re-Discover
re-Discover

One of the most difficult and painful decisions I have ever made was to cancel our last re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show some years ago, which had become a highly successful annual event spanning over seven years. As well as highlighting and driving new interest in Intra regional travel it was also used as a catalyst to build trade between the islands. It also brought almost around $1 million of foreign exchange into Barbados, filled scores of hotel rooms, generated significant car rental business and helped keep our multitude of restaurants busy, during a traditionally quieter off-season period.

If you were among the thousands of people who visited the show over the two days it took place annually, you would have met representatives from up to 22 participating territories, from Surinam in the south to Jamaica in the north and everywhere in between.

What finally prompted the final decision to stop coordinating the show was the reduced funding by the then Barbados Tourism Authority which even at its peak, represented less than 10 per cent of the actual cost. Plus the sad realisation that they could not find two or more of their staff to ‘man’ a stand for the duration out of what were then over one hundred employees.

I remember being asked by one of a nearly thirty person delegation from St. Vincent and The Grenadines while praising the event and expressing appreciating the opportunity of participating, saying but you have put this altogether and your own Government does not even support it.

What also was, perhaps so surprising at the time, certain public sector tourism officials questioned the objective of the project, stating that they saw it as encouraging Barbadians to travel overseas, rather than attract additional visitors to our shores. I always found this argument difficult to understand, as clearly any successful and sustainable airline needs to fill the seats in both directions.

Hopefully with the possible re-positioning of LIAT’s headquarters to the far more logical Barbados and a new direction in the restructured BTA, now the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc., there will be a fresh new look at resurrecting the initiative, to become the premier and only event in the region dedicated to growing intra Caribbean travel.

re-DISCOVER the Caribbean also offered tremendous potential of exposing our destination and others in the region to travel partners in our other markets, both traditional and emerging. To exhibit at major shows like ITB in Berlin and World Travel Market (WTM) in London is enormously expensive and sometimes you cannot help wondering if it isn’t more logical to bring the chief sources of those who drive business, the travel agents and tour operators here to the Caribbean instead, to sample the product first hand.

If the show is scheduled at the same time as the annual CONNECT event, then ultimately it’s a win-win for everybody. We surely cannot be so insular to think that our current travel professionals do not sell other islands within the region in their various homelands.

79 responses to “re-Discover the Caribbean”

1. I just spent a little time “Rediscovering Barbados” and what I have “discovered” is not pretty. Despite its vaunted claim of high education achievement, it is a nation with a deep seated inferiority complex witness the reaction to the suggestion that a Bajan should be on the CCJ. How about the Nation article of the missing woman which noted that she was a former student of QC? This is a 49 year old wife and mother but the Nation has to print the name of the school she attended at least 30 years ago. I won’t even go into the APB that the Police put out and the massive search in which even the Cub Scouts and the Brownies seemed to have been drafted. How about the Police spokesman who said with a straight face that the effort would have been the same if Jane Bajan from Licorish Village had been reported missing? I‘m sure a well-earned promotion is in his future; perhaps he has political ambition as he can look people in the eye and lie with impunity.

2. @ Sargeant,

You are rediscovering that Barbadians have not changed much in the last 50 years.

The next time any person is reported missing we should reasonably expect the Police, Defence Force and Roving emergency response team to deploy.

3. miller u still snorting from the last election .u need to stop predicting.so far yuh perdiction for barbados to sell air and sea port andDLP tv six years ago has not happened

David wuh butch did you.?u keep posting them ignorant articles about sandals a good journalistic investigator shows proof.as for one who always preaching integrity your journalistic reports on sandals demonstrate a full fledge tactic to throw mud

4. A monstrous perversion of common sense. ignorance definitely has no boundaries.

5. old onion bags Avatar

Tis place in so much mess that even stray dogs no longer sojourn in Btown….haven’t you all noticed??? Reasons being there are no crumbs or discarded scraps for them to eat. Eddie Abed recently went on TV and literally begged landlords to lower their rents so that small businesses could stay and stimulate econonic activity …cuz Bridgetown is quickly becoming a ghost town. Taxes and mo Taxes, no Vat or Income tax refunds All thats keeping Btown lively are the commercial banks and KFC n Cheffete..

