Submitted by Observing
Mary Redman, BSTU President

The recent SBA saga has taken centre stage in the educational conversation of Barbados. One might have missed the Minister’s pronouncement of a number of new codes including mobile technology, or the launch of the new school for troubled teens or even the good news coming out of BSSAC, NAPSAC and some schools’ Speech Days.

We’ve heard and seen the BSTU (“supported by the BUT”…whatever that means) make an impassioned plea for their members to not mark SBAs in support of their demand for payments.

From the outset let’s agree on a few things:

1. It’s the Union’s right to request payment, whether they get it or not.
  2. It’s the Union’s right to take action to “force” discussion or resolution on the matter.
  3. It’s the Union’s right to represent teachers who believe their their workload has become too burdensome, whether it is or not
  4. It’s a Ministry’s responsibility to speak to its employees and/or their representatives proactively and on request
  5. It’s a travesty when issues like this drag on for so long to the detriment of everyone.

Now, all of that aside, let’s get to the critical point here.

FACT: The stance taken by the BSTU, contrary to their statements in the media, places hundreds of students at risk of failure in hundreds of examinations unless Principals take corrective measures.

Let’s observe why…

a) The SBA is a school based assessment. Started, completed, assessed and submitted by the school.

b) The SBA is intended to form part of the teaching of the subject and to lead to the fulfilment of some objectives in the syllabus.  It is not intended to be separate and distinct.

c) The SBA is a compulsory part of any syllabus where it is required. The same syllabus that teachers are duty bound to teach in its entirety where practicable.

d) By commencing and guiding the SBA in the first place, teachers are now duty bound to complete the process (i.e. mark/assess).

e) CXC will not conduct a process for Barbados that varies from other countries. (i.e. mark SBAs submitted without marks)

f) Marking an SBA is not the same as moderating an already marked SBA.  (this point seems lost on the BSTU)

g) The guidelines quoted by BSTU (i.e. submission is sufficient…marks not needed) also state that scores not submitted by the institution or school on behalf of the candidate will lead to an ungraded.

h) Schools have a contractual obligation to its students and their parents to submit marked SBAs to the Local Registrar until existing guidelines or procedures have been changed

i) It is too late now to galvanise similar regional action on the matter. Barbados stands alone.

By the way…

If the teachers chose to mark, but then refused to compile, transfer or enter them into CSEC’s online system, they would be on solid ground If teachers do not want to mark the SBA without payment, then they should also refuse to start teaching any SBA class.

If teachers had directly indicated to their individual students, their individual parents and their individual schools at the start of the SBA process that this would be the end result, then they “may” have been forgiven.

The intransigent stance taken by the BSTU (in its present form) is nothing short of educational terrorism and could lead to the genocide of many Grade Ones and Twos unless Principals step in and fill the breach.

The words of the NCPTA President should be heeded. Stand down (for now), then reload your weapons before the start of the next school year. History will not be kind otherwise.

194 responses to “To the BSTU teachers, have a heart…”

1. Well said.

2. Redman: ‘Our hard work must be taken into account’

“I want to make it clear that no member of the BSTU is engaging in any activity that will jeopardise the success of any student at CXC or at CAPE. But there comes a time when our hard work and our goodwill must be taken into account, and what we expend in effort and energy and goodwill must be translated in some form of compensatiion
    “CXC has been very actively involved in profit making above and to my mind, beyond what a regional organisation of its type should really be involved in . And they have done that to the detriment and financial disservice service of our members,”

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    Well Said

3. @Observing

Good dispassionate exposition. The part about the need for teacher’s input to support continuous assessment is taken.

4. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

What one sees as purple another sees as mauve. Referred to here as educational terrorism is what fair minded rational persons call industrial action. Stand down ? What the hell you think the period that has elapsed since 2009 represents? Oh by the way, can’t wait to hear the stance of Maureen the Moron who tells us that the teachers are being unreasonable in their efforts to extract monies from a cash-strapped government……the same one that might find monies to satisfy the latest cash grab by the CCM. clico con man. Doan mind me, I only talking my talk.

5. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Can somebody tell me if these teachers are not entitled to some form of compensation why was that not clearly expressed since 2009?

