Congrats to Barbados CARIFTA Team 2015 BUT …

2015 Barbados Carifta Team
BU adds its voice to the congratulations directed at the 2015 Barbados CARIFTA team. Jamaica as expected led the medal count with 41 gold, 25 silver and 19 bronze followed by the Bahamas with 8 gold, 13 silver and 10 bronze AND Barbados with 7 gold, 4 silver and 5 bronze. We did well but the medal count tells a story, that is, there is a chasm which separates Barbados and Bahamas the regional power houses of track and field in the Caribbean.
After acknowledging the predictable plaudits one has to admit there is a déjà vu that raises its head at this time of the year. Barbadian athletes compete at the junior level in several sporting disciplines. The challenge however remains – the inability of successful junior athletes to make the quantum leap to the professional level.
Isn’t it ironic as the plaudits continue to be dumped on the 2015 CARIFTA team the ALL the stands at the National Stadium of Barbados have been condemned by the government. In has been reported it will cost many millions of dollars to repair rotting stands. Here is another irony, the rot did not set in overnight.

Pingback: Congrats to Barbados CARIFTA Team 2015 BUT …
@Truth for true! at 11:48 PM
What is your point ? Are you accusing the site of hypocrisy?
Did the private info published compromise his life, identity or otherwise illegally assailed his rights?
If people acted illegally then they will be prosecuted. If information was illegally distributed then there may be penalties to pay.
I have no idea what type of info is under review here in this case, but it seems to me that this social media site has every right to seek out and publish information that may be in the public interest.
If you have reason to believe that they have done something wrong then state your facts and let the blog respond.
Listing a recently filed court case in an attempt to ‘out’ the blog’s publisher is rather ineffectual in my view. So who cares if there is a name or face to the blog.
You are obviously trying to be mischievous.
I suspect the publishers of this blog have lasted these eight years by being several steps ahead of mischievous souls like yourself.
LikeLike
@Word
This person has been after BU for many years now. Don’t be distracted.
LikeLike
Congratulations to Team Barbados your winning efforts put forward must be commended and not be taken over by a team effort of disorganized distractors whose only purpose is to win through the lenses of political gymnastics ,, Congrats TEAM BARBADOS You have earned my support,
LikeLike
Congrats to all the CARIFTA teams (Swimming, athletics adn chess).
B’dos could really do with some good news right now.
LikeLike
The comment by Mary Fraser’s father says it all and it is good it came from him after congratulating his daughter. The discussion must move to questioning how we can build a relevant sports program to sustain success.
LikeLike
Success involves plenty money and not being selfish.countries which have demonstrated success in sports have done so by cultivating on the minds of theira support mechanism which calls on its citizens to be part of. sports programs that binds and initiate programs aggressively.Right now there is a call for a new stadium but how many would be in support of helping govt to foot the bill.yet all wants these amenities done quickly and with haste without giving forethought to the sacrifice involved.
LikeLike
@ ac April 8, 2015 at 9:16 AM #
“Success involves plenty money and not being selfish”
So how come Jamaica, the citizens of which you and your type look down upon as economic wanderers, social refugees and drug runners to your lovely Barbados, can do so well on both the regional and international fields of sports and music.? Isn’t Barbados supposed to be a wealthier and better managed country than its basket case CSME cousins?
“Right now there is a call for a new stadium but how many would be in support of helping govt to foot the bill.yet all wants these amenities done quickly and with haste without giving forethought to the sacrifice involved..”
Aren’t all government bills footed by the people aka taxpayers?
What about cutting back on the Defence Force? Isn’t the Mighty Gabby song “Boots” relevant today? Or do you intend, under your new banana republic, to use it to make the prophetic words of Ronald Jones come true?
What about privatizing some of the State-owned assets and using the proceeds to invest in national Sporting facilities?
What about floating a special bond to rebuild the Stadium? After all, there are so many investors lining up outside the office of the MoF including ac & Co.
What about running a special lottery since you guys are not interested in that funding model for the QEH?
LikeLike
@ Miller
What about running a special lottery since you guys are not interested in that funding model for the QEH?
Another one?
Don’t we have a lottery that supports sport?
Don’t they contribute about $10M dollars per year to sport?