Yet we can find ah born louse and a recluse fanning flames here on BU and beating their chest like Germinio at the battle of Little Horn…

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 3, 2015 at 9:31 AM
    “miller u still snorting from the last election .u need to stop predicting.so far yuh perdiction for barbados to sell air and sea port andDLP tv six years ago has not happened”

It’s just a matter of time, my friend(s), just a matter of time. The BNTCL is just the thin edge in the wedge.
    The IMF is still calling the shots even though the Guv of the CB is fiddling and fudging the forex books. The loan sharks are fast disappearing and the Pacioli day of reckoning will soon be a hand.

You do have a convenient memory don’t you?
    Didn’t the miller also predict the introduction of the UWI tuition fees?
    Didn’t the miller predict that thousands of public sector workers were to be fired (you claimed 10,000).
    Didn’t the miller predict the introduction of user fees at the QEH?
    Didn’t the miller predict the demise of CLICO with the gathering of vultures in the form of accountants and lawyers to feed on the financial remains of the fallen cash cow?
    Didn’t the miller predict that despite all the God-like abilities of Reverend Durant to protect his bulling pal David from the scythe of the grim reaper the god of Retribution would bring a measure of comfort to the CLICO policyholders?

Didn’t the miller also predict the decriminalization of marijuana sooner than you and the Americans expected?

BTW, who would want to buy CBC now anyway? With all of that debt around its neck it’s worth what Paddy shot at with the future prospects in an Internet age.

7. millertheanunnaki March 3, 2015 at 10:11 AM #

The contributions to the articles presented to BU for comment, although varying in views, are usually focused on the issue, with some contributors submitting facts to substantiate their opinions.

Miller, surely by now you should have noticed the modus operandi of these DLP “misfits”, “yard-fowls” and “dogs”. These DEMS would contribute some set of nonsense that seeks to distract attention away from the topic and focus the discussion on them and their pro DLP propaganda.

And what is ultimately achieved? The DLP misfits contaminating EVERY article to the point where it becomes ensnared in a lot of rhetorical party political diatribe, thereby making the issue less interesting.

8. old onion bags March 3, 2015 at 9:53 AM #

“All thats keeping Btown lively are the commercial banks and KFC n Cheffete.”

Don’t forget Bizzy’s world-class Burger King.

BTW – How does the opening of a burger joint merit an article on GIS, the official communications arm of the Barbados Government.

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=8&p2_articleid=11404

9. millertheanunnaki March 3, 2015 at 8:32 AM

“Name just one project this man has promised and succeeded in pulling off other than winning an election through voter fraud and causing the political death of Arthur?”

Don’t you think you are being a bit harsh on the PM

Just last week PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart sat down with the High Commissioner of Cyprus to Barbados, Georgios Chacalli, at Ilaro Court to discuss tourism and the international financial services as areas in which Barbados and the Republic of Cyprus can learn from each other.

See more at.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64124/barbados-cyprus-bilateral-relations-energised

They discussed how Barbados and Cyprus could sign a Double Taxation Agreement before the end of this year –

Just imagine the benefits that will accrue to both parties when the country with 0.02% of global GDP (Cyprus) signs such an agreement with the country with 0.01% of global GDP. (Barbados) (Source Global Finance Magazine http://www.gfmag.com

I am sure their discussion of international financial services would have included the Forbes magazine story “Cyprus And The Death Of An Offshore Haven” at http://www.forbes.com/sites/jayadkisson/2013/03/25/cyprus-and-the-death-of-an-offshore-haven/.

And on exchanging ideas on tourism, I am sure the PM asked the High Commissioner to tell him how Cyprus got a Four Seasons Hotel to actually be built in Cyprus.

So, the PM is trying to succeed in pulling off one project he promised.

Give the guy a bit of slack – he is working on lots of stuff that matter to all Barbadians.

10. @Miller

Didn’t Froon engineer an election victory against your star studded cast? Lol

11. old onion bags Avatar

If Big Able Massy, the largest business consortium in Barbados nowadays could SHUT DOWN its retailing outlet in Cave Shepherds( I did not say Swan St) for lack of trade…..wha U tink D resta small business men smelling?

What will it take this Govt to recognise that its fiscal and monetary measures are KILLING Off commercial activity in this cuntry….what will it take?

But No…Bajans got money…2 cars and a bungalow….lewe fleece them wid taxes…Owen mekk dem too rich and we want money at any cost…

12. old onion bags Avatar

Imagine….a food at Mustor’s on Mc.Greggors St. (behind Scotia Bank) costing $24.00….and that is a SPECIAL…yes people D meatball n fishcakes place that used to be filled wid Customs men…Dat is what it come to bout hay wid all tis heavy taxation…which workin man cud afford a $24.00 food workin in Btown??