6. btw motor mouth lil boy Hamilton this saga has been going on since 2006, but like quick draw macgraw u always pull the gun out the holster after the attacker got away,

it seems that every time a woman ask for respect there are a bunch of old measley mout clowns always standing in the way, now the dimwitted not so observant ,observing charges forward with a whole lot of what is ,, but cannot grab the essence and the realities of the bstu need for compensation, yet these brilliant nosy nose pickers got the mitigated gall to squeal about not receiving their dist and dat checks, yeah same way wunna need money for services rendered everybody else does too,

7. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Barbados need to shut down for repairs,Then have a grand re-opening by law and not by favors.

8. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Which one of wunna this is now? 2006 alright that just makes is worse…… every shit hole that exists you clowns want to wipe your hands clean . You were once the party of the poor. You are now the nemesis of that same constituency. That’s why the motor mouth that once extolled the virtues now exposes the vices, which are many.

9. What I am hearing from the BSTU is that they are not marking the SBA’s and if I understand their rationale for that position on two grounds (1)the SBA is a CXC imposition and (2)marking is a CXC function in the same way that in the days of yore when I did O’s and A’s all the teaching etc was done by the school but the marking was done by the examining body. In this case the examining body,CXC,must do the marking and not the teachers.To suggest that principals might have to fill the breach is to suggest that the tremendous amount of work involved is not in the public domain.It is not unusual for ONE teacher to have to mark between 500 and 1000 SBA’s.
    I would however join with the head of the NCPTA and ask the BSTU to stand down one more year but come out in full force starting school year 2015/2016.Hopefully all would have been forewarned.If The record of the MOE is anything to go by,nothing will change.

10. @ Hamilton
    Can somebody tell me if these teachers are not entitled to some form of compensation why was that not clearly expressed since 2009?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Perhaps the same person will also tell you why the teacher’s union did not express concerns UP FRONT …and refuse to correct the SBAs then.
    …also why they would have allowed children and parents to be strung along for eight years, now to make the current set into victims….
    …also why, if they have a fight with the MoE and CXC they have chosen a line of action that will NOT hurt them …..but their OWN students.
    …also why punish BAJAN students when others will have their SBAs graded?

Whoever came up with this line of action is a jackass…..of AC vintage…

shiite boss!! it makes sense to AC …..what does THAT say….????

11. when did it become acceptable that any form of labour must be given for free,, ? although we have the likes of morons like bush tea thinking it should be a an acceptable part of a democracy, fuh crying out loud them days but seem to live in the minds of dictators like a dont give a shit bush tea….. this form of a past time known only to slavery must be stopped and not be given a pass with flying colours what a pus….sy h.ole bush sh..ite

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

So ac supports the teachers’ claim for extra payment but Ronald Jones thinks they are stupid – Fractured DLP!

13. “…when did it become acceptable that any form of labour must be given for free,, ?”
    Probably right after their idiotic union failed to realise that the labourers were being exploited from the very beginning…
    Probably after allowing the precedent to be established for 8 years….

Also probably when that “labour” is limited to 5 hours per day, 5 days a week with three (3) MONTHS PAID holiday each year and includes “professional day” off, Sports days, sick days, days-when-the-water-off, when-there-is -smoke-from-bush-fires, and any other possible excuses…

…and when, whatever the pissy results obtained by students, the ‘labourers’ continue merrily along doing the same shiite over and over and over…

shiite man…wunna gotta do SOMETHING…!!!

Not that you need worry AC..no one would want you…even as a slave…U too idiot!

14. wait wunna take this for some form of sport ,well once upon a time there were gladiators who step up to the plate and fought against a set of cockeyed rules , for emancipation to free the minds from illiteracy of servitude, however it seems that there are some who long for those days to return and are hell bent on using the rule book and trick of those who mastered those rules to inform and transform..

15. Shiite AC…..everyone just PRAYS that you are not a teacher….

Point to note…
    The gladiators did NOT “step up to the plate and fight” against innocent SCHOOL CHILDREN…..

Looks like you and red woman are being ignored by the CXC /MoE big boys
    ..so wunna planning to put some lashes in the little children’s asses….

….sounds more like Al Qaeda than gladiators….

16. @Hamilton
    “Referred to here as educational terrorism is what fair minded rational persons call industrial action.”

Industrial action also calls for demands that can be met.

The BSTU cannot receive payment this cycle.