Have they not done so for the last 20 years or so…?
..let’s see, that is about $200M…..YET…we don’t have a stadium; the Gymnasium is a loss-making church and theatre; the Netball place is a joke; the footballers are scrambling -thanks only to FIFA; the hockey pitch is dead……
…and you want another lottery?
…for the money to go where exactly….?
Wuh shiite Miller… If we can’t mark fat with $200M……what does it tell you….? ..to let us see what we can do with $500M???
LOL…you is a CLICO-MANIAC or wuh?
LikeLike
Wow, 54 million dollars!
LikeLike
US$
LikeLike
Wow, 54 million dollars!
Of course.
Wuh the actual stadium will probably cost $25M….
Then by the time all the consultants, finders, enablers and facilitators are paid….
LOL ….
WAIT!
…you better check if he ain’t mean US$ yuh….. 🙂
LikeLike
@David April 8, 2015 at 8:28 AM #
The comment by Mary Fraser’s father says it all and it is good it came from him after congratulating his daughter. The discussion must move to questioning how we can build a relevant sports program to sustain success…………………….
Thanks for your post David, I just read the paper and was smiling as I read her father’s comments. His way works, hopes she keeps up.
We all know that as with the WI cricket team, from the time we went to the computer for techniques instead of the raw talent, we began to lose.
Well done to our athletes!
LikeLike
Bush Tea,
Where will this money come from? The pipsqueak we have as a minister said on the morning news that he is going to ask the MOF to re-prioritise and find the $30 million. Now I read the paper, I see there is talk about $54 million.
Well NIS’ funds are exhausted, the inept minister of labour has allowed the Stinkliar to use NIS funds so that 70% of NIS money, our money is held in government paper, we are junk status and nobody is lining up to lend us………..so where is the money going to come from??
LikeLike
Minister Lashley advised the plan is to phased the project. We will have to wait for the details. Again, why have we waited until the thing is about to fall to fix it? This question is relevant for BLP people as well.
LikeLike
But wait, on my TV now is that political prostitute, Hammie La. Wait….. he is still an adviser to government? Crumbs man, all of them so should be cut as well! What purpose does he serve?
LikeLike
Are we there yet?
LikeLike
This government is so inept and stupid like a spanking stadium will make people run faster.Those millions better spent in the athletes themselves.Proper weight training programs , nutrition and travel so they can get more exposure.Whats that that facility up UWI for ? Some clown high up the totem pole always looking to rob people children.
LikeLike
@ Benjaminite
….and pray tell us how kickbacks can be arranged when money is used on development programs for athletes? Who will cover election expenses? How will consultants be required?
…besides, do you know how much scrutiny will be applied when money is given to poor athletes? …shiite man, the Auditor General, Caswell, Tom, Dick ,and Harry will be adding up all the moneys spent….
How the hell will “benefits” be extracted….?
Nah boss….by that time the Waterworks buildingby CBC will be completed and that new stadium will be ready and waiting for milking….
LikeLike
Have a look at the QUALITY of the people who lead sport in Jamaica….then look at ours…
..and any money that the Jamaicans now have …comes as a RESULT of their outstanding successes.
Our sports leaders are much like this current DLP government…..even if you gave them the keys to the treasury AND the NIS pension funds – things will only get worse and the money will just disappear into the pockets of dubious people much like Parris…..
A fool and his money are soon parted…
but trusting fools with OUR money is like repeatedly picking up soap in Dodds…
LikeLiked by 1 person
The blog is on the topic of congrats to the nation’s outstanding athletes and swimmers why is miller and prodigal turning it into a cuss fest on GOB? The athletes deserve highest commendation for their performances if Sade Williams did not break down at the last minute they could have brought home at least 10 golds. What happened to Tristan Evelyn after her powerful run in the 100 sprint she disappeared when we expected her to challenge for a podium finish in the 200. Barbados must start taking enough athletes to field teams in the relay events. Its frustrating to see lightweight countries like BVI and St. Kitts that have little chance of challenging powerhouse Jamaica fielding relay teams while Barbados is a no show in all except one relay. This is a problem every year at CARIFTA and should be rectified. Let two or three of the hangers on officials stay at home and send deserving athletes in their place.
