle from falling back into their faces.

37. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

IMF says well to do Barbadians like Miller and Prodigirl should pay for the provision of social services.

I am glad to hear that.

When the budget comes around I would be supporting any measures from the Minister of Finance in that regard.

38. @ Fractured
    With a mind as SICK as yours,anything can happen now ,but time will tell

39. Fractured BLP Avatar

Watchman !

Watch out……you are in BIG TROUBLE!

No more free rides on the back of taxpayers!

I dealt with you with the UWI tuition fees!

You must wonder what’s next?

Like PM Cameron…the DEMS taking the tough decisions NOW.

40. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

The IMF what. Has it not been given a failing grade by the Prime Minister and his MOF ? So no one will hardly pay any mind to the IMF, unless of course its last utterances is a fake orgasm to appease the two above truckers,capital F,and the rest of us who are being well and truly shafted.

41. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

PRODIGIRL…. please what is new about what Ministers of government are doing now from when your henchmen and women ruled this fair land? Let me guess nothing different, all politicians operate the same exact way so if you think this is something new or will be something that will not happen if your people are lucky to take office, then continue to live in dreamland.

42. Agree both parties had padded the public service with their own breed of yardfowls. Mia took it too a level at CBC.

43. @ fractured
    You should really make a decision to get your trouble mind sorted out

44. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Watchman go take a hike…….poor wretched soul!

45. Prodigal Son Avatar

With people like you in power with such a sick mind, no wonder Barbados is going to hell in a hand basket! You are pathetic!

46. @ Fractured
    I am hiking with my mind intact , but you are a very trouble minded person , by your writing you are SEEKING help , go ask the REV SENATOR in your DLP for HELP

47. Recently I was looking back at some at some articles written by one Cat’s Eyes prior to the 2008 elections. When I compare those submissions to those written by one AC today I can see a very strong similarity. They seem very familiar to the mouthings of one Irene Sandiford-Garner.
    Anyone remember Cat’s Eyes?

48. […] comment submitted by Artaxerxes on the Transport Board Strike Conspiracy to Deceive […]