Observing

17. since 2006 the bstu calls were ignored now it is only fair that over such an extended period of time that after repeated calls that the BSTU remain firm,if those in charge had the children’s interest at heart such an ordeal would not have allowed to fester knowing full well at some point and time patience would run out and the childrens well being would be put to the test, well that time has arrived and the powers that be have no else but to blame but themselves ,and casting blame on the bstu for any fallout that might affect the children is selfish and selfserving

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I need to hear CXC’s position before I make a definitive statement on the issue. Isn’t their silence deafening.

19. @Caswell

Don’t hold your breath. Their silence is procedural.

CXC’s position is outlined in all their guidelines, regulations and policies.

There’s absolutely nothing for them to say at this point.

your ignorance (of the issue) knows no bounds. your perseverance has no limits.

20. @ Observing cheap shots serves no purpose the prevailing argument of this issue would remain the same ,of which you are ignorant,/

21. @ac
    Fools rush in where angels fear to tread.

Please rouse me from my ignorant slumber and enlighten me as to “the prevailing argument of this issue.”

Observing

22. ignoramus these are the prevailing concerns by the BSTU

“The SBA is a vital part of an eternally set and moderated exam, it has nothing to do with what happens in the school in terms of evaluation. The SBA is part one of the CXC exam. Part two is done in examination rooms sent to CXC and persons are paid to correct that part of the exam. The CXC SBA is vital to the awarding of a certificate in any particular subject that does the SBA component,” Redman explained.
    “If this part of the exam is so vital, and if this part of the exam is part of what is set externally and moderated externally, then we should be paid for correcting it, formulating it, for data entry that we have to do, just as others are paid for correcting other parts of the exam.”
    It was noted that in areas such as sixth form languages, teachers are paid by the CXC for the oral component, yet compensation is not across the board, even though some teachers in the sciences, for example, have to correct up to 30 SBAs per class at times, in a number of form levels and subject areas.
    Redman says correcting SBAs is labour- and time- intensive and many teachers have to use their lunchtimes, after-school, vacation and their own financial resources to help the students to complete the projects. She said that the principle of equal pay for equal work does not obtain, since some teachers who are tasked with SBAs have more pressure and more work than their colleagues in subjects that do not require an SBA assessment.
    She stressed that this action is in no way intended to jeopardise students in CXC or CAPE, but to arrest this issue which was introduced by the BSTU since 2006. As such, the SBAs when collected will be given to the principals, who will send them to the Ministry of Education. CXC will then have to pay persons to mark the SBAs.
    “BSTU members have supervised the writing up of SBAs, they have assisted the students in doing everything leading up to the completion of the SBAs,” she pointed out. .

in the meanwhile the cxc amd ministry of education has been using the children as a shield in order not to shoulder the responsibility of compensation for the teachers oblivious or not concern that workload and long hours add up and that the teachers have done more above and beyond their schedule to engage by principle to mark these papers without compensation and had for many years done so with due respect and forethought for the children well being,

however the observant observing believes that by putting pen to paper and highliting that children would suffer that after nine years of teachers workload increased and not paid that the teachers should continue on their merry way until whatever is perceived to be the right time for this issue to be resolved.
    Redman and the teachers has been down this path nine times before and rightfully so the tenth time is more than enough,

23. @Observing

Please stay focused here.

Do you recall when the SBA was introduced if there was discussion about terms and conditions of employment between the parties? Can you detail the SBA process to substantiate the need for teachers to mark and not an external player?

24. @David
    Thanks for the pull back. Research did show that exposure to too much ac can affect brain cells, lung function and potentially lead to stress induced cancer.

As for your question, I can’t recall which parties were involved, but I can say that the whole purpose of introducing it in the first place was to move away from a “one shot” exam (read Common Entrance) to one which gave credit for continuous assessment.

Continuous assessment would mean that the SBA should have been continuously assessed over the period and not one big puddle of marks in April 2015. Only the teacher conducting the SBA or Head of Department with knowledge of the process, subject and child at the individual school can honestly award marks. If anyone else external does then it fails to be continuous assessment.

As to the process, it differs by subject (a point The BSTU will never educate us about since it would complicate the issue of payment). Sciences for example are labs done over 2 year period. Some are projects chosen, created or selected by the teachers and assessed by CSEC guidelines (needed for standardization across the region).