LikeLike
Potentially, Barbados has some of the best athletes in the region. Physically, nutritionally, educationally and emotionally. Up to the stage where such talent is the main determining factor, we do very well in most areas of sport.
Where the failures come is at the stage where ADMINISTRATIVE support, coaching, competitive opportunities and career opportunities come into play.
Athletes can only do their best….and mostly, they do…
LikeLike
Shut up bush sh,t u don/t know a thing about sports u and them two wooden legs u got propping uh up fuh feet, they dont call u bush whacker fuh nutting cause it is dem two feet u used to whack people around the head,,,,,
LikeLike
@ waiting April 8, 2015 at 8:17 PM
“Barbados must start taking enough athletes to field teams in the relay events. Its frustrating to see lightweight countries like BVI and St. Kitts that have little chance of challenging powerhouse Jamaica fielding relay teams while Barbados is a no show in all except one relay. This is a problem every year at CARIFTA and should be rectified. Let two or three of the hangers on officials stay at home and send deserving athletes in their place.”
So what are you and your administration ‘waiting on’? But we keep forgetting yours is an administration for creating problems, not solving them.
We will await the new stadium as announced by the Minister the same way we have been waiting for the Pierhead marina; the cruise ship terminal; the Four Seasons restart; the sugar cane factory; the WTE plant; the brand new hospital at Kingsland to be called the Fumble Inniss erection; the Chinese funded Performing Arts Centre at Brandons; the Exmouth Housing High-rise project and offshore drilling programme. But there is hope just like the start of the sugar crop that will produce just enough sugar to make enough sweetbread for the canteen in Parliament.
Barbados will become a republic with Leroy Parris as its first President before the IMF allows the NIS to be used for such ‘recreational’ pursuits in their strictly commercially focus eyes.
LikeLike
Excellent response to the moron, miller!
The two of us on BU are really getting to the morons. Everybody on this post talking whatever they want and we are the only two bloggers that the idiot could find to attack. Yea boy, the pressure is getting to them.
These dems are like two people in a bad relationship. You tell the person you no longer want them yet they would not leave. It is clear than the people of Barbados are angry and feel deceived by the lies they told them and do not want them to lead them but they would not resign and leave the place………..only occupying the place to insult us. The latest is the Dumbville…….
LikeLike
@miller
That’s a might long list there mate.
@bushie
Correct. We start good and then get left behind. Any thoughts on who should go or what should change 1st?
LikeLike
@ Observing
Correct. We start good and then get left behind. Any thoughts on who should go or what should change 1st?
That is what the Americans call a no brainer.
Change must come at the TOP, and it must include changes to the collection of stooges who usually tag along with the leeches in position.
Take the Sports Council.
King is gone…only to be replaced with an even bigger joke who knows squat about sport …but is the minister’s pal.
Clearly we need a minister who is focused on efficiency and effectiveness rather than politics….and talking shiite.
….but who put him there?
Froon.
The BOA is another story. Apparently that belongs to Sagicor. It is packed with plenty high level chiefs in a fancy building with all the perks…..and accomplishes very little for athletes.
Cricket’s woes are well documented. That only seemed to work when a white military man with a big moustache ran things ..and everyone fell into line. The subsequent jokers have been out of their league.
In Football, after years of jonesing, there appears to be some progress….largely due to a Canadian planted by FIFA to keep an eye on the money.
What works?
Some individual sports like Road Tennis, Lawn tennis, squash etc seems to be benefiting from good leadership, but nationally we need a clear, decisive and well articulated policy which must then be implemented.
That is what worked in Jamaica…and most other countries that turned around sport results.
…all roads lead to the top.
LikeLike
@Bush Tea
You have not answered Observing’s question, how to move change if those at the top remain in control, they have no interest in forcing change.
LikeLike
The question was answered…
It is NOT possible to move change if idiots at the top remain in control.
Even if they express interest in change, they can be relied on to end up doing shiite – like hiring their useless pals, overriding professional decisions, looking for personal benefits etc…. THAT IS WHAT IDIOTS DO…
….what is the chance of someone with a bad head becoming successful?