13. old onion bags Avatar

Maybe when business comes to a complete halt…Froon will call KungFu Panda on his cellphone and say….try and restart Bridgetown…enuff is enuff.. BUT then it will be too late as people will have taken matters to themselves

14. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants March 3, 2015 at 9:22 AM #

The next time any person is reported missing we should reasonably expect the Police, Defence Force and Roving emergency response team to deploy.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    I was expecting to see the Clay Pigeon Club in that All Arms Line up.

The last weekend action could have been a scene from a 1940 redneck based movie, entitled “Guess Who did not come home for dinner”. Perhaps we are now beginning to comprehend the significance of the twinning of Barbados with a Deep Southern town in South Carolina , of which we are proud of.

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

old onion bags March 3, 2015 at 1:52 PM #

…which workin man cud afford a $24.00 food workin in Btown??
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Wonder what was the price of the food at that meat shop in Fontabelle , which has just been closed down , putting at least 24 waitresses out of wuk.

16. Stop telling lies Onions…
    …no food ain’t cost no $24.00…. bet um is the sea cat woman that tell you so…
    …gallows bait….
    You ain’t get banned from Mustor’s years ago…?

17. old onion bags Avatar

I ent lie……go see for ya self…..I cud’nt believe my eyes…..I had a cou cou,steak of dolphin, slaw ,lettuce and tomato…..and it did ON SPECIAL…ah won’t lie, food did taste good doa… and worth it ..as is accustomed at Mustors..

18. old onion bags Avatar

No BIG lotta food doa…like I was accustomed from them. Before a food like dat at D PortHole would set ya back $12.00 EZ..and you would have been entitled LOT MORE….(I stop Mustors since 1990’s…Port Hole tekk ova.)

19. old onion bags Avatar

Next up some English man BUY PortHole…and just shut it down….so back I went to Mustor…only to get a rude awakening

20. old onion bags March 3, 2015 at 9:53 AM #

Tis place in so much mess that even stray dogs no longer sojourn in Btown….haven’t you all noticed??? Reasons being there are no crumbs or discarded scraps for them to eat. Eddie
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps the stray dogs are being recycled as Rotis and Chop Sueys.

21. Onions, don’t you think it will be better for you, financially, and in the long run if you learned to cook? Wid a name like “onions” you should be able to cook.

Yuh mean yuh gine waste you pension money at Mustor, KFC, Chefette, and the Port Hole……… and to top it off yuh giving the sea cat woman money and yuh en getting nutten to eat, nuh land cat or sea cat. And she spending you money pun Bushie.

22. @ Artax
    LOL ha ha ha
    Waloss….
    How ya know that nuh…..?

Onions buying food for he, Sea cat woman and Bushie …and ain’t got a clue…..
    haaaaa ha

…walking bout with a big able horn and calling um a bill fish beak……

23. old onion bags Avatar

…….I will have you guys know that Onions is a certified Le Courdea Bleu chef and no spoonin guy as some proport…..when it comes to cooking, you step in to the Olive Garden fiends…LOL

David when Amtrax and Bushie cud find time to bicker like stray doves….me thinks you need mo interesting material on BU……doa worry I puttin pen to papel for ya sonny… I ear Mac get snob and no invite-ment but dat is for annuda occasion….nabody aint poisonin me bozie…

Colonel…play you ent know trini rotis got in stray dogs too (wild meat)……LOL

24. old onion bags Avatar

BTW David

don’t U tink is about time we negotiate a contract????? I also been approached by odder blogs ya know…

25. old onion bags Avatar

Next time I cooking UP I will invite U2 Colonel and Artax…..It gine be Cow Heel and Ox-tail Buggy….yummy yummy.

Bushie I got a special pot for you….muscle-cat. (MURDA)

26. Good to read about the BTM inc and Holders Season collaborating to focus on an American theme given the effort to win marketshare in the US.

27. At long last Barbados has been given an upgrade. But not what we were expecting or even wanted. We have been upgraded to a major transhipment point for drugs. Lord help us.

28. BERLIN, Germany – Barbados’ Minister of Tourism and International Transport, Richard Sealy, is heading a delegation of local industry leaders at ITB Berlin, the world’s leading travel trade show.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64396/richard-sealy-leads-barbadian-delegation-worlds-largest-travel-fair#sthash.KoEOxEfW.dpuf

29. […] re-Discover the Caribbean | Barbados Underground […]