From what i’m told, a “good” teacher with full knowledge of the syllabus and it’s objectives theoretically could fully integrate the conducting of the SBA into their class teaching time and use field trips during school time to allow students to complete any research needed out of school.

This theoretically should give them all like now (vacation) to collate, compile and submit marks by the start of next school term. Granted, students’ willingness as well as the number and type of CXC classes would have an impact on a teachers’ ability to do this, in many cases negatively.

The paid moderation that Mary is harping about is where persons compare teachers’ mark schemes, choice of SBA assignment and method of awarding marks to the standard used for the region. Once everything checks out then the SBA marks are used for the overall grade. If they don’t then more information is requested from the school . Their job therefore is quality assurance, validity and reporting…not marking.

Lastly, i’m no defender of CXC, but steps have been taken over the years to ease the SBA workload, including allowance for group work, acceptance of softcopy SBAS rather than printed (unless needed for moderation), random sampling where some subjects need not send samples, integrated SBA (e.g. In Sciences where one SBA can be used to assess 2-3 Sciences and allowing the teacher/student to select the actual project. It’s not perfect, but it’s not the four headed dragon it’s being made out to be. And, it’s geared towards the student.

Again, BSTU has the right to fight for their members, but not at the expense of students’ CXC results. Anyone remember the result when Geography grades were an issue at the lighthouse on the hill?? The same thing will happen here.

Just observing

25. Thanks Observing, this is good information. The follow up question fir the BSTU is given the role of important stakeholder how is it anticipated for an external player to grade an SBA designed to be implemented as a continuous assessment program. Curious also to know what is the progress of the initiative tabled of teacher continuous assessment when Mia was minister of education?

26. The irony of the situation is that many of those who conceptualized and more critically manage the operational regulations of SBAs have never set, supervised nor marked an SBA.

The Minister, the Ministers of State, the Permanent Secretary, the Chief Education Officer, the Deputy Chief Education Officers and many Education Officers have NEVER administered a SBA! This most galling member of this cabal is none other than the Registrar of CXC who has never set, supervised or marked an SBA even though he is a former primary school teacher and officer of the Ministry of Education!

The educational “theorists” who champion and promote SBAs have often never actually taught a child or worked in a primary or secondary school for any significant length of time. IF they have done so, they have forgotten or conveniently ignore what children are really like, the social situations they live in and the realities of school life (resources, environmental conditions, teachers’ experience and level of training, Governmental demands etc).

The dirty secret is that CXC views SBAs as an opportunity to award marks to students so as to boost pass rates. Many (if not most) students even after detailed and explicit instruction and guidance cannot actually do the SBAs on their own. Teachers (and parents able to do so) have to do the SBAs. SBAs actually militate against the poor and resource deficient sectors of Caribbean societies. For example SBA reports must be word processed and marks submitted electronically. This assumes access to computers and the internet. That there are many irregularities in the SBA process (plagiarism, cheating, fabrication of results, disparities in standards of supervision and assessment between teachers, between schools and even between countries) should be reason enough to discontinue SBAs for being invalid and unreliable forms of assessment.

The problem is that the Ministries of Education instead of promoting and defending the interests of their citizenry, defer to an agency whose unstated (but primary) motive is to generate profits and thus provide well remunerated jobs for its staff. Bear in mind that CXC sets and marks every major exam in the school sector in Barbados i.e. (the “common entrance”, the CCLSC (or School Leaving Certificate), CSEC (or O level) and CAPE (or A level). The tail is thus wagging the dog.

Even if the “authorities” agree to compensate teachers for administering SBA’s, how will this be done? Will compensation be a flat rate or on a per class rate or on a per student rate or on a per SBA item rate? Will compensation be the same for all subjects?

It seems to me that the simplest, least expensive and educationally most sound solution is to abolish the SBA and make ALL students sit the exam papers that private (i.e. non school entered) candidates of CXC examinations PRESENTLY sit in lieu of SBAs. This can be implemented from September of this year.

27. @David
    My pleasure. I have a drinking partner who believes in sharing information (especially after 3 rums) and a nephew that teaches as we speak. As for the BSTU, they never think ahead, or logically, that’s their problem. It’s always “what I want, what I want.” It seems their sister union has foolishly joined them in this manner of operating. Where do they (B.U.T) really stand on this issue???