….Think of ac for a moment… 🙂
LikeLike
To move this matter forward is it possible to advocate for an umbrella of sports organizations to collaborate agitate for change?
LikeLike
David April 9, 2015 at 10:16 AM #
That adjutant for change is a police uniform locking somebody to shite up for mis-use of funds.
LikeLike
The police is directed to enforce law however someone on the inside must act first.
LikeLike
Inside where?
Boss, we can’t even get CLICO policyholders to join the damn group trying to get back some of their OWN money that has been stolen…
Where will you find bajans to act when the money in question is “government money” or Lottery money?
Some shiite has to be fundamentally wrong when a lottery can hand $200M to national sports programs over a period of years and there are no mechanisms whatsoever in place to audit and report on how these funds are used; there are no facilities or assets to show; and sport is actually at a level BELOW smaller islands with NO lottery.
Who are responsible for integrity and transparency in these agencies? Should the Lottery people not have some kind of responsibility to commission an independent annual audit of the use of funds provided ….and publish the full report?
….and if they don’t, then should not some government agency be looking at the whole lottery arrangement?
But most bajans seem to be happy and contented with things as they are…
LikeLike
14 years Barbados has not been able to host Carifta Games, imagine that!
LikeLike
David April 9, 2015 at 9:20 PM #
Because the right people aint get locked up yet but a corned beef thief would.
LikeLike
Congratulations to the Barbados Carifita athletes. Well done.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Now there is a talented Bajan athlete with CLEAR Olympic potential that has been obvious for at least 10 years now.
It would interesting to find out how much money we have invested in her in the last ten years….. compared for example to what we have spent on the top dogs at BOA, AAA, NSC and sport officials on free cars, travel, per-diems and other personal expenses.
Why are these figures secret? is there an annual report anywhere? …in the ministry of sport?
When Kentucky State invest their money in her and develop an Olympic champion – will she really be a Bajan Olympian or an American Olympian?
Are Rihanna and Obadelle REALLY products of Barbados except by birth? How do you put your child out for adoption and then seek to claim ownership after the adopted parents manage to mould them into gems?
LikeLike
Good point Bush Tea, we lay claim to Jones and one or two others but we know it is not the mediocre sports program responsible for sustaining the success of these athletes but private money i.e. second mortgages etc.
LikeLike
Another Bajan with potential. Well done young lady.
BARBADIAN Sade-Mariah Greenidge has been named The American Athletic Conference Track Athlete of the Week for her performance in the 100-metre hurdles and 400-metre hurdles at last weekend’s Rice Victor Lopez Bayou Classic in the United States.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66003/bajan-named-track-athlete#sthash.K9SYDzaI.dpuf
LikeLike
@Bush Tea April 11, 2015 at 9:41 AM #
[BOA, AAA, NSC and sport officials on free cars, travel, per-diems and other personal expenses]
Bush T you are bang on target.
You postulated also that the National Lottery money goes to the BOA that’s a large sum of money annually in their kitty. Is that the lottery they say supports youth sports and culture? It would be good to know what happens to that money and who manages it. Transparency is clearly lacking here.The Olympics and big Games are not every year and the small number of athletes dispatched to those marquee events cant soak up all those funds. Where does the money go? What is spent on? The BOA should give a breakdown with audit accounts it is the people’s money. The BOA and the NSC with Boozer King (is he still there?) and the AAA with Maynard, Muscle Mary and that crowd are renowned world travelers on the tax payers dime. If these leeches are replaced by athletes competing at high standard games it would make a difference.
LikeLike
@ waiting
Bushie was trying to have a look at BOA , AAB, Ministry of youth and sport websites to see if any financial reporting was done to account for the millions spent each year, so far nothing…..
The money part seems to be secret….
We talking about over $200Million in 10 years hear…?
BOA have lots of articles, but all the comments are turned off so Bushie can’t even ask them… 🙂
BTW, it appears that your boss man Froon paid a visit to there some time ago… Is that where he learnt his management tricks? …and about how to stay in power long – while doing nothing..?
…no public statements
…no financial reporting
…lotta general shiite talk bout how much good they are doing
…lotta complaint about how the athletes wutless
http://www.olympic.org.bb/?p=1038#
LikeLike