@ping pong
    Interesting suggestion that solves one problem but creates others. Can I take it that you are in full agreement with Common Entrance in its present form? Any opinion on skills based vocational qualifications?

28. @ Ping Pong
    It seems to me that the simplest, least expensive and educationally most sound solution is to abolish the SBA and make ALL students sit the exam papers that private (i.e. non school entered) candidates of CXC examinations PRESENTLY sit in lieu of SBAs. This can be implemented from September of this year.
    Then how would CXC justify the phenomenal cost of its operations as against just paying a fixed fee per paper to an international external examining body like Cambridge?

Overall..
    Your analysis of the situation, like Observing’s, is based on basic common sense and is hence not admissible in a land where brass bowlery is bliss.

In all fairness, we cannot expect AC to understand such an approach.

29. @Observing

We (humans) often like complicated solutions when simple ones will do. We indulge in too much navel gazing.

I believe the present assessment mode for Common Entrance to be the fairest method of those proposed. This does not mean that I believe it to be equally fair to all students but it is very much fairer than continuous assessment. Also this does not address the overall issue about the appropriateness of the common entrance exam! One problem at a time please.

We should note the very current Atlanta cheating scandal as contemplation of the potential pitfall of teacher controlled assessment aka continuous assessment.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/04/02/us/verdict-reached-in-atlanta-school-testing-trial.html?_r=0

Of course a “skill” should be examined differently from say a more “academic” pursuit. When I did Art, the exam consisted of actually producing a number of items (in a specified time and place) not writing about how I would do so. When I did Physics, there was an actual experiment to be performed. This still obtains today with the Cambridge exams.

Obviously for those subjects such as plumbing, hair dressing, electronics, metal work etc they should (must) be some production of a tangible object or the performance of the skill to properly assess the candidate. These “subjects” are thus best taught and assessed in institutions that are designed for this process e.g. polytechnics, work Guilds, on the job training moderated by industry specific institutions etc. When I hire a chef, I expect that he/she has actually planned and cooked a meal, designed a menu, managed and operated a kitchen not ONLY to have theorized about these things. Traditional schools are NOT suitable for those subjects and CXC is most definitely NOT the appropriate institution for assessing these subjects. This is the problem square pegs in round holes.

Maybe BSTU is doing the country a favour, if their action causes us to rationalise our human resource development processes. (OK I am getting carried away LOL)

30. While the BSTU and CxC appear locked in a battle of wits and blame tossing, many of us on the sidelines believe that the BSTU is being unfair and selfish. Let me say that I am neither a teacher of supporter of the BSTU, neither am I an advocate for CxC.
    But I will say this and say it pointedly:
    CxC moved to a system on “online” grading. That effectively meant that teachers and graders would use their OWN resources to perform the activities of grading SBA’s. This means that CxC is SAVING money. So why should our teachers spend their own?
    Teachers own resources means their own computers, electricity, food, etc. This is a paradyme shift from the days when the graders were sent to various islands and housed for a few days while grading occurred all at the expense of CxC.
    So to CxC I say, kudos, on utilizing technology towards the benefit of themselves and for making the process more streamlined , especially financially. It is certainly a leap forward in the way that the Caribbean can utilize technology positively.
    Now to CxC I will ask, since the potential savings to you are approximately in the hundreds of thousands, where is that money now diverted to? Secondly, do you really think that it is fair that while you save yourselves a bundle, the teachers whose cost has now increased to perform YOUR work should go unrewarded?
    Get serious CxC! Stop making this out to be selfish teachers and take a look at your own behavior.
    This undercurrent of selfishness and greed running rampant throughout this country will not serve us well quite soon as the actions of the BSTU are just a tip of the iceberg which we are about to run headlong into!
    CxC. Stop being pompous asses and get the work of the children moved forward.
    The BSTU is only asking fro a fair share of the pie!

31. @watcher
    Good point. But BSTU isn’t fighting the cause of the e-markers. They’re stuck on payment for SBA’s. Currently a dead end.

@ping pong
    My hat off to you sir/madam. Clear conversation, pleasant discussion.

@bushie
    Are you saying that in the land of brass bowlery the common sense man has no place?? Lol.

I’m off to hunt the regular Saturday dish, snout and all. Cheerio!!

Observing

32. stay focus”alright”but not by trying to dilute the heart of the issue brought to the table by the bstu. finding a genuine and pallatable conclusion for all parties involved should be the main goal and not using scapegoat methods and skeptcism to parade teachers as heartless and uncaring…methods which are meant to chill.in all fairness the rule of thumb should be measured and meted out with understanding and not laid out on foundations of halftruths

33. Any thoughts why the CUT seems receptive to the BSTU’s position?

34. @ David
    Any thoughts why the CUT seems receptive to the BSTU’s position?
    what have they to lose?
    they just accepted a volunteer martyr…

Jamaican children will get their papers graded.

@ Ping Pong
    ..as always, a joy to read your contributions.
    All may not be lost….

@ AC
    …yuh idjut! 🙂

35. @bush shite

leave it u a living wage would be the equivalent of picking pennies out of sh.it..a.ss hole.

36. @ Ping Pong,

Many folks and commentators wants to abolish the 100% 11-plus examination and institute a staggered system of assessment at the primary level. I do not agree with your point that SBAs should be abolished and 100% exams should be done. I personally was glad that my SBA marks was going to substitute the final exam grade. I had great SBA marks but struggled in some final exams, but overall I did not fail courses. SBAs should not discriminate against the poor as you are saying either. And yes, I said ‘should’ because being poor and not having access to many materials would make it a bit harder but you can still attain. If you dont have a computer nor facilities to print use a library, a friend, family or a internet cafe. Thats what me and scores of school friends did. Being ‘poor’ is no excuse. All of us had many challenges education wise. But we should not let that stop us. I had no computer nor internet access when I went to from primary through to UWI. And I got back all my CXC’s and degree. Yes it was harder but you cant moan and groan about it. If you want to succeed you just do it.

On the teacher issue, I believe they should mark and submit the SBA marks for this year. However they can be justified in not doing it for the next school year because the CXC and Ministry of Edu would have a heads up about it.
    CXC should at least compensate the teachers for the marking of the SBAs.

37. @Kevin

Did you read what Ping Pong posted?

38. how doe abolishing the SBA,s resolve the currant crisis at hand. leave it to a man to turn a volitile situation into a nightmare with law suits drawn against gxpense.ovt at taxpay

39. Open Source Media Avatar
    Open Source Media

Reblogged this on Open Source Media.

40. @ david,

yes i read what was posted at 825am

41. Kevin

I have implicitly suggested that the status quo be maintained for the upcoming exam session (that is mark the SBAs) and that the SBA be abolished from September. I am very open to other suggestions.

Regardless of our circumstances, each of us must make the best of what ever resources we have. I support your call to persevere in the face of constraining circumstances. However my comments are to be taken in the context of the Caribbean and not just Barbados which is far ahead of many other territories in terms of libraries, access to computers, internet access and even basic power supply.

Many of the recent problems with SBAs have caused CXC to become more intrusive and demanding of schools as it attempts to contain these problems. This increased level of intrusiveness along with CXC’s sometime “unbusinesslike” response to concerns/problems have only served to exacerbate the situation. I am not so sure that SBA’s are worth the trouble. The introduction of the CCLSC will also cause a significant increase in the teachers’ and students’ workload, all for a certificate of spurious quality. The Jamaicans started this program and after two years discontinued it although it may have resumed doing it. They derisively call it Come Come Slow Learner Come!

The situation as it is, is that the Union is faced with becoming irrelevant. If its members do not support the Union’s call now it will never be able to address this matter again. Along with the backdrop of the Alexandria fiasco, a second defeat may be the death knell of the Union. Teachers contrary to popular belief care about the students (maybe too much so). They do not want to jeopardize their students’ academic futures. Teachers are also parents too. They have been placed between a rock and a hard place.

Even if the authorities agree that teachers should be remunerated (and they certainly do NOT agree), the details cannot be put in place for this exam session. It may actually take a year or more to do so. Therefore at best negotiations will have to be embarked on. The best that the Union could hope for is a promise to meet and to discuss the matter. If this is done then the proposed action to not mark the SBAs can be deferred. I would think that common sense would dictate that the Governments of the Caribbean would have to be consulted, other Unions consulted and alternatives investigated. If after such a process, a settlement/understanding has not been reached then could the Union be justified in taking a more hardline stance.

Minister Jones and acting Chief Education Officer Best, both past presidents of the BUT, have in their power to provide a face saving option for the BSTU. Should the BSTU refuse then it would be committing suicide. I suppose Jones and Best have the winning hand and need not do anything and either allow the BSTU to self destruct (which may be on their agenda) or push them to take an action that will hurt students as well as the Union.

Prayerful inspired wisdom is required at this time.

42. @Ping Pong

“Minister Jones and acting Chief Education Officer Best, both past presidents of the BUT, have in their power to provide a face saving option for the BSTU. Should the BSTU refuse then it would be committing suicide. I suppose Jones and Best have the winning hand and need not do anything and either allow the BSTU to self destruct (which may be on their agenda) or push them to take an action that will hurt students as well as the Union.”

Are you not asking a lot?

On Saturday, 4 April 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. Some people just do not understand the legalities involved and by using underhanded solutions to resolve a volitile situation send wrong messsages whereby those seeking a rationale resolve can initiate a process by use of the courts which can be a longand drawn out process with long term implications at the children..govt..and taxpayers expense.these situations cannot be resolved by wishes as they are involved the livlihoods of parties

44. David
    Do you know that BSTU and BUT sat down in 2014 and allowed the Ministry of Education to introduce a new SBA component Exam in CCSLC that runs from First Form to Third Form which is followed by CSEC from Fourth Form to Fifth Form

45. @Clone

Yes, and some schools are struggling with its implementation but it is easly days yet.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ping Pong April 4, 2015 at 2:26 PM

It seems both you and Observing are quite knowledgeable about Education with possible years of hands-on experience in the field. I suspect you guys are holders of post graduate qualifications in the same area of expertise. Maybe even a PGCE from the British system.

What I would like to hear from you is what are the implications of the teachers’ position on the “marking” of the SBAs (Devolved Assessments) having regard for the need for a national development policy to move away from the academic-centred teaching and learning curriculum to one of continuous training and assessment through placing greater emphasis on NVQ and CVQ type curriculum and starting at the Secondary school level.

Shouldn’t the CXC be gearing itself up for this inevitable change of curriculum focus and emphasis? Should the CXC be changed to CPAC (Caribbean Proficiency Assessment Centre)?

47. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ Bush Tea & Observing. ..While it is difficult not to accept how compelling an argument yours is, I still question the fact that the powers that be never in the elapsed time made a definitive call yea or nay where compensation is concerned. What I also found disturbing is their willingness to use as a trump card the adverse effect that may befall the children, as true as it maybe. Was a grace period given to the UWI students who were cut off at the knees? They too will be disadvantaged. I say stay your ground BSTU. However, that is not to say that I support free education at Cave Hill. I just have challenges with its hurriedly introduction.

48. “Both Karen Best and Ronald Jones are former BUT presidents”.Pint pots turned down and gill pots turn up.Perhaps Hal Gollop and Freundel Stuart both of whom have a good grasp of the English Language,both of whom having taught at Secondary level,both of whom are obviously trained in the intricacies of public speaking,both of whom know where and on what syllable to place emphasis,are well placed to enroll both Best and Jones in the next Use of English-enunciation,pronunciation,syntax–beginners class at UWI External Campus.Small wonder Barbados is slipping at MOE level.Poor Freundel does not have the room to manoeuvre even if he wanted to.

49. @hamilton
    Secondary education is compulsory. Tertiary is optional. The comparison with sba’s and uwi fees doesn’t mesh…even though I understand the bigger political argument you’re making.

@miller
    The Human Resource Development strategy is supposed to bring technical qualifications on par with academics and provide for greater CVQ/NVQ type instruction. The devil though is in the details and the deficit of financing to fully push through with it.
    And yes, it helped to have lived/worked/studied through different systems at different times under different persons. Gives a better all round view to observe from.

@clone
    Agreed. The almost impossible CCSLC is where the real fight should be.

@david
    The BSTU got a lifeline after Alexandra and Foundation through the ignorance and inability of a shepherd to lead his flock. Now they want to take over the whole pasture and demand some bales of hay too. Yes, this issue is a double nail in their coffin. This time they’ll carry down their “brothers and sisters” on the merry hill as well.

Another sad day out of many for unionism.

Observing